paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / APM Products Tigershark Bolt / APM Products Tigershark Bolt / APM Products Tigershark Bolt / APM Products Tigershark Bolt / APM Products Tigershark Bolt

APM Products Tigershark Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount APM Products

Buy APM Products Tigershark Bolt

Paintball Spyder Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


APM Products Tigershark Bolt
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $15

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
CNC machined bolt made from Nylatron.
Self lubricating material.
Maintenance free (no '0' rings to oil).
Smoother action (no scuffing in the chamber).
Lighter in weight than stock bolt.
Open face giving maximum airflow.
Better fit in chamber creating more air efficiency.
Reduced ball breakage.
Reduced noise.
The cheapest effective upgrade for you marker.
Product Availability 
The APM Products Tigershark Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
f2f4 Thursday, May 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The stock bolt... it wasn't that bad, but not that great either.
Marker Setup: If you REALLY wanna see my setups... which I doubt, go to:
http://www.freewebs.com/f2f4
Strengths: - Cheap (price)
- Perfect fit
- Very light weight
- No O-rings/oil needed
- Secksy looking!
Weaknesses: - Ehhh...shipping? (It took a while, but then again APM is in Canada...)
Review: When Flamin'Skull first posted on the Kingman forums about a new bolt he was developing, I was skeptical. However, since he took input directly from us in the design of the bolt, I decided to plunk down the $11 he wanted for it. Boy, am I glad I did!

First off, the customer service was great. Flamin'Skull helped me to place my money order (I had no credit card...), and promptly informed me as soon as he received it. The package the bolt arrived in was very well protected, with the bolt having no damage upon delivery. When I first installed the Tigershark into my Avant, I immediately noticed something: All the side-slack and rattling I was used to from my stock bolt was gone! In short, the bolt fit perfectly into the chamber. I was already impressed, and I hadn't even gassed up my marker yet!

When I dry-fired my marker a few times (to make sure that the new bolt worked), yet another amazing realization struck me. As I was looking at the feed-neck, I noticed that there was not the usual "puff" of CO2 that was oh-so-often released when I would shoot. Just to check, I stuck the back of my hand over the feed-neck, and felt absolutely no air at all when I would shoot. The perfect fit of the Tigershark in my chamber also had the strange little side-effect of drastically reducing my blow-back. Also, as I would shoot my Avant, I noticed that the kick-back was slightly reduced, due to the fact that the Tigershark weighs much less than the stock bolt.

One of the key strengths (besides the perfect fit and all that) of this bolt is the fact that it is made out of nylatron, which, like delrin, is self-lubricating. Unlike delrin, however, nylatron is less prone to swelling. Also, the milling of the bolt as well as the cool "swirling" pattern was a nice feature.

As of yet, I have not tested the bolt with paint. When I do, I'll edit my review and let everyone know how it goes. |8^)

UPDATE:
Well, I finally got to put some paint through my marker with the new bolt installed. As I predicted, blow-back is now a thing of the past. Just to prove it (to myself, mostly), I stuck two paintballs into my feed-neck, and fired off one shot. With the stock bolt, doing this would make the second ball in the feed-neck fly a few feet into the air, but with the Tigershark, the ball didn't even leave the feed-neck! Needless to say, I was most impressed. My second test was to chrono my marker, and see if there was any velocity increase. Upon testing, I noticed a 3-4 FPS increase on average, which, even though that isn't that great, my venturi on the stock bolt I was testing was already removed. Some time ago, when I removed the venturi, I recorded a 9 FPS velocity increase. So, to be fair, this bolt would (on average) give the user a 12-14 FPS velocity increase. Also, while testing, I noticed that the marker was slightly quieter and had a less "metallic" sound to it, due to it's nylatron construction and perfect chamber fit.


UPDATE #2
Well, this bolt swelled up on me. It wasn't anything catastrophic, but I did have to sand it down.

NOTE: APM HAS BEEN INFORMED OF THE SWELLING PROBLEM AND HAS FIXED IT!

In conclusion, I still stand by my recommendation that you order this bolt immediately!
Conclusion: Most people say that a new bolt will not make that much of a difference. Normally, I would agree, but this bolt is different. Buy it.
For $11 ($15 now...), you can't lose.

However, if you have more money to spend, I would reccomend the ACP Blue Bolt over it, or the White Wolf, since APM seems to have gone out of business.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 18th, 2005 at 9:29 pm PST
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

Spitlebug Tuesday, August 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Delrin Bolt (Impulse)
Marker Setup: 2K1 Imp, ECS Blue Light Cricket Board (Multi Mode, 30bps), Eclipse Blade Trigger, Evil Delrin Bolt, 2K2 Progressive Barrel, KAPP Micro Drop, 12v Revvy, Maxflo.
Strengths: -Inexpensive
-Light weight
-No lubrication required
-Doesn't scuff your markers breach
-Very tough
Weaknesses: -Will swell (but only under extreme conditions)
-Not as nicely milled as more expensive bolts
Review: What can I say about the Tigershark bolt from APM Products? Well for starters a lot. While this bolt certainly isn't the nicest looking, or milled to the highest quality it does however give you quite the bang for your buck.

