paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04 / PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04 / PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04 / PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04

PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 99
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tournament grade electronic with integrated anti-chop eye
Powered by CO2 or N2

Interchangeable threaded aluminum barrel with spiral porting

Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear-resistant teflon finish on all internal parts

Threaded removable vertical feed, closed receiver Electro mechanical trigger frame with LCD display, countdown timer, odometer, and anti-chop eye Powered by one 9v battery.

Custom vertical bottle adapter, DSR inline adjustable regulator with micro gague

12 + shots per second
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
cali141 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months90 of 93 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha STS 2k3 - Slower, less reliable, cheaper. In the price vs. performance ratio, the Evo beats it by miles.

WGP 2k3 Vert Feed Autococker - More expensive, more upgradeable, and has all the advantages of a cocker. Stock, this loses to an Evo, but if the cocker were to be fully upgraded, it would beat the **** out of the Evo. But, thats at least $700.

LED Matrix - Obviously very fast, low kick, quiet, etc, but the evo isnt actually that far behind the trix in speed, and also posesses the trixes magical no-chop abilities.
Marker Setup: 2k4 Piranha Evo, Evil Detonator, Extreme Rage clamping feedneck, IWFEU Scythe 2 trigger (custom made by jdubau55 on pbnation), Freak Jr.
Recommended
Upgrades:
- New inline reg, like a CP, Evil Detonator or Palmer Stabilizer
- New (timmy) detents. The stock detents will wear out after a few cases.
- New trigger. Speed can be increased dramtically with an adjustable trigger.
Lots of good upgrades can be found
Strengths: - PRICE
- Speed
- Breakbeam eyes
- Looks
- LCD screen
- Simplicity of internal design
- Stock barrel
- Customer service
Weaknesses: - Stock inline reg
- Stock trigger
- Kick
Review: Let me start by saying that this is, by far, the best gun PMI has ever produced. In my humble opinion, it is the best blowback to have ever been produced, which applies to any blowback on the market. Now on to the pros.

-PROS-
Price: You have to be stupid to not see this as an incredible deal. $250 for a gun that comes with dual breakbeam eyes (like the kind on higher-end matrices), a 20 bps board, LCD, and more. All backed by a company that has some of the best customer service anywhere. What else can $250 buy you? A higher-end Spyder? Yes, but those have no eyes. Black Draguns? Yes, but ive heard of plenty of reliability problems from BDs, and those also dont have an adequately sized line of upgrades to choose from. For the price, the Evo is almost unbeatable.

Speed: If you think 20 bps isnt enough, youre wrong, no matter how you put it. Think of it this way: Imagine 20 paintballs fired in one second. Imagine that, in the same second, you try to run through that line of paintballs, like in a game of speedball. You will NOT be able to make it through untouched. Besides, there arent a lot of people who can even go 15 bps, myself included. Is it easy to achieve a high speed on the Evo? If you simply practice walking the trigger for a while, you will end up with a speed that should be more than satisfactory.

Breakbeam eyes: These things work flawlessly. Ive heard numerous reports of people going through 6 cases (thats 12000 paintballs) or more without a single chop. I myself was using a 6-week-old bag of RPS Big Balls. Seriously, every single ball had at least a small dimple. Im not joking. I even grabbed a large handful and carefully examined each ball, looking for one with no defects. There wasnt a single ball that was perfectly round. Well, i shot the entire bag through my Evo, and there wasnt one chop. There wasnt even a break. These breakbeam eyes really do work just as well as the ones found in higher-end matrixes.

Looks: In one day on the field, 4 people asked me something like, "Is that an Angel??" The Evo really does look pretty good. Sure, its all a matter of preference, but most people like the way an Angel looks.

LCD screen: Very easy to navigate, and is done by three buttons. There is a game timer, ball odometer, and eye sensor (to tell whether the eye is on or off). It all works very well. The screen itself is a bit small though, but that just minimizes the likelihood of taking a hit to the LCD. You do not have to program dwell or anything like that like in other electros. Its all very simple.

Simplicity of internal design: 75% of the internals can be accessed by pulling a pin out of the gun. Like most other blowbacks, this is extremely simple, and easy to maintain. In total, there are only 3 parts in the gun you should oil. Two are easily accessed by pulling that pin. The third is a bit more tricky: the valve. You have to take off the grip frame and eyes, and unscrew a small screw thats right below the valve. Then, the valve can be taken out for oiling. It may sound a little daunting, but it is, again, extremely simple.

Stock barrel: When i bought the Evo, I already had a Spyder-threaded Smart Parts Freak Junior from a previous gun. Just for the heck of it, I did a comparison of the two barrels. The stock barrel is about on par with the freak. I was pretty amazed by this. Oh, and by the way, a freak jr is exactly the same as a normal freak in accuracy. So, the stock barrel saves you the trouble of buying a $200 Freak kit.

