paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels

Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $129

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The "Fluted" Barrel is the "Rifled Hammerhead Barrel" and can be used either for tournament or scenario play.

The BattleStikxx is a "military style" rifled barrel, than can be used in both woods and in scenario as well. Scenario players use this barrel quite a bit due to its Marine sniper profile and reverse porting.

For new players that purchase their own paint,or use field paint, we recommend the player purchase a fin and a front and add fins later.

For serious players that want long ball accuracy and must utilize tournament paint provided by others: We recommend a fin kit with with either 3 fins or 5 fins.

Starts at $129.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Xhero Monday, February 14th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months37 of 99 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi Switch - Murders the Hammerhead.
Kaner Kit - Much better.
Basically any barrel system is better.

Marker Setup: Palmerized PMI/Sheridan Piranha Long Barrel.
AGD Sydarm
AGD Tac-One
AGD Morlocked E-Tac
Tippmann ProCarbine
Tippmann A-5
WGP Karnivor
Recommended
Paintballs:
None.

Strengths: Looks good, durable construction.
Weaknesses: Inaccurate after breakage, breaks in barrel.
Review: I purchased this barrel system with high hopes after reading many good reviews. Unfortunately, the reality turned out to be much worse than I could have anticipated. I purchased this direct from the manufacturer's website, buying the barrel and all 5 backs for nearly $300. Less than 4 months later I sold it on eBay for about $110, and was glad to be rid of it. I tested this system on two different guns, the Tippmann A-5 and the AGD Tac-One. That was the point in getting a "scenario" type barrel. To go with my scenario guns.

The first day I used this barrel system I was astounded at the inaccurate firing pattern. After using it for about 10 minutes I took myself out of the game and examined the barrel, discovering that I had a barrel break and the bore was dirty. This barrel most definitely won't shoot itself clean. I ended up having to pour water through the barrel to clean it and clean it with a battle swab, since the grooves prohibited my squeegee from cleaning it properly.

I thought it might have been the paint I was using at the time, Empire Fuel, so I decided to try out a variety. Marbellizers, Evil, Anarchy, Dynasty Dragon, and I even tried out some Menace I had won. All returned the same result. The barrel actually shoots as accurately as any other high end system, until you break a ball. Once that happens your accuracy is guaranteed be horrible unless you can scrub the barrel out with water, which is a complete pain when you're stomping around the woods at an all day scenario event.

After trying the different paint I decided to try it on another gun and ended up with the same results. This was an AGD Tac-One with a level ten bolt, so no chopping was going on in the marker. Once again I was less than impressed with the results. No matter what paint I used after the first break the barrel was worthless. It seemed to happen every hundred or so rounds for me.
Conclusion: I'd recommend staying away from this product. The hype just isn't true and for the price you can get much better products. I give this product a 1 for the flat out lie regarding the system's ability to clean itself after breakages.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
55 Comments - Add Comment

Highrise Thursday, June 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month31 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Twister Barrel
Armson Rifled Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 4 Chamber Expansion Chamber
Modified Lapco Sight-rail Extension
BSA Red-dot Sight
Ricochet Hopper
Starfire Bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Marballizer
But I've shot all kinds of paint through it
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Hello fellow paint flingers! So, we've all heard of the elusive, ultimately accurate barrel. Legends are spoken in hushed tones in dark corners of fields around the country. The shining epitome of paintball marker barrel perfection that we've all heard about but knew would never come to pass has arrived. Read on, and listen.

