paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Greg Hastings' Tournament Paintball Xbox Game / Greg Hastings' Tournament Paintball Xbox Game / Greg Hastings' Tournament Paintball Xbox Game / Greg Hastings' Tournament Paintball Xbox Game

Greg Hastings' Tournament Paintball Xbox Game Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Greg Hastings' Tournament Paintball Xbox Game

Paintball Paintball Games

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Greg Hastings' Tournament Paintball Xbox Game
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 100
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Greg Hastings' Tournament Paintball offers the most complete and realistic paintball experience without taking a paintball to the chest. This fast, intense and dynamic game offers players a truly exhilarating sporting experience incorporating all the most integral elements of actual paintball action. With real pros, authentic venues, sponsors and equipment, Greg Hastings' Tournament Paintball is the cornerstone of a new franchise and genre in the sporting games market.

Features Include:
• 3 game types to play – Elimination, Capture the Flag, Center Flag
• Cheat Meter – try to wipe paint without getting caught
• Switch marker hands from left to right
• 14 top pro paintball players
• 25 real-life paintball sponsors to provide an authentic experience
• Real-life paintball fields and tournament locations

Single Player :
19 tournaments to play
98 different field layouts
Play against up to 80 different opponent teams, including 69 real life teams
Advance from rookie to novice to amateur to pro
Gain experience points and increase your skills

Multiplayer:
Xbox™ Live and System Link enabled
Communicate on the field with the use of Xbox™ voice communicator
Play on-line with up to 7-on-7 team play
20 unique locations to play
179 different field layouts
Product Availability 
The Greg Hastings' Tournament Paintball Xbox Game is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
snowbordr011 Sunday, November 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Half Life Paintball, Digital Paintball, High Impact Paintball
Strengths: -Realistic
-Good Graphics
-Real Guns
-Real Teams
-Real Players
-Great Maps
-Fun Gameplay
Weaknesses: -The Stupid Cheat Meter
-no multiplayer without live
-no A.I. communication
Review: I pre-ordered this game about a month ago and couldn't wait to get. Their had only been a few other paintball games, which most were not that realistic or that that great in general. When I got Hastings and started playing it right away I was amazed. The game was very realistic and the game play was excellent and the controls were very easy to use. In the beginning you start off as a rookie with a cheap gun and two other ai players. As you enter and win tourneys you start getting experience, store credits and new members for your team. After progressing through rookie you go to novice, amateur, then pro and gain new A.I. player of the same skill level. You are able to purchase guns, jerseys, pants, shoes, masks, hoppers, barrels, n2 tanks, and pods. So you have a lot to customize on you character. The only thing I can say that I didn't like about the game was the cheat meter. It makes it so easy to cheat your way through the levels. It also kinds of make the sport of paintball look bad because in the game cheating is such a huge thing, expect to cheat at least once or twice during single player, unless your a very honest video game player.
Conclusion: Overall this game is great, except for the cheat meter, and it gives you something fun to do when your bored.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

wardog Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Ultimate Paintbrawl Games: Absolutly laughable.
Marker Setup: WDP Blue/Black Fade Angel 4
Smart Parts Freak Barrel
Blue Diamond Dust Empire Reloader B
Crossfire 68ci 4500psi LPA Tank
Dye Rhyno Cover
Dye Mini-Drop
Dye Airport
Medium Length Angel 4 Volumizer
Strengths: Graphics, Control, Sound, Xbox Live, Fields, Equipment (Not including the guns), Your Team, Price
Weaknesses: Guns Selection, Cheater Meter
Review: Overall, GHTP was above my expectations. I broke the review up into small, specific sections so it is easier to read. The review totals out to be 100 points.

Graphics: The equipment you can use is very detailed, and the players masks look like masks unlike other games I have played where the mask is extremely poor. The fields look nice and are varied. 10/10

Control: I ease of the controls are very nice, and in my opinion are extremely smooth and well setup. This is one of the first paintball games where you can actually move and shoot realistically. 10/10

Sound: The sound in the game was extremely impressive. Balls hitting the airball bunkers sounded like out on a real field, the reloading sounds seem accurate, and when your gun is out of paint it sounds like well, your out of paint. 10/10

Difficulty: The competition increases from tournament to tournament, so a team that you owned in your first match against them gets better at the next tournament. Gradual increase overall with difficulty. 9/10

