paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Victory v35 Board / Odyssey Victory v35 Board / Odyssey Victory v35 Board / Odyssey Victory v35 Board

Odyssey Victory v35 Board Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Victory v35 Board

Paintball Hopper / Loader Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Victory v35 Board
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Victory Board for HALO is not a production board. It is available as an upgrade board only. The Victory allows you to choose from 6 different speeds for your HALO B's operation.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey Victory v35 Board is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
cockercane Monday, June 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month31 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock HALO board
Marker Setup: Angel Force Fly
CIP Unimount
Crossfire 70ci peanut low output
Halo B w/ rip & Victory

'02 STO Autococker
WGP hinge frame
ANS pneumatics w/ QEV's
Shocktech Bomb 3-way
Shocktech SupaFly
ANS GX-II Reg w/ 15* ASA
System X Drop
Crossfire 68ci 3000psi (800 psi preset) HPA tank
Strengths: Easy interface
Gained speed
Weaknesses: No included literature
Fresh batteries A MUST!!
Review: Upon first receiving the Victory board it came packed in a small plastic clamshell package with no installation or operation instructions. If you don't trust me, I will copy a URL to the Odyssey instructions page into the first comment of this review. (It's against the rules to put a URL in a review... so I wont)

-Installation- skip to the bottom for performance
When disassembling your HALO to install the Victory board pay attention to the position of the wires in the female connectors. On the right connector, the red wire is the outer most wire on the right side. The orange wire is outside on the left connector. When you have a half section of the shell removed (I recommend the left) try to remove the plastic backing plate together with the old board to avoid breaking the switch post. If you need to Remove the blue feed section, be mind-full of your anti-jam spring... don't lose it! You'll be pissed off when you want to test the speed but your loader keeps jamming because you lost the spring. The install is as easy unplugging the old and plugging in the new. Running the wires back the way they used to be can be a bit of a pain, the red and black battery wires are the only ones that run on the right hand side of the feed section. Slide the board and back plate together in their appropriate grooves and reassemble the shell. Pay attention to the six wires on the left side, run them UNDER the feed section so the don't get pinched between the shell, you can use a small amount of tape to keep them all together which makes the job a little easier.

Now that Your HALO is ready to roll with batteries and paint, you turn it on and... it doesn't really seem any faster then the old board!! : | Should we give the board a score of 1/10.... NO. All we need to do is turn up the speed to it's higher settings. Any time you disconnect the batteries, the board defaults to it's #4 setting (28bps). This is when we realize that it came with no instructions. Those familiar with the Empire Reloder B sensitivity settings (from what I have been told) will already know how to increase the speed. I, however, needed instructions. With the loader off, hold the power switch for about 5 seconds and the LED will begin a blinking cycle similar to the one you get when you first turn the loader on, except this one will repeat for ten seconds and the drive cone won't actuate. First the LED will blink green a number of times to indicate the speed setting, then red once to begin the green cycle again. If it blinks green 4 times, that means you're on the 4th setting (duh). To increase the speed push the power button once per speed increment... once you have reached 6 green blinks, you are on the highest (35bps) setting. One more push of the power button will put you on the lowest setting (1 green blink = 17bps) which starts the cycle from the bottom. Once you have reached the desired setting, the blinking will continue for ten seconds and stop. You have saved your setting. (yay)

Go steal all the industrial batteries from all your dad's remote controls (as long as they're fresh) then you'll be ready to see what this baby can do. First thing I did was turn the loader on without paint and visually confirmed that it's much faster. I stuck my finger in the feed tube to test the eyes. Above and beyond speed, it seems like the drive cone reracts much faster to what the eyes tell it. Being that this board is faster, fresh batteries are far more important to gain it's full potential. I could be wrong, but I think the Victory is by far more finicky about it's batteries than the stock board. I switched out the AA's for a 2x 9v mod and haven't looked back since. One reviewer here stated that the new program doesn't wind the drive cone... not true. Perhaps there was a mistake in his lot of boards or something, but mine winds the drive cone like normal.


-Performance-
With my Angel 4 Fly, I noticed that the Victory translated a more consistent ROF to my trigger. I can't really tell you that my marker is faster because of it, just more reactive (if that makes any sense). I run my Angel on the highest trigger sensitivity (TR = 1) possible but have my travel and tension adjusted for absolutely no bounce whatsoever. Although my marker may have gained greater potential, my fingers haven't. That's why I can't really say that I shoot any faster because of the Victory. You may want to take that into consideration before buying this product.

