paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha E-Force SRT 04 / PMI Piranha E-Force SRT 04 / PMI Piranha E-Force SRT 04 / PMI Piranha E-Force SRT 04

PMI Piranha E-Force SRT 04 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha E-Force SRT 04

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha E-Force SRT 04
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 30
Average Rating: 6.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $220

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha E-Force SRT 04 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Toxic Baller Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested40 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98c
diablo mongoose
Spyders (but the Srt 2k4 is way better)
Marker Setup: Dye Dm4 Black-Red Dust
Dye Titanium .68 18"
Halo B Clear
Dye Long Drop Black
Izon Sight Rail Black
Dye 68 cu Tank Cover Red
(And Another Dm4 with the same upgrades for my paintball buddy)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (Stock One is Mediocre) Maybe an All American or a BoomStick
Regulator
Drop Maybe a Dye Long Drop
A Evolution II or a Halo B just in case


Strengths: read review
Weaknesses: read review
Review: Pirahna Srt 2k4
I saw one of these at World Cup last year and was really surprised with the sleek look and milling put into the marker. In fact, from far away, I initially thought it was an Angel LCD
.
BPS
Like every baller out there, I wanted to know how fast I could get the BPS (balls per second) up to. Remember in the Matrix when Neo was like “whoa”? Yeah, that’s how I felt too. The trigger pull may be a tad longer than I prefer but I got the Piranha rippin. It is insanely fast. I promised myself to look into the Piranha Eforce when they became available.

The Body
The body is very different from the “stacked tube” appearance that we are familiar with. It is a “sear tripper” design with a vertical feed. The feed neck is Omen/Impulse threaded so there are many aftermarket feed necks out there if you don’t like the stock one.

The Parts
The sight rail is easily removable and there is a volumizer to store much needed air for the valve to draw off of. Trust me, with the rate of fire on this beast, you will need the extra air stored in the volumizer to avoid drop off. The on/off button is located on the left side of the marker as well as the Sear Release and the charger port. On the other side is the three round burst and full auto buttons.

Buttons
The buttons are simple push buttons, far away from any finger. They are located high on the frame and I find it impossible to get a finger anywhere near the buttons which should eliminate any “oops”.

Sear
The Sear Release is located at the rear of the trigger frame and allows you to reinstall the hammer and bolt assembly without having to turn the Piranha in fire mode. It is a simple catch that pivots the sear out of the way of the hammer to allow the hammer to slide into the body of the gun. It’s a nice feature for us lazy ballers.

Charging
The charging port is located on the left side of the gun right behind the trigger. It has a rubber dust cover to ensure all debris will not enter the charging port.

Gas-Thru Grip
The front grip is PMI’s newer gas-thru grip. With the tapered mill, I found it very comfortable to hold. Nice and ergonomic, not as flashy as some others but hey it’s a gas thru grip.

The Grip Fram and Trigger
The grip frame is larger than its older brother the Piranha EXT Pro. The frame is a little longer, but only by about a quarter of an inch. The trigger pull is extremely light and the Eforce fires at the beginning of the trigger pull. The rest of the pull is just extra and wasted movement.

Trigger
Hopefully someone will come out with an aftermarket trigger for this gun so the trigger pull can be isolated to facilitate even higher BPS. The frame is made of a polymer plastic, and even though I’m not too keen about plastic trigger frames my assumption is that it keeps the price down on the marker.

Trigger
The trigger itself is also plastic with a little hook at the bottom. The Piranha Eforce’s trigger is very similar in shape to the IR3’s, just not as drastic. It will be interesting to see how long the plastic will hold up to the demand of today’s machine gunning ballers.

Software
The software package is awesome. Where other entry level electros have a BPS cap in semi, the Piranha Eforce has none of this nonsense. Simply put, this gun is a mowing, welting, eliminating, bonus-balling machine. No BPS cap in semi. The gun will fire as fast as you can vibrate the trigger, notice I didn’t say pull. Yeah that’s right; due to the fact the Piranha fires at the beginning of the pull you can just vibrate the gun to insane BPS levels.

Modes of Fire
There is also a three round burst feature and a full auto feature. In full auto the software only allows a measly nine balls per second. Ghetto. Makes me wonder why PMI bothered with the burst and semi features in the first place. With the BPS in semi uncapped, who needs burst and full auto modes?


Circuit board
Whoever PMI has that is designing these things needs to give him, or her, a big FAT raise. Yeah I know I said earlier that I didn’t like the plastic frame, but I’m sure they did it to keep the cost down. But the circuit board is housed in the upper portion of the frame. Behind the grips are just the battery and the solenoid. The battery is rechargeable and the Piranha Eforce came with a charger. Thank god, it gets old to switch out batteries. Yeah I know it doesn’t take that long, but I’m lazy. The charger plugs right into your car so you can charge it on the way to the field. If you want to charge it at home, just make a run to your local Radio Shack and buy an adaptor.

