paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R / Kingman Spyder TL-R

Kingman Spyder TL-R Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder TL-R

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder TL-R
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 137
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:-Drop forward -Vertical ball feed -Top cocking bolt -New larger expansion chamber -Lo-pressure chamber -All metal construction -Canted forward foregrip -Milled body -Rubber grips -Tournament style velocity adjuster -Ported barrel -2 finger trigger -Stainless steel bottom line set up
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder TL-R is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
thehalo Saturday, October 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months145 of 162 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder tl-x
Marker Setup: spyder tl-r with nyte stikk, c.a.m.d. electronic trigger, and halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic trigger new barrel and electronic hopper
Strengths: Accuracy
Distance
Weaknesses: None really
Review: The spyder tl-r is like the spyder tl-x except better. when i went paintblalling it was raining and muddy but the gun still worked fine. Its been stepped on and is still good its really durable. This gun has really good accuracy. From 150'away i was hitting a 1'x1' target 8 out of 10 times. It has good distance and shoots straight most of the time.
Conclusion: I would recommend the spyder tl-r for begginners and even intermediate players. Im giving this gun a 10 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 25th, 2004 at 6:35 pm PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

NYpaintb- Friday, April 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year62 of 65 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
icon e (worst gun ive used), spyder extra (very good), spyder ect.
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R, 16in demon ko barrel, phat 3d flame drop forward, shocktech spring kit, icon-e frame, custom metal feedneck, empire electonic sound reactive hopper, and a 20oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic frame, electro hopper, maybe a new barrel, and spring kit (don't desperately need)
Strengths: Great accuracy, durable, no chops so far, cheap, and looks good too.
Weaknesses: A bit heavy, and the expansion chamber freezes your hands (very minor weaknesses)
Review: so far its the best gun ive used, sure there are better guns for like $1000, there really is not too much of a diff. besides looks, being expensive, and bps you even fix that with upgrades. I haven't had a problem what so ever, people i know have it and love it, and the people that dont have the tl-r want it after they use my gun.Its not the gun that makes the player, but this gun sure will help. I have done my research on this gun and used it and its proven itself so take it from me.I am giving it a 10 based on an overall preformance. I have had no real problems with the gun. This is one of the top low-end mechanical guns, and when compared to other low end guns it a 10.(P.s. only look at experienced players reviews only)
Conclusion: Its good for newbies, or for even intermediate player, because its awsome when upgraded, but even good when not, so if your lookin for a cheap gun, without being a burden or a regret you gotta get the TLR.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 28th, 2006 at 7:51 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Andyman Sunday, December 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month37 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
Marker Setup: TL-R Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a better barrel or trigger.
Strengths: Accurate, Power, Looks, durability.
Weaknesses: Fairly long trigger pull.
Review: The TL-R has proved to me that it is an excellent marker for the price. I have broken not one ball in it out of probably 3000-4000 shots, and have only once needed to re-cock the gun during play. Spyder has once again shown that they can make a competitive for a much cheaper price than it's competitors. Also, I can hardly believe how durable this marker is, I've dropped it on pavement, stepped on it, thrown it into bunkers, and pretty much anything you could imagine and nothing has failed to break or even give signs of malfunctioning. The only thing that could be improved is the speed of the gun which could probably be improved with better trigger pull.
Conclusion: Buy this marker. It is clearly worth the price, I've played with 98c's and this gun keeps up no problem. Between a stock 98c, and this marker, personally I would choose this gun, with parts on a 98c, well thats another story. Overall an excellent marker worth more than its price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballaa Saturday, December 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year37 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmnan 98 custom w/t flatline (completely different gun)
E-99 (ok but broke a lot)
DYE DM4 (holy crap)
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
14" DYE Boomstick
ESP IPI 3.0 Trigger Frame
Rico Ak
Pure Energy 72cu 3000 psi compreesed air
32 degrees remote coil
32 degrees spring kit

Soon to be:
Shocktech Superfly bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
New trigger frame or trigger job
Strengths: Well built
Powereful
Accurate
Weaknesses: Slow gun (not any more)
Squigee in kit did not fit in barrel
Review: This is an excellent gun for any player wether begginer or or you play a lot. This gun is very cheap for what you get in it. You get every thing u need to start off except for paint, air, and a place to shoot it. Although my gun shot far it was no match for my friends tippmna w/t a flattline. So i bought the boomstick(amazing) and once i started i couldnt stop with the upgrades. I basically cant buy any more. Now in some speed ball games im takin out kids shootin 30 balls a second on a $1200 gun with a $400(with all the upgrades) shootin 16 balls a second.

