paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe / Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe / Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe / Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe

Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Psycho Ballistics

Buy Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The double trigger form of the "lightning" with better modifications.
Product Availability 
The Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
kleners Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix, Xtra, Espirit; Tippemann A-5, 98 Custom; Brass Eagle Avenger
PB Lightning Deluxe Silver
Marker Setup: ANS gen-X2 with lock nut inline reg, Blue PMI Flame drop foward, Shocktech Delrin bolt, Shocktech Beaver tail, 65 4500 HPA CF tank w/ built in REG, Springs and Turbo valve, triggerjob, close ratio timed, stock barrel, EVO II hopper, Dye 3 stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
Use it and upgrade from there. you will know what is replacable
The bolt is solid Delrin, yet they had O-rings on it. which made it kinda drag in the body.
I got a Shocktech with btter flow milling and no O-rings.
Strengths: Super light marker.
nice milling,
nice price,
Good Barrel
Weaknesses: needing cradle, and reg
Doesnt have good rep,
Longer then other minicocker
NOT WGP body
Review: I have always wanted an Autococker. after seeing them and shooting them at the parks. but a player makes the win not the gun so i use low end stuff. If I buy an angel then "oh you have a high end gun that is why you beat me"
So I wiated to upgrade to highend markers until now.
I saw this marker and it looked good and cheaply priced but the reviews were super bad. after reading thru the reviews I see that most were "I removed from the box and it blew up" type stuff. here is one such review "Zingbat313---I have a Psycho Ballistics Lightning Deluxe, I got it like 15 days ago and it DOESN'T work. when I hook every thing up the low pressure regulator's hose explodes off. and when it stays on it leaks from the back of the low pressure regulator. I dont know if I need an inline regulator or what but I'm really pissed and dont feel like getting another gun for a while. " But see the problem is in the review the marker doesnt have a reg to lower the pressure so the problem was in the user, not the product
So I purchased it, bought a reg and dropfoward. Since I like to mod and work on markers the implied lowquality parts didnt matter. I opened the case and disasymbled it, to see how it works and to fix the bugs i here about. Yes i had to move the feedtube up, it was in the way of bolt travel. I timed the gun using some nice instructions I got from a friend. did a trigger job to lower travel. still wasnt as bad as a Spyder stock. after gassing it up I tested it. the regs where dialed in to shoot pretty fast, I had one break my fault gotta get used to not short stroking it. decided to get new hopper. while I was spending the cash I got some springs and valve. I started to set it up for Pinching (that is some nice stuff there). I shoots good now. I havent been on a field yet because play money went into the marker.
The Barrel is nice only complaint was length, I like shorter 10-12. using an empire kit on it, the only performance diffrence was paintmatching. other than that it worked the exact same.
Conclusion: For me which I will replace everything on it from custom body, to the blocks and air parts, an $800 cocker is wasteful since other markers come complete. but a $230 cocker that works out of the box, looks nice, and can use any item on the market from the other pricy autocockers is wonderful. So for those who want to get milled bodies, eblades, orracle phunmatics, and crazy addon but want to use the marker while building it and start with the minimuim cash out front this is perfect. For those who just play and want to buy a marker that is done and just buy for the name, will not be happy with this. So go buy a prebuilt cocker from your airsmith since he will be working on it anyways. If you want to learn how autocockers work and will set it up or have an airsmith time-it you will never have a problem.hey Buy one of the ones that got a bad review and give an hour of your time and the score will turn around
I give it a 10 for price to performance ratings. if I spent more than $300 on it the score would have dropped. For now Ive placed $500 in it. but it looks totaly diffrent. and that got me to complete per other markers, with only the best parts. only thing missing now is egrip.which $400 will get me to what one would have cost out of box done. but this is built be me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 15th, 2004 at 5:59 pm PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