Let start with the asking price. Depending on the marker you use, particularly Spyders, there are lots of makes to choose from. The price ranges from $15 to $17 US (With $3 US for air mail shipping) this bolt has most competitors sucking wind.

The quality of the materials used is of a high standard. However I found the milling to be on par with or slightly better than a stock bolt. Tigershark bolts don't have any fancy gimmicks like Venturi or Cupped faces, but they are certainly high flowing.

The Nylatron that the bolt is made of is very robust and very light weight. In comparison to a stock Spyder bolt, the Tigershark is nearly half the weight. What does that mean you ask? Well for starters with a spring kit you will get a bit more air (or CO2 efficiency). The weight of the the Tigershark and the open free flowing face makes it ideal for going LP.

Self lubricating. The Nylatron is composed of hard lubricants that don't require you to lubricate the bolt at all. The co-efficient of friction of this bolt is really low. Super low I would say.

Looks? Not so hot. But hey, at least it's a dark colour instead of fluorescent orange.
Conclusion: In conclusion, the Tigershark bolt is probably one of the best contenders for the Bolt of the Year award. Of all the competitors in it's price range, the only bolt that might compete with it is a Spudnuk'l. I highly recommend this bolt. I have bought three myself. If I could, I would rate this bolt a 9.8 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chillywilly Friday, July 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
Night Stick Barrel
Empire Reloader
Tigershark bolt
Strengths: Quiet
no o rings
Weaknesses: Kinda Ugly
Review: I bought this after reading all the good reviews here. I tried it out and it is really good. It is super quiet, reduces kick to nothing, and has no O rings to bother with. I would reccomend buying this if you are looking to bring down your kick, air use, and loudness, and you want to raise your FPS.
Conclusion: Excellent
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Semperfye Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock fenix bolt
Marker Setup: Stock Fenix
Dye Ultralite
TigerShark Bolt
Modified ESP Swtich
Strengths: Light
Cool Looking
Well Made
Nylatron material
Cheap!!
Weaknesses: None at all
Review: After searching through forums looking to see what is the best bolt to get, I came across the Tigershark. I originally was going for the Spudnukl, but then i saw the price of the Tigershark. They were both made of the Nylatron, and the only difference that i knew for a fact was:
1) APM was pretty new, (or atleast to me) there was no history of their work
2) Price was considerably lower.. 30$!

So i decided to try it out.. 20$ (17 + 3 SH) wasnt too much of a great deal..

Im glad i did! This bolt fits PERFECTLY into the chamber, no wiggle room what so ever.
it GREATLY reduced the kick back, and the noise was lower too! best of all..NO MORE SCRATCHES!

and to go along with their top notch products.. their top notch service. very helpful, and very quick to respond to email. APM, you just made yourself a zealous consumer!
Conclusion: Great Product. Would recommend for ANYONE wanting a new, light, self lubing, cool looking bolt. Dont be turned away by the low prices. Quality, and Performance is all that you will get here! the low low price is just a side affect..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

funkrocker049 Monday, June 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder Xtra bolt
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
12" Smart Parts Teardrop barrel
APM Products Tigershark Bolt
Shocktech Spyder Springs kit
12oz and 16oz CO2 tanks
Strengths: Perfect fit
Weight (lighter than stock)
Sound (quieter than stock)
Doesn't chop
Price
Looks
Weaknesses: Can be a little tough to cock, but who cares...
Review: I received the bolt through the mail in a padded brown envelope...the first thing I did was tear it open and dig out my gun. Let me tell you, there is some real meaning to "tigershark bolt." This thing looks awesome...and it fits the gun like a glove.

I didn't get the chance to field test it for a few days, but it was definitely worth the wait. This bolt not only reduced the weight of my gun, but it cut down on blowback and sound. With the stock bolt, my Spyder Xtra was extremely loud with a sort of "pinging" sound accompanying every shot. Not true with this bolt - it is a perfect fit for the gun.

On top of all that, this bolt has better airflow than the stock bolt since it lacks a venturi, and it DOESN'T chop balls. I shot approx. 1000 balls and didn't chop a single ball.

