paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ariakon SIM-5 / Ariakon SIM-5 / Ariakon SIM-5 / Ariakon SIM-5

Ariakon SIM-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ariakon

Buy Ariakon SIM-5

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ariakon SIM-5
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 6.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Knowing that today�s market plays tough, their equipment must also be as tough and take a beating. The body and barrel of the SIM-5� is fabricated of a high quality aluminum alloy, while the stock, fore-grip, and trigger assembly is made of an extremely tough and virtually indestructible polymer compound. This combination of materials keeps the weight down to scale while remaining durable. No matter how hard you play, your SIM-5� will play harder for you, and then ask for more.�
In the heat of battle, we didn�t want you to be the one stuck on the sidelines or behind a bunker cleaning broken paint out of your barrel. Let�s face it; breaking paintballs is an annoying fact that every marker in the world has. As one of the many considerations we took, the SIM-5� features the fastest barrel removal of any other marker. Its unique quick release barrel design allows you to remove, clean, reinsert, and secure your barrel in under 5 seconds. It is time saving features like these that make this marker and your team win a battle rather than lose a player.�
One of the importance's of any marker�s design is the ability to maintain it. The SIM-5� once again delivers what you need. Our design team went beyond the call of duty by engineering this marker to be disassembled quickly and easily without special tools or equipment. Thus, this marker brings down the maintenance routine to an enjoyable experience.
Looking for the most realistic and durable marker on the market without the sacrifice of performance or quality has just been made easy. Welcome to the realm of the new player. Welcome to the realm of the SIM-5�. Are you a player?�

Features:
.68 Caliber
4.2 lbs
29 inches long
12 inch Precision Honed Barrel
High Flow Bolt�
Quick Field Stripping Barrel�
MP5 Style Trigger Frame�
Realistic Safety and Live selector switch
Angled Composite Feed
R.I.S Hand guard�
MP5 Style Cocking Mechanism
Semi-Automatic Fire
Single Trigger
Quick Removable Rifle Style Stock
Standard Co2 or Compressed Air Compatible
Adjustable Rear Sight For Windage & Elevation�
Uses All Standard Hoppers�
Product Availability 
The Ariakon SIM-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
AriakonDevilDog Wednesday, September 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month34 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a 98Custom, Sinister, and Triton. I also own and use a SIM-4.
Marker Setup: I use a SIM-4 with sniper barrel, A2 handguard, Harris bipod, single trigger, Ariakon red-dot scope, Palmer Stabilizer, ACI remote with slide check, and an 88ci 4500psi HPA tank. I also use a SIM-5 with RIS vertical grip, deluxe tac-light, Palmer Stabilizer, ACI remote with slide check, and an 88ci 4500psi HPA tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I personally like using a vertical RIS grip with the SIM-5. I also have a tac-light attached to it.
Strengths: Accuracy, appearance, balance, durability, quick-release barrel, safety switch, RIS mounts.
Weaknesses: Loud(barrel not ported), quick-release pin hard to remove at first.
Review: The SIM-5 is one fantastic woodsball and/or CQB marker! The looks alone make this thing worth the money because everyone is afraid of you before the game even begins. It is much lighter than the SIM-4 and the performance is just as good. It uses basically the same internal parts as the SIM-4(the bolt is shorter). It is VERY accurate and I have yet to encounter ball-chop problems or leaks. I can't say enough about the overall feel of this marker. The weight was really astonishing, especially after having a SIM-4 for several months. This thing is VERY LIGHT in comparison and the weight is well distributed(well balanced). I've tested this marker up in the mountains and has been tested in the roughest conditions you could ever expect to encounter. I dropped it(by accident), hit it against rocks(also by accident but during gameplay), crawled around with it, and went through brush with it...and it came away without a scratch on it! The quick-release barrel is a very nice feature for maintenance. I have not yet had a ball break in it but I did have to clean the dust out of it while in the mountains. One of the cool things about this marker is the cocking lever which acts like a double safety when it's in the "locked position". This is a really nice safety feature to go along with the very cool safety switch on the trigger(I always hated push-button safeties).The standard RIS mounts are a very nice feature as well for those of you with weaver-mountable accessories. The only negatives I have found on this marker is the noise level due to the barrel not being ported(doesn't bother me anyways) and that the quick-release pin that holds the barrel in is hard to remove and put back in at first(it gets better the more you take it out). This is the most awesome marker I've ever owned!
Conclusion: Overall, this marker is second to none when it comes to woodsball and/or CQB games. It's performance is rock solid and it's looks are to die for. It's more than worth the $400 you pay for it. Go out and buy one...you won't regret it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Robotech Monday, September 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
WS-66 R.I.S. Elite and Armotech Zeus G1. The WS is a HEAVY marker and while I like it for most scenario games, having it for speedball or other close quarters style play is very difficult.
Marker Setup: SIM-5 really has no upgrades available for it but I've taken an Airsoft handgaurd, Magazine, and collapsible stock and modified them to fit on the SIM-5
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really other than a good paint to barrel match.
Strengths: Very light. Easy to remove the barrel if you break paint in it .
Weaknesses: Lots of plastic. Catch 22 really since that's what makes the marker so light.
Review: This marker is perfect if you're looking for a MilSim type marker that isn't very heavy and is equally at home on the speedball field as it is in the woods. Its light weight makes moving in tight spaces fairly easy. Shoots quickly and reliably even when in the hands of a physically aggressive player. Easy to maintain and easy to remove the barrel in the field if necessary. Some may balk at the amount of plastic on it, I know I did, but so far it has held up well for me. The stock, handgaurd, trigger assembly, and upper sight tube are all plastic. Kind of a catch 22 though since this is what keeps it light.

