paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Armotech Zeus G2 / Armotech Zeus G2 / Armotech Zeus G2 / Armotech Zeus G2

Armotech Zeus G2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Armotech

Buy Armotech Zeus G2

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Armotech Zeus G2
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
Interchangeable Magazine
Adjustable Velocity 200-350+ FPS
Contoured Rubber Grips
Push Safety
Quick Field Strip
Ported Barrel
10-round Capacity
Hopper Adapter Compatible
High Gas Efficiency
Bottom Line Ready
New Body Design
Quicker Reloads
Integrated R.I.S. Rail
Lighter Weight
More Upgrade Options
Extra Barrel Included

Simple mechanics and incredible styling combine to give you a truly remarkable machine. This 10-shot CO2-powered pistol features a rear ####### knob, removable magazine, tournament style rear velocity adjuster, quick change 12-Gram CO2 compartment, sight rail and contoured rubber comfort grips.

The balance and feel of this marker are second to none and the black finish is all business. The Zeus is pre-configured to be easily upgradeable to use a bottom line and constant air source. The Zeus is truly a god among markers. G2 includes spare barrel.
Product Availability 
The Armotech Zeus G2 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Stan_the_HitMan Sunday, July 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month44 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pt profecional, pt extream, sheridon pgp
Marker Setup: Pro-Team m98 sniper
ricochet Ak hopper
Response trigger
Evil Death hold grips
M16 raise forward sight
sling
Zeus G2
Dye sticky 3 grips
Pmi Trracer with forward cocking handle grip. (To play stock)
Dye invision 03 mask
Rps Advantage Jersey
Recommended
Upgrades:
bottom line
4 onz co2
good like it is
Strengths: barrel extension acceptable
the Zeus rear cocking knob ( you know it)
Weaknesses: Super fatal strong velocity out of box
hard to remove magazine
bad instructions
Review: Well well well, if it isn't a new super cool Zeus pistole eh? well it is, and heres why:
previously i had been using th PT PROFESSIONAL because of its affordability and all around solid strengths.
well im going to be frank, after 2 years of pt professional, i took one look at this on ebay and it was sold.
it arrived today.
and i am about to review it.
ok first think i am going to do is compare this pistole to my old beloved pt.
first thing that drew my attention was this ingenious barrel extension capability, i am yet to find out what threads they are, but i bet i can find new extensions from our friends at armotech and in other unlikely places.
(the internal non removable barrel itself is around 8 inches) it came with two sizes of extensions. with the smaller of the two extensions ( about 2.5 inches) i could hit a target at 20 feet in a 3 inch pattern ( i am an experienced pistole shooter) even though, they were not precision shots, they were just point and shoot pot-shots. this alone would make most people pee their pants, but I was still speculative about the pistole's all around performance. Then i attached the longer of the two extensions (about 8 inches) i could literally get pin-point accuracy at 20 feet. i was picking wasps off of garbage cans ( i was testing it in a dump) but i got out with no stings. How? The wasps never saw me (sadistic smile). The ironic thing was i was using stinger paintballs, so i stung the stingers with my stingers....enough about that.
At long range (75+ feet) i shot at a 2 by 4, the accuracy with the small extension was decreased dramatically ( 15 foot pattern with a few stray flayers) overall 1/10 hit the 2 by 4 and the rest were in the 15 foot pattern, usually shot low.
Now remember, I was not sorting thought the paint picking out perfectly round ones, I just grabbed a handful and charged my mag so they all could have been warped for all I know.
with the longer of the two I could get a five foot pattern with a few strays. overall 3/10 hit the 2 by 4. the rest were in a five foot pattern, usually low. ** the longer barrel is ported, hooray!**
Today i shot 60 paintballs (30 in each barrel) and 1 broke, it was in the small extension if you wanted to know. although no paint got into it, it was broken in the mag so extension is irrelevant.

Now on to new subjects; The velocity out of the box was so high I got a max of 14 shots out of a 12 gram. that was with the velocity as low as it could go. so cutting of the spring was in arrangement. After the circumcision of the spring was completed the problem was solved and it got an average 23-25 shots per 12 gram.

