paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Generation-E NYX Matrix / Generation-E NYX Matrix / Generation-E NYX Matrix / Generation-E NYX Matrix

Generation-E NYX Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Generation-E

Buy Generation-E NYX Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Generation-E NYX Matrix
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New York Xtreme matrix is the official marker used by the team of NYX

Marker is supported through Gen-E not DYE

Xtreme Matrix Specs

•Xtreme Eye/board system for Xtreme rate of fire (over 20 bps) without chopping paint.

•Adjustable ball detents for no double feeding even with small paint and a halo.

•Custom bolt for incredible air efficiency, the board also increases the air efficiency.

•Adjustable no rise feed neck (works) no shaving needed and your loader will not fall off.

•X Skull milled body for lower weight and killer looks. Triple faded anodizing silver to blue to
Black and silver dust available more colors coming soon.

•Trinity for adjustable operation pressure.

•The eye also results in more stable performance sense you can run the Xtreme matrix on a slightly higher pressure which results in a less maintenance demanding marker.
Basically less cleaning needed and the marker becomes more reliable

•The Xtreme Eye/Board technology

(taken from thematrixcenter.com)
Product Availability 
The Generation-E NYX Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
DagNasty Thursday, May 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
There aren't too many similar markers as the nyx. Toxic Matrix, LED and LCD's, DM4, DM5
Marker Setup: TriFade NYX, Evolve gold, NYX team board/chip, Dye HyperII, Mini-Trinity, CCM no rise
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt kit for efficiency, a nice barrel kit, a springless CP ROLLER TRIGGER!!!!!!
Strengths: Shoots darts! Eye logic the best eye logic to date. External eyes easily fixed/replaced.
Weaknesses: Low pressure makes it an air hog, it's a bit heavy. Dropoff
Review: The NYX matrix is one of the older matrices that can be placed in a higher performance level like the DM4 and DM5. Sure, the DM series have different milling but performance wise, the NYX can rip with the fastest of them.

Unlike markers with rams that guide a bolt forward and backward, the matrix markers use a spool bolt design. In a nutshell, spool bolt markers cycle using a simple channeled air system to drive the bolt forward and back. The main moving part in the marker is the bolt and it slides along on o-rings encased by the bolt kit. The bolt kit functions to channel air, keep the bolt in place, and provide a stop in both directions for the bolt. So what does all this mean? The most important is that less pressure is needed to move the bolt and fire the ball which leads to less ball breakage. It also means there's little to no kick when set properly. Some people say that matrix markers tend to fire balls in a flatter trajectory which makes the ball less likely curve. I haven't bought into this yet but the NYX shoots darts. simply stated, what you aim at, even a tiny area, is generally hit able in the first few balls fired.

Many matrix markers use an internal eye system. Since one of the features of the old body matrix markers is a removable breech, NYX put the eyes inside the breech. This is both a blessing and a curse, but more of a blessing. The eyes are in the breech and controlled by the board, so naturally a wire is needed. On most matrices the wire runs through the body. On an NYX the wire comes out the front of the breech and snaps into one of the dead air chambers right below and to the right of the breech. That connector allows you to remove the entire breech and eye set and attach a new eye set if needed. You can carry a spare breech and eye set with you to tournaments or games and replacement is a snap. The downside to this, and it happens to every NYX owner, is that a well place paintball from an opponent to the front breech area can knock the connector off. If you're not careful, you will lose your vision (gun vision) until the connector is snapped back on. The eyes on the NYX are made by EGI as is the board. EGI created this marker for the pro team NYExtreme. The eye logic is amazing. Combined with the low pressure this marker can achieve, you would find it very hard to break a ball. From personal experience, I've shot year old paint without a chop, brittle paint in freezing weather without a chop and cheap $14/case paint without a chop. I have not shot many markers that I can the say the same about.

The NYX is an LED so there is no display. board settings are made by adjusting switches on the board itself and pulling the trigger according to a series of blinking lights. The board has many features, most notably is debounce adjustments, anti-bolt stick, and all other functions of high end markers.

The NYX runs off a 9volt battery and the NYX eats them up. You'll need a new one pretty much after every second or third day out. A bad battery will cause all kinds of problems with the marker so have a nice supply available. I also recommend compressed air and q-tips to clean the eyes out when you do get paint in them (not from chops of course, but from your Halo breaking paint and feeding it into the marker).

Bone stock, you'll need a big tank. an 88/4500 might get you 1k shots. With the evolve bolt kit or a similar bolt kit.. you can raise your efficiency to 1500 shots or so. The stock regulators are nothing special but consistent. The detents could be better and you might want to upgrade to Angel detents for more consistent feeding.

