paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Electronic Point Sight / Brass Eagle Electronic Point Sight / Brass Eagle Electronic Point Sight / Brass Eagle Electronic Point Sight

Brass Eagle Electronic Point Sight Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Electronic Point Sight

Paintball Sights

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Electronic Point Sight
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 105
Average Rating: 6.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $20

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Lighted point sight makes it easy for accurate shooting in any light.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Electronic Point Sight is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
tinman193 Wednesday, January 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Custom 98 with tear drop barrel. (sometimes I use the flatline)
Strengths: I really like the way this works. You can keep both eyes open, and it seems like the dot is actually on the target. Seems to be very accurate. Works great at night if you are into that, and don't worry, the opponents can't see the dot on your gun, it is way too small.
Weaknesses: The worst part about this site is that it says BRASS EAGLE in really big gold letters on the side. Quite embarassing. I took a black marker to it to tone it down a little.
Also, it eats batteries, especially if you forget to turn it off like me. Stock up on the batteries at Wal-mart for a little under $2/battery
Conclusion: This is surprisingly enough, a good sight that Brass Eagle put out, and I dislike Brass Eagle as much as anyone. To be honest, I don't use sites much, but when you are sneaking up on someone etc., it is nice to make the first shot count.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Menohl Thursday, February 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Markers Fixed Sight Rails
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
GTA Double Trigger
32* Star Fire Bolt
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Viewloader 12V Revolution w/ X-Board
JCS 3" Offset 3/8" Dovetail Sight Rail
NcStar 4X30 Illuminated Scope
Thunder Pig In-Line CO2 Gauge
JCS Combat Folding Stock
32* Coiled Remote
PMI 20oz. CO2 Tank
Strengths: Easy to use with both eye's open
Very Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Easy to leave on
Gold Brass Eagle Logo on the side
Review: I was at Wal-Mart one day, when i came across this sight for $7. I'm a Woodsball Sniper, and i had been thinking of getting a Red Dot sight, but i wasn't ready to drop 30-40 bucks on a high end one because i'd never used a red dot sight before. For $7 i was willing to try this out and see how it worked.

The first thing that stood out to me about this sight was the horrid gold flake "Brass Eagle" logo on the side of the sight, just because i was willing ot try a cheap brass eagle product out doesn't mean i want to advertize it to the whole field, not to mention when i'm bunkered in for sniping, the reflection could give me away very easy.

I took out my Dremel Grinding wheel and took care of the logo in a few seconds.

Now, sighting this was rather easy, with mine i found that i just had to crank it real far to the right and it was dead on. Sighting it took only 2 minutes and about 10 paintballs to make sure it was good to go, so i don't understand why everyone is complaining about how much of a pain it is to keep re-sighting it in, as a sniper i'd sight it in every game anyway just to make sure i'm dead on!

The sight does feel like cheap plastic and the lens does have a tint to it that does kinda obscure your vision of your sighting eye, but i learned to tune that out in no time.

As for durability, i did take a paintball right in the front optic dead on, and at the end of the game, i just took a wet cloth and wiped it off, and it was good to go again. So for a cheap piece of junk, it held up like a champ with a direct hit, and it did not jack up my sighting at all, it was dead on.

