paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / The Angel Guy Predator II Mod / The Angel Guy Predator II Mod / The Angel Guy Predator II Mod / The Angel Guy Predator II Mod / The Angel Guy Predator II Mod

The Angel Guy Predator II Mod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount The Angel Guy

Buy The Angel Guy Predator II Mod

Paintball Angel Boards

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


The Angel Guy Predator II Mod
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Monolithic design - Ultra-high quality components used, Professionally assembled in an automated facility, and individually tested to the highest standards in a fully ESD-protected Mil-Spec environment.

Trigger sampled asynchronously - The predator does not "sample" the trigger as other boards do. The instant the trigger is depressed, it leaps into action at the speed of light in less than 200 nanoseconds. If you fired a laser down the field at the same time the trigger was pulled, the predator would begin firing your gun BEFORE the light made it to the player you were about to shoot, nothing is faster.

Power - The predator has a resistance of just .031 ohms. That is less than the copper wire used in any gun.

Current carrying capacity - The Predator can source up to 30 volts at a whopping 37 amps (that's over 1000 watts of power), combined with the near-zero on resistance. Its no wonder the predator can slam a solenoid open faster than any other board. If the wires were thick enough, the predator could start your bling bling sized urban assault vehicle.

Size - fits anywhere, smallest part count of any comparable board but packed with more features, lightest board around.

Upgradeable - as small as it is, it can be reprogrammed at the factory with any new features.

Computer interface - will interface with a PC for fine-tuning of programming (existing board support it, interface cable/software coming soon)

Fire Timings - The Predator II has 18 different internal fire timings for a given rate of fire, which it selects based on 9 separate triggers. These are auto-selected on ashot-by-shot basis to make sure the next shot comes out as fast as possible and un-chopped.

Design and Engineering By KM2 - These are the guys that installed eyes in the Angel over 5 years ago and their technology is still being used in almost all of the super-guns on the market.
Product Availability 
The The Angel Guy Predator II Mod is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
kgbbonecrusher Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock speed board, chaos chip for bushy.
Marker Setup: angel speed, cp reg and 2 piecer, WDP volly clamp and soft face bolt, check it snatch grip, pred 2 board.
Strengths: good quality
good install
REAL EYE COVERS
Weaknesses: Bit pricey, but cheap option
Replaces battery (up and down)
Review: here are your options for ace:
WAS for about 375
Pred 2 for 350
retro for 325 for speed board, or 400 for fly board
you can get ace installed for cheaper from someone who isnt WDP certified, or try to do it yourself, but I am just listing WDP certified installs.
I personally believe that pred is the best option. First off, you recieve top of the line care with your gun. They told me my gun would be in the shop for two weeks, three weeks later (shipping.. ugh) its at my door, a day early for that matter. The gun shot fast in the first place, and what they have done to it should be illegal. They give you a sweet sweet board, break beam eyes, professional install, professional quality, and a wonderful warranty. True, this mod voids your WDP warranty, but if you have had your gun for over a year, or buy used, you really shouldn't care about that anyway. The eye logic is wonderful in the board, and it is a VERY clean install. They also fully service your angel. They clean it entirely, and replace every oring in the gun.
the price is the only downfall. However, it is almost the cheapest mod, and is only 25 more than the retro speed from WDP. However, you get your board and battery back from TAG, so you can sell it. I am selling my speed board for about 60, so that drops the price (for me) to 290.
programming the board is very easy. I was scared at first, but it is rather simple, and you can't really break it so long as you know how to set it back to default.
Also, unlike WAS, you get real eye covers. I feel that the WAS looks horribly tacky, and home done. I do not want any type of epoxy on my gun, and that was another reason I went with pred.
my only real beef with it is that it replaces the stock angel battery. This is NOT a performance downgrade, but I simply liked the rechargable battery. However, it can have its ups. the battery can take 3 hours to charge. If for some reason you have a dead battery at a tournament, you are pretty much screwed. However, with a 9v, just stick another one in. They both have their ups and downs, I just think I would have preffered the stock battery.
Conclusion: There really is no reason not to buy this gun. The install is very professional and clean, and their customer service is one of the best I have dealt with. It may be a lot of money up front, but think of it this way: go buy a nice used LCD for say 400-450, pred it for 350, and that gun can compete with alias's, shockers, timmies, FS's, etc. or, skip the middle man and buy a pred'ed angel used. They can get rather low, such as 700 for a pred'ed speed, or 8ish for a pred'ed A4. This is the best electronics upgrade I have ever used or seen.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

toon Thursday, December 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WAS equalizer in my old Timmy
Marker Setup: -Angel speed, Pred II board, ND volumizer, check-it low rise, Halo B (v-35), CP & dye barrel kits, MD conquest.
-Angel dark LCD, Pred II board, with other bits and pieces
Strengths: Fast, proper working anti-chop system, small, light, fast, 9 volt operation, fast.
Weaknesses: People are starting to hear about it and everyone wants one.
Review: Once upon a time I was on the market looking for a new marker. I came upon Bob's website to see what goodies he had to sell. He didn't sell any more new markers but had come up with a small board that was to give a new least on life to my markers. After a few phone calls, my markers are boxed up and headed his way. After a few phone calls and Bob's team jumping thru hoops to meet my time requirements, Bob has worked his magic and presented me with 2 very different 'new' markers.