Denner101 Saturday, August 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2003 WGP Autococker
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics Deluxe LIghtning Autococker
Psycho Ballistics Medium Bullet Drop with ON/OFF
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator w/ black macro line
Shocktech Bomb 3-way
View Loader Revvy w/ AKA Vortex Impeller
20oz CO2 Tank w/ Anti-Siphon
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, and a New 3-way (Shocktech Bomb)
Strengths: Very light, fast, and has a delrin bolt.
Weaknesses: Doesn't come with a Regulator or an ASA.
Review: The gun is a very strong mech cocker with only a couple of weaknesses i could find. First, lets concentrate on the strengths. The first thing you will notice is how light the gun itself is compared to its counter-parts. The next thing you will notice is how light and smooth the trigger pull is. Also the gun comes with a delrin bolt and a cool looking case. Now the weaknesses. The gun doesn't come with a regulator or an ASA so you will need to get these before you can use it. This is a down side to the gun but the little extra money you have to spend will be well worth it. Over all its a good gun.
Conclusion: My final recommendation about this gun is that it is a great starting gun or a good upgrade if you want to stick out of the crowd. It's just an over all great gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 14th, 2004 at 11:09 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Inspectehp Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Prostock
Marker Setup: Lightning Deluxe Marker, Air America Black Ice Regulator, Psychoballistics Bullet Drop Forward/on-off, Crossfire 68/4500, JT Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs a reg and drop or bottomline, maybe a new barrel but the stock one is fine.
Strengths: Light, fast, very cheap, great milling, all WGP compatible.
Weaknesses: NO clamping feedneck , does not come with a reg or bottomline.
Review: This marker is unbelievable for the price. Sure out of the box it shot like crap but how can you time it without a reg? This thing is super sick and it kept up with my brothers new '05 Prostock all day. The only thing that conceivably needs changing down the road is the 3 way. I personally don't like it that much but that's a personal decision. I only wish i could put a clamping feedneck on it. Maybe I'll machine something.
Conclusion: All in all an awesome marker especially for the price. If you can pick one of these up on the cheap I definitely recommend getting it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 9th, 2006 at 4:01 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pistol Thursday, October 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Wgp Autococker
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics lighting Duplex
Smart Parts All american barrel
Normal autococker reg
Basic Macro Line
20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel but stock is good
Strengths: Very Very light compared to most other cockers
looks gr8
extremly accurit
Weaknesses: Little bit long
No reg or macro
Not a really fast firing gun
Review: Very good gun, You will sick way out, i personly love this gun id recomend this gun as a person upgrading from cheaper guns. This is not a gun to tinker with tho is a ver delicit gun DO NOT MESS AROUND WITH THIS GUN IT WILL BRAKE!!! trust me and do not get this gun off action village they sent me a broken gun and charged me to replace it
Conclusion: Gr8 gun for the price good for new users and upgraded gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Lacka Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wgp Outkast
WGP ORRACLE
Marker Setup: WGP Outkast Sniper II
16" Two piece CP Barrel
ADCO Red Dot Sight
70ci Crossfire Hp tank
CP regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator
Barrel (stock ok)
ASA/Drop forward
HP/LP tank
E2 trigger frame
Strengths: Fast
Good parts
accurate
Looks
Price
Weaknesses: Loud!
Stock Barrel
Paint job
Review: I was skeptical when I purchased my Lightning. I had heard a lot of bad things that i found to be untrue about the gun.

I bought my lightning from 888paintball for $189 with a free halo b in september 2005. since then I have upgraded the barrel, regulator, and had the E2 trigger frame installed.

when I first used this gun at the field, it was a little inconsistent, but after a day fo shooting it broke in and averaged balls +/- 5fps. The first thing i noticed when firing this gun was the accuracy (with stock barrel on). I was shooting a wire on a fence from 20 yards consitently every shot standing up. That flawed me. the second impressive thing was that my marker camed timed in box, and i could get about 8-9 bps from the gun, which was amazing for a mech cocker. Also, another good thing about this gun was that it came with a delrin venturi bolt.

Onto the weakness category. This gun is pretty loud for a cocker, however, it does kind up imtimidation when you have a fast E-blade. the stock barrel is a 14" two piece rifle ported barrel, it is a decent barrel. I reccomend a new barrel kit for a better paint to barrel matches. lastly, the paint job on the cocker is cheap, its will scratch or wear off fairly easily.
Conclusion: Over all, this gun is kinda like buying a hyundai sonata instead of a Honda Accord.
The hyundai is loaded with extras and cheap, but people look down on it. The accord costs alot more, but comes fairly standard. But when compared side by side, the Hyundai is a better vehicle in all categorey's. However people still say "why did you buy a hyundai".

