paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Armotech Zeus G1 / Armotech Zeus G1 / Armotech Zeus G1 / Armotech Zeus G1

Armotech Zeus G1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Armotech

Buy Armotech Zeus G1

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Armotech Zeus G1
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
Interchangeable Magazine
Adjustable Velocity 200-350+ FPS
Contoured Rubber Grips
Push Safety
Quick Field Strip
Ported Barrel
10-round Capacity
Hopper Adapter Compatible
High Gas Efficiency
Bottom Line Ready

Simple mechanics and incredible styling combine to give you a truly remarkable machine. This 10-shot CO2-powered pistol features a rear cocking knob, removable magazine, tournament style rear velocity adjuster, quick change 12-Gram CO2 compartment, sight rail and contoured rubber comfort grips.

The balance and feel of this marker are second to none and the unique bead-blasted aluminum finish gives an effect you won't find anywhere else. The Zeus is pre-configured to be easily upgradeable to use a bottom line and constant air source. The Zeus is truly a god among markers.
Product Availability 
The Armotech Zeus G1 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
EclipseOne Sunday, August 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years49 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme (Tested it once, Zeus shoots much straighter and has a cleaner trigger pull)

Delta .68 (Beautifully styled, but from what I hear unreliable, friend bought one it needed work out of the box to get it working.)

Sheridan PGP (The Old Ugly of paintball pistols, most reliable gun ever but won't keep up in the age of semi and full automatics.)

Ariakon ACP (The closest thing to the Zeus so far, but the two-finger grip is uncomfortable for a pistol and it isn't as well balanced when being held.)
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann ProCarbine w/14in Tippmann Sniper Barrel
12oz Pure Energy CO2 Tank
2x BE 50 Round Pocket Hoppers (second is capped and used as spare mag.)

Sidearm:
Silver Armotech Zeus G1
Armotech Tactical Holster (Holds 3x 10rd tubes + 5x 12g CO2's)
* I wear my holster around the waist because its bothersome on my leg I'm a little short for it, but it adapts PERFECTLY to a waistbelt, and rides at a perfect draw height on the hip.

Extra Gear (Scenario Play)
Tasco 2-8x Binoculars
Cobra Tactical Radio with Headset
Shotgun shell belt, holds 5x 10rnd tubes
Recommended
Upgrades:
Required:
A good tactical holster. The Armotech one is pretty good (snug, adaptable and holds the weapon securly) and for a fair price.
Some sort of rig to comfortably carry and quickly draw 10-rd tubes.
A bunch of 10rd tubes.

Cosmetic Ideas:
Switch siderails to opposite color of your gun.
Use a magazine opposite color, (silver on black, black on silver) to get that awesome bi-tone pistol look thats so popular nowadays.
Aftermarket grips (stock grips are excellent, but for looks Dye Stickies are nice.)
Strengths: Outstanding accuracy!
Excellent rate of fire.
Rugged and reliable.
Holds charge very long.
Looks fearsome!
Weaknesses: Obvious limitations of a pistol... which aren't weaknesses because IT IS A PISTOL.
Review: This is an outstanding piece of work. I've carried my Zeus for a year now and never had a major breakdown, had 6 ball breaks EVER including using cheap paint in practice. I've put about 3000 rounds through this gun (TONS for a pistol) and its still going strong.

I started a scenario team last year and I figured as a team commander a dependable carry sidearm was a MUST (and would look damn cool.) I spent close to a year researching various reviews and scouring every website there was to find the best marker for the job. And the paintball world's reply is almost unanamous, the Zeus is the way to go. The price is right at $99 USD and $35 for the holster!

When I first bought my Zeus I intended to carry it as a sidearm and remain using rental semi's... That was before I put my first 200 rounds through it and fell in love with the accuracy of this thing. I've now used it as my primary weapon for over a year and I simply love it. Don't listen to people who tell you pistols aren't accurate or don't shoot far. A well aimed shot can take someone out at 100 ft. I've scored center-mass shots at 50 ft, one-handed while running with this gun. But where it really shines is in CQB (close quarters battle.) The mobility and quick-on-target advantage of a pistol is deadly effective indoors or in a tight situation. Storming a bunker was never easier, and I find myself constantly looking for the chance to charge into somebody's face because I KNOW I'll take them. The gun is also excellent for snapshots over or around cover and is consistantly accurate, making it at least capable, if not great (11 shots...) in speedball.