History:
My roommate purchased this barrel in the summer of 2004. At the time Hammerhead didn't have any A-5 fins available so they included an autococker adapter with his three fin set. He boasted of his new barrel and showed many a video of incredible feats being accomplished by players who were using it. Unfortunately for my roommate, this is where his enthusiasm ended. The first time he got to try out his barrel, it broke paint on the second shot. Then the fifth. Then the eighth. You see where this is going. There wasn't an instance where he didn't break paint in his barrel when he tried it. Needless to say he was extremely upset and frustrated with this useless and expensive barrel he had wasted his time and money on. However, thanks to the man who first introduced me to this wonderful sport, the story doesn't end there. My other paintball cohort purchased the new 5 fin system for his 98 custom, and was delighted with his results. At his suggestions, my roommate sent his whole setup back to the company with a letter explaining his complaints and requesting any help the manufacturer's could supply. The same day that his barrel arrived, a new one had been sent out to him. Apparently there was a batch of around 40 fin sets that had been made that were erroneous, and Hammerhead was glad to fix the problem for NO charge. Not only that, they sent him a 5 fin setup instead of the original 3 he had purchased. He had his new setup in under a weeks time from when he sent his barrel off. Impressive to say the least. Over the next few months I witnessed his game improve and it got me thinking that I might like to partake of this barrely goodness. The opportunity arose at this years (2005) Oklahoma D-Day. The Hammerhead guys had a table set up in one of the tents and low and behold, they were selling full setups for $50 under their sticker price. I took the plunge, and let me say that I'm oh-so-very happy I did.

Durabilty:
The barrel comes in a sturdy carrying case made of black abs plastic with the groovy "Hammerhead" logo embazoned on the side in yellow. There are two opening latches, both with lock holes to secure your barrel when not in use. Upon opening the case, you see contoured foam snuggly holding your barrel, fins, ball sizer, and thread lube in place. The barrel itself is constructed of a solid metal (I believe its aluminum).

Weight:
The barrel isn't too heavy at all, especially when compared to some other barrels such as the Dye stainless steel barrel or a flatline.

Sound:
Due to the reverse porting at the end of the barrel, most of the sound is actually pushed back at you, the firer. This sometimes makes you believe that its very loud, and is therefore a disadvantage. Don't be fooled. Let someone shoot the marker in your direction from 20 yards away and you'll be amazed at the sound transferrence.

Accuracy:
The real test of a barrel. The question that we all want to know: How accurate is it? Let me tell you. I have never fired a more accurate barrel aside from real firearms. Period. Thats all there is to it. When I turn on my site, I hit EXACTLY where I aim 9 out of 10 times, with the tenth only slightly deviating. I was shooting holes in the leaves of the tree 25 yards away from my porch like a cowboy shooting the ace of spades. I've shot Boomsticks, Freaks, Empires, Tippmann Werks and Flatlines, Armson's, Dyes and J&J's, and NOTHING comes close. At close range (20-30 ft) I got 10 shots with 3in grouping. At mid range (30-60 ft) I got 10 shots with 5-6in grouping. And at long range (60-150 ft) I got 10 shots with 8in grouping. These tests were done using PMI Marballizer paint using the .683 fin.

Paint:
I've mostly shot Marballizer through it, but I bought a case of Draxxus and Blue Streak to test other paint quality. Through the bore sizing, you can shoot almost any brand of paint without fuss or deviation. All paint shot straight and true without a single break.

Price:
This is an expensive setup, no two ways about it. The 5 fin setup with barrel and case will run you about $200 or so from the company. Thats more expensive than most entry level markers. But what price do you put on perfection. What would you pay to be able to hit your opponent with only one squeeze of the trigger, knowing full well that a second shot won't be needed?