With a proper paint to barrel match this marker is very accurate. It is pretty point and shoot. First day out with it had two one shot eliminations at decent range. Both times it was just reaction shooting and the marker didn't fail me. Quick to bring on target and accurate to hit the target on the first shot.
Conclusion: I really like this marker. It won't replace my WS in scenario situations (well, maybe at night) but it is great for walk on play. It isn't for everyone and this isn't to say that other markers cannot do what this one does. However, if you are wanting something a little different out there than your Spyder or Tippmanns, this marker just may be in your future.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

tipplover Sunday, September 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armotech wg 75 is very heavy compare to the Sim 5. Both are good markers, but it's all up to the person buying it . I prefer the Sim 5 because of the weight.
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 with a regulator, psychoballistic drop forward, MP5 hand guard, hammerhead barrel, tactical off-sight rail with scope and tactical light.

Tippman Model 98 Custom M4 set-up, M4 tactical rail with tactical light.
AGD Minimag with regulator, level 10, and dye barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I used an verical bottle foregrip Intruder regulator. I don't like remote lines. Keeps me too constricted with the remote line.
Strengths: Looks, size, weight, accuracy, smooth trigger (love the trigger). Safety switch design is great.
Weaknesses: Loud! Not many upgrades (I heard its coming though). It is expensive, but worth it.
Review: The sim 5 is a great scenario gun. Very light and accurate. Grouping is close for a paintball marker. At first I was skeptical because of the plastic parts (cosmetic that is). I thought it was going to break when I dropped to the ground. The main-body and barrel is metal. The rest, hand guard, stock, and trigger assembly is plastic. However, the marker is very durable. Dove into a bunker, marker first. Held up pretty good. Shockingly no scuff marks or scratches. The trigger is smooth like the Spyder. Shot a case with no chops. Safety set-up is like the real MP5 . Customer support is great. Armotech is good also, but very heavy like the real thing. And that's without the air tank or hopper. Weakness is it's very loud, but who cares. Who is really sniping out there with 60 to 1200 players on the field. The RIS hand guard is nice. I seen people upgrade with laser, tactical light, and a fore-grip handle.
Conclusion: Definitely would recommend this marker to any one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 19th, 2004 at 4:48 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hudson Monday, October 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Sim-5 with custom bottom line and exspansion chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sling
Remote or bottom line
Better bolt
Aftermarket trigger set up if anybody makes one
Strengths: One pin barrel
Not a gas hog
Good quality build and finish
Lighter than Armotech
Weaknesses: A little bulky
Heavy trigger pull
One pin barrel
Pricey
Review: My brother and I both decided to get Sim-5s off of ebay a month or so ago. He got a used Sim-5, and I got a used Sim-5N. We both paid less than $300 dollars for our respective guns. He got lucky and got a good gun; I did not. The seller for his gun claimed he had only shot 300 balls through it, and I believe it. It came still looking brand new, with no scratches or dings in the metal, and the plastic still nice and shiny. The gun had an expansion chamber and a custom bottom line attatched to the grip. Stock Ariakon guns can't mount a bottom line kit without modification, one of the few gripes I have with them. I have heard they have aftermarket aluminum grips you can buy and mount a bottom line to, but I am not sure.

