paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Real Action Paintball RAP4 / Real Action Paintball RAP4 / Real Action Paintball RAP4 / Real Action Paintball RAP4

Real Action Paintball RAP4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Real Action Paintball

Buy Real Action Paintball RAP4

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Real Action Paintball RAP4
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 6.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $499

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first real action paintball marker that is identical to the legendary M4 rifle used by SWAT Teams and the U.S. Military. The RAP4 shoots 40 or 43 caliber paintballs wrapped in metal or plastic shells. The RAP4 automatically ejects the

shells in rapid-fire succession just like a real M4 rifle. There are two types of ammunition: metal-shelled and plastic-shelled (for environment protection the plastic shells are biodegradable ).

Although the RAP4 is an automatic paintball marker, it only uses 1.5 joule to launch a 0.029 oz. projectile a distance of 33 meters. With this power, the RAP4 can be fired 50 times with only 0.4 oz of CO2. RAP4's Co2 cylinder is ingeniously hidden inside the butt stock. The RAP4 is a marvel of engineering!

The world's first paintball marker designed like a real assault rifle. Features include:


Adjustable for semi or fully automatic fire

Shell casing ejected after each shot.

Clip fed 20 rounds magazine.

Low pressure or steady pressure launch
Gas exhaust through flash hider-type muzzle
Low gas consumption
Can be fully submerged in water without harm.
Velocity 250 to 450 fps (adjustable)
Simple to operate & easy to maintain

The RAP4 allows you to enjoy War Games like never before! It looks and feels like a REAL M4 military assault rifle. Casings are ejected out the side in rapid-fire succession just like a real M4 rifle! Safely experience the excitement and heroism of real war combat! This is as REAL as it gets!

Unlike traditional paintball markers that rely on gravity and a hopper for reloading, The RAP4 loads through a bottom-mounted magazine just like a real M4 rifle! This gives users an incredibly "realistic" feeling for War Games and SWAT simulations.

Due to these many outstanding features, the RAP4 is undeniably the best non-lethal assault rifle in the world today. Many branches of the U.S. military and local law enforcement use the RAP4 in their training camps and simulations. The RAP4 is a 1000 times better than a cheap aluminum marker because it is designed and built exactly like a real M4 assault rifle. This makes RAP4 the PERFECT marker for military training, SWAT simulations, and competitive War Games. Best of all,

the RAP4 is extremely safe, highly affordable, and more fun and excitement than anything you've ever experienced

Product Availability 
The Real Action Paintball RAP4 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Stan_the_HitMan Monday, September 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months47 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have never used a similar marker line to these.
Marker Setup: I own a store.
Recommended
Upgrades:
More Magazines.
Strengths: Most realistic paintball gun ever made at this time. Period
Weaknesses: Smaller size paintballs
Review: So I managed to get my hands on one of the notorious 43 cal shooting rap4’s. I had heard many mixed opinions about them, but I will try to remain as unbiased as possible and just review it.

First off no other marker I had shot up to this point had used .43 cal, or expelled a shell for that matter, so it was interesting.

I will break this review down into 5 categories (Looks and cosmetics, Features/special attributes, Shooting and related, Air and related, and Durability and maintenance), each with a potential of two points to be given or taken away.


-<LOOKS>-

At a glance it is impossible, and mean impossible unless you are a ballistics expert, to tell the rap4 from the real M4. The manufacturer (Asian paintball supply) paid great attention to detail. It is a 1 to 1 model.
+1

Everything on it has some depth to its design instead of being pointless or just a plastic piece (which there is very few of, this marker is almost 100% metal) For example the bolt assist on a T68 is a piece of plastic, on the rap4 they at least make it a spring button. The cocking lever opens the shutter door, and all of the buttons basically do what they would have done on the real thing only they are adapted to a paintball marker.
+1

Now before you start screaming “ It looks to real, people are going to think bad things about paintball!” you must first take into consideration that these markers were intended for police and military training, they are only sold for paintball sports on the side. They are a Tool and then a Toy, in that order, not the other way around.

2/2

-<FETURES / SPECIAL ATTRIBUTES>-

They key thing to the rap4 is its realistic operation.