Customer Service:
If there is a category that outshines the accuracy of this little baby it would be this one. As I mentioned earlier, the company sent a new setup to my roommate free of charge. Most of us would say that's nothing to boast about; that the company owed it to my friend for selling him damaged goods in the first place. And of course you would be right. But how many people can get an e-mail response from a company the same day you sent in your question? Or actually get an honest-to-God live human being with an accomplished vocabulary on the phone when you call them up? And here's another wonder. My roommate upgraded to a WGP VF Tactical Autococker this year after D-Day. He emailed the company wondering what cost he would be looking at to replace his A-5 fins for autococker ones, and they said that he shouldn't worry about it. All he needs to do is send in his old ones, and they will send him a brand new set of cocker fins for no cost. Its been over a year since he originally purchased his barrel and he is still getting this kind of treatment. This company stands behind their product, and they have every right to do so, and be proud of it. If your barrel isn't shooting like what I've described, then send it back to them explaining your concern. Believe me, they'll do EVERYTHING they can to correct the issue and to get you back out on the field with their barrel.
Conclusion: In conclusion, this is the most accurate barrel on the market today. And with the superb customer service of Hammerhead standing behind it, its worth every penny of the retail price. Save your allowance, bug your friends, beg your parents and loved ones, do whatever it takes for you to own one, because when you do, you'll be like me and every other Hammerhead owner out there. I feel almost like I'm cheating when I play with this barrel and I mourn for the poor people about to be shot out by me. Then I chuckle slightly.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xadion Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested25 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only other rifeled barrell I have used is a CMI Tru-Flight- other normal barrells include freaks empire kit dye boomsticks and an array of stock barrels
Marker Setup: Ken C catapult number 3 of 10 Gun Metal Grey 1 of 1- Nexus Ram with QEV's STO LPR STO Ergo HPR Empire Kit barrel system and Hammerhead barrell system Eblade w/ black noid and black samuri trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
As sudgested from the manufacturer high quality paint only, PMI Prem or above
Strengths: Read Review
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: First off let me state this will be a growing and changeing review as my testing gets completed.

Before I get into the barrell I must state that this is the same barrell and same backs as the normal "hammerhead" barrell just the outside looks different yet the marterials, porting and all other things are exactly the same, thus they are the same barrell with differing outside looks.

First impression: I have never seen such a smooth, shiny, clean and well done inside of a barrel- not from stiffi's or boomsticks or anything- looking down the barrel alone will amaze you...pictures alone do it no justice, you must see it to understand.

The "fins" or barrell backs are very nice- and alot higher quality and exacting bore than my empire kit. I got alittle guage to help size my paintballs, it is steel and does the job, lets me match my paint w/o haveing to have all my tips out.

The one thing you will notice, as I did right off the bat is its weight...it is noticeably heavyer than my empire kit and stock...I would say its the same as my origonal dye boomstick.
-----------


tests: Updated 12-7-04

SHORT RANGE TEST #1: Autococker: Hammerhead vs Empire

Paint: PMI Premium
Gun: 2004 Lightning Autococker w/ E-Blade Jackal Back Block and Bolt – EggII.
Bore: Empire .684 Hammerhead .683
Results: I would rate them about the same; I only got to shoot about 50 rounds per barrel. The rifling was doing something with the paint, even at shot range. I could feel a difference and this is promising, and could result in its advertised change in range at long range.

MID RANGE TEST #1: Autococker: Hammerhead vs Empire

Paint: PMI Premium
Gun: 2000 RF WGP Autococker w/Q-Loader
Bore: Empire .684 Hammerhead .683
Results: I did about 100 rounds per barrel this time at about 20 more feet than before, for the speedballers this would be a back man covering mid. Both barrels produced a nice pattern I did shoot the hammerhead faster, do not know why it I think I was trying to jinx it yet it performed well. The paint was about the same patter, but if you shoot ball on ball the paint splatter will mound and look like the same pattern as shooting around a target, with that I am going to derive a dual target that will show ball impact and then paint hit.

SHORT RANGE TEST #2: Autococker: Hammerhead vs Empire

Paint: PMI Premium
Gun: 2000 RF WGP Autococker w/Q-Loader
Bore: Empire .684 Hammerhead .683
Results: I was playing around in my back yard, doing quick 2-4 round bursts, I was amazed at the ball on ball I was doing, I am really looking forward to getting into a game with this barrel and also testing out its long range ability.

