paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Barrel
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 436
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Barrel is designed to fit any paint. There are eight different full length inserts for the back of the barrel to accommodate virtually any bore size paint. You can purchase the whole kit (Freak Deluxe Barrel Kit), or you can purchase the inserts individually. You can also choose from 4 different lengths, and assorted colored fronts. Splash colors will be available in Winter 2000. The barrel comes with one insert. Standard bore sizes are listed below:

Automag, Spyder, Tippmann '98 - Standard bore .693 (Gold Freak Insert) Autococker, Shocker, Impulse, Angel - Standard bore .689 (Blue Freak Insert)
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
harwegos333 Thursday, July 7th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years119 of 123 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J ceramic, stock barrel, Boss Progressive, various sniper barrels, Boomstick
Marker Setup: A-5,
car stock,
12inch all american freak,
A-5 to spyder barrel adaptor,
ricochet R-5 hopper (smoke),
32 Degrees remote,
Redz Flex-Tek 4+1 harness,
Bt fixed sight rail,
dye izon red dot sight,
16 oz Co2 tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, but extreemely cheap paint ie: scorch. Those balls don't break no matter what the barrel, trust me, I was litterally shot 6 times, yes, 6 from about 15 feet away and the stuff didnt break.
Strengths: Accurate
Can be matched up with any paint
Durable
looks cool
Weaknesses: Need to be presise with matching the insert to the paint, I will explain below.
Review: I've read many of these reviews and compared it to my own experiences with this barrel. There are a few things I need to clear up. First, the inserts may be weak, but thats what they have the carrying case for. Ive had my freak for two years and have never had any problem with inserts denting or breaking on me. Another thing I hear a lot is that the barrel is inaccurate. That can't be further from the truth. The key with the accuracy with this barrel is being very careful about which insert you use and also the velocity your marker is set at. I'll tell you how I choose mine.

1. I take an insert and put it into the barrel.
2. I then grab about 5 to 10 random balls from the bag of paint I will be using.
3. Place a ball in the barrel
4. If the ball rolls through without any outside force, switch to a smaller insert.
5. If the ball barely fits into the barrel and you can't blow it out (EASILY) switch to a larger insert.
6. When you blow the ball out of the barrel listen for a small pop. If you can blow the ball out without blowing hard you should have a good match.
7. Keep in mind that the more you blow through the barrel the more spit you get on the inside to the insert. THIS WILL EFFECT THE RESULTS OF THE TEST. If you notice that the ball is starting to stick, or see this buildup, clean the barrel and continue with the testing.

The velocity was another MAJOR factor with the accuracy of the barrel. I've shot my marker at many different velocities, from 200 to 346 fps. (the 300 and higher were not during gameplay, just practice). I've notice that with the A-5 and a 16 oz Co2 tank the best velocity is between 266 and 275 give or take 4 fps. Anything higher will make the ball shoot out like a knuckle ball. Anything lower will work just fine, as a matter of fact I tend to get more people out when I am low on Co2 and shooting closer to 250fps. But that's just me.

Now that you know how to match the paint to the barrel and set the velocity I'll tell you a quick story about how accurate this barrel can be at a long range. This past year I went the the Adventure Games Big Game in Weare, NH. First you need to know that there was absolutely no wind resistance because we were so far in the woods. During almost everygame I was popping people from about 90 to 115 yards away. Most of you are probably thinking I am exaggerating, but I think I should know that distance because I run it on a track team for majority of the year so I see the distance a lot. Don't get me wrong though, it isn't guaranteed that you will make that kind of shot everytime. It took a lot of steady aiming and one hell of an arc to make that distance, but let me tell you. IT CAN BE DONE. Most of the other times I shot people out was within 70 yards, but even that only took less than 10 rounds per person. I guess what I am saying is you really have to train yourself to AIM. Spraying and Praying may work, but as with any barrel, steady aim is key.

The same day I shot at their shooting range and shot a target that was about an inch larger in diameter than a standard CD from about 50 to 60 yards away. I wasn't using a sight so I shot a few rounds and compensated. When I hit the target I steadied my aim and fired about 20 shots in quick succession. Only one missed.

A few things that made this barrel hard to use was old, warped paint, and bad weather conditions. Both are obvious problems, but let me tell you how to correct them. First, don't use old, warped paint. Second, on windy days fire a few shots to see how the wind carries the ball and take a few practice shots with that in mind. If you play it out right the barrel should be just as accurate, it is for me anyway.

