paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ariakon SIM-15 / Ariakon SIM-15 / Ariakon SIM-15 / Ariakon SIM-15

Ariakon SIM-15 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ariakon

Buy Ariakon SIM-15

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ariakon SIM-15
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 8.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $270

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
One of the newest additions of Ariakon is the SIM-15 marker.† With its sleek styling and performance, the SIM-15 has all the basic features you would expect like .68 caliber bore size, double trigger frame, integrated carrying handle, and much more at a price you wouldn't expect.†

Reliability is an important factor with any marker.†You don't want to get bunkered while fixing your marker on the field.† That is why the SIM-15 is constructed of both aluminum alloys and hardened polymers, and contains only the highest quality internal parts making it reliable and dependable even in the worst of situations.†

Since the SIM-15 is compatible with most SIM-4 accessories and upgrades you will have plenty of choices down the road to customize your marker with your own unique style and flavor.†

The SIM-15 continues with Ariakon's tradition of quality and durability at a price you can afford.†

Features:
.68 Caliber†
Powered by either CO2 or HPA
Quick Field Stripping Pins
Double Trigger Frame
Retractable Shoulder Stock
Semi-Automatic Fire†
Realistic M16 Style T-Handle Cocking Mechanism
Included Sling Mounts
Adjustable Sights For Windage & Elevation
Uses All Standard Hoppers (Electronic Recommended)
Product Availability 
The Ariakon SIM-15 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
kratosGT316 Thursday, April 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested24 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares to the almighty sim 15
Marker Setup: nitrogen and laser sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
nitrogen and laser sight
Strengths: This gun is dead accurate and has very good range
Weaknesses: Doesnt shoot that fast.
Review: This gun is Great even though i only tested i wish i had enough money to go out and buy one i mean it is practically perfect. This gun also has the looks like a M16 and i think that looks pretty freaking cool. The laser sight makes it look even better.
Conclusion: This is a really good product, you can shoot a can off of a fence like 25 yrds away
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Enthusiast Thursday, May 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Probably the Tippmann A-5 and 98c. Both highly upgraded.
Marker Setup: Ariakon Sim-15
Lots of Ariakon Brand goodies. (Over $300 worth of 'em too)
3a-paintball nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None. It's a great marker right out of the box!
Strengths: Endurance!
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: OMG! This F***** was awesome for just it looks. It was even better on performance. Its construction was amazing. I banged it on the ground and a trailer. All I had to tighten was a loose screw. It's also very easy to maintain. This marker may seem like a newb gun and all that becuase os the MSRP, but looks can be deceiving. The accuracy right out of the box is amazing and so is the look and feel of it. I love it. The accuracy is the best I've EVER SEEN for a stock barrel and out of the box too. I was drooling (not really) because I was amazed. I totally recommend buying this if ur a scenario player!

The customer service of ht ecompany is also amazing. They are so polite and helpful. It was easy to carry on a conversation and they were very good at what they were doing. They were almost spelling out what to do after i loosend a screw. The performance is also so amazing even when the barrel is wet. I even submerged the gun and it still shot when i pulled it out. This gun is so amazing.
Conclusion: I totally recommend buying this if what your looking for is stock performance and woodsballing. Even a tourny player i know even said it's good. I'll have to give it a 9 ONLY becuase of the wieght issue.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 12th, 2005 at 7:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DevilDawg_427 Friday, July 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
(these are similar only in that they are blowbacks, the SIM-15 puts them to shame)
Spyder Imagine
98C
A-5
Durango
Erradicator

Marker Setup: Impulse
-Blackheart
-CP Roller Trigger
-Qlock
-Trinity Unimount
-CP Reg


Ariakon SIM-15 (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
expantion chamber or HPA
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: Nit-picking (see review)
Review: FIRST IMPRESSIONS
This marker arrivend in exelent packaging, including a tool kit, o-rings, and a good manual.

LOOKS
lets just get this out of the way: THIS GUN LOOKS GREAT. according to my father (a Marine for 15yrs) the only differences in looks are the things that make it a marker and not a firearm.

