paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ariakon SIM-4 R.I.S. Elite / Ariakon SIM-4 R.I.S. Elite / Ariakon SIM-4 R.I.S. Elite / Ariakon SIM-4 R.I.S. Elite

Ariakon SIM-4 R.I.S. Elite Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ariakon

Buy Ariakon SIM-4 R.I.S. Elite

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ariakon SIM-4 R.I.S. Elite
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $600

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Incredible Styling: The SIM-4 R.I.S Elite  is built to look and feel just like the real M4. From the realistic M-16 style cocking lever to the telescoping stock you will think you are holding the real thing. Used by military personnel around the world the SIM-4 R.I.S Elite  is respected by player and professional alike. 

Easy Maintenance: With quick strip field pins and a unique two piece body design that allows you access to internals, the SIM-4 R.I.S Elite  is a breeze to maintain and operate. The barrel is designed to be easily removed for quick cleaning even under fire. 

Accuracy and Distance: No longer will you have to shell out extra for a quality barrel. The SIM-4 R.I.S Elite  comes standard with a 14" precision honed barrel designed for extreme accuracy, even at a distance. 

Durability: The SIM-4 R.I.S Elite  is engineered from the ground up to take a pounding. This isn't just an assembly line produced marker with some cosmetic add-ons the aluminum alloy construction will make it through even the roughest games. Each and every SIM-4 R.I.S Elite  is hand assembled and tested prior to leaving our facility to ensure you receive a marker ready to use the day you receive it. 

Compatibility: Because this marker was designed to look and function like its real counterpart, the SIM-4 R.I.S Elite  will allow you to use many of the actual accessories designed for the M4. Everything from Scope Mounts, RIS Kits, to Night Vision systems, if its compatible with the real thing, it probably fits on the SIM-4 R.I.S Elite . 

Elite Kit: The addition of the Elite Kit brings you the most popular accessories Ariakon™ has ever carried. We start with our Elite rail, which is a two-level, one-inch “weaver” style rail, 100% military grade firearm compatible. This rail lets you mount up to TWO different components on the top of your marker. To that we include our Elite Sniper Scope, which is a genuine Bushnell® 4x32 Riflescope, complete with mounting rings. This scope is a military grade scope with real windage and elevation adjustments. As if that wasn’t enough we add our tactical laser kit. This laser kit comes with our firearm grade laser and mount along with batteries, on/off switch AND pressure activated switch. If you want to get the drop on the competition then this is the kit for you.

Features:
.68 Caliber 
R.I.S. System
Elite Rail
Elite Scope
Laser Sight Kit
High Flow Bolt
T-Handle M-16 Style Cocking Lever
Powered by either CO2 or HPA
Quick Field Stripping Pins
AR Style Trigger Grip
Retractable Shoulder Stock
Semi-Automatic Fire 
Realistic T-Handle Cocking Mechanism
Co2 or Compressed Air Compatible
Included Sling Mounts
Adjustable Sights For Windage & Elevation
Uses All Standard Hoppers (Electronic Recommended)

RIS Kit: The RIS “Rail Interface System” gives you the ability to accessories your SIM4 more than any other marker out there. The RIS starts with an aluminum hard-anodized for-grip for added durability, and then to that we attach four removable “weaver” style rails, along with olive colored removable comfort grip panels. These rails allow you to mount a host of aftermarket components such as; flashlights, tactical handles, night vision optics, illuminators, GPS equipment, bipods, the list goes on. The RIS kit allows the user to accessories their marker to the fullest.
Product Availability 
The Ariakon SIM-4 R.I.S. Elite is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
BlazeMp5k Sunday, February 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested54 of 57 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann
Marker Setup: 1) tippmann 98C with car stock, starfire bolt, 12'' boomstick
2) tippmann A5 with lapco 7'' barrel, red dot sight,
3) spyder aggressor xt (it was free)
4) RIS ELITE......no upgrades needed..comes with everything one could want
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing at all....i opened the box and scopes lasers flashlights just fell out.
Strengths: Accuracy, very well built, mostly metal (makes it heavy but you get use to it)
Weaknesses: high power velocity spring. Lowest FPS i can get it is 332fps
Review: Right out of the box i was amazed...i opened the box and all these accessories fell right out. Once i put everything on it was very realistic looking. You cant even judge by the pictures on the websites selling this gun. When you get it its so much more....how should i say...darkened, gothic, powerful feeling that the pictures cannot tell. Its mostly metal, tho making it heavy, ensures that it is well made. theres only one probelm tho...when i first got it i shot my friend who wanted to get shot 3 times at a distance of 100ft about. He was on the floor all 3 times....now i figured it was cuz he doesnt play and wasnt use to it, but when i got to the field and chronoed it the lowest it would go was 332fps....the highest was about 480fps...tho accurate at about 100ft before the ball swirved, (crappy paint however) its still not legal for official field play. If you buy this gun you will find that you will need to get a low velocity spring. Other than that this gun was the best gun i have purchased. If you want furthur details, my AIM sn is BlazeMP5k.