Here's one thing that confuses me a little bit. Sometimes when I fire the ball will take a different decending path. I soon realized that the tilt of the gun effected this and that for some reason the barrel shot much straighter if I held it verticle instead of slanted like many other players I see. This may not be the case with you, but there's a heads up.
Conclusion: I've seen and tried many different barrels, but the freak set stands out as number one for me. However, I have not yet tried the flatline barrel which I've heard is pretty good. This is an excellent barrel, but it cost a ton, I'd recommend looking around a lot before buying to get the cheapest price, but hey, sometimes thats the price to pay for victory. I hope my review helped you to make the best decision for yourself. I am giving this a rating of 10 because I have yet to see anything surpass it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 7th, 2005 at 10:34 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Mark00A-5 Friday, March 28th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month63 of 105 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scepter
Empire Barrel Kit
Kapp barrels with bore sizes for the front and backs (you will prolly have to special order those...)
Marker Setup: No marker right now. Selling my impulse, baught an AKA Viking. Underground is the way to go :)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Sheesh... I'm not sure... just about any paintballs that are anything resembling round.
Strengths:
Bore Changing
Customizing
Volume
Weaknesses:
Price
Accuracy
Durability
Review: Goods-

Bore Changing - You have the new and improved option to change the bore sizes in the rear of the gun. This will help result in less paint breakage, greater air effiancy, and in some cases greater accuracy.
Customizing - When you buy this barrel, you get the new option to use different fronts, this does include fronts that dye has issued on their new boomsticks and ultralites. You can also chose the back, to be stainless steal, or aluminum.
Volume - The barrel does seem to quiet down my shots a little bit

Bads-

Price - The price is horrible. This barrel kit is a great, but definatly not worth the price.
Accuracy - Althought the accuracy is a HUGE step up from any stock barrel, its not nearly as good as some of the other barrels out there. My suggestion is to mimic the boomstick and make stainless steel inserts, stainless steal provides less friction on the ball, and with the aluminum front combo, it seems to make very good accuracy. Want proof? Take a look at the boomstick... very successful and accurate barrel.

Boomstick/Freak Hybrid? I like the sound of that :)
Durability - The inserts sure ai'nt titainium people, treat them with care because they will dent.
Conclusion: Good barrel. Bad price. Accuracy could be better. I reccomend to any tourny players, but not to any low budget players. Get a boomstick, pretty soon dye will have changable backs for their boomsticks and ultralites, I would go for one of those.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
47 Comments - Add Comment

Not Two Friday, April 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year34 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No other kit - I mean why? This is the 1st kit I've tried and I was hooked. My search is over.
Marker Setup: Ion
14" freak barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any - no exception
Strengths: Quality
Accuracy
Resale value
Lightweight
Weaknesses: You have to carry around 1 more case
Review: This barrel is accurate. The actual cost of this barrel is pretty low cause it has a high resale value. The reason for this is because the barrel works as advertised. It is lightweight and versatile. You can switch out fronts of different lengths depending on your style of play or the field. And the inserts can be switched out to match the paint.

If you don't want the whole kit but plan to buy seperate backs here is the order I would get them in:

.691 - this will cover 95% of all paintballs
.689 - used the most
.687
.684
.682 - zap spank, in case you were wondering
.693 - never used
.679 - never used
.695 - never used

Try it out on an ion...a perfect match.

Btw, I've owned both the stainless steel and aluminum back and would recommed the aluminum back for the lower cost and lighter weight (not that the ss is heavy). The ss version however, will add charisma points to your marker.
Conclusion: If you're a serious paintballer or just want the best, do yourself a favor and get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hsuve Wednesday, July 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months29 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't used any other similar products (Bore changing barrels)
Marker Setup: Bob Long Defiant
-Smart Parts Freak kit
-Mac Dev Sonic LPR
-Mac Dev Sonic vertical adapter
-Air America Messiah
-Shocktech drop forward
-Macrolines
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that is reasonably round. I personally use Diablo Blaze, Hellfire, and PMI Premiums.
Strengths: Paint matching is easy with this barrel, as you can have up to 8 different bore sizes. Put a ball in, blow on it, and through that, you can test to see if it's too tight or too loose. Carrying case makes things easy to lug around with you, no need for boxes or ziplock bags. If you have a different gun, buy a different Freak back to fit those threads on your other gun, and now you have 8 more barrels for it. Length of the barrel can also easily be changed by changing the tip of the barrel. The Freak tip that I use, the Teardrop, is rather quiet as well, as there are many ports to disperse the sudden release of the compressed air source behind the valve.
Weaknesses: Though the fronts tend to be heavily ported to keep the noise down, they also reduce the velocity, as gas is wasted. By doing so, you need to increase the air to propel the paintball, and thus wastes gas. The inserts are aluminum, and aren't as durable as stainless, though they don't make them. Though I personally haven't had the experience of inserts bending, I have often heard that to be a miserable situation when you accidentally step here, step there, and bend an insert or so. The Freak barrel is also very expensive, and can easily burn a hole through one's wallet/purse. Breaking a ball in the barrel can be a pain in the arse to clean as well, specially when the paint gets lodged in the ports and eventually creeps its way into the barrel.
Conclusion: I enjoy using this product, as I don't need to figure out what bore size a paintball is used in a field and then purchasing a barrel to fit it. Carrying the case with your inserts to a field makes ball fitting a breeze. I dislike how it's so expensive for just a back or front piece, and where the price of that can buy you an entire barrel, rather than a unusable 6" back piece (Well, without an insert and front anyways). It's a nice product which has caused a revolution in paintball, many companies are now using barrels that can switch between bore sizes either in buying new backs or inserts. I have to say that it is a tad overrated when people say that it puts ball on top of ball consistently. There are very many good reviews on this product, I'm sure, but I would still recommend that in the end you go shoot one and find out if you think $180 for such a kit is worth the money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

