paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Torid X / Odyssey Torid X / Odyssey Torid X / Odyssey Torid X

Odyssey Torid X Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Torid X

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Torid X
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 31
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $269

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
TORID X FEATURES:
Low pressure | 7.2 NiMH Battery with Charger | LCD Interface | Clamping Feedneck
PB Port | Regulator | METAL Grip Frame | Odyssey Sensor System

Fire Modes: Semi | Burst | Multi | Auto
Product Availability 
The Odyssey Torid X is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
bobjoeslob Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used all kinds of spyders, impulses,cockers w/ e grip ,tippmanns.
Marker Setup: torid x ,crossfire tank ,vl revvy .
Recommended
Upgrades:
delrin bolt.
clamping feed neck.
fast hopper.
Strengths: The barrel is decent, good electronics cool features for the price.
The eye is awesome.
Weaknesses: The bolt. (not verry good)
Review: It sounds to good to be true but is really as good as it sounds. It is the exact same gun as the tes b and tes x but with different feed neck and it has a rechargeable battery. The battery lasts about 3 cases of paint and it has 4 different modes full auto adjustable 4-20 balls a sec fast, semi,ball like 3 round burst but programable up to 4-99 shoots.
Shot counter and eye verry nice not good with dark paint. Can out shoot my revvy in semi auto. has a rate counter tells you how fast your shooting.
Conclusion: Get it its good for the money and speed of this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 18th, 2004 at 6:45 pm PST
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

Diablero Wednesday, December 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
With this ROF...Timmys, Angels, 03 Shocker, Impulse etc
All blowbacks and its antecesor the TES
Marker Setup: Victory Board Halo B, 16" Empire 3 piece, 4500 Maxflow, lightened trigger switch
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock bolt is fine but it will wear off the anno. Delrin bolt recomended. Stock barrelis fine also but should be prepared for different bore sizes of the paintballs, Empire 3 piece is cheap and works great, if you have more cash you can go for the Freak Kit.. Lighten upthe trigger switch.
Strengths: ROF-Price-Reliablity-Consistency-Eye.LCD-Upgreadable- Rechargable Battery- New Grips-Easy Operation
Weaknesses: Only weakness could be that the stock bolt would wear the anno (Cosmetic Issues)
Review: ROF 20bps is way more than most PPL can shoot. Not tourney legal out of the Box but its really easy to block it in Tourny mode. The stock reg works fine with Co2 or Nitro-Air, very consistent on the Chrono.The eye works great just adjust it to your hopper, dont try to use it on full auto 20bps using a revy or it will chop, But at 20bps with a victoryBHalo b you will not chop any paint.
Conclusion: The best marker in its pricerange ($250) and it compares easily to High End Markers that sell for more than $1000.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Opteron_FA Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Esprit
Spyder E-99
Odyssey O3e (Very Similar except one is EP and one is Blowback)
Marker Setup: Odyssey Troid X (Stock)
Crossfire 47ci 3000psi
Evolution 2 Y-Board
Stock Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Derlin Bolt
Fast Hopper (Recommend Evolution 2)
1. Because you really won't need a Halo because it's a blowback and won't be able to achieve such high rates of fire.
2. It makes your gun look so sexy with the Evolution 2 (LOL)
Strengths: Unique!
Luxury!
Trigger Frame!
Best Blowback out there!
Best stock Barrel!
Weaknesses: It's too damn SEXY!
Review: Well the day I recieved the gun, it came in a nice Black Case (my new gun case, yes it's that good). When I opened the box... You won't believe the beauty in this gun! Anyways, I gased up the gun and did some tests as I do to all my guns.

(NOTE: Tests were done with ZAP Rec Series Paintballs and a Stock Torid X with 47ci 3000psi)
Test: (Yes I took time to measure results to give a proper test)
- 75ft, 83 Degrees, Texas Weather 1ft by 1ft box, Full Hopper
- All balls landed on top of each other to about 5 inches apart

I was really impressed with these results coming from a Stock Barrel and a Blowback gun.

