paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey O3 Mechanical / Odyssey O3 Mechanical / Odyssey O3 Mechanical / Odyssey O3 Mechanical

Odyssey O3 Mechanical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey O3 Mechanical

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey O3 Mechanical
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 8.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $349

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New O3 Body with custom streamlined look
Cocker compatible with closed bolt design
Standard with roller sear for smooth,efficient and light trigger pull
Low-pressure operation makes for great consistency and overall accuracy
Equipped with low friction Delran bolt and reverse style P back block
Standard with clamp feed tube and bottom line Regulator, and in-line grip

Available in Black - Grey - and Red
Product Availability 
The Odyssey O3 Mechanical is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Paint INC Wednesday, August 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Cockers in a way
Marker Setup: Angel 4 Fly
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-Blade or Worr Blade
Inline reg w/ guage
New Drop
Strengths: Fast >> Faster with Eblade / Worrblade
Light
Ready for eyes
Cocker parts friendly
Weaknesses: Trigger isnt that light stock
Eye holes are for reflective eyes not breakbeam
Review: Great marker. I rarely ever get and use a cocker. I know they are as acurrate as can be but I really liked the O3 so I decided to try the O3m because of its lower price. Before I even shot the markter in its stock form I put on an eblade. This marker S C R E A M S and for now I like it more then my O3electro. The main reason being is that I cant fine tune the O3e w/o the datacable. Also a great plus about the O3m is that it comes with a derlin bolt. I dont know why they didnt include it with the O3e. Anyway this marker is amazing. I also put on a ultralite and shot an entire case. Can you say ball on ball? When I get my website up I will have all videos of my reviews.
Conclusion: Great marker at such a cheap price then you can use the rest of your money to buy an eblade or worrblade. For now I think this is just as good as my O3 electro but once I get the datacable it will probably put back on the shelf for awhile.I will be rewriting this review when I come across new info.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

medicman5000 Sunday, May 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Tipmans,
Marker Setup: OGI O3 Mech, WGP Tripple Threat Barrel System, 68/4500 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Drop Rail
Lighten up the Trigger
Strengths: Good looking
Great Value
Accurate
Reliable
Timed fairly well out of box
Weaknesses: Trigger is a bit heavy
drop rail is way too short.
grips are "Skinny"
Review: So this was my first cocker and really didn't know what to expect. Having used it for a bit now I can say that I really like this marker and would be willing to recommend it to my friends.

The good:
This marker is a insanely good value for a first time cocker. While I wouldn't call it a high end marker it is easily top of the class when you compare it to other mid level markers. The looks and reliability are excellent. As for accuracy it whomps anything else that I have shot before.

The bad:
While I don't have many the one thing that irritated me to no end was the dro rail for the bottom line regulator. It is so short you begin thinking that your hand needs to go on a diet. Im not a fan of drop forwards so I got a CP pro rail to give my hand some breathing room. The trigger is also a little heavy. While it has not been a huge issue for me I can see wanting to lightening the pull as my skill level increases. Lastly the grips, while sticky for a stock grips, were just too dang skinny. Now this may just be a pet peeve of mine from shootin real semi autos, but I needed more mass to hold on to. I added some Evil Death grips to do the job.
Conclusion: Great gun for more of the rec-baller who wants mor then the everyday blow back marker. Those looking for tournament level ooh la la would enjoy this marker with several upgrades. My opinion is that it is good out of the box for most anyone looking to have fun with a accurate, reliable marker that will raise at least a few eye brows.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

buddychad Friday, August 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 vert cocker- more reliable/standard part sizing
Marker Setup: Oddessy O3m cocker
Freak Barrel
CCM LPR
CT 3-way
CP Vert Reg
CP Rail
CP 2005 ASA
Richochet AK Hopper
Crossfire 68/4500 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
HPA
Mech hopper, Revy or Richochet will do fine
if your came like mine you'll need to replace some parts of the front pnuematics
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Eye Ready
Delrin Bolt
Weaknesses: Weird working Reg
Rail keeps loosening up
Needs some Timing/Trigger job
Barrel Bore .693
Review: All in all a nice cocker, looks good and is nice and light. Mine had some problems with the ram and hammer arriving unlubed and the o-ring on the barrel was a couple sizes too big but these are all easy fixes. The Timing came a little funny but i'm having the local shop mess around with it, i'll update with a performance review
one of the front hoses also needed replacement