well here is my ratings
For performance i give this gun a 9
for upgradeablilty a 9
and for value a 10
Over all a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nick cavalier Sunday, August 14th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp 04 vert
oddysey o3 mech
Marker Setup: wgp lpr
wgp beavertail
cp reg
phyc. balli. drop forward/on/off
12v revvi
crossfire 70/4500 stubby.
Recommended
Upgrades:
LPR!
cp regulator
new 3 way, hollow point.
new ram, sto ram would be best.
on off asa.
new grips
Strengths: Delron bolt
Smooth actuation
Good anodizing
Quality product for the money
angled asa
Weaknesses: Lpr sucks leaky
Ram wobble
3 way is reversed. read review.
Light valve spring
Review: Let me start off by saying i have been playing for 6 years and i have worked as an airsmith for the last 2 years.

I orriginaly bought this gun to screw around w/ and customize then sell. Once i got some ups into it, i kinda liked it. I will point out the good and the bad.

Good.

I only payed 110 smackers for it brand new. I alraedy had the ups around my house so I put all of them on the gun beore I even fired it. great quality for the money.

The frame is very adjustable. Trigger stop and travel, and i think its a very good addition over the slider frame. i cut the sear return spring and it alloweda greater and smoother trigger pull.

Fully autococker compatible. The o3m is not. As a matter of fact, the o3m is more spyder than autococker.

Fully customizable. Room for change.


Bad.

The lpr is the biggest concern. I cahnged it before I aired up the marker. Judging by every review on here it seems it junk. I would siggest replecing all the pnuematics.

The 3 way is designed so the lpr feeds it ar and it sifts it to recock and then seal the breach. normal right? wrong. the 3 way hoses are switched so the one closest to the front of the ram goes to the back of the ram, and the one closest to the bak of the ram goes to the front. Weird. Exact oposite of the newer cockers. the old style ones do the same. Take this into cosidereration. You might want a new 3 way. Doesent seem to be the most effective set up.

The ram wobbles. the set screw helps but I sized an o ring and unscrewed the ram and put it in between th front block and the back of the ram. Seems to help.

Cocking rod timing. I put a whole new cocking rod on cause it seemed to be not very adjustable in length. I would suggest the shocktech cocking rods.

All in all a good buy. I would not keep it stock.
Conclusion: Change the pneumatics. Change the cocking rod. Get a custom products regulator and an on/ff asymbly. Be careful which kind of pnumatic hosing you use.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

BAZOOKA_Boy Monday, May 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
'04 prostock
Trilogy Pro
Trilogy Competition
2k2 vf cocker
2k rf cocker
Marker Setup: Psycoballistics Lightning Deluxe blue
System X reg
Macro and a Shocktech drop
Ricochet 2Kx
68/4500 PMI tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good barrel system, good reg., drop, bolt, and any other pneumatics that you feel to be necessary.
A faster loader like an Apache or a 12volt revi
Strengths: Lightweight
Light trigger pull
Great looks
FAST
Great fully adjustable frame
Weaknesses: Bolt
Amount of tinkering to get it perfect (opinion)
Review: The Good:

Light weight:
I must say this gun is very light for a full size cocker. It weighs about as much as any standard mini cocker. It is lighter than a mini Orracle and has, in my opinion it is the best looking milling on any gun.

Light trigger pull:
The trigger pull can be adjusted to be so short and so light, it is almost impossible for me to short stroke. I have mine down to around 2mm without leaks. I can achieve this with stock pneumatics, and I do not plan on replacing any pneumatics on the gun. I guess I got a very good one, because I do not have to have a high pressure running through my 3 way to keep it from leaking, and everything works great, no leaks yet.

Great looks:
This gun is the best looking body on any auto cocking gun in my opinion. I have a blue one, and the ano job is great. I like the subtle milling all over the gun with all the lightning bolts. The feedneck is very nice, but small. Very good job on Psychoballistics' job making such a great looking gun.

FAST:
This gun when adjusted properly, even with stock pneumatics, can fire about 12-14 rather easily. I can only hit 14 if I really try and focus. 10-12 is much more like it. It is hard not to fire fast with this gun, but I cannot because of a slower loader. I have to stick in the 10Bps area because of loader limits. Though this gun must be adjusted properly. These are according to the chrono at my local field.

The Bad:

The Blot:
This stock bolt, despite being made of solid delrin, it is almost as heavy as the frame when removed. It is what amounts to all of the kick, but I did not expect a cocker to have no kick, but a lighter bolt would have been nice.