The On-Off Switch is very easy to switch on and forget its on, so far i have not left it on long enough to drain the battery, but that's becuase i employ a simple fail safe. When you first open the sight out of the packaging it has a paper disk between the battery and the contact arm. I simply kept the disk with my in my gun case and put it back between the battery when i'm not using the site. Eventually the paper disk fell apart, so i just cut a piece of poster board and use it now. I konw it sounds totally elementary, but you'd be suprised how well it works
Conclusion: If you are thinking of getting a red dot sight, pick this one up for dirt cheap, shave off the ugly gold logo on the side, and try it out. You just might be suprised.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 18th, 2004 at 10:43 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Denwad Friday, October 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a BE brite site, this Red Dot pulls the trump card.
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder 2-in-1 Java, 9oz tank, 12in J&J Ceramic, BE Aim point
Strengths: -Cheap
-Overall Good Quality ( for the price )
-Bright Red Dot
-Adjustable Elevation ( can be used on firearms )
-Ease of installation
-Ease of battery installation
Weaknesses: -Low Quality ABS Plastic
-Switch is easy to leave on, or to switch on accidentally
-Hard to adjust zero
-Zero seems to magically disappear overnight
Conclusion: For a BE product, it receives high praise from me. It is easy to use and is great quality for a ten dollar price tag. I'm sure it will serve me well on many battlefields to come. Although I will outlast it, I cast doubts on its durability. I've used a BE Brite Site, but this is light years ahead of that low-tech product. The design is simple, yet effective. It seems to snap right to the eye and onto the target, and is very user friendly.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Top Crusader Monday, January 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Response Trigger
Tippmann Expansion Chamber
Psycho Ballistics Double Trigger
Dye Xcel 14 inch barrel
32 degrees sticky grips
Strengths: I had this sight on my Stingray II.
You see a red dot on the lense, and you put the red dot on your target. pretty simple.
Basically, it did what is was supposed to do. It is helpful to a cetain extent. Its great for those long distance shots, when your not constantly under fire.
Weaknesses: Its by Brass Eagle.
I think they should have made the on/off button stiffer to push. I accidently bumped it, left it on, and all the battery energy was drained. If you get paint on the lense, its hard to get it off without smudging it.
Mine had a glare on it, which means I could see the source of the light, which distracted me from my game.
Conclusion: Not a horrible product. Hey, for 10-15 bucks, you cant really go wrong. Try it out if you want, but not if your playing speedball. I'm giving it a 6 because its an ok product. Its not really necessary to play, it will enhance your game to a certain point but it is still not that amazing.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

madmax3 Thursday, November 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Strengths: Cheap sight
pretty good
works well
Weaknesses: brass eagle
sight batteries drained
didnt get 2 use it much cuz a screw is srtipped and battery is drained
Conclusion: cheap
easy to buy (walmart)
worth while if u dont go alot
i personnally dont care 4 sighrs anymore cuz im not a sniper
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Thra1l Monday, August 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
4x15 daisy scope
Marker Setup: SL 68 II w/ a 12 oz. and 7 oz. tank and a 4X15 rifle scope, stock everything.
Strengths: See Reveiw
Weaknesses: See Reveiw
Review: Pros:
-Cheap, 4 bucks on sale @ walmart.
-Works, you can keep both eyes open to aim, great for someone on the prowl.
-Bottom half it very sturdy- made out of aluminum
-You can adjust the scope, but the directions are wrong on how you do it.

Cons:
-Plastic top half, probably will break if dropped, and hopefully not if shot w/ a paintball
-Lens can fog and get dirty easily, might be fixed by using anti fog cloth, but still usable when fogged
-Shiny brass eagle logo on side, just use black marker to make it black

Overall this site is great for aiming with both eyes open-something a scope with magnification can't do. With 2 brightness settings it works well in day, though a little bright for night.
Conclusion: Great, cheap, aiming device that's sure to save you money on paint by increasing your aim! Give it a 8 for quality of build.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 28th, 2008 at 4:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Santaclaus Friday, August 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lol, my stock 98 custom sight and a cheapie rifle sight. Both from Wal-Mart.
Marker Setup: 98 Custom with 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel, Expansion Chamber, Brass Eagle Red Dot when wanted.
Strengths: Read Below
Weaknesses: Read Below
Review: The key strengths of the Red Dot is two things, and one of them is debatable on different things.

Strengths: Price: Excellent price I found it for 6 bucks at Wal-Mart where as most other Red dots are $20-"You Name It". Durability?: Can take a small beating if hit by a paintball or two.