Each .43 caliber paintball is put into an alloy or biodegradable shell. Each shell is put into a spring fed magazine that holds 20 shells. The magazine is loaded into the marker basically exactly the same as the real M4. When the gun is shot the ejection arm in the chamber pushes the spent shell out making a realistic shell expel effect, and if you are using the alloy shells it makes a cool “ting” sound on the floor, ground, or what have you.
+1

Just like the real thing it has a Mode selector switch with SAFTE, SEMI, and AUTO modes. Fully automatic rate of fire and velocity were adjusted by two parallel set screws inside the body. Fully auto was adjustable between 1 and what must have been 20 bps at its highest setting. I liked to keep it down around 10-14 for a more realistic rate of fire. Velocity was adjustable between 250 and 360 fps (couldn’t quite get it to 400).
The iron sights were 100% authentic with small and large peep holes and wind adjustment.
The marker utilized the bolt free operation so chopping was physically impossible.
Co2 tank is hidden in butt stock.
METS system makes the gun stop cycling if the mag is empty saving you gas and making it more realistic.
+1

2/2

-<SHOOTING AND RELATED>-

First thing that happens when you shoot this gun: a shell comes out the side. Now that is cool. Second thing you will notice is the ball is .43 cal, and unless you are shooting at 400 feet per second it does not have the same range as a .68 cal, meaning unless your field makes acceptations for smaller caliber speed limits you are tactically ineffective and will have to rely on skill instead of firepower ( oh no!) unless of course you are playing against other .43 cal markers.
-1

The accuracy was pretty good, all shots at a target at 50 feet were within a 1 foot group in semi, in fully auto it was usually a 2-3 foot group.


Reloading was very cool, you just press the mag release button and put a new one in.
Unfortunately it is a big hassle to put each ball into a shell and each shell into a clip, it is the price you pay for wanting the most real marker you can get, it comes with all the fun things the real one has, and all of the strenuous boring things to.
-1


0/2


-<AIR AND RELATED>-

Many people ask me “Where does the tank go on that gun?” and I point to the butt stock. The co2 tank is a reliable 45 or 60 gram co2 with a built in on off. These tanks are low profile and fit into either a collapsible stock or solid stock concealing it from sight. I use a 45 gram, the efficiency of the rap4 is good enough to propel 6 magazines worth of paint, roughly 120-140 shots per 45 gram. There really is no need to walk on the field with more than 6 mags, but if you feel there is you can always get the 60 gram which can probably put out 10-12 mags.
+1


Consistency was about + - 10 in full auto, which is good for unregulated co2 at high rates of fire. VERY good.
+1


2/2

-<DURABILITY AND MANTINENCE>-

The maker field strips just like a real m4 with no tools. This makes it simple to clean and maintain. It is allot like a Tippmann in the since that it will work every time you screw the tank in if you keep it clean and oiled and don’t screw with it.
+1

IT is built of pretty much the same exterior materials as a real m4, if it is durable enough for the military it is durable enough for me. Everything is either metal or high impact plastic ( handle, stock housing, ect).
+1


2/2
Conclusion: This is a one of a kind line of markers. For military training or scenario play I recommend them above all others for looks and function. For woods ball with friends on the weekend you are better off saving money and buying an A5 and a high pressure air tank for half the price.

In short they are the coolest, but at a price.

8/10
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 19th, 2006 at 5:04 am PST
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

Mogley Thursday, October 28th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year18 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Tippman A5
Marker Setup: Real Action Marker LE Version
Recommended
Upgrades:
LE upgrade for v3 and v4 markers.
Strengths: Exact 1:1scale replica, no other marker is this real. Not armotch, at4, sim4, none.
Weaknesses: Uses .43 cal paintballs made by nelson, some fields wont allow .43.
Review: This is the M4 Ram v4 LE with single shot and full auto modes. For those out there looking for the most realistic markers these cant be beat. So real swat and military orginazations prefer to train with this marker. NO HOPPERS!!!!! This uses real 21 round magazines loaded with paintballs in shell casings that eject when fired and that must be reloaded to provide the real wargame experience. I personally have owned the v4 marker, and now I just bought the latest version of this marker the LE. This new version addresses flaws with the original versions. Has 400fps and as accurate and as much range as a Tippman A5. Capable of 13bps on full auto, and the bps is adjustable.
Conclusion: Great marker for those looking for realistic 1:1 scale replicas. The LE version now puts the range and accuracy in the same range as a Tippman A5.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 28th, 2004 at 5:43 pm PST
I found this review  
27 Comments - Add Comment

