paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS / Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS

Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS
[ View Photos (33) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 104
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $370

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ALL NEW SPYDER FEATURES: CAMD 2nd Generation (Color Accesss Mode Display), Sensi-Touch Straight Trigger with Multi-Adjustment Points For Enhanced Rapid Firing, ACS (Anti-Chop System) Venturi Bolt, Reactive Response Trigger, Up to 20 Shots/Second. FEATURES: Semi, 3 round Burst, 6 Round Burst, and Full Auto Firing Modes, Special ACS Edition Body Engraving With Matte Finish Anodizing, Double Ball Detent, 2 Piece 12" Tournament Grade Barrel, Regulator with Guage, New In-Line Expansion Chamber with Fore Grip, Anti Double Feed, Tournament Lock Switch, Top Cocking Bolt, Vertical Ball Feed, Deluxe Drop Forward, Adjustable Trigger Pull, Aluminum 2 Finger Trigger with Illuminated Safety, Low Pressure Chamber, Bottom Line Set Up with Stainless Steel Hose, Tournament Velocity Adjuster, Quick Release Pin, Adjustable Rate of Fire, External Recharge Port, Battery Power Indicator, Operates on Co2 or Compressed Air. INCLUDED WITH MARKER: Java 9.6 Volt Rechargeable Battery (Recharge Up To 700 Times), Battery Charger, and Spare Parts.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
AMslipknot666 Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested50 of 59 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder fenix- the same gun, but this has a new trigger and an anti chop bolt.
tippmann 98- way louder, not too accurate.
piranha evo 04- the evo has vsion eyes therefore neither of these guns chop, but the evo is faster.
Marker Setup: my current gun is a stock karnivor
when i used this gun the setup was as followed:
Spyder Fenix ACS with a freak barrel (sweet!) dye sticky grips and 70/4500 crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
1.new barrel-the stock is a 2 piece, but it curves alot. get a freak, or if you want to save money get a J&J ceramic.
2.new grips-the stock ones get loose very fast. get dye sticky grips.
3.hopper- get a cheap one, mabye a revy.
Strengths: See below.
Weaknesses: See below.
Review: I can talk alot about this gun....Lets start with the good things.
-------
STRENGTHS
Bolt- the stock bolt never chops, thats the difference between this and the regular spyder Fenix.
Speed- This gun can shoot 13 balls per second (bps) on full auto.
feed neck- the stock feed neck will always fit your hopper because it is clamping.
-------
now to the bad
-------
WEEKNESSES
weight- this gun is very heavy, one of the heaviest ive used.
noise-some days quiet, some days loud.
stock barrel- well, a lot of stock barrels suck, this one is no different
color choice-not to many colors to choose, no fades :(
-------
overall, the weeknesses do not effect play too much, besides the barrel. you can customize it alot.
Conclusion: get this gun if you want a high end spyder, a good choice for a second gun.
I give it an 8 out of 10 because of the weeknesses above.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

Bohkka Friday, January 7th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter - same barrel and air as Fenix ACS.
Marker Setup: Fenix ACS
Stiffi Barrel (0.687)
Pure Energy 68//4500 HPA tank
VL200 loader - changed later to a Halo B.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (but when isn't it an upgrade)
Strengths: All aluminum body - very rugged.
Price - Good performance for this price.
Speed
Weaknesses: Heavy (what do you expect with all aluminum?)
Paint requirements too specific (see the review).
Review: When I first took this marker onto the field, I had a lot of trouble getting the velocity over 260 ft/sec. I found out later that this had more to do with the balls than anything else. But it worked the whole night and never chopped one ball. I had one barrel break, but that's an easy thing to clean.

After discussing with 2 other Fenix ACS owners, I found the "sweet spot" to set the regulator to - 550 psi (yes, 50 psi below the recommended range) and next time out on the field, I had trouble keeping the velocity below 290 ft/sec (field limit of 285). When I got the velocity set, it was VERY consistent. I had velocity on the chrono vary by no more than +/- 4 ft/sec! I'm fairly new to this sport and I was able to one-ball opponents.

Next time out - inconsistent and low velocity again. What the ...? Velocity ranging +/- 30 ft/sec. I got it legal to play and had a great time, but my shots were a little wild. Back to the chrono and same thing until... I had some of the balls from the previous play and when I put those in, nice and consistent and shooting a little hot (I had been adjusting for the "bad" balls). Yes, I checked the ball size and they are equivalent.

Others on the field were having a lot better luck using the same ammo, but they are regular tourney players with very expensive markers.

More testing has shown that you need a real good paint-to-barrel match to get the best results as well as consistent ball sizes and shapes (round works very well). Speed and bounce testing with some top tourney players as well. It performed within a very close margin of some other more expensive markers. They got it up to 18 bps with no chopping and only +/- 6 ft/sec at that rate.