Fields/Realism: There was a truckload of playable fields in the games that had two setups each, leaving you with a new feeling field each tournament instead of the repetitiousness of other paintball games. You can play 3 man, 5 man and 7 man tournements which are elimination, capture the flag, or center flag. Also, you start out with a really junky gun and upgrade as you get better, just like in real life. 10/10

Gun Selection: This is one of my disappointments. Greg Hastings could have done a better job in taking out some of the guns and adding others. Instead of some of the lower end guns, why not a mechanical autococker. You can use a Karnivore in the game so why not an orracle or a vertical feed? Allot of the pros have the guns that they use in real life, Rocky Cagnoni uses an orange Angel Force :), Chris Lasoya uses an Intimidator, Oliver Lang uses a Dynasty Shocker (Which looks more like a 2002 Angel LCD :)) etc. So why couldn't you buy these guns for yourself to use in the tournaments? Some of the guns wasted space, such as having a Tippmann 98 and a Tippmann 98 Custom. And an A5 for $500? A JT gun for $400? What is up with that? Overall could have been loads better but is descent. 6.5/10

Other Equipment: Nicely Varied equipment that looks real and there is allot of it. 10/10

Your Team: I really enjoyed the aspect of being able to pick up players from different divisions as you played more. Really good selection of rookies, novices, amateurs, and pros. The bad thing about this is the inability to give your team new guns. Like in the earlier divisions when you have a Spyder Fenix and the rest of your team is still using the Conmans. Team AI is good and when you are taken out you are switched to another player on your team. The bad thing about this is sometimes you are switched during another teammate's run-through and you are taken out before adjusting to what you are trying to do. 8.5/10

Cheater Meter: Absolutely not cool. It teaches kids to wipe. Really good Greg. Shows a bad picture of the sport, but it is realistic. 2/5

Soundtrack: An all right mixture of different artists that you can change the song mid-game. I really like how you can upload a custom playlist of your own music. Great feature. 5/5

Xbox Live: Actually really good. The optimatch is actually developed (unlike Halo 2) and it is very addicting to play online. The gameplay is quick and really fun. Although it takes some time to find a match sometimes, it is worth the wait. The bad thing is Greg decided to not have content download like Halo 2 so you can't get anymore guns or players or fields. 8/10

That is pretty much my opinion of the game. The scoring system adds up to 100 so the game gets an 89 out of a possible 100 points. Round up to the nearest 10 and you get 90/100. Divide by 10 and you get a 9/10.

Conclusion: Overall a very good gaming experience for the reasons listed. Alot better than my expectations were hoping for. Great job Greg Hastings and I look forward to seeing a Greg Hastings Tournement Paintball 2 if he decides to create one. Maybe there will be more sponsers next time.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 27th, 2004 at 9:16 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

A.L.F.paintball Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
paintbrawl 4 not half as good though
Marker Setup: 03 cocker e-blade 2 freak barrel pure energy nitro evo 2 and some other ups
Strengths: Graphics
Artificial Intelagence
Guns
Sound
Cheat Meter
Lots of Gear
Its Paintball
Everything
Weaknesses: Cant change color of the gear
Trigger fingure hurts
Review: This game is the best thing since sliced bread. I cant belive how good this game turned out to be i would much rather play this than halo 2 any day. The selection of gear is great the guns are awsome everything about this game is awsome. It is extremly addicting. This game is nearly as good as going out to the local course and playing. This game is so well put together, I am quite amazed. It is hard to play this game for more than an hour strait because you your nerves get shot. I honsetly dont know why everybody complains about the cheat meater. Id like to see them beat the game without it. Not that i would cheat in real life. Its not distracting and if you make a mistake its a second chance at life. It is nearly imposible to go through a game without being hit. So I give th producers an A+ for adding such a nice feature. This game is all out the best paintball game or shooting game out there. I would say its even comparible to halo 2 or grand theft auto san andreas. Im using those two just because there the biggest games of the year. And yes i do have both.
Conclusion: Overall i would like to give this game like a 20 out of ten but since it only goes up to 10 i give it a ten. If you do not have this game buy it. Im sure i missed some great features in my review but thats ok. I can honestly say i went through the entire game with only a complaint. I cant wait to see greg hastings 2. BUY IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 31st, 2004 at 9:25 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

papaintballer15 Monday, November 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PC games, extreme paintbrawl 1-4,high impact paintball
Marker Setup: On the game
Pure Gold gun
16" DYE UL
halo
Macdev 90ci tank
Strengths: Graphics
GamePlay
Real Characters
Real Fields
Xbox Only
Paintball Game
Weaknesses: See review,fingers hurt badly from shooting after about 5-10 hrs of straight play
Review: This game is sweet, Its definatly worth 45.57 with a 1 yr warranty on it, and taking 3 hrs to find a copy and almost 100 miles of travel to find it.... After going to a target,walmart,and 2 malls i finally got the last copy of it at EB games at the mall.

