paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / InnovativeWrks Viper Trigger / InnovativeWrks Viper Trigger / InnovativeWrks Viper Trigger / InnovativeWrks Viper Trigger / InnovativeWrks Viper Trigger

InnovativeWrks Viper Trigger Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount InnovativeWrks

Buy InnovativeWrks Viper Trigger

Paintball Custom 98 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


InnovativeWrks Viper Trigger
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Unique WILD VIPER double trigger design†is an exciting†addition to your paintball marker.††Durable construction out of high grade aluminum and hand polished.†Is compatible with RT kits.†Comes complete with†mounting instructions and phone support if needed.
Product Availability 
The InnovativeWrks Viper Trigger is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
mb3866 Monday, April 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
any double trigger
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom/ black, innovative trigger, expansion chamber, rocket cocket II, 32* bolt, dead on drop forward, flatline, Cyclone w/r5,remote
Strengths: Totally redesigned !!!!!!
Drops right in!
Best Lookin Trigger ever!!!!!!
Weaknesses: Little movement in the trigger, not noticable in the game at all
Review: The BAD rateing is before the redesign!!!!!!Totally redesigned for more comfort! This trigger has been modified since the last reviews were written, The guard was reshaped and now goes into the stock location with no cutting of your grip, which gives it a good feel. Its the same shape as other guards but with serious attitude. The bullet hole look really ties in with my drop forward. The only thing you have to put on it is your spring and clip from the stock or other triggers. The cool stylin and the function of a double trigger makes this one of my favorite additions. I posted a picture of the new design! (its the picture posted, the black tipp) Every where I go people ask about it and really like it! This trigger fits any style.
Conclusion: This trigger is a finisher for me, i was looking for that last little thing. This tigger is great and looks awsome on either a black or silver gun. A MUST HAVE!!! gettn a 10, because since prior reviews this tigger has evolved into a awsome, FUNCTIONAL and COMFORTABLE!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 2nd, 2006 at 2:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

<Ridd Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
GTA Double Trigger
Marker Setup: http://www.model98.net/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=6980/url
Strengths: Best Looking Trigger & Guard for the Tippmann 98 Custom BUT...
Weaknesses: both need some more modifications to be a 10. See REVIEW.
Review: I bought (2)...One for myself & the other for a relative. I figure this trigger and guard will look good with chrome receivers. Got them at eBay at a decent price and we both awed when we opened the package. Both guard and trigger are made out of aluminum and Innovative Works did an awesome polishing job! Design looks great and very trippy BUT with some flaws.
First of all, I had to file off one end of the guard to fit in the hole near grip, which isn't too bad because aluminum is a very soft metal. Didn't take long at all (10-15 min.). As far as the trigger, MAKE SURE YOU SAVE YOUR TRIGGER PIN, BRACKET AND SPRING from your original trigger before you toss or sell it. Innovative Works doesn't provide you with these which would have been nice if they did. Trigger Installation of course is a breeze but it has alot of "sloppy" movement. This was a very easy fix by replacing one of the long pins with a #30 Drill Bit end and cut it approx. the same size as the original. This should take care most of the problems.
I also have the GTA Response Trigger. Now remember, the trigger is made out of ALUMINUM. You will notice after awhile that the back end of the trigger will have a round indentation caused by the R/T. NOT GOOD AT ALL. What I ended up doing as a temporary fix, I taped velcro on the trigger back end. It's okified but works until I think of something better. If you guys think of anything better, let me know.
But for the real bad...After awhile, My ring finger on my trigger hand hurts like hell because of the low curve on the guard. Too much swoop! What I ended up doing is another guard modification: First I drilled another hole (to fit 10-32 bolt) approx. 3/8" down from the original and sawed off the excess on the top and filed from the edges so it will fit in the bolt hole area. Then on the opposite end of the guard, I sawed off approx. 3/8" or more, completely removing the "indentation" that was supposed to go into grip frame. Then I rounded off for smooth edges. NOW that your guard is moved up, I had to cut off some of the trigger bottom some, but not much. NOW, my ring finger feels great!!! It fits COMFORTABLY on the grip. Then I used different grades of sandpaper to give it that original polish look. The guard end where it supposed to go into grip hole is sitting above it and I ended up putting a rubber tip on the end so it won't scratch up my chrome receivers. I think this is a better setup because you can completely remove the guard with 1 bolt instead of removing ALL 6 bolts and removing the receivers.
Oh one more thing, obviously now you DON'T have to cut your grips to make the guard fit because it will sit "on top" of it (I didn't have that problem since I have Skeleton grips). Just be careful how much you cut your guard though.
NOW it Looks AWESOME and FITS and FEELS GREAT!
Conclusion: This is a great looking trigger and guard, BUT I don't think aluminum is the way to go..too soft, especially if you have a GTA Response Trigger! I know Stainless Steel would have been better choice to use and it can be done by lasercutting. (Can make all of those radical designs with a minimum 1/8" dia. cuts, I know, I have done this). Guard needs to be modified. Hurts my ring finger (I'm an adult), even my son's hand too. Until Innovative Works makes these modifications (unless you can do it yourself like I did)...I'd stick with the GTA Double Trigger.
Personally, I'm giving it a 8 because it WORKS & just as important, FEELS GREAT NOW THAT I DID ALL THESE CHANGES! But to others who don't want to deal with all this hassle, STAY AWAY!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 21st, 2005 at 8:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RyanL Wednesday, June 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Trigger, about the same performance wise, but the look doesn't even compare. This is more a cosmetic upgrade then performance.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Rocket Cock II, 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel, 20oz tank w/on/off anti-siphon, polished internals, Viper Trigger
Strengths: 1. Best custom look
2. Increased rate of fire
Weaknesses: 1. Installation
2. Uncomfortable guard
3. Guard rubs on gas line
Review: This trigger has the nicest look that I have seen for a trigger on any gun. I think there is still work to be done and improvements to be made, but all in all, if you want a sweet look for your 98 Custom, then this is a must. It took about 1 1/2 hours to install since I had to file my grip frame to allow the trigger guard to fit in the grip frame.