For any real shooter a good trigger pull is important and the Zeus trigger is very well designed. Its not insanely light like a lot of paintball triggers, but still has a crisp, predictable pull. There is very little side-play in the trigger and its just the right mix of not too tight but solid enough for a steady, accurate pull - but the trigger pull distance is kept short so double-taps are clean and instant on demand, without wavering your grip and aim.

The 10+1 magazine capacity is good enough as long as you let others provide the covering fire. I've never had it run dry on me when it mattered, just count your shots and know when its time to top off your load. The gun also holds its CO2 charge excellently! Much better than my pellet pistols even, so 12-hour scenario carry as a sidearm is not an issue at all. You'll get 28 shots to a CO2 if you're taking all single shots. My ususal style of double-tap will get about 22 shots BUT if you tear off a whole mag lighting someone up you'll have 5-6 shots left tops.

I also have to say that I've never had a day out yet on which I recieved less than 3 comments on how cool my gun was. It looks fearsome and fearsome is a well deserved title for this excellent marker. If you want a semi-auto pistol and don't have $600 USD to spend on a Squall then the Zeus is the only gun for you. It looks great on your hip and will never let you down, as a primary or a sidearm.
Conclusion: Overall this is probably the best (most practical, capable, reliable and affordable) paintball pistol ever built, and is well worth what you pay for it. The gun is solid yet simple - deadly accurate and the coolest looking thing you'll ever see.

GET ONE RIGHT NOW! For less than the cost of a case of paint you owe it to yourself to try this gun out, even its not your style as a primary; I am of the belief that every soldier should carry faithful sidearm, especially in paintball where self-destructive ammuntion and jamming equipment are a part of everyday life. And if you're looking to become a pistolero this gun is what its all about.

10 out of 10 easily. This gun delivers everything you could possibly want and reasonably expect from a .68 caliber paintball pistol. Buy it now go go go!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005 at 4:26 pm PST
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

kendoka Wednesday, July 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only other pistol I've tried is the classic PGP (I have 13 - for rent). They are more robust and better balanced - but, obviously, the whole pump thing is a drawback, especially for a pistol.
Marker Setup: Zeus G1, Quick Cap, Red dot and laser sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Either another magazine or the Quick Cap. Both expensive upgrades (compared to the cost of the marker/gun but will add more fun to your game ;-)
Strengths: It's a semi-pistol. No hopper required. Easy maintenance. Reliable. Accurate.
Weaknesses: You only get about 24 shots from 12 gram gas. Bad spring lock on magazines.
Review: This is a truly amazing gun, from the first moment I tried it I was hooked. We play mostly indoors at night in a large abandoned factory and there this gun rules (we have a 12g gas/10 rnd magazine rule).
The red dot helps me to shoot straight in darkness (the gun has no real usable sight in standard config and is rather unbalanced (top heavy).
The laser helps me to provide covering fire without wasting ammo - just pointing the laser at people will have them duck into cover ;-) Also, the laser is a great tool for showing my team members where the enemies I've spotted are.
The Quick Cap helps me to reload faster.
In addition to my main G1 I have another in a leg holster - I draw that one while reloading gas (the gun makes a woooshing sound when the gas runs out - and reloading gas takes some time - time which my opponents lernt to use... but not any longer).

The only drawbacks regarding the gun I can think of concerns it's magazine:
- The really stupid spring lock lever is way to wide for locking the spring securely in place - resulting in the mag ejecting it's balls up in the air from time to time during reloads...
This can be fixed by drilling out the spring lock gap - but if the manufacturers had used a more suiting lever in the first place this would not be neccesary!
- The rubber pad at the back of the magazine is hard to remove, will easily be lost and comes with a really weak key-ring type ring that, if not replaced, will hurt your fingers, jam the reloading process and/or simply break - it should be replaced with a piece of string attached to the gun - or ideally, a Quick Cap.

A Quick Cap ougth to have been standard - and the spring lock issue resolved, but apart from those minor flaws the gun rocks.