LONG RANGE TEST #1: Autococker: Hammerhead vs Empire

Paint: PMI Premium
Gun: 2000 RF WGP Autococker w/Q-Loader
Bore: Empire .684 Hammerhead .683
Results: Before a skirmish at our practice feild I did some testing of the two barrels at a longer range. I still have yet to see if the Hammerhead will make the actual paintball fly "farther" than a standard barrel BUT I can say that the useable range is farther. Let me explain my concept of 'useable range' - most paint guns shoot the same distance in terms of when the paintball hits the ground. After you get to know your marker, and get to know how it fires under play circumstances you will beable to guage weather someone is 'out of range' or not. The Hammerhead IS more accurate, thus the paintball will stay on its intended cource for a longer time before it starts to wonder to the left or right- thus its useable range IS farther than a standard barrel.



GAME / SKIRMISH TEST #1: Autococker: Hammerhead vs Empire

Paint: PMI Premium
Gun: 2000 RF WGP Autococker Q-Loader
Bore: Empire .684 Hammerhead .683
Results: During a practice I finaly got to use my Hammerhead barrels in action, I was not dissapointed in their proformance. Once I get my mQ Valve in and my Catapult Cocker is running I will be going to Hi-Tech Paintball for a day of fun...there I will not only unleash the fury of the best auto cocker made with the best loading system but now the best barrel that I have used so far...will it pass the test of a full day of woodsball and speedball??

Conclusion: Rateing this 9, its the same as the other hammerhead barrell on the inside (what counts)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 at 1:21 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

sprayandpray Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months24 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick, Infinity, Freak system, Lucky 15, Flatline
Marker Setup: 05 Speed Pewter to Black Fade (More like blue grey to black fade)
70/45 Crossfire LP
Centerflag asa - rail
Hammerhead Battle stixx kit 10.5 inch front
Halo B w/ Victory board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any good Quality
Strengths: Accuracy, Noise reduction
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have a 10.5 inch front with 5 fins:
I received my barrel and immediately went to shoot it, I used the ball sizer included with the kit and chose the correct fin. I put a couple balls through it to steady my reg then started testing accuracy. I was shooting at a spool that was 45 feet away. I shot 2 balls at the center hole with both balls going directly through it, I then took it to the field for further test firing at the poles we have holding up our nets from 30 to 120 feet away.
I shot at the pole at 50 feet with ten ball all of them striking the pole. I then shot at the pole at 120 feet with ten ball, nine of them hit it. I then tried rapid fire on a pole around 60 feet away and was amazed at the balls grouping on the pole I was hardly missing at all. My friend was there helping me with the test and he said that he couldn't hear it firing at all, which sounded weird to me because it sounded 3 times as loud as my previous barrel. To see if he needed a hearing exam I let him shoot over my shoulder at a distance of 60 feet. I was amazed at the lack of sound all you could hear was the balls whizzing by. I then remembered the reverse porting that is suppose to direct sound towards shooter not the target, it works very well. Even at close range you cannot hear it firing only balls flying past . I didn't have a break out of 2 cases of paint so I broke a ball by hand to check the natural clean out ability of the barrel. The first shot flew off coarse just like any other barrel , then the second shot was better but still not near the target after the 3rd and 4th shots it got closer and closer with the 5th being on target. This barrel was shooting very well after the broken ball. I was very pleased with the results.
Conclusion: This thing is accurate,accurate,accurate!!!
It has very good clean out after a break to get the balls back on target
The reverse porting is amazing, to the shooter its pretty loud but in front of the marker its silent and deadly, whoever the target is will be wandering where the paint is coming from. Bottom line its the best barrel I have ever shot. If you are looking for a barrel kit , BUY IT. You wont be disappointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ITO TTSOM Thursday, January 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, JJ Ceramic, Lapco Bigshot, Lapco Snap Shot, Dye Boom Stick, Stiffi, Powerlyte Scepter, Orbium SM-1 Barrel Kit
Marker Setup: Tippman A5, Palmer Reg, and Angle G7
Recommended
Paintballs:
Rampage, Marbs, Evil, Allstar... Anything halfway decent.
Strengths: This is the most Accurat barrel I have ever used.

Weaknesses: Does not clean well + keep velocity under 285fps
Review: This is a review of a 12.5 Hammer Head Battle Stikxx with 5 Fin Kit.