The speed adjustability on the Victory is great. Why would I want to reduce the speed below 35bps you ask? For practice reasons. A lower bps can really help you conserve paint for practices or make scrimmages more challenging. I am a front player so it helps me think about my shots and snap shooting a little more. It's also fun to turn down the speed on your friends HALO when he/she is not looking before a rec game, but you didn't hear that from me ; p
Conclusion: The only reason I bought the Victory was because I broke the switch on my stock HALO board... otherwise I would have been fine without it (because I don't bounce or ramp). I enjoy greater ROF consistency and higher reactivity from my marker and think my money was well spent. I do have a complaint about the increased battery usage, but that's the trade off for speed. I got a free battery mod to solve that problem though. Odyssey should have included literature and instructions with the packing, but good for you guys that I enjoy writing. 9/10 is fair for this product.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 25th, 2005 at 8:58 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

CarlosLN Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The original board, Z board for Halo. The "egg" with both the Y and Z board.
Marker Setup: 2 DM4s one red to black (my primary) with the XSF Advantage Chip and Shoctech Mini-Stumpy and one cobolt to black (my backup or team gun) with Shocktech Minidrop. 2 Hoppers the Evo II "egg" with Z board and Halo B with Victory Board. Air Systems: 71 Throttle and 70 peanut Throttle. Current Favorite Barrel: Evil Pipe
Strengths: It's can feed up to 35 BPS and it's adjustible.
Weaknesses: Compared to previous Halo chips/codes nothing.
Review: This thing is tight as heck it is a must by for Halo owner who have markers that fire very quickly like the DM4 or Alias Timmy. You can adjust it's feed speed allowing more slowly if you would like which is cool if you don't plan on firing the maximum of 35bps every time. After thinking about getting a Reloader instead of a Halo and this board I thought was the better choice because of value and adjustability. Even though the Reloader has a smaller battery harness the smaller harness causes the loader to automatically feed more slowly (which sucks compared to full adjustability). Although the weight of the Halo has always bothered me i found it to be more comfortable with my peanut tank (which i didn't have while using my original Halo) counterbalancing the Halo's front weight. If the weight issue has always kept you from getting a Halo i highly suggest that you at least try using one with a peanut tank it's pretty comfortable. Even though my previous Halo irritated me to the point of selling it i ended up buying a new one wih this board because it impressed me that much. That being said if your looking for the straight up fastest board out there the victory board is it. Even if you don't need the fastest board this board will adjust to fit to however fast your shooting which is very cool indeed.
Conclusion: Overall this board does a great job and is a great replacement for the stock board of the Halo B. I would say this is a better buy over the Z-code (even though it's a bit more) because it's not only extremely fast but adjustable as well. After i've used it for a while i'll update my review if i see any problems but so far it hasn't let me down yet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SlasherXII Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Quantum, Evlution II with both Y and Z board, Halo B with RIP Drive. The Halo fitted with the Victory Board simply just rips! Very user friendly. Always had feed rate peeves with the other loaders because most guns I use have eyes. The Victory board will out feed most guns, execpt the higher end guns.
Marker Setup: Dust Black A4 Fly. Standard settings. Evil pipes and 3A tank setup. I also use a Dragun TES setup in the same way.
Strengths: Feeds paint like crazy! Easy to install and easy interface.
Weaknesses: May break paint. Otherwise none.
Review: First off I took apart the Halo B. The Victory board is about the same size as the stock board so it is snug. Putting back the shell on the loader, and first I tried it out on the Dragun TES. After first turning it on, it was double feeding, but pressing the back button a couple times seemed to fix that problem and I was able to shoot faster. Next I tried it on the A4 Fly. With the Halo B I can get up to 23 bps. But with the Victory board installed, I got 27 bps. A 4 bps increase, but could be vital. A word of caution... if you happen to be double feeding, take out your dedents and stretch them to make them stiffer.
Conclusion: I recommend this to anyone who has a Halo B. You can select your feed rate to match your gun. So regardless if you shoot 13 balls a second, or you absolutely like to rip paint, this upgrade for the Halo B is a must.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

