paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Renegade Knee/Shin Guards / Smart Parts Renegade Knee/Shin Guards / Smart Parts Renegade Knee/Shin Guards / Smart Parts Renegade Knee/Shin Guards

Smart Parts Renegade Knee/Shin Guards Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Renegade Knee/Shin Guards

Paintball Knee and Elbow Pads

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Renegade Knee/Shin Guards
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Renegade Knee/Shin guards are designed for Paintball! Designed to protect without sacrificing comfort. Pads don't slide down and turn like other brands.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Renegade Knee/Shin Guards are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
RRjoker Sunday, March 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i like the guys below, my own damn skin and bones
Marker Setup: currently:
sts
freak system
45 45 air system
9 revy
Strengths: Almost everything. As a front player, im going in fast and sliding like a mother, i probably drop to a knee slide at least three times a game, and those times im not sliding im resting on my knees and legs. I also have never had a second thought while running, after my first time in my pads i dont even notice them. These pads are just great, i get bounces like you wouldn't believe, they stay up and are very comfy...i start the day in my dorm getting dressed and just slide them over my pants, i can sdrive to the field, play, and go home, all while wearing these things. Very durable too.
Weaknesses: Only a few minor gripes:
1. The very top strap isnt pull through, its a closure kind. Instead of drawing the strap through a loop and pulling it tight, its just a connecting kind. Which isn't bad when im in pants, but when i go with my shorts i can rub the skin raw right behind my knee, which can get REALLY annoying. But my friend seth plays the same way, and he never complains, so my pads might be a little bit for me (hard to see, seeing as how im 6'3")
2. gets a bit hot after a day of playing. But duh, all pads will do that, it means they made good. Roll down the top knee gaurd during downtime and you wont mind a bit.
Conclusion: I have had these pads for two years. I played one day without them and even with full pants came home scrapped and bleeding. I got these the next day and havent looked back. They have only recently begun to tear along the knees, but i am playing in west texas, on ground that would be suitable for nothing but thorn bushes and rocks. But i can, and do, slide left and right and dont even notice, So that fact that the pads have stayed together for that long shows their durability. I like these over Redz and JT's, just cause of the price but getting the same perfomance...just get these pads, they worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bobo Sagato Thursday, March 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have not tried other knee/shin protection, so thus I have nothing to compare it to. Other brands appear to have a more flexy neoprene based core as opposed to the rubber/foamish core of these. (not that it makes a difference)

Also, as far as the rating, I cannot say it is the BEST of all (see above), but I can give it a 10 for delivering the perfpormance-quality factor
Marker Setup: Not applicable
Strengths: I was pretty impressed right out of the bag.
First of all, you can wear them fresh, recently plucked from the Renegade Tree. Just strap 'em on and go play, right out of the bag. Secondly, they come in various sizes to accomidate different persons. They also feature (at least mine do, im not sure if older versions have this?) velco straps to secure on legs. Thirdly, they are durable. They take a beating, and do not flatten. They are similar to a fine wine; they get better with age. Breaking them in cures the original stiffness factor. Also, you can run them through the washer for a few cycles to loosen them up. Fourthy, you may get an occasional bounce. Fifthly, and most important, they do a fine job of protecting your knees and shins. They stay snug and move with your body. When you make a move you can count on them. Money well invested.
You can put them in the washing machine...easy. Or just hose 'em down and let them sun dry. I think you can buy them in camo patterns or black. It's a simple design. For some reason if a strap or something broke, you could still play in them, plus they could be mended easily, but I don't see that in the future of these pads (unless you play on fields of nails, broken glass, etc. [the good stuff, some might say]).
Weaknesses: They might begin to stink after a while, but what gear doesn't after continuous use with sweat pouring through it? Well at least your friends won't bug you to borrow them. If it gets bad, toss 'em in the wash.
They have a tendancy to get warm. (It's rubber and other good stuff pressed to your flesh...heat will collect) Not a big deal, you will most likely get hot playing anyways.

