paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Pure Energy Air System / PMI Pure Energy Air System / PMI Pure Energy Air System

PMI Pure Energy Air System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Pure Energy Air System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Pure Energy Air System
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 455
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
3000psi in 48cu, 68cu, 72cu and 88cu; 4500psi in 48cu, 68cu and 88cu; 5000psi in 68cu.
Product Availability 
The PMI Pure Energy Air System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (46):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
CzarAlex Sunday, January 11th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month45 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire 47/3K, various CO2 tanks.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra - Stock. 48/3000 Pure Energy.
Strengths: Consistency
Ease of Refilling
Cost in the long run
Weaknesses: Shots per tank
Rumours of leaks (see below)
Review: I was in the market for an HPA tank and used pbreview to do my homework. I was set on getting a crossfire because of their reviews and the fact that my home field uses them without problem. However, my friend was upgrading his system - getting a larger tank - and offered to give me his never used Pure Energy 48/3K if I split a case of paint with him next time we played. While the tank cost me $25 (remember...half case of paint) I was still nervous that it would leak based on the reviews seen around this one. Not only did the tank NOT leak, but its been sitting unused in my closet for over a week now and the gauge hasn't moved at all. So far so good.

I can get 450-500 shots out of the tank before i have to go refill though I make an effort to refill when I'm near the station. Here's where the tank saves you money: Most fields charge per ounce to fill CO2 and most fields also offer a flat rate for all day air to fill HPA tanks. For example, at my home field its $0.25 an ounce of CO2 or $5 all day air. You can see right there for the price to fill one 20oz CO2 tank, I can refill my HPA tank all day.

And its easy to fill. You can leave the bottle on and hook the station up to the nipple on the side of the tank. Nothing could be easier.

And boy did my shot consistency increase. With CO2 I was slicing balls left and right. AS SOON as I started using the HPA tank I noticed a drastic difference.
Conclusion: This tank is priced the same as the others for the most part. If you want to upgrade to HPA, this tank will do the trick. But there are a lot of rumors of them leaking a lot more than other brands. Since mine hasn't yet, I'll give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
32 Comments - Add Comment

cjlee1 Thursday, February 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy 20oz Co2 tank w/ anti-siphon and Smart Parts on/off valve
Marker Setup: 2 Guns: ANS Tricked Autococker and a 2002 Tippmann A5 w/ Dye Boomstick
Strengths: I bought the Pure Energy 4500/45 cubic inch tank...it's great. Improved consistency of shots under rapid fire (HPA systems are known to have better flow consistency than Co2). Also no real need for an expansion chamber on your gun if you go with HPA. I noticed that under rapid fire my A5 gun would get a little bit of water condensation from the cold C02 tank (even w/ the anti-siphon)...with the HPA tank there was no condensation, meaning better accuracy of shots. Also, this tank works great on a remote system (I use the Pure Energy $55 remote and it's awesome with any tank).
Weaknesses: It would be handy to have an On/Off valve on this model...guess you have to pay more money for that. Also, the other guy who said that it's hard to find a field that will fill up to 4500 is right- most fields only give you a hot fill to 3000...a hot fill means that the PSI drops about another 500 after they give you the tank back so you are really only playing with around 2500 PSI...no biggie, but they are not maximizing the efficiency of your tank, and you may have to make one or two more trips for air throughout the day. That's the way it is in most fields in Southern California.
Conclusion: Overall a solid performing HPA tank that fits right into the budget of an intermediate to advanced paintballer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

Pacman32 Saturday, July 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used to use Co2, but have upgraded to PMI Nitrogen
Marker Setup: A 98 Custom with a 14 in. DYE Xcel, Dead on Paintball Pro Style drop forward, 32 Degrees Hyperstar Bolt, and 48 cu in. 3000 PSI Compressed Air Bottle
Strengths: -Little drop off!
-Very consistent
-Quiet
-Clean
-Easy to refill
Weaknesses: -A little heavy
Review: This is a great product. I recently used it for the first time and saw the difference. There is VERY LITTLE DROP OFF over long distances, and it even improved my accuracy. The biggest flaw is that it is a little heavy, but does not effect the performance. I recommend upgrading to any nitrogen system, but this is the cheapest, best one out there for first time up-graders. I got tired of putting liquid Co2 into my gun because it rusted some of my internals. Also, the consistency of Co2 sucks. Get more years out of your gun by putting a cleaner air source through it, and you will watch the opposition cower in fear. Before upgrading to this PMI 3000 psi 48 cu in. I really didn't think it would enhance the performance of my gun that much. Wrong indeed I was. If you're looking for an upgrade, I very strongly recommend this one. To search for the cheapest prices online, check ebay. People sell these things new for dirt cheap and even sometimes with free shipping. Look into purchasing nitrogen, and not only benefiting yourself, but the health of your gun.
Conclusion: For your next upgrade, purchase this tank. Demonstrates clean, efficient, consistent use and comes with a gauge.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

dragun_master Monday, March 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI bulldog, anti siphon co2, conquest 68/4500
Marker Setup: Outkast cocker, pmi 68/3000 psi, shocktech drop foward, and a bunch of other things.
Strengths: Light, nice recharge rate, the price is good, well ballenced, and they come in a bunch of sizes and psi's.
Weaknesses: It would be nice to have a 5 year hydro instead of a 3 year, other than that it owns.
Review: This tank is nice for the money, you dont need to buy anything extra in order for this tank to connect to your gun just screw it in and your set to go. This is a nice upgrade from Co2,you will notice big difference, and 47/3000 only costs like 80 buxx so there is no reason not to own a nitro tank.
Conclusion: If you have the money i would go for the 45/4500 they so small, but the 68/3000-4500 are well balenced.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

robspar1 Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
12" J&J Ceramic
PMI 72/3000 HPA tank
Strengths: Consistency
No shoot down
Easy to fill
Price
Weaknesses: Weight
Size
Review: After several recommendations, I decided to get into HPA and bought an aluminum 72 cu. in. 3000 psi. tank.

