paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Turbine Fan / Proto Turbine Fan / Proto Turbine Fan / Proto Turbine Fan

Proto Turbine Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Turbine Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Turbine Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 3.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Proto Switch goggle system adds the Turbine fan to its ever-growing bag of tricks. The Turbine keeps fog and perspiration away so you can deal with the real pressure on the field. It features the Turbo 9 accelerator blade that yields higher air flow volume and operates at a lower RPM, resulting in quieter operation and extended battery life. With 2-speed operation, you'll never have to lose your focus again.
Product Availability 
The Proto Turbine Fan is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
gmt4998 Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt vortex
Strengths: It blows air into the mask
Weaknesses: It is VERY loud
The On/off switch is poorly located.
Review: I had a lovely JT vortex fan, which unfortunately died with the mask. So when shopping for a new fan/mask I saw a wonderful deal for a Proto fan/mask combo and have been regretting it ever since. The mask isn't bad, other than being uncomfortable, but the fan is bloody awful. With the fan on I can't hear my teammates yelling from 5 feet away.

Also trying to turn it on or off is difficult when one has the visor on the mask, as it pretty much covers up the on off switch.

I keep praying that the fan dies, so I can justify purchasing a new one.

Conclusion: I'd stay away from this model if I were you.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintman161 Wednesday, August 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt fans
Marker Setup: 2k3 mechanical autococker, pure green tricked out
Strengths: Its small, pretty light, alot of air holes, easy to get to the battery
Weaknesses: Not that much quieter
Review: This is a decent product i got mine for around 40.00 which isnt too bad pretty close to the jt fans, it is compact and light. The battery door uses 2 screws but u dont need to take the fan off the mask to change the battery,( though it is pretty east to put on and off.)
They include a AAA battery, Its a push button switch, it may have its good and bads for that, havent played with it yet. Note if u have a visor on your mask may i reccomend one thing. the visor has a little tab that stick down to help turn on and off the fan, well the tab also turn it on when u dont want it on, what i did i cut off the tap on the visor, and toke a exacto knife and cut a half moon near where the push button is so its easy to press down onto the push button, without the tab its nice not having it turn on/off when u dont want it too.
Conclusion: Not much more differant from the jt fan, but dye did try. Overall i would say its a pretty good fan compared to teh few that are out there, and well u really have no choice b/c this is the only one that fit the proto.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

peteralexander7 Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT fans
Marker Setup: AGD ULE Minimag, RPG sub zero feed neck, Level X, Dye double trigger frame, On/off drop, Old school one piece 12in AA barrel
Strengths: Clears the fog, the on/off button, installation and removal
Weaknesses: The noise
Review: The fan works great for what it needs to do. I few seconds and it clears up the fog. It makes a little breeze which also feels nice on a hot day. It is so easy to put in and take out. I also love the push on/off button which is a great improvement over the switch on the JT. The noise bugs a little but what do you expect when you have a fan on your head. People who complain about the noise expect way too much. When you chew your food it is loud to you. The noise isnt more than a fly buzzing around. You can hear it but other people can unless they are already on top of you. It does prevent you hearing others but just use it in pulses. Because people dont like mask attached fans, you can get it under $20 on ebay.
Conclusion: This is a good product for a fan. People want perfection. If you need to de fog your mask this is a good fan but if you need silence all the time and think you are a sniper, then get a life. Get realistic, fans make noise. I like this fan and dislike cry babies.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 14th, 2006 at 8:10 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sleepykat Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
OMG alot!!
Marker Setup: Dm4
-Tadao Chip
-Evil On/Off
-S/W Reg.
-Hybrid Micro Drop