I actually own and play with this barrel, and I do not work for, or am affiliated in any way, with Hammer Head; I bought this barrel used so I have not even bought anything from them either, but to be honest I do live in the same state.

As someone who likes to shoot real guns, one of the biggest complaints I have about paintball is accuracy. Granted I am using a Tippmann A5, but I still would have thought Paintball markers would be more accurate than what I experienced when I first got into the sport. So I have been on the lookout for anything I can do to improve the accuracy.

After reading some reviews here, I shied away from the Hammer Head because of price and uncertainty, but when I found a used one with 5 fin kit for cheap I decided it was worth the risk.

Right out of the shipping box I could see the HH was the finest machined paintball barrel I have ever seen. Even critics who don’t like this barrel have commented on the superb quality and machining of this barrel, it has a real solid look and feel. The riffling is really beautiful, and not nearly as extreme as I had been lead to believe. It’s basically a gentle twist of smooth ridges along the length of the barrel, does not look like something that would cut a paintball.

The barrel comes with a choke system. They are little adapters sized .693, .690, .688, .686, and .683 and HH calls them “fins”. With this system also comes a gauge to measure your paintballs so you can choose a “fin” that matches. After playing with this for about a month now the only fins I have used are the .693 and .690 Granted I have only got 2 cases of paint through it, maybe once I get a chance to try different paint I will get to use the other “fin” sizes.

Test Fire: I have an area on the side of my house for test firing paintball markers that has been measured at 85’.

The day I got it the barrel on my marker, I put hopper full of Marbs on it and was able to shoot 6” groupings at 85’. Out of groups of 10 shots, I was able to place 4-5 paint balls on top of one another in some instances (not every group) but this was not consistent…but it was still sweet, and the groups were still very tight as compared to my other barrels.

Game Time:

The first day I played a game with it there was a 2 or 3 game learning curve. The increased accuracy means you don’t really need to shoot as much, and that aiming and actually hitting what you aim at can really happen. With my old barrel I would sometimes wait until my target was really exposed before I would spam them, otherwise I would just be wasting paint. Now if I see even so much as a hopper sticking out, I make a quick triple tap and have had some fantastic results. My game play is very different now.

In fact my last game at about 70’ the other guys hopper was sticking out just to the side of the bunker, I did the triple tap thing and hit the exposed hopper all three times. The ball on ball shots are not consistent but they do happen, and I feel the tight groupings give me an edge.

Suppression fire is a whole different game with the tight groupings, now when I lay suppression fire for teammates the other guys stay down, were as before they would sometimes stay put and return fire; it’s a subtle thing but it’s noticeable too.

Breaks and Cleaning:

After 2 cases of paint I have not broken a ball during play with this barrel. However a couple of times in between games I accidentally fired my marker while tuning the trigger with the barrel plug in… yeah yeah I know I am a dork…. Anyway, my squeegee was less then adequate for clearing the paint from the riffling and the next game I had paint flying ever which way and even changing course in mid air. I ducked down behind a bunker, took the barrel off and swabbed it, and then it was back to accurate and intimidating. Moral of the story, if you do break paint, a squeegee won’t do, you will have to swab it really well.
Conclusion: This is still my favorite barrel but your velocity needs to be constant and set around 285-FPS otherwise accuracy drops.

Combine this with a high-end marker and you shoot ropes of paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 27th, 2006 at 7:58 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Mike Kujo Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Bigshot, Flatline, JT one piece
Marker Setup: A5 w/ RT, CO2, expansion Chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
Quality paint shoots best but cheap paint shoots fine through the hammerhead too
Strengths: Amazing accuracy
Weaknesses: Purchase price is high but worth every penny
Review: This this is so accurate it's almost an unfair advantage. Even shooting my Tippmann w/ CO2 I can gogg people thru small holes in thier cover or easily hold a string of suppressive fire inches off the side of a bunker. This barrel is awesome at longballing due to the straightness of it's trajectory it has a really long effective range.