nbossi1 Saturday, May 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock, no comparison, this is WAAAAY better
Marker Setup: Gold 2003 Shocker w/ Vision
Black Freak barrel system with gold AA front (14")
Black CCM clamping feedneck
Black PHAT Flame drop and on/off
Black CP Reg
Black NDZ 15* ASA with SP 300 psi gauge
Black NDZ Roller-Bearing Trigger
Virtue Board (HOLY CRAP, it's SWEEEET)
PMI Pure Energy 88/4500 HPA tank
Halo B with v35 board, and Zenitram delrin drive cone
Strengths: Adjustable
FAST
Easy to install
Weaknesses: Fast spinning can theoretically squish balls
Review: I got this board after getting tired of outrunning the stock board with my shocker. That's right, OUTRUNNING it. Believe it or not, I would be ripping, thump thump thump POP thump thump POP POP thump thump... I didn't have vision on my 03 shocker when I first got it, and though it wouldn't chop (seriously, only chopped a couple of times in SEVERAL cases, almost all breaks I have ever experienced - few, at that - were barrel breaks), I got tired of outrunning it, even with fresh batteries and paint, etc. etc. I put the v35 board in (piece of cake if you have any tech sense whatsoever), and now I can just ROLL on the trigger, and NO problems!! The adjustability is great too! I usually have mine on the 5th level, something around 30 bps, I think, not sure offhand...

THIS BOARD IS THE BEST THING OUT THERE FOR YOUR HOPPER, I am not a fan of the RIP drives (some people might argue THAT is the best upgrade, I disagree), if you are too cheap to put new batteries in your $150 hopper when in doubt, you deserve to have them die...
Conclusion: BUY IT!! (if you have something fast enough to warrant it)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LMNO 87 Friday, January 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I work at Pev's @ AG Paintball, so naturally I have shot just about every gun/hopper. Big thanks to Stephen and Dale over at the Sterling Store. And Todd, Cody, TEAM FATE, The Waller's, Twins, The RAB'S, Quinn, Eric, Katie, Matt, Ziggy, Craig, Jay, Beth, Jimmy, Dan, Robin, Bob, Jimmy B, Puffy, Timbrook, Dustin, Ashley, over @ the field; And anybody I left out ya'll know who you are THANKS For Everything.
Marker Setup: Freak Factory Impulse 000184, WAS Board, Full Freak Barrel Kit, Modified Intimidator Bolt pin, Custom cut Voodoo bolt, Warped Sportz trigger, NEW DESIGNZ (Chrome) Ball detents, Eye Cover, Talon Grip, 15* Vertical ASA, R.I.P. Valve, Smart Parts LPR treaded into a CP Chrome front cap, CP Pro-rail, AKA Sidewinder low pressure reg., Hybrid Grind on/off, I've balanced my guns internals to weigh 1142.12 grams, And other little impulse gun mods I've learned over the years.
Strengths: Variable speed choses. Helps save motor/batteries when using a slower gun.
Weaknesses: NONE, I just pre-wind up my drive cone with the Rip-Drive.
Review: The Victory Board is great easy to use. Good price. The HALO B w/ Rip-Drive is heavy. But it's a small price for speed and quality. People always say "nobody shoots 35-26 etc.. balls a second, so why do you need a HALO B or even the Victory Board?" and I just say And this affects you how? Oh when I'm ripping a rope of paint your way and you can't move then my teammate bunkers you.....Right- HATERS.
Conclusion: If you what it go get it. It's fast, fast, fast, fast, fast, fast! ALSO vary reliable. If you want pure speed then it's a must.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 8:35 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

