paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA 2 Liter Regulator / AKA 2 Liter Regulator / AKA 2 Liter Regulator / AKA 2 Liter Regulator

AKA 2 Liter Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA 2 Liter Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA 2 Liter Regulator
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Due to circumstances within our control AKA is proud to announce the Mystery Regulator tested by Air Soldier Products is theirs! The "Mystery Reg" is the new AKA 2 Literô. It has the fastest recharge, most flow and is Pressure Compensating. It can take input pressures up to 900 psi and will output up to 500 psi. It's designed for Nitrogen but will work with non-liquid CO2. Made of 6061-T6 aluminum it will be available raw, black anodized and nickel plated. At 2 ĺ inches tall, it is the smallest yet fastest reg on the market.
Also available will be the ASA Extender with Locking ring. You will be able to position any ASA style regulator where you want it and lock it in place. The extensions will be available in 3 lengths.
Product Availability 
The AKA 2 Liter Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
lucifer_sam Friday, August 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All of them - Unfavorably.
Marker Setup: Bob Long Infamous Intimidator:
- PBK detents
- Lurker Eigenram
- Tadao M6 "Infamous" board
- AKA 2-Liter and SCM-III
- NDZ on/off + rail
- Powerlyte Scepter 2007
DXS Pulse - RF chip harnessed
DXS 68/4500

Plus a few cosmetic things...
Strengths: It's a regulator.
Weaknesses: There aren't enough bells or whistles.
Review: The AKA 2-Liter doesn't offer whimsical additions to its unholy glory like plastic jewels or fancy milling. It does not have a built-in alarm. It cannot process cake batter or produce pies. AKA simply felt that paintball players would like to have a regulator for a change, not these contraptions which seemingly define the laws of form. It is strictly a functional regulator, and a good adherent at that. You won't find fancy additions that prevent friendly-fire or deliver faster trigger fingers. In fact, the 2-Liter comes in one color only: black. These difficulties have inadvertently caused the company much grief from players who wished a prettier model rather than those who feel that masturbation should be left to the closed doors. The 2-Liter laacks desperately in these constraints, for it was not meant to adorn walls and gear bags. What you will find, however, is a regulator.

The AKA 2-Liter is a behemoth unto its own. There are rarely paintball products that are wholly deservest of their excessive price, but the 2-Liter is a great exception. Put simply, this is the best regulator on the market. Its recharge rate surpasses even the fastest regulators, and its capacity allows the regulator to deliver high-pressure air or CO2 with the utmost stability and consistency. Many players will insist that their markers chrono at +/- 3 FPS or better, but usually, this is not the case. The 2-Liter is the only regulator I've seen to climb past those feats of unblemished consistency. Even in supernatural rates of fire (25+ BPS), the 2-Liter is able to stand up to its name. Scarce are products that are meant to deliver instead of entertain, but the AKA 2-Liter is honestly the best product for $100 out there (which is saying a lot, considering other regulator prices).
Conclusion: I could lie and say the 2-Liter is far more than a regulator. I could say why it made me jump higher and run faster, but I doubt you'll believe me. What I trust you to believe, however, is that this is without a doubt the best regulator on the planet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DavidZ Friday, July 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
sidewinder, maxflow, vert maxflow
Marker Setup: Bko, vapor valve, supraflybolt, chaos board, freak barrel kit, mity max, ko naked lady drop, 3a 88 4500 psi, evo II w/ z,
Strengths: WOW +- 1 PSI!!! works great! looks Great, Flow Rate is amazing
Weaknesses: No proformance drops from using co2 +- 7 psi with co2
Review: Best reg out there! i bought it the day it came out and am very pleased. much more consitent than maxflow. very very very cool reg. i got all the lenght and suggest medim. wow great reg. looks so much better that sidewinder. very easy to adjust. the input comensator is out of this world.
Conclusion: Buy Buy Buy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Alex262 Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
max flo, cp reg, macdev gladiator, aka sidewinder, bob long torpedo, stock ion reg
Marker Setup: Black Foehn Ion
JJ Edge barrel kit
VP scythe trigger
Check It Uni-mount
q lock feedneck
AKA 2-liter reg
Eclipse QEV
68/4500 crossfire tank
Killa magnetic detents
Orange Unicorn bolt
Strengths: Amazing recharge rate
Looks
Not too short, not too long (aka 2-liter plus)
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: Once broken in, this bad boy will never let you down. On a chrono I've never gotten a flux over +- 2fps when my gun is set up correctly.

Another thing of important notice, I have the aka 2-liter plus, not the original 2-liter. AKA no longer makes the regular 2 liter, it's all the 2 liter plus now. The 2 liter plus comes in 2 versions, low pressure and high pressure outputs. So if it's goin on your ion make sure u get the low pressure version. Looks a little different than the regular 2-liter. Personally, the 2-liter plus is not too short, not too long, and looks perfect on my gun plus it's lighter than the stock ion reg I was using.