First off- Graphics pwn
Gameplay was insane
Real Characters, Real guns mostly,Great detail, its has its flaws though.
After putting about 16 total hours of play on it already and beating it once, and almost done with my 2nd char ive figured out everything.

Things i didnt like was-
Lack of guns (20)
Not having excess amounts of upgrades like aftermarket parts for the guns, more tanks,more hoppers,more harness's,Barrel kits, more barrels.
Not having big trophies and larger cash prizes for tournys or sponsorships or equipment winnings from tournys.
Not enough money to win in the game to buy everything
No belts on the harness's so its just laying there on the persons back and looks dumb without a belt.
Fingers hurting after excess hours of pulling a trigger fast as i can to keep constant streams of paint flying at the opposing teams who rarely get far off the break :)
I feel there needs to be more upgrades,chars,tournys,prizes,and guns and so on.

Most people dont like the cheat meter, i kinda like it at times bc i can easily stay in the game, but then again at times it does suck, when i slide into a bunker get hit in the leg or something. and then before i can keep my self in with a bounce, the persons there bunkering me, or occasionally i get pulled off the field for getting yellow instead of green, no biggy though usually i have more ppl left to go on suicide runs with.
Overall the game just pwns, Halo 2 was suppose to be the big game that everyone talks about, well i played that beat it in a day, and i was dissapointed and thought it sucked, sure ive beaten this in no time, but it hasnt got boring nor do i think it sux at all except for some minor flaws which u can come to expect with something new like this.

If there were some things to change i think it'd be nice to have a 3rd person option so u can see how your diving,snapping and stuff to get a better view. Belts on the harness's, more guns,more equipment,more upgrades. More tournaments to participate in like World cup and allow to expand teams, and have more than 1 in a tourny and have more of things like that. Also to have more teams in it, and some more characters.

Sweet thing though is if u take 1st place in the pro tournaments u unlock bronze,silver and gold goggles. And bronze silver and gold markers, and then gold silver and bronze barrels. The stuffs lighter than original stuff, but even though my char has a ebladed cocker,karny,and dm5 i still love the pure gold gun with my 16" dye, so much more faster,more consistant group patterns and its accurate enough. And looks sweet.

Ok i feel that ive made this review good enough and that everyone who hasnt bought it yet better buy it bc its just a blast. Simple as that....
Conclusion: BUY IT! or you just suck! :-p jk.... but seriously people stop reading these reviews and just get out there and buy it. I hope my review has helped some, if u have any questions feel free to catch me some how.
Im giving the game a 9, its not the best bc of some minor flaws but isnt bad what so ever. I love it so 9 it is!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

chazz the spazz Thursday, November 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
extreme paintbrawl (no comparison)
Marker Setup: tippmann 98c 14" ceramic J&J barrel double trigger ricochet ak hopper
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Well to start its good because its paintball in a video game. it has real players. it has real guns which is always a plus. the customization is kind of minimal you can change your gun, tank, which doesn't seem to do much so ive found other than add weight, pod pack, yet again you don't need nine pods when the games only last 3 minuets cause the fields are small so they add to the weight you only need 3 really, mask for looks and weight, gloves they do nothing besides look good, pants and jersey looks and weight, (yes the weight does matter thats why im mentioning it so much it slows you down) shoes looks and weight, hopper to increase your feed rate, and barrel to increase accuracy. you can run out of air so yoiu have quite a few tanks to choose from the single player will start to get repetitive after a while. it really sucks that it doesn't have split-screen. there is a cheating element which really takes some of the difficulty out of the game. you can do snapshots by holding the R trigger. your character is ambidextrous so you can switch hands by pressing X you can snapshot from the left or right or from over the bunker. you can dive by pressing B, the turbo button aka sprinting is Y but you cant shoot while running in turbo. there are actual fields like scrimmage and there are fake ones like a football field with a speed ball course in the middle. the game types are ctf center flag and elimination. there are 3 man teams 5 man and 7 man. in single player the divisions are rookie novice armature pro. teh gun stats might be a litttle off but other than that its pretty much true to the sport. well im running out of time so ill sum it up in the conclusion
Conclusion: Soo now that ive spent 45minuets on this review time to sum it up. This game ultimately the best on live or a system link the single player can get repetitive cheating sucks but it works, makes the game more realistic customization could be better you can select a premade character then change the equipment overall id have to give it an 8 because there's no split screen and the graphics could be a little less cartoony
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004 at 3:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