update- the reg design is a wierd "floating reg" where the adjustment conects right to your pin valve, so you need a tank that has one (no on/off's), took my tech an hour to figure that one out

update- turns out the LPR was no good... was putting 250psi on the ram no matter what adjustment was made to it which is way to high, i put a Chipleys custom Reg on it and it fixed it right up, running 70-80 psi, cut down on the chops and missfeeds alot

update- there was a machining problem with the stock 3-way, it had a nick in it that chewed up the orings causeling a bad leak, slapped a wgp ct 3-way on there and it's working great again

update 01/06/05 - The bottom line reg is still giving me problems (leaks like major if you screw the tank in all the way) i took to ethan and proffesional paintball (inventer of freeflow) and he couldn't get it working right so i'm scrapping it and getting a cp reg. if they had just given this gun a halfway decent vert reg instead of this POS bottom line reg it would have been a much better gun, if i hadn't gotten such a good deal on the gun i would have never bought it as is

update 01/27/05 - Have replaced the bottem line reg with a CP vert reg and CP on/off guns working much better i can get it cycling reliably although i have to work some vodoo everytime i gas it up. Basically i gas it up and nothing happens but if i plug the front of the 3-way with my thumb and cock it once then pull the trigger about 4 or 5 times the gun leaks like crazy for a sec then the ram seals up and it's fine..... don't know how it works but it does everytime, For giving me 5 months of problems and having to add $200 in parts to get it working properly i'm dropping it's rating from a 8 to a 6

Good Design
but the reg needs a good amount of work and the fittings are mixed imperial and metric (typical dragun stuff) which makes it a pain in the arse for some gun techs

2/10 out of the box, again this is probably just my individual marker but if it happens once in can happen again
9/10 after repairs, cycles like a dream and the trigger can get off around 6 true bps (it's really faster than it sounds) with the stock trigger set up, i'll be tweaking mine around and will update when i get it going faster
8/10 performance, (when working) accurate but the stock trigger pull is heavy and all my shop's attempt to fix this resulted in more problems due to some non standerd threading, i can get off a solid continuous 6 bps, with maybe a 10 bps max speed
Conclusion: Adequate Cocker but needs a lot of work out of the Box, at least mine did, it was made in Taiwann and shipped overseas, so it might vary from gun to gun. If you don't mind tweaking/replacing some of the front block. what really puts this over a stock wgp cocker is the absolutly beautiful milling and anodizing.... so light and pretty
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 27th, 2005 at 7:17 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

TRIPLE_F Sunday, May 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dragunfly mech, warped dark cocker , wgp 03 vertical
Marker Setup: My current cocker : Warped spartz Dark COCKER, E BLADE , 88-5k pure energy dye titanium boomstick 10", HALO B, recently upgraded to a victory board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The O3 mechanical can use an e-blade and a new barrel. While I prefer Boomsticks they can be cost prohibitive when you need to size balls to barrels.
Strengths: affordable, easy to use and accurate
Weaknesses: The trigger is lighter than the dragunfly, but it is still heavy
Review: I shot the O3 all day today 05/23/04. Dragun says they made the trigger a lighter pull this year, they now come with the delron bolt stock, the barrel is now cocker threads, It now comes with an on/off aduster on the regulator and the reg is actually in the rail. This make for easy adjustment. I have shot many a DRAGUN markers and let me say they are not very good about having them ready to shoot right out of the box. All three we tested today needed no adjustment. I hope they can keep that up! The barrel worked well (.693 stock) and they mark them with the size. We were shooting zap primer which is a good rec ball paint and let me say that they are VERY ACCURATE. Also we noted that they have added an EYE cover to the outside. COULD THERE BE AN E-BLADE AVAILABLE SOON !!! i HOPE SO. iT WILL MAKE THE O3 A TRUE TOURNAMENT MARKER. I really love the fact that they have made it autococker compatible becase now there are so many ways to go with upgrades yet the marker is very affordable.
Conclusion: It sure is a pretty piece, I believe it is worth every bit of 350.00 and unlike the dragunfly it is very upgradeable.I won't give it a 10 however it is very good vaue for the money. surley it can be built into a 10 . Where's the Eblade? Where's the QEV's?
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 30th, 2004 at 1:07 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

pB_fRk_182 Wednesday, June 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
trilogy cockers
Marker Setup: o3m
revy
pure energy n2
5 piece barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Light
Grips are good
Weaknesses: Trigger is a little heavy but is good
Review: The odessey is a great gun for the price you can put lots of upgrades into it it can be a little work but its an aoutocoker what do you expect. The odessey would be a great gun for somebody who wants to play in tournaments and wants to use a mechanical marker the odessey is great for you then.
Conclusion: The odessey is a great gun i rate it an 8 only because of the trigger and the maintnence
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