My firends said i shoulda bought another gun because they all bought autocockers. They didnt say that to me after that last game though!
Conclusion: Overall this is an amazing gun. If you have the money buy the more expensive ones but if ur cheap like me buy this gun.
I give it a 9 because it needs some upgrades to become a ten.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

lettuce51 Tuesday, October 12th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months37 of 67 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Strengths: The key strenghts are accuracy and power.
Weaknesses: The weakness is a very slow shooting gun
Review: The Spyder TL-R is a very good gun. Is very powerful, accurate and is very durable. Not a gun for beginners lots of fun. A gun to use at mountains fields courses. Have the advantages over many players when using this gun. I recommend this gun to intermediate and advanced players who want to play and to win.
Conclusion: I really enjoy this gun. Its durable and a lot of fun to use.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 12th, 2004 at 9:14 pm PST
I found this review  
25 Comments - Add Comment

TheLastBrunnenG Saturday, December 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years31 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra and Rodeo, JT Excellerator 3.5e and TAC-5, Tippmann 98 and A5, more...
Marker Setup: 1. Black Kingman Spyder Rodeo, CMI Tru-flight 14" barrel, custom sight offset, 30mm Red Dot sight, delrin LP bolt, New Designz Hi Performance LP valve and pin, ANS feedneck, sold this rig a while back.
2. JT Tac-5, 12" J&J Ceramic barrel, 30mm NcStar Red Dot Sight, sold this one too.
3. Now using a stock Spyder TL-R with a new Phat feedneck and PMI Razzor 14" barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. Feedneck / elbow.
2. Barrel or bolt, but neither is necessary.
Strengths: Solid and reliable marker, 15-degree foregrip, great out of the box.
Weaknesses: Cheap Kingman plastic feedneck adapter. Other than that it's solid.
Review: Bought this as a backup gun, now it's my main marker, and with minimal upgrades. I sold a Rodeo with $300 worth of upgrades in favor of this little TL-R and never regretted it. Here's the summary:

BARREL - Standard Kingman 12" ported barrel with muzzle break. Not fancy but gets the job done. Replacement barrels do help, but it starts out well.

FOREGRIP / EXPANSION CHAMBER - The TL-R is unique for Kingman in having a 15-degree front block to angle the foregrip foreward. Feels great in the hand, works well. Front block is non-standard, so replacing the foregrip with a reg will require replacing the 15-degree block as well.

VOLUMIZER - Standard Kingman issue. Works.

TRIGGER / FRAME - Trigger pull is solid and two miles long, but a good puller can still manage 10+ BPS from this mechanical frame. Frame is good; grips are hard but flexible rubber.

DROP / ASA - No-frills drop and ASA work well.

DETENT - Normal Kingman ball-bearing detent. Has never broken or failed on me.

BODY - Decent milling, same as the TL-X. Feedneck is a standard Kingman stub with a cheap plastic adapter/elbow.

INTERNALS - Top-cocking assembly is also shared with the TL-X. No room for a sight or other attachments. Internals are normal Kingman parts, nothing fancy. Bolt seems to rub easily; I believe it's just a tight fit in the body, not a tolerance problem.

OVERALL - Solid-shooting gun. I sold everything else but kept the TL-R, which has never failed me. I let my wife take it in her first ever paintball game and she loves it.
Conclusion: Should be a 9.5 because of the feedneck (not the feedneck, really, just the elbow), but I'll round up. In its price / feature class, it's a great marker that holds together very well. It has not yet failed me and I expect it never will. It's like an AK-47 - not beautiful or fancy but hard to kill. Think of it as the Tippmann 98 of the stacked-tube blowback crowd.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

