paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Armotech WG-65 / Armotech WG-65 / Armotech WG-65 / Armotech WG-65

Armotech WG-65 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Armotech

Buy Armotech WG-65

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Armotech WG-65
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
Semiautomatic Action
CO2 or Compressed Air
Quick Field Strip
Velocity Adjustment
Sight Rail
.68 Caliber
Side Cocking
14-in Barrel

Designed for police and military training scenarios, the WG-65 is an accurate simulation of the real thing. This semi-automatic version shoots standard .68 caliber paintballs using either compressed air or CO2. Because of its duty as a training tool, the construction is extremely rugged and durable, requiring minimal maintenance. All the features you would expect are there, right down to the collapsible telescoping stock, fully adjustable military-style sights, and sling loop.
The rear velocity adjuster and push safety make this marker acceptable for use at most fields for casual or scenario play. Using a standard or electronic 200-round loader, this marker emulates the action and recoil of its military counterpart. The vertical adapter accepts standard paintball tanks but this marker is best suited for a remote line to get the full effect.
The WG-65 is NOT A TOY and is a virtually exact replica of the real thing. Do not carry this marker in public or in the passenger compartment of your vehicle. This is one of the finest replica markers ever made.
Product Availability 
The Armotech WG-65 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
TangoDown Wednesday, July 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year29 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c, A5(own both)
Marker Setup: Armotech.us WG-65 Elite with m203 stlye 12oz CO2 and ricochet AK hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Out of the box, none needed for performance. (Comes with the best stock barrel I've ever seen). However the cosmetic/tactical upgrades and mods are limitless, have fun with it!
Strengths: --Stock performance!!
--Tough
--Very real looking
--Comes with stock, sights, and handguards
--Upgrades
Weaknesses: --Costs 400+dollars, which is a great price for all you get, but still 400dollars.
Review: I want to highlight 3 things:
1) I was VERY skeptical of this gun, and a fan of tippmann, so this is as unbiased as they come
2) The gun surprised me in several key ways(explained later)
3) This gun truly performs if taken care of

1) I was skeptical...
I've used Angels, autocockers, an omen, impulse, as well as many low end guns in-game before, so I knew what performance and speed was and didn't think Armotech would hold up to it. I own several tippmann's so I know what makes a tough reliable gun, and while I know the limitations of tippmann performance, I find reliability and durability my preferred traits in a marker. That said, I did my research when I first saw(and was blown away by) the incredible looking Armotech's. My research concluded like this: not bad in accuracy, but a piece of good looking junk. But I figured I would give it a shot, as I found some great deals.

2) The gun totally surprised me.

TOUGH
Now, when I pulled it out of the box, it looked awesome, but I expected that. But as I pulled it out I thought "where is all the 'cheap plastic' people talk about?" I should have known cheap plastic does not make a 7 pound gun! The only plastic on the gun I found was on the handguard(which other guns don't even have!) and seemed solid at that. (NOTE: the RIS has metal handguards too). Battle testing has proven it is TOUGH.

ACCURATE
So I inspected the internals, lubed it, and shot it around. 9" grouping at 90 feet(carefully tested, STANDING, not even prone) with what turned out to be too small bore PBs. Not bad. But what if I shoot as fast as I can? Well, the solid semi doesn't allow for hairpinned 14bps firing, that's for sure, but I could not outshoot the gun. The speed and consistency of it's shooting made me feel downright mislead on the guns full abilities.
I must say the stock barrel is great!! I've broken two balls in cold weather in the past year, I have NEVER chopped a ball, and people always ask me "so how much was the barrel?" - "came with the gun" - "wow, nice"

RELIABLE
So it seemed great at first, but how was it going to hold up? Long story short, a quick bolt/striker lubing and inspecting of o-rings after each game has resulting in NOT ONE SINGLE ISSUE it the year I have used it. And I play rough; crawling, jumping, diving, often times to the degree it appears I've totally camouflaged the gun. nope just dirty. and still kickin! Nothing has broken, nothing has stopped working properly. I now own two, and lend out the second to complete newbs. Even it's not broken either.