death1989angel Tuesday, February 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years22 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None like it
Marker Setup: Angel 4 red
red Halo B with Rip drive and Z code board
Smart parts Freak system 10"
Shocktech Drop
Shocktech breech nob
Twisted Largest Volumizer
Max flo air with 68/4500 tank
Dye inline hyper 2 reg.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintballs isnt that what this barrel is for?.?.?
Strengths: ACCURATE
QUIET
LIGHT

Weaknesses: Cant shoot birds in the air???
Review: THIS IS THE BEST BARREL OUT THERE!!! This is the most accurate barrel out there. Nothing beats it. Ive used it for 2 years and still have no problems with it. This barrel will suit all your needs. It is very light and comes with bores sizes. They are little insernts that go into the barrel according to the type or size of paint you are using.. THE BEST ALL THE OTHERS CANT EVEN PROTEST!!!
Conclusion: I would HIGHLY recommend this barrel for any gun!!!For any gun. I have to give this barrel a 10!!!! because there is not a single barrel better than this one. The barrels man. name 'SMART PARTS' was deffently smart when they made this barrel!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

EricF4i Wednesday, April 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts progressive
Dye ultralite
Marker Setup: Impulse w/vision and verticle regulator
-Custom Products low rise
-Freak barrel system
-blade trigger
-New Designz delrin bolt
-System X drop with on/off
-Nitro Duck 68/4500 tank
-12v revolution
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any.....that is what the Freak is for.
Strengths: 8 barrels in one. Any length you want. Shoot any paint.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This is the ultimate barrels system. Don't be limited to the paint you shoot because a particular one is too big or small for your barrel. I have shot expensive paint and cheap paint and they all shoot well in this barrel. The only paint I had trouble with was a bad case I got that they balls were 'egg' shaped. I could get better accuracy with the Freak than with my stock progressive but I would still get one every now and then that would fly crazy. And you can get the lenght barrel that you prefer. Don't like the short barrel.....screw in a longer one. Buy a new gun that has different threads....buy a new back instead of selling your barrel and buying another. They have several different colors available to your liking. A lot of people say go with the Boomstick. I'm not putting them down...they are great barrels if your paint to barrel match is good. I know I had one. But my Freak shoots a lot better than my Dye did. I know some say it is expensive but go out and buy 8 different barrels with different bore sizes. And as far as some people saying that the inserts are fragile, I don't see it. Who leaves things laying on the ground to be stepped on. It is called taking care of your equipment. Leave the inserts your not using in the protective case.
Conclusion: If your budget allows buy it now. It will definately improve your game. If your marker is more accurate shot after shot so will you be. Don't be limited the the paint you shoot because this kind shoots better in this barrel. I know a lot of people that use the Freak system and they will all swear by it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

uReBUNkered Saturday, December 27th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP 1-piece,CP Pro kit, Long Shot, couple other i cant remember the name
Strengths: 2 pieces, adjust barrel bore
Weaknesses: Much louder than any CP barrel, Pain to clean, over priced
Review: I bought this barrel before I knew about the lawsuit stuff so the fact that I cant stand Smart Parts doesn't play a role in this.

