paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev MatchStik 7 Piece Barrel Kit / MACDev MatchStik 7 Piece Barrel Kit / MACDev MatchStik 7 Piece Barrel Kit

MACDev MatchStik 7 Piece Barrel Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev MatchStik 7 Piece Barrel Kit

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev MatchStik 7 Piece Barrel Kit
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new improved MatchStik kits are now available in AutoCocker (Cyborg) threads only. A combination of improved internal surface finish, small dimensional changes and an all new superslick finish combine to make the new MatchStik the best all round barrel available today. The new MatchStik 7 piece kit comes in a convenient padded carry bag.
Product Availability 
The MACDev MatchStik 7 Piece Barrel Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Eyecare Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All sorts of barrels
Marker Setup: Current primary marker is an '04 Viking
Recommended
Paintballs:
Always use the freshest paintballs you can find
Strengths: Competitively priced for the set. You can mix and match.
Weaknesses: The porting starts a bit early for my tastes on the shorter extensions.
Review: First off, this is just my initial impression as I just got the barrel set today and won't be able to test it for a couple of weeks. I've owned a few barrels in my lifetime so I have a basis for comparison. I just can't tell you how it shoots yet.
Pics of my barrels are here: (just cut and paste)
http://community.webshots.com/album/75671561Qqiivm

I decided to get this to complement my newly aquired '04 Viking. MacDev makes nice HPA systems as well as a nice gun. After reading their ad about their special coating I though this barrel system might have some of the advantages of the Longbow at a cheaper cost. I inspected the barrels after receiving them and was initially disappointed by what appeared to be finishing marks inside the barrels and the control bores didn't appear to be particularily shiny. There was also an anodizing defect on the outside of one of the control bores. Other than that the whole system was nicely packaged in a foam carrying case and looked good. After a quick run through with a barrel swab the internal finish looked much shinier and the previously mentioned finishing marks all but disappeared. There appeared to be some wavyness of the underlying metal inside the barrel but I'm presuming their "HDP superslick finish" covers this up. I could view paintballs reflected into the barrel and the image appeared relatively sharp which I'm taking to be a good sign.

The MatchStik 7 piece kit contains four bores and three tips (0.685", 0.687", 0.689", 0.693" bores and 12", 14" and 16" tips). The control bore measures a tad over 6" in length and the porting on the 12" and 14" tips (on the assembled barrel) starts at around 7" while the 16" starts at closer to 9". The extension screws on the control bore and utilizes a rubber o-ring. It's not clear how much of a gap exists between the control bore and extension once the two halfs are mated. It appears seemless when looking from the control bore end but there may be a small gap when looking in from the other end. There is some debate as to whether a no o-ring mating system is better or worse than one with o-rings. The proof is going to be in how well it shoots and how easy it is to clean when ball breaks occur. The early porting of the 12" and 14" should make for a quieter sound signature (as compared to barrels of the same length with porting starting further up). We'll see how these work over the chronograph and at the target range.

(EDIT)

I tried out the different barrel lengths last weekend. They shoot nicely enough. No ball breaks. I did break one ball on purpose and it self cleared after only a few shots. It's quieter than my Powerlight and lighter as well. I didn't see a significant difference in ball placement (accuracy) though.
Conclusion: For around $140 or so you can get yourself a decent barrel system that has a good selection of control bores and tips sizes. The real advantages of this barrel set are that it clears quickly, is light and fairly quiet, and it gives you a good selection of barrel lengths and bore sizes to choose from. If you're looking for your first barrel set or if you're not happy with what you have now this should be one of the choices you consider.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 11th, 2005 at 10:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trevypoo42 Wednesday, December 15th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic, Empire 10 Peice Kit, and.. Smart Parts Progressive.
Marker Setup: -2004 Pro Stock Autococker. - Pewter -.
-MACDev Matchstick 7 Peice Barrel Kit.
-Halo B with Rip Drive.
-Shocktech: Bomb 3-way
-Shocktech: Supafly Bolt.
-Pure Energy: 48/3000.
-System X: On/Off.
-Macroline.
Recommended
Paintballs:
ZAP Tork.. these babys shoot AMAZING with this barrel..
Strengths: -Barrel is nice looking.
-Good Porting and Quiet.
-Lines up very well.. and seals well.
Weaknesses: -Not the quickest to squeedge...
Review: Strenths..
-Good Porting and Quiet, (not as quiet as the J&J Ceramic, but it comes close)