Solenoid
The solenoid is huge. I have yet to see a sear tripper with a solenoid that is as robust as the one that comes in this gun. The solenoid is the gun’s engine. This is like having a massive V-12 engine in your gun. I will be highly surprised to hear if anyone ever has a problem with the magnetic solenoid that is in this Piranha. Another feature that I like about the solenoid is there is a little spring that helps reset the Piranha for another shot. Good move in this department.


The Set-up
For testing my setup was a 16-ounce Co2 tank, Evil Paintballs, and an Evo 2 Loader. The accuracy was pretty decent. I was getting an eight-inch grouping with Evil paint at 40 yards (or 120 feet for some of you folks). I was impressed with that. It was 79 degrees the day I tried the marker out. At the chrono, the marker would not come up to playing speed. With the velocity adjuster all the way in, I could only manage to get 250-feet per second (FPS). Luckily, I had the spare spring that is a little stiffer. After switching out springs, I got a 334 FPS reading. I readjusted the velocity to the 280 FPS range. The variance was about 16 FPS as high as 289 FPS, to as low as 270 FPS. Not bad for a gun running on Co2

Some Specs
The rate of fire is so fast that I was able to push someone back into their bunker with a hail of paint. Everyone at the field was amazed with what I was capable of with a so-called cheap electronic gun. There were a few times that I did have to squeegee throughout the day, so I don’t think the Evo 2 was keeping up.

The Closing Remarks
All in all I had a great day shooting the Piranha Eforce STS 2k4. I feel it is a good sturdy gun and I think that PMI should sponsor a team to compete with these things at the national level - much like what Kingman does for Bad Company. I am almost motivated to play with one next season. Wonder if my teammates will let me..

Conclusion: If you want a sturday bad ass gun, thats cheap, reliable, and can sorta keep up with the high end guns (not my DM4 though lol) then get the Pirahna Srt 2k4.

Giving it a ten, but there was the problem with the velocity but thats not a big enough problem to drop a point :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

martens33 Sunday, July 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Spyder Compact
Piranha GTI
Marauder (First Gun)
Marker Setup: Piranha E-Force SRT
14 Inch Tear Drop Barrel
Halo B LED Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Loader
Spring Kit
Strengths: Easy Cleaning
Trigger Pull
Tournement Lock
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Low Velocity
Review: This is a great gun. I bought it brand new for bout 190, and its been doing great since. There is a minor problem with the velocity but that can all be fixed with a simple spring kit. It shoots fast and is pretty accurate on 3 burst. The trigger pull is so touchy that I've been acussed of using 3 burst in a tourney. But I had the Tournement Lock on. I really like that cause then I can easily proove that i am using semi auto, becuase the only way to turn it on and off is to take of the ASA and then take off the trigger and remove the screws out of the plastic cover and slide the button to the other side. This is a very good gun, I was rather impressed with the speed and accuracy of all the balls on all burst modes. So the only problem I can think of isn't really a problem, just an upgrade that is needed right away, and thats a spring kit, after that just save up and get a loader, and a barrel (my stock barrel was very good, but just the fact of having a tear drop on it sounds better so i bought one of those and was amazed with the results.).
Conclusion: This is a great gun for anyone that has a little spending money and wants to go electronic and keep up with all the really spendy guns. Its only 2 steps below the Evo, and its well worth it. Hope you can make a good decision!!!! Have fun paintballing!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer418 Saturday, September 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Pirhana E-Force SRT 2K4
All-American Barrel 18 in
Halo Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
18 in All-American barrel
Halo hopper
Strengths: Shoots pretty fast for the excellent price
Weaknesses: Minor problems here and there
Review: This gat is sweet as all hell. Don't plug air source before cocking that gat. Extremely light trigger pull. Light body. Looks sexy. Extremely accurate. Needs few upgrades. Good for the price ($$$$$180). Chops once in a great while. Velocity may be a little low but can always get a spring kit. Great starter gun for the price. Definately buy this ripping gat.
Conclusion: Get this sweet ass gat. 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 14th, 2004 at 7:54 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