From personal experiance with a couple different types of barrels this is the worst investment in a barrel you could make. The barrel is very loud compared to the CP kit (or even 1 piece) and are the same accuracy. The inserts are very delicate and bend very easy (understandable though being very thin aluminum) but you can buy more durable stainless inserts for around $130 which is almost the same price as an all new kit? If you happen to break paint inside the barrel this kit is extremely hard to clean especially if you do not have water around to run the barrel under, you must take out the bore and clean that on it own inside and out, then clean the bore of the barrel which is tough from all of the milled freak signs that like to trap paint. Test out the CP 1 piece because they may be the most accurate, quiet barrel and only $30, or the CP/Empire kit. The CP is cheaper and MUCH easier to clean and the Empire although around $10 more expensive come in a 11-piece kit. Im ditching the Freak and waiting for my CP kit.
Conclusion: I give this barrel 2 because it would at best be a good tool to hit anyone at smart parts responsible for making this barrel over the head.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 15th, 2004 at 12:50 am PST
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

dbf1066 Sunday, May 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
All American, Boomstick
Marker Setup: Timmy, mac-dev, freak, EVO II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Just about any
Strengths: Inserts, adjustable fronts, even adjustable backs
Weaknesses: durability, and quality issues
Review: First let me say I really like my freak, I love the idea that I can totally match my paint/bore with just a quick change. Its modular design is/was really breakthrough (Smart Parts was years in front of everyone else here).

I believe it has pretty good (not great) accuracy/consistency because the paint can match the barrel back pretty well.

One of my biggest beefs here is that on the inserts, the chamfer is out of round or not present at all and trying to tell which direction to install the insert is aggravating. I try to do it by determining which side has the largest, most round chamfer and install with that facing backwards (towards the gun). Clearly a quality problem while making the inserts and I do believe the accuracy of the barrel takes a hit because the entry point into the barrel isn't symmetric allowing the paintball to enter the barrel unevenly.

On the durability of the inserts, if you put even the smallest amount of care into the inserts they will last for long time, just keep them in the case and it shouldn't be a problem for you.

Here are my pros and cons for this barrel system.

Pros:
- modular inserts offer great versatility to shoot whatever paint you want.
- you can also change out the front with other smart parts 2-piece barrel products AA etc
- replacability of parts (fronts, backs, inserts)
- barrel case is also nice way to protect those not so durable inserts
- the inserts are fairly low cost

Cons:
- The chamfer on the inserts is not round (none of mine are) which again I believe this is one of the reasons the accuracy can sometimes suffer.
- The finish on the inserts is what ever it is for extruded tube (the next generation 2 modular barrels have begun to address this no .7 micron finish here etc)
- The placement of the Oring on the front is bad, because it makes getting the thread started difficult and I have noticed higher wear on the threads between the front and back because of this.
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel, since I do think it is a good system. However I don't give a 10 because the next generation systems have taken what SP has done and made some needed improvements.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 25th, 2003 at 9:03 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, June 3rd, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
 
8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: What is good about this product? Well, you always have a perfect or at least close to pefect Fit. It comes in a nice case, and is a decent barrel. This is Dead acurate up to 50'
Weaknesses: What's bad? I cannot speak for all freak kits, but I had a 14" All American Tip and a Stainless Steel back for my Angel. I found that at 280 FPS the ball would curve at the end of it's travel. Starting at 50' out, the trajectory would change into a corkscrew and would curve all over the place. I tried different kinds of paint, different inserts with the paints, and different velocities. My results were the same all the time.
Conclusion: I have owned the freak kit for over 4 months now, and I just sold it. I feel that the kit is more hype than anything. For the price you could get 2 boomsticks, a .688 and a .691 and they would fit almost any paint you have.

This is just my expirience with the Freak Kit, I would suggest trying once for yourself before purchasing.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost eveyrthing else, Dye(all of them), Smart Parts (all of those too)..etc..
Marker Setup: 1: Cocker STo, w/ 68ci 4500psi max flow(best thing smart parts ever made), Dye Bookstick, Evolution Angry 3-way, Evo bolt.

2: Eclipse Angel (need i say more?)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: This thing is deadly accurate at short/medium range. The thing is usuable with all paint.
Weaknesses: It dosn't come apart correctly most of the time, The venting holes kill your shot speed, causing you to raise the pressure higher to your gun wearing out the vale and o-rings. The barrel chops paint like nothing I have ever seen before. I had never chopped a single paintball in my angel once until I used this barrell. Can you say, "take a long break to clean out the gun while on the field"(I'll bet your team will love you for it as well). The inserts are breakable..sure you pay for the 8 inserts but what happens when you dent one because you dive into the brush? (guess it's pocket change time again). Poeple say "would you buy a dye titan for 200 bucks, I say yes. Why because they are "cheaper" and they don't dent from running into a twig. Overall my experience with this systems has left me wondering what smart parts was thinking.
Conclusion: If you have the money to buy it, then new inserts every now and again, then also have the time on the field to clean the paint out of your marker in mid play..by all means buy this system.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media