3) Truly a good gun. Even looks aside, it's a worthy gun. All the reliability issues seem to be failure to maintain, not marksmanship of the gun. See conclusion
Conclusion: The gun is awesome.
I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS GUN TO...
--The careless fool who does not want to take the 15 minutes after each game to ensure the internals are clean and lubed. If you can't take care of it, and it starts to act up, you shouldn't have bought it! And I don't care if you(the reader) ever buys this gun. In fact, I don't care at all about you. I just know this gun rocks - if taken care of.
--The computer game nerd who has never worked out in his life! Last I checked 6-7 pounds isn't much! I gain lose that much on a regular basis depending on what I ate that day!
--Speedball player. I actually play speedball with it(and do great...as a frontman!!) but if you are locked into the regular way of play, stick with your cocker.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS GUN TO...
--Everyone else! Any newb can use it if he want's to learn the basics of an open-bolt blowback. It won't fail you if you take care of it!
--The player who has been playing speedball with his little Spyder or Tippmann which you don't have to know jack about, but you're ready to take the game up a notch. or maybe several. I have never had this much fun playing paintball!

[I never give things a 10 out of 10...but this gun deserves it!]
http://www.armotech.us/forum/
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TrashDoG Wednesday, July 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns, Cockers, Impys, Spyders, Piranhas.... and a few more
Marker Setup: Armotech WG-65
4X Scope
Laser
Remote
12v Revy
Supressor
20oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
The 65 performs awsome out of the box no matter what version you get. It needs nothing but maybe a decent Red Dot sight from anywhere like Walmart. (the BSA). Anything you wanna add that looks good to you can only help it :)
Strengths: Accurate
realistic M4 feel/look
durable
reliable
lifetime warranty
Weaknesses: As of now there's no barrel upgrades (sept 1)
Long gun for speedball
Review: First of all, the gun is amazing, I was able to test it before I bought it from Tactical Advantage, and me and my friend we're really impressed at how accurate it was the first time firing it. It has a cool type of recoil feeling most M4 look-alike paintball guns dont have. For those of you that think the Tippmann 98 Commando looks cool, this gun absolutely blows it away in looks AND performance.

The ONLY scenario gun on the market I'd want more than the WG-65 would be the WS66, which has everything the 65 has + more! I'm not dissapointed at all and it was worth every penny. The dealer I got the 65 from is awsome and he gave me a free remote with it, not to mention letting me test the gun before I bought it.

Really the only reason I can think of that you might not like this gun is if your a front/mid speedballer. Snapshooting with this thing unless you buy the 8" barrel (then you cant use the handgaurds) and take off the stock, is nearly impossible. I can barely move the thing around a bunker before 25 paintballs are flying at my face. But on the other hand, if you play back, or play woods, or love scenario this is one helluva paintball gun.
Conclusion: I'd reccommend it to anyone who likes woods/scenario games, and can deal with a realistic weight. SURE 7lbs is heavy compared to a speedball gun but either way its not actually HEAVY its 7 friggen pounds. All I hear when people hold my gun is "wow, this is pretty heavy!"

Well that doesnt slow me down too much when Im playing a game because thankfully I've hit puberty and my arms can handle carrying 7 whole pounds!! So I guess if you haven't hit puberty yet maybe this isn't the right gun for you, go pay 3X the amount and pick up an Angel 4 Fly + a carbon fiber tank so you dont have to worry!