lajara7 Saturday, May 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: piranha e-force srt extream rage hopper evil bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
evil derlin bolt
Strengths: Fast
Compact
Air eficent
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is the best gun i have ever used its fast, compact , and air efficent. my friends are awlways telling me how cool my gun looks and feels. it is soooo reliable! i have had this gun for about 3 months and have put about 8000 balls thru it and it has only broken 3 balls. this is an all around good gun.
Conclusion: This is a great gun and it has such an easy trigger pull. I would recommend this to anyone. The point is buy this gun you wont be sorry. I guarantee it and don't let anyone tell you that it si a bad gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stl85t Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Field Rentals, Tippman A-5
Marker Setup: 2k4 Piranha E-Force SRT
Clamping Feed Neck
Evolution II w/ Z-Board
Shocktech Drop Forward
Pure Energy 45/5000
Torpedo Regulator
Magnaport Valve
High Flow Valve Pin
Boss Bolt
Shocktech LPC
BossBlade Trigger
14" Progressive
14" Evil Pipe
Shocktech Shim Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good hopper
New Barrel
Strengths: Inexpensive, atractive, excellent performance
Weaknesses: For the price, none
Review: When I bought this gun I was torn between a model 98c or the srt. I'm glad that I got the srt.

First off let me say that to get good performace you need a few things. First of which would be NO2. I used CO2 at first, but kept busting the o-rings on the bolt. Plus the velocities were all over the plae. Since going with the NO2 I have yet to change any o-rings, and the velocities have stabilized. Second would be a good barrel. Third would be a good electro hopper.





Conclusion: The gun is low cost, very upgradeable, looks good, rarely chops ( I only chop a ball every 4 or 5 CASES of paint), very fast (you can shoot faster semi than full auto) and could not be easier to work on and clean.

I honestly can not think of any flaws with this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004 at 6:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Interceptor88 Sunday, December 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, same basic design
Marker Setup: Piranha SRT, Smart Parts All American barrel, compressed air tank, clamping feed neck, Spyder Shutter, Phantom VSC, Piranha LB, PMI-1
Recommended
Upgrades:
Compressed air, barrel
Strengths: Solid design, fast rate of fire, easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Weak feed neck threads on stock neck.
Review: Out of the box, the gun has a very nice finish. Mine is the green fade to pewter to black. The anno is smooth as glass. I didn't even bother with the stock barrel, first thing I did was swap it out. I also added a Lapco drop forward so I could use a low pressure output 91ci 4500psi compressed air tank. I let the gun charge up over night.

First time in use, the gun worked great. The funky trigger is extremely easy to shot fast without even trying. I personally don't sit around trying to walk a trigger, but its nice that the gun can fire fast on command. You can find the sweetspot and let the recoil do most of the work for you with a little practice. The rubber grip is comfortable. Out of the box, the gun chronoed at 280 on compressed air. I had one ball break, but after cleaning it out and checking in the feed neck, it wasn't a chop, it was a barrel break, so you can't blame the gun for that. There were two times that the bolt failed to recock. Possibly this was just the gun breaking itself in, or the bolt caught a ball halfway and stopped instead of chopping. If thats the case, I'll take a recock over a chop anyday. at the end of the day, my friend gave me some left over paint that he had bought from the sporting goods store. The brand is unknown, but it was a OD green shell with a purple fill. Pretty cheap stuff. I loaded up a hopper and hit the target range to play with the burst and full auto settings since I didn't use them on the field. The Full auto was a blast. I emptied a hopper with no chops. I should also ad that my hopper is a pre BE revy with a warped sports paddle, and was plenty fast enough to feed the FA setting. Sure some people can fire faster on semi that it can on full auto, who cares? Its fast enough.

Break down is simple and efficient. The sear drop switch makes reassembly a breeze. the internal parts are very well machined, and everything is smooth.

One thing I would like to point out that I like about the gun, it that the body is totally enclosed. There aren't any openings in the side of the gun that would allow paint and trash to get inside the gun, unlike my Spyder Shutter. Since I play scenario games, I view that as a plus on any gun. The rear cocking lever is spring loaded and doesn't fly back. There aren't any moving parts on the outside of the gun.

When I got home and went to clean the gun, I noticed that the feed neck was loose. As I went to tighten it, it fell out. The threads on the feed neck had stripped out. I went and added an extreme rage clamping feed neck. I'm not happy that the stock neck broke after the first use, but the clamping neck seems to be built better.