Tippmann A-5
-Xpansion Chamber
-JCS Trigger
-Rufus Dawg Front Bolt/Power Tube
-E-Grip
-Proto 12" and 14" barrels
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: -Doesn't work
-Loud
Review: I bought this like an idiot rather then hot swapping lenses like I usually do. When I put it in the installation was very simple. When I turned it on omfg it was loud. Not loud to other people but distracting loud. I turned it on once when I fogged up and it didn't do anything. I was playing back so I kinda chilled for a few moments and nada. Then I tried it on before I fogged and nothing, I still fogged. So you know how I solved the fogging problem, I wear a smart parts headband. It really helped alot. I don't fog anymore at all. And guess what. The fan has the same battery in it, has never been removed. I NEVER use it ever. save yourself the 30-50 and either hot swap lenses in between games or buy a head band.
Conclusion: Garbage. Honestly don't buy it buy an extra lense for 20 bucks or a headband. It doesn't work. My buddy did the same (we mirror each other with pb gear) and he agrees...Garbage.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ck monkey Sunday, April 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
turbine dye
Marker Setup: proto matrix olive/black
dye 4500psi
empire reloder b
ultra lite
Strengths: There ist much easy to install.....
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: its loud

i found out a way to fix it and make it a littler quitter there's three nubs that push against the motor. I used a dermal tool and sanded it down a little and it stropped being so loud. I guess the motor was vibrating against the nubs, after sanding it down it was better.
Conclusion: I wouldn't recommend getting it but if you sweat allot or if you already own one sand the nubs down there's three of them.