I was showing off to my buddy who shoots a cocker w/ HPA & a Dye ultralight, he wanted to see which shot the best and wanted to shoot targets at 50' but I suggested trying something a little farther away. At 100' he could not hold a group anywhere near as tight as my Hammerhead (we were both shooting evil and had matched the bore to the paint).

I recently sold my trusty A-5 for an Action Markers Diadem, the one thing I HAD to have on the new marker was another Hammerhead barrel. I am a Hammerhead user for life it is the MOST accurate thing out there.
Conclusion: Nothing else comes remotely close to the amazing accuracy of the Hammerhead, so sack up and get one as quickly as possible
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

sucker_for_pain Tuesday, September 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Proto
Ultralite
Titanium Ultralite
Shaft kit
Marker Setup: Black/Blue Fade Proto Matrix
Diamond smoke Empire B
Pure Energy 68/4500
Dye Rubberneck
CP ASA with on/off
Ultralite Frame
Hammerhead Battlestix 5 piece
Recommended
Paintballs:
Combat 68 or some allstars or X ball anykind
Strengths: Accurate
Matches Proto
Reverse ported
Nice case
Quiet for targets
Shoots through breaks well
Weaknesses: Little backs= strap wrench
Kinda loud for me (oh well)
Review: Well when I ordered this barrel kit from a website i was syked. A local team is sponsored by hammerhead or they were for a while but i ordered one because even though they werent sponsored by them anymore they wouldnt shoot any other barrel. This is a pretty strong claim to be made because in their gear bags they had freaks adn ultralites but they would only shoot the hammerhead. I needed one.

Anyways...
FIRST IMPRESSIONS: it came in a nice black plastic case kinda like a electric drill and a yellow picture of a hammerhead that said JUST PLAIN MEAN. i was like SWEET and opened it up. there were 5 stainless backs, a 14 inch tip, ball sizer, and lithium grease snugly fitted into foam, very impressive!

TESTS: went to work (at a paintball field) and aired up the matrix and matched some paint to the barrel. The paint was some RPS stinger and it fit the 686 back. we have a post about 80 feet away that we test shoot markers at. usualy its like 6 out of 10 or 7 out of ten shots hit it but all 10 hit it. we were amazed and we continued to blast that post and ones farther back with great accuracy. This looked very promising and from what i have found out over this past season these barrels are my ace in the hole. They kill suckers.

There is a tree down from our shop and it is about 250 feet away. we had my buddies prostock autococker nad we were shooting at the tree. we were hitting it or missing slightly. every other thing we have tried wouldnt come close until the matrix with the hammerhead came out. almost as accurate as teh cocker which made me very very happy.

Played alot of speedball with teh barrel. i would be shooting 3 cases a week in various levels of humidity and temperature (from 10 degreed C to 33) and the barrel performed very welly. my buddies are afraid of me because from 120ish feet this thing is awesomely accurate. one balling is very realistic and short ropes on target are a definate hit. You dont have to worry about getting barrel breaks because its a quality barrel.

You can see the ball spinning when you shoot 2 toned balls. You only get wingers (balls that vere way off center) when they are misshaped or the seams are larger than usual. I work at a paintball field and have seen almost everything except some of the newer stuff and have tried alot of barrels to. It goes hammerhead, matchstik, freaks stiffis and UL's and then everything else.

My team mate and i were playing speedball and i was runnin the dorito side. he was confused after the first game and was like what the he** did you leave or something. i was ahead of him and shooting and it was loud due to teh reverse porting but when he slingshotted in front of me he thought i dissapeared because the barrel is so quiet in front. I was snapping guys out like it was no big deal all nite. feet, hoppers, chins and i even shot someones barrel. these arent hype claims but actual things that i have done with this barrel. i traded with a guy who had a titanium ultralite for a game. that barrel is as much as this kit. it was quieter for me but it had zero accuracy advantages over my hammerhead. he was impressed with it and wished he didnt buy his titanium ultralite. This barrel is the bees knees guys, i have been speedballin for 3 years and am happy to have come across this barrel. I would not trade it for any other barrel going.

