paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades / Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades / Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades

Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Atomic Ordnance

Buy Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades

Paintball Miscellaneous

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 14
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $7

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Atomic Big Boys have over 10oz of paint in every Grenade and have an unparalleled reputation for reliability. Reliability is the key reason so many scenario teams prefer the Atomic Ordnance Big Boys to any other grenade on the market. 5 years of constant development have led us to produce a grenade that burst the first time you throw it 99+percent of the time.
Product Availability 
The Atomic Ordnance Atomic Big Boy Grenades are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
EqualsP Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years40 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Squadbusters (SquadBouncers...)
various Homemade grenades
Marker Setup: Marker setup has no bearing on this review
Strengths: 99% detonation rate.
Consistent size/wieght.
No prepwork.
Large volumn of bright paint.
Weaknesses: Can be fragile
Review: Strengths:
* 99% detonation rate (I have literally thrown hundreds of these grenades, the number of times I have NOT seen them go off I can count on 1 hand. Everytime they failed was when they landed in something soft: Very Tall Grass and Snow).
* It is the appx size and wieght of a baseball, meaning you can throw it like a baseball.
* no pin to pull, they explode on contact.
* larger volume of paint than other grenades I have used.
* Very very very bright fill. it doesn't soak into clothes right away and is fairly easy to see from a distance.
* large spray pattern when it explodes. The grenade tends to propel itself around while spraying paint.
* age doesn't affect the grenade's effectiveness - it will still go off.
* come with loops to hook onto your belt or to make holding multiple grenades in your hand very easy.

Weaknesses:
* fragile. if you don't treat it like a grenade, it will go off on you when you aren't expecting it.
* if your throwing style puts undue pressure on the end of the grenade, it can go off in the air.
* Age affects the paint mixture (as you would expect..) old grenades just need a good shaking before the game.
* Long grass and very soft objects are it's archnemisis.

weakness AND strength:
* due to the large volumn of paint, it is a LOT of paint to clean up after 1 goes off.

Review:
Menohl's problem comes down to user error. As I stated above I have thrown hundreds of these grenades (I'm serious, this is no exaggeration). You have to treat this grenade like you would any other grenade or your paintballs. You don't shoot broken paintballs expecting them to travel straight do you?

If he didn't abuse it and knock the band off it would have exploded on contact with an object instead on in flight. The Rubber Band needs to remain ON the grenade for it to maintain it's payload until it hits it's target. If you treat the grenade too rough the elastic band WILL pop off and cause the grenade to explode on you.

Because of the way the grenade propels itself around when it explodes it is perfect for clearing out houses/huts and other contained bunkers, I have seen it shoot itself around corners and bounce around in a small hut eliminating everyone

If there is a slight spin in the grenade when it explodes, it tends to tumble around spraying paint on everything within 6 or so feet of itself.

I had a grenade roll off the tailgate of my truck and hover 2 feet off the ground due to the force of the paint expelling from the end, until it was light enough that it shot 10 feet into the air.

The best way to carry these grenades is on a Caribiner on your belt loop, unless your a runner (or tend to slide a lot) then you will want to loop your fingers through the provided loop and carry it in your offhand. It is possible to shoot and hold the grenade in the same hand too.

I have never had one of these grenades I have thrown, thrown back to me, where as a member of the opposing side and I unwillingly played catch with a Squadbuster for the duration of a 1 hour MXS final battle. The SquadBuster never went off.

I have sold these grenades next to Tippman Squadbusters (even for a price more expensive than the Squadbusters) the Atomic Ordnance grenades out sell them every time for the sole reason that they WORK!.

I admit it, I am a member of Pub Crawling, I am Sponsored by Atomic Ordnance. But I use these grenades due to my own free will. If they didn't work, I personally wouldn't use them, I wouldn't waste my energy carrying them around.