This is not your average marker and with a few trigger upgrades and the right debounce settings.. 22-23 BPS is not an exaggeration. The NYX wants to rip, it wants to shoot paint and it wants to not break a ball and it does it all very well. It's not a marker for someone new to the sport. It requires maintenance after every time you use it, you'll need to become intimate with the bolt orings because modifications may be needed (changing oring sizes) to reach peak operation, and all around adjustments are not simple. But it rips, it turns heads, and it feels so darn nice in your hands.. why wouldn't you own one?
Conclusion: Get an NYX if you want to stand out in the crowd, if you like tinkering and fine tuning your performance, if you want to shoot a lot more paint than most people and if you just smile when you're ripping 20bps easily. It's a tournament grade marker and every little bit of it reflects quality craftsmanship.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

446cube Friday, September 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye trix, angels, cockers, all high end guns are the same.
Marker Setup: NYX 68/45, uni. halo
alias, 45/45 uni, halo/revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit
Possibly evolve kit
Strengths: Fast
No broken Paint
Quiet
No Kick
Weaknesses: Efficiency
Weight
Lubing (?) Not really a weakness
Review: Well I bought my gloss black NYX and really enjoyed it. Its fast, never breaks paint, and it looks cool. However, I have just made a deal to sell it. Why? Well, I play mid-front and felt that this gun was too much for me. I wanted to use a 45/45 tank but really couldn't due to its efficiency problems. I also felt that it was a tad heavy for me w/ the halo and a 68/45 tank. Alas, this is a great gun. The evolve bolt kit is supposed to give you 1700 shots a fill and the weight isn't and issue to some people. It seems nowadays the matrix and the timmy are the guns always being compared. I have decided to go w/ an alias and see how it turns out. The real question is whether you like the matrix shooting style or the timmy style. Personal preference; you must try before you buy.
Conclusion: Overall, owning this marker was a great experience. However, it just isn't for me. If you like the matrix, go for it, if not, go for something else. I would give it a 10 but seeing as how I sold it the best I can do is a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

animalaapthy Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Trix
DM4
All kinds of other high end guns
Marker Setup: Alias
CP trigger
CP short reg
total freak
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good barrel is neccesary on any new gun.
Maybe a new higher effeciency bolt kit.
Maybe a new trigger if you feel like it.
Strengths: Fast
Amazingly accurate
Not to hard to use.
Also this gun looks so sexy.
Weaknesses: Heavy
A little more complex to maintain than some other high end guns.
Review: Well I owned an NYX for about a month (I'm a gun whore lol) and it was definately the best Matrix based marker I've ever used (spare the DM4 - 5) This gun comes with the Eggi Board and Eyes right out of the box, and it is amazingly fast. All matrices are accurate due to thier design and this one is no different. Also, it is one of the coolest looking custom team trixes out there, people love the way the NYX looks and you'll certainly get some attention at your field. The only real problems I had with this gun is that being a matrix it takes a little more to maintain it than with some other high end guns, also it is pretty heavy when compared to some of the new guns in its price range like the alias, or a realy nice shocker.
Conclusion: If you want an awesome trix than the NYX is definatley a good choice for you. I'm going to give it an 8, but only because I don't like heavy guns and no gun is perfect.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

danny_eva_01 Sunday, December 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 Vision Shocker, FreeFlow E-cockers, Dye Matrix, WGP Worr-acle
Marker Setup: NYX Matrix #046 Silver Dust, 91/4500 Dye Throttle Preset, Halo B, Powerlyte Scypter Barrel Kit, Custom Products Matrix Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP Trigger for the Matrix
Barrel Kit
Strengths: Eyes
Board
Milling
Weaknesses: None
Review: The gun shoots excellent. Very accurate and precise, and has almost no kick. The price is well worth it, and it is also very stylish. You also do not see many of these markers around so thats another plus if you get one. The anno job is also excellent, no finish problems. The milling is also really cool on the NYX. The punisher skill on top makes this gun look awesome.
Conclusion: Amazing! It never chops paint and it is capable of shooting quite fast.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stickypinecone3 Friday, October 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4
trixes
Marker Setup: nyx
pbc lpr
torpedo reg
stock bolt
ccm neck
egi board and eyes
Recommended
Upgrades:
evolve bolt kit
Strengths: Speed
No kick
Accuracy
Consistancy both chrono and accuracy
Just plain amazing
Buy it
Weaknesses: Not supurb (sp) efficiency with stock bolt
Review: This gun is absolutely amazing. the speed and accuracy of it are just insane. its not heavy..i play front. the eyes are absolutely amazing...i have yet to find something bad with the gun. it is just plain crazy. not many other words to describe how good this gun really is man. it is just awesome.

Buy it now or trade for one. just get one.
Conclusion: My final recommendation is to buy this and buy it quick. they have the new ones but the old ones are becoming more rare. and are just plain amazing.