Weaknesses..
-not the quickest to squeedge... you kinda need to pull the paint out .. then swab it out.. so its clean again. (Clean were the barrels meet)
-Would be nice to see a 10 peice... with 4 fronts and 6 backs.. or 5 fronts.. and make it 11 peice..

I bought this barrel kit souly on a gut feeling... I felt that this barrel would kick ass.. and surely enough.. Its a tad bit MORE then I had expected.. But all and all.. A VERY good barrel for the price.. but it wouls have been nice to have a few more back sizes.. and 18" down to 10" fronts...

And I also forgot to add that.. I got my kit for $210 with tax and shipping included..
Conclusion: For anyone with cocker threads.. Give this barrel a shot.. Maybe .. just test one.. and you'll SEE the diffrence. I did.. and I would recommend this kit to ANYONE with cocker threads..
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 18th, 2004 at 8:51 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

TkD_Freak(WGP) Saturday, September 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 04 Cocker barrel
STO Cocker barrel
Freak Kit
Marker Setup: 04 V/F Cocker with MatchStik barrel kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
umm, anything, the backs will match the bore of damn near any paintballs you can find :D
Strengths: Accuracy, weight, volume - this barrel is damn near a whisper when firing with paint.
Weaknesses: Price maybe, 230 Canadian with taxes, but really, thats not even anything to complain about...
Review: Ok, I got this barrel even when everyone I knew said don't buy a MacDev kit, no one's used em, blah blah blah. Well I'm the one laughin now :D This thing shoots fskin darts at 150 feet plus. The barrel is supremely polished thanks to the HDP compound that MacDev uses and the bores as I said above will give you a perfect paint match no matter what you're shooting (I first tested it with 2 week old open bagged wal-mart zap, and I was blowin away cans at 100 feet). Needless to say, I am impressed.
Conclusion: Absolutely 100% WITHOUT A DOUBT, go out and buy this barrel right now if you have a cocker threaded gun...if not......HAHAHAHAHAHAHA TOO BAD!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Knight19 Saturday, August 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP 2 peice
Marker Setup: B2K4 w/ PDS, SystemX drop foward, HaloB, 45/45 crossy, 14'' matchstick
Recommended
Paintballs:
If you got the kit just match the back to the paint and you should be good.
Strengths: Looks good on my marker.
Quiet.
Accurate.
Weaknesses: Nothing yet.
Review: I do not have a kit all I did was buy a .693 back and a 14" tip. So when I got the UPS box I ripped it open the box and took it outside to shoot it. I was really impressed on how this barrel shot! It was accurate, and quiet! What else could you want? Also this barrel looks good on my bushy. I did not shoot it at the field yet but I should in a few days, and when I do I will edit this with a field review.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel! It's accurate and quiet. I'm happy with this and I don't even have the kit!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 28th, 2005 at 11:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Viva La Dan Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ultralight, doesn't compare at all, freak, shaft, most barrels
Marker Setup: basicly stock quest. Set up is Olive Gen3 Quest, NDZ on-off, Reloader, adn a 68/45
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesn't really matter, to each his own. Some like draxxus, some like cronic, its what evs.
Strengths: Accurcy out the ass, like glass finish, viarability, weight.
Weaknesses: There not sold/ made anymore. Thats teh only weakness I can think of it.
Review: Well i was shooting my quest today, with stock barrel, and it was shooting amazingly accurate for such a wide bore, and bad paint to bore match. But still didn't cut it at all. A friend who owns teh matchstik was done for the day so I decided I'd shoot something that mathces my paint. Found a back that was perfect, screwed it on and went.