OdYsSeY~X~ Thursday, November 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
03 and 04 Wgp auto cocker
Marker Setup: O3m
Karnivor Worr Blade
Nexus upgrade kit
68/4500 crossfire
Evolution II
Recommended
Upgrades:
cant think of any unless you want to e-blade (you should)
Strengths: Trigger and grips stock are comfortable can shoot fast stock only $199
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is great. Its all upgradable and its ready for the eyes so when or if you do decide to get an e-blade for it you wont have to worry about the eyes. The gun is very accurate even with the stock barel its not to heavy eather. Its easy to run with in a game of speed ball and I liked it when it was stock but with the upgrades its even better.
Conclusion: Great gun the price is amazing and its all upgradable it has the hole for the eyes if you decide to get an e-blade its basically a great gun to upgrade and for the price its perfect
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 15th, 2004 at 7:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NC demolition Tuesday, September 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
anything system X, WGP 03 and 04 verts, prostock, orracle, random others
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3m blue-black
WGP Ergo reg, black
Halo TSA frontman, LED
WGP Torpedo drop forward, black
custom carbon fiber eye cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
reg/rail (or small drop)
barrel
LPR
cocking and pump rods
Strengths: Fast for mech
Light
Reliable
Great anno and milling
Roller sear
Trigger stop
Weaknesses: LPR
Cocking/Pump rods
Barrel, .693
Review: oh, where to start.

the barrel is great, even with such a large bore. Then the pneumatics, oh man, the best stock i've ever seen, minus the LPR. even without lube, the ram is so slick the back block just falls away if you point the barrel up when degassed. before you think oh, the back block must weigh a ton, it doesn't. its uber light. the 3-way is extremely short and slick as well.
the clamping feed neck is great, holds the hopper securely
the stock reg and gas-thru suck, i replaced with ergo and torp drop. don't go much bigger than the torp, i had a PB bullet drop and it was far too big.
the trigger rocks, i love the swing, and i outshoot my TSA on a regular basis, with some mild suction mind you. the pull is more to the short and snappy side. it comes stock with a double roller sear. by this, i mean its got wheels on both ends, trigger and sear. as well as a rounded lug that releases super smooth.
the bolt is high quality delrin, very nice.

the cocking rod and pump rod are loc-tited on, and not very adjustable. when you adjust the cocking rod, you adjust how it sits with the hammer, not the knob on the rod.
the LPR is the typical odyssey/dragun thing, using a tire valve core as the reg seat. this is the only thing as far as pneumatics that need replacing if your keeping it mech.
Conclusion: Buy it. It gets a 9 because of the pump rod dealio, but other than that its one of the best mechs on the market, especially for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

