paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Detent Ring Set / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Detent Ring Set / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Detent Ring Set / Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Detent Ring Set

Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Detent Ring Set Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Detent Ring Set

Paintball Phantom Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Detent Ring Set
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $6

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Easy to install rings to prevent undersized paintballs from rolling out of the breach. Kit includes four color-coded, anodized, precisely honed aluminium rings with inner diameters varying from .674" to .685".
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Phantom Detent Ring Set is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
phantompower Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Phantom,
14" stock barrel
Bottomline 12oz
Strengths: Cheap
Colour coded
Easy to install
Easy to match ball sizes
Weaknesses: Very small = breakeable / easily lost
Review: When I first had a marb roll out of my barrel, I knew something had to be done. After looking into a J&J edge kit, and even something as simple as a new CCI Nickel barrel, I wasn't too sure if I was ready to commit to something like that yet. Then I found out about these things. 6 bucks!!! What an amazing deal!

The rings are smooth, and the inside of them is rounded, so as to not distort the ball when fired (but they're so small, you can hardly even see this). They are also anodized brightly, and colour coded (the small package includes an easy to lose legend as to their four sizes).

Installation is a snap, all you have to do is unscrew your barrel, safely and neatly seat the detent ring of your choice in the bottom of the barrel threads in the marker, then screw the barrel back on.

The rings are quite thin and small. Not too much so, but just enough that you should be concerned about bending or losing them, although they are tooled from very strong aluminium.

When properly matched with your paint size, these things keep the balls from not only rolling out, but rolling part way up the barrel without you knowing it (and it happens more than you think), which is even worse, since that will ruin your accuracy and efficiency.
Conclusion: I'd give them a 9, for being so losable / bendable, but for $6, there's nothing bad you can say about these things. The most amazing value I've ever seen in paintball for some precision tooled devices.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CCI Friday, September 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None like this
Marker Setup: Phantom Gravity feed(soon a 10 rnd feed)
brass eagle 50 rnd pocket hopper
12 gram adapter
trigger shoe
Strengths: Prevents roll outs
Weaknesses: None that i have seen
Review: This is one of the few upgrades that you will ever need on your phantom(other a trigger shoe). This is a must if you dont want to pay for a barel kit, which i dont know why you would because the stock barrel is awsome. But the detent rings do just what the need to do, and that is to prevent roll outs, because of the giant bore that the phantom has. It is a 4 ring set for multiple sizes of paint.
Conclusion: Buy it , it is a must.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Psycho_warden Tuesday, July 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
No different detents for Phantom
Marker Setup: Acid Black/Blue Stock Class Phantom
Strengths: Prevents Rollouts, inexpensive
Weaknesses: Easily broken/lost
Review: If you have a Phantom, these are a must have product. If you dont have them, you will bring your gun up after pumping in a ball and shoot and youll only hear a pop. The ball will have rolled out your barrel. You use these just as you would a barrel kit, you size the paint to the rings and stick them in the breech, screw in your barrel and your good to go.
Conclusion: These are a must have. if you have a Phantom and dont have these, I point and laugh at you....hahahah.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Milky Spore Tuesday, July 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: SC Phantom
Trigger shoe
Detent rings
Strengths: No more rollouts, you can now use any paint you want. They're $6.00.
Weaknesses: Lost very easily.
Review: They're rings! Not much to say about them. You can now use any paint in your Phantom, just take the ball, and whichever ring holds it without it falling through, but takes minimum resistance to push the ball through the ring, that's the one you use. You just take off the barrel, seat it at the base of the barrel threads, put it back on, and go play. You can lose them very easily though. I was using the red one with Diablo Heat paint, went to go and re-chrono because my Phantom was acting up that day, and it fell out and I never saw it again. Then, I decided the Heat paint was old and sucky, so I bought some DXS rec-sport paint, which was better, and used the silver ring for the rest of the day, and I knew I had it installed in my gun, but when I went home, it wasn't in my gun, and now I have to buy a new set of rings for $6.00. At least I'll have an extra set of blue and green ones.
Conclusion: It's the only necessary upgrade for your Phantom, invest in a set, or three.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 23rd, 2007 at 10:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HungryHippo7735 Sunday, February 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: CCI VSC Phantom w/ M-16 style grip
14 in. Stock Phantom Barrel
CCI Trigger Shoe
CCI Detent Kit
CCI Mounting Block for M-16 Style Grip
CCI L-Stock
CCI Rear Air Adapter w/Guage
CCI Spring Kit
Tasco 38mm Red Dot Sight
Strengths: Prevents paint from rolling out.
Works well.
Weaknesses: None really.
Review: Well ummm, they work, and they work well. I don't really know what else to say about them. I got them for $6 or $8 from wevopaintball.com if i remember correctly. The detent kit comes with 4 detents, so i doubt you will find paint that won't properly fit them. The detent kit is one of those upgrades that are NEEDED for a marker; if you don't have one, you are gonna have to put up with paint constantly rolling out, which is very annoying.
Conclusion: Buy 'em. They work, they are cheap and you kinda need 'em to play.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 4th, 2007 at 7:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pfizerreg Monday, August 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom
-DF with 90 degree elbow and 15 round stickfeed
-BSA 30mm red dot
-Backbottle 3.5oz, L-stock, m-16 grips

Sheridan PGP pre-2k1
PMI Trracer Tagmaster


Strengths: No chops, double feeds, rollouts.
Cheap.
Weaknesses: Be careful on installation, easily lost.
Review: They work, and they work well. When pumping properly, I no longer get rollouts, and double feeds no matter what paint I use. My accuracy has improved because balls no longer go partly down the barrel. I no longer chop because of feeding a ball and a half.