I'lll keep on playing with this marker now that I know to buy the better balls.
Conclusion: This is, really, a very good marker. Especially for the price. With good balls, it's the equal of many high end markers that cost double (or more). The big difference - the more expensive markers are a lot more forgiving of ball variations.

If you're a beginner, serious rec player or woods ball player, this is one great marker.

I would even suggest this marker to a serious player if you can be assured of having good quality balls to play with.

The paint requirements keep me from giving this marker top marks, but it's definitely way up there. Especially in the price/performance range.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 7th, 2005 at 12:24 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tcash Saturday, October 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS
Halo TSA LCD
J&J ceramic-coming soon
Dye Sticky 3 grips- coming soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Motorized Hopper- to keep up with the gun

New barrel- stock is horrible as are most, im getting a j & j ceramic to quiet it down but i here that the CP 1 piece is also a really good low priced barrel

Anti siphon co2 or better yet, N2- helps increase consistancy and preserve the seals

New grips- i recommend the Dye Sticky 3 Grips, I've heard good things about them and im getting them soon.
Strengths: ACS Bolt
Speed! Stock board up to 20 bps
Trigger- good for walking
Looks
Weaknesses: Loud-with stock barrel
It's a Blow Back
A little Heavy
Review: Strengths:
The ACS anti chop system bolt doesn't chop nearly as much as the old fenix bolt or most other bolts. It has a spring inside the bolt so if the bolt hits the ball the spring compresses and the ball doesn't break.

This gun is the fastest stock spyder on the market, the stock board is clocked at 20 bps. The trigger also makes this gun fast, you can adjust it in two spots and make it so the trigger pull is about a millimeter. The flat trigger is very good for walking.

This gun comes stock with a Regulator, it isn't a very good one but it is a regulator.

It looks pretty awesome.


Weaknesses:
It is really loud stock but a new barrel will fix it.

It's a blow-back.

This gun is pretty heavy because it is made entirely of metal, not the best for a frontman in speedball.
Conclusion: If your looking for an entry level marker that looks good and doesn't need to many upgrades then this is the marker for you.
Just get a new barrel and an electric hopper and you've got your self a great gun.
In my opinion it's one of the top 2 stock spyders.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

noleafclover13 Tuesday, October 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder classic- cant compare
tippman pro/carbine - cant compare
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix acs
egg 2 aggitated hopper
progressive 16" barrel
Dye Sticky Grips
Dye compressed air tank 45 PSI
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
agitated hopper to keep up with the marker
DYE sticky grips
Strengths: Doesn't chop for anyone
Looks sweet
Weaknesses: Grip panels
Stock barrel sucks
Review: This is my first marker, and i am really glad i bought this one and not some 100 dollar piece
it really wasn't that expensive
barrel and a agitated hopper to keep up with it
even with the stock barrel its pretty accurate up to about 30 feet, then it just goes in any direction it wants,
i had no problems with rps premium, or Draxxus rec sport
***update***
I bought a bunch of upgrades listed above in set up
the progressive barrel added about 20 feet and and a ton of accuracy
compressed air gave my shot more consistancy and now i dont have to worry about blowin o-rings
the dye sticky grips are pricey but are worth it
the egg 2 hopper can keep up with the board with some simple adjustments
Conclusion: I give it a nine because its not perfect, it needs a better barrel, and the grip panels are kinda funky and require improvements, however the anti chop bolt doesnt chop and the marker is easy to maintain, and it is in alot of people's price range
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 11th, 2005 at 11:10 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Top Gun08 Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder flash(about the same as fenix acs),Compact 2000(not as accurate or fast as fenix acs),eradicater(no where near as good as a fenix acs), and ive used a victor(about as good as the compact 2000)
Marker Setup: Fenix ACS
16in" progressive barrel
ricochet apache hopper
super swirl paintballs
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
buy good paintballs for it
Strengths: Acs bolt
4 firing modes
Good accuracy
Good speed
Weaknesses: I chopped a ball withen my first 300.
Weight(really heavy for a marker)
Review: The fenix acs is a pretty good gun. It is a liitle to much money but still a decent buy.It has good accuracy, i shot my friends elecrtical box from about 35 yards away. It does shoot pretty fast but if u go over 13 balls per second u might chop a ball. the acs bolt works better than most.all in all i would recomend this gun to any spyder lover that has 250 dollars. if u and any friends are having arguements about which is better a kingman or a tippman, this is a good gun to prove ur point with.
Conclusion: Accuracy = 8.5
Speed = 9.0
Chopping =9.5
Price = 8.0
looks = 9.5
Overall = 8.9 rounded to a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 24th, 2005 at 9:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fenixacspb Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmam 98 custom ( my first gun)
Angel 4fly ( my current tourni gun)
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS
XSF Adv. Board (limits the ROF to the speed of your hopper)
Halo B (w/angry board)(increass halo to about 30 bps)
Super Speedy Drop
69 ci. pure energy
Sm1 sanchez barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Xsf board
Fast hopper.
Strengths: Accurate
Quite
Fast for beginner stock
Use's all air systems
Acs bolt eliminates chops
Weaknesses: Trigger pull is like an inch adjustable with a turn of a screw
Review: Overall i love this gun, you really could play all types of games woods ball speeds ball x ball tourney's anything with upgrades. behind cockers i believe its the most highly upgradeable gun and i have put 100's of dollars into this gun and its my one of a kind custom
Conclusion: If your a beginner or a rec ball-er or even a tourni player with some money and skills this gun will work for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderman2009 Wednesday, February 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Erridicator
Spyder Fenix
Marker Setup: I am using it with a:
Spyder Fenix ACS
LCD Ricochet Apache Hopper,
Smart Parts All American Barrel
CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE
Strengths: Sleek,Quiet,Easy Cleaning,Works Great,Hard To Find A Better Gun
Weaknesses: None I'm not just saying that, the gun is flawless
Review: This is a great gun for anyone who is just starting off or those who consider themselves pros. This gun shoots great and wont chop for ur life. I will never by another gun again becuase with this gun everything else is just a toy. So go out and buy the fenix acs so u can run with the big dogs.this gun is accurate shoots flat all the stock parts are fine good barrel and regulator great gun!
Conclusion: Buy It if u are wondering if u schould i would strongly recomend it to everyone the guns just perfect
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 20th, 2005 at 6:40 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