But really, this gun is amazing, even to just take it out back and shoot it for no reason is fun for a while if you can't wait til the weekend to get out and play, because it not only has the looks of an M4 it's got an awsome feel to it too. well worth the price, which isn't even a bad price compared ot most high-end guns out today, take a look at other scenario guns that dont even look as good as this, some kits and guns go for over $900 which is rediculess.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DierWolf Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WG65A1, WG65A2, WG75, Zues, ZuesG2, Mars Evo, Mars LT, Mars Evo Limited, Spyder Electra DX, Viper/Vector, Rap4, Rap5, Rap17, Warsensor's WS66, Warsensors WSP
Marker Setup: Custom Match Handguards, Magazine Kit, Remote Line, Hi-Flow Composit Bolt, 30mm Red Dot
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, Marker is flawless out of the box... for operating at lower pressures i recommend the new Composit Bolt
Strengths: Durability, Accuracy
Weaknesses: Shoots Hot out of the box, but this was fixed.
Review: What can i say,

All of Armotech's Markers are great, Soon, Very soon the new WG75 G3 will be coming out... Test Unit should reach my door for testing and Manual writing within 2 weeks.

Recommend the new Composit bolt, this will bring up your feet per second by 30fps by simply installing it, so if your already shooting at the limit, which i am sure you are, you will have to turn down the velocity.

Conclusion: Simply the Best,

and much more to come... Visit www.armotech.us/forum to have all your questions answered.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

SPARTAN88 Wednesday, July 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5,98c,pirhana eforce
Marker Setup: WG-65
RIS system
Brass eagle reddot
mag kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
ris system,mag kit,reddot,remote,sling
Strengths: accurate,RELIABLE,tough as rock, easy maintenence
Weaknesses: NONE - seriously
Review: definatly an awesome gun, accurate reliable and tough, best stock barrel EVER. turns lots of heads at field and intimitaes =D. overall i personally have owned both a5 and this and i feel that the armotech beats the a-5. a-5 is great none the less. i know tippmann and armotech players seem to be in rival so ill leave it at this. although they are both good (i own both) i do prefer the wg-65....personall preferance and the armotech preforms better.
Conclusion: recommended to all woods,scenario,rec players. DONT CARRY IN PUBLIC ( i know a guy who got in BIG trouble by police) easily mistaken for the real thing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bikerrule_3 Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have fired a hand full of blowbacks, owned and ones ive borrowed from friends they include spyders and piranahs and some other ones
Marker Setup: I use a Wg-65 with a armotech remote line a 30mm tasco red dot the red dot helps 4 fast target accusition and a sling 4 comfort while between games.
Recommended
Upgrades:
one of the first upgrades to get if u dont already have it is a remote line it really helps lighten up the front of the marker and add a better feel. a red dot is also a good idea. it helps with faster targer accusition and will improve ur accuracy a lil to. u can also get a mag kit for added realism
Strengths: Great Durability, Accurate
Weaknesses: Stock Cupseal is a prob in cold easyly fixed wit new cupseal
Review: Its a great marker it shoots great out of the box has a awesome look is very durable.
I really can not say many bad things about it. Ive used mine 4 about 6 months and i love it.
I suggest the new cupseal and bolt 4 better all around performance.
Conclusion: AWESOME MARKER!!

visit www.armotech.us for more products
and www.armotech.us/forum for product questions
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