GUNFIGHTER9 Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months16 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: RAM, Red Dot Site, .43 barrel, Two mags, mag cinch
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't buy one get an AT-4
Strengths: The RAM is an extremely realistic Marker, is select fire, and runs off magazines.
Weaknesses: Poor quality, magazines not reliable, not allowed on most organized fields, limited selection of paint
Review: On initially receiving the RAM, I was impressed by the overall realism of it. If it was not for the brass ring on the CO2 tank and the orange muzzle it would be an exact copy. Unfortunately that is where the markers pro's stop. First off upon taking it out of the box, I noticed that the barrel was very loose and required quite a bit of disassembly to tighten. Next I inspected the magazines, and found that one of them broke after only being wound a couple of times. The magazines have a spring that is coiled around a guide wire that is made up of what appears to be thick fishing line. This line snapped in two, which makes the magazine useless. I was going to test range and accuracy, but I was shipped the wrong barrel, by the dealer RAP4.COM. Attempting to dry fire the marker was problematic at best. It would either not fire, or fire continuously, and no amount of adjustment seemed to rectify the problem. I contacted the dealer about fixing the barrel issue and was told to ship it back to them at my expense. Additionally the paint I did receive seemed to be brittle and of low quality since I had numerous breaks when I opened the boxes they were in.
Conclusion: Overall the RAM is a great looking marker, but looks don't eliminate the other team. Its appearance is hampered by a lack of performance, and quality. Service by the dealers is also a big issue, and very lacking. The magazines are frail, and are heavy even when empty. Their low capacity of 20 rounds will create the need to carry a large number of them to maintain any sort of long term play. Though I did not get to range test mine, other reviews from the RAP4.COM forum run rampant with players being able to hit out to only 40 or 50 feet with any accuracy. The .43 and .40 caliber paint these markers run on is not accepted at most fields, and must be purchased at the dealer, so buy in bulk or you'll be waiting a week to go play while your paint is shipped to you. Since what attracts people to the ram is the lack of a hopper I would suggest getting a AT-4 which also runs off magazines. I would suggest this only if you want an expensive tinker toy.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 27th, 2007 at 10:07 pm PST
I found this review  
46 Comments - Add Comment

Fearthesheep Friday, November 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Eradicator
Ariakon Sim-4
Armotech WG-365
tournament markers don't compare
Marker Setup: MacDev Sonic
70/45 CF Nitro
rail on/off
empire reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
60g tank
preference things
Strengths: Very Realistic
Good for Mil-Sim
Weaknesses: Not a tournament marker
.43/.40 cal
Review: my friends and i used a few of these for some mil-sim scenario fun as a break after a tourny, and they were awesome. Extremely realistic, i am personally rather interested and have much experience with real weapons, such as the m4 and i do not believe that the real weapon image shold mix with tourny paintball, but if that's what you're into, this rocks. it loads fast, shoots fast enough, the barrel matches well, and it feels very sturdy in your hand. the bad thing is that .43 paint does not exist outside rap dealers.
Conclusion: I'd say get it if you're into scenario and mil-sim.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

fox4 Sunday, March 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98C, A5, Spyders
Marker Setup: Rap4 LE, 12 magazines
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, Do not purchase this marker, use your money on something slightly less cool looking but actually will shoot well and provide you with a fun paintball experience.
Strengths: Looks great- that's it.
Weaknesses: Poor quality, expensive paintball/shell combo, expensive magazines
Review: This gun is absolutely the most realistic thing you can purchase and is undoubtedly the reason some people are duped into purchasing it. The marker itself is about $450, but by the time you buy enough gas canisters and magazines to bring 200 rounds into a battle you will easily have $1000 into it. Save your money and purchase something a bit less real looking but actually practical.