They are ridiculously cheap. You may as well get a couple sets, because invariably, most people will lose one of these. I did that once, by dry firing my gun without a barrel on, and fortunately a friend at the field found it a couple hours later because of its bright shiny annodized colour.

Be careful when installing your rings! If you feel any out of place resistance, STOP, unscrew your barrel, and make sure the ring is settled at the very bottom of your breech.
There have been stories of people destroying not only their detent rings, but their barrels as well. They didn't install the rings correctly, and everything got shredded. So pay attention to what you're doing.
Conclusion: Buy them.

Detent rings are one essential component no Phantom should be without.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the real south Wednesday, June 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive never seen anthing like this before
Marker Setup: -Phantom VSC
L-stock
CCI detent rings
CCI 16" sniper barrel
3.5 ounce tank
Strengths: Completly stops roll outs.
Very easy to size paint and put in right ring.
Weaknesses: Easy to loose(read review)
Review: I loove these littel things. When I bought my phantom a while back, I bought the rings at the same time. All you have to do to find the right ring size to to grab 5 balls, and push them through sepertly, and the ring witht the least restance is the one you use. A way to keep form loosing the rings are to put them in a zip-lock bag and mark the bag. Plus there real cheap, and thats always a bonus with me.
Conclusion: Ive you've got a phantom, get these rings. Follow my instructions or read the ones that the rings come with, and you can kiss those rollouts away.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Arkangel345 Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
....none really...unless you count the freak..but havent used that on my phantom...
Marker Setup: VSC .45 phantom w/ acrylic parts
black 03 stickies
telescoping stock
Strengths: Small
Easy to use
Handy for different types of paint
Cheap
Weaknesses: Fragile- dont put em in wrong, or step on em, or good-bye to ring....
Review: Ok, I'll start with the good- they are a cheap alternative ($6..) to gettin the Frantom (or frantom 2) w/ freak inserts, and J&J Edge kit, etc . They do their job well, and are color coded to tell what size they are (forgot what color is what size...oh well). Now for the few bad things about em..even though they are a good alternative to an expensive barrel/barrel kit , they dont do quite as well as an entire barrel/ kit would. Also, they are small, thin, pieces of aluminum...formula for disaster if you manage to drop/step on 'em, or put em in the gun wrong..but replacing a dented/broken one isnt too bad...just pay the $6 for a new set....
Conclusion: If you arent willin to dish out $150+ on a good barrel/kit, these are the thing for you, but arent the absolute best thing out there, but by no means are bad
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JimboDrofxo Saturday, May 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smaller barrels- they work better
Marker Setup: Phantom SC, trigger shoe, ball detent that i dont use
Strengths: It cost $6
Weaknesses: Small and breakable
Dont work very well

Review: I put one of these in thinkin it would work wonders....all i can say is, it didnt. They break if you dont take good care of them. They didnt stop doublefeeding, just made it harder to pump. There purpoes is to stop roll-outs, witch they dont do very well, but if you you have rollouts your accueraty is going to suck anyway- see the conculsion.
Conclusion: Buy a new barrel. If your ball is going to roll out of your barrel, than it doesnt have a very good paint to barrel match, right?? right! so if it doesnt have good paint to batrrel match, than it is going to be inaccurate even if it doesnt roll out. Therefore, you need to buy a new barrel
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel, frantom
Marker Setup: stock karnivor, pm6
Strengths: Stops 95% rollouts, which improves accuracy
Weaknesses: Doesnt work as well as a kit
Review: for 6 bucks its almost a must unless you get a barrel kit. they are very simple to use, and you bore size like you would with a barrel kit. there are the same drawbacks as a kit, where if you bore size wrong break will increase. however heres where a kit separates it.

these inserts are about a millimeter thick. paintball are not perfect spheres. so 10 balls might get stopped by teh detent, but one may roll through if turned a certain way. now IF you had a barrel kit with say a 1 inch insert or more, as soon as teh ball started rolling the tick side would eventually get the right way so it would stop in the barrel, where as a certain rotation of teh ball may allow it to pass through the detent. that is why you will probably get more rollouts with the detent than with a kit, ive withnessed this myself.

also, a detent kit does ntohing for bore match once teh ball is fired past teh detent. so a frantom will still give a tad better accuracy due to better match. so overall, a edge, ccm or frantom is better in overall performance. but for 6 buck this will give those kits a run for their money.

performance

on the feild i have noticed ball breaks increased. this was mainly cause bad paint is not as round, and gets broken by the detent if tightly fitted (loosing fitting were too many rollouts). so use GOOD paint. if you have a break and with a pump you get 1 shot, i like to take teh barrel off in a game and really clean it. if you take teh barrel off, you have to be extra careful no to loose teh detent. so it does take more concentration if you do this (however generall in a woodsball game i get plenty of time).

ok ok accuracy. surprisingly, what ppl say is right, the cci barrel is magic. is it a VERY good stock barrel. teh detents keep teh ball in the chamber allowing proper shots (we all know those ones that roll half way down teh barrel, then when you fire it goes like 10 feet). i was snap shooting against my freind with a frantom. i would say we were pretty even HOWEVER, i did get a few more strays than he did every once in a while. bottom line, a kit works better. but teh detent kit is close and far cheaper.
Conclusion: This is a poor man's phantom barrel kit. it gives near teh same performance as a kit, but bottom line a kit is better. you will get an acasional rollout and an acasional stray compared to a kit, but for 6 bucks its great. i would give it a 10, but then again its not perfect so 9. but hey for 6 bucks it get s a 10 in value in my book.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media