paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / System X Slider Uni-Mount / System X Slider Uni-Mount / System X Slider Uni-Mount / System X Slider Uni-Mount

System X Slider Uni-Mount Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount System X

Buy System X Slider Uni-Mount

Paintball Cradles, Rails, Drop Forwards and ASA's

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


System X Slider Uni-Mount
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $49

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
System X Slider Push Button On/Off Uni-mount

Unique Push Button On/Off (no more knobs to fight with)
Never seen before 3 piece design
Will mount directly to gun, and will also fit dove tail drop forward, rails.
Mounting Screws Included
Rebuild o-rings included (easy to rebuild)
Product Availability 
The System X Slider Uni-Mount is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
shatter_storm Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
check-it unimount (1 year of use) - harder to mount but most consistant operation and very dependable
Marker Setup: Dallara milled Automag w/X-Valve
Y-Frame, CP drop, empire barrel kit
PMI 68/4500 high output preset screw-in
Strengths: Flexible mounting options
Easy to gas up
Weaknesses: Single setscrew to hold the core in place doesn't cut it.
Leaks/requires rebuild.
Review: I received this on/off for free from my local proshop - he got one in for testing and wanted to see how it performed. Packaging was simple and to the point. Everything about the on/off is fairly easy to figure out just by looking at it.

The mounting options with this on/off are interesting. The on/off has a rail clamp for use on normal dovetail mounts, but it also has a small insert block with two screw holes for screw mount, if you so desire. There's a big grub screw on the side that clamps the cradle onto the core and either the screw block or a rail (if you're doing a rail mount). There is also a small grub screw on the bottom that provides holding support for the core.
I tried to attach it to the rail mount on my drop, but I ran into a major problem. The sizes arn't quite right, so the cradle can't clamp down on the core (the part that you screw the bottle into) and the dovetail rail with the same force. On mine, the rail was a bit larger so the core would not have any pressure holding it other than the setscrew. Because of this, the setscrew had to be tightened down until it scratched the coating - and it still didn't really have enough force to hold a tank in place.
So, thanks to the multiple ways of mounting this on/off, I just put in the screw block and screwed the cradle onto my drop - problem solved.
The air line mounts to the front of the on/off, which is a huge plus for me. Side mounted lines just don't work well with my setup. Also, you don't have to redo all the fittings when you want to take the on/off off - unlike the unimount.

The action of the on/off is quite slick. There's a silver knob on one side and a red knob on the other. Press the silver knob in and it presses the tank's pin and turns the air on. Press the red knob in and it shuts off the tank and drains the air line. Turning the air on is fairly easy, you shouldn't be able to bump it on but it doesn't take too much effort. Turning the tank off is another beast entirely - with my PMI high-preset tank you have to use two hands or a hard surface to press in the red knob and shut the air off. I think the resistance would be less on a low pressure tank, but I like having it high - it means I will never be able to accidentally turn off my air.

The on/off comes with two extra o-rings for the slider, and there's a good reason for it. Within two weeks (four solid days of play or about 20-30 on/off cycles) one of the o-rings blew out and had to be replaced. Replacing the o-ring is difficult if you don't know how - the red knob has wrench edges but the opposite silver one doesn't. I used some rubber sheet to get a good grip on the silver end and used a wrench to turn the red end, once it's off the slider assembly comes out easily and the o-rings can be replaced.
Conclusion: Given the problems I've had with this mount, I wouldn't buy it for the price it retails for. The action is nice and the concepts are great, but I'd expect the o-rings to last longer than they did. If it were cheaper or they gave you more than two o-rings with it, then I'd probably recommend it as a nice replacement for a uni-mount. Nothing's perfect, after all.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004 at 1:24 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

gdog5 Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other on/offs
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed
Emag
LCD Matrix
Ion
too many to list....
Strengths: Easy to gas/degas
Looks
Weaknesses: Wobbles
Sing set screw, which strips eventually
Review: For the price i paid for this i was very disappointed. It looked great, I loved the ease of pushing a button, but theres the issue of that lone small set screw holding the entire body of it stable. I tried loctite and torquing it tight but still no real improvement. Even when tight the body of the thing wobbles. And when that set screw finally comes just a tad loose (its tightened into a very small channel milled on the body) the whole thing swerves around and scratches the ano. The other issues is that the button itself sticks out so much that its easy during play to hit it by accident and turn your gas off. I was disappointed overall by this asa. I took it off and replaced with a unimount. If you looking for a push button on/off look at the hybrid grind asa. Much much better.
Conclusion: I wouldnt recommend it to anyone. I just cant believe they designed it like that. Plus its not even practicle when theres a much better push button on/off out there by hybrid as mentioned above.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 at 6:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Munkyzero182 Sunday, November 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech drop asa, Stock spyder electra asa, Stock 04 Autococker Asa
Marker Setup: 04 vertical autococker, Shocktech drop forward, System X slider, Crossfire 68/4500
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: -Have not found any yet
Review: - I bought the system x slider a couple weeks ago and put it on my new 04 vertical autococker. It has a very nice design yet very simple mounting layout. No problems.

-Mounting options include dovetail mounting or an insert block for a screw mounting to a drop forward or directly to the gun. a main screw clamps the core into the cradle as well as holds the cradle to the dovetail. A small screw at bottom of cradle also helps keep core in place.