Stock trigger switch: The switch determines how light or heavy the pull of an electro trigger will be. The stock switch is pretty light (lighter = faster), unlike all of the other stock electro frames i have used in this price range. You need pretty strong fingers to walk the Spyder ESP frame, but the E-Force frame is extremely easy to get a fast, consistent line of shots out of.

Customer service: I had a problem with my board (It was my fault, not PMI's. Playing in the rain with an electro isnt very smart...). I knew that i couldnt fix it on my own, so i called up PMI. There was a 10-second wait time (thats VERY good compared to other companies), then a very friendly person asked me what was wrong. I explained, and he went through a few things that couldve been the cause. I said all the things he listed were fine and not at fault for the malfunction. He then gave me a number to put on the box that i was sending my evo to PMI in. From the day i sent it to the day i got it back, it took a week. Thats phenomonal, considering it takes a couple days to to get to PMI and vice-versa. Also, there was no charge for the new board they replaced my old one with. Thats VERY good customer service.

-CONS-

Stock inline reg: This is comparable to the stock reg on a 2k3 WGP vert cocker. Its nothing to brag about. Its okay, but it should be pretty high up on the list of parts to replace. I have yet to do a test run on consistancy, but its pretty telltale that the reg needs to be replaced through looking at the accuracy of the Evo.

Stock rechargeable battery: This requires 22 hours to recharge. Isnt that a bit much? Also, the trigger frame will start to ignore a pull here and there when the battery starts to get low on power. But, this is stereotypical of any rechargeable battery.

Kick: It isnt that bad compared to other blowbacks, but my last gun was an autococker. The autococker had zero kick. The Evo has a good amount, and I find this to be a bit annoying. Its still fairly easy to keep all your shots on target, but you have to put in a little extra effort to keep the kick under control. Anybody who buys this, and is coming from another blowback will probably not even notice.

Stock trigger: The thing is not very comfy to walk, and the pull is fairly long for an electro. Excellent for fanning, but not for much else.

Stock detents: These will wear out after a few cases. When this happens, the eyes may not perform as well, and the gun will start to randomly uncock during firing. A pair of harder detents should come stock.
Conclusion: In conclusion, the Evo has the best bang-for-the-buck ive seen in a long time. 20 bps, dual breakbeam eyes, LCD, and lots of other goodies for $250. The pros of this gun make the cons almost non-existant. In my opinion, it is better than a stock WGP autococker, which is $100 more. The Evo fully deserves a rating of 10 out of 10. Go buy one now. You wont be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 4:40 am PST
I found this review  
28 Comments - Add Comment

rollinstolen Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month30 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman-Prolite & 98
AGD- Minimag & Automag
Smart Parts- Rat Impulse
WDP- LCD Angel
PMI- 2002 E-Force
Marker Setup: PMI-EVO
Delrin Bolt
Extreme Rage Clamping Feed Neck
Smart Parts Barrel-AA Back & Freak Front
Revy w/x-board
PMI 72C.I. /3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA tank
Barrel
Bolt (optional)
Feed Neck (optional)

Strengths: PMI Quality-much better tolerances than ANY other blowback



Weaknesses: If I have to nitpick-the goofy grips ( no aftermarket available)
Review: Well, I have played paintball for over 10 years and owned more markers than I can shake a stick at...So I think I have a pretty good idea on bang for the buck.
While the PMI EVO is not a low pressure marker like a Matrix or a high dollar toy with all the features like an Angel...you have to think...how many people really need that anyway....

The stacked blowback design has been around forever...there is NO truth to the fact that it is slower or less accurate than other designs...and nobody makes a higher quality marker in the design than PMI....period...end of story...don't believe me...get 10 spyders...ten Sheridans...ten Icon's...etc., and then get ten PMI markers...lay them next to each other and compare build quality and tolerances...PMI wins hands down...

So back to the EVO in particular...take the PMI quality...add an electronic trigger frame ( nice feel to it to) and add in the break beam eyes and you have a super quick marker that doesn't chop, is super easy to work on...and with a few upgrades will let you play against thousand dollar superguns for a third of the cost and not feel that you are out of your league when they are dumping mega amounts of paint at you...go ahead...send it right back at them...