(=Pedit: spelling and to clarify a point)
Conclusion: A very good grenade provided you treat it for what it is, a liquid filled device under pressure designed to eliminate people from the field safely. If you handle it too rough it will go off. But that is what makes it so good, IT WILL GO OFF!! and there is no prep work required to make it explode!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 26th, 2004 at 10:47 am PST
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

canadianchris Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years14 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipman Squad Buster
Wet Willie
Strengths: They go off and people leave the game.
Weaknesses: Being on the receiving end of 1 and having to clean up.
Review: After having used this product for 2 years I can safely say that it is the best Grenade in paintball. I have thrown over 100 of these grenades in the last 2 years and the go off every time they can. (I have had 2 not go off, But this was found to be because of the long grass I threw them into. The grass cushioned the impact and it did not go off.) But 2 of over 100 is a pretty good percentage.... If you ever want to see the carnage that these baby's do just ask Blue from EMR to show you the Blues Crew Video. Check out the bombing run from the Michigan Monster Game and you will never look back again.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anybody that asks. Not only is the product good But the support is great from the company. After talking to them that is how I found out about the long grass causing the problem with breaking. I changed my throwing style in long grass and haven't had a problem since......
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

notbob Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Squadbuster
Strengths: Big in size
Good fill
Good Design
Easy to use
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have been using the Atomic products and more specifically for the past few years.
Over the past year, the products have gotten even better as the company did an overhaul on the entire product.

I haven't had any problems with the fill, discharging or leaking.

It IS the MOST RELIABLE GRENADE in the industry.
No pins, no worrying about if it will go off, no worrying if it will hit the target.
The amount of paint that flies out of these is impressive!!!
Conclusion: These are the best grenades in the business - PERIOD!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Thespis Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Squadbuster, which is less reliable and and more cumbersome.
Marker Setup: Autococker/Laws Rocket combo with Q-loader.
Strengths: High Volume
Large coverage area
They go off all the time
Weaknesses: Large size makes carrying a lot of them on the field difficult.
Review: Big Boys are an excellent tool on the paintball battlefield. They have a huge coverage and leave a lasting impression on your victims. I used 2 Big Boys at the end of Shattnerball 3 to clear the backside of the temple in the last minute of the final battle. The area was drenched and allowed our side to push up and over. Grenades can be very effective, and these are the best grenades available.
Conclusion: Carry one on the field at all times and have more ready back at base.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1MG ^Hawk^ Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Squadbusters, Wet Willlies, various no-name brands.
Marker Setup: A-5 with RT, various demolition gear including grenades, mines and LAW systems.
Strengths: Always go off, and no doubt as to who was hit
Weaknesses: Honestly, none
Review: I'm a firm believer in using grenades during scenario games. They can rapidly clear areas and allow your team to push forward and take over objectives fast. I personally throw at least 3 cases of grenades per scenario game, and it's not unusual to see me with 2 cases hanging off of me during the final battle. Why would I waste all of that money if these things didn't work? I've had Tippmanns and no-names thrown back at me, that is never a problem with Atomics. The fill marks decisively, there will be no arguments on whether you hit someone or not. The manufacturer listens to his customers, and has greatly improved on the product over this past year. The fill is 100% stable and now comes slightly scented.
Conclusion: There's a reason why the best scenario teams in the country use Atomic Ordnance Grenades. They work everytime, all the time. I've tried the rest and I'll stick with the best. Atomic Big Boys!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rooster1 Thursday, April 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Squadbouncers, I mean "Busters" Not as consistent as the Atomic Ordnance grenades but I do like the thicker fill.
Marker Setup: '95 Automag, bone stock, '03 Autococker, bone stock
Strengths: Excellent coverage spray, large, consistent, minty fresh bright fill.
Weaknesses: Fill is not thick.
Review: I've thrown 7 of these so far since i ordered them about a month ago, and had about as many thrown at me. I have a case of them on order for the West Point Scenario!!

I love these grenades. They are large with a good amount of paint in them.

These are consistent, I have yet to have one not break when thrown. They bounce a good 4-5 foot high too when going off and have a good spiral spin to them to give a large coverage area. Go to warpig.com and see their review, the pics you see of them going off are what you get.

These are easy to use, just pull off the plastic they are wrapped in and throw, do NOT remove the rubber band.

The rubber band holds the rubber tube closed, unlike the Tippmanns which use a BBs lodged in the tubes. The BBs and paint combo in the Tippmanns can get clogged when they sit and settle. The Atomic Ordnance grenades don't use BBs, and also the paint mix has a food grade anti seperation ingredient in it to keep the paint from settling.

