paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Fire Fox Technologies Throat Mic / Fire Fox Technologies Throat Mic / Fire Fox Technologies Throat Mic

Fire Fox Technologies Throat Mic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Fire Fox Technologies

Buy Fire Fox Technologies Throat Mic

Paintball Miscellaneous

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Fire Fox Technologies Throat Mic
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 3.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Throat Mic was originally developed for fighter pilots. We brought the excitement out of the skies for the Sportsman and recreational radio user. The throat mic was designed to keep out all background noises and allow only the voice to be transmitted over the radio. Now you too can with your companions no what what activity.

You may speak quietly to coordinate advances on your target or talk with your team in the middle of a firefight. For the scenario player, the throat mic can facilitate the strategy and movement of team members, allows you to know who is under fire and who has been hit. You will be able to hear no matter what situation you find yourself in. (See earhook accessory.)

The Fire Fox is great for friends getting together for a match. With the radio on your harness or jersey, team members can keep in touch and coordinate the attack. It just makes the game more fun.

The Fire Fox Paintball Edition comes standard with a 5 foot remote PTT button, allowing the user to maximize mobility, while practicing invisibility.
Product Availability 
The Fire Fox Technologies Throat Mic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
SocraticB Wednesday, September 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
FRS Radios
Boom Mikes
Ear Buds
Marker Setup: JMJ Crusader Viking
Powerlyte Hybrid with CCM 86 degree mechanical frame.
(Also owned 2K2 Shocker, '99 RF 'cocker, Spyder Elite, A5, Automag RT, 2K3 Angel LE, Vapor Bushy, Enforcer, and several I'm forgetting).
Strengths: Eliminates ambient noise, inexpensive.
Push-to-talk button can be put anywhere.
Weaknesses: Fuzzy reception.
Fragile.
Can come loose too easily.
Review: Some buddies and I bought these for an EMR big game. They came in handy, but had some limitations that will make me try other products.

1. Cost.

For $35, it's not a bad deal. For $5 more, you get earbud holders that keep the bud BY your ear, but not IN your ear, allowing for better hearing of the situation around you. Where boom mikes can cost $45 or more, this isn't bad.

2. Transmitting.

You trasmit by hitting the push-to-talk button, which is wired to the FRS radio seperately from the earphone. The button can then be positioned anywhere (hand, shoulder, chest, etc.). I had no problems with trasmitting my voice; I could hit the button easily where I had secured it, and it worked every time.


3. Receiving.

The major issue we had was that it was very difficult to hear my buddies on occasion. If the mike moves even a little from the optimum placement, all you hear is mumbling. Even when placed right, certain words just don't seem to come through well.

On about 1/2 of the occasions, we could hear just fine; in that instance, it was like we each had four sets of eyes; I definitely was able to avoid elimination due to their trasmissions on several occasions, as well as tag out several more bad guys. We never had any problem with ambient noise being transmitted on the throat mikes, although our one buddy with a boom mike did create that kind of problem.

4. Build Quality.

The earbud was a little fragile and had to be reassembled a couple of times; the earbud holder that I bought ($5) was uncomfortable; and the wiring was a little thin. Also, the friction-fit throat mike was easily knocked/pulled off of our throats while crawling.

Edit: 4-1-05 Battery life appears to be good over the long haul. Have not needed to replace batteries in several months of use.
Conclusion: If you have a significant problem with ambient noise in your transmissions, then this mike might be for you. Otherwise, a good boom mike is probably a better investment, especially if you are hard on your equipment.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 1st, 2005 at 7:07 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

jesp Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Earbuds with PTT buttons for Cobra radios
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ egrip, flatline barrel, remote setup
Smart parts ion w/ remote setup
Strengths: Price
Weaknesses: Quality of the product
Compatability w/ different brands of radios
Delay w/ PTT button
Review: I normally play Woodsball with a group of 10 or more friends, so we decided to get a little more organized and purchase some throat mics. So we all pitched in and bought 11 of the FireFox commando edition throat mics ($49 /each).