I was also really impressed with all the luxury coming from this gun, Boucebeam eyes (always kept up and never chopped), the Backlit LCD screen (very cool!) multi-mode (Semi-Auto, Ball, Full-Auto, many other MISC. options). All for under $200 Dollars, talk about bang for your buck!
Conclusion: I would really recommend this gun to Beginners to Amatures looking for an all-purpose gun that has the accuracy and speed to compete against all the others while not hitting the bank.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyn4sty Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
all kinds of spyders and tes
Marker Setup: torid x 20 ounce c02 prety much stock because i just got it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, bolt, fast loader.
Strengths: Screen.Nice settings u can adjust the semi auto rof from 10 to 20.
Weaknesses: The stock bolt. Kinda loud. Suport isnt that great.
Review: This is a very nice gun. when i first took it outa the box i imediatly turned it on and started clicking. I noticed the trigger-pull was very short compared to the tes. So i messed around with the settings and found out u could check your rof. So i turned semi up to 20 and cliked away.the fastest burst i had was 16 cps(clicks per second lol). It also has a setting to tell u how many volts are left in ur battery,timer,shot counter,ect.So i hooked up my c02 and sense there was snow on the ground i shot off my back porch.The full auto altho mostly a novilty was very neat.5 round burst is ok.multi is cool its like 5 round burst but faster. The on/off button sticks.
Conclusion: I got this gun for 200 shiped.this gun is very much worth the money. but since the suport hasnt been that great i cant give it a perfect rating.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 29th, 2004 at 7:44 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Blue Boy 1991 Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine select-not as fast,quiet,accurate,or reliable
spyder eletra dx-same as above
mongoose reincarnation-not as quiet,accurate,or reliable
Marker Setup: Torid X odyssey with stock barrel, halo b rip drive ,68 3000 crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper.
I would reccomend nitro over co2 because it really seems to work better with it.
Strengths: It's fast,quiet,and accurate.
Weaknesses: The bolt is kinda heavy.
Review: When I got this gun,the first thing I noticed was the nice gun case it came with. When i opened it i noticed the awesome ano black/blue fade. I read the owners manual then charged it. I started flipping through the many functions of the gun and went ahead and put semi on 20 bps. Then I gassed it up and,loaded up paint and started ripping away. I could not believe how sensitive the trigger was.It was more sensitive than some of the timmys i had used before! Also the electronic eye is awesome.So far I have shot around 8500 balls and haven't chopped once!i have only had to oil up the bolt o-rings once.The bolt was really the only downside i have.It is kinda of heavy compared to other bolts but a delrin bolt will definitly fix that,but since i haven't chopped yet,I'm not complaining. I also could not believe how fast this gun is.It truly does compare in speed to any intimidator I have ever shot. The gun itself is also really quiet.The accuracy on this gun is really consitent,especially using nitro.Of course the man makes the gun so some may find accuracy hard to find but overall it is very accurate.If you are a frontman like me you know that if you're not running up and down the field you are constantly snapshooting.This gun is so light you can do these with ease.
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun to anyone.Rec,Intermediate,Pro.anyone because it has all the qualities of a 1000 dollar gun that you can get for only 250!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ruderogo Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt 4.0, electro spyders etc
Marker Setup: Stock Torid X
Eggy yboarded
68/45 cross.
Recommended
Upgrades:
the gun is damn fine stock, but the bolt needs to get upgraded. it will fit any TES or Timmy bolts, as long as you take the timmy pin out and replace it with the stock TX pin
Strengths: Speed
low price
good efficiency
eye works damn well
Weaknesses: Besides the aluminum bolt, nothing
Review: This is the best and cheapest blowback on the market today. the only thing, if i had made this marker, i would have done is made the eye a break beam rather than a reflective, and added a delrin bolt rather than aluminum bolt. regardless, this is very fast in the worl of less than 200$ markers. its capped at 20 bps, and i am able to get 14 stock. im sure with a new trigger and a much lighter switch, you can push that 20 bps to its max. but stock i am able to get 14, and i dont have the fastest fingers, but for under 200$ what can you say, thats damn good. the eye works great, even if it is reflective. i am able to see silver/purple tork, and dark blue paints well, and the brighter paints can be seen flawlessly. i use a yboarded egg and i havent chopped once. i suppose if i got a lighter switch i may need to get an x-board to keep up, but it suits me fine for my purposes. the stock barrel is also very respectable. i got tight groupings, but as always, there are better barrels out there, but not many for under 200. i am going to be getting a new reg setup later on to get rid of the braided line, becasue i dont like the way steel line looks, but it pefrorms VERY well stock.
Conclusion: i highly reccomend this over any blowback. its a much better version of the TES. Torid x>TES and any other blowback for that matter
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Psycho_warden Saturday, September 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eforce Piranha
Marker Setup: Acid Black/Blue Stock Class Phantom
Recommended
Upgrades:
New bolt
Maybe a new barrel
Strengths: Very fast, Eye, Low Pressure, feedneck, everything
Weaknesses: Bolt, thats it
Review: I had been playing almost entirely stock class for about a year when I decided to get a nice little semi just for those wipers at the field. So I saw this gun for about $180 brand new, so I ordered it.
The gun comes in a plastic hard case with a foam interior. The gun includes a 12 inch barrel, charger, barrel plug, assortment of orings and extra eye slips. I was very impressed with the anodizing on the gun. The red/black fade looks very smooth and the milling has a wavy yet aggressive look to it, comparable to that of an Intimidator. The feedneck is a mid rise clamping feedneck that is much like Spyder feed necks. Any Spyder Feedneck that doesn't have holes will fit. With the barrel screwed in, the gun looks like a bit longer setup, but a very short (from bottom of grip to top of feedneck) setup. The drop that comes with it is small, but keeps the tanks in a nice comfortable position.
This gun can lay some paint rather heavy. I am able to keep a constant 12-13 bps string going while the gun was entirely stock. The eyes work great as long as you keep them clean, I have even been able to pick up some rather dark shells, but try to avoid them if at all possible. I have not had any chops yet with 2 cases shot through it, a few barrel breaks here and there, but who doesn't expect that. The stock barrel is an average barrel, with porting down about half the length of the barrel. The barrel does not clean out shots too well, so a stick squeege of some sort is recommended. A new barrel kit would be recommended. The gun has several modes, although none of them are necessary, and one of the first things I did is take out the jumper, which is explained in the manuel, this allows only semi auto. The board is capable of firing 20bps although nobody could possibly get that fast without the assistance of software. There are not any grips available for the Torid that I am aware of, but the stock grips are a nice soft rubber that you can get a good grip on easily.
Although this gun is a stacked tube blow back design, it runs at a surprisingly low pressure. Mine came to me set at about 325psi, and is now at 300psi. The inline regulator that comes with the Torid X is a surprisingly good regulator. The recharge rate may not be that of any expensive regulators but it is fast enough for the needs of this gun. The consistency is also good. When I first aired up the gun and shot 10 shots across the chrono, I had a reading of +-7 fps, and now after breaking in the reg and oiling it, I get +-5fps.
The only bad that I have found on this gun is the stock bolt. As many other reviews have stated, if you do not keep the stock bolt well oiled, it will scratch up the inside of the gun. One thing that I did not notice in other reviews, is the mention of uncocking. With the stock bolt, I had a few recocking issues during long strings. The bolt would come very close to recocking, but not get back all the way, and requires you to pull it back an extra cm or so. I have since replaced the stock bolt with a ShockTech SuperFly delrin bolt and have not had the recocking issue anymore.
Conclusion: This gun is a very good gun for a very good price. It is very fast and has reliable eyes. This gun will easily compete with many of the higher end guns. Everything is good about this gun except the bolt, so therefore I do not dub it a perfect score, but one below.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