captain tippman Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Digital Paintball
Marker Setup: 2k2 Impulse
W.A.S. Board
NDZ Internals
NDZ Clamping No Rize
NDZ Blade Trigger
NDZ Detents
Bad Habitz Unimount (Check It Products knock off...)
Evil Pipe Kit
Empire B
Dye 70ci Throttle Preset
Strengths: Fields
Control layout
Campaign mode
Realistic
Weaknesses: Lack of planning/communication with team
Equipment variety
Lack of split screen multiplayer
Graphics
Review: This is the best paintball video game yet. It plays similarly to Digital Paintball, which is very fun but has many shortcomings of its own. A non-paintballer would probably not enjoy this game, but I think that most ballers would find it a very good simulation.

*Strengths*

Fields: The fields are very well thought out and you play them like a real speedball game. Sweetspots and lanes are well thought out. There is usually a 'best' strategy for every field I've encountered so far, but the opponents aren't completely predictable so you need to do some thinking on your feet. Unfortunately, you are usually forced to play as a back or mid player the first couple games on each field, as it does not give you enough time to analyze the field and plan a run through or something like that before the game begins.

Control Layout: You can do pretty much everything you would do in a real game. Its hard to get used to at first, but once you learn the controls you will be snapshooting, diving, and switching hands with ease. I like how you can hold down the lean trigger part way to lean out of the bunker less than the full distance. At first reloading is painfully slow, especially since you can't move while doing it or even cancel the process like you can in DPB. But once you get your Reload skill maxed out, you can run while reloading. You can't shoot while reloading, but I can't do that in real life anyways so that's not a big deal.

Campaign Mode: You get to play through rookie, novice, amateur, and pro leagues while building a team of real life players and buying real life equipment with the money you win frmo completing tournaments. You start out with a newbie gun and stupid team makes playing on a tire-and-tree field, and gradually get to acquire better guns and smarter team mates. I haven't finished it yet, but I've noticed that the A.I. get much smarter as the game progresses. Sometimes your team mates will do a run through and take out half of the other team off the break (although they usually get shot right away). Overall its a very addicting experience.

Realistic: The physics and field sizes are good, which is more than I can say for any other paintball game out there. You can wipe like in real paintball, although it is presented in a positive way which I think is bad for the sport. You can dive, you can snapshoot, you can change stances, you can do most anything. Also the rules are realistic, and features elimination, center flag, and 2 flag with 3, 5, and 7 man teams. I wish it had xball formats however (I haven't gotten that far, at least).

*Weaknesses*

Lack of Communication/Planning: Your team will seem pretty ineffective at many times. Often the back players will stand in the back corners and wait the entire game for their mirror to show themselves, while they should be controlling the lanes so that your front men can do their stuff. There is no way to call out bunkers or to know what your teammates know. When you get shot out, you switch to another teammate, which seems like a good mechanic but can cause serious problems. For example, I've often been switched to a player performing a run through without my knowing it, and I get shot because I have no idea where I am. Unfortunately, the game is restrited by using a gamepad to control it, so theres not much room for improvement here.
Still, you should be allowed to walk the field before the game. This is in my opinion the greatest shortcoming of the game. You get a few seconds to review the field just before the breakout from an arial view, but this isn't nearly enough to formulate a gameplan. This, coupled with the fact that you don't know where your team mates will break out to and they sometimes crowd into your bunker, make it impossible to plan a game before it starts.

Equipment Variety: This isn't a huge issue, but the equipment selection seems inconsistent. Firstly, the Tippman A-5 costs 500 dollars and is the best gun you can get until you go pro. Besides that, there is not a single Intimidator or Angel that you can buy (at least not for multiplayer, and probably not for single player). There is nothing by Smart Parts, including the famous Freak. The two best guns are the Karnivor and the DM5, which I suppose is accurate. It doesn't appear that WGP and Dye paid more than SP and National, since a lot of other Dye products (throttle, regular matrix) and WGP products (Stock Cocker) are missing, while National has several included products, including Profiler masks and Draxxus paintballs. Furthermore, some team mates use Angels and other markers that you can't buy...This isn't necessarily a shortcoming, it just confuses me.