novembercadet Monday, April 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Electro Dragun
Tipmann 98 Custom
Tippman A-5a2
some JT pooper scooper thing
Marker Setup: Vortex diamond seris 2 piece 14" barrel
Bob Long Torpedo Reg
PI drop Forward
Phat on/off
Dye 45 trigger frame
Shocktech 3 way
Dye gel grips(I see no point in these, but I like them)
Revvy hopper with X-Board
32 degrees ball detent
steel braided microline
92/4500 Crossfire
Empire tank glove (Once again, not really necessary I just like it)
Recommended
Upgrades:
The first thing I would get for this gun would be a new on/off and regulator. I was not pleased with its performance out of the box in terms of consistency. It could just be me though. The only other thing this gun really needs is a new triger assembly. On mine out of the box it was incredibly stiff. Other than that, the gun is pretty good as is
Strengths: Excellent entry level autococker. easily upgraded. Inexpensive.
Weaknesses: The review will list the weaknesses
Review: I bought this gun a few months ago and have been nothing but pleased with it. First however I want to get a few of the things I am not happy with off my chest before going on a rant as to why people should buy this gun. The only thing I didnt like about this gun out of the box was the consistency from shot to shot (easily changed), the pull of the trigger(easily changed). Now, the one thing that you are stuck with on this gun is the bolt. Autococker bolts will not fit. They are just too long. Changing the back block will not help this either. This is the only problem I have with the gun. It is a good delrin bolt though, but still, upgrades are nice. Other than that I have used this gun on many occasions and have only had to adjust the FPS twice I believe after getting it timed. My set up is incredibly accurate and very consistent. Out of about 12,000 balls I have only chopped maybe 4 or 5, which were all my fault. The gun is easily upgraded to an E trigger, and is already drilled for eyes which is really nice. I also like how the feeder neck comes with an adjustor to keep your hopper locked on.
Conclusion: I heavily recomend this producto to anyone who wants to get autococker quality at an inexpensive price. I do feel however that once you get this gun you will need to make a few upgrades, Reg, on/off, drop forward, and trigger which will cost maybe 200 on E-bay. And with those upgrades you have a very formidable gun. I am going to give it a 9 because of the very stiff trigger, inablity to accept various bolts, and poor out of the box regulator. On a side note, the quality of the gun is a ten I feel, but I just dislike the stiff trigger and regulator. For many people I am sure the trigger and reg is just fine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

everyday_paint Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS, WGP, Cold Fusion, PPS
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3M, Crossfire 92/4500, 14" Carbon Graphite Barrel Kit, CCM Front-end kit, CCM E Kit, CCM J2 Gripframe, PPS Stabilizer

Resent Update (April 9, 05)
Recommended
Upgrades:
(out of the box)
- Barrel
-Roller Sear
Strengths: - FAST
-Eye ready
-Efficient
-Accurate
-Price (If you Look)
Weaknesses: Mine needed adjusting right out of the box
really nothing else
Review: One word could sum this gun up. WOW. I was impressed by the total performance of the gun (for an autococker) It was frustraiting that i had to time it right out of the box but thats just a minor thing. The thing that really caught my attention with this gun is, it being autocock part friendly and coming from Odyssey. this gun made me come to respect auto cockers a bit more.
Conclusion: it's great, easy to time and not a wast of money, if you looking for a new gun and you want something new, GET THIS.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 14th, 2005 at 2:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p@intball3r Wednesday, July 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: o3m
Qloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
3 way
trigger
ASA and gauge on it
any thing thats gas related
bolt
Strengths: Looks
feed neck
Thats it.
Weaknesses: pressures don't stay set
.693 bore (good For wild streak)
Chops
Review: I got mine straight from odyssey. I was going to get the dragunfly but they ran out of those (took them off the market) and they sent me the o3m. It took 5 weeks to get to me. So I was already mad about that. Then I shot it a few times and when I gassed it up the next day the pressures where messed up and the 3 way hoses blew off. The velocity lug nut o-ring breaks every time you put a new one in. Also there service is bad. I sent my gun in about 5 weeks ago and have not gotten it back yet.

UPDATE:
It works better because i sent it back in for a second time. Then I finally fixed it myself. The "on off" doesn't work. It lets out air through the safety bleed hole. All you need to do is stick a few pennies in it as spacers. The bolt scratches even though it's plastic/duran.
SECOND UPDATE:
This gun sucks. o-rings are constantly breaking and the pneunamics (air pressures) never stay set. Without those 2 things a gun is not even a poor quality functional gun. You might as well get a blade because you at least get your $15 dollars worth of fun unlike this. I have not yet got to play a whole day with this gun.
Conclusion: Over all i wouldn't get this gun because there are to many problems with it and needs to many upgrades. when i was having problems with it i brought it to a pro shop and they said there air smith refuses to work on them because there pneunamics are poor quality. The maintenance on this gun exceeds what an autococker needs. My friend has a system X autococker and the only maintenance he does on it is a few drops of oil and cleaning the bore after he chops. He has dropped it off a cliff and this gun sits in his garage getting filled with saw dust. He's had it for a few years now. I don't want to here people say that autocockers need a lot of work because they don't. The only work needed is fixing what you broke or tampered with. Thats a big lesson don't fix or tamper with whats not broken.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 12th, 2007 at 11:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media