My Sim-5N was in a lot worse shape than his gun; you could tell it was an older gun that hadn't been taken care of. I had to buy $50 worth of parts from Ariakon right off the bat, and now it has developed a bad gas leak. I would never recommend buying one of these guns used; it is simply too risky. These guns need a lot of love, and if somebody doesn't take care of them it shows.

For all of you who still don't know, Armotech and Ariakon are NOT the same company. The company now called Araikon used to be Armotech.com, and was a global paintball company's USA distributor. At some point the company stopped using Aromtech.com as its distributor, and started using a new one, who's website is Armotech.net. The original Armotech sold off its old WG guns and started making the SIM series. Obviously having two Armotech's made things confusing, so a lawsuit was filed and the original Armotech company changed its name to Araikon.

Ariakon has decided to keep the Mil-Sim look without the realistic weight. They use more plastic in their guns than the old Armotech designs. But the plastic they use is strong stuff; these guns can take a beating while being quite a bit lighter than Armotech guns. They are still hefty for a paintball gun, but not quite as much as an Armotech. I still think the Armotech guns are better, and their new series of guns will be the be best CO2 milsim guns out there, but Ariakon is still a decent alternative, especially if less weight is important to you.

From stripping and cleaning the Sim-5, I have noticed it is a little complicated. It isn't a big deal, but compared to other guns like my WG-65, it takes a little longer to actually get to the guts of the gun for cleaning. And you have to take the stock off just to adjust the velocity. None of this is a huge deal, but it isn't as quick and easy to maintain and tweak like some other guns. The gun has two screws holding the sight rail peice onto the main body, and these are easy to strip out if you even barely over-tighten them.

The gun features a quick strip barrel. The barrel slides into a sleeve inside the front grip of the gun and is held in place by a single pin which slides through a groove in the outside of the barrel. This makes it very easy to clean, even in battle. Simply pop out the pin, slide the barrel out, clean, and replace.

This is a nice and unique feature, but it does have its downsides. For one, the gun has no threading, so replacing the barrel with an aftermarket one would take some modification. You would have to router a groove in the outside of the replacement barrel or custom modify something else for it work. Luckily, Araikon has forseen this. The stock barrel is very high quality, making replacing it not a necessary upgrade like on many guns. One other bad thing is that the barrel pin can start to wear down and get loose, so it doesn't want to stay in as well. At least Araikon will sell you replacements for only a few bucks.

I was impressed with the fit and finish on these guns. My brother's gun was practically new, and looked really nice. These are solid and well built guns. The only thing I noticed is that the front hand guard isn't well secured to the gun. It slides onto a rail and has a pin keeping it from coming off, but it is still just a hair loose. I wish it was a little more solidly held in place. Other than that, the build quality is great.

As I was unlucky to get such a craptacular ebay deal, my gun is still broken down. I did get to try out my brother's gun in the yard a month ago, and then I used it for paintballing last weekend. Both times I used it were with crappy paint, so I didn't get very good accuracy. From reading other reviews, I gather that with a good paint/barrel match you can get some excellent accuracy out of these guns, but I haven't personally tried it with good paint yet. The day I paintballed I used a 12oz CO2 tank on the bottomline, and didn't have to refill during the 4-5 hours we played. I don't shoot as much as many people, but I was still impressed with that. The gun felt a little heavy and bulky at first, but the more I played with it the more comfortable I got with it. A large Mil-Sim gun likes this takes some playing time with before you are really used to it. It is bulky enough that it does get in the way when you are trying to sneak around in some brush, where as a smaller gun wouldn't be as bad. But I still managed to sneak into the other team's fort and blast out three people in just a few seconds, so sneaking around isn't impossible.

I would say the only major gripe I have with the gun is the trigger. It is large and takes quite a bit of pull. It feels like the trigger pull is twice that of a Tippmann 98C. It didn't make my hand tired, but it limits how fast you can shoot with such a large and heavy trigger. I don't know if Araikon or anybody else makes an upgraded trigger for this gun, but if somebody does I would recommend checking it out.

