paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Shocktech Super Fly Bolt / Shocktech Super Fly Bolt / Shocktech Super Fly Bolt / Shocktech Super Fly Bolt / Shocktech Super Fly Bolt

Shocktech Super Fly Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Shocktech

Buy Shocktech Super Fly Bolt

Paintball Custom 98 Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Shocktech Super Fly Bolt
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Shocktech has always made some of the best aftermarket accessories available, and this bolt is no different. Made of high quality delrin for super smooth operation and improved range and accuracy, this bolt will give you what you need. Fits the Tippmann Model 98 or A-5.
Product Availability 
The Shocktech Super Fly Bolt is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Timmyboy14 Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock bolt
-Dead On Paintball bolt(not as nice as Shocktech's)
Marker Setup: M98
-Flatline barrel
-Tippmann car stock
-Inline expansion chamber
-Daisy 4X sight
-Lapco quick feeder
-Quick change CO2 adapter
-Remote coil
-RT trigger
-Polished internals
Strengths: -Adds to consistency
-More accurate
-Less breaks
-More distance
Weaknesses: -It's all good compared to stock bolt.
Review: I purchased the Shocktech super fly bolt on eBay for ten bucks. It was easily worth the cost for what it did for my marker.

The installation was very easy, just open the gun and swap the part out, no drilling or force fitting anything. I found that it actually slid on to the pro-seal easier than the stock. As it said it would.

When I test fired it, I noticed an impact on the consistency of my shots. The gun's paint spread was probably reduced by a few inches. This is supposedly because of the little notches in the front of the bolt, which make the air flow more uniform.

I also noticed that it had less blow back gas, which made the marker more efficient. I run my M98 off of the 12 gram CO2 cylinders. They only get about 20 shots a cylinder, but with the the bolt I got more power out of them all plus perhaps an extra shot too.

Many people say that the bolt gives the marker a better range. I didn't notice much of a change. However, I did notice that it made my flatline barrel more effective at longer ranges as it kept the ball on course better and kept it from swerving.

After reading several of these reviews, I noticed many people complain that the Shocktech bolt caused more ball chops. I couldn't disagree more. The Shocktech bolt has more rounded edges than the stock and it's also lighter, giving the paintball a much softer "whack" as it projects it. With the old bolt, I got about 1/200 chops when using the ZAP rec, and 1/500 with the new bolt and the same paint.
Conclusion: It's a great product and it's well worth the money. Buy it if you want to get the most out of your 98 Custom.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 18th, 2007 at 9:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BADMAN 1026 Sunday, August 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Responce Trigger
Expansion Chamber
Flatline Barrel
Spring Kit
Shocktech Bolt
Strengths: Increase in Accuracy
Slight Increase in Range
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: over all its a good upgrade if u have the 34.95$ to spend on it. The installation was easy just pull the pins and the velocity screw pull the hammer and all the things inside take the old one out put the new one in it will fit right in with no problem put it all together slap ur air supply in to the gun and enjoy ( u might want to oil it up just a bit before u put it in just incase)
Conclusion: Like i said if u have the money to get it go for it its a good upgrade for what i know about Shocktech is that they put good work in to there bolts so hey works for me. I got it in white but there is a black one so it could match the gun but then again its people wont notice the cool upgrade if u get it in black unless u tell them
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