UPDATE: (3/2/05) as i stated before, the velocity is exceptionally high when you first test out this gun, however i called the Ariakon company and they simply send you a low velocity spring for free. I am currently awaiting it in the mail, and once i get it ill update my review again on the performance of the new spring. Also i will have pictures posted on a separate site i have relatively soon so you can get a real good idea of what this gun looks aside from the same old photo every sales site shows.

UPDATE: (3/6/05) Im getting alot of questions from people about the accuracy of the sight and laser, and im so sorry for those i havent been able to get back to, so tho ill IM you online, heres a quick summary.....the sights are pretty decent as far as accuracy goes. The gun itself doesnt really come calibrated with the sights, so you'll have to take it to a field or im my case sooting your friends in a backyard, to set the scope's accuracy. The scope is good for a distant shot but the laser honestly is somehting you wouldnt depend on over maybe 100ft or so, which isnt too bad. ive been looking for one of those really professional SWAT lasers that show a straight beem of green light, i think those would be a little better. For anyother questions please feel free to IM me, i apologize if im not there all the time, but check back often..peace guys

UPDATE: (4/13/05) Well i had gotten the low velocity spring a while ago, and today, my friend who got shot earlier came over n well, yea i suppose you all realized i shot him again....same distance, aproxx 100ft, and with the low velocity spring, i think it hurt him more then last time. Its much more accurate with the low velocity spring. now it was all calibrated, and he had a small circle on his chest dead center and i got him right where i wanted it.....this gun is rediculous, i wouldnt even advise playin with this on a real field but in the woods with friends. this gun is seriously more of a home defense weapon then a paintball gun ill be honest. I dont think the low velocity spring lowered any velocity, but made the ball 10 times more accurate (using this time as last crappy brass eagle paint) and 10 times more painfull. Def not something you should bring to a field wheres theres a choro and players will b*tch. Ill have pictures up soon at my site so ill update again when theyre up.
Conclusion: If you want good quality, sick looks, (and of course very powerful,) this is the gun for you. It's more realistic in person then on advertising sites.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 13th, 2005 at 8:29 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

deader Tuesday, April 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months27 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have never used a paintball marker that can compare to this one.
Marker Setup: '05 Proto MaTrix
Advantage PB Virtue Board
CP Roller Trigger
HALO B w/ Rip drive, Victory board, Shocktech springand speedwheel
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would recommend getting the ARIAKON Three Point Tactical sling (because of the markers' weight), a Bipod (Harris Is Recommended), and the 19.5 Inch Ariakon Barrel upgrade.
Strengths: Beautiful cosmetics, great accuracy and efficiency
Weaknesses: Can get very heavy, velocity is very hot out of the box.
Review: Whenever I first opened the box I was very impressed. This marker is some piece of work. When I first held it I couldn’t help but to smile, it is very realistic in weight and it feels just like a real M-4. After practicing CQB maneuvers in my house for a while, I quickly disassembled the marker got to know my new toy, inside and out. I found that the basic disassembly of the marker is very easy, while fully taking it apart can get to be quite tedious. There are about 55 different little gadgets and gizmos in the marker… so as you can imagine, it takes awhile the first couple of times. But, the more you take it apart, the quicker it’ll be. Just follow the owners’ manual before disassembling. So, on to performance…
ACCURACY
The accuracy on this marker (as with any other) depends on the type of paint you use. When I went out to buy paint, I decided to go with SCORCH for practice and EVIL for games, but that is only one players choice, and should hold no influence on another player. With the factory spring in, the velocity is liable to be too high right out of the box. But, ARIAKON will send you a low velocity spring for free if one did not come with your gun. But, I was shooting at a human silhouette target at about 75 yards, and it was hitting in about a 3-4 inch pattern. Now, as for combat accuracy… you are obviously going to have a more difficult time hitting your target when you are ducking and dodging. But overall she still faired VERY well. Keep in mind; this is with the stock 14inch barrel and a RED DOT Scope. The marker would most likely fair even better with the 19.5inch barrel that ARIAKON offers.