Since I bought mine my friends started to want me to provide them with G1's as well. I have bought and imported (to Sweden) no less than 15 G1's and resold them to friends. All still use them as their primary marker...
Conclusion: Buy it.
It is as good as the G2 and around $25 cheaper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ibram_gaunt Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus G2
PT Extreme
PT Extreme Jr.
Sheridan PGP
Marker Setup: Armotech Zeus G2 (with Quick Cap)
That's it, that's my main marker, pistolier all the way!
Recommended
Upgrades:
As a secondary sidearm:
- Absolutely nothing, it's great as is

As a main marker:
- Save an extra $10 to $30 and get a Zeus G2 instead
Strengths: - Excellent accuracy
- Great Co2 efficiency (26-30+ shots)
Weaknesses: - Heavier than the Zeus G2
- Heavier than all the other pistols I've tried!
Review: At the time that I'm writing this review; Armotech is due to release the Zeus G1+ and the Zeus G2+ soon. Keep this in mind as you consider your purchase decisions.

The Zeus G1 is very very very similar to the Zeus G2. In fact, I would wager cold hard cash that if you just added some lead weights to a Zeus G2 and then cover up the Armotech markings; you would have no clue which is which.

It is a very sweet pistol. Some players will mistakenly compare it to a full mechanical/electronic marker and claim the Zeus G1 is a piece of trash. But no. The Zeus G1 (and its big brother, the G2) is a pistol. And when you stack them up against other pistols currently available in the paintball industry, the Zeus series is easily the best pistol you can get.

To the best of my knowledge and experience, no other manufacturer have addons / upgrade kits for their pistol markers. Well Armotech does for the Zeus series. From a manufacturer's PoV *and* from a retailer's PoV; that alone should give you a very clear indication as to the kind of reputation the Zeus series of markers have top quality!
Conclusion: If you know you want to use the Zeus as a main marker, save up your money for the G2, you'll be glad you did in the long run.

If you know you will only use it as a sidearm / secondary marker, then you don't need the extra bells and whistles and options from the G2. This Zeus G1 will serve you very nicely.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zeusg1pballer Sunday, February 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme Jr.
Marker Setup: Warsensor Zeus G1+
-Bottomline
-Quickcap
-Holster
-10 ten round tubes
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottomline if you plan on using it for your primary marker.
Quickcap if you loose small objects a lot.
Strengths: Accuracy
Small Profile
Rugid (Nearly all of it is sandblasted metal)
Weaknesses: A little heavy compared to most pistols.
Review: This gun is sweet!!! Today I only brought this gun to my cousins house instead of also bringing my model 98. Normally I would use an average of about 3/4 of a hopper in a game, but I used just under 50 paintballs in most of the games today. I only had one time where I ran out of paintballs in the magazine at a bad time. It was kinda my fault though because I didn't top off my magazine before I charged up the side towards there bunker. From where I was they couldn't see me, but they knew where I was. My cousin ran across the road towards my side and I shot him once he got there. I yelled to him asking if he was out but he didn't respond so I shot him again. I asked him again and there was no reponse so I shot him again. 3 shots 3 hits...not bad...anyways he called timeout to check if he was hit because apparently he cant do it while we're playing. I looked down to see how many paintballs I had left and there wasn't even one in the chamber...and I can't reload during a timeout. He stood up and I aimed toward him. He was out in the open and kinda went into a sprinters starting position and then screamed time-in really fast and sprinted up and over a small hill till he reached a bunker. I couldn't help but laugh at him as I was reloading.
Anyway back to the gun...With the quick cap I can reload in about 5-6 seconds if I'm in a decent location. I bought the bottomline with the gun because I didn't want to deal with worrying about gas, only the amount of paintballs I had.
Conclusion: Buy it if you have experience in the game and want a challenge or if you want to conserve paint and air...trust me you'll pick your shots. This gun is not for the newbie that thinks you'll be diving over bunkers with dual pistols. I personally love this gun, it changes your whole style of play. I would give it a 9 but everyone on this site overrates things. Remember 9 is an A...8 a B...7 a C...and so on. But on this site everything about 1.0 over what it should be, so i'll give this a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 28th, 2005 at 4:17 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Black Company Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster, PGP, Rapide
Marker Setup: Bottom Line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on how you want to use it
Strengths: Robust construction, simplicity of design, reliability.
Weaknesses: Ball detent is weak, notch to latch the magazine spring is too small.
Review: The gun did not work right out of the box for me, which was a real negative. The trigger would not reseat after each shot and it was chopping balls.
After a little work with a file on the trigger guard and replacing the little rubber ball detent with an extra steel one I modified it solved the obvious problems.
The gun itself is solid feeling with good heft. The addition of a 3.5oz CO2 tank on the bottom line adaptor balanced it beautifully. I use the G1 as a fun gun to play against new players and when I'm feeling like moving more. The accuracy is o.k. (I have yet to find a good paint/barrel bore match) but you are not going to match most guns out there. People who whine that "if you play with this gun you'll just get hosed" are missing the point of the marker.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a back up gun or something for fun play (or maybe even indoors) this is the best pistol out there. I have a lot of fun with it.
I'd rate it higher but anything I have to tinker with out of the box is a real downer for me.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 8:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Editor321 Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, first Pistol
Marker Setup: BT Bipod
Ricochet Apache
Warrior Remote Line
PMI Air
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote if you don't like 12grams
Strengths: Hard Hitting
Good C02 Usage
Mags
Weaknesses: Bit inaccurate, but its a pistol
Review: Bought it as a backup just in case I have a gun problem or Hopper issue.