The smaller caliber paintballs are only available from one source, are useless in woods ball, and are far too cumbersome to use. The ball must first be loaded into a shell, then placed into a magazine one by one. You can only fit 20 in a magazine and if you remove the magazine before it is empty 4 rounds fall out of it wasted.

The effective range of this caliber paintball is not even close to a .68 caliber. It's muzzle energy is almost half that of a .68, so there is no way you can penetrate any kind of brush. This is not a function of the gun, but the shear physics of a smaller paintball. Don't believe the hype on the manufacturer's website. The paint also seems quite brittle as barrel breaks were common.

I was under the impression that the quality and durability would be similar to an actual AR15. Not even close.... this is a cheap made in China knock off. It feeds the rounds into the gun very fast and the shells getting ejected are very realistic, but the whole thing is so complicated that we had a malfunction the first time out. The second time out, some of the thin aluminum frame broke.

The manufacturer only gives you 7 days to return the gun for a refund... I know why now- they would get almost every one back if they really stood behind this product.



Conclusion: Do not believe the great videos and text on the website. This might be OK for a military or police dept. that wants to look real cool, but for anyone that wants to enjoy the sport of paintball this will be a complete waste of their money.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

Atm8827 Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon E, Black Dragun, Tippmans (all kinds), Autococker, Angel
Marker Setup: Rap4, Bilevel mount, Red dot scope, Laser Sight, Shell Catcher, Fake Silencer, basically all the goodies
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, you really don't need anything else but the shell catcher, i put everything else on for looks. You want the shell catcher so you don't have to pick up all the shells.
Strengths: Most realistic, same accuracy and range as all other guns (LE version)
Weaknesses: Make sure you get a shell catcher, they are a pain to pick up
Review: Good points- Shoots the same as all other markers eventhough it is a .43 caliber, Its insanely accurate and fast. SUPER realistic, i have handled the real m4, and the only difference is it shoots paintballs, if someone just walked up to it and saw it, they would have no idea that it wasn't a real gun. The thing i love most about this gun is the clips, I've used all other kinds of paintball guns, everything from tippman to angels, and thats all fun and stuff, but i got sick of it. So I decided to go into milsim. I tried the at4, it was extremely expensive, not worth the money, it was a great gun but just not worth it. The Tippman A5 is also a great gun, but doesn't use a clip. So for being realistic it IS the closest thing to it. I also love the air tanks, they are small and with a 1.4 ounce i can get about 120 shots off of it. I wonder how many shots i could get if i used a remote line with nitro, i might try it. Just make sure that when you buy this gun, you buy the paint in the bottles, it is slightly larger and doesn't break like the kind that comes with the gun.


Weakness- Well, i got this gun from a guy on ebay, and from the very moment i had problems with it. I think the guy accidently did something to the gun and messed it up, so i ordered another one and got it in and it works great now. But with the first one, it chopped balls, air leaked, everything that could go wrong with the gun did. But the new one works great now.
Conclusion: Overall, this is the most realistic paintball gun i have ever used, probably why the military and police train with it. I highly recommend this gun if you are getting into milsim, just don't use it on an airfield, u'll get slaughtered (i've tried it, managed to get about 4 people out of a total of 5 games. This gun is excellent, highly durable, realistic, and accurate, just make sure you get the good paint. The only thing i didn't like about it, was that when something was wrong with the first gun i had, it was a pain in the ass to fix.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