Ok, one of the things i hated most about my PT was the rear cocking knob, it always striped my fingers it was so tight to get off, Zeus has solved this problem with their rear cocking slide/knob. it makes it look and feel more like a real pistole, which can be a turn off and a turn on, depending how much of a square you are.
Personally, my fingers are thanking me because of how easy it is to cock my gun now. If you have ever used a pt professional at the times when it simply does not want to cock you know what I mean. but people now we can say it, come on, don't be afraid, admit you like to cock this gun.

next thing that is totally new and rad is the new pin type thing they put in the knob you have to unscrew to put your co2 cartridge in, this pin is located on the front of the knob and is removable, once you remove it you stick it in a slide slot on the knob making a lever, so you reap the benefits of the lever advantage if it is stuck with sand or dirt, if it freezes, or if its jammed. once you are done unscrewing or screwing it you pop it out of the slide slot and put it back in the front slot for future use. armotech is merciful and gives you an extra pin in-case the first one gets lost, and believe me its easy to loose.

To be frank with you the first thing I did when I took it out of the box was got a screw driver, and got the old grips off and applied dye sticky 3's, something no pistole should be without. the stock grips wer just your average plastic grip only with an armotech symbol embedded within it.

one problem that i had was the magazines obsession with not coming off.To "quick release the mag you push it forward with great force, if it is painty you will most likely slip the mag and possibly cut your wrist and or hand (its happened to me many a time). being a pt user I am used to the quick magazine release mechanism. The Zeus g2 lacks the knowledge of a quick release magazine mechanism. Thats one point the pt has the Zeus beet. **the one and only place***

As far as weight goes this pistole is light...for a pistole..
It is noticeable if you hold a pt in one hand and the Zeus in the other. it is because of the metal the frame uses. The frame of the Zeus is made of a much lighter, durable metal were the pt's frame is made of a more glossy, smooth metal.

Last but not least the bottom line acceptance is primed and ready to be accepted, and to top it off a jewel/fancy sticker that says ZEUS in powerful Zeus letters is on the left frame plate of the gun.
This gun is also easy to field strip, but cumbersome to maintain because cleaning and oiling is a necessity before and after every day of paintballing.


Conclusion: ok heres the aftermath of the struggle:
looks: super sleek
out of box: had to cut spring
feel: gives you a power trip
operation: no true quick release mag
accuracy;
small extent. 15 foot pattern at 75+ feet
long extent: 5 foot pattern at 75+ feet
affordability: expencive like 220 american (you get what you pay for)
upgrade-ability: can be completely pimped out
efficiency: 23-25 out of a 12 gram
stock parts: sweet, all you need
chop factor: 1/60 rec paint
balance: a bit front heavy
other: high recoil, makes you feel powerful but throws off your shot.
previously i rated th pt professional a 9, but id give this a 10, keeping in mind there are better pistole's out there (mainly upgraded versions of this) but id have to say this pistole stands number 3 on the totem pole of paintball pistole's. I loved using it so much i sold my Pt professional just to buy it, and i was in love with that thing. But out with the old and in with the new, and this thing is most defiantly the new stuff!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 30th, 2004 at 7:34 am PST
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

skellington Wednesday, July 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year13 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
many other blowback and blowforward markers, including spyder, tippmann, automag.
Marker Setup: Armotech Zeus G2, bottomline, quick cap, custom wood grips, COPS911 tactical holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
quick cap, silver star or black magic cupseal, bottomline, some kind of aftermarket grips
Strengths: Very durable, reliable, TONS of upgrades available
Weaknesses: A little front-heavy, stock grips a little uncomfortable for my hands.
Review: I ADORE this marker! I have had so much fun using this pistol as my primary marker. I have never had any problems or issues with this gun's reliability or performance. The only small downsides to this marker are easily overcome: It is a little front-heavy, but with the optional bottomline and my 4 oz Co2 tank it feels so light and easy. Also, the stock grips are not the greatest, but most people use this pistol as a backup, so they don't even notice the grips. People like me who use it as a primary generally just throw Stickies or something on there and they're happy. I bought a Colt 1911 finger groove wooden grip online and it worked great with only the minorest of filing.
PS- Armotech has a wonderful LIFETIME WARRANTY, though I've never had to use it!
Conclusion: Overall, I couldn't be happier! I recommend this marker to anyone and everyone. My friends fear and respect the power and accuracy of this pistol!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 1:36 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