The only other thing I would complain about is the price. Getting this gun new is going to set you back $400-$500, depending on where you get it. That is simply too much for what you get. Something a lot closer to $300 would be more reasonable. The WG-47 is the first gun in a new series Armotech is coming out with, which will include the WG-65+(can't wait!), and if they are all around $400, Ariakon will have to lower its prices to compete. Why would you pay more for a gun that can't match in looks or quailty?
Conclusion: Good quality gun, but still pricey, and not quite to Armotech's level. If you are trying to decide on whether or not to buy one right now, I would wait a bit and see what happens as Armotech's new stuff comes out. I give it an eight.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

liquidlight00 Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Delta .68 stock
Custom trigger frame
____________________

Ariakon SIM 5
Retractable Stock
Gravity Hopper (updating to Q-loader soon- will include pics)
Flashlight
Laser Sight w/ finger touch pad
Barrel Kit (mock silencer- i drilled holes in mine to help silence a bit)
Rail Mount
Bushnell 3x-9x Zoom Sniper Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
Retractable Stock - Helps with aiming down the sights with your goggles.
Remote Line
Barrel Kit (helps with accuracy and quiets the gun a TINY bit.. NOT BY MUCH)
Rail Mount (for sniper scope or red dot sight)
Strengths: Looks
Accurate
Maintanence
Rail Mount- see *** below
Barrel Release
Weaknesses: Loud
Plastic parts
Velocity adj. (see below)
Review: LOOKS
Awesome. Although the plastic parts are a bit dissapointing. Yes it's lighter, but it will still break like the front of my handgaurd did. Mind you, it broke because i put it in a vice grip to hold the gun and i tightened the vice too much... soooooooo (note to self.. haha). Retractable stock makes it look really nice and helps keep the gun compact- good for indoor CQB.

PERFORMANCE
Very good. Accurate. No choppage.
Trigger is smooth
Mock barrel brings length up to 14inch from 12 with stock barrel.
Quick barrel release pin is great for switching barrels.

MAINTENANCE
Easy. Simple. Internals are great...reliable. You must keep this gun lubed. Use SMART PARTS SHOCKER LUBRICANT.

*** k i think the coolest part about this gun is the Mounting rail. YOu can screw it on and off effortlessly. I mount my scope on the rail and store it in a pod compartment on my pod pack and when i need to snipe, i just pull it out and throw it on.. boom sniper in a second. ***

and now.. for the NOT SO GOOD things:

1. Loud due to overall make of the gun- NOT JUST LACK OF PORTING. Not a bad thing for everyone..but people will no where you are. ahah

2. To adjust velocity, you have to remove the STock (whichever it may be retractable or regular). Of course, there are two screws that hold the stock there.. so u gotta undo that, chroni, then reassemble. It's a GOOD thing as well because it prevents velocity adjustment out on the field- you cheaters. haha :P

3. Kind of difficult to aim down the sights with original stock because mask will hit the stock altho it IS DOABLE. Get the retractable stock and it's ALLL GOOD IN THE HOOD.

Conclusion: Over all it's a great simulation marker for indoor CQB.

So far i've only had one leak but easily fixed by replacing O-ring.

I broke the trigger safety switch because i took the whole grip frame off and fooled around with it.

the connection of the bottom mounted rail to the hand gaurd broke because i had it in a vice grip too tight.

