paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Blackballed: The Bobby Dukes Story / Blackballed: The Bobby Dukes Story / Blackballed: The Bobby Dukes Story / Blackballed: The Bobby Dukes Story

Blackballed: The Bobby Dukes Story Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Blackballed: The Bobby Dukes Story

Paintball Paintball Videos and DVDs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Blackballed: The Bobby Dukes Story
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 6.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Check out the trailer for the paintball comedy that won the audience award at the South by Southwest Film Festival in Austin, Texas. It stars Robert Corddry (Old School, The Daily Show with Jon Stewart) and other great comedians from Comedy Central shows. Be sure to check the website for news and future screenings.

http://www.bobbydukes.com/
Product Availability 
The Blackballed: The Bobby Dukes Story is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
jitters93 Tuesday, September 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
16" stiffi mamba
vL gravity loader
9oz. c02 tank
---------------------------
Trilogy competition
12" dye xcel
kingman java gravity feed
20oz. c02 tank
---------------------------
Smart parts ion
black body kit
14" all american barrel
halo tsa loader
20oz. a/s
---------------------------
05 prostock
blue/black
12" dye excel
20oz a/s
---------------------------
draxxus/diablo paintballs
Strengths: Funny
Some known actors
Speedball parts are like watching a war movie(camera angles)
Weaknesses: Boring at times..
Slow at times
Review: IN 1993 bobby dukes is a famous player who wipes during a game and leaves for 10 years, he then tries to make a new name for himself and put together a team to compete in teh hudson vally paintball tournament, he finds all hes old team mates finding out that they dont play anymore cept for sam brown who hates his guts and ends up loosing to bobby dukes new team "teh rounds" getiing help from lenny a ref at liberty paintball he puts together a team of paintball players who he teaches to play fair and not be scared. Gear used in this movie are mostly just one angel, all icon-e's and vforce armour masks, some guns get switch during the speedball matches, at one point someone was using a green angel and then in the next scene (in the same speedball match) was suddenly using wat looked like a silver impulse. In the end when there givin custom gear for there team its just all the same icon-e's and vforce armour masks that they say have fans in them..
Conclusion: Funny , but like a 15+ minutes total of this movie is boring, awsome paintball action, but not alot and its mostly at the end
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 3rd, 2006 at 8:42 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

IONized_baller' Sunday, February 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nppl 04 san dieago
Marker Setup: a-5 response
a-5 vortex mod
3000 psi tank
20 inch sniper barrel
Strengths: Its about paintball
Some parts are funny (corny but funny)
A diffent paintball movie
Weaknesses: Lot's of language (says the f***k like 30 times )
Some parts are boring
Review: when i first seen this movie in my local movie store flyer. I thought it would have been i good movie. so i decided to rent this movie. the intro was funny using the the flower pots and action figures to show u what happened before the movie took place. I find this movie is ok. i thought the ending to be smart when they had the shoe at the bunker and know one was there. I think this movie isn't to bad but i wouln't buy it. your better off renting it
Conclusion: This movie is different and is a change for watching regular nppl videos but i don't recommend this movie for everyone. Rent this instead. Overall i give this a 6/10
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 4th, 2007 at 4:36 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

nitronovice Tuesday, September 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: stock Piranha 05 EVO, 20oz Co2, VL eVLution hopper
Strengths: Its kinda about paintball
Only a bit funny
Weaknesses: Not that funny
Course language
Very badly made
Review: I rented this movie, thinking it was going to be the a really funny and entertaining movie to watch, but boy, was i ever wrong. First, it seems like someone filmed it all in one week, then spent 10 minutes editing it. the only parts i actually laughed at (was more of a small chuckle) were when the team were amazed by their Icon e's, and one guy tried showing the girl how to walk the trigger. the paintball action was terrible. im still quite a newb in paintball, but i think even i, and many others newbs can play better than that (the team with the green jerseys). Even though i know a lot of the guys at the field i play at swears, this movie has just too much of it, and the guy with the attitude is kinda giving paintball a bad name by swearing so much and can only think about killing.
Conclusion: My honest oppion is that i wasted my time watching this movie. it's poorly made, not that funny to anybody, and there's just too much swearing.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

GhilleMan Tuesday, September 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paintball videos online
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
18inch opsgear interceptor barrel
Ariakon Laser
Clip Kit
Bushnell 4x zoom scope
Folding Stock
Fixed Stock
Camoflage paint
Strengths: Its about paintball.
Weaknesses: See review...
Review: When I first watched it, I was very dissapointed. I didn't find it funny whatsoever. Stupid storyline. It looks like a bunch of kids picked up a camera and started filming a movie. It has a PG rating but has a lot of foul language. Wasn't presented well and looked very cheaply made.