Lack of Split Screen Multiplayer: I don't see why this couldn't be included. Nothing else needs to be said here. I think a cooperative single player mode would have been great.

Graphics: They're not bad for the most part. The bunkers look realistic, and most other things look good from up close. However, its nearly impossible to see a player on the other side of the field on some fields with certain backgrounds, and scertain paint colors don't show up until they're hitting you. This is one of the reasons why I think they included the Cheat meter, which makes it so you don't get lame'd every 10 seconds from a person that looked like part of the scenery outside the field.
Conclusion: The only real shortcoming of this game is the lack of planning/communication. Everything else can be overlooked in favor of truly addictive/fun gameplay. This issue can be overcome by adjusting your play style a little, for example playing mid until you learn the fields and then going for your game winning move. Or, you can just run around the field and look at the lanes while you wipe everything that hits you, and load a saved game when you finally get shot. I wouild recommend this game to any speedball player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

p8nt_check Friday, November 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
digital paintball(on the P.C.)
Strengths: Sounds Great, Maps,and its Paintball
Weaknesses: A.I. dont communicate and cheater metre
Review: Ive been waiting for a month now for this product to come out and when i put in the disk i was not disapointed. The game had everything I was hoping for. Realistic markers and time it takes to advance takes some time but could be expanded,also its not stop playing after ur hit u immidetly switch bodies into another body on ur team(single player of coarse)The cheater i think is the worst thing they could of put in the game its get distracting wen it pops up everytime your one balled.The things i would like to to see get put into this game is more upgrades for the markers and more brand names.
Conclusion: All in all its a great game and if u love paintball its something to do in ur off time
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ase Sunday, February 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
minclip.com's stress relief paintball (lmao)
tiger's virtual paintball (again, what a joke)
Marker Setup: Strange Vision Impulse
Custom Products Twist Lock Feed Neck
Dye Sticky 3
Freak Kit
Hyper Flow 68/4500
Empire Reloader B
WAS Board
Shocktech Mini-Drop
Check-it Uni-Mount
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: PROS:
-something to do during the week when you cant play real paintball
-good graphics
-fairly realistic
-good practice for hand-eye coordination and real-life strategy
-a pro made it, so it's actually like real tournament paintball
-real-life fields, companies,players, and teams

CONS:
-HARD sometimes
-sometimes unrealistic
-certain guns aren't available right away, even if you have the money for it
-cant move while reloading before having enough experience pts, even i could move while reloading when i was a newbie
-can't shoot while reloading.
-can't walk the field before a game
-can't tell your teammates where to go before a game and/or plan a strategy for the field, so therefore you have no idea where your teammates are going off the break (resulting in a lot of friendly-fire accidents), where to lane, what to supress, i could go on forever. that's probably one of the biggest cons.
-no PRACTICE MODE. no newbie jumps straight into tourneys without playing some rec-ball first. and NO ONE play tournaments without practicing with their team in between.
-can't jump over bunkers
-cant customize your gun (spend credits on upgrades, anno jobs, milling, etc.)