counterstrike53 Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo, TLX, Victor/Victor 2, Spyder Imagine, Tippman Pro Carbine, Tippman 98 custom, Tippman Sniper,
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R with Classic C.A.M.D. Eframe, PMI 14 inch barrel (actually pretty nice), dragun LED vertical feed (HAHA i got it off my friend, it beats using that tall plastic tower thing that is included with this gun) dragun LED expansion chamber, and finally of course i have a Co2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, possibly an eframe if your into speedball, and definetly a vertical feed from any other gun because they make the vertical feed on this gun so you are forced to use this dumb little plastic tower, creating an VERY tall and wobbly hopper.
Strengths: Accuracy *when its warm outside*
Range
Power
Upgradibility
No chops
Weaknesses: Trigger pull is loooong
Review: When I first got the gun i noticed some main features. One of them was the slightly angled foregrip. A very nice (and of course comfortable to hold) touch. Another was the big, long, trigger pull. And finally the very nice ergonomic grips that all spyders have.

Cons:
Trigger of doom (however there are home made fixes for this as well as just buying an eframe)

The foregrip will freeze your hands off if your aren't careful when taking off the co2. i mean seriously dont hold the foregrip when taking off the co2. *especially after playing winter ball in the freezing cold*

Pros:
Solid Feeling. I have a feeling that if i dropped it of the Empire State Building it would still be useable.

Very accurate (especially with my setup)

I have only had one chop after cycling through at least 2000 balls

Powerful

Easy as heck and cheap also to upgrade (not like thoes costly tippman upgrades)
Conclusion: I would definetly recomend this gun to just about anyone. If your a begginer just keep it stock. If you are not a begginer than this gun is easy to upgrade the heck outa. Would have given the gun a 10 except for the two cons i listed. Hey, a 10 means perfect, and i can think of FEW guns that are perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Mustang427 Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-X, tippman 98
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R with a ACS bolt and 16" barrl
Recommended
Upgrades:
ACS bolt spring kit
Strengths: Accuret, Fast, looks goods i really like this gun.
Weaknesses: There r no weakness for this gun
Review: I really like using this gun. For the money you can't go wrong. At 105 ft away i can hit a soda can on the 3rd shot. I went out to play with my friends and beat them, they both have Ions. Like I said there is nothing about this gun that i don't like.
Conclusion: I recomend this gun to anyone that wants to win.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spydadude Friday, April 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
E-Frame
J&J One Piece
Reloader2
Spyder Delrin ACS Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
New Bolt
Strengths: Accurate
Free 15 Degree block (it comes attached)
Fires Fast
Basically a Rodeo
Weaknesses: Chops (minor chopping)
Review: This is quite possibly the greates markers I have ever used. I cant say n e thing else. I got this marker for X-Mas and fired it on a cold, january afternoon. It fired perfectly. I was ready to get a 98 Custom like all the people I knew with markers, but I went with this instead. I have never made i better decision in my life. I AM SO HAPPY WITH IT! I did feel that some of the things need a little tightening, and that velocity needed to be a little higher (for my personal needs). So, I got a an ACS bolt and an inexpensive barrel that is quiet.
Conclusion: Because of my experience with this marker, I have convinced 1 of them to by a spyder rodeo, btw, its the exact same thing inside. I not only convinced him by just letting him fire, but his first time out I let off a stream of 20 shots with NO CHOPPING. This was proceeded by me hearing a muffled "Holy Crap!" come from my friend. Overall, i give this marker, Drumroll please...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 11th, 2005 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

spyderman14 Friday, January 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
In the past my team have gone from the plain and simple brass eagle pump guns all the way up to custom, electronic high end guns. The Kingman Spyder TL-R is the choice gun for intermediate players and for people who wanna have fun. Compared to a tippman 98 custom, I'd say the TL-R is better.
Marker Setup: My TL-R is stock. Nothing changed except the hopper. I only use 12 or 20 oz. Co2 canisters.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel
spyder upgrade kit
electronic hopper
Strengths: Shoots with lots of accuracy
Paintballs don't pop inside.
Weaknesses: Quick reaction time is minimum and original o-rings break on Co2.
Review: I'd give the TL-R an 8 out of 10 on a review. I dominated the field with it once in a tournament in Connecticut. I'd buy it if I was starting out paintball or getting away from pump guns. The TL-R is an awesome gun and I think everyone should have one.
Conclusion: Buy it, you'll love it, and it won't break if your life depended on it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media