paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse Eclipse On/Off Purge & Mini Rail / Planet Eclipse Eclipse On/Off Purge & Mini Rail / Planet Eclipse Eclipse On/Off Purge & Mini Rail / Planet Eclipse Eclipse On/Off Purge & Mini Rail

Planet Eclipse Eclipse On/Off Purge & Mini Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse Eclipse On/Off Purge & Mini Rail

Paintball Cradles, Rails, Drop Forwards and ASA's

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse Eclipse On/Off Purge & Mini Rail
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $55

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Planet Eclipse On/Off asa with rail. Comes in black and chrome.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse Eclipse On/Off Purge & Mini Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
yuu Friday, October 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Torpedo on/off
Marker Setup: Karnivor
Samurai Trigger
Eclipse OOPS
Strengths: Construction, looks, weight
Weaknesses: See review, and perhaps price.
Review: I bought the OOPS to replace the big hunky Torpedo on/off that came with my Karni.

Package:
Nothing to write home about. It was a nice touch that it did come with instructions - not that you need them. But it goes to show that the product is well thought out. Any screws you need are included, so no hunting through the spare box.

Looks:
It's got great lines, and a small profile. It's signifigantly smaller that the Torpedo on/off.

Finish:
It's glassy smooth. I didn't find any faults in the machining or finish.

Using it:
Attaching the rail. As you might expect, it's super easy to install. The only odd part is you have to remove one of the grub screws from the rail to access the front mounting screw - no big deal.

The ASA: It has ports on both the left and the right (though they are now shown on any photos I've seen), allowing you to set it up as you want, a plug for the unused port is included. Other than having the two ports, not much to say about this part.

ASA to rail. This part I dug. Instead of using screw run vertically through the rail to hold the ASA (and scratch it up) they use two horizontal screws to push the sides of the rail into the dovetail groove. This gives a nice secure fit, and no nasty scratches on the ASA.

Gas n' Go:
Here is the only part where I encountered a problem, and it's probably the fault of the air bottle and not the OOPS. I've got a Dye Throttle screw in. I picked up a used shock tech on-off that it would not fit in. In this case it screwed into the OOPS just fine. The problem was, that even with the on/off screw all the way out, the valve on the Throttle would be open a tiny amount. This is probably due the the fact that the Throttle was really low on air (so there was little pressue to hold the valve closed) and the fact that it has a light valve spring. While this detracts a little from the OOPS, it's not enought for me to say anything bad.

** Edit **
After a tiny bit of oil and a day of play the problem with it not turning all the way off with my Throttle went away. The purge works just great. Just unscrew the on/off knob far enough and "pfft" no more blown o-rings ever.

**Edit #2 **
So, the OOPS keeps its rating, but I wanted to pass on some info.
After a while my OOPS began to leak from it's front (closest to the knob) purge hole. I tried to fix it to no avail. I contacted the US rep for eclipse and he told me to mail it to him. They knews of the problem and had a fix. Apparently there were some problems with an early batch of the internals. I sent it off. It came back quite quickly. The leak was gone. Additionally I got a swank set of stickers, and a macro line elbow - all for $0.83 shipping I paid. So, the OOPS is still a good product, and Eclipse also gets a nod for good customer service.
Conclusion: This is a nice nice rail and ASA combo. I had one minor problem with it, but I don't thing Eclipse is at fault there.

Since they only offer the ASA with the rail, it's a tad pricey. But you do get a well thought out and well made product.

Really I'd give it a 9.5 (-0.5 for the Throttle vavle thing), but I'm going to post as a 9
** Edit ** SInce the valve thing went away, I'm going to post as a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 14th, 2005 at 2:05 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

dmansr25sd Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 2k4 Red WGP Vert. Cocker
dye ultralite
orracle tickler
eclipse on/off
full nexus kit
eblade2
black magic regulator
Strengths: Good looking
Very easy to turn
Great design
Weaknesses: Somewhat expensive, but really not check review
Review: This is a great on/off. It has a very clean design to it, the people at planet eclipse came up with an ingenius retaining system for teh rail and on/off. The way it is designed there is no possiblity for externaly visible scratchs. The on/off action is very very smooth and can be done with minimal force. The purge feature is also very nice, it is quite quiet. It was kind of expensive but it is actually not that bad because you also get the mounting rail. Many other on/offs require you to buy another rail.
Conclusion: The perfect on/off period.
If you are deciding between this and the unimount definitly get this, the extra money is well spent, it has a better rataining design which means no scratchs much unlike the unimount, and it is much smoother than the uni.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