undercover Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Tippmann A5, Armotech Zeus G1, Armotech Zeus G2
Marker Setup: WG 65
Remote
Scope
Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would definately consider a remote, it takes a TON of weight off the gun.
Scopes are pretty pointless for a paintball marker, but they dont weigh much and make the gun look good. So if your into cosmetics, than get a scope. Paintball Lasers are meant for this gun but are only usefull in the night play, same with the flashlight.
Strengths: Durable, Extremely Durable
Weaknesses: Spinning Stock, Read Below.
Review: This is an amazing gun, there are tones of upgrades for it, and it is durable as any other paintball marker I have seen. It shoots right out of the box, and looks amazing. I would definately recomend investing in a remote coil, it takes alot of weight off the front of the gun.
The good thing about this marker, is that if you decide to switch from bushball to speedball, than you can configure the gun to your needs. Take off the stock, and the cosmetic barrel piece and you have a pretty cool marker
(it will get alot of looks if you do that)
Some people think that the gun is plastic, wrong!
The only plastic parts on this gun are the stock
(which wont crack/break, Ive dropped it on its stock and there isnt even a scratch)
and the one cosmetic part of the barrel, which is just for looks, but it is such a position that you will never drop it on it.
The spinning stock. It was designed in Europe, so its not the best,but the solution is Latex Adhesive, rub it between the two metal parts of the stock and leave it over night, the latex will expand to the shape of the stock, and wont budge.
Conclusion: Amazing Marker, Durable, Shoots out of the box, and looks cool too. If you can pick up one of these for cheap, Do It!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lord_EvilPepper Thursday, August 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipman98/98C, Tipman A-5, BE raptor, 2004 auto cocker
Marker Setup: WG-65 stock, 12 once CO2, REVy 9v W/Xboard,
Recommended
Upgrades:
composite bolt, eliminates all the issues of o rings.
new main spring
Strengths: Tough, Consistent, nice looking, good warranty
Weaknesses: heavy, sometimes eats O-rings
Review: Well, after owning a Be raptor for a few months (sold it) i decided it was time to upgrade... i had tried tipmans(they were ok) but decided to go the milsim route.
Out of the box i inspected the marker and was delighted at the super heavy duty construction. Took a few hours of tinkering to get it shooting on the dot but that was more due to lack of tun up tools (crony) and experience, then the gun it self.

after the first trial run in the backyard i was satisfied with the performance but was a little disappointed it had not quite lived up to the high standards people pushed...

It wasn't till i got a new main spring that i actually got wicked performance out of the gun
(the low velocity spring need to be compressed to the max to get 280 out of it resulting in large fluxes in velocity)
since that simple upgrade the Wg 65 has been shooting on the button without a hitch i can even pick off ping pong balls at 65 feet within three shots.

Other aspect of the gun check out good as well, with an average of 800 rounds to a 12 ounce tank in winter it beats the heck out of the tipman a5 and even the 98c for gas efficiency.
repair/maintenance wise this gun is awesome, takes less then a minute to break down and so far nothing has actually broken, a quick lube and its ready for the next day of paintball.
Conclusion: Awesome marker, with a new mainspring it preforms just as good as all the guys on the armotech.us forums say it does, The only real down side is the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sportmanst Friday, April 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really...just tried out everybody elses guns that I play with
Marker Setup: WG-65 Sniper Edition
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE
Strengths: Very durable as everybody else has said. Cool looks. Pretty accurate and very dependable.
Weaknesses: Slow start, but broke in quickly (about 200 rounds).
Review: I was always a field/scenario person so this gun caught my eye quicker than a nude hot chic on a beach. It is absolutely beautiful with the sight rail, scope, red dot sight, stock and barrel. This gun will turn heads, get compliments on looks, then go out in the field and eliminate the other team. You can dominate with this gun if you know how to use it and take care of it.

Like i said above I have always been a field/scenario person, but I was asked to go to a tournament for the first time about 3 months after I bought the gun. Because of the size I did play back because I had a bigger more accurate gun. Needless to say that gun eliminated more people in that tourny than any other gun and more than the rest of my team combined. It can start out as a long range gun, but if you work with it and have the athletic ability it can easily become a short range gun when necessary.
Conclusion: Just save your money, buy the gun, and go out and dominate. Don't forget to take care of it with proper maintanence and be sure you practice to get used to the size and learn how to maneuver it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

s92479 Saturday, October 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
various spyders
tippman a5, m98
dye boomstick, smart parts tear drop, smart parts progressive, empire twister

these are all decent but the wg-65 is definitely better
Marker Setup: armotech wg-65
scope
remote
sling
bi-pod
hand grips
laser
flashlight
spring upgrade

armotech zeus g2 sidearm
holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
sling, scope, spring upgrade, remote in that order
im planing on buying a new bolt soon
Strengths: Accuracy
Reliable
Accuracy
Life time warranty
Intimidation factor
Weaknesses: maybe distance that is iffy tho
length NOT weight
Review: Alright. First off some people say this gun is expensive. I argue other wise. The gun is $400 brand new with out any accessories. However I bought mine off ebay with all the accessories for that same price. True some people don't like buying a gun used but when the gun has a life time warranty how can u lose? I wanted this gun so bad I worked over the summer and saved my money to get it. Enough about the price.