Conclusion: Sure...in a while I may want another $1000.00 toy to play with...but I won't feel like I can't keep up with his marker...and that is all that really matters right...bang for your buck...So on that note...I give it a 10 out of 10...you get a lot for the price...and PMI quality and service to boot...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

DGremlin Thursday, June 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months29 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Classic
Spyder Imagine
WGP AutoCocker
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO Stock with WGP 14" 2 Piece Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Recommended Upgrades ?
Barrel - while the stock barrel is very good, I find that I like my WGP 2 piece, it feels better and it is a better fir with the paint I use.
Perhaps the regulator, it in itself is a good inline regulator, putting through a fairly consistent air flow, but should you require a more controlled flow then you are going to want a more expensive reg.
Strengths: ANTI-CHOP
Air Ram Chamber
LCD
Can run LP or HP
Regulator
Weaknesses: The regulator could be marginally better
Perhaps a little bit weighty
Review: I have been putting the EVO through its paces over the while and now feel I have a good overall picture.

Packaging - The box is attractive ( yay ), inside is the marker, barrel, barrel plug, car charger, wall charger, user manual and maintenance parts ( 2 allan keys, 1 medium spring, 1 hard spring and a few extra service bits ) ie the soft spring is delivered as stock in the marker.

First Impression - Well to look at you can see it is no ordinary PMI marker, its got that substantial look about it. Now holding it, the grip is comfortable and buttons at your thumb, but dont worry you wont touch the buttons when you play. The one thing that is nice is that once the airtank is on the marker is well balanced and rests nicely in the curve of your hand. Overall the Marker felt solid and well put together.

The Trigger Frame - As I have already mentioned the frame is comfortable. The On button the left and on the right all the other 2 buttons. The LCD is overall nothing special, with the only information display is numbers. When the marker is on safety you can see how many balls you have shot and set the timer. The timer will only start the countdown from the moment you take your first shot, nice since you dont have to worry about pressing any buttons and will give you warnings as you get close to the end of you game. The Battery is easy to reach, with only 2 screws to be removed. The anti shop eye can be activated or de-activated only while safety is off.
The trigger is soft and is a nice pull, but is nothing exceptional.
Overall Trigger Conclusion - Basic, comfortable.

Marker Review
The marker is a really nice presentation by PMI, I have my EVO running at 300 PSI, and find myself getting roughly 1000 shots out of a 68/3000.
The regulator at HP is very good, I had a variance of around 5 bps at 290fps with the regulator at 750PSI.
The regulator at LP is fairly good, witha variance of around 7 - 10 Bps at 290 with the regulator at 300 PSI.
One factor I have had people ask me about is the kick, and compared to some full electro markers or an autococker, it does have a kick/recoil, but not a hard kick/recoil, its more a subtle twitch, I did not find it adversly affected my aim or groupings.
I could not say for sure if the Air Ram chamber had any real effect, since it is supposed to reduce the recoil/kick, I have not had the chance to play with a stock expansion chamber instead.

Gameplay
Well I have now put around 10000 balls through this marker, and it is rock solid reliable.
The ANTI-chop eye has saved me any number of chops, especially when I have forgoten to change my hopper battery. I would not play without the ANTI-chop eye ever again, it has saved my game playing butt a number of times.
In terms of ACCURACY, I am sure a lot of people will be interested in this,
All averages are taken while attempting to hit a target the size of a CD.
1 - 10 metres I am hitting the disc 9 out 10 ( and the 10th is usually my bad aim )
10 -15 metres - I hit the disc 3 out of 4
15 - 20 metres - I hit the disc 2/3 the time
beyond 20 metres I it varies I have not put much attention to this range, but on average 1/2 the time.
Overall in terms of accuracy it is quite good, and clean, the grouping fairly tight and well within expectations. SIDENOTE: I borrowed a fellow players autococker for a comparison and found little to no difference in accuracy, or grouping.

On the question of range, its always a relative question, but I would say I have reached on a constant run, a rough distance of about 50 metres, but since it is not really an effective gaming range, I do not consider this a imperritive. It is however nice to know that I will be reaching well into my opponents half.

I will say that it has and is truly a pleasure playing with this marker and it makes it all the more fun. It is responsive and a clear shooter. Off the field I have not had to fix one thing, I have oiled the marker every 2000 balls and checked it when it needed, but on the field it has worked and worked well, and left me with nothing to do off the field except maybe test paint.

Comparison -
Compared to the Spyder range I have played with, it absolutely kills on almost every level, but the spyder stock range is perhaps not aimed at the same market as this marker. The Spyder range, does not have the finish or overall complete feel. The Spyder has a harder trigger, less reliable regulator( in my opinion ) and support is perhaps not as good.

Spyder Fenix - it beats it in so many ways, better end product should sum it all up, originally this was what I was considering getting, I am 110% happier and relieved I did not, the EVO has a better look and feel.

JT Protium/tetra - well on one side I think the Protium/Tetra has a slicker look about it. But as a marker again the EVO has the edge, with the anti-chop, and better field strip setup, the tetra is really an entry level marker and Protium while really nice looking and performance wise maybe on par, I still feel the Anti-chop eye it a HUGE plus, but otherwise perhaps Protium and EVO are close to par on performance while the EVO in my opinion still wins.