disturbedcause Saturday, August 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme
Marker Setup: E99 w/ Crossfire Nitro---AA2002 14in
Recommended
Upgrades:
really, you don't need any upgrades. This pistol is supposed to be just that, a pistol, not a pistol conversion into a rifle.
Strengths: Accuracy, heavy enough to feel real, doesn't bust paint
Weaknesses: Manual stinks, make sure and download one off of the Armotech site
Review: This gun kicks the crap out of every other pistol on the market. People might want to buy really expensive pistols, but that's not very intelligent because they could just get a rifle that is much better for the same price. Likewise, people like to buy PT Extremes because they are cheap, but that's just the problem, they're cheap and either break or cut your fingers to pieces when you try and load and cock them. The Zeus G2 splits the line of value and quality perfectly, and is the best of both worlds. This gun is a wonder, yet will not break your pocketbook when you buy one. Just make sure and shop around for the best price you can find, because some dealers will rip you on the price. And make sure that you buy a holster for it, it looks really stupid to be carrying this around in your pocket.
Conclusion: On all of my other reviews, I have said that no product is perfect and deserving of a 10. But for this category, I think that the Zeus G2 is as good as it will get, and all others will be left in the dust. 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ibram_gaunt Sunday, February 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus G1
Zeus G2
PT Extreme
PT Extreme Jr.
Sheridan PGP
Sheridan PGP2
Marker Setup: Armotech Zeus G2 (with Quick Cap)
That's it, that's my main marker, pistolier all the way!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Speedball Conversion
- Bottomline HPA kit
- Hopper Adapter
- Electronic Trigger

Scenario Play
- Extra Magazines, or
- Quick Cap
- Optical Sight
Strengths: Very accurate
Easy to clean and maintain
Co2 efficiency (26-30+ per 12g)
Great price
Weaknesses: Quite heavy
Shots hot out of the box
Review: I come from an early Military background, as a result, I've always been biased towards playing paintball with a very *defined* amount of ammunition. So after playing with rentals for many months, and afterwards trying many different pistols; I've settled on the Zeus G2. It is currently my main marker, and has been for the past year.

This pistol is very accurate given its short barrel length and one handed design. Compared to a full length semi-automatic marker however, you'll want to use the extended barrel and steady the G2 with both hands to get a much higher level of accuracy.

Some people have claimed the G2 is horrifically inaccurate, but to be truthful; if YOU were to fire a Tippman A-5 with only a 1 inch snub barrel using only one hand,... you'll change your mind and agree with me very quickly that the Zeus G2 is indeed extremely accurate!

The pistol itself is very easy to clean and maintain, the shape and size of the pieces that make up the bolt-assembly is such that it's impossible for you to insert it back in the wrong way. The construction and manufacture of the body is solid. Be sure to download the full length user manual from Armotech.us or Armotech.net, the little one page sheet that comes with the marker is terrible.

I originally purchased mine from an online retailer for $115.99USD. Personally, I think that's a good price, I've seen PT Extremes and Core ZX's sell for $150+ USD on other websites. And I've seen various all semi-automatic markers that sell for thousands of dollars.

But the quality and feel of the other pistols just doesn't even come close to the Zeus G2. Some pistols, like the PT Extreme, have little gadgets like a "quick changer" for the 12 gram cartridges. But if you read the reviews, some people say it's a miracle invention, and just as many will say it's a piece of crap. Now the Zeus series of pistols is, to my knowledge, the first and only series to have a full line of addons and upgrade kits available to it. That alone should give you an excellent impression as to the quality and reputation of the marker.
Conclusion: Be aware that the G1+ and G2+ will be realeased by Armotech soon when you consider your purchases.

For a sidearm or secondary marker, a stock Zeus G1 is perfectly good. But if you intend to use a pistol as your main marker, you'll be glad you paid the extra $20 for the G2.