animal control Friday, February 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
KAPP K2 DZII ON/OFF TANK ADAPTER (CHROME)
Marker Setup: the marker i have this product in is:
WGP AUTOCOCKER(mechanical)
was stock, JUST added a WORR Hindge Traigger frame,
J&J Ceramic 14 inch barrel,
KAPP Twisted Cocking rod,
Cooper-T Delrin Bolt(this guy is pretty unknown and has a GREAT product),
otherwise the rest is stock.
i usually use a dye trottle 91/45tank
Strengths: Ease of install, Ease of use, Quality design, Quaity product.
Weaknesses: Price, No instructions(even though they are not really needed),.
Review: I had to replace the trigger on my mech autococker and while i was getting parts i saw this and decided i might as well add an on/off with a littl bit of drop(the air attachment that was on before cut into the bottom(meaty part) of my hand.

Package:
just a clear plastic box with a company paper insert and the product.

Looks:
it was glossy black(i like an ALL BLACK marker) and the design is astetic and clean.

Finish:
it's glossy, i like this marker mostly matte black but as i stated earlier about replacing the trigger, it is glossy too.

Install:EASY, even with out the instructions(which were NON-existant) , if you can't figure out this install, pay a tech big CASH to install, of go back to your spyder package deal.

The ASA: It has ports on both the left and the right and a plug for the side you don't use. i had to add a little teflon tape to this plug to stop leakage.

ASA to rail.i am just gonna copy what some dude said earlier here, it is perfect. " This part I dug. Instead of using screw run vertically through the rail to hold the ASA (and scratch it up) they use two horizontal screws to push the sides of the rail into the dovetail groove. This gives a nice secure fit, and no nasty scratches on the ASA. "

Gas n' Go:
hooked up a older 45/45 tank and only a tiny leak t hat was fixed with teflon tape(mentioned earlir). then i hooked it up with a remote line and NO problems. Than i screwed on my dye throttle 91/45 and again, NO PROBLEMS.

field test: worked great, did exactly what it was suppose to do.

QUESTION: i need to now retime my marker, but, i added this product and a hinge trigger at the same time and it now appears to be a HUGE air-hog....any ideas?!?!?!?!
Conclusion: I would totally recommend this to anyone, and already have, a great design and a quality product.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 21st, 2006 at 10:32 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sylvan Sniper Tuesday, October 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: SP Ion. Shocktech Reg. Orange Bolt. Freak Kit w 14"Progressive and 18" All American.
Pure Energy 4500.
Strengths: Looks great, narrow profile. Easy Installation.
Weaknesses: Leaks...
Review: Had mine on since July. Loved it. Easy to install and going from stock to ASA was awesome. But twice now I've got leaks out of the bottom hole. First time the piston o-ring somehow got shredded, second time is still under investigation.
Needless to say, I take good care of my stuff. Always clean, maintained and stored properly. Tank appears fine, new o-rings, and still a leak......

Will update when solution found.
Conclusion: Started off very happy, 8 or 9 out of 10? But now? We'll see how fixing it goes, and any time a product fails for a second time.....
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The_Fizz Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Pm5
freak kit w/ 3 inserts
tadao m5 board
revvy
Pure energy 68/4500
Planet eclipse on/off rail
cp reg
Strengths: Quality product
mini rail
easy turn for on/off
purge
Weaknesses: Mine would wiggle a little bit on the marker (see review)
Review: I got this used off ebay for $30. I just wanted something fast and this had a buy it now so I got it. I like this because it comes with a mini rail which helps to keep you a little bit smaller. The easy turn and purge is Also great. After I tightened it a good amount it would wiggle a little bit on the marker, but Im willing to blame this on the fact that it was used. The play in it is also neglible and I wouldnt notice it while I was playing anyway so it doesnt really matter
Conclusion: Overall great product. Buy it if you can find it cheap. If you cant and you're on a budget, then you might want to look for something a little cheaper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mark lanski Tuesday, June 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: promaster silver
tiller barrel kit off ebay
70/4500 dye throttle(rhino cover)
evil reg
planet eclipse asa

98c
16 in. progressive
Strengths: Works great
purge
mini rail
Weaknesses: None
Review: 50 words minimum for a asa, stupid. i got it for $25 off orderpaintball.com best thing i have ever done. works great with the dye throttle tank. do not be like many people and forget to OIL IT before you use it. By oil i mean lubercated...