WarlockMercer Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trracer, Stingray 2, Tippman 98
Marker Setup: RAP 4 LE with RIS sight rail, red dot sight, shell catcher. Other than that, stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: It looks amazing. That's ALL there is to this gun.
Weaknesses: Velocity, durability, customer service. See below.
Review: I'm editing this due to comments made (correct comments) about this marker and it's review.
This weapon simply looks awesome. It's the most realistic looking marker on the field. But, that's about all it has to give you. Looks. Kind of like a stripper in a dark bar. Looks great. Turn on the lights, run for your life.
The marker. Cheap metal. Low grade aluminum, easily dented or damaged. Actually had a piece break off the charging handle. Pulled the charging handle, and *snap* came off a piece. Now the handle's useless. Poor O rings, damage easily and strip themselves if you try to work with them.
Now, I had ordered a RAP 4, they sent me a RAP 4 LE. When I spoke to the techies at RAP4 before purchasing, I was told yes, it'll fire under 300fps. Which is where the fun began.
Customer service. Oh, I forgot...WHAT customer service. I contacted the company about several issues. The broken part, the velocity, the cheap stock. Know what I was told? Buy the replacement part even though it's the same cheap POS they sent you, buy an upgraded stock since they didn't send a quiality one in the first place, buy a new core even though they sent me the wrong one in the first place. Generally ignorant people with little or no customer service skills. For what they charge for thier markers, you'd think they'd have people with some people skills. Guess what...no. Sure, they were peaches and cream with me until they got my money. Then it was "what, give service? are you kidding? hahahahahaha" all the way to the bank. I asked specifically...can the marker have the velocity brought down to about 260-280fps. I was told flat out...yes it can. It can be brought to as low as 200fps. Lie. I couldn't believe it either. When you pay $700.00 for a mechanical marker, you'd think they'd tell you the truth. Suprise!!
Conclusion: If you're buying a marker, DO NOT buy this cheap POS. It's not worth it. It's WAY over-priced, the marker itself is a piece of junk, the customer service sucks.
The bottom line is this....spend the money on a suicide kit instead. Because after dealing with RAP4.com you're going to need it.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 at 4:23 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Forgotten4Ever Tuesday, June 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty Much Every Scenario Gun There Is....
(TIppmanns, Airsoft, ATS, RAMs, & Some Spyders)
Marker Setup: RAP RAM-4 LE A1, 5 Magazines, 1 45g Cylinder, 1 60g Cylinder, Tactical Sling, Commando Birdcage Muzzle, Shell Catcher.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Do Not Get Anything Below The LE Versions!!!
Your Marker Comes Stock With A 45g Cylinder, Get A 60g To Be Safe!!!
Get 5-10 Clips, 5 Is Fine, Just Be Conservative!!!
Buy A Shell Catcher, It Saves Money And Hastle!!!
Strengths: Some Accuracy
Very Compact
Clip Fed
Select Fire
CO2 Powered
Shells!
Weaknesses: Poor Build
.43 Cal. Ammo
Expensive
Low Range
Again, Poor Build
Review: Ok, The Marker Is Full Metal, Very Durable, Very Stable. Shoots Straight And Dead-On At About 50 Feet Max. You'll Hardly Use Auto In An Open Field Skirmish, But When Your Team Is Contorolling Over 60% of The Field, And You Need To Get Up On The Enemy, The Auto Is There For You. The Forward Asist, Bolt Release And Cocking Handle Don't Actually Do Anything (The Handle Opens The Ejection Port For Shell Release) But They All Move Stable. The Rifle Weighs Almost As Much As The Real One When Fully loaded, So Mil-Sim Is Somewhat True To Life. And The Shells Are Very Cool When Playing In A Place Where You Dont Have To Collect Them, Or you just have alot of them. The Paintball Break A Little Tuffer, But Work Well Enough In CQB. Been Using My RAP4 LE For About 2 Months And Have Had Several Problems of Velocity Adjustment And Accuracy, The Gun Is Not An Open-Field Skirmish Gun! Use Only For CQB!
Conclusion: This Is A Good In-Door Training Gun, But Complicated Core Breakdown, Not That You Need To Do It. Not Very Reliable As The Mags Release Ammo Un-Willingly And Somtimes It Will Misfire And You Need To Tild The Upper Receiver To Adjust A Little Pin. Better Than E-Markers And More Compact Than Most PB Guns. Only Get It As A CQB Primary, I Must Stress This!
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 14th, 2005 at 2:57 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

silent_kill1 Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Tippman A5, Akrion SIM 4, AT-4, T68, T16

My RAM is better, and more realistic than all of these
Marker Setup: M4 RAM METS, 11 magazines, G27 First Samco pistol grip, C33 handuard, Holographic red dot on handguard, Forward grip with rubber slip, 2-6x 30mm scope on carry handle, OD sling.

RAP17
Recommended
Upgrades:
More magazines, or Co2 canisters if you do not go remote.
Strengths: Realistic
Accurate
Intimidating
Low profile
High BPS
Weaknesses: Durability
Review: I have had my RAM for a little over 2 years now, and let me tell you it is the best marker I have ever shot/owned. T

he customer service for RAP4 is great and the owner KT will help you out in any way possible.