I actually like the paint in the Tippmann grenades much better. It is much thicker and harder to wipe and leaves a nice blue mark on the opponent. The paint in the Atomic Ordnance grenades is thinner, more watery, and almost evaporates leaving only a wet mark on an opponent. Good colors though, and easy to see on an opponent, but I feel not as long as lasting as the Tippmann paint.

In my opinion though, a more reliable grenade outweighs the sacrifice of a thinner fill.

I've carried these in my Tac Vest pockets with no problems, and also hung them off the included beaner from the nifty rubber ring.

(EDIT...EDIT...4/9/06... I used a ton of these at the West Point game a few weeks ago. Like I said above, I had them in my vest pockets and hanging from the beaner. I even had a few of the little betty kinds in my jeans pocket. I belly crawled, slid down hills, ran full speed, basically played my hardest game to date using these grenades. They all remained intact till I decided to use them.
By the way, they make GREAT tank killers!! ...end of EDIT...end of EDIT)
Conclusion: I will be using these from now on, despite the thinner fill. I like the detonation on these much better than the Tippmanns. Worth making the switch.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 9th, 2006 at 7:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

grubermann Saturday, November 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann squad buster
bananna bombs
Marker Setup: does it really mattaer in a review of a grenade?
Strengths: Large size great fill, ease of use
Weaknesses: Size could be a limiting factor
Review: I'v been using these grenades for over 2 yerars now and with each case they get better and better. (for the poster who said that the fill was watery, yall need to shake it up, the pigment is a solid in the liquid vehicle ((thats the watery stuff)) the paint will settle after a while but a quick shake will take care of it. if these granades are left out in the sun they react similar to regular paintballs, they will swell, its Boyle's Law man. treat them like paintballs and i guarentee they will be the best youve ever carried.
Conclusion: In summation, i wont carry any other paint grenade. PERIOD nothing else compares in area of coverage, ease of use, price vs worth. In one word PERFECT.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigRed_PC Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Squadbusters
Marker Setup: ANS GX-4 Polish Red/Black Fade, Smoke Revvy w/X-board
Strengths: Good size
>10oz Paint fill!
They ALWAYS go off
Weaknesses: None
Review: These grenades are truly awesome! You throw 'em, they go off every time.
The Big Boys are extremely effective, especially in enclosed areas, i.e., bunkers and buildings. I tossed one into a the bottom level of a tower, and the guy that was sniping on us came walking out dripping with paint!
When these grenades go off, you know it, because they send a geyser of paint spewing in a nice spiraling arc that covers everything within about a 10' area.
You want the most effective and reliable paint grenade the industry has to offer? Atomic Ordinance has delivered!
Conclusion: A definite 10 out of 10. These grenades go off every time without fail. You won't be playing "catch" with these babies like you can with Squadbusters and other paint grenades. The amount of fill discharged by these grenades makes it pretty much impossible for your target to wipe off since they are typically drenched in paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

CCI Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Squadbuster
Marker Setup: Phantom stock class
10 round magazine
12 gram adapter
Strengths: Always works
Weaknesses: May go off in you pocket or in pack
Review: Atomic Ordinance Big Boy grenades are possibley the best around. For a mere 6 dollars you get 100% chance of these things working. There is nothing to pull,, all you have to do is put a decent arc on it when you throw and the Big Boy will go off. They are actually kind of like a water baloon in looks. They are filled as much as they can be and there so much pressure in the middle that it forces the rubber band off the top when it hits the ground. Once i was getting ready for a game and I had my grenade out about to put on the end of one of my 12 round tubes, but it rolled off the table before i was able to put it on and it went off on about a 3 foot drop. They have a pretty good blast radius as well.
Conclusion: Good blast radius, work 100 percent of the time, and are cheap.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Les Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman SquadBusters
Strengths: Will Break on what you want it to break on
Weaknesses: -None-
Review: Paint is Bright and thicker than the Tippman, Little or no chance of this grenade being thrown back at you because it will break on what you throw it at! When you are hit with it will NOT stain any clothing or goggles. It Will Not Stink of old musty paint It WILL Put a bright thick blop of paint on your body for everyone to see!
Conclusion: For the price.... it is very well made, breaks on a target NOT in your pocket!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media