paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Extreme Rage Overdrive Hopper / Extreme Rage Overdrive Hopper / Extreme Rage Overdrive Hopper

Extreme Rage Overdrive Hopper Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Extreme Rage

Buy Extreme Rage Overdrive Hopper

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Extreme Rage Overdrive Hopper
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 102
Average Rating: 6.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is a 9 volt powered hopper. It can feed 9+ BPS depending on what mode it's on. There are 3 modes: Recreational, fast-feed, and competition.
Product Availability 
The Extreme Rage Overdrive Hopper is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
cruiser0002 Thursday, August 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month42 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire reloader
APP 240 (the worst hopper ever, patented ball-jamming channel and all - 1 jam every 3 balls)
Marker Setup: spyder xtra
teardrop
Strengths: Cheap, very very cheap
Weaknesses: Belt is weak and slippery
Review: Of course, you get what you paid for; in comparison to more expensive hoppers like the reloader, the overdrive seems slow.
Pros:
-price
-better this than shaking a gravity hopper every 5 balls
-9bps is more than plenty for low-end semi
-makes for a great modding project (see below)
Cons:
-the funnel is belt and gear driven, but the belt isn't very tight so expect it to have problems when the hopper is fully loaded (that's ok, just shake a little)
-it's constantly on, this gets annoying
-if you left it running on fast, it will actually bounce balls away from the funnel if there's a light load
-the funnel increases hopper height

Solution:
-obtain the following:
2x NPN transistors
1x pc board
4x 1000ohm resistor
1x infrared LED emitter
1x infrared LED detector
1x 100ohm resistor
1x 5v activation relay
1x toggle switch
lots of wires
-connect detector through 3000ohm resistance
-connect to first transistor
-cascade the second transistor
-series connect to relay switch
-limit power consumption of relay with 100ohm resistor
-interupt hopper power with relay so that motor only turn when relay is on
-series connect 1000ohm with infrared emitter
-interupt main power supply with toggle switch
-drill opposing holes on the neck of the hopper below the funnel assembly
-mount emitter and detector on opposing sides
-secure all components

The above procedure turns this hopper into a optically activated electric hopper. This means the hopper only feed when the infrared beam is detected. It works, but since the physical limit of this hopper is 9bps, it will only feed up to 9bps. But for $10 from radio shack, you never have to hear the incessant motor noise again.

update:
http://www.pbreview.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&postid=
2659801#post2659801
I hope the link works.... otherwise look at the custom pictures thread in the forum.

update2:
Seems like the new version is directly driven by gear, the funnel should not slip anymore.

update3:
I like to plug nocpan's website for his wonderful instructions on this mod.
http://www.nocpan.com/pb_ext_rage.htm
Conclusion: The overdrive makes for a good project platform, would you risk gutting a >$50 hopper?
10/10 if the hopper is modded... since you saved a bunch of money by switching to geico
6/10 unmodded because it works, no more, no less.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 2nd, 2007 at 9:41 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

BladeBuster Wednesday, June 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
gravity hopper
Marker Setup: 98c
J&J Ceramic 14"
red dot sight
double trigger
Overdrive hopper
trigger job
Strengths: hard shell,3 feeding modes,wont break ,feeds almost as fast as revy. (12BPS),
Weaknesses: feeds kinda slow,made by extreme rage,pretty loud
Review: This hopper is a really good hopper if you dont go too fast but still shoot pretty fast. I can shoot about 9 BPS and its fast enough for me. Trust me, this thing will not break unless you run it over or get it wet. Id recomend this hopper if you cant get a revy or reloader and dont have that much money. any wayz the hopper has a disk instead of a propeller like thing. I like the disk idea. Most people dont know about this hopper so they think i have a revy. i put a sticker over the extreme rage symbol and now it kinda looks like a revy. lol.
Conclusion: Get this!!! Im loving it. Im giving it a ten because it feeds fast enough for me and it wont break on ya.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

dfb399 Monday, June 28th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months14 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire reloader and 12v revolution
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot, Pink 14 inch freak barrel(PINK KICKS A$$),Extreme Rage Overdrive hopper, PMI 68ci 4500psi nitro tank, AKA regulator, polished internals, LP set-up, and Dead on Paintball drop forward.
Strengths: SPEED
quality
durable
easy on batterys
holds 190 balls
max BPS is 13!!!!!
Weaknesses: Nothing at all!!!!!
Review: I just bought my 04 Spyder Imagine. So i was looking at electro hoppers, but did not want to spend 50 or 60 bux on a hopper. I read some reviews on the revvy,reloader, and the overdrive. I decided to get the overdrive. I was a little hasatent about it but i got it anyway. i gotta tell u, this thing kicks some major ASS. it keeps up with my imagine(14bps) just fine on semi, burst, and full-auto. Also it is super easy on batterys and i swear u could chuck this thing up against a tree and it would not ever break!!!!! GET IT GET IT GET IT!!!
Conclusion: So if u are thinking about getting a Empire Reloader or a 12 volt revolution DON"T! Get this hopper. I is just as fast as the reloader and the revvy, BUT AT HALF THE COST!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 29th, 2004 at 1:16 am PST
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

elmartin Thursday, October 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
12 V Revvy
Marker Setup: Adrenalin Impulse with 12 V Revvy, Max-Flo, and Freak
Strengths: If the batteries die it still functions as a non-electro hopper quite well.
Weaknesses: It's noisy, the thing is always running and that get's annoying pretty fast.
Review: It works, in fact if it wasn't for how annoy the constant whirring is I'd prefer it to a 12V revvy. It feeds just as fast as any gravity feed with agitation, but if the batteries die it still functions just as well as a shake-n-shoot and it only requires one 9V battery. With some motorized loaders the paddles get in the way if the batteries die.