EFFICIENCY
This marker is Very efficient whenever it comes to air… and I put about 10,000 balls through it without one chop (using SCORCH). If you fire fast, however, you will use more air per ball than when firing slowly.

FOR THE BAD NEWS
The only bad news that I can give you with this marker is that it can get to be quite heavy for some people. You DO get used to it… but it might pose a problem at first. For this I suggest getting a sling. ARIAKON does offer a 3-point adjustable sling for this reason.
Conclusion: Very beautiful marker with overall great qualities. I would recommend this marker to any avid woodsball or scenario player.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 12th, 2006 at 7:39 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Silver_Nova Tuesday, June 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months23 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing that comes close
Marker Setup: SIM 4 R.I.S. Elite (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing (possibly a N2 tank if you want, but you dont really need it)
you can get a grenade launcher, longer barrel, silencer, etc. (not needed)
Strengths: Looks awesome
Accurate
Very efficient
Looks AWESOME
LEGAL AT ANY PAINTBALL FIELD
Weaknesses: Heavy (get used to)
Shoots hot out of the box
Review: When i first got this marker, my jaw dropped. this gun looks VERY realistic, my friend thought i had ordered a real gun. well, the first thing i did was take it out back and check out the sight. from about 50 yards, it was fairly accurate. the sight was a little off, but i soon read the manual and realized that you could adjust it- it is dead on now. speaking of which, this gun is fairly easy to just take apart and clean, but a deep clean is much harder. there are about 60 different parts, and im afraid that i'll lose one. make sure that you don't try and deep clean your gun unless you can remember where you put ALL your parts.

i use evil paint, and it works like a dream. the lazer is really cool, but it is not very effective in the middle of the day. so i would just use it at night to impress my friends. one guy told me that it came with a lot of "useless crap", but this is coming from a guy with a cheap plastic gun.

when i first went to the chrono, i realized that i was shooting about 380. however, i could not get the velocity below 315. so i ordered a low velocity spring from ariakon, and i am waiting for it to arrive. i heard that it really increases the accuracy, so im going to try that out. this is definitely the " one shot one kill" kind of gun. i realize that there really is no paintball sniper, but this gun says different.

ACCURACY
This gun is incredibly accurate. i shot very few paintballs the entire day, just because i got somebody out every shot. i was shooting EVIL that day, and i was really happy with the performance. EVIL paint perfectly fit my barrel, and i would recommend it to all players.

WEIGHT
yes, this gun does get very heavy. even so, i was still able to react fairly fast. it does not slow your game as much as you would think. you probably won't even need a remote (i had some problems with mine, so i have adjusted for the weight)

UPDATE- i emailed ariakon on what kind of balls i should use, and they said that Marbalizers work very well. so, i went out to the field and shot a few balls... and holy crap, it made the gun so much more accurate. (this is on top of its already great performance) Anyway, im planning on getting the 19.5" barrel and the replica silencer, so ill update again when i get them.


UPDATE-
I e-mailed Ariakon about what kind of paint I should use, and they said that any large bore paint, such as Marbelizers, are the best kind to use.
Conclusion: This is a very nice marker. if you want a bad-ass marker with awesome preformance and mad respect, get this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 1st, 2006 at 10:30 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Celestor Tuesday, November 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: SIM-4 RIS Elite
Red dot scope
Laser
Flashlight
PMI Remote Line
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Look and weight realistic
Weaknesses: Shots too hot out of box
Review: I just got my SIM-4 RIS Elite and I was so danm suprised when I first openned the box. The look is nothing compared on what you see on webpages.

When I first tested the gun, the accuracy wasnt very good. I played with the velocity spring and I'm waiting for the low velocity spring from ariakon so I guess the accuracy will be quite awesome with the spring and silencer. The red dot scope is quite awesome. The flashlight, I have some problems turning it on, when I fire, it shuts down then 1 sec after, it's turn on again. I doubt I got the stock laser tho since it looks pretty cheap and the laser is not aligned since it moves a bit when you turn the caps of the laser, I'll ask ariakon for that. I bought it from raven's edge online (online shop from ontario). The service was awefull, took about 1 month of whinning before I actualy touched the gun and the order was all messed up (quite a good thing). I received by error a better remote line, a red dot scope, an a extra 2000 paintballs worth 130$. They sent me the wrong hopper and no silencer, so I guess I'll receive them soon (hopefully with a other paintball box lol). An electric hopper is a must for that gun, I have trouble with the normal hopper they sent me by error.