-Like the person before me said the sizes aren't exact so there is a small space when using a dovetail mount, but for me its only a 1 cm gap. It gives me no problems and still gives the core a very sturdy hold as well as on my drop forward. For me, the main set screw alone can hold my core, i can take off the small screw at the bottom of the cradle without risking movement from the core. The tank is held secure with no problems.

-air line is in front

-on off action very smooth and fast, helps save your air. silver button gases up gun, red turns it off. A nice feature is a bleed hole which empties out the remaining air in your air lines in a second. very handy for on the field emergencies. During a game one of my hoses on the pneumatics of my 04 popped. i simply pressed the red button, air went off, fixed my hose, pressed silver, air went on, good to go. it took me about 8 seconds. You only need one hand to turn the asa on and off. i have a crossfire high pressure nitro tank and its very easy to turn on off but it would be pretty hard to simply bump the air off accidentally while in play unless you bump the red button flat against a wall.

- i haven't had to change my o rings yet so i will check in about 30 cycles and like the guy before me said it does come with spare o rings.
Conclusion: -i have not found any problems with this asa. The retail price is not bad and it comes in different colors. The action and concept are great and i would recommend this to anyone. Ive gotten many complements on the style as well as function of this asa.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 21st, 2004 at 8:50 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

THE_CANADIAN Sunday, June 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
any other unimount
Marker Setup: 04bko
-eggy
-freak barrel
-vapor bolt and valve
- angel mod frame
-acid trigger
- system x tank
Strengths: The looks
Weaknesses: Button
Screws
Review: well this unimount looks extremely good and makes your marker look good which is alwas a big part of showing off. But the only 2 things i did not like about this unimount is that the button can easily be pushed by accident aldo it only happened to me once. And also the screws are small , too small for the unimount .. but im sure you can just buy bigger screw with the same width and threading to correct this problem.
Conclusion: Good buy , good product
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nismo050 Thursday, October 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: wrath with acp delrin bolt, pin and ram. empire 4 pc barrel on 68/3000 odyssey 5pc barrel kit crossfire 68/3000
Strengths: No problems. After time the seals go bad
Weaknesses: Cost a little high.
Review: No problems with my system x asa. It went on the gun well, has a dove tail that comes with it . It comes with all hardware needed. Its easy to put on or take off tank, bleed valve works great. I would get another one when needed.Its also tight up to the gun. Very easy to install and use. Go get one today. 6 months and no leaks or problems at all. I love this asa. Now I've replaced the seals a few times, the seals are a pain in the butt to get.
Conclusion: It works for what you need.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 16th, 2006 at 4:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trroth Saturday, September 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
the only other thing i have used is the stock thing on an A-5. well i have used the on/off on my bro's bko but thats it.
Marker Setup: Yellow Freeflow Millenium Autococker Body
Kapp Trigger Frame
Macdev Gladiator
CCM LPR
Belsales Hollowpoint 3-way
Belsales 44 Mag. Ram
Belsales Rex Dialer Kit
Tornado Valve
Jackal Machine Bolt
System-X Slider
Shocktech Beavertail
Full Evil Pipe Kit
Black VL Egg
Crossfire 47/3000
Strengths: Easy to use sliding action.
Weaknesses: None found yet.
Review: I really like to use this slider. It is much easier to use than an on/off where you have to screw the pin in and out. My brother is actually getting ready to buy a slider because he liked how much easier it was to use than his. I would buy it again.
Conclusion: It is a little bit more expensive but its worth it. Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

.:{}:. Saturday, April 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dont Really use a lot of mounts, so none.
Marker Setup: Series 5
E1
Switch Kit
Crossfire 41/3000
Halo B w/ rip and z-code
System-X Slider Mount
Strengths: Easy to release air
Easy to Air up
Looks Cool
Weaknesses: Screws Kinda get loose pretty easily.
Review: Well, i just got my Slider-Mount today and I love it. No air leaks or problems like that, simple to air up and bleed the air. It puts the tank exactly where i want it to be(but thats personal preference). One thing i noticed that was a little bit of a problem was the screw that keeps it in the cradle came loose, no biggy, easy fix.
Conclusion: It works excellent, get one you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

{o(-_-)o} Wednesday, March 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP products
Check it products
Marker Setup: black to cobalt dm4 with red chrome accessories.
musashi 3 / odin chip
68/4500 lp tank
techna trigger
empire reloader b
dm5 twist feed neck
long aka sidewinder
push button on and off air
Strengths: Looks great.
Weaknesses: On and off push button.
Review: the push buton on and off is a great idea, but kind of poorly executed. its so big and flares out of the body so much that i while playing it can easily be pushed to the off position. those few seconds of trying to figure out why your marker stopped shooting can mean someone taking you out.

I see it as a design flaw. Looking and comparing it to my friends hybrid push button on and off, i would have gladly payed the extra $ to have a better made product.

It looks great, but the performance doesnt do it justice. If you look at hybrid, there on and off push button is alot smaller and is less of a problem of getting pushed in while diving, or sliding in a game
Conclusion: Looks: A+
Functionality: D-
I would really take into consideration the problem in the push button design before buying.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media