The Zeus series is easily the best pistol!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

masspainter66 Thursday, July 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
no other pistol/marker could ever come close to this marker
Marker Setup: zues g2
bottomline
Recommended
Upgrades:
bottomline
Strengths: Accurate if you take care of this marker it will take care of you
Weaknesses: Heavy its alright unless your a 7 year old weakling
Review: Greatest pistol ever very versitile as either a back up or a primary it is more accruate than my m98 with 32* carbon fiber barrel small enough to take anywhare on the field you will love it if you get one also get a holder with it and id recomend a quick cap to speed up loading and if you ever have problems with it just go to www.armotech.us/forum and the administrators will be more than happy to help you with your problem
Conclusion: Get it you will love it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Childe_Beefy Wednesday, July 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blowbacks-Spyders, Pirahnas, Tippies, etc.
Marker Setup: Zeus G2
Quick Cap
Long barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Quick cap. Some people have had trouble with cupseals, but the new CS that Armotech released stops this problem and is standard
Strengths: Small
Light
Efficient
Weaknesses: Heavy
Bad manual
Hard to reload without upgrades
Review: First impressions:
When I first got my Zeus, the first thing I did was take it out and clean it thoroughly. Not really. First, I went to Armo's site, and looked it up. The forums were very helpful for finding a thorough manual. So, the basics out of the way, I took it out to my garage to play around with it.

Strengths:
When I used it, I was amazed at how well it shot. I initially got around 20 shots per 12g, but when I chrono'd in, it was shooting around 350. This is a problem common to the Zeus, so a few clipped rings later, and shooting around 290, I was getting nearly 30 shot per 12g. The marker was also amazingly tight. I was getting very consistent groupings and velocity. The spikes were few and far between. When I took the marker out on the field the first time. people were surprised to see a side arm. Many asked me if it leaked, or said it was a waste of time. The first game, I didn't use it, and was disappointed at how heavy it was, if it wasn't going to be used often, so on the second game I put my 98c aside, and went with just the Zeus. And a spare 100rd tube. I played this way for the rest of the day, and was amazed at how much easier it was to move and tuck in behind trees and bunkers. I've been using it as my primary since.

Weaknesses:
There are very few. Some people have had trouble with cupseal, but this problem has largely gone away, now that Armotech is making it's own Silver star cupseals. Also, If you're planning on using the G2 as a dedicated side-arm, be prepared to be carrying some extra weight, it's HEAVY. Another problem you'll face is loading it. Tis is fairly easy if you have a healthy supply of 10rd tubes, or are VERY efficient on paint (one shot, one kill) but can still be a drain if you need to provide a healthy spray of paint to keep a man down. The QC also helps. The last major problem this marker has is the manual that comes with it. It sucks. Armotech knows this, and very kindly provides a new, very in-depth version at their website in .pdf format. Don't complain, if you're reading this it shouldn't be that hard to get.
Conclusion: All in all, this is an exceptional marker. It needs a bit of TLC, which may or may not take some practice, especially if you've used a STBB before. They aren't as durable as a 98c, but they're certianly not going to die on you if you neglect them a little. A great marker made by a great company.

www.armotech.us -- Armotech's website
www.armotech.us/forum -- Their forum. Great source for tech support.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Soul06 Friday, October 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Electra DX, Eggy 2, Nitro Duck X-stream, Titanium Boomy
Recommended
Upgrades:
If using only as a sidearm then the quick cap
Strengths: Very Sturdy
Strong (velocity)
Shots per 12gram (approx 10-15)
Reliable
Weaknesses: Lil heavy
Accuracy (with nob barrel attached)
Review: As a side arm you cannot go wrong and most likely will not find a better pistol. This pistol works like any regular semi-auto main gun. I would compare it to my Spyder. Its velocity began somewhere around 350 (atleast mines did). Screwed all the way out I was just getting it into legal range (just a foot or two over 280).
When firing it felt sturdy and secure in my hands. You can certainly feel confident when using this that it wont fail on you. And the shots per 12 gram were very impressive. I was averaging around 14-15 per 12 gram.
Negatives: It accuracy is only effective till about 20-30 yards..30 actually kinda stretching it. its a very efective close range marker though. I would seriously recommend, especially if you like woods/scenerio play.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker especially in wood and scenerio play. Excelent close range marker for those tight close quarters shots. Very reliable, strong, excellent velocity. Get one if you can find one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kazentour Sunday, November 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT extreme
PGP
Talon
Spyders
Tippmans
Brass eagles
Marker Setup: By the end of the year;
TMC limited ed. Trix or Trauma Trix
45/45 nitro
halo-b
X-fire drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
A MUST HAVE is the Quick Cap. It makes life so much easier.