SilentCreeper Wednesday, November 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" 32* Whisper
GTA Double Trigger
X-Chamber
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Shocktech Drop Forward
Dark Horizon "Lite" Titanium Hammer
Strengths: Easy to install
Makes gun much quieter
Weaknesses: None
Review: I was visiting my local paintball shop to get my co2 tanks filled, and i had some extra cash in my pocket. So i looked around at upgrades for my gun and seen this one. I asked the guy about it and he said it was a great bolt and it is made out of delrin so it runs smoother in the gun. $35 later i walked out and headed home to go and install it.
Very easy to install--just take the reciever half off, pop the end cap off, pull the old bolt off, put the new one on, and put the gun back together. At first i had a little bit of trouble with it because i didnt oil the o-ring inside of the bolt, so when i cocked it and pulled the trigger, the gun wouldnt cock back, so i had to take my gun apart again. Yeah, it has a little o-ring inside between the bolt and the power tube, so all of the blasted air goes out the barrel and doesnt back up into the gun, thus making the gun much quieter. When i first shot my gun, i was way impressed. It shot so much quieter than ever before, even with the stock barrel!!! I was shooting a can 9/10 times at about 80 feet away. I used to shoot it about 6/10 times at 60 feet. My gun shot straighter, futher, and faster than before. I havent chopped any balls out of 2000 yet. Great buy!
Conclusion: Well worth $35
go get it if you want a more accurate and quieter gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 8th, 2005 at 2:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bafrank@att.net Friday, March 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt, Starfire bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Using both Flatline and Stone Cold Barrels. CO2, custom spring kit, Stainless screw kit (removed the soft Lapco screw kit), BSA Red Dot sight.
Strengths: Very slick with absolutely no bind inside the Tippman receiver.
Weaknesses: Requires care to slip over guide tube due to well fitted "O" ring.
Review: I have tried several different bolts on this gun. Have had problems with broken paint when using Flatline barrel. Previous aluminum bolt chaffed, became rough enough to dammage ball as the action cycled. This Delrin bolt fits tightly to the guide tube with a nice, what appears to be silicon, "O" ring. With that "O" ring and the one on the leading edge of the bolt to seal the chamber, there is absolutely no CO2 fog coming out or the loading port. All the gas going to push the ball is going to push the ball...no blowback into the throat of the hopper.

My marker, for all the effort I have put into it, had become very inconsistant and was breaking paint on a too regular basis. A new stock bolt did not bring the point of impact close together, though it did stop the breakage The aluminum teflon lined bolt worked VERY well for a while but wore very fast and lost consistency. When I switched to the Shocktech Supafly bolt my point of impact went back into about 9 inch circle at 70 feet with the Flatline barrel. The Stone Cold barrel shoots a little bit tighter group but I prefer the near flat trajectory of the Flatline (using All Star paint)
Conclusion: Best mod I have made on a nearly stock 98 Custom. Shop for price. Store price is near $35, but I have found it several places on the web for $19.95. I bought mine off the web. From my savings in paint alone it was well worth the price. Consistency of point of impact gets me jazzed as I walk on the field, because I'm back to making head shots all the way to the back bunker (Speedball).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hoff Friday, January 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32* hyperstar bolt- cheap and will help some
Marker Setup: Custom Built autococker - ANS Frame Detonator Reg. Evil Driver - too much to list

98C Backup-
Flatline
Compair
Custom Products Reg.
R/T
Remote
Halo TSA LCD
Crossfire 68/4500
Strengths: Delrin- slightly higher cycle rates
Smoother
Face of bolt is altered to cushin ball
Weaknesses: See below
Review: Weaknesses won't work so here:
Price for such a small part.

This bolt is the best aftermarket internal for the 98 custom. You will break less balls over the stock bolt and have more durability. This bolt does not rub up against the reciever halves with as much drag, increasing you cycle rate. Accuracy is improved slightly. Many people say that aftermarket internals do nothing, but from my experiances they are very wrong. If you have the basics already [hopper, x-chamber, good barrel, possibly fire-power upgrade], the next thing to get would be the Shocktech bolt.
Conclusion: If you have a 98c that you have put more money into than its worth for fun [see marker set-up] or are a serious woodsball player, this is the thing to get. This combined with a good barrel and an e-bolt will give you one awsomely accurate gun. I'd buy it again.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GreenGenes Saturday, February 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock botl
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
14 inch Dye Excel
20 & 12 oz co2
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Strengths: Better than stock
more presicion
Weaknesses: Can still chop
Review: Took apart my gun which was easy and just swaped the bolts but kept the stock just in case. The stock bolt did not have a ball cradel while the Superfly did. When using some really old crappy paint the stock tended to chop more than the Superfly, but the superfly still chopped 3 out of 25 mostly because the paint was so old and brittle. With the stock 9 out of 25 would chop. I also noticed tighter grouping of shots right away without any tests needed. Great upgrade, got mine for $20.
Conclusion: I recommend but only if you have a nice barrel and decent paint to go alont with it. Does what it says it does.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