Compared to the autococker - well this is where it all comes down to opinion,
The EVO is a far easier marker to maintain and generally work on, and should it break down, you will be up and running in a few minutes, an autococker is another matter.
On the field, the playing field itself becomes a little more even, the autococker does not have the suggestive recoil/kick of the EVO, but if you can get used to the small twitch of the EVO you should find yourself with a similar accuarcy and spped of play. The only time the autococker starts to take a noticable lead is when you add the E-blade into the equation, noticeable but for that money you spend on the E-blade it should.



Conclusion: The EVO is a well made, well designed and assembled marker, good enough to play casual and to carry into a tournament.
I can find very little obvious fault with the EVO and any fault I did find could easily be corrected by spending a little more cash on those bits lacking.
Bang for buck the EVO really is running tops.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 1:30 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

HobbesTZ Friday, October 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Intimidators, Tippmans
Marker Setup: Stock Evo w/ N2, freak, revvy, and a halo B.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Inline Regulator, barrel, and delrin bolt.
Strengths: Eyes = NO CHOPPY, Low price!
Weaknesses: Kick, subpar stock reg.
Review: After one owns 30 markers (not a misprint) over a two year period, they grow sick of the constant buying/selling/trading and all the problems that come with each. I know this from experience. So, after selling another gun (Angel LCD), I decided to screw it all and just get something that meets the criteria I currently need. What I was looking forÖ

Reasonably fast
Soft trigger pull
Reliable
Very CO2 compatible
Anti-chop something
Low price


Itís impossible to find something that has everything youíre looking, so you have to make exceptions here and there. Fortunately for me, I was able to find pretty much exactly what I so desired. This turned out to be the Evo. My somewhat local shop had one left, a nice glossy red. It was priced at $200, very much so in my range. They had some other deals, but I knew hands down that this one met the most of my criteria. So far, Iíve played one day with it, shooting 1500 rounds. The setup I used was all stock except for the barrel and the bottomline. The barrel used was a Smart Parts TearDrop, and the bottomline consisted of a CP rail and 32* on/off ASA.


Out of the boxÖ


The packaging for the Evo is an attractive cardboard box with a sleeve showing off some of the features. Inside, everything is held in with a simple plastic holder. Included with the Evo is the matching 9Ē barrel, parts kit (o-rings, velocity springs, allen wrench, detents, and a cup seal), matching drop forward w/ ASA, and the manual. One of the big suprises was the manual. This beast is fairly extensive and is FULL COLOR. There arenít too many manuals quite like this (the Angel Manual comes to mind, only that one is larger). If you still donít know what Iím getting at, itís a lot like the eblade manual. Now for the gun itself. The body is blocky, unlike previous higher end piranhas. Itís less curvaceous and has a real thick feel. It definitely has a lot of material that could have been removed, but itís not a problem in the least and lends to a more durable feel. There are a few lines on each side, as well as a Piranha Evo decal.

Also on either side youíll find the eye covers, the same durable plastic as the trigger frame. Speaking of the trigger, itís not adjustable at all. There are no set screws for adjustment, it is what it is until you buy an after market trigger, or modify the stock trigger (thatís what I did). The trigger is fairly stiff out of the box, but the trigger spring can easily be removed leading to a very soft feel (the microswitch is light with little feedback, similar to that of an Impulse, only more responsive). The grips have a rubbery plastic feel to them, and are unique to the Piranha and Omen trigger frames. It is possible to modify normal stickies or what have you, but the stock grips are fine. The interals are just like any other blowback, all aluminum. The bolt has two slots for the ball detents (Timmy style) and a venture like design on the inside. Itís flush cocking, so you donít have to worry about getting wacked in the face, or getting your fingers cut up by a pin on the side. The internals are held in by a pin with a ball veering that locks into place, but slides out easy for cleaning. No spyder cotter-pins here. The drop forward it comes with is VERY blocky, but atleast itís adjustable. You can move it back and forth on the grip frame, just like a horizontal maxflo. All the tanks I tried on the stock ASA go on really loose, which I can only assume isnít an issue since the foregrip ASA is the same way and it works fine. A few other features include the inline regulator (more on that later), ram-air chamber, pressure guage, and the mid-high rise feedneck (tight, my Revvy fits very snug, and the Halo required a fair amount of sanding. Also including is a one year warranty from PMI.