The Zeus is a large pistol, about the size of an Automag. A holster is really required for any pistol to be any good.

But on to the pistol itself. Its large as said before and can be a bit front heavy. It shoots with a good stopping power and high chance of ball breakage, leaving little room for bounces to occur. At close range, you need these things to stop your opponent from doing a 180 and killing you.

It uses CO2 very well (12grams). Even when its sitting in the holster under pressure, very little escapes and you can shoot about 30 rounds per canister. I own two mags so this does me just fine for games.

It's a bit inaccurate with the 1 inch barrel, but its a pistol so you have to give it some elbow room here. It can shoot in between bunkers no problem.
Conclusion: Great Pistol for those who want one, but can quite afford the higher end ones like the T8.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MySpoonIsTooBig Saturday, April 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra DX with 4 pod and tank harness, coiled remote
Armotech Zeus G1 with Ronin tactical holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
a good holster, quick cap and/or extra mags, 10 round reloader tubes
Strengths: Compact, accurate at close-med range, can save your life in a clinch
Weaknesses: Can be hard to reload in-game with the stock plug, goes through co2 fast
Review: The first time I used this marker was in a speedball game, and it saved me, I was shooting at a guy with my main gun and another guy suddenly popped out behind me. I whipped out the Zeus and squeezed off 2 rounds quickly, one of which shot the flanker right in the mask (he was maybe 15-20 ft away). I managed to get the first guy with my main gun a few minutes after too.
A good holster is a must, and make sure you bring extra 12gram cartridges with you. A cartridge lasted me 1.5 - 2 magazines tops, so i usually changed cardriges when i reloaded. You don't want to run out of co2 mid clip when it counts. You can get bottomline kits, and hopper kits, but that adds a lot of bulk and diminishes the point of having a sidearm, in my opinion.

