paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Octane Shocker / Octane Shocker / Octane Shocker / Octane Shocker

Octane Shocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Octane

Buy Octane Shocker

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Octane Shocker
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1025

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Discover the amazing New Shocker. This good looking marker fits comfortably in your hand and weighs only 4.5 lbs with the MaxFlo 45 4500 system! Rip on the super fast trigger and marvel at how tight you can get in behind your bunker. Packaged with the proven Max Flo air system, this marker makes it the right choice for those who aim to win. Get your new 03 Shocker today and start enjoying the benefits of being the proud owner of this incredible paintball marker.
Product Availability 
The Octane Shocker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
chazmatazz Tuesday, September 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months30 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imp vision, Spyder Elise, Dragunfly Mech, Traccer, Tippman a-5, tippman 98, 03 shocker
Marker Setup: 48/45 carbon wrap tank, freak jr barrel kit, Kapp Drop forward, max-flow reg, ricochet 2k4 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit is a must, a hopper that can feed at least 21bps, and plenty of air
Strengths: VERY fast, very accurate, quiet, low maintenance, great looks, very small profile, comes with vision
Weaknesses: A bit of a gas hog
Price
Review: I recently bought an octane vision shocker, and I haven't looked back since. This gun is abso-friggin-lootly amazing. I've shot angels, cockers, tippies, impies and older shockers, but this one takes the cake.

For the price, this marker can keep up with any angel out there (minus the neat angel accessories) it's just as accurate as any cocker, looks like it should cost about 3 times what it's worth, has a sweet low profile that allows you to snuggle up to the gun and let rip without any real fear of getting tagged on it...the 10 degree reg offset makes a HUGE difference in comfort, allowing you to basically use your entire hand as tight as possible to the gun, while cutting down on profile. The color choices are amazing...and this was the hardest part I had in choosing my octane.

Definitely get a hopper that can keep up. My ricochet is rated at 25bps avg, and i've out shot it a few times. also, getting a barrel system is a must as well, especially if you wanna show up the guy on your field who owns an angel...
Conclusion: When I bought this gun, at first I thought the price was a little stiff, but as I got to play more often with it...I think I got a deal. Definitely a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer231 Monday, July 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 vert cocker really accurate gas efficient but heavy and not electro
Marker Setup: 2005 octane shocker with cp asa and gripping feed neck .cp trigger,dynasty board,hybrid grips,reloader b,freak with aa front,custom anno job with sublimeinated shocker and smart parts logo,he bolt kit,cp dual ball dedents,pure energy 4500psi 68ci
Recommended
Upgrades:
he kit,dynsty board,a new trigger if u want one
Strengths: The sft technology,size,no moving parts outside,vision eyes,
Weaknesses: Price 1300 canadian,gas efficency without he kit.can only get at badlands
Review: This gun is very accurate and the vision system allows u to sell ur squeegie the dynasty board and cp trigger allows me to walk this gun like crazy the angled reg is soo damn comfortable and consistant the thing weighs less than my spare 16oz co2 having no holes or moving parts outside the body make matenencie a snap the internals are simple to take out and clean .thew dyansty board has every mode youll ever need and allows u to reach insane speeds this gun can beat any timmy cocker or any gun u can think off its one of the best on the market
Conclusion: If your looking for a great marker this is what u should buy it has great value and speed this is a great marker for any level if u have the $$$go to badlands and grab one right now
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ShockerKid82 Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nerve, Impluse, SFT Shocker, Etc
Marker Setup: Octane Shocker
HE Bolt Kit
Max-Flo w/ 45/45
Full Freak
Tag Board Coming Soon!
Recommended
Upgrades:
New bolt
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Efficient
15* Offset
Trigger Adjustment
Barrel Whighs as much as the gun
Weaknesses: Not much needs new bolt
Review: Crazy nice gun. I have ahd it for about 3 months now and I have come to the conclusion that it is one fo the best shockers I have sued. Its insane accurate with walmart paint! Dont use crappy crappy paint though other wise this gun and like all shockers will eat it! I love the offset on this thing it makes it much easier to hold etc. Its very light even know people tell me its heavy but all in all its a graet gun!
Conclusion: Great gun I know you want one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 14th, 2005 at 2:05 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

double_d202 Thursday, September 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Octane Scocker--> Pewter
HE Bolt Kit
Full Freak kit
Reloader B
72ci 3000psi Pure Energy Steel Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
HE Bolt kit
inserts or a new barrel kit
fast hopper
board
Strengths: ROF
Consistency
Accuracy
LOW PRESSURE
Integrated rail on hand grip
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have used this marker with about 10 000 paintballs, and I have never expeianced a problem with it. All you need to do to keep it running well is to lube it after every day and don't put to much lube on though because you may experiance FSDO. I love this gun because of the ease of use and the insane abilities of this marker.