Unfortunately the constant noise makes it far too annoying, and those different speed settings are pointless. But if it's reworked with an optical sensor it'd be just as good as any other gravity feed hopper.
Conclusion: Most people either don't know how to modify this thing to make it good, or don't have the motivation to do so. So I'm going to grade this product as it is unmodified. It's noisy and annoying. I used it for one day and got so annoyed that I left it off for most of that day.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

seanxxedge Thursday, June 10th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Richochet 2K ;12 volt revvy
Marker Setup: spyder e99 20 oz co2 stock barrel
Strengths: cheap
Weaknesses: constant feed gets annoying after two seconds, chops paint , its a piece,
Review: Well I was low on cash and my richochet 2K broke. I picked this up at Hogans Alley and got ripped off (paid forty bucks) the guy said I could return it, so it was worth a shot, brought it home, chopped paint every third ball,had to squeegee every time

the feeder is a disk at the bottom near the whole, with ridges that wont hold onto a ball
Conclusion: this thing is horrible, I cant imagine it being good on anygun
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

omally Friday, January 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
revy and reloader
Marker Setup: imagine 2k4, progressive 14", overdrive hopper, 12 oz CO2
Strengths: The only good thing about this hopper is the price and its shell is strong
Weaknesses: The problem with this hopper is that it is alway feeding, thus it gets annoying
Review: when i bought this hopper i was pleased because i needed something that will keep up. it keeps up with the imagine 2k4. the constant feed is annoying but i lived with it. But now im doin tourney so i need a new hopper.

EDIT: Jan 31,2005, i was shooting and i broke a ball(its winter in canada), so i turned the marker upside down to blast the paint out, the hopper fell out (4 feet) and hit the ice, i picked it up, no crack/dents/scratches nothin. this hopper is built like a tank

IF YOU DONT HAVE ANYTHING ELSE GET IT, I WORKS FINE FOR ME, ITS A GOOD HOPPER
Conclusion: Id get it if you dont have anything else to get
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 31st, 2005 at 12:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mhpucks452 Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
12 v. rev.
vl 200
test shot halo b on friends matrix
Marker Setup: spyder 2k4 imagine
sp teardrop 14"
overdrive hopper
Strengths: variable speeds
good quality (hard shell)
pmi brand
price
quiet
Weaknesses: none .after shooting about 500 rounds through it yesterday
constant feed kinda annoying
Review: this hopper is awesome. i think it is a better deal than the 12 v. rev because it feeds 11 bps and is only 26 bucks

constant feed-
no blades... it has a disk which spins the balls down the feed neck like a tornado
no blades so it wil not chop in your hopper...if u use good paint from your proshop and not walmart shiP. i use big balls/menace....they seem to work very well in any hopper

speed- this kep up with my imagine at 13-14 balls per secomd yesterday while on semi
i did a brief full auto test and again it worked just fine

better deal than rev
Conclusion: i would get this hopper over any other in the under 60$ price range
get it...its fast,reliable, strong andgood quality

way to go extreme rage/pmi
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

paperbaka Tuesday, May 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
eVo lll ( but not really fair to compare)
Strengths: It's electronic. No shaking needed. VERY DURABLE.
Weaknesses: Won't stop spinning, kills battery, battery 9v plug was VERY fragile
Review: Well this is the stock hopper that came with my package. At least you dont have to shake it for balls to come down, but it wont stop spinning. Fairly annoying. But pretty good for its price. And it is VERY VERY DURABLE. The lid wont ever pop open, but its really hard to pop off, just weaken it a touch and you'll be fine. Mod it if you want.
Conclusion: This is a great hopper for it's price. Not comparing to halo's evo's reloader's. And if you want a mod project, check it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tobian Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: I use the spyder fenix acs and the accessories i have for it is a 14inch proto barrel, and an electric hopper.
Strengths: Can be used as regular hopper, works good, cheap, looks, adjustable speeds
Weaknesses: Not that fast, always rotates,
Review: I think this hopper is pretty good for the price because if you want your paint to keep up to your gun better than a regular hopper and you dont have enough money to get one of those sweet ones this is the kind of hopper to get because it is cheap durable and it will keep up better than a regular hopper so you will reduce breaking your balls at least by 50%.
Conclusion: I would get this if you are not loaded with money because overall i did not have any problems with it and it helps even though my gun is electric this hoppper still makes a difference.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PilotUprgaded Thursday, March 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
just standerd 200rnd hoppers
Marker Setup: Pilot, 16in empire Twister barrel, v.2 extreme rage overdrive hopper, 20oz , (sweet spot and t board comeing soon, i know i cant use this hopper with that stuff, but for now, its goooood)
Strengths: CHEAP!
just one 9v battery is all you need
3 modes
Weaknesses: bps are a lil slow for fast shooters
It is a lil loud
Review: I bought this hopper becouse i was tired of always haveing to shake my hopper every five or so shots. I didnt want to go crazy with an egg or something like that becouse all i really needed was a hopper that would give me a consistent flow of balls..... lol. and this did just that.
Conclusion: If your someone like me, some one who shoots relativley slow ( 6-7bps), and is tired of frequant dry fireing from a standerd hopper go with this. i mean i also have the ocassional moments where i just get the urge to go full auto and this hopper does a good job of keeping up (13bps) but thats about the most this hopper will ever feed. All in all its a good buy, especially for me. so even though there are MUCH better hoppers out there this one does exactly what i ask from it and thats why im giveing it a ten
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media