TESTING
unfurtunately, out of the box it needed cleaned, and some new o-rings. upon firing i could tell something was wrong with the marker, because i was choping and having double feeds. the toll free customer service walked me through fixing the problem untill the marker was working corectly. i doubt this is the norm.

PERFORMANCE
this marker shoots darts right out of the box. using a fresh box of Domination i had a 5" gouping at 30yrds, ball on ball at 20yrd or less. though it is accurate its not that fast, managing more than 10bps is a challenge, due to the trigger pull. of course your not buying this marker to lay paint, your buying it to make your shots count.

EURGONOMICS
if it aint broke, dont fix it. the military wouldnt still be using the M-16 after 30yrs if the gun was quarky and hard to handle. it feels more like an exra limb rater than a marker. with a remote this marker ballances perfectly in front of the trigger. the pistol grip is soft rubber and your fingers find the groves to feel like pillows, and the trigger is well placed and comfy. the trigger pull is a bit long, but its buttery smooth and gives just the right amount of resistance. the stock could use rubber on the end but is reasonably comfortable and is east to adjust. the ribbing on the forgrip provides a good grip but isnt as comfy as the pistol grip, but is by no means uncomfortable. lowcrawling with this marker is very easy.

OTHER
the internals are very simple. taking it apart isnt at all difficult, but it isnt something you could do quickly in the field. the molded plastic (carry handle, foregrip, tiggerframe, stock, feedneck) is as tough and durrible as any metal, except for the feedneck. it cracked and i had to spend $30 on a new metal feedneck. there is some little tiny burrs on the carry handle.(none elswhere) the only marker specific ups availible are from Ariakon and are things like sight mounts, new grips, and a 20" barrel. this marker requires lots of attention. cleaning it after every game is a must if you expect it to last and perform.
Conclusion: for a speedball this marker would be a dud. however for a scenerio/woodsballer this thing is a GOD. to get an A5 to shoot and handle this good would cost a much as buying this marker. so if you dont mind spending some extra maitenence time this marker will do ya good.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 24th, 2006 at 5:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wirewalker Saturday, May 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom 98 with flat-line, Spyder Xtra with e-trigger, expansion chamber, compressed air, Revolution 12v Hopper and CP 14" barrel
Marker Setup: sim-15, bottom line, remote coil, compressed air, 3 point harness, Revolution 12v Hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-trigger and the sniper barrel
Strengths: Gun is very accurate and has the range of a tippman flatline
Weaknesses: Can't use the sights with your mask on.
Review: The sim -15 is a excellent gun for the money. Former or current military will feel right a home with this gun. The weight and balance are very close to the real thing. The gun is a real head turner. The gun shot hot out of the box. Couldn't get it below 360 fps. Had to cut 5 coils of the spring to get it to shoot at 285 fps. Other than that this gun is perfect for woods ball or scenario ball. It is also excellent as a sniper rifle. This gun is just about perfect.
06/10/06 update. Added sniper barrel, e-trigger and flash suppressor. The gun is now perfect.
Conclusion: You need to get this gun. It is well worth the money. Just like the sim-4 minus the fake flash suppressor and single trigger. This gun rocks
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 11th, 2006 at 4:19 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