PUT IT THIS WAY- if you don't like to screw around with the gun and takes things apart, nothing will break! Only unfriendly user intervention will cause problems lol- as with all products.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fl_799 Friday, March 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Own: Tippmann A5 w/ Flatline, RT, JCS-RVA folder and a hopped up Spyder imagine that I hand to guests as a loaner.
Marker Setup: My Sim-5 is setup with a Halo Backman hopper, RIS top sight rail, Trijicon Reflex NSN sight, Vertical RIS handle. Retracting MP-5 stock will be in this week.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mag kit-bottom feed when available from Ariakon. Red dot 1X scope, remote line, HPA tank.
Strengths: Looks, accuracy, ergonomics.
Weaknesses: Smallish cocking handle, heavish trigger. Watch where you take it! Kinda loud but who cares?!?
Review: Very realistic looking "MP-5" style marker with superb ergonomics. Point and shoot accuracy plus reliability right out of the box; precise and accurate and no aftermarket barrel needed (what a concept). Stock Iron sights work great. Side feed design puts the hopper out of the way and allows for any optic your heart desires and mounts them at the right height with no funky off-set scope mounts for straight line aiming This type of marker can change your game play by using a novel concept called "aimed fire". The Sim-5 is lighter then expected for a full size SMG replica. Functionally, the Sim-5 is very reliable with no breaks in the few cases I've ran through it. Nice bonus, high end paint is optional guys and gals. Many Sim users have good luck running Zap paints. Although I typically spend the money on preimum paint like Evil, I've used Wallmart Superswril with great results that have a perfect paint to barrel match to the Sim-5. Even some cheap undersized "house paint" at the local PB store works accurately in this marker.
Conclusion: A fun marker to be sure. Different? Certainly. There are some nice features like a real safety identical to an HK MP-5 plus all of the ergonomics that come along with being modeled after the worlds finest SMG. If you are looking for something off the beaten path and want some realism, certainly look hard at the Ariakon. The best part is that the functionality and accuracy are also equal to its looks. Recommended!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Onslaught_2k4 Friday, November 18th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing that'll compare to the Ariakon Sim 5, but I've used a few guns including Tippmann 98C, PMI Piranha R6, and Spyder Victor.
Marker Setup: Ariakon Sim 5
20oz Co2 on a remote line
Tactical SWAT Vest, Tactical 3 point Sling
Q Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
I haven't done any upgrading, but I heard using compressed air or a regulator, along with a delrin bolt helps a lot.
Strengths: Accuracy
Durability
Loud Barrel
3 RIS rails
The look
Weight (compared to other milsim markers)
Weaknesses: Weight (compared to your average marker)
Hard to use sights
Review: This is a great-looking gun that'll have your opponents dropping logs in their pants. The barrel doesn't have porting, so it only adds to the intimidation. The barrel is also insanely accurate, and easy to remove (held in by a retaining pin). This gun is beautiful in every sense of the word, and on top of that - very rugged. One thing I do not like about the body of the gun is the stock - it makes it hard to use the sights when you wear a mask - so you can't really aim properly. Don't be fooled by the plastic - it's very durable, not to mention light , so it really helps. You couldn't imagine the attention I get when I pull this baby out! The refs and the staff like you already, and the walk-ons will either jump onto your team, or run as fast as humanly possible - instant celebrity status. There were people with electro-markers that probably cost them something in the 4-digits, along with matching jersey's and gear and nitro, but I was the one getting asked all the questions (some even asked if I was on a pro team). Don't make the mistake that this gun would be useless in a speedball match! First speedball match I win the game by myself (taking out 4 out of the 5 opposing team members), which only made me more popular around the place. One thing you should know is that this gun isn't for new people to the sport. I had some problems that I didn't exactly know how to fix because of my inexperience (this is my first gun).
Conclusion: This is a great gun right out of the box, especially because of the barrel. It is a freaking nail-driver. You never have to worry about shooting "hot" with the LV spring you get. I even got a free remote coil from the place I bought it from (maybe they all ship with one, I don't know). If you enjoy being popular and unique this is definately the way to go (I have yet to see another ariakon, or a milsim marker that isn't just a dressed-up tippy).

I gave this a ten because a 9 wouldn't do it justice, although this gun may be comlicated for newbies. (thats not the marker's fault, now is it?!)
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 24th, 2007 at 1:28 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Heretic 666 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first marker but i have tested 98s, A-5s, Protos, and Intimidators
Marker Setup: I use a SIM-5 1.0 w/ a vertical foregrip mounted on the side, a folding bipod, an EZsling, and a Tasco 4xmagnification Scope, Proto Switch FS mask, Catalina 20oz CO2, proline harness, remote, Plus a homemade mock silencer and scopemount.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend all of the upgrades made by Ariakon
Strengths: Mad Power, accuracy, realistic feel, Mechanical (no batteries), easy to disassemble and clean. Looks (Duh)
Weaknesses: ABS feels kind of cheap, expensive, may need a cut down spring.(see review)
Review: The SIM-5 is a great gun for woods-ball or scenario-ball. It's light, powerful, accurate, and it looks/feels great. For tourney-ball, stay the %&@# away from this marker. it is pretty slow to fire and too bulky for speed-ball.

First Impressions- At first you can't believe it. That you actually own a high quality Milsim marker that is an full scale replica of the Heckler & Koch Maschine Pistole fnf. (MP5's real German name). The handguard and stock are made of ABS plastic which is kind of disappointing because you thought it would be metal but at that point you are too excited to care.