The only bad thing about this reg is that it's really expensive. At the moment I think the cheapest you can find it is $110 which isn't too bad although this is the best reg on the market, period.
Conclusion: I admit I like getting "the best" just to boast when other regs do the job and are a couple bucks cheaper. Like some of my friends say, the 2-liter is overkill on certain guns, especially if you're not shooting too fast because of field regulations and whatnot. If you want "the best", this reg is what you're looking for. If you're debating whether the money spent is gonna be worth it, go with something cheaper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

electricity Monday, May 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black magic, WGP, etc etc
Marker Setup: E1 Autococker, lotta ups
Strengths: The best reg, period.
Recharge rate of 160 bps(tested)!
+-1 or 2 fps
Weaknesses: A little on the short side, that can be fixed with an extension!
price.
Review: This thing is crazy, it needs to be broken in, but after a couple thousand shots its incredible, + or minus 1 on the crono.
I can't say enough good things about it! It's by far THE fastest regulator on the market today, truly a dream to use.
At $100 the price tag is a little hefty, but you get what you pay for.
Hands down the nicest reg i've ever used.
It did feel a little short to me, but you can always buy the $15 extentions to lengthen it if you want.
Conclusion: Aka 2 liter > *

what else can be said.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PKS Saturday, November 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP and Mac Dev Gladiator
Marker Setup: Toxic Matrix, Halo B, AKA SCM LPR, 68 4500, and a 14 or 16" UL
Strengths: Super-so-cosistent. +/-3fps on a bad day.
Weaknesses: It's short. Mine doesn't want to come apart.
Review: Give it a little break in time (a couple thousand shots or so) and this baby rips! The only bad thing I've heard is that it is short, but it works great on my trix as a foregrip with the length of standard matrix ASA. I didn't get the extensions and am glad that I saved the money, but they are available to make this bad boy any length you want. It was easy to open and lube the piston when I got it, but has clamped down pretty hard now and I haven't been able to open it with two strap wrenches because the bottom half is tapered and the strap wrench doesn't hold it well. It hasn't mattered yet because it has been flawless so far, but...... It is adjustable on the bottom with an allen key wrench and is super sensitive. It has two holes to put either air fitting, gauge, or included grub screw into. This helped with the grip because after I screwed it onto my trix it was obvious that the air fitting should go on the side that faced the trigger guard--leaving the front side of the reg smooth for a foregrip as the grub screw was flush with the body of the reg. This thing put my old gladiator into the spare parts kit--tempermental and never as consistent. All of this is actually extra details as this reg is SUPER consistent so what else do you really need to know.
Conclusion: Works outstanding. Just like the Sidewinder, it is consistent and has it's own unique look.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lopez17 Tuesday, September 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Torpedo, CP Regs, Centerflag, and AKA Sidewinder
Marker Setup: I shoot a 2K5'd GZ, Excalibur, Viking, Texas Storm, Ripper, Ripper 2 and Ripper 3 Intimidators. I run a Halo or an Empire with a PMI Pure Energy Tank.
Strengths: Small, incredibly consistent, easily adjustable.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This is the pinnacle of high performance regulators. Have Blue's analysis of regulators, their performance and recharge rates showed the AKA 2-Liter to be the best in the business. I've used two of them for the last year and a half to two years on my Intimidators and have had unsurpassed performance from them. I've never suffered shootdown and the recharge rates are amazing. The maintenance is incredibly easy (just a few drops of oil bled through every few cases of paint).

The 2-Liter Plus was an upgrade to the original 2-Liter and had a high and low output version for markers of different tempraments. The new 2-Liters eliminate this altogether and give you a 2nd spring so you can set it up yourself.

Other than the Sidewinder (also made by AKA), there are no regulators that even come close to matching the performance and reliability of the AKA 2-Liter. When you need a regulator for stable, consistent performance that's going to get you +/- 2 over a chrono, this is what you need.
Conclusion: It's the top product on the market today and fully justifies it's $95 price tag. Well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darktrooper5 Tuesday, April 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Too many other regs to name
Marker Setup: Custom Built Alias Intimidator
Strengths: Ferrari of regs
AKA Quality
High Flow
Consistant
Recharge rate
Weaknesses: Yet to find any
Review: The 2-liter has been on every gun I've owned since I bought it. Thats nearly 9 guns, the 2-liter has impressed me time and time again. I love mine, the feel,recharge, operation and shear reliabilty of these regs is amazing. It the Ferrari of regs. It'll help prevent shootdown and odd velocity changes. I'm not going to say it'll give you insane consistancy because it won't. It will provide good consistancy but its main job is to help when hitting high BPS. Some regs drop off and die, the 2-liter presses on. These regs may be "overkill" on some markers.

The locking collar and postion of the fitting are ideal for some intimidator and angel users. This reg is very versitile when fitting on a variety of markers. I have yet to notice any problems, though the one small gripe I have is that I can't seem to take it apart to make sure everything's ok. I suppose its for the greater good.

I have enjoyed mine since it was bought, and will continue to use it on any gun I play events with(or any paintball).

If you can't get one of these, I also recommend a Sidewinder.

Conclusion: Its the reg of regs, the monster that won't let you down when hitting those mad BPS.

Get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 4th, 2006 at 6:58 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Msabercr Monday, October 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sidewinder, angel mini reg, torpedo(too many to count, prietty much all models), pe inline reg, wgp reg, dye hyper2, cp
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 04, Evolve Kit, Sly 14" barrel kit with .689 barrel back, CCM Clamping lowrise feedneck, sidewinder regulator, tadao musashi 7 board, 05 tpr grip cheaks, system x push button on off, system x centerflag tank with nxe cover, redz neoprene barrel condom, anti chop bolt, halo with victory board
Strengths: Compact but adjustable
Best recharge rate on the market
Easy to clean
Allenless adjustments
Weaknesses: It is very sensative
Doesn't have a locking grub screw
Review: This is bar non the best regulator i have ever used the price is set perfect for a perfect reg. The only reason i say that its way to sensative is, because it's too sensative, it takes a long time to break in and if you hold your reg on the bottom like i do you can inadvertantly change your operating preasure not alot but enough to cheat and blast someone if one wanted to. Sure you can buy a hyper reg or a sidewinder they are nothing to scoff at but if you want the best you have to have a 2litre. Accept no substitutes
Conclusion: The most versatile consistent reg with the fastest recharge rate imagineable

10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media