If you're thinking about this, be warned... its big, and its heavy (it weighs a tad over 4 lbs.). For bigger people like me, this isn't a problem at all, but i could see some of the little kids who play having a problem with it. Also, if you don't have some kind of a drop, it will throw off the marker's balance a bit, unless you have something heavy, like a 98 Custom or an A-5. If you're a weight weenie, get the 47 cu. in. I was fully aware of the weight of the thing, so while it is a negative, it does not detract from the rating.

Probably the best thing about it is that it's HPA on the cheap... These tanks can be found on eBay for $40 sometimes. I didn't want to spend as much for a tank as I did for my marker, so this was perfect for me.

EDIT-
While I don't doubt the people who have said their tanks leak, I do believe the "Every PMI tank leaks" mentality is way overblown... My tank has yet to leak at all, and neither have the tanks they use on the rentals at my field.

2nd EDIT-
Adressing the leaks concern again, I got my tank filled, then left it alone for the better part of 6 months (thank the Air Force for that). No pressure loss whatsoever.
Conclusion: If your field fills HPA tanks, and you want an inexpensive way to reap the benefits of HPA, get this... you will never touch CO2 again.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007 at 3:36 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Everlight389 Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None that are Steel
Marker Setup: Worrgames 2003 Vertical Feed Autococker
Orr-acle front block kit (front block, STO ram, tickler, 3-way)
Custom Products ASA with On/Off
Dye Sticky Grips
Strengths: - Cheap
- It does what it's supposed to do
Weaknesses: - Somewhat heavy (3+ pounds)
Review: I bought my PMI 72/3000 from Action Village for $100, and it works great on my autococker. It isn't too heavy for me, and recharge rate is fairly good for such a cheap HPA tank. For this price and performance, there is no reason to ever use co2 again, unless you can't get it filled.
Conclusion: If you have the money I'd go carbon fiber 68/4500, but this works well also. Recent tanks seem to work much better than their predecessors. I give it a 10 because it does what it's supposed to do.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Zarrinnis Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Co2 tanks
Marker Setup: Ion
Evlution2 loader
PMI 48/300 tank
Freak barrel system
Strengths: -Does what its supposed to do
-Cheaper than fiber tanks
Weaknesses: -Heavy
Review: This is a great product and does what its supposed to do. Doesnt leak, consistant and cheap. The only thing thats pretty lame about this is the wieght. Of course this isnt a problem for me but it might affect some peoples decisions to get this. I dont know what else to write.
Conclusion: I reccomend this product for people who dont really care about a little extra wieght on thier gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Demetri D Sunday, June 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Centerflag system
C02
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ion
Hybrid contract killer shizzle grips
32 degrees drop forward
Custom trigger job
Pure Energy 4500psi 68ci
Strengths: Very light
good size
great consistancy
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is and excellent product that allows me to play all aspects of the game. I can get the most games in with minimal fills. I will work well in any gun and supply you with excellent consistancy. It is small and allows you to get in and out of bunkers as well as run up the field. It stays steady in your arm when you shoot.
Conclusion: An excellent must buy product. It is all that you need for a tank.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cpl_D Wednesday, May 28th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI 68ci 3000, Centerflag 88ci 4500
Marker Setup: System X Vengeance pro 2.0 AutoCocker w/ Empire Reloader
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: PMI has poor quality control
Review: I used this tank once. For the day I was playing, it worked great. After I was done playing, I got a fill for the road, then went home. I screwed the tank into my Autococker and the tank began to purge all it's air. The air came out of a little hole at the top above the burst disk. This problem was due to a blown piston on the regulator. I've heard of PMI's mixed customer service, good fast replies and the slow-we're trying to find the item you sent to us for repair. If someone gave me money to buy another PMI tank, I wouldn't, I'd go for a Centerflag instead.
Conclusion: Air tanks shouldn't stop working after one day of use. This is a serious quality control issue that needs to be addressed by PMI
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

oddball1405 Tuesday, September 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI 20oz co2 - not really similar but it will make your gun shoot
Marker Setup: Red 03' autococker
16" Ti boomstick
PMI 68/5000
Halo TSA loader
Strengths: -doesn't freeze up your gun like co2
-consistant shooting, no velocity spikes/drops
Weaknesses: -the guage- read more below
Review: ok, when i 1st got this tank i loved it, but then about a month or not even, i got it filled on a Thursday for a game that next Sunday and when i went to go play the tank was completely empty. The tank completely leaked out in 3 days! I was like what is goin on?! I then remembered how 2 of my friends who also had the 68ci 5K tank like mine that the guage leaked all the air. This tank is really good, dont get me wrong - but pmi decided i guess to go real real cheep on their gauge. So if you buy a pmi tank, esp a 5K dont be surprised if you have to get a new guage soon.
Conclusion: This tank is a really good tank, and its well made, the only thing i dont like on it is the guage. I had to dish out $15 for sumthin that could be avoided. Because of the guage I am giving it a seven.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 30th, 2003 at 6:32 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (46):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media