Pro's
1. Best Custom look you will find for a Trigger.
2. Double trigger increases your firing rate a little.

Con's
1. Trigger pivot pin mount was a too big, causing alot of movement in the trigger.
2. Guard is in the way of a comfortable grip.
3. Guard rubs on gas line if you don't have a expansion chamber or a drop forward.
4. Had to shave hand grip frame to allow enough room for the new guard to fit.
Conclusion: If you want a cosmetic upgrade, this is the one. Performance, you may want a GTA Double Trigger, the fit should be better and be less work to install.

I give this a 5/10 on perfomance and a 10/10 on looks.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CFkriina Saturday, March 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock trigger on marker
Strengths: Visual...
Increase in bps

Very rare on many markers

Very comfortable................
Weaknesses: Safety didnt work with trigger. Rubs on air hose.
Review: I found that the overall looks of the trigger are excellent, i had to do some trimming in the handle for the trigger guard to fit. And i also found that the trigger its self was a little lose, it wiggled side to side compared to the stock plastic trigger. The trigger is light, but because its aluminum it dents very easily. Because of the safety reasons i had to remove the trigger and leave the guard in. Since paintball is about safety and i do not want my marker firing at someone when there unprotected i rather take the loss then see someone seriously hurt.
Conclusion: If your looking for that last upgrade or you like the looks of it, then buy it. If you are concerned about safety and are playing at a club i would buy it. If i knew how to weld aluminum then i would just add that little nob so that it hits the safety latch early and has less play in it. Its expensive, but i rather just have the guard then the trigger. This product lost a good rating to do the safety issue.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB4841LVR Monday, December 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
GTA Double Trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom

Upgrades:
GTA 14 inch Sniper barrel
GTA Double Trigger
InnovativeWrks Wild Viper Trigger
Dye Sticky Grips '04
Shocktech Super Fly Delrin Front Bolt
Response Trigger
Comp Air Kit
Air America Messiah Regulator
Dye Mini Guage 750 psi
Lapco Bigshot (Coming Soon)
Dead On Bullet Drop Forward
CrossFire 92 ci 4500 psi High
Parker Macroline