Many upgrades and accessories available, mostly for rec and scenario. This IS a wargames/scenario pistol. People use it as a main marker but I don't reccomend it.
-Laser scope
-RIS flashlight
-Hopper adapter (I have)
-Bottom Line adapter (I have)
Strengths: -Looks
-Price, for what it does.
-Good gas consumption
-Durable
Weaknesses: -Weight. 3-5 pounds. Heavy for a pistol.
-Manual.
Review: As above, strength include good gas consumption. I average 25 shots per 12 gram, I cleaned my internals of the machine lube armotech puts on them and used regular paintball lube. you can clean internals with Windex, as per the instruction manual. The regular manual is just plain bad, very vague. Armotech.net has better instructions for you.

I got this marker for my birthday and I was amazed with it. As soon as I got home I installed the quick cap and bottom line. I then switched out the magazine for a hopper and got to target shooting. Very nice accuracy for a pistol. Fire medium speed, this pistol has some kick to it. It\'s very powerful. Some people say it\'s incredibly fast out of box, but mine wasnt. about 280-290. Maybe this was because it\'s a newer model.

The Zeus comes with 2 barrel attachments, but the barrel is actually INSIDE the marker. It\'s non-removeable but heres the cool thing; you can squeegee in the breach and out the barrel entirely! Just be sure to take off the ball detent on the side. the porting on the internal barrel at the front of the marker is very cool-looking.

I have had ZERO problems with the marker, but I did have some trouble with the bottom line. It doesnt like alot of tanks and will leak at first. Tef tape and locktite should fix it.
This marker is extremely durable, just watch out for the magazine screws. My friend had a problem with his old Zeus g1 where the screw and spring came out. it\'s like a 5 dollar fix or ship back to armotech, since the Zeus has a lifetime warranty!
Conclusion: This marker is VERY nice for scenario/rec use and as a general pistol. Hands down, better than any other semi-auto pistol and even better than many spyders Ive found. It uses many similar internals.

I gave this marker a 10 because although no marker is perfect, this marker is the best at what it does.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shifty1987 Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other markers, but no pistols
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel and J&J 14" ceramic
Collapsible CAR stock
3 point Sling
Adco imp red dot sight
G2 pistol
Holster from OPSGEAR
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: -Very Accurate
-Looks like something from Robo cop
Weaknesses: -Little front heavy making it off balance
-Reload time
-C02 change time
Review: Well I finally decided to buy a paintball sidearm, and started looking around the internet (mostly here, actually) and picked this one.

MAN is it accurate! I leaned a 2X4 on my fence and it was about 50ft away, and I shot a full c02 cartridge worth at it (roughly 20 shots). And did not miss a single one. not ONE. And what impressed me even more, is after those 20 shots, I switched out my cartridge and reloaded, and was about to shoot the board some more, when a squirrel came running along the top of the fence. I knocked him off the top of the fence while he was running with only 3 shots. And that was a moving squirrel. And no, it didn't die, I just knocked it off the fence and it ran away into the tree in the park behind my house.
Conclusion: Buy it, but if you do, you'll need a holster. If you don't get a good one (don't get Velcro) it will keep falling out, its a big pistol.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghostguy6 Thursday, July 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
no pistols as of yet
Marker Setup: Zues g2 stock out of box with extended barrel (also inculded in box)
Strengths: Very easy to use, nice gun, performs well, surprisingly accurate
Weaknesses: Bore of the barrel is a little to large for most paint.
Review: I am very pleased with this marker, It performed very well. It Is extreamly easy to disassemble to clean. For only a six inch barrel the accuracy was amazing, though it was effected by the barrel diameter. The barrel is 0.692" which is a little large for most brands of paints. There should be a stock 0.689" barrel included in the box. Even with undersize paint I was constantly getting a grouping of 8"s at 50ft. The maunual included in the box is a little vague but the items needed can very easily be found at www.armotech.com. The marker is a little front end heavy and takes some getting used to. I gave it a 9/10 only because of the barrel.
Conclusion: This is a great marker to use as a sidearm or even a primary marker, definatly buy it if you are in the market for a pistol
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media