also, try not to let this gun get shot, the paint can get into your magazine and make a mess of your paint, causing loss of accuracy.
Conclusion: Overall, a good sidearm, but if you want to use something like this as your main gun, get the G2 so you can get the longer barrel for better accuracy. I give this gun a 9 rather than a 10 because changing the co2 and reloading under fire can be a hassle.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 30th, 2005 at 8:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DarkMike Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have tried a Sheridan PGP. The Pgp is hard to pump, very flimsy design and the trigger pull is very tough. The Delta .68 is also a poorly put together gun. It lacks the toughness and solidness that the Zeus thrives with.
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Xtra
Bottom Line removed
Beaver tail removed (stupid sharp thing)
12oz CO2 tank
Standard Hopper
Zeus G1+ (no mods)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I do not recommend the flashlight or laser sight unless if you play games in the dark like some kind of war freak. (JK) Getting a hopper upgrade kind of diminished the point of having a pistol doesn't it? So does a tank but I would actually recommend it for this gun. I find the cartridges are a big pain in the neck to change. The cap is difficult to screw in when you insert the co2 cart. and they can be someone expensive and annoying to have to worry about. If you do get a bottom line upgrade for this gun then I'd recommend a small 9oz tank, as any larger size would throw off the balance of the marker. Also I would recommend a quick cap. You might not think you need one but its definitely a worth-while investment.The cap the Zeus Comes with requires you line it up correctly before recapping. The quick cap is easy to install and will benefit you greatly when out on the field.
Strengths: Very tough, receiver is very solid
Shoots hard, a quality marker
Wicked intimidating
Weaknesses: Co2 is hard to load.
Leaks if you're not careful.
Need a quick cap
Review: The Zeus shoots hard and strong. A little on the heavy side but packs a hella-powerful punch. Noobs complain about leaking mostly because they didn't cock it before attaching the power source (which Armotech says is the reason for %90 of their returns) So definitely cock before attaching power source. If you do this and still experience leaking, a little oil on the puncture pin should take care of it. The gun shoots a little fast out of the bawks as most markers fo, but if necessary, clipping a small section of the spring wouldn't hurt. Definitely stock up on Co2 carts, 10 round tubes, and an ammo belt, (shotgun shell belt @ Wal-mart $4.)
Conclusion: This gun is a quality piece of equipment, it shoots hard and is solid. I gave it a nine because it is a little heavy and the Co2 is hard for me to load.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

italnstalln48 Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP - Old and Rugged......kinda like that favorite hat you always wear that you will never get rid of even though its all torn and disgusting
Marker Setup: Red '03 Vert. Feed Cocker with Dye Ultralight barrel, WGP Ergo Inline Reg, Chrome Lightening Bolt drop and ASA by CP, Dark Vengeance Delrin Bolt, KAPP delrin detent, Crossfire 68/4500 Nitro, Dye Stickies and 6 Prong 12v Revvy and now a Silver Zeus G1+ by Armotech/Warsensor w/ lasersight and flashlight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing although I hear a Quick Cap is a good investment
Strengths: -Accuracy...as accurate as cocker at close range
-Mobility...easy to use on the move
Weaknesses: - Only 11 shots
- Sometimes the paintball doesn't feed
Review: I wasn't quite sure if the new 2005 Warsensor model zeus would perform as well as the original Armotech zeus but I was proven wrong. After shooting my friend's Zeus and reading a whole heck of a lot of Reviews I decided to buy one just for fun really. Its design is great and it's easy to maintain. Design is simple with not a whole lot of parts, a welcome change after working on my autococker. Magazines are not too easy to get on or off but considering I use mine as a backup this shouldn't be a problem. If you plan to use this gun frequently, then you may consider getting a quick cap to help reload your magazines quicker. Also, there is a rail where you can mount flashlights or laser sights underneath the gun as well as on top of the magazine. The only problem I have had has been when a ball won't feed into the chamber. Every once in awhile a paintball will jam in the clip and won't feed. All you have to do is shake it around though and you should be good to go. Truly a remarkable gun overall.
Conclusion: The New Zeus G1+ is still as tight as the original. Reliable, lightweight, semi-auto, and accurate. Best pistol on the market unless you want to spend $350 for a PPS Squall. If you want a sidearm, this bad boy is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 6th, 2005 at 9:10 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

infonick Monday, June 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Havn't used other pistols.
Marker Setup: (UPDATED 24-08-05)
Zeus G1 with twenty 10-round tubes, custom made tube holders on arms, mag kit, bottom line, remote line, HPA tank, plus CADPAT camo outfit with VForce Vantage PRO goggles.

Planning to install a Quickcap, and high-vis iron sight if I can find one...
Recommended
Upgrades:
If your planning to use this marker purely as a backup, I recommend that you just buy a holster that can carry a few 10 round tubes and some 12g co2 cartridges.

If however, your planning to use it as your main marker (like me) for some whacked out reason, I recommend a Quickcap to decrease the time to load the mag. I also recommend that you do not use co2 cartridges as they can get expensive. Instead, buy a bottomline and an air tank with the gun. If your a regular player, and fields in your area give free gas with field fees, this should easily be a cheaper option over the co2 cartridges (not to mention you don't have to fiddle with it in the middle of a crossfire).