When they first arrived we realized what a mistake we made in buying them cuz the quality of these throat mics were not very good. 2 of them where broken in the package and almost all of them were not workin properly. At first we were using some Cobra radios and then realized that they are only compatible with SOME Motorola walkies. So, we bought Motorola radios and even then they still were very hard to work with.

You could barely make out what the other person was saying no matter how many adjustments we made, not to mention the delay when using the PTT button tryin to communicate with each other.

The next day we took them out on the field and during the game the throat mics would not stay in place. We were constantly adjusting our mics and could barely understand one another. Our first game was attack and defend and we were defending a small base so as you can imagine there was not too much running around....when that 1 game was over my throat mic fell apart.
Conclusion: This may sound harsh to some of you but my final recomendation is to NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! I understand that every once in a while you can buy a defective product... but when you buy 11 of them and none of them seem to work properly it's a little more than just coincidence.
If your still looking for sum mics, me and my friends found some throat mics that are awesome and they cost just as much as the firefox mics just email me if you want it.
Later guys!
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 16th, 2006 at 5:00 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dhester Thursday, February 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Earbuds with PTT buttons for Cobra FRS radios
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 w/ Response trigger, Expansion Chamber, Flatline Barrel, and remote setup
Strengths: See below
Weaknesses: See below
Review: Strengths:
1) Mic stays out of your way since it's around your neck
2) The PTT button is somewhat easy to find during gameplay (since the button is about the size of a nickle)
3) The earbud is comfortable with the optional earhook accessory ($5 more)

Weaknesses:
1) Only has one transponder on the mic to pick up the sound vibrations when you speak
2) Finding the "sweet-spot" for where to put the transponder on your throat is sometimes difficult
3) Mic moves around while playing, which causes your voice to sound muffled
4) May need to buy the two-pin adapter ($10 more) if your radio requires it

Fire Fox Technologies has a great concept with their throat mic. You can wear a mic that's out of your way and easy to use. And as a plus it's economical. ($35)

I just wish they offered another product with two transponders (for greater sound sensitivity... to pick up a whisper) and something to keep the mic in place.

I used the throat mic at a big scenario game and I had no problems wearing it or finding my PTT button in the middle of play. But I did have to adjust the mic periodically if one of my friends said they couldn't hear me very well. When I used the mic I always spoke at a normal volume. The transponder in the mic isn't sensitive enough to be able to whisper and be heard. But, it'll pick up your voice if you speak quitely (above a whisper). You definitely need to turn off the "roger beep" on your radio to use the throat mic or you'll blow an eardrum.
Conclusion: You get what you pay for.

If you have $35 and you want a throat mic, then buy this product. Just know that there are some downfalls to work around when you buy it. You spend $40-$80 per case of paint for 1-2 days of paintball. You can't expect to buy equipment for $35 to use game after game and it not have its weaknesses.

If you want a higher quality throat mic and have $115 to spend, then look around at other products. I'm considering buying the one for $115. If I do, I'll compare it to the Fire Fox mic and let everyone know if it's worth the extra money.