Loaders:
Viewloader Revolution with Xboard
Halo TSA LCD Backman
Strengths: *Best looking trigger for 98 custom.
*Spacious Trigger
*Not Plastic
*Easy to Install
Weaknesses: *Needed a few modifications
*Does not come with all needed parts
*Trigger slop
Review: I recieved this trigger today in the mail and immediatly thought that it was the best looking trigger for the 98 custom by a long shot. The milling on it is fantastic and blew me away. It looks better in real life than it did in any picture. Now we get to the tough part. I disassembled the marker and tried to place the trigger in but it would not fit. Oh yes, you need a metal slide a pin and the spring from your old single trigger. I had an extra one because my grandfather stepped on my old GTA double trigger and broke it in half, and since I thought it might come in handy, I kept the parts. There is no way my grandpa could break this one. It is made out of aluminum. One thing I was dissappointed to not see wass the little bulge on the top of the trigger that helps the spring stay positioned. This made it a little more difficult to position but no big deal. Some of the edges on it are pretty sharp but these are edges you won't touch when firing. So, I had to use my Dremel to widen the gap for the top of the guard to fit in the marker. I then had to shape the grip reciever so the guard would fit in. After i got this taken care of, I put the grip on and had to cut off more than I already had cut off for the GTA Double Trigger. Then I put the marker back together. I fired the marker and the trigger felt lighter than the GTA plastic trigger. The new trigger is large allowing the shooter to have a large amount of space to position their finger. The guard hits the gas line but can easily be taken care of by getting a new longer gas line or useing macroline. The guard went down so low that it felt like my middle finger and ring finger were being pulled apart. Once I get my Comp Air I am afraid I willl have to do some major milling or just have to get a new guard because there is no way the LP chamber will fit with the giant guard. The guard looks really cool though and I hate to have to lose it but I will figure something out. The trigger had a lot of slop but if you cut off the helm of a #30 drill bit it might eliminate this problem.
Conclusion: All in all the good looks and spacious design slightly outweigh the modifications needed. I would recommend it strongly over the plastic GTA Double Trigger. If you work with it you will find it to be an awesome trigger. I give it a 10+ for the extreme milling and great price. -2 for the modificatiosn needed and then +1 for the spacious design. It turns out to be a 9+. Nothing is perfect though.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 23rd, 2004 at 6:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Henro9 Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman double/single triggers and Innovative Wrks A-5 Assassin.
Marker Setup: 98c, A&A 14" barrel, 32 degrees starfire bolt, Halo Tsa LED (frontman), Rocket Cock 2, GTA expansion chamber Innovative Wrks Viper trigger/Guard.
Strengths: Good rate of fire, GREAT LOOKS!
Weaknesses: Guard rubs on original gas line and on ring finger, Trigger pull is long.
Review: This trigger/guard setup is awesome looking. When I first installed this, this was the only mod done to my 98c. It looked good. The gas line rubbed a bit on the guard and forced me to buy the GTA expansion chamber to work around it. When holding the gun in hand, the guard tends to rub on the ring finger alot. It rubbed on mine so much that after playing a single 45 minutes, it was raw. I can't really see a way around it myself though. My friend has a 98c with a double trigger on it and I notice after using mine with the Viper installed, the pull seemed to be a bit long. It seemed that you had to pull the trigger a bit further back from it's resting place to where it would fire when compared to his gun. So I purchased a tippman double trigger for my gun just to see if it was a difference between his gun and mine. When I installed the GTA piece, I had the same result on my marker. Even though, the Viper is still easy to walk. I have since installed a R/T on my gun and found that the Viper's trigger is made of aluminum that is way to soft for the R/T's gas chamber. The R/T actually bent my trigger. I have had to since reinstall the GTA double.
Conclusion: It is a great set if you are not using the R/T setup. Definitely worth the money. Just looks awesome. I am going to give this a 8 for looks and a 7 for performance - The rubbing on the ring finger is kind of a big let down. You can always use the trigger guard with the R/T setup if you want to though.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

h_means Friday, April 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock - Actually works with R/T
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
GTA Response Trigger
GTA X-Chamber
Strengths: Looks Awesome
Weaknesses: Aluminum too soft
Uncomfortable
Safety does not work
Trigger Movement
Review: Strengths-
This is a good looking trigger

Weakness-
Hole for the pin was not large enough, so I had to drill it out
Aluminum is too soft, my R/T actually indented the trigger, causing it not to work with my R/T
The way it is designed is uncomfortable for my fingers
The safety did not work after installing this trigger
Trigger moved from side to side
Conclusion: I would not buy this, if you have a R/T or plan on getting one. BUT, if you don't plan on a R/T and want something that looks good then go for it.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 22nd, 2005 at 4:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media