My quest has never shot so good in its life. And lane i wanted covered, done. If I wanted to keep someone in the bunker, i could. It was as close to ball on ball acurcy as I've ever seen in 40 degree weather.

Didn't get a single break, not a problem other then I had to give it back in the ed.

Conclusion: If you see one of these for sale, I highly recomend you pick it up ASAP, becasue they are no longer mad, and shoot better then anything i have shot before
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PinkBannanas Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi, and stock barrels
Marker Setup: WGP 04 Prostock w/ e2
turtled
mq valve
WGP "the grip" feedneck
pmi 45/45 and crossy 68/45
halo
MPP ram
CP reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever fits your boresize
Strengths: Quite, good porting, looks good
Weaknesses: Not the lightest, maybe pricey
Review: I love this barrel set. There is nothing that has gone wrong with it. This set looks extremely good. Also its made by those crazy aussie's who make their stuff really well. It is good to have multiple backs and fronts to get a good paint to barrel match, and a good length that you like for different types of play.
Conclusion: Great barrel, I say go for it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AutoSolution Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralite
Armson Stealth
Stock AC barrel
Evil Driver
Marker Setup: Meh, too much stuff to list right now. . .
Recommended
Paintballs:
Depends on weather, as well as what brand.
Xball podium series works well, as goes with most things, the fresher the better.
Strengths: Accurate, accurate, and cool looking?
Weaknesses: Loud, not enough different backs, and doesn't shoot through breaks very well.
Review: I got my 7 piece barrel kit a couple days ago, took it out put it on my 'Cocker and gassed her up. Shot a good 500 rounds through it the first time, broke 5. I blame it on the fact that my 'test' paint is a good year old and brittle as well as dimpled.
If I got 15 rounds that were not messed up in some way, this thing for lack of a better term, shoots darts. I know everyone says such and such a barrel shoots darts, but there's not another way to describe how these things fly. Just imagine Randy Johnson winding up and throwing a steel tipped dart as hard as he could, that's how these things fly. Straight, there's no and I mean NO sway left to right when this thing shoots. Up to down has no flux' either. This barrel is a Randy Johnson. . . . . .

The only problem I have with this barrel is that it seems to be weak in the area of shooting through breaks, and trust me I got a 2+ ball break in the barrel because I short stroked (New pneumatics, I haven't re-timed my 'Cocker yet. . .) I tried to shoot through the paint a couple times to see how it effects accuracy, and actually 1 in 3 balls fly straight as an arrow through the paint. Once I tipped it upside-down and shot, not much paint was cleared, so just carry and 'battle swab' with you and you'll be fine. Or better yet, time your 'Cocker, or just don't chop, and this barrel will carry you to victory. . .
Conclusion: 1) Buy this barrel
2) Buy fresh paint
3) Shoot fools

This barrel is great, it's accurate and the 16'' barrel front quiets the gun a bit, just too unwieldy for my taste. Carry a battle swab, and if you see lines appearing in the front, it's not performance reducing at all. The coating goes over the lines, so they just look like it's scratched. Believe me, it's still as smooth as a babies bottom.