after sanding i give it a
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Spidey Saturday, October 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
14" silver progressive
green 12V revvy
12 oz co2 w/ cover
CiP sure fit feedneck
Strengths: It does keep the fog out of your mask.
Very Light.
Visor pushes the Button.
Weaknesses: "unfogging" (see review)
Loud.
Review: If you read my review on the Proto Switch, you will see I have problems with fogging up this mask, So I bought the turbine fan without really testing it ever before so i had my fingers crossed. I looked good out of the box, nice and light, small, and comes with a AAA battery. right away i put in the battery and turned it on. I was quite shocked by the noise. It's loud. But my friends tell me you can't notice it that well when you're outside. It may not be heard by your opponents, But let me tell you, YOU will hear it, it's even louder when you put the mask on with it running, if you play with it enough you could probably get used to it though.
While the mask is on you can turn it on and off easily, there is a piece of plastic sticking down from the visor, the purpose of this is the knob to turn on the fan.
The only way to prevent the fog while using this fan is to practiacally have it on the whole time you play, It DOES keep out the fog which is great, but if you have it off, and wait until your mask gets foggy and turn it on, it won't 'Unfog' that easily. This Sucks A lot if you play bushball and recball in the woods where pepole are always sneaking around trying to be stealthy. Because you dont want to have it on all the time in case someone hears it, so you turn it off, mask fogs, and the fan wont defog the lense quick enough. Also, when you have the fan on, you wont be able to hear other people sneaking around nearby.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to people who mostly play loud quick games of speedball where quietness really isnt that much of a factor. If you play woodsball and like to sneak around, or have others sneaking around, i wouldn't buy it.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jake the snake Thursday, August 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have not used another fan. But seen a different one in use
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 (with black rough non shine finish) armson stealth barrel 14"
Strengths: The performance is awsome! PRETTY QUIET! AAA battery lasts forever. easy to turn on!
Weaknesses: Sound like a hurricane while wearing the mask!
Review: bought this fan with My Proto Switch FS Thermal lens. pulled it out of the box and found it's pretty small & slick. It needs AAA battery which comes with it.put it on the mask IMPORTANT! Take of the visor then put the fan on! you'l never get it on right if you don't!
Conclusion: It think this is a good fan for the price but THE ONLY THING THATS BAD IS THAT IT IS VERY LOUD TO YOUR EARS WHILE WEARING THE MASK!
ADOS! ________________________________________ ; }
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chaogimali Sunday, October 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Fanz
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Macdev Drone
Tippmann A5 Bullpup
Tiberius t9.1
Tiberius t8
Strengths: Fitment and sleek design
Weaknesses: Lack of de-fogging
Review: After running a custom set of Grillz fans on my JT Pro I wanted to pick one of these up for my pro Axis. I installed them and initially they worked decently. I could feel a bit of wind blowing and circulating whenever I'd turn them on. During one game I was sitting in a bunker in a low position and the sun was barely hitting the top of my mask, I guess the heat on that cold morning started to fog up my goggles, when I noticed I turned on the fan and waited for the fan to defog the lens. I waited and waited until finally someone pushed up on me and I got into a blind exchange because I couldnt see a d*mn thing through my goggles. I went back to the dead zone and had to wipe these because the fan failed to defog.
Conclusion: Unfortunately I would not recommend these fans, the design is great and they fit perfectly. The amount of air that these push however is not sufficient to defog anything. They may work ok at times and under different conditions. In my experience however, the fan just isnt strong enough to do the job.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jef1340 Sunday, April 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline, Saw Stock, Remote,HPA
Strengths: It fits into the mask
Weaknesses: Everything else
Review: This fan is horrible. The very few reviews that were good must have been written either by some really lucky people that got a good unit on a fluke, or written by the manufacturer themselves to boost sales. Okay, it does fit into my mask, but man is it loud! I could over look this fact I guess, except there is virtually no air moving through the thing! I held a hair up next to it and moved it around every vent. There was only one vent on the whole unit that would move the hair, and it barely moved even there. I purposely fogged my mask, installed the fan and let it run for several minutes. Nothing! the fog did not budge! I have a mini fan similar to those in computers that is ultra quiet. I have taken a mold of this piece of junk and I am going to design my own version of it around this other fan. 40 bucks! What a @#@$*%@ rip off! I held my mini pc fan in place and it sucked the fog out in about 20 seconds, it isn't even designed for this! Whoever engineered this fan is a complete moron. I have stripped this fan all the way down. The fan blades aren't even mounted in a good position to move air throught the vents in the housing. Absolute GARBAGE!!!! A hint to the manufacturer... A fan for a paintball mask needs to do 3 things, 1. fit the mask. 2. MOVE AIR. 3. BE QUIET. Well a 50 cent motor in a 2 dollar housing doesn't quite get it, but somebody is making a killing here.
Conclusion: This fan is nothing but a noise maker. It does not move air, I don't even see how running it through the whole game would help. Don't waste your money unless you just want to make a mold and build your own design from it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarlockMercer Wednesday, October 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT fan
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7, M4 stock, remote line, aimpoint red dot, RIS foregrip, sight elevator
Strengths: None. To be honest, this doesn't have strengths.
Weaknesses: LOUD, doesn't cool or vent.
Review: I thought this would be a great fan. Made specifically for my mask. Boy, was I mistaken.
First, it's LOUD. I'm not talking "gee, that's a little noisy"...I'm talking "hey, is that HIM over there" loud. You can hear the fan, and that's about it when you're on the field. It is REALLY loud. I can't stress that enough.
Second, it's useless. It doesn't circulate the air, it doesn't help cool, nothing. Now, I wear glasses when playing, so that doesn't help. But, it's supposed to work with or without them. I called DYE before buying it, and they said glasses? Sure, no problem. Well, guess what. It doesn't work. First, my glasses fog, then the mask fogs to the point that I have to actually leave the field. So what's the point of having a fan that doesn't allow you to play?
Third, it's not very well made. The first one I got literally had a piece fall off it when I fired it up the first time. Then, when it was replaced, the housing didn't lock in very well. So, it's not very well made.
Conclusion: Don't buy this. I hate to say this, but don't. It's not made well, it's extremely noisy, and it just plain doesn't work. It doesn't circulate air (with or without my glasses), it doesn't cool and it just plain doesn't do what it's advertised to do. Save your money, buy some diver's goggles no fog. The stuff you use to scuba dive. It's cheaper, and works better.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media