Weakness: Oooo shiny sides: Perfect for reflecting light! Durability?: Innards are pretty much shaken to hell if you mount it too close to the bolt or even above it, on a sideways bolt (such as a 98 Custom) Mockery: Not many paint-ballers think highly of you when you try cheap (cough Brass Eagle) upgrades for your gun, "But what the hell if you like trying new things. :)" Battery: We made the mistake of using the full intensity of the dot out of the two settings every time. It drained the battery in about... 7 hours of play with the thing on.

Pretty good to an unsuspecting buyer. Now you get home all excited and know "yeah it's 6 bucks so I don't expect much." If you do, (shakes head) you've a lot to learn on the word Quality. Now we tried the FIRST ONE out on my friends former 3 guns. His old Brass Eagle (Start Laughing) Raptor, Viewloader Orion, and Really old F-2 Illustrator. It worked fine on all of them except for one thing. When we mounted it to the F-2 we had probably taken 100 shots with the thing (when attached to the other two guns.) We mounted it too close to the Bolt (not close enough for the bolt to hit it but about an inch from the bolt). The main part of it held up against a shot from a paintball hitting it. But after a while the light for the dot just BOOP didn't make a dot? We tried new batteries cleaning the bulb and even took it apart to make sure the wiring was alright. It died *sniff*, but it served us well in the 200 shots we shot with it. (Lucky for us I had bought two because it was such a low price. LOL) Now the second one we've been more careful with. LIKE A SMALL CHILD! (of course we don't mount small children to guns or other things. LOL) Anywho, we used the second one very Gently and Kindly. Mounting it at least 4 inches away from the main area of my bolt (98 Custom). So I had a sight about in the center of a 98 Custom that is pretty accurate, yet I'm going to switch over to a CHEAP rifle sight.

IMPORTANTE! (That's Espaniol) The sight CAN"T BE MOUNTED too close to the bolt, the shaking causes the Dot to "disappear" even though everything is still in contact ( the bulb is shaken to death is my conclusion). TO SIGHT IT IN: get a target about 25-30 feet from you. Have a gun rest, or some contraption that makes it stay in the same place ( some people like to shoulder it and sight it in from there, your not on the exact same spot when you stop to adjust it and go back to sighting it in!) This made the gun accurate for us from Point Blank (LOL) up to about 40-60 feet. The target was about 3 feet off the ground and was the gun. Take the battery out, or slip back in the cardboard piece when not in use, (To prevent uneccessary battery draining)
Conclusion: The first one died due to not enough care for it. It simply didn't feel loved and died. The second one however was taken care of and is still living.
All in all 6 bucks isn't that big of a deal eh? I'd buy it if you really want a red dot. Otherwise stick with a cheap rifle sight at Wal-Mart. Or learn to shoot without a sight!

And I MIGHT bring you one for Christmas, if your good.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pHEnomIC69 Wednesday, February 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Iron sights on 98
Marker Setup: 98 custom, R/T, Revolution w/ x-board, JJ ceramic 14 inch, Double trigger
Strengths: Great Price. Works very well.
Weaknesses: Made by Brass Eagle, hard to adjust, doesn't shut off automatically.
Review: This is cheap, got at walmart for $9 with the battery. I can't say anything bad about it for the price. I wish it didn't say brass eagle on it because everyone bugs you about having it on your gun. Despite what others say, it does its job, it makes a dot that you can see with two eyes open. I find it a little hard to adjust it because of the screw placement but once you set it, it will work for you. I am a little concerned about getting shot in the lens because I know it will break like other sights. I think it should shut itself off after a few hours or so. I left mine on a few times for days on accident and the battery died.