Performance- When you get it be sure to chrono it before you play because it is too powerful for most fields a way to fix this is to cut the spring ( the long skinny one in th back). I would suggest getting a professional to do this if you don't know what you're doing. The lowest I got mine was 314 FPS with the velocity adjuster screw all the way out. I just cut 4 rings out of the spring and now it shoots 255-280 fps. I know this is horrible consistency but it doesn't matter on the SIM-5. I normally play with it between 255-280 fps but one day i was playing with it while it was leaking and it performed exactly the same, i later chronoed it and found out it was shooting 212 fps. The velocity doesn't rlly make a difference until you have it past 300.(i.e. 380 gets a little better range and accuracy than 314).It is very accurate and has an alright range. the range isn't really important because this marker isn't a sniper. It is a Sabre's weapon. It isn't hard to lug around and considering it's size it's actually very light, though still heavier than a tourney gun.

Durability- The actual gun is made of aluminum and is practically indestructible. The plastic parts, however, are a different story. The only real problem is the handguard. I ripped out my bottom rail by just pulling on my vertical foregrip too hard and the front of it cracked somehow in the middle of a game.

Looks- The looks of the gun are pretty self explanatory. The 5 looks cool. especially if you upgrade it.

Things Not To Do- Do not connect the CO2 directly to the gun, USE A REMOTE COIL.
Do not take the rear sight all the way off unless you want to spend hours looking for the ball Bering.
Do not put the bolt in upside down, if you do it starts getting confusing. A max range of about 10 yards at 300+ fps?
DO NOT USE HIGH PRESSURE AIR, if you do it works absolutely amazingly for about 5 shots but after that it cracks very important internals and air starts leaking out of strange places. It will never be the same again, I'd suggest finding yourself a new gat.
Conclusion: Performance Pwns any tippmann but the plastic isn't great, i would recommend it to anyone who has the resources to cast aluminum parts to replace the ABS.

It sounds like a lot of work but once you get it all set up it's relatively smooth sailing from then on and the initial fiddling and modifying is all worth it in the end. The awe and wonder that other players show towards it and the field staff telling people about the guy that plays there with a sweet Ariakon SIM-5 make any problem more than worth it. It's not perfect but it's got Fu*king amazing performance but plastic so 7.75 ought to do it. And as far as i know, the SIM-5 2.0 is alot better.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 21st, 2007 at 6:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Actor Wednesday, January 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: RIS front grip
remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new buttstock if you don't like the default one
Strengths: Looks like a MP5
Weaknesses: Breaks on you after one game
Review: I used my Sim 5 once and it worked great. I even recomended it to a friend of mine. However, during my second game it broke. I took it to Ariakon who said they fixed it and gave it back to me at no charge (gotta love warranty's). I took it to the field a week later and it broke again! Not to mention my friends Sim 5 has never worked once. He too sent his marker to Ariakon who said they'd fixe it (no charge again).

Like the post below me states, the plastic on this marker is a joke. It breaks apart the first time you go to do even a basic field strip.

Their pistols are wonderful, I highly recommend them, But their rifles, go to Timman A-5 if you want a mil-sim marker.
Conclusion: Their Sim 5 is not worth the money. You can get the Tippmann A-5 cheaper and get a better product at the same time.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 17th, 2007 at 5:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballpatron Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have ran several setups from tippmann, spyder, smarts parts, wgp
Marker Setup: currently i have a ariakon sim-5 with silencer kit, bipod, ak hopper. I also sport tippmann a-5, with r/t trigger, flatline, mag kit etc. etc.
Recommended
Upgrades:
ummmmmmmm..... This is one of the most accurate markers out of the box, it does not really need upgrades per say.
Strengths: For a stock marker its shoots great, no chop, light and fairly efficient.
Weaknesses: ummmm...... ALL THE PLASTIC PARTS. what a waste....
Review: Well..... where do i start with this. This araikon Sim-5 for what it is has great bang for the buck. The gun out of the box shoots straight, no ball chop, so on so forth. The only really bad thing that makes me crazy is all the plastic. First time out with the new sim-5 i took a ball in the end of the plastic stock and imagine the stock broke a chunk out of the end. Well ok that was fine it didn't hurt the performance, then when cleaning it the other day i was pulling the screw out so i could remove the trigger frame and assembly (which is also made of plastic) and the rear two plastic holes that hold this on the body of the gun broke so in other words not very impressed. You make a 400-500 dollar gun and you call this cheap plastic "high impact" give me a break.
Conclusion: If you want my honest opinion, for scenario guns buy a tippmann or some other marker that doesn't have plastic parts. Don't waste your money on this gun its really over rated if you like woods ball and scenario games.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media