once i get xbox live ill add details on that
Conclusion: PROS:
This is a pretty dang good game. i DID expect much better, but i tend to do that with a lot of things. when you can't play paintball aftfer school every day, this is a good thing to look forward to coming home to. it has decent graphics, buts it's no halo. it is usually very realistic in terms of equipment, for example you start out with all camo gear and a wal-mart viewloader gun. when you play this game, it's generally just like real-life paintball, therefore it's great for practicing hand-eye coordination just like you were snap shooting in a real game. you can KINDA practice strategizing for real play, but not so well because of your lack of communication with your teammates. unlike the wannabe paintball games that i tried before (listed above), this game was made by someone who actually know the sport. this leads to having real-life tournaments, teams, players, companies, fields, etc., not just some made up names.
CONS:
Ifound that near the beginning of the game, maybe the third or fourth tournament, the game gets almost unbeatable. the other team has way more firepower (speedy guns), while you have a piece of crap and not enough money yet to buy a new gun that would do any good. but if you play it long enough, you can eventually beat it. also, sometimes you can have th money for a karnivor or other pro-level gun before it is even available. thats kinda dumb, i dont know y they did it that way. when you start out, you can't move at all while reloading. this sucks for a lot of obvious reasons. throughout the entire game you cannot shoot while reloading.it would be great if there was, before a tournament, a way to tell each teammate where to go and where your going, and be able to plan a half-ass strategy. that would have dramatically improved this game. maybe theyll have it on GHTP2. there should also be practice mode, to make it more realistic and also to learn about your teammates better, learn their general personality and tendencies. all in all i DEFINITELY recommend this game to everyone looking for omething to do during the week, but only for its effort and because there is no other paintball game that compares.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 5th, 2005 at 12:16 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Dragon 73 Tuesday, February 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paintball itself
(xbox rocks!)
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X ,32 degrees large drop forward,clamping feed neck,32 degrees electronic grip frame with sweet spot trigger, J&J "14" barrel ,ACS Delrin Bolt,madman spring set and reloader ll hopper.
Strengths: Realistic
Real Players
Good Graphics
Real Guns
Real Teams
Good map layout
Sounds
Xbox live!
Weaknesses: Can't upgrade your gun(only barrel)
Cheat meter good/bad
Review: I got this game for Christmas and I have to say its already one of my favorite games.You get to start out as a rookie with a junk gun and start to work your way up.You get better team mates,guns,barrels,hoppers,air and clothing.The game play is very realistic and the sounds are perfect. You also got to love and hate the cheat meter.Its pretty hard once you get up further in the game not to use the cheat meter and it can help you win but sometimes you can get caught cheating and then 3 team members get pulled out of the game,and that can become a problem. As well as single player the game can go on xbox live which is very fun. The only thing I didn't like was you couldn't buy any after market items for your gun except for a barrel(air and hopper as well)
Conclusion: Very fun game with lots of good features,you should take a look at picking a copy up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBObsessive Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Paintbrawl
Marker Setup: Dragun TES
14" J&J Ceramic
PMI 68/3000 and Redz tank cover
32 Degrees 800 PSI Guage
New Designz Spyder High-Flow valve
Clear Egg2 with y-board and paddle mod
Smoke Dye Invision with blue-clear fade lens
Strengths: It's fun and addictive
realistic movement
it's paintball
Weaknesses: No split screen!
Review: I got this game for Christmas and it has been highly addictive. I started out sucking quite horribly until I got used to the controls. I like that at the start there is a walk-through tutorial on how to do everything. Once you get used to it, the controls are very easy and smooth. You can actually do things like they were meant to be done on the field.
I'll now break my review down into some of the aspects of the game:

Equipment: They did a pretty good job licensing and rendering a good variety of gear. I like that they put stats of everything so you can see if the certain item is better than the item you are currently using. The only thing that annoys me is that your team mates can have guns that you cannot.

Gameplay: Being an avid paintballer, I find this game extremely addicting. I played it for over six hours right when I got it and have been frequently visiting my xbox ever since. The game does a wonderful job of simulating the sounds and action of paintball. You can hear the paintballs whizzing by your head and the characteristic pop of a paintball hitting a sup' air bunker. Great stuff. I also love the game's fast pace. In the beginning when you suck, the computer also sucks making you feel good about yourself. The game gets progressively more intense and you start to find your groove. I now have every match down to a science.

Cheat Meter: I hear a lot of bad comments about the cheat meter. Yes it is not very morally correct. Yes I hate cheaters and think they negatively affect the sport of paintball, however; In the game it would be five times more difficult if the cheat meter were not there. I get hit usually at least once per game and thanks to the cheat meter, I can stay in and get some more eliminations. The game would be too frusterating otherwise. I think they could've made the cheat meter more challenging or eliminating it altogether without sacrificing its benefits. Solution 1: Make the pendulum move faster Better Solution #2: Let there be a random chance of ball bounces, etc. Ref determines if you are hit or if it is a bounce.

Fields: Excellent. Very diverse field selection. Makes play fun since there are tons of different fields.

Music: Not many songs, but very luckily they allowed you to be able to upload your own. Excellent.

Multiplayer: I'm quite disappointed that there is no split screen, but it would make cheating very easy (looking at your opponent's screen). I haven't played on xbox live yet but it should be very fun.

General Impression: I can tell that this game wasn't high up on activision's priorities since it doesn't quite have the depth of other games--but--being a paintballer and appreciating all things paintball related, I find this game to be quite satisfactory, especially considering that all the other paintball games to date have sucked.
Conclusion: If you paintball, you need to get this game. It has some small weaknesses, but it is still great fun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media