paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Airstream Mask / JT Airstream Mask / JT Airstream Mask

JT Airstream Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Airstream Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Airstream Mask
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 5.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It is a lightweight, well ventilated, full coverage system that is perfect for beginning players.
Product Availability 
The JT Airstream Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
MFCT Friday, October 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
First mask
Marker Setup: Tippman Custom 98, 32 Degrees 14" Carbon Fiber barrel with Tapco Shoulder Stock
Strengths: Small profile, foam ear surrounds, removable lens.
Weaknesses: Small field of vision, little chin coverage and bad fogging.
Review: This is my first mask and I thought it was pretty decent for the money. At first, I was concerned with the foam sides covering your ears, but after a good 20ft shot to the head, the concern wasn't warranted. Sure, full plastic would have took some of the oomph out of it, but the protection was there. As an add bonus, the foam sides help with sighting down the gun. Its not as ridged as plastic. The lens removal is two screws and then popping out the tabs. Not too bad.

Also, with all the holes in the foam padding, adding some camo strips and various twigs, etc to the mix makes this a great mask for ghillie usage. However, that bonus is negated by the damn thing fogs up after minimal use. The lens is so small and so close to your face that even on a typical 75 degree day, you are likely going to experience fogging.

Conclusion: All in all, a good first time mask, but I'd have to agree with the scores simply on the fogging aspect. It hurts the performance a lot.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GIZMO8Z Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various other JT and BE masks,Scott Masks, DYE Invision, VForce Morph and Rental, DIABLO Skul.
Marker Setup: Custom Built, Dust Blue WGP Orr-accle Bodied 'Cocker W/ Chrome E-Blade, Chrome WGP Black Magic Reg, Chrome Grip Feed Neck, Red Shocktech Pneumatics/ KAPP Cosmetics ,14" DYE boomstick & 45/45 Nitro Duck Tuff Skin HPA Tank.
Strengths: ~Cheap price.
~Face protection.
~Soft ear pieces = bounces.
Weaknesses: ~It's small profile = headshots.
~Hot.
~Lenses Fog.
Review: All in all, this mask does its job, but it doesn't do it well.

This mask has a cheap price, it offers good face and chin protection, and its soft ear peices increase the possibility of bounces. However, its small profile leaves part of your head and face open to shots, it doesnt breathe well and its lenses fog often.
Conclusion: If your getting into paintball, your looking for a mask to use once and a while, or your on a strict budget, this is the mask for you.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

truefreestyle Tuesday, July 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Sheridan, JT Elite
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker 2003
Compressed/Nitro Tank
Drop Forward
Strengths: Cheap. Has good goggle installment.
Weaknesses: Materials are horrible
Review: This mask is way to hot. All it does is fog and get hotter. Sometimes this mask fogs so much that iv'e been tempted to take it off from the sweat in my eyes. You must get anti-goggle fog for this mask. Which kinda defeats the purpose of a cheap mask. You'll probably better just buying the goggle fog and using a pair of goggles. The side materials on the mask I think are going to rip (already started to) off completely. Even when I got this mask It didn't even have the little dots in the side pushed out. Took me a stupid hour to fix that.
Conclusion: Your better off not buying this mask. Get something else. Only buy this mask in the case you need something for the fire. Your probably better getting something with plastic and good coating. Something like a Dye Invision.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ythpstr2000 Saturday, July 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision
JT Proteus
JT Elite nvader
Marker Setup: SET UP #1
ANS GX3 autococker (all standard features unless noted below) Chrome color
WGP Hinge trigger
10-inch freak (full kit)
Clear AGD Warp feed
Gem Clear 12 volt revy
Crossfire 47 c.i. 3000psi steel tank
(above will be next upgrade to apocalypse 68 c.i. 4500)
System X drop forward w/ shut off

SET UP #2
Diablo Matrix (just got it!)
Aardvark bolt
Gun 20 chip

Set up #3
Tippmann 98 Custom
System x 1 piece Chrome .689 barrel or…
Tippmann to Cocker barrel adaptor so I can use freak on my 98!
Marker was chrome but has been painted light blue
Light blue/clear 12 volt w/ x-board revy
Double trigger
Response Trigger (getting about 10-12 a sec and between 3-20 rds w/ each trigger pull! Sweeeeeet!)
32 degree starfire bolt
Taso chrome cocking knob
Taso 8-inch drop forward
20 oz. CO2 (when I get apocalypse for cocker, Tippy will get the crossfire!)
Lapco Rear velocity adjuster
Thunder Pig Expansion Chamber & Regulator (will replace w/ Tippmann vertical adaptor & expansion chamber soon)
click on my name in top left to see my profile then go to my homepage to see pics of my markers!
Strengths: Cheap (cost)
Weaknesses: Cheap (not worth material its made of)
Review: Look guys, Im not flaming this product, just putting it in its rightful place. Above they admit that its entry level. I think even this is a stretch. I have to ditto the guy who said that the nose piece was coming apart. I have electric zip ties holding mine together. I NEVER use this on the field and never let others use it because its not safe. I only still have it so my kids can run around the house with the tigershark I gave them and they play pretend paintball.
Conclusion: OK so you just dropped every dime you have on a new marker and all you can afford is this piece of junk. I understand. But when you begin looking at marker upgrades, clothing, etc. do yourself a favor and get a better mask. The two top dogs as far as masks go right now are the JT Proteus and the Dye Invision. You can get either one on ebay new, rather cheap. I say cheap...yet your going to drop like $75. But are your eyes worth it?
Plus both come with Thermal lens...say goodbye to fog. This improves your game more so then 3/4 of the marker upgrades out there. Take it from someone who has been shot by people he couldnt see because of fog, and shot others with ease because they are fogged up and cant see me. Believe me, seeing is better.
Any pro or semi pro, or anyone thats been playing for awhile will tell you that a mask is not the place to skimp. Dont be ashamed because your shooting cheap paint for awhile so you can get a better mask. We will see who laughs last, well us with good masks will see.
If your using this mask(airstream), at least youll HEAR us laugh, assuming your mask didnt fall apart and you got plugged in the ear!