ANY ?s ask me









h h h h h h h h h hh h h h h h h h h hh h h h h h h h h hh h h h h h h h h h

Conclusion: Works great with a stubby tank
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 20th, 2010 at 8:30 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

section 8 Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All sorts of ASA/drops, on/offs
Marker Setup: RT mag, Nerve, Upped Ion,
Strengths: Everyting
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have been playing 5 years, staring with ASA's that are impossible to get a tank off to many on/off with rails and drops. Some would hold pressure (smart parts) making it very hard to get a tank off. Some are almost impossible to turn the knob. Others look goofy, are large. leak, knobs fall off. I tried this and it is the answer to my prayers. Buttery smooth to turn off and on and bleed pressure out when you turn it off. Very light and compact. Everything I was looking for in an ASA.
Conclusion: BUy it!! Don't mess around with the other junk.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sia_simba Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Checkit unimount, Smart parts on/off, CP, WGP
Marker Setup: 2005 Ego w/ star frame

2005 WGP Karnivor
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: My friend raved about this item long before I actually got the chance to use it. But when I did use it, I was totally shocked and amazed at how easy it was for me to just gas and degas my marker. This model is a bit longer than the new SL ones, but they don't shy in comparison. SOme actually prefer the looks of these, but that comes down to personal preference.

The price has dropped on these or on the similar SL ones to around $30. For that price and it includes the rail/ mini dropforward, I would DEFINATEly recommend getting this item.

It comes in diff colors, red, blue, black, grey, etc. so you can sort of match it to your scheme. You can also get these used and I would recommend it as well if you are just looking for an on/off system.

The knob is really easy to turn, you wont hurt your fingers, and there is enough force presence so that the knob won't turn by itself, but its ease for your fingers to turn. The style is great, and it looks awesome.

Strengths: Looks, quality, durability, ease of use, price, weight, color availability

Weakness: Slighter longer, maybe 0.75cm longer than the SL
Conclusion: This is a great item, esp for the price that its being offered for now. I would highly recommend picking these up and they are by far, the BEST on/off I have ever used. Thats probably why eclipse is one of the top companies in paintball items nowadays.

Pick these up if you can find a good deal on them. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

StrykerX Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
- Standard Eclipse on/off (NOT the purge)
- Smart parts Smart Vlave
Marker Setup: - E1 Blade Eclipse Factory Cocker With Full Nexus Internals
- Max-Flo LPR
- SS Freak Back With 14 Inch 06 Freak Front
- Black dust Eclipse On/Off Purge System
- Empire Re-Load 2
- 3000psi PMI Pure Energy 72cu Air Tank With WDP Lok Soks
Strengths: - VERY well built
- Very easy to turn on
- Looks great!
Weaknesses: None what so ever
Review: Got this thing last week, got it in black dust too so it matches my marker. As soon as I opened the packaging that it came in I knew that it was something special. The finish on it is excellent (like all eclipse products). and it looks excellent on my gun.

After fitting it, which was very easy, I plugged in my air bottle and turned the gas flow on. It's VERY easy to turn on, and very smooth too. Turning it off is great too, just screw it out and the gas purges via a small hole in the bottom of the ASA. Simple as/

Comparatively this is the Best On/Off i've had or used.
Conclusion: I Srongly reccomend buying this product to anyone looking for an ASA. sure, it's a little pricey compared to others on the market, but believe me, you get what you pay for. An all-around excellent product
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thunnderstrukk Thursday, February 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cp stuff. shocktech stuff
Marker Setup: Blue SP ion PE 45/45 Core 3piece, HaloB w/ rip and vic board Check it sure fit neck. QEV. Maxflo reg Trinity trigger Eclipse on/off
Strengths: Looks good. perfect drop. adjustable, light,
Weaknesses: Kind of expensive. it was like 40 bucks.
Review: I just got this like a few months ago and i love it. despite the fact that i spent 40 bucks on it, its the best thing since sliced bread. its really good looking, has a perfect drop. matches my gun. stays on tight. the on/off is easy to screw in and out. it doesnt get stuck. the one i have doesnt have purge so you have to shoot out the extra air but thats no big deal. all in all if you have 40 bucks and want a nice rail then go for this one.
Conclusion: Yeah... its good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media