milsim15 Saturday, October 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar. This marker takes affordable, economical paintball to an entirely new level.
Marker Setup: Ariakon SIM-15
AR style trigger frame
Sniper Barrel with AR style shorty hand guard
BSA 30mm red dot scope
***NEW*** magazine kit (SEE BELOW)
Recommended
Upgrades:
AR style trigger frame
Sniper Barrel (not totally necessary, the standard barrel will deliver pinpoint accuracy out of the box anyways.)
BSA 30mm red dot scope (money saver...cheaper than Ariakon scopes and available at walmart for instant replacement)
***NEW*** magazine kit - DOES NOT convert to a clip fed maker, but makes this gun the hottest looking marker out there (if you didnt already think so ;-) ) Note: remote line required to use the mag kit)
Remote line
RIS rails, available through many specops paintball sites or gun shop (real world firearms rails will work) and much cheaper alternative to the RIS handguard from Ariakon. These will mount to the factory AR15 or M16A2 handguards that come with the gun. Use these to mount lights, lasers, or even dare i say....grendade launchers (im getting an M203 in about 3 weeks.)
Strengths: Gas efficient
dead acurate
extremely realistic
extremely upgradable
extremely durable
fully adjustable sights
very compatible
Weaknesses: Shoots hot (330 fps)
Feedport may crack or break in extreme heat
Review: The SIM-15 is extremely durable and can easily withstand the most undesirable conditions of combat. Mine has been dropped, shot, and banged all over trees and has come through literally without a scratch. Accuracy. Without this, you will never walk off the field alive. The ability to lay down concise supressive fire is a must in either offensive or defensive positions. When you need to lay down some paint, this marker delivers, even with the default manufacturer semi-auto trigger. I have pretty well spelled everything else out above. I can not stress enough to you milsimmers, woodsballers, scenario players, even recreational players how much you NEED this gun!!!! This maker is very easy to disassemble, oil, maintain, no complicated schematics, field stripable for quick trouble shooting ( a useless feature, due that it it will never need to be operated on on the field of battle, but it does make upgrading it a breeze. most upgrades can be installed in less than a minute ) The only field repair i ever did was take off the barrel to reverse-squegee about an inch of mud out of the barrel when i fell and thrust the barrel into the dirt in doing so. Virtually endless upgrade possibilites--real world firearm accessories will work with this gun IE RIS rails, weaver scope mounts, slings, etc. My scope mount is aircraft grade aluminum and designed with the AR 15 in mind, though it fits the SIM15 perfectly----ITS THAT REALISTIC!!! The Ariakon company sports VERY friendly staff!!! They do everything but crawl through the phone and do it for you. They know right what they are talking about all the time and have been a tremendous help to me. The fully adjustbale iron sights only make the accuracy that much better by allowing the shooter to aim in the exact same spot every time, but alas, they can not be seen with most masks. A scope and rail are the only way to go if an aim assist is required. I reccomend the BSA red dot scopes. They are red dot style, and the batteries last forever. They are also extremely durable. Mine got waxed and i mean WAXED at about a 15 foot range during a close quarters exercise and it was fine. I wiped the paint off the lense and just kept going. The gun is somewhat heavy, and only gets heavier with every upgrade, so a sling may be in the works for you, but I dont use one. I find them in the way all the time and tangled in my gear and make me an unefficiant player, though most people would reccommend them.

AS FOR THE WEAKNESSES
just mention that you would like a low velocity spring for your gun with your order and they will send it for free. THEY ARE SO FRIENDLY! A high velocity puts unnesccesary stress on your internals, decreases accuracy and gas efficiancy, and can cause injury to other players. The low velocity is a must, unless you wish to take a risk and cut the spring yourself. Most people say that about 5 rings cut off the spring will take it down a bit, though I just went ahead and got the low velocity spring. And as for the feedport, just be gentle with it or for 30 bucks you can call up the friendly ariakon staff and get a SIM-4 feedport, which is steel and aluminum and would be nearly impossible to destroy.
Conclusion: BUY IT BUY IT BUT IT
If you want the ULTIMATE in milsim or scenario realism THIS is the marker for you. You can EASILY upgrade it to a SIM-4, or SIM-4 RIS elite or ANYWHERE in between and possibly anywhere beyond! If i had only one word to describe this maker it would be universal because it truly is a universal gun. Universal in upgradability, and universal for suiting the needs of the whole paintabll players' spectrum. It looks crazy and is guranteed to turn heads everywhere you go.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPImPuLsEDude Tuesday, July 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
if u cosider a spyder
Marker Setup: 2k3 sp Impulse w/magnetic blade triger and cricket bord,
Dead on Drop
48/3000 pure energy N2 tankw/ dye cover
12v revvy
progresive barrel
SP impulse tapeworm
locking screw feed nek
Recommended
Upgrades:
19 in barrel
remote
elec trigger
Strengths: Accurate
Dependable
Weaknesses: i dont like mech bcuz i have an impulse they fire to slow
LOUD
Review: well my friend got this gun and i was like it looks like a real m-16. wen i shot it it was very accurate but also very loud. After awhile the trigger broke on it but my friend bought a single trigger for it and a freekin 19 in barrel and he stabs people on the field. It looks even better wit the 19 inch on it. i liked it but wen i got my imp i was like im stiken with electronic guns the only mech gun i would get would be a cocker but this is a very nice gun and my friend loves his sim 15 so buy it ALso this gun is perfect for scenerio
Conclusion: I would say if ur a big scenerio player(which i am not)(AIR BALL RULES) buy this gun its acurate and loud and hell it looks like a freekin M16