This barrel makes you a nightmare on the field. it is super accurate, really quiet for your targets and cleans after breaks exceptionally, but it doesnt break many balls so you dont have to worry about that. i have shot over 25 cases through this barrel and i probably had 30 barrel breaks in many different conditions and paint grades. this thing blows the others away. in the bush you shoot the crack shooters and the guys who's hoppers are showing. on the speedball field you mark hoppers and elbows that have gone a stray. i would definatly reccomend this barrel to anyone who is looking for a bush or speedball barrel.

The only beef i have with this barrel is the need for a strap wrench to remover the fin from the tip. the fin is really small and when you get all greasy after some paintball the strap wrenches help alot.

Oh and the last thing is that at the last tourny Edmonton Impact was reffing and 3 of them approached me and test fired my marker with the barrel on it, were amazed and contemplated adding it to their own markers for the 2007 season. PROS DONT USE CRAPPY PRODUCTS.
Conclusion: This is the best barrel goin in my opinion. May not be the prettiest thing goin but it gets the job done, well. I reccomend it to everyone but if your coming to play were i am dont bring your hammerhead because its my secret weapon. its not flashy so noone is drawn to shiny objects so i just shoot them in the face when i get onto the field. Hammerhead makes them bite the dust.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 3rd, 2007 at 6:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HuLkAmAnIa16 Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi, Dye Ultra-lite, Freak Kit, Bigshot, numerous others.
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 05 with PSP and G7 Eyes
Recommended
Paintballs:
Newer Paint, Harder Shells
Strengths: -Light
-Queit down range
-ACCURATE
-Cleans itself
Weaknesses: -Price
Review: The hammerhead is a truely amazing barrel. It is extremely accurate do to the rifling on the inside of the bore. It's consist due to the ability to change "fins." It is quiet down range due to reverse porting.

I've used this barrel on a Superstock, DM4, 98 Custom, Angel Speed. And everytime I've used it performs beautifly. When a ball breaks, very rarely, the barrel with clean itself. And although the first few shots go a little crazy, after about 5 shots its back to normal and clean.

I recommend this barrel to anyone who is looking for a truely amazing barrel for the performance.
Conclusion: This barrel is the best barrel I've ever seen on the market today, I recommend to amany a people all who become very pleased with it. It's performance was off the charts on my scale and all I've seen use it! Go out and spend the extra money on the best barrel you can get, its well worth it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lostazncause Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
UL, STiffi, JT, AA, eclipse shaft, many stock barrels
Marker Setup: black ion
cp razor drop/asa
cp reg
egg2 (revvy backup)
nitro duck 68/300 carbon fiber
dye sticky3
Recommended
Paintballs:
whatever works for you
Strengths: Accuracy, quiet
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: Ive been doing barrel tests for many barrels out on the market for some time now, just trying to find which designs seem to work better. A hammerhead with a .688 fin with an overall length of 12 inches was used with matching paint. Truth is, the Hammerhead performed admirably during the trials proving itself to be slightly more accurate over a dye UL and a stiffi one-piece.

Accuracy is the product of quite a few things people neglect:
consistency: a good consistent regulator
Accuracy of shooter: If you cant shoot you wont hit anything. Most players believe theyre decent shots, but until you can hit a paintball tossed into the air, you havent truly mastered aiming. Years in the military will teach you to hold a gun steady.
good paint: Find the best you can get. THIS IS KEY!!!!

First shots were always more on target than other barrels and noticeably less outliers (balls that would curve away from the shot grouping) were observed than both the UL and Stiffi. Is it possible that I just got lucky witht he outliers? well I used up 3 cases of paint in that test and my wallet screams to me. If thats lucky Im going to shoot myself. No chops were observed, even under rapid fire situations.

Sound is indistinguisable from a UL or Stiffy from 40ft away and greater.
Slightly on the heavy side.