At least upgrade to the nvader. It is alot more rugged. I put thermal lens in mine and they are almost as good as the dye or proteus. Only thing that makes those two better is the peripheral vision and the comfort.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 5th, 2003 at 12:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

puntas13 Thursday, May 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other jt masks
Marker Setup: syder tl with some minor add ons
Strengths: cheap
Weaknesses: small protection
Review: i have had 2 of these mask but i bought the second one on accident. the coverage zone is really small and its not a very comftorble mask... but i guess thats why its only like $20. i also had a problem with the lenses cracking. i don't know if its me or the mask. it also wanted to pop off of the nose which wouldn't be good if you got shot in the face
Conclusion: you can get better mask for the same price so i would advice getting a diffrent mask if you can
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 15th, 2003 at 4:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-=ReD-hAzE=- Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex-7
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Strengths: It keeps paint out of your eyes..? easy to mod...
Weaknesses: Makes you look like darth vader... fogs all the time...
Review: Never ever skimp on a mask... you can't play well if you can't see well...
The single lens fogs like there's no tomorrow...
The foam sides poof out when your wearing it... making you look like darth vader...
Poor ear protection... a little short on the mouthpiece...
The lower half has a tendincy to unsnap itself from the eyepiece... leaving your nose less protected...
Conclusion: Unless you actually want to look like darth vader... don't buy it...
Save your money and get something a little better...
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bikerdude7200 Wednesday, January 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
jt alpha
Marker Setup: black maxx with stock barrel, 12 oz java co2, toxic performance 200 rd hopper
Strengths: this mask is:
-light weight
-airry
-very good for the price
Weaknesses: The bad out numbers the good by far
-u fell insecure
-seggust u where a beanie or something
-hard foam sides
-low in forehead
Conclusion: This product is an okay mask but dont pay over $15 dollars i am givving it a 8 because it is a decent mask for newbies like me
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt protius
Marker Setup: IMpuls, magnetic trigger, 12v revie, freak all american barrel, nitro setup.tight stuff!



Strengths: well I traded this mask from a freind and there is nothin bad about it cause it keeps me safe don't brake and if u out some thermal lences in it is awesome.I also liked how it is a small target and will stay on really well.It is also very easy to clean.
Weaknesses: Well the only 2 bad things is that is doesn't come wit a thermal lence but u can bye one most places and occasionally the lence and mouth part fall open but never when I'm playin

Conclusion: I like this mask very much and would recomend it for a cheep nice bye

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT WhipperSnapper (the good ol' snapper.... :D)!
Marker Setup: BE Rainmaker, gutted & capped the stock reg, replaced it with a PMI-Pure Energy inline. 1499 board (Select fire.) Derilin bolt, NitroDuck MaxFLO reg/cradle with 68ci/4500psi TuffSkin bottle.
Strengths: The JT Airstream is the 'modern' and 'updated' version of the venerable JT Whippersnapper (circa 1989.) If you're old enough to remember the Snapper, then you're old enough to remember the NSG. In any case, it provides adaquate eye/mouth protection. Conforms to ASTM standards (SO YOU KNOW ITS SAFE ENOUGH!)
Weaknesses: Unfortunately, the thick foam rubber sideguards are too soft to be of any real protective value. The goggles are large enough, but mouth protection is iffy. Definately not for folks who scream when hit.
Conclusion: Buyer beware. Most cases you can buy these gogs for under $10 used, but I would save up and buy a different entry-level gog system. BUT if you want for nothing but nostalgia, go ahead and buy buy buy!
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pengin Thursday, March 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
shop glasses
Marker Setup: compact 2000, tear drop barrel, 32 deggrees x cahmber, scope, 12 volt revy also a 98c wit a 14 inch pmi razzor barrel, a custom trigger job and a paintball wizard dropforward- and a camo jave tl+ with a red dot scope
Strengths: maybe protects your eyes
Weaknesses: looks like CRAP
my dad got shot in the forwhead because it slipped down, now thier is blood on the inside of the google
feels like it wouldnt protect your agnist a nerf gun
Conclusion: dont buy this or let anybody you know buy this its a law suit waiting to happen
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media