*UPDATE* Ok, had the gun for around amonth, and I've been able to play with it twice. So far, I've had the feed neck strip out and I had to replace it with a not so cheap clamping neck that is shorter. Now, the gun chops paint because the balls aren't stacked as much as they were with the stock feed neck. I refuse to go out and buy a $80 force feed loader for this thing. Next,I had the velocity drop to around 200, and I could not get it to go up for anything. I bought one of PMIs piranha/spyder spring kits, but they were too long and caused the gun to bind and malfunction. The gun didn't come with any other springs, but I was able to get some at the local shop, costing me even more money for the useless spring kit and the correct springs. My guess is I just got screwed with a lemon. Eitherway, I have no choice but to lower my original score even more. My first impressions with the gun were positive, but it has proven to be unreliable over a very short period of time.
Conclusion: Not a bad gun if you don't get a lemon, but I would also look at others, such as tippmanns or spyders.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 23rd, 2005 at 3:41 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

worker Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
E rex
98 custom
Marker Setup: Upgraded 32 deggres barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a new barrel
Get a eltric hopper
Strengths: Taking it apart
Cleaning
Weaknesses: Cost
Internal O rings break if gun use on full or burst
Review: Very good gun shoots very quickly if it is on full or burst. I would recomend putting an Electric hopper on it so not as many balls will break in the barrel. Would upgrade the barrel not very accurate shoots all over the place with the stock. I upgraded the stock barrel to a 32 wisper and it shoots fine. If you shoot fast the O rings break quickly and new ones have to be installed.
Conclusion: It was a good gun to get but it cost if you got the money for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 30th, 2005 at 5:42 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

nads69 Saturday, January 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot acs
ion is kinda similar,
06 electra isnt too much diferent
all other e force fishes
Marker Setup: SRT e force, 32' whisper barrrel 14'', VL 200 hopper, 20 oz tank, nothing fancy
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger i guess it comes plastic and its not that its cheap plastic but metal it always better. scenario dreams t board makes this thing rip(so ive heard)
Strengths: Good looking, sturdy, accurate, gas efficient
Weaknesses: stock barrel, trigger, ROF(advertised as 12+) really is about 9. but w/e
Review: Ive played with this thing in every sort of weather under every condition, from woods ball to speed ball, and it never disappoints me, i got it about a year ago and at the time was the one of the better guns out of who i played with so i was feeling pretty nice about it, days later all my buddies upgraded and now i am no longer on top. Just yesterday i played some woods ball and this fish worked flawlessly, didn't shoot very much paint but i made every shot count. This thing can take a pretty good beating too, its made of pretty solid material, and ive dropped mine plenty of times and don't really baby it by any means, it sits in my closet and get stepped on what not and still comes back for more. I would recommend this gun to anyone who loves the game and don't have very much cash in there pocket, great gun, i don't know what the other guys are thinking.
Conclusion: Great gun for a great price. Green to pewter fade looks so sick, and works well with a whipser barrel i give it a 10. Its never done me wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballagt13 Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pirhana EVO
Pirhana EXT
Marker Setup: Pirhana SRT
20oz. Co2
Tear Drop Barrel
Tank Cover
VL 200 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel
if u wanna spend sum extra money a new drop frwrd
Strengths: -Looks
-Descent
-Cheap
-Good beginner stock gun
Weaknesses: It chops balls.
Review: The gun is good, although when u get it it chops because of the spring, change the spring to the high velocity or medium velocity>>>> cus after i changed it, it only chopped once.
Only thing is the barrel is pretty loud and isn't very accurate.
I suggest a Smart Parts Tear Drop barrel or a j&j ceramic barrel.
Conclusion: It is a good gun for a starter or even for any rank. Its cheap/ affordable. I got mine for $127.95
But spend sum money on it.
Thats y i gave it a 9!!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spydinator Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-Force STS good looking but very disappointed
Marker Setup: Spyder compact with electo grip, evil delrin bolt, 16" two piece AA with a costum valve, six stage sub zero exp-camber running from a remote line to a Pure Energy 45/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
after market barrel
bolt
high feed hopper
Strengths: Looks are great!!
Strong and compact.
High rate of fire.
Weaknesses: The flush rod hits mask every time you shoot
Chops
Blow back is strong
Review: When I purchased this gun I was very happy at the whole design and engineering of the marker especially the flush cocking feature. When I brought it out to it's first game (all stock) I felt confident that it would perform as good as it looked but man was I wrong! Not only did the fluch cocking feature turn out not to be flush by popping out 2'' and slapping my mask every shot but the thing also chopped like an axe making it the worst gun I have ever owned. I brought it home because I thought one of the o rings were torn so I replaced all the stock o rings and gave it some good lube. The next day I tried it out again but this time the blow back from the marker blew my revy right off the neck and smashed on the ground breaking at lease two balls in the hopper. After cleaning up that timely mess I put two balls in the chamber and shot the gun amazed to see the second ball fly three feet in the air. I tried new bolts and barrels but was never really satisfied with its over all performance.
Conclusion: If you really what a better gun that shoots straight, far, fast and accurate with the reliabilty of a spyder go for a vision impulse because they are an excellent gun!! and with the eye they will never chop or let you down like the SRT. If you can't afford the gun or just rather not spend almost $1000 dollars on one like me get a spyder because when it all comes down to you and your marker at least the spyder can help you stay in the game.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media