After more experiance and even the use of it in my first tourney I want to expand on my inial and final observations.

Weight
1lb by itself. Most people are amazed that a gun can be this light.

Looks
Well do I have to say it. It is probably one of the sexyish shockers there are.

Speed
I have hit 18-19 bps on the chrony on semi and really not many can do better. The trigger is nice with some adjusting needed. Even if you dont have a fast hopper the vision will protect you. Only time I chopped because of the speed was when I turned the vision off by accident.

Upgrades
Well definately a new bolt kit is needed. I got the HE bolt and it increased the effiecentcy by 400-500 shots. I will also recommened a new board even though I dont have one at the moment. The new board will be great for the FSDO protection and easier programming. A new reg is up to you but I have +-3 on the chrony with the stock Max-Flo. A new barrel is a matter of opinion. The freak is a good barrel but I find it lacks over the pipe or other high quality barrels.
Conclusion: Great gun. I would 100% recommend it to anyone who can afford it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 5th, 2006 at 6:30 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Judas Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Upgraded Stock Bodied Shockers
Nerve
Marker Setup: 06 Custom Orange Nerve
Cp Long Reg
Cp Roller Trigger
Micro Maxflow
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
On/Off (Sp's is designed terribly)
H.E. Bolt Kit
Trigger
Strengths: 10* Angled ASA is nice
Freak is a plus+
Weaknesses: See Review Body.
Review: Used my friends shocker for a while. It was nothing special. Aside from looking slightly different there was no point in buying this overpriced shocker.. The feedneck is terribly outdated and the trigger is almost the same as a stock shockers trigger... I personally would just get a stock shocker and used the save cash to upgrade it MUCH better (Qlock ? Roller Trigger? Evolve bolt? CP Reg?)

Terrible "Octane" Trigger
Terrible High feedneck
Terrible On/Off
1000+ PL Shocker yet no HE bolt kit? Comon.
Milling is not that special at all... Slightly different from STock Shockers

Shame.
Conclusion: Not unique or upgraded enough to justify the price...
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

The Shawn Saturday, July 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 Shocker, Nerve, Vision Impulse, DM4
Marker Setup: Speedball: Octane Shocker, NDZ Stinger, ULP Bolt Kit, NDZ SST Manifold, NDZ Slik Trigger, full Freak, Maxflo Micro w/ 68/4500, Halo B
Woodsball: A-5, Flatline, 68/4500 Crossfire, R-5 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
See review
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: This, like any other marker, has its pro's and con's; my experiences are as follows:

Out of the box, this marker is beautiful...... the milling is subtle and unique, and the anno was flawless. It shot great for the first 2 cases, then developed FSDO (which evolved into first 10 shot drop off). I lived with the drop off until the marker stopped working all together (another 3 to 5 cases).

Badlands repaired the marker in a very efficient manner, especialy considering the level of the issues.... this is by no means bashing the marker, there will always be a couple of people that have issues with any item that has moving parts. Once I got it back, it worked flawlessly for about 10 cases, then the drop off came back.... developing into 10 shot drop off, 30 to 40 shots shooting well, then 10 shots dropping off. All of this happened in repeating cycles.

Rather than sending the marker back to Badlands, I ordered the SST Manifold and the ULP Stinger Bolt from New Designz....... All problems were solved by the Manifold, and I opted for the bolt strictly for efficiency reasons. The huge "pro" in this department - it is a sealed body shocker, as such, there are a good selection of upgrades available.

The Octane trigger is nice, and quite nice to rip on.... I changed mine strictly for preference of feel, there is nothing wrong with the Octane Trigger at all. The 10 degree offset is great, it has a nice feel, and allows for my thumb (fat fingers) to wrap around the Max-flo.

The review:

Efficiency (out of the box) - 7
Looks - 9
Comfort & ease of use - 9
Quality control - 7 (dont flame, this thing came with an extra trigger magnet stuck to the board, manifold was sub-par)
Conclusion: I would recommend the Octane to those looking for a PL Shocker.... but I would also recommend that they do a very good "once over" before using the marker, and that a new manifold is "nearly" a must.