It's my first paintball gun and the cleaning of it is so easy.

I ordered a Ricochet AK Hopper and a silencer (still waiting for them) so I'll you some news after I tested it.

-----------------------------
November 10th 2005

Just noticed, if you want extreme accuracy, snap off the rail (laser with scope) and use the cercle scope on the SIM-4 with the tip of the gun and use it to aim. 100% accurate, I never missed one shot with it so far praticing on moving objects at 50 feets. If theres someone who knows how to use the red dot scope, I would like to learn. Thank you.

-----------------------------
December 22th 2005

Finally got everything from ravensedge. Since they were so danm late for the order, they upgraded my hopper to an apache LCD, so no more stuck paintballs and it feeds perfectly now. I will buy really soon the Clip that ariakon released, just for the look I guess. I also received my Sim-4 Silencer, I already tought that without the silencer, my sim-4 looked awesome, but with the silencer snapped on, it looks 200% more cool than before, also adding 5 inch to my stock barrel, hoping that will increase the accuracy. I won't be able to test it until a little while since it's snowing and the temperature is too cold. Quite scared to damage my O-rings. I'll provide a picture for you guys to see the look with the silencer on.

Future buys that I'll make until this summer
-Magazine Clip
-Auto / Semi Trigger (lcd looks awefull tho...)
-Snipper Barrel
-A new laser (a real swat green laser where you see the 'trail' of the laser (you can see a lot on ebay (search for green laser ris))

That's about it for now
Conclusion: Accuracy wasnt very good, so I'm still waiting for the spring and silencer, some people whines about the weight, but I find it realistic and good. I think I should be able to play my first game with it in 1-2 week hopefully.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 22nd, 2005 at 7:40 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

NDP1982 Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
TIPPMAN A5
Marker Setup: ALL FACTORY STOCK
Recommended
Upgrades:
I DID PUT A RAP4 GERNADE LAUNCHER ON.
Strengths: Straight out of the box.... great ball speed, accuracy, and durability.
Weaknesses: The only issue I have noticed is the grip is always loose.
Review: 3/13/06 I purchased this marker thinking "man the guys are going to love this". Once I took it out of the box, and tested it, it was awesome. Out of the box, the marker was set around 350fps (using sharp shooter paintballs). After playing with the adjusting bolt, I had it as high as 575fps. Now most places you play at, your marker has to be at 300fps or lower. It was amazing that without any mods, the marker had some great ball speed. Now the marker comes with a Red Dot Scope. It takes several tries to get it how YOU want it. Once the scope was set, I was hitting the red dot roughly 14 shots out of 20. Not to bad. It all depends on the paintball you use. This gun, I think, is great for up close AND far distance accuracy. The durability of the marker is outstanding! I'm not easy on my equipment. I have damaged a few markers. This marker is mostly metal. Thus making this marker heavier then others. I do suggest a sling. The stock and grip is plastic but there are aftermarket items you can purchase to have something stronger. I have had the marker dropped from a tree (<5ft), fall into a creek (I did ruin my electric hopper and paintballs), and just normal crawling around on the ground. Very durable!
Conclusion: If you are a die-hard woodsball player and want a great marker, I suggest this one. ACCURACY, SPEED, AND DURABILITY.... A+
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Valaska Friday, April 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha's - It's very compatible to this.. Considering I kept my Piranha over the SIM-4.
98c - May have sold my 98c.. But I would have kept it over this..
I've used plenty of other mechanicals
Marker Setup: SP-8
Orange Nano Unicorn Bolt
14" .689 Stiffi Barrel
Adjustable Stock
Laser+ Tac Rails
Aimpoint RedDot Scope
Remote Line
360 QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
Um.. A red Dot instead of a bushnel scope, possibly that delrin bolt they have out now.. I can't see upgrading the SIM-4 though..
Strengths: Looks
It was accurate when it worked
Decent CO2 efficiency
Looks
Comfy feel
Weaknesses: The body Wobbles
They are unreliable
They are heavy, not bad for me, but some...
Review:
Ok.. I am going to try hard as possible not to rip this thing down in every possible way because every thunder cloud APPARENTLY has some sort of silver lining.. So I'll try to keep as professional about this marker as possible... I am trying very very hard keep in mind..

WEAKN.. Err, sorry I am jumping the gun.. Ok here we go..

S-strengths.. I guess..