edd Thursday, August 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
There is nothing like this board.
Marker Setup: -Proto M6 w/tadao
-Halo B w/ v35
-Pmi 68 ci 3k
Strengths: Adjustable rate of feed.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: This board is great. It operates just like a stock halo board. It has al the same features like primeing the hopper, eyes work flawlessly, PLUS you can adjust it! Ive been using a reloader 2 for awhile and it was ok exept i got a little faster with my fingers. So it was a need to get a halo. Turing it on is simple as stock and adjusting might take a little while but you can easily change it between games, or if nothings going on, DURING game. The only thing that is a problem is the 5th and 6th rof. My friend used this board and it ate his motor cause he used the 6th rof. NEVER use 5th or 6th unless you ARE going to use it for that high of bps. It will put too much stress on the motor for too long and the motor will break.
Conclusion: Great board
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 10th, 2006 at 7:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bloencustoms Saturday, May 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B stock board
Marker Setup: OGI T1
'03 Black Magic with Eblade
nexusr ram with QEV's
supafly bolt
Mac Dev Ti pump arm and cocking rod
Kapp Stainless valve, jam nut, IVG
Nitro duck 68/4500 adjustable
Gripper feed neck
Strengths: Speed of feed
Weaknesses: no longer winds up drive cone spring
Review: This baby really feeds fast. Installing it was easy. I was disappointed to find that it no longer winds up the drive cone when you first turn it on. The original board runs the motor for a short time to wind the drive cone spring. I tried it with the fastest setting on my T1, and it fed like a charm. Still the old board fed just as well.
Conclusion: Unless you really can shoot more than 30 BPS, it might not be worth it. The stock board keeps up fine. (Although I can't shoot faster than 14~15 BPS on a good day.) I'm giving it an 8 because it does indeed feed faster according to my unscientific drop test. But no 9 or 10 because you lose the drive cone winding.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannpain889 Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every loader i have encountered so far. even the q loader since many people havent used it. i dont suggest anything but vl halo or warp though.
Marker Setup: Dust Black 04 Trix, aka scm, aka sidewinder, evolve bolt, delrin bolt, kapp tophat, daoa 4.0 board, halo b victory board, bp no rise feedneck, dye backplate, titanium rod & breech knob, dye mini drop, steel braided line w/q/d and macroline, evil asa w/on/off, crossfire 90/45 w/ redz tank cover, soon to have macdev conquest and ccm barrel kit
Strengths: Fast (fatestest on the market)
6 modes
cheap
Weaknesses: Still heavy
Eats batteries on lvl6
Review: I think that it is a great upgrade for yor hopper. so now you dont have to get fater by gonig to the realoder b or q loader you can just get this cheap board.I think that it is a great upgrade for yor hopper. so now you dont have to get fater by gonig to the realoder b or q loader you can just get this cheap board.I think that it is a great upgrade for yor hopper. so now you dont have to get fater by gonig to the realoder b or q loader you can just get this cheap board.
Conclusion: Great product very cheap upgrade. can help a lot if you back and just to show off your fast gun if you want too.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 6:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jmoney07 Sunday, October 8th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B (stock)
Empire II
Electronic View Loader
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Virtue Board
Virtue Eyes
Virtue QEV
Redz Bolt
Q-Lock feed
Halo B w/ Victory Board
14' Freak Barrel
Max Flo System
48ci/4500psi Carbon Fiber Tank

Back Up Gun:
Tippmann A-5
Double Respoce Trigger Kit
14' Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Smart Parts On/Off Drop Forward
48ci/4500psi Carbon Fiber Tank
Strengths: FAST
Easy to install
Weaknesses: Kills your battery
Possible to burn out your motor
Review: I bought this board at my local paintball shop, took it home, and in about 20 minutes, had put it together and started testing myself. Honestly, even on setting 6, the board can only reach a top feed of 30bps, I don't know who they were trying to fool with their claim of like 35bps, but it's not true. But people, listen to me, NEVER, and I mean NEVER use setting 6, and try to stear clear of 5. Cause lets face it, you don't need it. You can't shoot 30bps, and it just kills the battery in like half the time it should. Also, if used too often, you could actually burn out your motor. I use setting 4, and it works just fine.
Conclusion: Get this board only if you really can out-shoot or break your stock Halo B board.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 8th, 2006 at 1:16 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

tommybeeline Thursday, August 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
probably a ndz stage 2 o.d. pulley
Marker Setup: Blue/Gold Shocktech Shocker, Halo w/v35/ndz stage 2 od pulley, PE 68/4.5k
Strengths: Unbelivable, u just need 2 make sure that u are on the corect settings
Weaknesses: Eats up batterys like crazy
Review: I was hesitant when I first bought this board after reading 2 or 3 reviews, but i broke my stock board so i really had no choice... it came with simple installation and programming instructions, i initially removed the od pulley to test the actual jump of speed.... wow, a product that works =) i reassembled it and drop tested it against my bro's vl sf, it wasn't even close i will definitely give it a 10/10 unless future problems arise
Conclusion: Definantly buy it again in a heartbeat
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 30th, 2006 at 5:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media