paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dead On Paintball Rear Velocity Adjuster / Dead On Paintball Rear Velocity Adjuster / Dead On Paintball Rear Velocity Adjuster / Dead On Paintball Rear Velocity Adjuster / Dead On Paintball Rear Velocity Adjuster

Dead On Paintball Rear Velocity Adjuster Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dead On Paintball

Buy Dead On Paintball Rear Velocity Adjuster

Paintball Custom 98 Rear Velocity Adjusters

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dead On Paintball Rear Velocity Adjuster
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $19

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This RVA drops in place of your rear end cap and allows you to adjust your velocity with a simple twist. It has a locking screws that makes it tourney legal. Our rear velocity adjuster is the only one available that will allow you to achieve a safe velocity without cutting your drive spring. Adjusting your velocity by the hammer spring tension will increase your air efficiency and lower your recoil resulting in more shots per tank. Adjustable from 180 fps - 340+ fps.
Product Availability 
The Dead On Paintball Rear Velocity Adjuster is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
g murder Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with...
GTA Flatline barrel
BT Double trigger
GTA Vertical Adapter
DOP Rear Velocity Adjuster
Shocktech gas thru grip
Check-it Products Unimount
Pure Energy 88ci 3000psi comp air tank (main)
Pure Energy 68ci 3000psi comp air tank (with a Centerflag reg)

My marker pic is within the 98 Custom photos

WGP Karnivor...stock (nothing needed)
Strengths: Finger tip adjustablity
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: This thing works, it enables you to adjust your velocity with your fingers and you can lock the rear velcoity adjuster (rva) set screw via an allen or hex key.

It works by increasing or reducing the tension on the main spring that pushes the hammer (or rear bolt) forward when the trigger is pulled, just turn out the stock velocity adjuster until it's almost flush with the body of the marker, then adjust as needed per the requirements you need...it's maked on the rva which way increases and decrease fps spped.

It installs very easily as well...remove the left receiver, take out the back end cap, replace it with the rva, put back the main spring and guide pin, and reassemble the marker and your done.

If you've changed your main spring to a heavier or newer spring you might not be able to slow the velocity down enough where they tell you to go to the pro shop a have them cut yor spring (hell no)...with the rva you can reduce the spring tension to get the velocity with the fields limits.
Conclusion: It's cheap, give you easy finger tip velocity adjustment with a tournament lock, it's easy to install & it works. All of my buds that has a 98 Custom or Model 98 has now bought this rva and installed it in thier guns (about 8 of us)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cheap paint Saturday, October 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none just the rear velocity adjuster on an icon
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98: -and now a 32 degrres icon-E with kickass after market trigger kit
GTA inline expansion chamber
Dead on paintball rear velocity adjuster
32 degrees venturi bolt
PMI razzor barrel
pure energy 20 oz co2
psycoballistics rocket cock
Strengths: Cheap, easy to install, Works extremely well,
Weaknesses: None at all
Review: I wouldnt recommend any other rva besides this one. Theres no need to cut the spring like in some rva's. It takes about 2 minutes to install. Theres a small alan screw on the side to lock the velocity for tounament level play. Did i mention its CHEAP!!!!!!! the nice glossy black doesnt make it look stupid it will actually match ur gun. Underneath the adjuster knob (thats right not alan screw) theres the awesome looking dead on logo. And above the screw is arrows pointing in waht direction u need to turn it to raise or lower velocity( for the slower people who cant figure out things easily). Theres not really anything much more i need to say. This is a very good buy for anyone whose sick of the alan wrenchs and whose on a budget. I would recommend this to pro's and begginners alike. I love it possibly one of the best things ive bought for my tippy so far
Conclusion: As i said in the review good for anyone with a M98 or a custom. Deffinately worth buying.
So get out there and dont be cheap spend the 12 bucks to get this baby ull be happy u did
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 2nd, 2005 at 6:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vaporslapshot Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann model 98
dop rocket cock
dop rva
dop pro seal
proto one peice barrel
double trigger
som other modds
Strengths: Does whats it supposed to do
Weaknesses: Mine wouldnt fit (probable becasue i have a old m98)
Review:
Well i got mine in the mail very quickly form zephyr paintball and i tried to put it in it wouldnt fit that made me mad so i sanded and sanded and sanded it down now it works and does what it supposed to do. and i need one cause my gun shoot way over 320 fps even when i turn it way down it shoots high so thats why i got it
Conclusion: If u want an rva well I would get this one and im giving it a ten because it does its job as if i work on something that doesnt work and i make it work ill still give it credit
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Diomedes Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Black Tippmann 98 Custom, GTA Low Pressure Kit valve & v/a, Palmer's Male Stabilizer, JCS Folding Stock, 32 Degrees universal drop forward, Dark Horizons Lite Titanium Hammer, 14" Stiffi barrel, Dead-On Paintball RVA