im gona give this gun a 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jdschreier Monday, August 29th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
model 98 tippman,except the tippman didnt suck as hard
Marker Setup: sim 15,am not bothering with mods
Recommended
Upgrades:
none,this marker is crap

if you wish to save it you will need the following
-new barrel
-delron bolt
-black magic cupseal
-all metal feed port
-alot of money to waste on useless crap
Strengths: Looks cool,thats about it
AR-15 cocking mechanism
Weaknesses: Crappy parts
Chops every other ball
Cupseal leaks
Review: I bought this marker with the impression that it would be an awsome setup...well,it sucks.it does look cool and has an ar 15/m4 style cocking lever...but thats about it

this marker has one of the most terrible design flaws i have ever seen,which is poorly milled internals,there is a large,visible line going down the length of the cupseal seat where it was obviously machined incorrectly.this causes massive amounts of air to leak past the cupseal and out of the trigger frame.also,the rod that connects the cocking lever,bolt and striker WILL break the first time you use this marker.some other things i might mention are how terrible the bolt is,chops every other using venom,spank,x-ball bronze and other mid-high grade paint....very large bore size is nice for larger paints.the feed port that connects the hopper elbow to the marker is an aluminum tube set inside a plastic case.which,like the connecting rod,WILL break the first time you use it.

barrel is pretty decent when you can get the fps set properly (about 15-20 fps fluctuation)
and thats a good thing considering one company makes a barrel for this marker other than the manufacturer.the barrel thread is compatible with spyder/pmi/vl/any other crappy gun on the market....except for the fact that the breach length is shorter than all other companies barrels by about 1.3 inches

(update) i called ariakon and they are no longer produxing the sim 15 due to the company "retooling" its markerline...im not surprised
Conclusion: If you like milsim and want a cool looking marker for seldom scenario use,i would recommend this maker....just be ready to spend alot of money on fixing/maintaining this marker....my overall suggestion...is that this could have been 300 dollars put towards a wgp trilogy pro autococker that would still have been better despite its lack of upgradability.....

this maker gets a 3 out of 10
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 31st, 2005 at 7:55 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

triggerhappy21 Tuesday, January 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98........there is not realy any thing similar to this marker.
Marker Setup: Ariakon Sim 15, metal feed neck, remote, LCD electronic trigger, Empire hopper, on off 20 oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
metel feed neck, remote...............if you like to shoot fast LCD trigger the LCD trigger has ajustable firing rates
Strengths: Accurate, price, customer service, quite, very fast if you get an LCD trigger
Weaknesses: The spring in the stock trigger
Review: I bought this marker from exteme paintball and it shot 410 at the cronograph, so all I had to do was cut the spring 2 or 3 coles and it shot 280 290 which is regulation at my field. I use this gun as a backup for my autococker and ion. It is a great marker for the price. This marker "turns heads".
Conclusion: I recommend buying this gun. It accurate and looks bad a**.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mouse* Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann sniper with internal Mods
Marker Setup: Sim-4 with bi-pod, suppressor, sight, extended sight rail, mag feed port, remote, and E-Trig.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed.
Strengths: Accuracy, rate of fire, look & feel.
Weaknesses: Breaks and out of box condition.
Review: First, the Sim-15 and Sim-4 and basically identical, with the exception of a few slight differences that really don't equal the cost differences> go with the Sim-15. For the complete listing of differences, go to the Ariakon website, here> www.ariakon.com

The Sim-15 is highly accurate and refined when using correct paint (RPS premium is my choice) it has a high rate of fire with the E trig and electronic hopper ( I would suggest the electronic hopper all the time) It looks very cool and always intimidates people *good thing.*

However, I found the gun was basically useless out of the box.