Whenever I go to my field all I get is questions about it, and comments about how people want to be on my team. There is a big intimidation factor with this gun.

The ejecting shells are wonderful, but I recommend a shell catcher if you will be sniping. Because there is no hopper, you don't have to worry about those annoying hopper shots, or your hopper giving away your position.

The RAM also has a VERY high rate of fire IF adjusted correctly. I can get my marker up to 26 BPS per second. I consider that extremely fast for a low end mechanical marker.

I do not recommend it for speedball though. The mags only hold 21 rounds, and the gun and load out is a bit heavy.

Let's talk about the accuracy. This is one of the most accurate markers I have ever shot, and with 7 years of paintballing experience, I think I know accuracy. When prone I get head shots on my man shaped target at distances of 150'. The balls do get blown around a bit on a windy day, but when its a nice day out, this thing is STELLAR. That is once you get it tuned right. Most people don't take the time to tune it.

Another thing I like about this gun, is that it can be submerged in water, and still shoot perfectly. The paintballs are another matter, use 'em quick before they swell up.




BAD THINGS

Reliability: Lets just say when I first got mine, it was like a school lunch. It looked good on the outside, but on the inside it was just crap. I sent it to get repaired 3 times, and had many problems outside that, that I fixed on my own. This thing is a hassle to tune once you first get it. It takes a lot of tinkering and patience, but once you get it, boooyyy do you get it.
Conclusion: I would not trade my RAM for any other marker in the world. It may be a hassle when you first get it, but keep with it, and you will be VERY pleased with the results.

One final not, a lot of fields do not like the different caliber paint, but if you just show up, they are usually so stunned by the looks and operation of it, that they let you play anyways.

It gets a 9 out of 10 because of the durability.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 13th, 2006 at 3:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pcooke Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
T16 - very simlar but does not used cased paintballs.
T68 - Hopper feed milsim marker. I like the the mags. Giant hoppers of paint just don't work for me.
Marker Setup: I have 3.
All basic setup. I have used both the standard core and the upgraded LE core.
BSA reddot and other tactial sights.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You need at least 3 mags, preferrably closer to 12.
Have a walkie talkie, with boom mike or throat mike. Stay in touch with your team mates.

The LE is a great upgrade, adds greater distance and accuracy. However be careful, the LE fires 325fps-450fps. I have seen my chrono as high as 480. I am upgrading to the New METS non LE core when it comes out. (capable of going below 300fps)
Strengths: realistic, releiable, Solid, cool accessories,
Weaknesses: Many fields will not allow .43.
Windage
mag change, 20rds per mag
Review: I love them, I'll step out on any field with them any time. They are made extrealy durable, some seem to require continual futs-ing with. I think of them as old harley's, once you get it tuned don't mess with it. I was able to use mine for over a year just hosing it off. Generally all I do is hose them off and occassionally add a little oil.

The .43 round having less mass than a .68 round is more prone to windage. If you live in
a windy area expect your balls to be blown all over the place.

I find the biggest disadvantage when facing a standard marker is that my opponent steps out on the field with over 500 rounds My mag has 20 rounds per mag, carying 9 mags gives me 180 rounds. Changing mags take time that someone could be charging me. Statically more paint is flying in my direction than I can put in the opposite. I enjoy the challenge of using my brain to use teamwork and use cover and concelament effectivlely. Usually I am out gunned, but hey I am out for fun.

The LE version is geared for 350-450fps and this higher velocity allows the LE a greater accuracy. a few fields recognize that the .43 paintball is not a .68 and will allow the higer muzzle velocity of an LE(law enforcment) core. Currently civilians are now allowed to buy the LE version. I am finding that on private fields I can use my LE core, on commercial fields I have to swap cores to a non-le version.


Oh yes I find being hit by the .43 hurts less than a .68 round, but leaves more visible bruises.
Conclusion: If you are interested, try to find a rap4 owner in your area. Try it. These markers are for some people not others. Physically putting one in your had and firing a mag or 2 will tell you if this marker is for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media