***** Body*****

It looks great, I am not the biggest fan on the M16 but heck, this thing was intimidating to people on the field when I came on with it.. Until after they seen how it.. "Works", but thats for the next part of this review. The body was.. Sorta solid, like the 2 halves were solid they took a couple hard hits and survived I can tell you that.

***** Accuracy*****

Let me say this, it was accurate, when it shot, it could use pretty mid range paint like DUSK etc and it put them out pretty good at 65-70 feet, nothing that any other mid range mechanicals marker that costs 400-500 dollars cheaper.. Hell get an electro they can be cheaper and work ju, oh sorry I lost track again lol.
It was very accurate.

***** Efficiency*****

I have to say it was pretty good on CO2, this may be because it never worked, but it was pretty decent on CO2.


WEAKNESSES---

Ok ok, I skipped a few of what I usually review but god I couldn't keep pressing that out..

***** Body*****

Stock the body halves WOBBLE, it's the most retarded thing ever, you have to slip a shim IN BETWEEN the body halves to keep it from wobbling, what the crap is this! I- I- I am actually just stammering here this gun gave me a head ache. Other than that it was heavy, weighed a little more than a C7 full loaded.

***** Reliability*****

I have maintained some of the most horrible markers for about a year and sold them or traded them off and they break a few weeks later, so when a marker in my hands breaks, it's something else, I am pretty good to my markers I don't abuse them, But this thing broke within the first 3 weeks of me playing, that was 2 test firing sessions, and 3 games, and it was BUSTED, I had to open it up, it blew O-Rings and had some problem with the reg.. Under warranty I got replacement parts... Replaced them, and after that for 6 months of wobbling, and putting shims to keep it from doing so, honestly if I wanted to keep it I had some idea's of how to permanently fix it... But gosh.. In the first place your damn paintball marker should not be held together by 2 pins that manage to wobble anyways any who who rates this thing over mediocre is just pocket advocating (when someone purchases something expensive, knows its crap but stands by it).
I honestly liked this thing.. I did.. The local paintball store Rons Outdoors refuses to even stock them! If you like Ariakon, buy their pistols it's what they know, the SIM-4's, they need some damn pointers on.

***** Reliability*****

It's NOT reliable, trust me on this.. I sold mine at paintball gear.ca and picked up an SP-8, not saying you should pick up an SP-8, great gun but it is just a body kit for your Ion, but I am saying buy something else.. Trust me you'll be happy.
Conclusion: Just don't get it, unless looks is all you base purchasing something off of.. I have to give it a 4.. It worked pretty good, WHEN it worked. Which was VERY on and off, even after I replaced the Reg, sometimes it just would not fricken shoot. Thing that ticked me off most is Rons Outdoors wouldn't let me return it because they couldn't figure out the reason, sent it to paintball gear and they figured out the problems, good thing is some sucker bought this thing for 670 bucks which let me purchase a REAL marker. Sorry for being so blunt, but these things are horrible. Get an Overlord or an ACP, get a stock and a foregrip, you have the closest thing to a rifle that Ariakon makes, because this, this is nothing.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeWynter Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Model 98 Pro
Tippman A-5
Tippman Model 98
Marker Setup: Ariakon Sim-4 R.I.S. Elite
ACP Delrin Low Blow Bolt
ACP Delrin 3 O-ring Bolt
Pure Energy 68ci 4500
JT Remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Delrin Bolt (reduced wear, Lighter)
Delrin Wraped Striker (reduced wear, Lighter)
Both alow faster cyclic rates
Strengths: Range :)
Ease of maintinence
Fully featured
Pined barrel
Weaknesses: Hot out of the Box(435 fps)
cliped 5 rings for 280fps
Review: I loved the look of this marker from day one, its very realistic. After loading it with a Evloution 2, paint and remote line, Its weight is about the same as a fully loaded AR-15. This is a Milsim/Scenario marker not a speed ball marker.

The gun is easy to clean and really needs little maintenance. The delrin bolt and delrin wrapped Striker are really a big saver of time for maintenance.

It shot hot out of the box which I knew was going to happen, and I really would rather that than the alternative.

Its not the most realistic M-4 replica on the market, the RAP 4 holds that title, but it is very good.

The accuracy is amazing out of the box and it shots as far as an A-5 with a flatline and more accurate. Its not as far as the model 98 flatline, The Low blow bolt adds about 45-60 extra feet to the range and flatens the trajectory allot.
Conclusion: I would Highly recommend this Marker to the Milsim/Scenario crowd. Its allot heavier than a piranha or cocker, and is not for people who want to move extremely fast. I would recommend it for a Commander or Medium Infantry position.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media