Some people also say this gun is heavy. Well I honesty don't thinks so. It prob weights like approx 10-15 lbs. I only think its long. I have smacked a couple of trees with it. But thats not a big deal.

This gun is very accurate. I pick pick people off as they are running, in between two trees, and if anything is sticking out (arm or hopper etc) I forgot my hopper one day and I only had the elbow. This gave me 7 shots at a time. I was still hitting a lot of people with only 7 shots. I only wish it had a little more distance. But its not less then any other gun except the flatline. Its just frustrating when you see someone that you know you can hit but they are just out of range. I suggest using a med or large bore size for this gun, for the best accuracy.

This gun is very reliable too. I have only broke one ball out of like 2000 shots with 1 year old draxxus competitive edge. (i don't recommend these it was all i had at the time) I also have yet to break a o-ring. After every game I strip it all apart and lube everything including o-rings and the metal threads. These keeps it in prime working order. You also can't beat the life time warranty too.

I definitely recommend a side arm for this gun. Since this gun is so big if things get up close its hard to swing it around or if your sniping it would be hard to whirl it around. My zeus g2 has saved me numerous times.

I don't to make my wg-65 electronic. To me this is pointless. It only takes one ball to get someone out. usually I fire approx 10 shots and I hit them. I have no need to shoot 14 bps or whatever. Anyways this gun shoots fast enough I have yet to out shoot the gun. So for me that is all I need. I'd rather save the money and get some more upgrades.
Conclusion: Overall this is the best gun you can buy. Nothing else comes close for the accuracy and reliability.

Before I bought this gun I did probably 40+ hours of research before I decided to buy this gun. There is no other gun even out there that is slight in comparison. Unless you want to spend 3x the amount for a $1200 gun. Overall this is the one gun. So stop reading reviews and start looking on ebay. Buy it now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SilentSushiX3 Sunday, June 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Imagine, Tippmann A-5 w/ Flat line barrel,
Marker Setup: Armotech WG-65, ACI 42" Remote Deluxe, Ricochet 2KX LED Hopper, 4+1 Harness, System X NME Chest Armor, 20oz CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Electronic hopper* (read below)
-Remote Coil
Strengths: -Accurate
-Strong
-Looks
-Great out of box barrel
-Distance
Weaknesses: -Weight
-Removable stock*(Below)
-The grip(below)
Review: Strengths
-The WG-65 is very Accurate right out of the box. The barrel is one of the best out of the box barrels I have seen. The barrel is 14", But with the compensator it is 15 1/2".
-The WG-65 is also very Strong. It is almost all metal. You can drop this many times before you do any real damage to it.
-The Looks of this marker are great to! Intimidation is a great part of the game. And this gun can intimidate a lot of people.
-The Distance this marker shoots at is also a good thing. I can shoot straight across the field and kill a few people. And it is still accurate at the distances you need.

Weaknesses
-The Removable stock is made from cheap plastic.
-The Removable stock must be unscrewed to take the bolt out, and it is a little difficult to get the stock back on straight.
-The Grip around the barrel is also cheap plastic and chips/breaks easily.
-This marker is a little heavy but it is well worth it!
Conclusion: This is a great gun for anyone with a little extra cash. It does need to be cleaned regularly. And oiled. I highly recommend you not used compressed air on this gun. seeing how it causes some problems with the o-rings. And use and electric hopper. I used a regular hopper once with this marker and this marker would not shoot about 75% of the time. Its is a great gun. I highly suggest you get to know other markers before using this.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 26th, 2005 at 2:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media