I did not test with fins/paint larger or smaller than .688. Notice while the fin is .688 the barrel ID itself very closely matches the fin at .687. For all intents and purposes, it shot like a one-piece as opposed to a 2-piece breech sizer system.
Conclusion: Too early to tell for me if the price is worth it, but this barrel performed slightly better than a dye UL and a stiffi. All barrels were of the same size and all paint matched all barrels. The HH came out on top.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 7th, 2005 at 11:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tom37 Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other rifled barels but:
stock barrels on the tippmann a5
04 'cocker barrel
JT barrel
All ammerican
Progressive barrel
Marker Setup: tippmann a5
hammerhead
20 ozA/S tank
eclipse tank cover(<- wots the point of putting tank covers???)

Impulse vision
custom trigger
bullit front
stiky grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything with a tough shell
I used zap
Strengths: Very quiet
Cleans in only a few shots
Customer service
Looks great
Accuracy-Accuracy-Accuracy!!!
Weaknesses: NONE- the AC-A5 adapter adds about an inch to the total length
Review: NOTE:if you read the review on the other hammerhead (which i am told is the same internally as this one) you will find that many are critical of this barrel and the concept of rifling. Im not stupid, but in this case i dont care how it works- so long as it works, I hope you feel the same.

Alright, lets first get out of the way the fact that ever since i first saw i liked it and wanted to buy it... I oredred it on the 8th november, its now the 15th January 2004 and i have just recieved it (you should also take into account the fact that i live in england, and US customs will understandably regard this as a Fire Arm part as it looks externally and internally like one). Is you order direct from hammerhead, MAKE SURE IT GOES UPS.

Like i said above, i really wanted the barrel to be a big success and get me cross field eliminations. And this barrel system did just that- i dont have to decide on which person to shoot, so much as which part of that person, exposed hoppers, feet, heads bobbing carlessly above the bunker are all realistic targets now!

The first day i used the barrel was a disaster- paint broke in the barrel (and i mean a lot of paint!) constantly, im now willing to put this down to a bad batch of dimpled egg shaped Victory paint- Cr@p. This did, howevergive me a chance to test the barrel cleaning abilities- fantastic.

After three months i am still bieng amazed by the barrel EVERY TIME I HAVE PLAYED AFTER THE FIRST DAY THE BARREL PERFORMED PERFECTLY. I can shoot cans off a table at about 50 feet consistantly, i made about 15 eliminations in our first 15 min game last time i played (infinite respawns) and hung the flag :-). I have since tested the barrel with some better quality paint and have not been dissapointed. I also havnt had a single break since my first day.
Now as you can see, i own an a5 (v.noisy), this really quitened the barrel report. I cant thank them enough for this.
The barrel does do exactly what they say, it DOES CLEAN IN A FEW SHOTS. accuracy returns to the normal after this. Something strange which i found was that it was 'cocker threaded, and came with the 'cocker-a5 adapter, good if you want to encourage your friends with a cocker to buy one- bad if you really dont want the extra length.
I also noticed that at about 30 feet the balls hit 3 inches to the left of where you are aiming. I DONT CARE BECAUSE THIS BARREL IS SO DAMN CONSISTANT!!! if it hits 3 inches to the left consistantly, i just fire 3 inches to the right and HIT THE TARGET EVERY TIME. My philosophy is that it doesnt really matter where the barrel points so long as the balls are on target. You get used to this after about 1/4 hour and it works perfectly from then on.
Im going to add to this review when i get some evil or marbs... if your wondering wether to buy this barrel, wait! ill have the paint soon and have written the review by next week.-Hopefully.

Conclusion: Ok this barrel rocks. Quieted my a5, made it more acurate. Aside from the first day shooting poor paint, i have had no problems what so ever with this barrel. Customer service is fantastic and the guys there seem to gemuinly care.
only one thing is left to say and that is this- BUY THIS BARREL its incredible.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 19th, 2005 at 6:30 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media