This is just my opinion, yours might be different.
Conclusion: I didn't like it. There are better paintball movies out there. I personally don't recommend it.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Deadshot16 Friday, August 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Silver Diablo Wrath
Halo TSA
Empire twister barrel
PMI 72 cu in. 3000 psi tank
Strengths: Paintball action
Training
Jerk getting popped
Weaknesses: Excessive language
Corny jokes
Terrible acting
Slow storyline
Review: I did not like this movie because it wasn't entertaining. It was made in 2006, but the equipment was outdated. I laughed when they spazzed over an icon e. I didn't think they were serious. In the last battle the jerk that was Bobby's friend was shooting a green marker, and then it turned into a silver impulse. They should have edited the film better. The acting got on my nerves: the old girlfriend, Brown, the sister, and most of the actors. They had excessive personalities that reminded me of Will Ferrel, except not funny. Many of the characters couldn't speak without cussing. If I was a newb this would make me not want to play paintball. It seemed like a bunch of rednecks who are the outsiders who make it in a tournament.
I did like this one guy who was a fanatic and carried one of the players of off the field, when he wasn't dropping the F bomb. Bobby was a likeable character. Paintball action was good. The parts that showed them practicing and training were good because it actually gave me some ideas about practicing paintball. And I did enjoy it when Sam Brown finally got shot because that guy was a mean jerk.
Conclusion: I did not like the movie as a whole. Overall I thought it was below average, so I give it a 4. The paintball action and few funny parts may be worth it if you want to waste your money renting this, but I would not buy it. Once is enough for me.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 18th, 2006 at 7:50 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Dyegunsrock Wednesday, November 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing is really this bad
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
*IN MAIL*
Egrip
Rhythm A-5 Pro Double Trigger
Strengths: Not really any, i guess it was a little funny.......
Weaknesses: Boring
not much action
just overall bad
Review: It really wasnt that great. There was so much hype over it and a couple of my friends said it was really good, so I didnt hesitate to buy it. Now I wish I hadent. It really is bad. Im also guessing they didnt have a whole lot of money to put towards this. They shot freakin Icons(not that theres anything wrong with that. Its jsut a little cheap). I really think if they had had a better idea, concept, story w/e it wouldve been better. I kinda hope they dont try this again.
Conclusion: This is horrible, but what can you expect when you try to make a documentary on a guy who wiped.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Kiba000 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: stock ion, apache, 68/4.5k Crossfire
Strengths: Funny, about paintball
Weaknesses: Not for kids
Review: Blackballed the bobby dukes story is a movie about a washed up pro paintball player named Bobby Dukes. He comes back rom world travels to New York and play in the "Hudson Valley Paintball Classic". Bobby pulls togeather a team of misfits and enters compeeting against Bobbys ex-teammate Sam Brown.
Conclusion: Its funny if you pay enough attention but if you just kind of half pay attention to it its no good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evil_skater Sunday, February 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder vs2
Strengths: Funny
Weaknesses: None
Review: I don't know why people are giving 1's and 2's
sure some parts might be boring but this is a funny movie you don't see much paintball movies like this
when i watch this movie it was so funny and pumped me up to paintball
i love every characters different characteristics
overall funny movie
Conclusion: Good stuff
watch it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jacksamlucy Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None so far...
Marker Setup: ION, Trinity T-Lock, Halo B, Crossfire 45/45...
Strengths: Funny
Interesting
Likeable Characters
Weaknesses: Slower Parts
Boring to non-paintballers
Review: I rented "Blackballed" the other day, and I pretty much new what to expect. While it wasn't exactly what I had hoped, I was still entertained.

The movie starts out kind of slow, but gets continually funnier and funnier. While is isn't a rolling out of your seat kind of funny, it is lighthearted and goofy enough to make you laugh a little. Myself, being a paintballer, was probably being entertained just because some of it had to do with paintball, while my non-paintballing girlfriend, was falling asleep as she had no interest.

The movie reminds me of one of those sports movies about the basketball coach who gets fired for drinking, and then recovers, comes back, makes a team out of losers, and then wins the championship in the end. Except this sort of pokes fun at that whole underdog kind of sports movie that we're all used to. This movie could have easily been a different sport, they just happened to pick paintball.

Another part that made the movie, in my mind, totally worth the money I paid to rent it, was the cast commentary (on the DVD obviously...), the outtakes, and the deleted scenes. These alone were worth it. Not until I watched these was I actually laughing real hard. Where some people might find some of it offensive, I think anyone with even a hair of a sense of humor would find it funny as hell.
Conclusion: All in all, I would suggest renting this movie if you like mockumentaries, have patience for a few slower parts, have a sense of humor, and enjoy likeable yet quirky characters playing paintball. Be sure to rent the DVD and watch the extras!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006 at 12:11 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

coyote Monday, July 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Mostly stock Dye LCD Matrix. Switch kit, snatch gip, Lapco feedneck, Reloader B
Strengths: It will drive TWIBS crazy, older gear and less than NPPL.PSP style ball.
Weaknesses: Lowbrow. It doesn't really fit todays paintball, as cheating is soooooo common.
Review: It feels like you know these guys. The nerdy ref, the over the top macho A hole. The cowardly player who is there to be cool. The choady villian, who is nothing short of outstanding. The dorky sister who just wants to hang out.

I especially love that in the final match the villan starts out shooting an LCD angel with a drop stock on it , and at some point ends up shooting an impulse with a freak kit.

Oops.
Conclusion: Its better than most cable TV. my wife bought it for me. I nprobably won't watch it again
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media