Silver TIppmann 98 Custom, War Machine Low Pressure Chamber, Palmer's Inline Stabilizer, GTA Double Trigger, GTA Low Pressure Kit hammer assembly

CCI Phantom, 32 Degrees T-Stock, Armson Pro Red Dot Sight
Strengths: Solid, precise, doesn't move in-game.
Weaknesses: Brass set screw could be stronger.
Review: I use this in conjunction with a titanium hammer and Tippmann's low pressure kit. It works very well. The actual screw that the drive spring rests on is very solid, as is the aluminum body that fits into the gun where the stock end cap sits. As far as adjusting the velocity it works very well. It is easy to adjust very precisely, and locks very solidly. Once it has been set and locked, it does not move around at all. And it's dirt cheap.

My only complaint is that the brass locking screw seems like it could strip, so be careful not to over tighten.
Conclusion: I can't compare it to other RVA's, but this one works perfectly, so if you're looking for one, this is the one to get. 9/10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mafioso420 Monday, September 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippman 98C, Dble. Trig., Palmer Male Stab., Shocktech Drop, CP On/Off, Rocket Cock II, DYE Sticky Grip, Pro-Seal Power Tube, Ricochet AK, Flatline, Crossfire HPA
Strengths: Excellent adjustability, locking screw
Weaknesses: Sometimes get stuck when taking apart marker.
Review: It's a basic install. Any newbie (no offense) can install it. Remove left half reciever. Remove end cap. Install RVA. Put left reciever back on. SIMPLE

Sometimes your drive spring is either too weak or two strong. If it is too weak you can stretch it our a little then fine tune with the RVA. If it is too strong most fields will tell you to cut the spring. Save yourself the hassle and get this RVA. All you will need to do is screw out the RVA. Velocity adjustment has never been easier.

If you have a reg. This is a must have. The velocity (turbulence) screw is a piece of junk.

With my setup I turn in my RVA all the way in. And the velocity screw so it is flush with the inside of the power tube. (If you look down into your marker with the barrel off, and no air screwed on. You should be able to see the screw down the power tube.) Then I use my reg to bring my velocity down to 300-310. Then I pull out the RVA until I have the proper 280-290. In turn I am able to shoot way below 750 psi. which gives me a less recoil. I also get about 50-75 extra shots per tank.

If you have a rocket cock make sure you position the locking screw on any side but the left. It's just too hard to get otherwise.
Conclusion: Get this if you want a no hassle velocity adjustment.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

senghing27 Friday, June 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rear boar shadow+98c crbine stock with adjuster+regular guns velocity adjusters.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
6 Stage Expansion Chmamber
Flatline Barrel
Smart Part Progressive
DOP A-5 Vertical Adaptor
DOP Grip adaptor
Psychoballistics Drop
-or-
Smart Parts Ion
Progressive Barrel
QEV
WGP torpedo on/off
Extreme Rage Feed neck