I'll give this product an 8 since it has a great design, it's easy to use, but it can use an upgrade to keep the mic in place.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 10th, 2005 at 11:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darkmatter_08 Saturday, November 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is the only throat mic I have used.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
All-American Barrel
(Kind of spent all my money on other stuff like helmets, radios, and this thing...)
Strengths: Well, If the product worked at all... see review.
Quiet
Fast
Reliable?
Weaknesses: See review.
Cheap
Review: Ok, to get this out of the way. It says in period of use, only tested. That is because I would never use it for anything. I have tried everything to get it to work: 3 different brands of radios (nice ones too... Like $50+ ones), all the different settings on the radios, and even tried more than one of this same product. My friend Dan and I both bought this mic in high expectations. Once we got them we ended up working on them and testing them for 2 days straight (mostly because we are poor, LOL, and wanted them to work because there would be no way we could afford another mic after this), and to no avail. The best quality we could get would be an audible mumble. Could not understand a thing. And yes, we tried placing it all over our throats with different pressures and it still wouldn't provide any results. We gave up on them. Their quality is horrible, ear piece kept on falling apart. The thing just feels cheap.
Conclusion: I don't believe in giving products a rating of 1, but when a product costs $30+ and doesn't do anything at all, I have to. I am writing this review to warn future buyers. I don't know if all of the company's products are bad, but this one is.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball333 Monday, January 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
audiovox boom
Marker Setup: 2003 wgp orracle white-blue-black
wgp torpedo drop
14in evil pipe kit blue-black
68/4500 crossfire hp tank
empire reloader
Strengths: PTT button with velcro
Weaknesses: Placement, see main review
Review: I was able to pick one of these up from a friend of mine.
I have not been able to use it in games yet but i have used it for refing a few days.

First problem i had was that i had the wrong type of walkies (junky audiovox ones) and the converter wouldnt let the buttons work corectly and the ear piece was extreamly quiet. but then i had an excuse to get the motorola walkies i wanted.

So first day i used it for refing i had a big problem getting it to sit right so that the other ref could hear me and he had the same problem, so we jstu said forget it and used the walkies handheld the rest of the day

later i talked to the guy i bought it off of and he told me that some people (usually with louder/lower pitch voices need to move it farther to the side so on the next day i refed i repositioned it and it worked pretty well.

now one problem i was having was that the end call signal on the motorolas would blast my ear out because you will have to turn the volume up more than normal because of the way the mic works. so just as a suggestion make sure the walkies you get you can turn off the end call beep.

and finnaly the last problem i had was that the mic kept sliping a little, this doesnt happen to most people but im kind of scrawney, so i am going to try puitting medical tape over it to kep it in place and then wear a throat protector over it. ill post up later how well that works.

edit
i have used it while palying for a while now. as long as it doesnt slip (unless you are really scrawny your fine) it heards you fine ony problem i have had was that teh ear bud doesnt come with a ear hock so i just took a pipe cleaner (the fuzzy things) and made one.

the ptt button is a little sensitive so keep it away from some where u will bump

only way i have seen one break is the mic getting shot directly and thats extreamly rare.
only other main problem any of my friends have had was that if you get the ptt button wet it some times stops working but once it dries its fine
Conclusion: Good mic a lot cheaper than the sniper style ones that are 3 times as much money
8 of 10 cause everything can get better and the small problems i had
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 12th, 2005 at 1:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SteelBlueXI Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lots of other radio headsets.
Strengths: Hands free operation
Comfortable to wear
Great PTT button
Weaknesses: Earpiece breaks constantly
Transmission isn't great
Doesn't stay put
Review: I went through four of these things. I bought the first one brand new from Special Ops Paintball. When I first tested it I noticed that the quality of audio being played through the earpiece was really terrible. Within 10 minutes of use it cut out completely. I called up Specail Ops who told me I had to deal with Firefox directly. After what I went through, it's easy to see why Special Ops won't stand by this product.

Firefox had me return the headset and I received another one brand new in box which behaved exactly the same way as the ones before. They would work for 10 minutes then stop. Some lasted longer, some shorter, but basically the second you start moving around in it, the wires break internally and it stops working. The mic still transmits but you can't hear anything.

I kept returning them hoping to get one that worked. I tried them on all different radios without any success. And no, I wasn't abusing them. I was walking around my apartment with plenty of slack in the wires when I was testing them.

The last one I received I asked them to test before it shipped. I received one that was out of the box and it was dead on arrival.

Firefox never hesitated to ship me unit after unit. They're aware their products are flawed and they don't care. They would not give me a refund. At this point I'm out a total of $80 for the cost of the headset and the cost to ship the product back each time, which Firefox did not cover.