I don't think there are any critical flaws or problems. If something does happen (to mine at least) I will update this.
Conclusion: These pads have been around since I started playing...maybe that's a sign? (a sign that I should have bought them earlier?) Time tested...quality design...good price/economical (slight distinction)...durable...protective...secure... am I missing something? Most likely.
Let's just leave it at this: If you are in the market for shin/knee pads, here's a great place to start. These pads WILL give you what you want out of a knee/shin pad. If you want the DYE or JT logo, then go for it. They will do the job as well, I'm sure. But there's no way of getting around the sheer value of these pads. You will get a long life and usage from these babies.

Also good for housework (if you do construction or paint or whatnot), soccer?, incase you ever find yourself in a zombie attack (These are Zombie-Proof....don't quote me on it, but extensive testing will soon prove this true).
I would not try to remove hot things from the oven, however.
If you have questions, mail me at federalli@cox.net
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Easy Target Wednesday, March 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Sheridan XTS
Progressive barrel
Sheridan expansion chamber
Pure energy 12oz tank
Dye Sticky grips
VL 9v Revolution
Crosman RDS
Strengths: The best thing about these? without a doubt the the price. Most of the other knee/shin gaurds cost more than the Renegades but I can't see their performance being any better. They conform well around my legs and the padding is thick enough to provide protection against all kinds of bumps and scrapes. Their also very tough, I've had these for 2 years and theres barely any wear. These are without a doubt very well made.
Weaknesses: A little on the warm side and sometimes the top strap digs into the back of my knee( although a little adjusting eliminates this) but thats about it.
Conclusion: Overall an excellent value and a definite best buy. They may not look as fancy as other knee and shin guards but who cares?!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Reinforced nylon sewn onto pants
Marker Setup: Black Custom Right feed body milled by Danny Love
Chrom Fat Boy back block
Shocktech beaver tail
Shocktech bolt
Chrome Palmer's Rock
Chrome Palmer's Ram
Black Shochtech low pressure reservoir
Chrome KAPP 3 way
Chrome ball detent
Chrome 45 grip frame
Black Dye Sticky grips
2 barrels 12"SS Dye and JJ 2 piece Full Tilt
SS Air America Violater Reg
47/3000 psi steel compressed air tank.
Trigger job by BBT
Strengths: The pads do not move during the game, which is a tourny players biggest concern. They flex well right out of the package and have a low profile to the make. For a front player, these are a must.
Weaknesses: The top strap is a connecting type, unlike the other three straps that are pull through. It leads to some very raw skin afterwards, even with pants on. Also, the pads lead to over heating of the legs.
Conclusion: The cheap alternative to JT's eMotion protectioin and Redz. Some people buy just for the brand names. Why? For respect, but every good player knows it's not the equipment, it's the player behind it. These pads will serve you just as well as the those high priced ones.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alan_Keicher Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 2k4 autococker w/ shocktech drop, warped ball dedent, 14 in AA barrel, SLIK bolt, and nitro duck system.
Strengths: -Price
-Pretty durable
-Lightweight
Weaknesses: Straps on back (see below)
weak padding
Review: PROS

price-They are one of the cheapest knee pads out there so I was very happy with that.

durability-I've had them for a year and still no rips or fraying of the stitching so I'm happy with that.

weight-Very lightweight so it is easy to move in them and you really don't feel that there on (exception: see straps)

CONS

straps-The three straps that go across your calf are horrible. They are not adjustable so unless you have thankles (you are fat), they will slide around on you like crazy. They will literally turn backwards as your'e running up the field. The top strap is in a very awkward place and everyone I know doesn't even strap it because it makes them scrunch and it's hard to run when they're like that. So because of that I have the top strap undone and about 2 months ago when I was playing I slid (knowing that I was wearing super safe renegade knee pads) and the pad slipped off to the side letting my knee cap and a big sharp rock meet. I still have a really bad scar from that incident. IT SUCKS! To Top that off I even had them tied down to my legs with hockey tape, and they still shifted like that.