Unleashing the beastÖ


The day after purchasing it, I took it to the local field. I used a 68/3000 nitro tank, TearDrop barrel, and a revvy for my setup the entire day. Turning the gun on involves holding a button on the side until the LCD screen turns on, at which point in time the gun is in safe mode. Just one click afterwords makes the gun live and ready to shoot. On the other side of the frame two buttons control turning the eyes on and off, as well as going through the LCDs limited features that I wonít even mention because theyíre completely useless. The only real function of the LCD screen is to let you know if the eyes are on or off. I gassed it up (making sure to cock it first), and had no leaking issues then or for the rest of the day. At the chrono, my velocity was bouncing around, with no definitive + or -. On average, Iíd guess it was + or Ė 15. This is pretty much the first gassing up the stock reg. has seen, so that could have been a factor. The Diablo Blaze paint I was using was pretty much a perfect fit, either rolling out or smoothly sliding out. Likewise, I didnít experience any barrel breaks all day.

On the field, the eyes were doing their job. They are a breambreak setup, and do not shoot unless there is a ball in the breech. There is no delay, it either shoots or it doesnít. The board is capped at 20 BPS with the eyes on, 13 with them off. In any case, all that adds up to is zero chopping. I shot off 1500 rounds that day with out a single break. I forgot to turn my Revvy on a few times and was reminding by my marker that it was not feeding paint. Iíve done that with my Angel, only instead of not shooting, I would chop and my bolt would stick forward causing it not to shoot. The eyes are a lifesaver, and a big reason to buy the Evo. However, my main complaint is that it is still a blowback, and jolts like any other when fired. I for one couldnít care less, but it may bother some. On the plus side, it certainly assists in firing. Accuracy with my setup was off an on, there were a couple zingers overall, and not a whole lot of ball on ball at long range. Iíd say the accuracy was satisfactory, and can be improved with a new Inline reg. and a barrel kit. For $200, you canít expect everything. The marker can run at 300 PSI while still shooting 280 FPS. I found that the stock reg. runs better at higher pressures that are probably unique to each setup. The reg. doesnít NEED to be replaced, but there are many better options out there. Another good thing about the Piranha is that is was running to the very end of my tank. It didnít have any burping issues at all, and kept me in the last game when I didnít realize my tank pressure had gotten to about zero. That also happens to be another good feature, I can run my tank really low, which adds to the superb efficiency. I donít have any numbers for ya, but I can say that it was real good.


Random thingsÖ


I didnít test the stock barrel, but it seems fine. It has a smooth interior, with a two piece design. Itís lined up properly, and the back appears to be in the .689 range.

I have a Halo, but didnít bother trying it. It has dual detents, but they are very soft stock. They could stand to be replaced with Halo Timmy detents
In the endÖ

I think the piranha is really top-notch as far as the lower end of the spectrum goes. It really canít be beat for the price. You can expect to pay anywhere from $200-$300 brand new. You can buy it in black to blue, some sort of bronze fade, and reg. There is also an Atomix version in silver with a modified board (I think itís WAS).

I guess thatís all I have to say, I hope I didnít leave anything out. If you want to IM me with questions, feel free to have at it.
Conclusion: It's an amesome deal, especially with the warranty and support from PMI. If you can't afford anything $700 plus, or if your A-OK with a less stable shooting platform, the Evo will do you well.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

cali141 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha STS 2k3 - Slower, less reliable, cheaper. In the price vs. performance ratio, the Evo beats it by miles.

WGP 2k3 Vert Feed Autococker - More expensive, more upgradeable, and has all the advantages of a cocker. Stock, this loses to an Evo, but if the cocker were to be fully upgraded, it would beat the **** out of the Evo. But, thats at least $700.
Marker Setup: 2k4 Piranha Evo with Freak Jr, and more to come
Recommended
Upgrades:
- New inline reg, like a CP Grip Reg or Palmer Stabilizer
- Lighter hammer. The kick is huge compared to a cocker.
- A better rechargeable 9V battery like a Java or Powerex
Lots of good upgrades can be found at rjskateworks.com
Strengths: - PRICE
- Speed
- Breakbeam eyes
- Looks
- LCD screen
- Simplicity of internal design
- Stock barrel
Weaknesses: - Stock inline reg
- Stock rechargeable battery
- Kick
Review: Let me start by saying that this is, by far, the best gun PMI has ever produced. In my humble opinion, it is the best blowback to have ever been produced, which applies to any blowback on the market. Now on to the pros.

-PROS-
Price: You have to be stupid to not see this as an incredible deal. $250 for a gun that comes with dual breakbeam eyes (like the kind on higher-end matrices), a 20 bps board, LCD, and more. All backed by a company that has some of the best customer service anywhere. What else can $250 buy you? A higher-end Spyder? Yes, but those have no eyes. Black Draguns? Yes, but ive heard of plenty of reliability problems from BDs, and those also dont have an adequately sized line of upgrades to choose from. For the price, the Evo is almost unbeatable.