APM Products was extremely easy to deal with. I ordered through their website and received prompt email receipts and the product shipped the next day. It took a couple extra days to receive but that's because they are located in Canada. Great company.
Conclusion: I haven't tried any other aftermarket bolts, but I see no reason to after getting this one. This bolt only costs $15 plus $3 shipping and it works perfectly...if you're looking for an inexpensive but highly effective upgrade get this bolt.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stormbringer Wednesday, September 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock spyder bolts, bob long cylone 3 bolt
poor man lightning bolt mods for both
Marker Setup: coustom spider (built from scrach)- bob long millenium body w/
cip ault block
madman rocket valve
BL torpedo reg
16' SP AA ( barel borwed from TL+ for now )
dye stikes ( for e-frame)
e-frame off an imagine
cip sweet spot triger
BL cyclone 3 top cocking bolt ( polished to a mirror )
ricko apachie hoper
psyco balistics bullet drop w/ on/of
48ci 3K pure energy tank
(and more im shure im forgeting)

Havester---spyder tl+ w/
smart parts AA 2k3 barrel- 16inch
adco sure shot dot sight
ricochet AK hoper
Strengths: Cheep- efective for price
Weaknesses: Sweeling, cycle rate( friction)
Review: I bought this bolt because I was having some choping isues, and someone sugested a plastic ( derlin or whatever ) could help. so I decided to try this bolt because of the low cost.
Instalation-
when I went to instal the bolt I noticed that the tolarances are very tight. Geting the pull pin to fit (it's a top cocking spyder) reqired a lot of efort, but was not imposible once the bolt was "broken in". the fit with the bodywas also tight, again not an imposible fit, but it was somtimes dificult to get a hold of and pry out (figuretivly speaking that is)
Perormance-
initaly i was impresed, my choping problem was significantly reduced ( later I would discover that it was not a bolt related isue ) but my cycle rate seemed ( it was hard to be shure ) slightly slower, wich I was ok with because of the leser cycle mass, but eficeny was down compared to my cyclone bolt with the poor man lightning bolt mod. The real deciding factor for me was how this bolt handels chops. After about 150 shots, the bolt caught a ball just right, and jamed. the tight fit of the bolt realy works aginst it here- the paint shell got weged between the bolt and the body, and the marker jamed with the stiker holding the main valve open ( LP setup- it was uggly )
later testing showed the bolt wasn't responsible for the choping, but having a jam like that would take me out of the game for a day ( no words can describe how hard that jam was to get out) so I swiched back to my origanl bolt setup.
Conclusion: This bolt is good for the price- but a little mothers mag polish, some elbow greace, and a pair of plyers will get you a lot further if your willing to put the time and effort into a little self moding.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 8th, 2004 at 6:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Idenity Sunday, August 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
14 inch CP 1 Piece Barrel
AMP TigerShark Bolt
Strengths: Cheap
Light
Cool looking
Weaknesses: None
Review: Very good bolt. Very light and cheap. Only thing is that it takes 5-10 days to get it because its only sold in canada. Nice that you dont have to lube it and it has no O-Rings. Fit nice and snug into my rodeo. Nicely machined. VEry good i highly recomed it if you r looking to upgrade ur marker.
Conclusion: I highly recomend it. You will be greatly satisifeied.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kill.will Monday, August 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo, Tigershark Bolt, 14" J & J Ceramic
Strengths: Light weight
Good looks
Self lubricating
Super cheap
Weaknesses: None so far
Didn't get here fast enough
Review: Its $15 (+ $3 shipping)! Do you need another reason? How about it weighs practically nothing. It looks great. No more lube. Never broke a ball with the stock bolt, still haven't with the Tigershark. I wish it would have got here sooner, but its well worth the wait. I couldn't be more satisfied unless it did my laundry.
Conclusion: Great bolt. Buy it and you'll love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 4:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RUNandSHOOT Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt.
Marker Setup: Heavily Up'd Spyder Imagine
Slightly Up'd The ONE
Strengths: No oil
No lube
No worries
Weaknesses: LoL?
Review: This is the or one of the best bolt for your bucks. Under $20 shipped to your door, what more can you ask for? Free? Of course but thats not going to happen. Because this bolt is coming from Canada it can take the 5-10 days they state on the website to get to you. It is well worth any wait. I have not chopped a single ball out of a case and I have no scratches.
Conclusion: Get it and buy then install it. Have fun with this bolt.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Canadian Bacon Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: 2003 Game Face Bone Daddy BL:
- 32 Degrees 6 Stage X-Chamber
- 32 Degrees Universal Drop Forward w/ Gauge
- 14" J&J ceramic barrel
- APM Products TigerShark Bolt
Strengths: Crazy lightweight
Better than perfect fit
Amazing Price ($15 USD)
No O-rings Needed
Weaknesses: None, its the sh*t! (I mean that in the good way)
Review: When I took this bolt out of the packet, it was so light. I replaced my stock bolt immediatly, oiled it just to be safe, and dry fired because I was out of paintballs :( Theres alot less kickback than my stock bolt because of its lightweight. There was the a bit less noise but no scratches whatsoever compared to my stock bolt.
Conclusion: APM TigerShark bolts kickass. The cheapest thing on the market ever! www.spudnukl.com makes the same stuff but double the price!!!! Support us canadians and make this the cheapest ugrade ever on your gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 4:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media