padding-The padding is just a very thin layer of foam and really doesn't do much. It will stop you from getting cut or massive bruises, but besides that it just makes kneeling down more comfortable (did I forget to mention a false sense of security).
Conclusion: Overall, the price on these pads can't be beat. Don't intend on doing crazy sliding with these because they just won't cut it. They will help on bounces too, so if your'e looking for something that is going to make kneeling more comfortable and help you not get out a few times, go get a pair.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 12th, 2004 at 5:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quaffloid Sunday, October 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 w/
12" DYE Ultralite
Pro Team Product Hyperstar Bolt
CMI 5 -stage X-Chamber
Strengths: Dont slide
good protection
softer then your kneecaps
come in cammo
dont impair motion
Weaknesses: Need to be broken in, very stiff when new
Irritate backs of knees when new
Review: I have been playing for years without any thing to pad my knees and this is one of the best choices I have made, especially after I hurt a tendon in my right leg. I can slide much faster now that I don't have to worry about coming down too hard or running into something, and unlike most knee pads, they are not black, which forms very conspicuous blobs in the woods or at night.
Conclusion: These are definitly worth it, they will greatly improve your ability to move and endurence while kneeling or while jammed in some odd nook to keep yourself in a game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tbz Tuesday, March 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used Ravens and a few others
Marker Setup: Imp with the goods
Strengths: Light weight, adjustable, nice fit
Weaknesses: umm a lil stiff but as soon as they are broken they are soo sweet.
Review: Nice, pretty inexpensive, protects your knees and shins, and makes it so you can slide ver easily. They are somewhat breathable compared to others, and they look good without buldging and being all tied down like some others. They are pretty flexible and they look good. They adjust very easily and they seem very tough

---
Conclusion: I recommend these they are somewhat inexpensive and they do what they are supposed to do...protect your shins and knees. Great product
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Avery Thursday, December 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Newstyle GTA Expansion Chamber, Reactive Trigger, Polished and Silenced Internals, Spee-T-Cocker, Ricochet 2K, Lapco Bigshot, Flatline Barrel
Strengths: They look pretty good if you don't bend your legs.
Weaknesses: Very stiff (at least at the beginning), they don't really bend at the knee at all, don't conform to the leg that well, and when you bend your knee the kneepad itself just flips forward with the shinpad.
Conclusion: I'd buy martial arts pads instead, they stay on better, move better, and interfere less.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 16th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra (Steel Blue), 20oz. Co2, Smart Parts Progressive 14" barrel, and custom camouflage to cover up blue anonization.
Strengths: Great selection of camo patterns, a fair price around $35, and the high-density foam padding is perfect for deep-woods play. I was able to kneel with comfort. I focused more on my opponents than on the rough terrain. By the way, I purchased these after driving my left shin into a log while sliding in the woods. How can I explain this? "Like being cracked across your shin with a baseball bat" OUCH! I "dented" my tibia, tore a muscle and split the skin wide open. Uhh, if you don't buy these, get something...anything to protect your knee's and shins!
Weaknesses: Okay, I used these shin guards once and the top Velcro strap ripped off at the seam! No matter how well they protect the legs, there’re no damn good if they fall apart while your playing. Maybe a manufactures defect? I'll try to sew the strap back on. A trick I learned, sewing with dental floss. Really strong stuff. I'll let you know how is works. They were a little stiff, but I'm sure they'll break in with use.
Conclusion: Besides the strap ripping off, a good product at a fair price. I would have given them an 8, but b/c of the strap, a 6 is a more accurate rating. Sometimes I think paintball gear is made cheep to keep you coming back for more. What a great idea!
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PsychoAK47 Monday, August 20th, 2001
Strengths: These will save your knees if you are a front player. I cannot think of all the times I have dove behind a bunker and paid for it the rest of the day. Also they are completely adjustable and can be taken off in a few seconds. Shin guards are also a great thing to have since your shin will take a beating if you play on wooded fields and there are things like roots and knots in the ground. Also you can "walk" on your knees without ripping up your pants and your knees.
Weaknesses: These get VERY HOT. They insulate heat way too much. Although I have found a quick fix for that. Between games if you unstrap the top strap and then push the kneepads down it will let you legs breath. Then when its gametime just pull em up and strap em down.
Conclusion: The only real part I can think of to give it a 9 would be the heat. But pretty much all kneepads would do that so I can't count it against them. If you are constantly on your knees,(boy that sounded wrong) then get these kneepads.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media