Speed: If you think 20 bps isnt enough, youre wrong, no matter how you put it. Think of it this way: Imagine 20 paintballs fired in one second. Imagine that, in the same second, you try to run through that line of paintballs, like in a game of speedball. You will NOT be able to make it through untouched. Besides, there arent a lot of people who can even go 15 bps, myself included. Is it easy to achieve a high speed on the Evo? If you simply practice walking the trigger for a while, you will end up with a speed that should be more than satisfactory.

Breakbeam eyes: These things work flawlessly. Ive heard numerous reports of people going through 6 cases (thats 12000 paintballs) or more without a single chop. I myself was using a 6-week-old bag of RPS Big Balls. Seriously, every single ball had at least a small dimple. Im not joking. I even grabbed a large handful and went through them, looking for one with no defects. There wasnt a single ball that was perfectly round. Well, i shot the entire bag through my Evo, and there wasnt one chop. There wasnt even a break. These breakbeam eyes really do work just as well as the ones found in higher-end matrixes.

Looks: In one day on the field, 4 people asked me something like, "Is that an Angel??" The Evo really does look pretty good. Sure, its all a matter of preference, but most people like the way an Angel looks.

LCD screen: Very easy to navigate, and is done by three buttons. There is a game timer, ball odometer, and eye sensor (to tell whether the eye is on or off). It all works very well. The screen itself is a bit small though, but that just minimizes the likelihood of taking a hit to the LCD. You do not have to program dwell or anything like that like in other electros. Its all very simple.

Simplicity of internal design: 75% of the internals can be accessed by pulling a pin out of the gun. Like most other blowbacks, this is extremely simple, and easy to maintain. In total, there are only 3 parts in the gun you should oil. Two are easily accessed by pulling that pin. The third is a bit more tricky: the valve. You have to take off the grip frame and eyes, and unscrew a small screw thats right below the valve. Then, the valve can be taken out for oiling. It may sound a little daunting, but it is, again, extremely simple.

Stock barrel: When i bought the Evo, I already had a Spyder-threaded Smart Parts Freak Junior from a previous gun. Just for the heck of it, I did a comparison of the two barrels. The stock barrel is about on par with the freak. I was pretty amazed by this. Oh, and by the way, a freak jr is exactly the same as a normal freak in accuracy. So, the stock barrel saves you the trouble of buying a $200 Freak kit.

-CONS-

Stock inline reg: This is comparable to the stock reg on a 2k3 WGP vert cocker. Its nothing to brag about. Its okay, but it should be pretty high up on the list of parts to replace. I have yet to do a test run on consistancy, but its pretty telltale that the reg needs to be replaced through looking at the accuracy of the Evo.

Stock rechargeable battery: This requires 22 hours to recharge. Isnt that a bit much? Also, the trigger frame will start to ignore a pull here and there when the battery starts to get low on power. I strongly recommend that this be replaced, as the battery can cause more problems than just the trigger-skipping.

Kick: It isnt that bad compared to other blowbacks, but my last gun was an autococker. The autococker had zero kick. The Evo has a good amount, and I find this to be a bit annoying. Its still fairly easy to keep all your shots on target, but you have to put in a little extra effort to keep the kick under control. Anybody who buys this, and is coming from another blowback will probably not even notice.
Conclusion: In conclusion, the Evo has the best bang-for-the-buck ive seen in a long time. 20 bps, dual breakbeam eyes, LCD, and lots of other goodies for $250. The pros of this gun make the cons almost non-existant. In my opinion, it is better than a stock WGP autococker, which is $100 more. The Evo fully deserves a rating of 10 out of 10. Go buy one now. You wont be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

DaSpEcSter Friday, March 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, 2 other Piranhas(TS PRO, EXT), Spyders
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Bolt, feedneck, drop.
Strengths: LCD, ACE(Anti-Chop Eye),Break down is cake, accurate, ball counter, reg, efficient cheap!
Weaknesses: Recharging the battery. LCD screen size, Safty Light, heavy.
Review: I just got this today! I know I shouldn't be posting a review but I wanted to be the first to do so! So far I've taken it apart and it's very well made. The LCD screen could be a little bigger. I personaly like the Angel LCD screens(but who doesn't). The bolt looks a little cheap it's not ano'd or anything and that'll probly be the second thing I replace next to a barrel. The store ordered from national paintball(I think) and NP orderd 150 of these! but only six came in. And so they got one in for me! the serial number is in the low 5K range. Well when I shoot it and get it broke in I will let you all know!

Edit March 28 2004:
I played today and it's an awesome gun! I shot about 300 rounds through it and never chopped or broke a ball! The only problems I've had are the safty light is hard to see in daylight. Also it's a little heavy and I wish it had a few more features, like a better lcd(maybe like the one on the pro-e) and a better stock bolt. I also have to get used to remembering to turn it off or on or whatever before a game. Trigger pull is so sensitive! When I shoot it shoots twice if I'm not careful, because the recoil of the gun makes it fire again. If you feather it just right it will make the paint rain! This is gun is a must have for a backup gun or for someone just starting in the sport. Or even a full time marker.