Strengths: Sturdy
Works
Weaknesses: Can cause problems
Fit issues
Review: Well, i got one of these off of my local shop. I go and install it on my 98c, and all of a sudden, the back part of the receiver cracks off, THE WHOLE PART!!! So i take it apart and see that the back ring of the area where this resides is gone. I was like oh no!! NOT MY 98C!!!! So i jumped onto ebay and bought a parts lot which consited of a fix me 98c. I got two body halves and orther parts for $15. Ok, i got a body halves. I got the home painted and gave my friend the DOP RVA. I then bought one of these Rear boar cocking shadows. This is a flush cocking system for the 98c. Works way much better than the DOP, and it doubled as a cocking slot cover, very much like a rocket cock. I am very happy that i got rid of it, but it does work for my friend's gun. Weird?? Yup.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a cocking and a rear velocity adjuster, get a full boar rear cocking shadow. If you are just looking for a rear velocity adjuster, and your warranty is still good, get this. And make sure it fits fine, cuz it might go bloop while your playing.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheMedievalMan Thursday, May 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock velocity adjuster, requires a wrench and is not gas efficient.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with Flatline Barrel or J&J Ceramic Barrel, response trigger, Richochet Apache (the updated 2005 model), double trigger, Clear Dye Sticky Grips, Rocket Cock II, Dead On Rear Velocity Adjuster and Tippmann expansion chamber.
Strengths: Pretty cheap, good construction, tournament lock, gas efficiency.
Weaknesses: Doesnt come with wrench for the tournament lock, unscrews itself when you fire alot.
Review: This rear velocity is great. It is alot more gas effecient than the stock velocity adjuster. The stock one is just a screw that blocks or allows gas to go through. And it doesnt matter if you have the screw all the way in, or all the way out, it will use the same amount of gas regardless. In the rear velocity adjuster, the adjuster will either tighten or soften the spring, which will make it release more or less gas. It will perform like most other velocity adjusters on other guns which is to effect the amount of force that the hammer uses to release gas from the valve. The tournament lock screw that is on the adjuster is required for tournament play. With out it, if you were to play in a tournament, they may not allow you to use your gun without one. However, they did not include the allen wrench for the tournament lock in the package, which is pretty dissapointing. I dont have an allen wrench that fits it for now. The tournament lock screw is pretty small, its just slightly to big for the smallest allen wrench that comes with your 98 Custom. And slightly too small for the next smallest allen wrench that comes with your 98 Custom. You would have to get the allen wrench seperately somewhere. The velocity screw stays in place pretty well, but expect it to come loose after many shots, so watch the screw and adjust every once in a while if you dont have the tournament lock holding it. Its pretty convenient over the stock velocity adjuster because I can adjust whenever I want by hand without the need of taking out an allen wrench out of my pocket. Once youve gotten in chronoed, you just tighten the tournament lock screw and thats it, it will stay at that velocity (minus velocity spikes of course). Its made out of all metal, probably aluminum, with no plastic parts whatsoever. It has a half circle arrow pointing around the knob with + and - symbols to show you how to turn it for adjustment which is very convenient. The paint job has not scratched off so it might be anodized which is good. Its very user friendly, durable and reliable. I got mine for $10 plus $5 shipping along with my Rocket Cock system which I bought for $15.
Conclusion: This is a pretty simple, inexpensive convient way to adjust your gun whenever you need to without the use of an allen wrench. The only two faults I can see that are fixable is that it didnt come with the allen wrench for the tournament lock. And it will begin to screw itself out reducing the velocity over time as you fire your gun, but just screw in the tournament lock to hold it and it will be fine.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 8th, 2005 at 5:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JRtippmannpb Sunday, November 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Nasty Impulse 3.5
Vision
extreme rage low rise adjustable feed neck
Dye sticky 3's
NDZ Pro EQ Derlin Bolt
NDZ RIP valve
NDZ Hammer Housing Assembly HE
Phyco Ballistics drop foward
HALO B
68 ci 4500 PSI Cross Fire tank

Tippmann 98 custom
response trigger
double trigger
expansion chamber
rocket cock II
Rear velocity adjuster
14' and 16' AA barrel
32* flame drop foward
3-9x scope
egg II hopper
trigger stop
20oz c02
Strengths: Cheap
easy to install
tourny lock
easy to adjust velocity
Weaknesses: Sometimes screw starts to come loose if u dont have it tightened.
Review: This is a good cheap upgrade for a tippmann. it makes changing your velocity quick and easy. it also has a tourny lock so if your local field doesnt allow u to change your velocity in the field just screw in the tourny lock. the only bad thing is the screw sometimes starts to come loose if u dont have it tightened. but all u have to do is tighten the tourny lock a little and it wont unscrew.
Conclusion: Good upgrade. makes changing velocity alot easier. get it if u dont want to use tools to change ur velocity
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BrettLee Monday, May 23rd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 98 Custom:
Lapco drop forward
32 degree whisper barrel<GREAT>
Expansion chamber
3000psi compressed air tank
double trigger
Strengths: easy to access spring
INCREASES FPS OF GUN
easy to adjust at crono
Weaknesses: Nothing, its a simple product that works like its meant to
Review: This product is great it doesn't just make it easier to change your velocity it also increases it. it is very simple to install. At paintball the other day i needed to change my spring so instead of having to take apart my whole gun all i had to do was just unscrew the screw on the velocity adjuster and it was that simple
Conclusion: This product is a great upgrade for your 98
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media