malitov Wednesday, January 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imagine, Pirahna EVO, Shocker, Impulse, Eblade, DM4, Intimidator, T.E.S.
Marker Setup: Stock Torid, CP barrel, Clear Revvy, 20oz Pure Energy Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Reg, Barrel, Bolt, HPA
Strengths: Trigger, LCD, Barrel, 20 BPS, EYE, Etc,.
Weaknesses: New Bolt Maybe. It doesn't come in orange.
Review: This gun is pretty sweet. I've used countless guns and this one of the best. I won't say it will out perform a shocker, an impy or anything like a DM4 or Timmy, but for a stacked tube Blowback this gun is pimpin and can easily out perform most other guns in it's price range and simply pimp slaps other guns like the T.E.S, Mongooose, or ICON series guns and it also performs superbly on Co2, although HPA is a must eventually. The only bad thing about the gun is sometimes its hard to see the LCD in direct sunlight, but even that is minimal and the LCD is a Godsend compared to LED. The stock bolt should be changed becuase it does have a tendency to rail the inside of the gun. I'll stick with this baby for a long time unless i happen to come across something better for a lower price but i doubt that will happen.
Conclusion: I would recommend this for the average Rec player or even the Amateur tourney player. All in all i'd recommend this gun to just about anyone who wants a decent lower-mid range gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SuperBeast88 Saturday, January 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Electric Spyders, TES
Marker Setup: Torid X, 20oz, Revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hp, Fast hopper, bolt, reg
Strengths: Fast, eye, accurate, clamp feed,
Weaknesses: Bolt, reg
Review: This gun is nice, I just really recomend air over co2, I dont have the money myself for air but Im saving, when I put in my co2 tank my whole reg froze over like sub zero from motral kombat touched it, it eventally got better and work fine after that, the fun is very fast a reliable for its price, if you use co2 get an anti siphone tube so your reg wont freeze, it says you have to have one but you dont becuase the gun is blow back so it wont mess it up just might freeze your reg, other then that it works great and tis easier to shoot then the tes the trigger pull is alot less and can shoot faster easier.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone going from beginer to the rookie level
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

M.Almers Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion-No comparison
M98 Custom-mech only
old Mongoose LED-had many problems with old mongoose,had to send it back to factory 4 times.
Marker Setup: 04 Torid X, blk to grn fade
HALO B
Shocktech Delrin bolt
Crossfire 68/3000 fiber
Smart Parts All-American barrel,14in
Recommended
Upgrades:
Need very fast loader,I easily outshot my reloader
Dlerin bolt,shocktech is very good,no velocity adj needed switching from old one.Am anxious to see what the new software upgrade coming out will do.
Strengths: Price,Vision eye,speed,and come stocked with extras
Weaknesses: Alum bolt,have had some breaks but was at max ROF.
Review: Overall if you are just getting into paintball don't get that cheaper Wal-mart kit,save a few extra weeks,use a rental,and get the Torid X,comapred to higher end markers,you get a regulator,vision eye,LCD grip and clamping feed neck,on some markers these upgrades alone would cost you more than the Torid X,with all these features standard.
As for expierenced players,nothing will make you realize the lil fury that this marker is capable of until you get in a 1 on 1 at the end of a game,me with my Torid X,against an E-blade Autococker,and I was able to suppress at 1 shot him in the end.It made me a believer.
Conclusion: In it's price bracket,nothing else can touch it.On the field will compete with the high end electros very well.In all my add-ons and upgrades(see above),still spent less than a stock high end marker,that doesn't come with,loader,barell,rail drop,hgih end loader,and air system.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media