The amount of tinkering to get it perfect:
This is all opinion, I personally love working on adjusting the pull and all timing, making it work how I want it. It took me about two hours to get all of the adjustments to be right to have the short pull that I wanted. Most of that time was spent on the lug, trigger, and the 3 way. The Dye parts are harder to adjust than standard parts, but I still think that they work just as good as other after market parts. Much better than any WGP guns stock parts. It would just be nice if it came timed from the factory.

ADDED:

Just played with it again today, it was by far better than any other mech that was on the field today. shoots great, and I am able to hold my own with other mechs, electro cockers, and electro phumatic guns on the field, upping score 10/10
Conclusion: This is a great gun, not the best for a first time cocker owner, but a great gun for a project gun, making it a custom, or even stock it can preform with the best of 'em. Yes, I know that it is not a true cocker, but rather a focker, but some of the best auto cocking type guns are fockers. I have nothing against WGP, but I just prefer other bodies. As long as you know what you are doing, you can make this gun nearly walkable. I give it a 9 because it could be slightly improved, but it still is a great marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 16th, 2005 at 6:26 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

p-ballerluke11 Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Pure energy regulator and drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Very accurate
Pretty fast
Looks good
Weaknesses: They don't run air through them before selling.
Kind of heavy
Review: I got this gun on the 18, my dad surprised me with it. He bought two of them and we were fighting over the silver one because we thought it looked cooler then the blue one. But i already had a red jersey and pants and he had a blue jersey so he gave in and took the blue one. Anyways onto the gun. My gun was very good! We took the regulator and drop forward out of the package. We fired blank for about twenty shots and it worked great. No leaks or anything wrong with it. We got mine timed and I used it for the first time out at a paintballing course. I felt very proud using it against the 98 tippmans! It was great though. If you are going to buy this gun You have to buy a harness. I didn't think I needed one. But you fire off more then 200 balls in one round im telling you. Trust me in not that trigger happy at all. if you fire like normal say 10 balls a second you'll run out of ammo! I ran out about 4 rounds during the whole night! I actually lost a round because of it. I was so mad!! So even if you buy a harness of three you'll be fine inless your really really trigger happy. The gun fires great I never broke a ball! I fired very accurate and all my friends just loved the gun! This gun is perfect for a novice player like me!
Conclusion: If your already into paintballing and you want an autococker this is the gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

haggarddreams Wednesday, December 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder shutter , ans genx 4 chaos with eblade , 2k2 texas storm timmy , ion.
Marker Setup: psychoballistics lightning deluxe (blue) with bob long torpedo regulator , psychoballistics bullet drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
e-frame , feedneck , bolt .
Strengths: Light-weight
looks
acurracy
Weaknesses: In the review.
Review: The gun itself is a great buy. Everybody else who i seen that has had this gun has said bad things about it. They say that its a peice of junk and so on. The gun does not gome ready to play which is kinda upsetting but o well. The gun is for people who are looking to put some money into. I would require an e-frame for it , a new bolt , and a pneumatics kit. The bad thing about this gun is that you cant change the feedneck. The peace is NOT a twist in and it is cut to groove with the bolt. That is a downside b/c then you will have to sandpaper the hopper down. If you get an eframe for the gun you might want to get new internals and a new pneumatics kit.
Conclusion: Never done me any harm , The feed neck sucks , I like it not love it , could be better
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

JD-Fuel Thursday, January 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mongoose Reincarnation i guess...
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics Lightning:
32 Degrees Duckbill
Bob Long Torpedo
PMI 48ci Nitro Tank
Empire II reloader
Macroline
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shockteck Bomb 3 Way
E2 Trigger Frame
Strengths: VERY fast
reliable
Slick
Good Price
Weaknesses: None.
Review: Allright ive used this gun for awhile now and its GREAT! Since using this gun ive gotten sponsored! It will improve your skill alot from that spyder or tippy. Price is excellent for a gun this good. Awsome trigger stock only upgrade to a E2 dont bother buying a new mechanical trigger frame. Barrel isnt that good but its allright.
Conclusion: Get this gun ive outshot a BKO with this thing. It will improve your skill ALOT. I suggest buying a duck bill not a cradle plays better w/ duckbill.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media