I had several problems, which took time and effort, and money, to fix. Only after I fixed these issues did it start to work properly.

The feed neck snapped (cheap plastic, metal on Sim-4)> $15.
The feed bend snapped, twice> $10
The spring was to tight, velocity 380 fps, low velocity spring> $10
When I opened it, I found the velocity screw was stripped*> $20
The connector pins wouldn't stay in, Ariakon said Sim's somtimes have that problem> I fixed it myself, but Ariakon will do it for $25.

In all, it cost an extra $80 to get it working, but it's eventual performance makes it worth it.

* The stripped screw possibly could have been my fault.

Pretty good marker, however I would probably go for an upgraded A-5 by Tippmann given the chance to do it again.
Conclusion: Recommended for someone with time and money, and who will put care into maintenance. Also, someone with access to machining equipment and know how.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LT.Smoke Friday, February 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ariakon SMI-4, Armotech WG-65, Miltec MT-75+
Marker Setup: Armotech WG-65. Tasco red-dot, Warsensor moc-magazine, Miltech deep-rifling barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Moc-Magazine kit. Remote. Sim-4 feedneck. Muzzle break.
Strengths: Carbine look. Accurate. T-bar. Weight.
Weaknesses: Two piece receiver. Crappy material. Dual-trigger.
Review: While reading this review, keep in mind; This marker is the generation that followed the WG, MT and WS series of dual-core guns. Ariakon had made a few, but distinct improvements, and ofcourse a few mistakes.


Out of the box, this marker wasn't far from the coolest thing that the local fields in my area had seen. I t shot particularly straight with her stock barrel. She weighed in similarly to a C8. She was comfortable and felt right at home at milsim events.

Pros:
Ariakon had finally eliminated the issue of buttstock mounting depth by ridding of a threaded stem. Instead, it was a flush rod, with a groove, to allow for a locking screw. They also eliminated fouling of internals, by keeping the cocking mechanism enclosed. They did that by putting in a T-bar. Ariakon also began using slimmer spring, that would allow a wider range of velocity settings, compared to the big-old spyder springs.

Cons:
It was originally marketed to allow for alot of mods. Therefore, Ariakon split the receiver in half. THe bolt half, and the ram half. The two parts would be held in by two steel pins. This was a great idea, where you'd only have to dispose of half your marker when it came time to slap on mods to make the revceiver look like... oh... lets say, a Kalashnikov? or maybe an FN FAL? The mods never came.... and the children cried.... The top and bottom halves of the receiver became flimsy over time. An incessive wobble. This little bit of flex increased stress to the link-pin, that runs from the ram to the bolt. Fractures may/have occured.

The last con is the material. I haven't figured out if the body is made of aluminum, or white metal, maybe even die-cast? Regardless, its stiffer than die-cast, and about as light as aluminum. Thats all great and dandy; but the velocity plug, and cup-seal plug are both made of white-metal. This means that if you miss the thread, it'll strip faster than a single mom, at her "part-time" job. Regardless, all i'm saying is that if the plugs were made of the sae material as the receiver body, this wouldn't be an issue. Everyone knows about the feedneck, so i won't waste time.


Overall, not a bad marker. It requires tedious maintenance like all dual-core markers. so be ready. It definatly looks cool. It needs very little to complete teh Carbine look.
Conclusion: If you are willing to be patient, and willing to maintain it, it'll be good to you. Don't let a small problem create bigger ones, because it will! Take care. When you do repair it, be sure to be gentle with the parts, tehy are not up to standard, but you got what you paid for. In the field, GO NUTS! These markers will put up with lots of beating and still work. But as mentionned prior, when you take them apart, be gentle.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media