Bottom line: This is great for the price, I am just picking on it, it does its job and works like any other high end expensive sight. I wish you could adjust it without a screw driver and ithink i am going to sand off the brass eagle decal on the side of it.
Conclusion: I recommend you get this. If it fits on your gun, it is good to have one around even if you don't always use it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jk_6109 Sunday, September 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
this xchamber
14" empire twist barrel and freak barrel kit w/ 14" front
double trigger
drop off (dont no name)
brass eagle dot sight (just 4 fun)
12 oz. tank
and standard vl200 hopper
Strengths: u can use both eyes
works good
and costs only $5
Weaknesses: its easy to forget its on
and its a brass eagle
Review: i wasnt even thinking about gettin a sight until i went to walmart and saw it for only $5, so i was like why not. But when i finaly put it on my gun i was pissed off because it was aiming about 2 feet farther up that it should be. But i never read the instructions to ne thing, but you can adjust it. After i did that it worked great. It was hitting dead on with my freak barrel. What i also like about this gun is that use use both eyes. So when you use it it looks like a dot is on your target, pretty sweet. One thing i dont like about it is that it is very easy to forget about. I had it on for 3 games and i didnt realize that it was on the whole time. And it also seems to magicly turn on sometimes, from bumping into something. But i think that if you find this sight in a store for $5 like i did then you should buy it, its a great deal. But one thing that you should do is file down the brass eagle gold lettering on the side or it will make ur gun seem bad. But i give this a 10 because it may be not the best sight, but it costs almost nothing. SO BUY IT!!! ROAR!
Conclusion: BUY!
BUY!
BUY!
BUY!
BUY!
BUY!
BUY!
BUY!
BUY!
BUY!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blackbishop Friday, April 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
J&J 14" Ceramic
drop forward
remote coil
BE Red Dot Sight
Strengths: cheap!
strong!
Actually works!
three settings, off/low/high for night, and day or whatever...
Weaknesses: the screws that seat the dovetails could be longer

could use a battery cover...
Review: battery life: i've left it on (on accident) overnight for two nights, the dot was a little faded, but not enough for me to bother with a new battery

On/off switch: the switch sticks out from the side a little far for my taste, too easy to catch on a glove, or clothing (which I think i've done once). However, when I have my gloves on and I want to turn it on in the middle of a game for a good shot I dont' want to have to take out a toothpick and try to flip the switch... all in all, I'd say the larger switch is good, if you've got a problem with it... shave it down. (CAREFULLY!) might even consider using clippers to just cut it shorter.

durability: i can think of at least 6 occations when the sight was hit (some even saved me! :-) it has been hit from the front and side, and even where the switch is!!! when ii got hit from the side, I was like *explitive*! I just got that a week ago! (the switch is somewhat open, you can see the circuit-board from the outside). but I didn't use it for the rest of the day, went home, took it apart, rinsed it off (with the battery out...) let it dry for another day (little over-kill but who can blame me...) put it back together and it lit up perfectly!

Zeroing: I don't know what these other guys are shooting or if they just don't think that you have to adjust it at all, but zeroing was disturbingly easy! it takes me about 8-10 shots to zero (at a given range). I have to re-zero when I take it off to clean it. It retains the Zero with no problem. I RARELY have to reset the zero after I set it once. Once I had my gear out of it's bag, and one of the adjusting screws must have shifted slightly, but I spotted it immediately and corrected it with a quarter-turn of a phillips-head screwdriver.

Lens: when I got paint on the inside of the lens i was a little worried about getting to it to clean it out, and about letting the paint sit on it until the end of the day when I went home, but on both occations the paint rinsed off cleanly (it was probably mostly the paint that facilitated that), and it dried easily (no left over junk on the lens)

natural use: your field of view is not limited in any way (as with a scope) you can use both eyes open when aiming with this sight, so it's very natural, it just looks as if a red dot apears on the field you're looking at. I don't usually use it unless I've got a bead on someone. Then I just flip it on, line it up, and wait (and since both my eyes are open, I don't have to worry about tunnel vision). If you are having trouble finding the sight, it's probably too far from your face, and if you expect it to work well like that... don't bother.
Conclusion: considering the cost of most paintball accessories... it's still worth the 9 bucks if you just use it once, hate it, and throw it out...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media