liltippmanguy Tuesday, February 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann stock bolt
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with response trigger and double trigger
allen paintball rubber foregrip
red dye stickygrip
viewloader revolution II eggy
68 cu nitroduck carbon fiber tank
no name drop forward
shocktech bolt and stock internals
Strengths: Air efficiency increased significantly, more shots per fill,does not chop at all really
Weaknesses: Nothing that i have seen so far.
Review: I was able to find this bolt at a local field for 15 dollars, which is a lot less than what it goes for. I then had this bolt which i got in white, installed at another field for 10 dollars. It took the guy who installed it about an hour to get it right but when it was lubed and air attached i really appreciated the consistency it gave my gun. Shot per shot, it showed to straighten up quite a bit and i will even go as far to say that the speed of my marker has gone up. There will be those who disagree with me on the usefulness of this bolt but im glad to have done this upgrade. I didnt chop any paint at all and when i dry fired it my response trigger ripped like crazy!
Conclusion: If you love your tippmann then you definitely need to get this bolt. Your tippmann deserves this upgrade and you will be happy to have listened to my advice about the wonders of this bolt. I give it a 10 because it lived up to the hype. This bolt is that good!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB4841LVR Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom

Upgrades:
GTA 14 inch Sniper barrel
GTA Double Trigger
InnovativeWrks Wild Viper Trigger
Dye Sticky Grips '04
Shocktech Super Fly Delrin Front Bolt
Response Trigger
Comp Air Kit
Air America Messiah Regulator
Dye Mini Guage 750 psi
Lapco Bigshot (Coming Soon)
Dead On Bullet Drop Forward
CrossFire 92 ci 4500 psi High Tank
Parker Macroline

Loaders:
Viewloader Revolution with Xboard
Halo TSA LCD Backman
Strengths: Reduces the amount of gas that is forced up the feed neck
Weaknesses: Was a little difficult to install, I ordered whit but it came in black
Review: A few months ago I ordered this thinking it would be the best bolt ever. It came in and I went to install it immediatly. It has two o-rings. One outside the bolt, to seal the chamber, and then another inside towards the rear to seal it from gas getting through the bolt and up through the feed neck. The small bolt inside it did not fit over the part of the power tube so I had to take it out and stretch it a litlle band now it works fine. The accuracy and gas efficiency had a little improvement. For $35.00 I'd say this bolt is worth it but is low on your upgrades list.
Conclusion: Buy it if you are finishing off your Tippmann
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 23rd, 2004 at 7:05 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Isaak123 Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: 98C with ACT
14" JJ full Tilt
Rocket Cock
Shocktech Drop Forward
Strengths: Its might be good... If it fit
Weaknesses: Doesn't fit ACT
Review: Well I bought this bolt because I was looking for some cheap upgrades. I went to the Shocktech site and everything looked fine so I bought it. It came about a week later and I went to put it in right away. It looked like it went in fine but when I put it back together and cocked and shot it (to see if everything was back together) the bolt didn't go back! It stuck! I took ithe gun apart and looked... the linkage arm didn't go down far enough into the hole of the bolt and got jammed! I tried to drill the hole a TINY bit further but I went to fat and broke threw... I know that sounds stupid but I shouldn't have had to do that in the first place.
Conclusion: Its proabley a good bolt but the Shocktech website should have advertised that it doesn't fit ACT... I just wasted $20

If I got to use it it probaley would have been good but... I give it a 1 for ACT Tippmanns
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zimman Wednesday, July 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt - much worse than this bolt
Marker Setup: 98c
expansion kit
shocktech super fly bolt
polished internals
16" empire twister barrel
remote line
rocket cock II
Strengths: See body
Weaknesses: See body
Review: Strengths:
increased accuracy over stock bolt
quieter than stock bolt
easy to install
better cycling
less ball breakage
cheap

Weaknesses:
none really


I picked this up for $20 and it was well worth the money, I strongly recommend this to anyone as it is a good addition to any tippman gun
Conclusion: I recommend that you go buy one, they are cheap and good
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 12th, 2006 at 6:39 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media