logiq Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom dosen't compare (friends)
bob long intimidator dosen't compare (friends)
spyder shutter cant compare (friends)

Marker Setup: fenix acs with dye sticky grips, halo b, j&j 2 piece ceramic full tilt
Recommended
Upgrades:
aggitated hopper,
grips
barrel
update: new bolt (see body)
Strengths: dosen't chop
weight
good looking
fast
easy to select ROF

Weaknesses: chops (see body)
grips suck
weight (see body)
ROF (see body)
bolt
Review: Well this is simply one of the best markers that I have shot. Its better than the tippman 98 and the shutter due to the e-grip and the different rates of fire. I like it better than the intimidator cuz its not as heavy.

Strengths:
The bolt in my gun is not a delrin or a venturi but it is spring loaded and it does not chop. I fired a case 2000 rnds. of Performance paintballs and the bolt did not chop once.

A lot of people say that the marker is heavy, but to me it was fine the first time that I tested the marker we spent the whole day hiking and playing roughly 8 hours for the whole day. I simply felt fine. Also consider that it is an all metal marker, it will not be as light as plastic but it will be more durable.

I love the way that the marker looks, yeah i wish there were more colors but the marker is simply good looking.

The marker is fast it will keep your opponents running for cover. And the fact that it doesn't't chop while firing at 20 bps makes it that much worse for them.

the thing that I loved the most was how easy it is to change the ROF. once the action starts it's simple to change the rate for fire just tap the switch and then tap it again until its set at your desired ROF and simply fire. Its also good because you can change the speed of the ROF. What I mean is you can have it set to fully auto and change the speed to fire from fast to slow and back again depending on how fast you want to fire. You can do this for the 3 burst, 6 burst and full auto. The only thing that sucks is if you like the speed of the ROF to be slow and you turn of the marker then you will have to set it up all over again after every time you turn off the marker.

Weakness:

Chops, not the marker but the stock barrel, although the barrel is not that bad for a stock one I do suggest that you get an after market one. The stock one simply cant compare. I suggest the J&J ceramic 2 piece.

The grips on this marker are horrible, the ar flimsy and when i put the battery in there are gaps from the frame and the grip...simply put they suck, get after market grips

Weight some people say its to heavy, true it is heavier than other markers, but are the lighter markers comparable, do they have an e-grip, all metal frame, and so on.

and finally the Rof how can that be a weakness? Well, if your not careful you can spend a lot of time reloading giving your opponents a chance to run up on you, secondly in order to exploit the full potential of this marker you will need an agitated hopper, I used and Apache, and it worked well, but the Halo B for me was better.

