paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Power Paintball Products Scorpion / Power Paintball Products Scorpion / Power Paintball Products Scorpion / Power Paintball Products Scorpion

Power Paintball Products Scorpion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Power Paintball Products

Buy Power Paintball Products Scorpion

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Power Paintball Products Scorpion
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: deluxe barrel interchangeable accutip, all metal, Hi-Flo venturi rear-cocking bolt, stainless field strip screws, power feed, anti-double feed, super light trigger pull, bottom line set-up, stainless turbo valve, and 45 grip frame.
Product Availability 
The Power Paintball Products Scorpion is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
rebel le bad ass gun
tricked out avenger
spyder tl
Marker Setup: rebel, drop forward,barrel
tricked out avenger
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
dropforward
chamber
Strengths: very accurate
shots great with new trigger
barrel is pretty accurate for a stock one

Weaknesses: not much bad on this gun.
Conclusion: i brought this gun on e-bay cause it was cheap.
when i got the gun it had a leak but i fix that with a couple of seals
i think thats way they sold it owner didn't know how to fix it .
since i fix that problem its a good gun.have'nt had a problem yet
i also brought it cause it had all the upgrades on it so i guess thats way it shots good. stock barrel on it is pretty good where ever you aim thats were the ball go's and you can shot all the balls from your hopper and it will hit in the same place all the time.

i didn't like the drop forward it had so i change it the on and off switch on it sucked.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fubar Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
X-chamber or remote, new spring, Venturi bolt
Strengths: Durable, well-machined
Weaknesses: Bolt wear, traditional Spyder problems
Review: I bought this marker during the brief period they were available, and have used it off and on since then (around five years now!).

The Scorpion is a Spyder clone that has added durability and features. Out of the box -- assuming you can find a box for it anymore -- it plays much like an older Spyder with some aftermarket work. The stock barrel is a 10" 2-piece that performs adequately though, as with most low- and mid-range markers, a replacement barrel will improve your accuracy greatly. The ball feed is at a 45-degree angle, which allows sighting down the barrel. The grip is a .45 frame with Hogue grips (a top-notch addition) and a crisp, responsive trigger.

The dial velocity adjust is a nice touch, but the stock spring -- again, assuming there's still a stock spring left in it -- was rather underpowered. The bolt tends to wear unevenly but does not materially affect play, but a Venturi bolt will enhance your gameplay at a modest cost.

Rate of fire leads to most in-play problems with the Scorpion. It's easy to outrun a gravity-fed hopper, so an inexpensive mechanical feeder is suggested to reduce the chance of classic Spyder hangs (when the bolt snaps on a partially-dropped ball and hangs forward with a fragment of shell between it and the body). To keep CO2 out of the internals, invest in either an expansion chamber or a remote (the remote was sufficient to reduce freeze-ups and cloudbursts in my use).