Once I go to the field, I'll edit and post the results. Plus any cool shots that I get, like through a small hole onto some kids face.
XD
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guitarguy Sunday, October 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eclipse shaft solo
smart parts teardrop
ultralight
freak
Marker Setup: Black to red eclipse ego
Star trigger
Matchstik
halo with critical cone
crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: 4 bores
Finish
3 tips
Accuracy
Weight
Price
Weaknesses: Only goes down to .685 (not a big deal)
cocker threads only
Review: These things are beautiful
The finish on the inside of these barrel is so slick. Even with the right bore matchup theres still very little friction. They hardly weigh anything at all. Today I was able to shoot a 2 inch diameter pole from 40+ feet away 15/20 times. These barrels are amazing they're well worth $140. That's $20 a piece. Dye ultralights are $60 a pice and not near as high quality.
Conclusion: Great product from a great company. Shoot great, weigh hardly anything and extremely cheap. Extremely underrated barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChefDragun Sunday, August 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Proto Barrel, Empire 7 Piece Kit
Marker Setup: 05 Virtued Proto Matrix, Hybrid Bolt Guide, JDS LPR, AKA Sidwinder, CP Roller Trigger, Cp Razor Drop with Hybrid Grind, Reloader B with Neophean B, and Crossfire LP 68/4500... oh yeah.... MacDev Matchstick 7 Piece Barrel Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil or Chronic ..... or any other QUALITY paint.....


Strengths: Good alignment.....
Clean looks.....
Good variety in bores and lengths......
Decent case....
Weaknesses: Had really bad luck shooting through breaks..... read below.
Review: Well, if my case of PMI Premium wasn't so badly warped I probably would've had a flawless experience. It only took me a 1/4 case to realize that one in five balls were oblong and or had large flat spots. That paint would jam up in the back of the barrel and then not release.... Try to shoot again and ended up with a stack of lodged balls. Then splat they'd all break...... GIANT MESS!!!!!!!!! Took a complete marker dissasembly to get out all of the paint. And this happened THREE TIMES TODAY!!!!!!! And yes, I did a barrel to paint check a few times.... of course every time I'd pick a random ball or two and the fit would be great..... Just bad luck with that case......
So I bought a seriiously overpriced case of Evil Pro and jeezus.... it was like shooting darts..... I played back to mid most of the day and every game I'd get approached about my setup... The refs too.... guess the combo of a great marker setup, and a steady stream of ropes from the back cans and tombstone was an attention getter. By the end of the day I was asked to try out for their team.

Deadly accurate within resonable ranges (if totally clean)....... 15 out of 20 shots within a 2 inch circle at about 30 feet


Only taking off one point for its lenghty cleaning process......
Conclusion: BUY THESE BARRELS!!!! But only if you are willing to buy quality paint..... I did have great luck with cheaper paint while practicing at home but, when I got the field I think the heat or age became a factor. Just make sure your paint is fresh and you should be fine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

champ28 Friday, July 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock Autococker barrel
Dye Stainless Steel
Marker Setup: 2003 Autococker
WGP Torpedo drop w/ on/off
68/4500 PMI HPA
MacDev 7 pc. Matchstik
Recommended
Paintballs:
any type because it has different bores.
Strengths: Different size bores
Different sized tips
Quiet
Padded Case
Cheap
Accurate
Weaknesses: Control bore(s) a little short for cocker
can't think of anything else
Review: The MacDev Matchstik barrel kit is quite nice. It comes in a padded case and has four different control bores. The sizes are .685, .687, .689, and .693. There are also three different tip lengths that come in 12", 14", and 16". The barrel itself looks nice and smooth and matches my '03 Autococker very well since its black. When comparing this barrel to my stock one, I noticed a change in improvement. The Matchstik is quiet an accurate and can't wait to play with it tomorrow. If you use this barrel for an autococker the control bore is short and get fairly hard to take it off w/ the pneumatics in the front. It is not that hard to take it off, it came off nice and easy with me but it could be different with others. I also noticed marks inside every piece and thought that it had defects, so I let them know. They were very nice and referred me to their supplier close to me. The guy that I went to swapped my kit with a new one and told me that the marks are fine that they are the anodizing contact points. They don't affect the barrel in anyway because MacDev's special coating goes over them and makes everything slick inside. So don't get worried everything is okay.
Conclusion: This product is great for its price compared to the prices of other barrel kits. If the control bore length is important to you then try out the Kaner barrel kit since they have longer control bores that come out past the pneumatics. Either way this barrel is nice and I can't complain about it.

Will update once it sees real action. Gave it a 9 because nothing in life is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 1st, 2005 at 3:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media