Update: 11/12/04 after playing several games and after about 4,000 paintballs, I noticed excessive scratches along the bolt...I immediately changed it to a delrin bolt...I was surprised, I keep the marker well oiled and cleaned I didn't expect to see that many scratches that rapidly...I'm going this weekend to play again I'll put another 2000 rounds through the marker and update how the bolt handled, and anything else that gets my attention.
Conclusion: This is a great high end spyder. If your looking for a great gun with a not a lot to put on right out of the box, and you have the $$ go for it. I'm giving the marker a 9 cuz to be the perfect marker it would be custom made to your specs and not mass produced.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 12th, 2004 at 8:09 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

erictangness Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo - Solid starter gun, but it's mechanical so it's in a completely different league

Tippman 98 - Only used it as rental, meaning it was in crap condition. A bit too long for speedball
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS
-Riccochet Apache
-12 oz CO2
-14 inch Linear barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New barrel (But what gun doesn't?)
-Fast hopper (15-20 BPS, faster if your getting a new board)
-GRIPS!!!! (Extremely important, stock grips leave a huge opening that can get paint on the board)
Strengths: - Pretty fast
- Pretty unique (they're discontinued)
- Nice for speedball
- Solidly built
- No chops
Weaknesses: - A little loud
- Stock grips have huge openings
- Heavy
Review: I picked this gun up at a clearance sale for $200, and I'd say it's well worth it. Here's the breakdown.

Strengths:

- Speed. Then stock board maxes out at 20 bps on semi-auto (13 if you use full-auto), which I find to be about perfect. There are faster guns, but you really don't need to shoot that much paint. The Fenix lets you put enough paint down the field to get the job done, without the paint costs burning through your pocket.

- Looks. It's all opinion, but I like the look of the Fenix, and it's almost guaranteed that you'll be the only guy at the field with one (compared to ATTACK OF THE IONS!!!) It's silver, which means the gun isn't a good idea for woodsball, but it's meant as a speedball gun anyway.

- ACS. As long as you take decent care of the gun, you'll never get a chop. I've shot a couple cases of paint since I bought the Fenix and only had one break (because I forgot to turn the hopper on =?)

Weaknesses:

- Sound. Honestly, it's a rather loud gun. A new barrel helps, but the sound is still a bit above average (Depending how you play, may or may not matter)

- Stock grips. When you buy this gun, before you walk out of the store, make sure you pick up a new set of grips. The stock ones don't quite fit, and stick out a ton, leaving huge openings on either side of the frame, meaning paint can just shoot straight onto the board, and set you back a good $60.

- Weight. As with most Spyders, it's a pretty heavy gun (A little over 3 pounds) Depending on you and what your used to , this might be a problem. (9 year old + a loaded Fenix isn't a good idea) but for the most part, you'll probably do fine. Heck, I'm used to heavy guns, so anything lighter is actually feels worse to me.

Conclusion: Overall, I'd say this is a very nice paintball gun, for both Rec play and small Leagues. It has a few weaknesses, but they're the trivial kind of things that don't really matter.
If you find one on sale, and are looking for a good beginner to intermediate gun, then pick it up. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 24th, 2007 at 5:41 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

The Gladiator Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2004 evo- ok, but i can shoot my fenix faster
tippman a-5- decent
tippman 98- i'd rather not talk about it
smart parts shoker w/ vision- pure sweetness(if dynasty uses them how bad can they be???)
Marker Setup: Spyder fenix
AKA 2.0 liter regulator
halo b with rip drive
stiffi carbon fiber barrel
macdev 45/4500 hpa tank
dye micro drop forward
dye sticky grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL!!!!
grips
BARREL!!!
stock reg is sub par at best
oh, and did i mention a new barrel?
Strengths: Highly durable
Good starting electro for new players
Can be customized
Loud
Weaknesses: Loud
Lack of colors
Regulator
Review: I've had my fenix for about a ear and a half to 2 years now, and it is a good gun for the money. i bought it when it first came out, so i have the two finger trigger. i like the straight ones better.
so lets cut the crap and get to the meat and potatoes......
Accuracy-
i dont like to dog things, but the stock barrel breaks more balls than my last girlfriend. i recomend the dye ultralite, or a stiffi. both barrles are worth the money. i havefound if you fire the gun without the barrel makes it sound way cool. lol
volume-
this gun is pretty loud. my stiffi dampens it down pretty nicely though. This gun is intimidating in speedball,(sort of) but it gives you away in woodsball.
weight- this is one of the heaviest guns i've shot, but it is very durable, and the body is strong aluminum i think. now that i shoot a shocker, this gun seems as heavy as my last girlfriend.
Regualtor-
the reg is a little off. like my last girlfriend. but it too, like my girlfriend, served it purpose.
people find this hard to belive, but the last time i played speedball it was shooting in crazy intervals like 159 275 220 then it jumped to 444. WTF IS THAT???? but i think it was because i set my pressure to low. all i did was turn it up, and it worked like a charm
Conclusion: This is a nice gun. epecially for begginers. people dog it sometimes b/c its a spyder, but im a good speedball player, and the gun worked great for me. this is my backup gun. im not saying in any way that this gun is as good as angels or egos, or dm5's, but in speedball all it takes is for one paintball to break on your opponent, and as long as you have a gun that can throw paint at your opponent, what can stop you?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media