Field-stripping is quick and easy; with the necessary allen and torx wrenches, you can disassemble the firing mechanism, clean it, and have the marker back together in three minutes. Although the manufacturer is out of business, this marker is fully Spyder-compliant, so ongoing support is not an issue.
Conclusion: At the time, it was an excellent entry-level choice, and remains a good marker for secondary and loaner use. Its durability and ease of maintenance makes this a fine choice for someone looking to spend a small amount of money for a decent marker.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HizZaAa Wednesday, October 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder tl, spyder extra. They dont seem to be any better (stock) basically the same
Marker Setup: Scorpion J&J ceramic 14" or stock (like stock better). Spudnukl bolt (another unnoticeable gain) vl 200 hopper, 20 oz co2, Maddman spring heavy (old spring got tangled)
Recommended
Upgrades:
If u want to spend some money get an agitating hopper (revvy or reloader)
If you have this gun get a a new spring kit I noticed some fps gain
Strengths: accurate as long as you have paint to barrel match, hogue grips, durable, spyder-clone
Weaknesses: not high bps, chops pballs, trigger pull could be lighter
Review: This is my first gun I got it used for 80 dollars (plus jt spectra and paint sweet deal). This is a reliable gun. I took the stock trigger frame apart and cannot change the trigger spring with a spyder one (spyder's have wider circumference springs, that wont fit in the slot) so that means no mods except cutting the trigger spring for a lighter pull. I heard before the company went out of business, this was one of the guns that some fields used as rentals. This gun can compete with any of the mechanical triggered spyders and clones out there.
Conclusion: I wouldnt recommend it because of the lack of customer support (obviously) but if you want to tinker around with an old one (you can use spyder parts on it) go ahead.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 28th, 2003 at 11:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jmoney Monday, October 8th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It is a great begginers semi auto. The stock barrel is great. It shoots pretty accurate and is fairly quiet. It is easily upgradable because it accpets most Spyder parts. As to preccision it stays fairly close to the set velocity. Especially with an expansion chamber or N2. The price is great for a begginers gun.
The grips are very comfortable. Very durable. Especially the internals.
Weaknesses: First off I think the company went out of bussiness about two years ago. The trigger is heavy so u cant fan it or get that high of an ROF. Mines never come uncocked before but so some do.
Conclusion: In the most part it is basiaclly a Spyder with nice milling and a nice paintjob. Its pretty durable and accurate. If you can find a new bolt and trigger for it than its great. It hasnt ever given me any problems and i stilll have it after 4 years so in my opinion its a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Casper Tuesday, May 1st, 2001
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The Scorpion has a nice finish on it. The look of the gun is excellent. A friend advised me to buy this gun two years back when I first started, so I did. Well I havent bought a new gun yet, I have stuck with the Scorpion although I have made a few adjustments here and there. I've replaced the barrel with a CP and added a expansion chamber and low pressure one also. The gun is also very accurate even before I raplaced the barrel. It was so good that I sold the stock barrel to a friend with a Spyder Compact, now his gun is accurate too. Throughout my 2 years of owning it I have had NO problems above...well I can't think of any problems. the best part is that the last time I broke a ball was three cases ago.
Weaknesses: The trigger is on the heavy side and the gun eats Co2 like a beast. I got around 500 shots per 16oz. until I made some upgrades.
Conclusion: The gun is a very good one to start out with although for me it is one that can countinueously upgraded untill it can beat the likes of an Angel(loooooong ways away). The gun is well priced at around $150. It beats the lower Spyders and is equal to or better than the TL, Shutter...ect. I would give it a 8.5...round up 8)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyedmcfanatic Saturday, November 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Scorpion stock
14oz. co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: It is very durable
Weaknesses: Hard to clean
Review: This marker is very durable. Great for a beginners gun. I have used it for two years without any problems. I got this gun used, but it still was very reliable. The only things it really needs is a new barrel and a motorized hopper. My recomendation for the barrel would be a J&J ceramic full tilt twelve inch barrel.
Conclusion: Overall this is a very good marker
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Sheridans, Illustrators, Bruizers, most all low line guns
Marker Setup: Scorpion, venturi bolt, JJ ceramic barrel, drop foward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a barrel, bolt, and new trigger frame, w/o these it's basically worthless
Strengths: Shoots fast
Shoots quiet
barely ever chops paint
Cheap so It's a very good gun to start with and build on
easy as hell to fix most any prob.
Weaknesses: Must be upgraded to compete and that can run you into some $$$$ quik
Conclusion: Great for a beginer or a starting block Great back up gun
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 30th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL, Spyder TL Plus, Compact 2000, Compact A, Spyder Elite
Marker Setup: -2000 Autococker
-14" TASO Winforce
-16-hole TASO Pinless Bolt
-Shocktech Beavertail
-Shocktech Drop-forward
-ANS Front Block
-DYE 45* Frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
Do what you can to it if you're willing to spend the money... I suggest bolt, barrel, LP chamber in that order.
Strengths: It was relatively cheap until the compact 2000s came out. Oh well. It can handle higher fire rates than similarly priced markers. The Scorpion is extremely quiet after a barrel upgrade. It makes no more than a *clink* on each shot; its crazy.
Weaknesses: This gun is near worthless until you upgrade it.
The company went out of business.
Conclusion: Get it if you want to be unique, just be sure to upgrade it or you'll be the laughing stock of the field.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 27th, 2001
Strengths: Nice gun out of the box. Fit and finish are good and the price is right. Worked first time out. All metal construction, accurate, moderate rate of fire, simple to upkeep and very reliable. Uses almost all SPYDER accessories and parts. Very light with great pointing characteristics, nice sight rail too.
Weaknesses: Velocity adjustment is a bit poor, no tourny lock and need to keep a variety of springs to adjust for weather effecting CO2 pressure and thus velocity. Run it off a regulator and setup for lower pressure or move to nitro.
Stock barrel is OK (very good for speedball) but likes a 14" Smart Parts All-American and medium bore paint with a tough shell for rec-ball.
When I used a conventional ViewLoader I would get occasional breach breaks that would lock up the bolt, moved to a Revolution and this problem went away.
Never had a de-cocking problem unless using CO2 in very cold weather.
Conclusion: Good gun for anyone, newbie up to experienced rec-ball player. I have popped many experienced players with "better" markers with this one from close up or far away. I actually like the firm trigger break but it does tire out the hand during long games. Install an ELCD and/or a double trigger frame and then this thing might actually be a good tourney gun, if you can take the teasing until the game starts. I can reccomend it to anyone playing rec ball. Like it much better than any at its price (Tippmann and SPDYER, et. Al.). Competes well with ones costing up to 2X more.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 22nd, 2001
Strengths: This gun is awesome. I picked it up from a friend, and it is more accurate than any gun I own. I love it and recommend it for anyone of any level.
Weaknesses: Triggers a little stiff, but nothing you can't fix.
Conclusion: This gun is awesome. If you want to upgrade, a new barrel would be nice, but the stock barrel is pretty damn nice. I recommend it for everyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media