Edit April 5 2004:
Well yesterday something finaly went wrong! I aired it up and shot about 30 balls(I wasn't playing I was just practice shooting with a friend) and then we went back in the house and I left my gun on the table still aired up. When I came back about 30 mins later I heard this hissing noise. It was the gauge on the reg! It was leaking from the bottom part of the faceplate. So today I called PMI tech support up and I couldn't believe it! I had to hold for like 10 seconds and after that within 5 minutes of confirming registration I had a new gauge on the way! So I give PMI tech support an A+! Now we'll see how long it takes to get here. Thus far I've been very happy with PMI!
Conclusion: Great gun thus far! Go try one asap! If you can find one of course. they're a little rare right now. It's reliable, easy to break down(but you shouldn't have to often), it rocks stock., efficient, accurate, vision, looks, this gun has it all and for around $260! You can't beat that!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 5th, 2004 at 8:16 am PST
I found this review  
25 Comments - Add Comment

Icemanx13 Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shot various blow-back style electros
(e.g. Spyders, Icons, other piranhas...)
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO 04
Smart Parts Freak w/ All American Front (0.687 and 0.691)
Crossfire 68/4500 LPA
VL Evlution II
Hybrid Technologies Hedlok Adjustable Feed Neck
BOSS Blade Trigger
BOSS EVO Bolt
AKALMP Sidewinder LPR
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything that comes stock on the EVO is relatively solid and well preforming, so immediate upgrades are not necessary, although an electronic hopper is highly recommended. Down the road though you may want to get a better barrel (Freak anyone?), compressed air, better regulator (Sidewinder), and perhaps a better battery (Java, Powerex). And if you do not want to sand down your hopper neck, get an adjustable feed neck. Also look into the R.J. Skateworks BOSS Bolt and Blade Trigger, definitely worth the money.
Strengths: Looks
Simplicity
Accuracy
PMI Customer Support
RELIABILITY
ANTI-CHOP EYES!!!!
Weaknesses: Ummm....
Stock feed neck
Grips
Safety Light
Springs
Review: Well I'll talk about the subjects mentioned above. The EVO is, as you've probably already heard, a great deal for the money. Coming standard with an ACE (anti chop eye) system virtually ensures that there will be no ball breaks. It also helps you get a rate of fire somewhere close to a 13-15 bps range (Realistically). If you want to be shooting this fast, a force-feed hopper is a must. I recommend the VL Evlution II for two reasons. 1) It can be adjusted to feed at any desired rate (~4-17bps). 2) it costs $40 less than a Halo B. The marker field strips for basic maintenance in literally seconds. All of the internals are high quality pieces, and the internal bore is even coated with Teflon to help reduce friction. You really only need to oil the bolt, hammer, and the valve, all of which (except for the valve) are easy to take out. To remove the valve, you must take off the grip and unscrew a small screw that holds in the valve from the underside of the body. The accuracy is great and consistent, but with the addition of a new reg, the thing is a monster. Also, I would suggest a new spring kit or the Shocktech Shim kit because the balls will be only going about 220 FPS with the stock white spring. I went to SC Village two weeks ago and was constantly laying down aimed fire on other players. The EVO CAN shoot far (over 160 feet) but it's really too hard to fire that far with any accuracy. I did notice that while playing the stock rubber grips got sweaty and slippery. If you own gloves then there's no problem. I looked online for replacement grips but the only suitable grips world require me to cut and change them to fit the grip frame. With the eyes, you CAN shoot low priced paint(<$35), but I don't recommend it over the long run, since you risk a break eventually. Use PMI Premiums or ZAP Chronics, they do the job nicely. And one last thing, during outdoor matches it is sometimes hard to see the red light that tells you that your gun is live. Just be careful.