I give it an 8, it is the most reasonably priced PL Shocker, and it has served me well (consider that everyone with high end markers usually has some kind of problem). Badlands service definitely makes this marker a front runner.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 22nd, 2006 at 6:54 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HVizier Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ions, Impulses, and stock Shockers
Indian Creek Designs FS7 Freestyles
Bob Long Infamous and Ironmen intimidators
WGP and Planet Eclipse Autocockers
AGD x-mag......R.I.P.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts/Badlands Octane Shocker
Smart Parts High Efficiency Bolt
CP Roller Trigger
VIRTUE Board
14" Stainless FREAK Barrel System
EMPIRE Reloader B w/ RIP drive
Crossfire 45/4500 low pressure tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
HE bolt (stinger or sp HE preferably)
inserts for the already provided freak
tourney legal board
Strengths: VERY accurate and fast
perfect gun feel
Weaknesses: Stock bolt and board
Review: Decided to play a few games with this one before posting my review, and i must say...... this gun somehow performs better than it looks!!! the 10 degree grip is PERFECT and its the most accurate shocker ( or marker for that matter) that ive ever shot. not only that, but after at least 5 cases of paint...... NO CHOPS, and its actually just as fast if not faster than any other gun on the field in semi auto. the only negative things i found with it is that the stock board and bolt leave something to be desired.
Conclusion: if you take paintball seriously and want to spend 1k go ahead and at least think of getting an Octane Shocker. its the best shocker ive ever shot. This gun is all killer no filler and will never let you down
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chimpu Tuesday, February 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ions, Spyders, Tippmanns, Autocockers, just about everything... except I haven't owned Ego's or Timmies.
Marker Setup: HE kit
Freak Barrel Kit
New Grips
12v Revvy with x-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
A big tank?
Faster loader.
Maybe a better trigger.
Strengths: - Accuracy
- ROF
- Size
- Maintenance
- General feel of the marker
Weaknesses: - First shot drop off
- Air efficiency
- Constant maintenance
Review: Accuracy: Amazing. Ball on ball contact and in lines. Hit after hit where you want to hit and as many as you want at a time.

Size: Smallest marker I have ever owned. Even smaller than my phantoms, spyders or cocker snipers.

Maintenance: This marker needs constant maintenance. It is a high end marker, and if you don't take care of it, it won't take care of you on the field. However they did an excellent job at making it (almost) idiot-proof for disassembly and teching. Since it's completely enclosed you won't run into dirt getting into any internals which is a god send if you've ever owned an e-blade or soemthing of that type and live in an area with lots of rain or play in the sand.

FSDO: This has to do with maintenance. Almost every other time I go out to play, at some piont in the day if not for the whole day there is a little drop off on the first ball going out of the marker. It's not that big of a deal if you are playing on a bring your own paint speedball field, but if you ever try to play rec with this thing at $10 per 100 paintballs you'll be broke before the start of summer. After tweaking and cleaning and teching the marker I still cannot guarantee no FSOD which is kind of frustrating.

Air Eff: Good for a higher end higher rate of fire marker, but not great. You'll be shooting more paint and faster and you'll be using a lot more air. I suggest getting a 4500 psi tank if you have this marker, no matter the size.
Conclusion:
Conclusion: Great marker for a great price, and looks and feels even better on the field. Positives crush and outweigh the negatives. I would suggest testing out the marker before buyign it if you are thinking of going up into the $1000 level. Because at this level most of the higher end marker perform about the same, but the feel is completely different. And that's the most important and personal choice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wunderman4 Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
4x4 shocker
Auto cockers
Marker Setup: 05 Octane Shocker
NDZ Talon Grip, Roller Trigger
NDZ Bolt and Firing Cam
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything I have on mine
Strengths: Very fast
accurate
constant velocity
very very light
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun has been great, octane has done almost everything to make this gun perfect it has a the lpr is on a ten degree angel and the milling is very simple. the performance of the gun is great right out of the box ive had mine for a little bit over 6 months and i haven't chopped a single ball, and i play every weekend. with the NDZ bolt the gun can run at 180psi witch iam fine with. the shots are right on each other you can take 20 shots and hit the exact same spot over and over. and the price is hard to beat for around $900-1000
Conclusion: I love this gun, a lot. its the best gun I have owned and one of the best Ive ever shot. it has no problems out of the box but can be shined with some aftermarket parts.

buy it, use it, enjoy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

smartparts guns Thursday, May 17th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egos, other shockers
Marker Setup: Empire b2, virtue board, stock barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck and a very very fast hopper.
Strengths: Barrel, very light, good stock board.
Weaknesses: Feed neck.
Review: The body on this gun is one of the best i have seen on a smart parts marker. Smart parts did a great job and if they changed the look people would probably be disappointed. Why spend the money on a new body kit when this is a easy clean and different color kits.
Conclusion: Great marker. It deserves a definite 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 17th, 2007 at 9:17 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2015 Hillclimb Media