Product:
Excellent. Fast. Small making it installable on almost any electro marker available. 9 volt battery saves charging hassles, very fine adjustment allowable, fast bootup. No sampling crap, it just waits for you to fire. Chops are a thing of the past. Pretty professionally built.
Service:
These guys know what they're doing. I was on a very tight schedule to have 2 markers predatored within 3 days and the team at TAG came thru. These guys have my respect.
Conclusion: Worth every penny. Don't need no kung-fo mongkey bone moves when you have the pred II to spank some primate butt.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Majinebz Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder T-board. Only custom board I have tried since this.
Marker Setup: Spyder Gothic with one kit (with this board it rips like a timmy!)
Osiris Autococker
Strengths: Small, fast, reliable, ACE!!, works on any marker! (almost)
Weaknesses: The price. (139.00) Soldering
Review: Very very small board, it is about 1/2 inch wide at most and 1 1/2 inch long. It will fit almost any spot in your trigger frame. Includes a complete wire up harness and easy instructions to install and use. Can use dual solinoids or a intellifeed. Runs off a single 9volt battery. Uses break beam eyes (included) or reflective!! On the fly eye disable. Configuration is easy once you learn the menus. Will work on any marker!!! ANY!!! Perfect for anyone who loves to customize current markers or the creation of something new! Turn it on and its ready to go, none of that press this, hold that type BS!! HELLA FAST!! THE BOARD RIPS LIKE NO OTHER!!! This board makes any stock board look like power ranger punk pu$$ie whipped marshmellows!!! If you want your gun to rip and rip fast I reccommend this! Use it on your Ecocker (kinda hard to get to work) , your angel, matrix, timmy... the list goes on!!! It will work on anything you have thats electronic and uses a switch to fire it!

I just gave you a taste of the strengths it has, figure this.. more fireing modes, fine tune debounce and dwell! Upgradeable programing! And soon to come a computer interface for even more fine tuning! Check out the website!!!

Weakness... only price for the poor or soldering work for the lazy/Unknowing. If you have money and know how to work with basic electronics your good to hook. Otherwise ask TAG for help.

I give this a straight 10! No problems!
Ohh if you use this on a cocker, I have to leave the eyes dissabled and cant adjust the dwell for the bolt as much as I would like. But still works okay. Hopefully when the computer interface is released you will be able to change some of this.
Conclusion: For what this board has to offer, who can resist such a fine product. With all the money i have spent doing all kinds of different things to my markers. I wish I just got ahold of one of these from the start before I did any of my tinkering. This is a product that you should atleast look into!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 12th, 2004 at 1:35 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow21 Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
...
Marker Setup: 2K5 'Timmy
Halo B
PMI 68/3000
Strengths: Number of modes
Type of modes
Customization of modes
Quality
Service
Manual
Weaknesses: Price
Review: After having a stock '05 Speed with only so many modes, I wanted something new. After 1 month of having the stock board, I decided to pick up a Predator 2. I installed it, and bought new Laser Eyes as well. I hooked up the 'noid and eyes, aired up, and it was amazing. With over 13 different modes, an infinate number of ways to adjust them, I was uderly amazed. Although still capped at 31 bps, it still will outfire most hopeprs on the market, still extremely fast. During testing, there was no bounce, after setting the modes, extremely fast, and alhough priced at $120 now, it will be worth it for any Angel.
Conclusion: Save up, and get one. Although priced at $120, it is very much worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Algernon Thursday, July 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WAS
Marker Setup: Angel LCD:
FBM delrin trigger
AM O-ring feed neck
Jam bolt

Angel LED
predator II
Strengths: lots of modes
great eyes
great support from TAG
you can swap out micro switches
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: weaknesses---ghetto eye install. it looks like they shrunk wraped the eye wires in a shiny plastic. the wiring is terrible. the eyes appear to be hot glued in and have a tendancy to come out. i had to go in a re-solder most of the connections because of bad wiring. the micro is not included in the board and i got some crappy MS that felt like something off of an impulse.

------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------
it's a great board despite the problems. i'm still learning the modes but if it can do half the things TAG says it can then it's more than worth the money. the predator II board is pretty much universal allowing it to be dropped into most any marker (although it can take considerable effort). the red LED was a nice touch.

------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------
Conclusion: it's a real good board. i recommend getting a marker specific predator II if that is an option. it's kind pricy to send the marker to TAG to have the instal done and the finish product isn't that nicely put together (with a generic predator II) but it will make your marker rip none the less.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

TeamTorrent Saturday, June 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Was, virtue on a shocker, mushashi 3 on a dm5. Predator is the best
Marker Setup: 2004 Angel Speed - Check-It No rise- Dye .688 14" Barrel - Predator Board- Dye Mini Drop - Dye On/Off - Soft face Bolt - Custom Products Shorty Reg - Crossfire 68/45 Tank - Halo B
Strengths: - Its VERY fast
- Small, makes your gun lighter
- Lots of fireing modes
Weaknesses: Its pricey because its not a drop in board, its an install
Review: I got my gun back in 2 weeks from TAG for the predator only because i shiped out when they had none in stock. When i got my gun back at first i didnt know how to program it because they only give you 2 sheets of instructions. After i found out where the Dip switches were i set my ROF to uncapped, it spinned heads at the feild. Its a must have for any angels with sensi/cops..
Conclusion: Buy it now, its a great investment
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nameless143 Wednesday, April 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Angel 4
Predator 2 with latest software
Empire B
Crossfire 68/45 LP tank
Strengths: MAD FAST!
Eyes
Tournament legal
Many firing modes
Weaknesses: Pricey ($350)
ummmmm no LCD?
Review: Predator is the most advanced board available right now. This is by far the fastest board currently available. It is possible to shoot at ridiculous rates of fire (think mini-gun) and never chop with it's break beams. Guaranteed if you get this you WILL have the fastest gun at the field, and you WILL turn heads. Advantagepb almost identically copied it with their Virtue chip. Get it if you want to tear faces. Get the original. Get predator.
Conclusion: Get this board if you want the fastest machinegun on the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media