So basically I have an $80 PTT button. Don't get me wrong.. it's a nice button... but I wouldn't have paid $80 for the entire headset.
Conclusion: Firefox sells flawed products, plain and simple. If you have a working headset, you're lucky. For the most part they are pieces of junk and should be avoided like the plague. I recommend getting a Clear Comm throat mic. They're the same price and work much better. The only reason people buy Firefox is because Firefox has done a good job getting their products into catalogues and websites.

Avoid Firefox like the plague!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Die Hard-2 Sunday, October 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Autococker Trilogy Competititon, Richoshet AK Hopper, Lucky 15 Barrel set.
Strengths: Not very many
Weaknesses: Poor transmission
Review: I was excited about this product at first, but after using it I found it did not really work with any of the guys that were using it on my team. Even the best result we could get was not adequate. I like the concept but it is a poor execution. I finally quit using it during our game and was told the only one who came in clear was me through the mic on the radio. I think the trade off of having no background noise is not a good enough reason to purchase these, I would rather have a little noise and be able to understand what is being said.
Conclusion: Don't bother, get the cheapy mic's at Radio Shack with the ear piece and PTT button. You'll have the same results.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Interceptor88 Wednesday, October 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ear buds
Marker Setup: Phantom VSC, Piranha LB, PMI-1
Strengths: Comfort, price
Weaknesses: Delay when hitting the PTT button, can't be heard well
Review: The throat mic set up seemed to be very well built. I was suprised by the comfort of the mic around my neck. It didn't feel like it was choking me at all. The ear bud was coated in rubber, and was comfortable. The wiring is kept very close to the body, and doesn't hang out or get caught on anything.

There is at least a 2 second delay before you can transmit after you push the PTT button. Its not the batterys, and its not the radio. For what ever reason, its in the mic set up. When I transmit, my teammates could not hear anything except mumbling. I tried everything to correct it, but I could not get any improvement with anything that I tried.
Conclusion: This throat mic set up sounds good in theory but simply does not work. If your team cannot make out what you are saying, then the product is useless. I have gone back to my old ear bud set up and I have had no problems hearing or being heard.

Unless the company can correct the flaws in this throat mic set up, pass it up and get a Jabba ear bud or something simular.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nick F Thursday, October 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with the following parts added on; BT Car Stock, BT M16 barrel & shrod, BT shight rail, and long drop forward.
Strengths: The price.
Weaknesses: Mic is very quite.
Review: Mic is very quite, the only way other people will hear you good is if they had a head phones on. Also when the wires get bend the make a very loud static noise. Also if you some what over weight, then the mic will not work on your throat. Same goes if you have full beard.
Conclusion: Over all this throat mic works good as long as your team mates have ear phones on. I would recommend sticking with a regular single ear phone with a PT button.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daghost Thursday, August 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stryker pro/ imxradio/ pryme
Marker Setup: a-5 polished internals,e grip, vortex mod, proseal powertube and bolt, J&j Edge elite barrel kit, LPK g36 stock,
Strengths: Good at wasting time
Weaknesses: quality
quality control
MADE IN CHINA
Review: well first off lets get this out I hate anything that's made in china they don't tell you that in the advertising also most things electronic that is made in china are junk. lets face it china is not really known for there electronics. second definitely not worth 35 dollars when they got some kid in a sweat shop and it cost them like 2 dollars to make it its now even good enough to make a paper weight. Okay now with that out of the way.
Fist bought 4 got 4 bad called firefox they said I handled them incorrectly and that is was my fault ( I am and electronics technician) so when the told me that I laughed they then said they would gladly replace them all I would have to do is pay for shipping. (both ways) so I laughed again. long story short I stripped them got parts form radioshack and rigged a couple of working models using upgraded wiring and a better transponder. I cost me another 15 dollars for parts and about 6 hours of my time. I you feel like getting jacked around and wasting money then go ahead. but if you want a quality mic get a pryme or a styrker its worth the money and they are extremely comfy.
Conclusion: Whatever you do do not buy from firefox they are not a reputable company and are just out to get your money
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media