To increase accuracy, look into getting an iron sight of some kind or a low-profile red-dot sight. (pistols usually don't go well with rifle-type scopes because of how they cock and fire).
Strengths: Looks/Intimidation
Small and lightweight;
R.I.S rails;
Accuracy;
Target acquisition;
Weaknesses: Reloading
A pain to clean mag and bolt (rare, read below)
intimidation (read update below)
Review: I've used this Marker a few times, mostly in target practice and once on the field. I am relatively new to paintball, but find myself captivated with the impressive looks of the Zeus G1.

I picked it up off of eBay for ~100 Cdn with a holster and three tubes. At first It sounded like it had a large air leak, so i took it apart, cleaned it out and lubed the necessary parts. the leak thereafter was reduced but still present. When i brought it to the fathers day game on June 19th, the leak didn't appear to have any affect on my game. I was still able to get about 20 shots (give or take) per 12g co2. Not bad.

Because it's a pistol, the Zeus G1 has a 10 round magazine. When faced with this reality, it forces you to make your shots count. If your a paint-demon who shoots at everything that moves, this is not your gun (although there is an optional hopper adapter, but that defeats the purpose of a pistol)

R.I.S. Rails under the 12g co2 compartment and on top of the mag allow for interesting and intimidating upgrades such as flashlights, lazer sight, red-dot scope, etc.. Before you buy a lazer sight, make sure your local field alows them.

In and around structures is where the Zeus is at its best. People with either rental Tippman's or top-of-the-line Kingman's with 16" barrels will have trouble turning corners and reversing their aim without hitting something. The Zeus allows for easy target acquisition without hitting objects. (unfortunately, if you meet thoes same markers in a long range situation, they have the advantage due to large hoppers and long barrels).

I have only had one ball break on me during practice as I ran out of air. The paint was hard to remove from the bolt. Otherwise, I've experienced no breaks.

When i was at the field, i was broadsided by a guy with a pump gun (unknown type). One of his paintballs hit my mag on the left side. On that side, your loaded paint is exposed slightly. Its bad enough you have to clean your gun; it's even worse when you have to clean out your mag. Spray it down with water and use your barrel swab. Check that the spring isn't covered in paint. any paint remaining will slime its way onto replacement paint, and then into your barrel. If you manage to shoot the slimed ball, you will have zero accuracy (but of course you already know that).

(UPDATED 24-08-05)

I've used the zeus exclusively now for several fun-filled games over the span of the last few months. I added a bottomline, remote line, mag kit and HPA tank. I've also fashioned some custom 5-tube holders that slip onto my lower arm. Just having the tubes easily accessible really keeps loading time to a minimum. I've also upgraded the tubes with elastic banding (as found in sewing stores) to keep from losing the tops, and so i don't have to fiddle with them while loading. I also have a quickcap on order.

I didn't want all the weight of a tank on my marker so i got a remote line and belt pouch for the tank. This system works real well. I hardly ever get tangled (when i do its with myself, not with trees), and most of the time I don't even feel it's there. A highly recommended upgrade.

I'm getting the hang of using a pistol. Forces me to calmly reload under intense pressure, become more accurate, and think critically about how I should enter a situation.

The intimidation factor is getting a little old. Some younger/newer players commonly mistake me for someone who's good, and easily become scared off and either give up too easily or hide and don't come out. Its funny at first, but when it happens more than once, your sometimes left with a sense of emptiness.

I am also entertaining the idea of purchasing a second. That's right - Dual Pistols - but only for special situations.
Conclusion: The drawbacks of this marker are no surprise due to its size. In situations, it is superior to other markers. It is priced to sell, and there are sufficient pistol upgrades that will please most people (R.I.S Lazer sight, R.I.S. flashlight, sights, stocks, bottom lines, etc.)

I recommend this marker for any level of player who is or is planning to be a regular paintballer. You will need patience to line up your target and skill to make a square hit on your first shot. This marker is also a fine choice in close quarters combat such as in or around structures.

I do not recommend this marker for rambo-style, shoot-everything types. Upgrading to a hopper defeats the purpose of a pistol. Go buy a gun that suits you better.

For my needs, its reliable, shoots paint in the correct direction, lightweight, small, and has sufficient upgrades to allow someone crazy like me to use it as your primary marker. 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 24th, 2005 at 9:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media