Update
---------------------------
My friend went paintballing this last Saturday (9/5/04) and this is what he had to say while using my marker: "... your gun didnt break a single ball... chris bought a pb gun... a "spyder xl"... the pirranah owned it ..." Those were actual quotes from an IM program. I think it's safe to say that the EVO rocks.
Conclusion: Overall the EVO is a GREAT marker for anyone. Take me, it is the first acutal marker that I owned. Online you can get it for $199 @ Action Village. I would recommend a good compressed air tank as the first upgrade, as it will greatly enhance performance more than any of the other upgrades will. Just go out and buy it, you can thank me later.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 19th, 2005 at 4:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BRB1011 Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't tried many guns so i don't know what to compare it to.
Marker Setup: 2004 PMI Piranha Evo, Evolution 2 hopper, 3A 10 piece barrel kit, and a 20oz PMI Pure Energy Co2 Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
3A 10 piece barrel kit. Nitro Tank.
Strengths: Fast!!!
Accuracy
Fully loaded
Anti-Chop eye
adjustable drop forward
light and short trigger pull
Weaknesses:
22 hours to charge battery
heavy
Review: This gun is the best gun out there for its price range. It comes fully loaded with every sort of feature you can think of. Really the only upgrades for it are a new barrel and a nitro tank. It is a little heavy but aren't most electronic gun. The anti chop is like heaven, I have never chopped a ball. I used to have a gun that every ten shots at least it would chop. When I got this gun, man what a difference. It was like going from a ford tempo to a Cadillac escalade. The stock barrel is accurate for a stock barrel.
Conclusion: Overall I highly recomend getting this gun if your sick of chopping balls and want a fast gun. For $250 dollars it is worth every penny. Excspecalily coming with three different springs thats a plus.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Sephiroth11 Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
cockers and other pirahnas/spyders
Marker Setup: EVO with 14 inch freak, all american front, vl revolution x board, 68/3000 carbon fiber tank, extreme rage clamp feed.
Recommended
Upgrades:
reg is ok
barrel if you want to use different paint, stock shoots bad with other kinds than 689
fast hopper so you dont outshoot the breakbeam eyes
hpa is the way to go, although co2 works
definetly new feed
Strengths: Fast trigger (mine is at 18bps),
eyes are great,
simple take apart,
looks clean.
Weaknesses: A little heavy for front players,
stock barrel,
co2 doesnt reach speed,
stock feed.
Review: If you're like me, than you have around 250 to 300 dollars and are trying to decide between an EVO, a Spyder Fenix, or a Tippman A-5, or maybe even a cocker. I looked at these reviews for a long time on the three, and I still couldn't decide. It took me a while to get the money for a tank, but I got a used one. I decided on the EVO after I thought of how everyone has an A-5, and everyone has Spyder's. I wanted to be different. The Evo is far from different, it is exceptional. It is, for my position, the best of the three. The none-chopping alone is sick. Everyone on the field also complimented on the looks, because my freak is black to blue fade, like the gun. People may say that the A-5 is definetly better, but i say that for a front man like me, faster triggers and better looks are the way to go. Like Rocky Cagnoni sa
Conclusion: People may say that the A-5 is definetly better, but i say that for a front man like me, faster triggers and better looks are the way to go. Like Rocky Cagnoni said in the Gettysburg open video, "Even if you don't win, you gotta look good." I give it a nine for blazing speed, but one or two problems.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ApacheAcres Monday, November 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha EXT PRO 2K3
DM4
TIMMY
IMPULSE W/VERT REG
SPYDER
TIPPMAN 98
ICON Z
I OWN A FIELD SO I HAVE USED A LOT OF MARKERS
Marker Setup: 04 evo gold pewter fade to black
shocktech superfly bolt
shocktech low rise clamping feed neck
boss blade trigger-rjskateworks
32 degrees LARGE bullet drop with on/off
cross fire 68/3000psi HPA tank
PHAT barrel system
Halo B rip drive
(upgrade chip/board in the works!!!!!!!!!)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs a new reg for sure. stock reg is awful
new boss blade trigger a must
super-fly bolt helped with some noise
of course everybody should get a barrel kit (stock is ok though)
timmy ball detentes
Strengths: Has EYES!
Nice color, looks very mean.
price for a marker with eyes and electro
Weaknesses: little heavy
kick, blow back. what do you expect?
trigger is awful
Regulator
Review: Ok, I have used the DM4, Timmy, Impulse and Angel. These are very fast markers. There is no comparison between these and the EVO. But I will say that the EVO is not far behind these markers. I think with the upgraded trigger and barrel kit, this marker is pretty bad ass. The ROF again is nothing compared to a DM4 or Timmy YET. I have been talking to the inventor of the T-board for the Spyder which I am sure you have all heard about it and I am sending this marker to him to see what he can come up with for an upgraded board for this marker. If you were to combine this marker with an upgraded board it would be unstoppable and for the price you canít beat it, I think there would be a mass purchasing of this marker. I will most definitely let everybody know about them and hopefully I can sell them at my store when/IF he can release it for me. Other than that, this is a very solid good marker for the player wanting to try X-ball, or tourny games!
low pressure. I am only doing 300-350 psi.
PMI TECHNICAL SUPPORT ROCKS!!!
pretty dang accurate
ROF is pretty good with Boss Blade. Easy to walk/fan.
DO NOT USE CO2 WITH THE STOCK REG!!! HPA is always better anyway!
Conclusion: I would recomend this marker to anybody wanting to learn and start the tourny scene. This marker is great as far as having the anti chop eye and milling. Yes, you need to upgrade it but never the less. Great marker for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 29th, 2004 at 2:30 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media