Atleast try to shoot one and find out how awesome they really are! its just crazzzyy!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jimbosbarbq Saturday, October 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
the only guns that could compare are MAYBE the newer intimidators (alias, russian legion, naughty dogs, atomix, dark timmy) or the newer angels such as the A4 or the Force fly
Marker Setup: Black/Red NYX matrix- C4 mod, shocktech micro drop, Halo B, Nitroduck 68/4500 plasma tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
smoking c4 mod, soda can mod, evolve bolt are popular choices or anything else to increase efficency, thats the only weakness of this gun
Strengths: super high ROF with eye
accuracy is incredible
adjustment is really easy as well
Weaknesses: Efficiency- upgrades can improve this
Weight- work out-quit complaining
Review: This gun is incredible. The speed and accuracy of this gun is out of this world. Coming from an old single trigger autococker, this gun is amazing. I had used a regular gen-E matrix and a dye, they are both good, but the looks and performance this gun blow those away. Some people complain about weight, I don't think abuot the weight of the gun in my mind when Im playing and the addrenaline is pumping, if it bothers you that much then lift weights or buy a lighter gun. I would reccomend this gun to anybody interested in buying a highend matrix. Also look into the toxic matrix as well.
Conclusion: The advantages of this gun blow away the easy solvable "disadvantages" Any serious paintball player should buy one of these, it will make you play better, period.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 4:05 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

shorty242 Monday, April 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used an angel 4 fly and an angel speed 05 and they can rip nice and they are very light but the matrix movies them all away
Marker Setup: 04 matrix nyx i have the masachi chip the new triger the dye grip and a dye ultralight berral
Recommended
Upgrades:
need a new trigger and a good grip
Strengths: Light, accurate, fast
Weaknesses: Pretty big
Review: This gun it really rips. the trigger is really sensitive it is has a blue color and a black color with a skull on the top it looks really cool. it is a light gun and easy to move with and very accurate also the eyes never let a ball chop in the gun.
Conclusion: You should really think about buying this gun it cost alot but its worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintpumper Friday, September 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
all other guns i have owned (ecocker), are dirt to this gun
Marker Setup: Nyx 2k4
sys x drop on/off
halo b
cp roller trigger
freak kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
anything to increase the efficiency (bolt kit, whatever)
Strengths: No kick
Very accurate
Easy to walk
Light
Looks cool
No chops
Weaknesses: only think i can complain about is the air usage. This thing sucks air
Review: this gun is the best gun i have shot so far, and needs little upgrades for a killer setup. the eyes have never failed me and the reg is consistent. I like how adjustable everything is, plus how simple it is. i give it a ten because the air efficiency can be fixed with an evolve bolt kit and an scm. But really, in terms of performance, you don't need any upgrades. its just preference. I give it a ten because it's perfect for me.ME
Conclusion: If you want a good marker that is reliable and won't let you down, then get this one. But if you need to shoot a lot in a game (over 1200) then u may want to consider a different, more air efficient marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dcowboy520 Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
normal generation-e matrixs, impulses, cockers
Marker Setup: impulse, 14 inch freak system, equalizr bolt, new dezigns low rise clamp feed, new dezigns lpr, new dezignsback cap, new dezigns ball detents, new dezigns magnetic blade trigger, new dezigns flame eye gaurd, vision eye, max flow, dead on drop foward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
definitly a drop foward
Strengths: -Fast
-Accuarte
-Looks freaking nice
Weaknesses: Only problem in its gas efficentcy.
Review: This gun is freaking awsome and if you want a matrix this is the one. Its my friends but ii've used it alot. This gun could change the pase of any game. I feel that this is the best matrix out there and i have used the dye ones. They dont compare.
Conclusion: Generation-e makes the best matrixs and this is there top of the line.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PILMAN Sunday, August 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech Matrix - Works similar.
Marker Setup: Blue NYX Matrix #386, image bolt kit, cp inline, pbc lpr, image bolt kit, egi board, Musashi 3 (M3) chip, Dye Ultralite Barrel, Crossfire 68 4500 tank LP, CP roller trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao Chip, AKA Regulator, Evolve bolt kit, Musashi 3 chip
Strengths: VERY fast out of the box, easy mantinence, beautiful milling
Weaknesses: A bit pricey, somewhat a gas hog.
Review: Lets see since I'm the first person to really review this on pbreview. I bought this gun after I was recommended by some people at Navarre to get it. I was looking to get into matrixs because someone at the field had a shocktech matrix and I loved how it shot. First off the perfomance, the performance of this gun is beautiful!!! It shot like a dream, this thing is so easy to rip especially with the debounce settings, I adjusted the trigger and now have some trigger bounce and I have never been able to rip a gun as easily as the NYX Matrix. The operating pressure is pretty good too. The style, not everyone likes the old style matrixs but not everyone likes space guns like the DM4 either. It looks like a old school matrix with a sexy sleek punished logo milled in. This is very comparable to a DM4 and cheaper. I've been told the Tadoa chip in the NYX is much faster than the DM4 but I am not sure my self as I have never tried it but both use the EGI board. Mantinence was a bit difficult at first for me but I didn't really know what I was doing but now that I have had this gun for a while it's pretty easy, every game I pull out the bolt and lube the orings and everythings good pretty much.
Conclusion: Everything is great about this, I can't give any complaints on the NYX as the only problems I have had really were user error. Now that I've learned more about the NYX I give this 10/10. Pick one up if your looking for a nice NYX matrix.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 27th, 2005 at 10:39 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media