paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Worr Game Products Trilogy Pro Autococker / Worr Game Products Trilogy Pro Autococker / Worr Game Products Trilogy Pro Autococker / Worr Game Products Trilogy Pro Autococker

Worr Game Products Trilogy Pro Autococker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Worr Game Products

Buy Worr Game Products Trilogy Pro Autococker

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Worr Game Products Trilogy Pro Autococker
[ View Photos (61) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 191
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $270

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
TRILOGY SERIES AUTOCOCKER®-

In the past the price of authentic WGP® Autococker® markers has kept many players from obtaining the real deal. Now with the introduction of the all new Trilogy™ marker series, WGP® is making it possible for almost any player to shoot their very own authentic WGP® Autococker® marker.

* New lightweight uni-body design
* Closed bolt accuracy
* Air efficient operation
* Angled bottom-line
* A velocity adjuster
* New integrated 3-way
* High performance LPR
* Pull-pin
* Micro polished ram
* Push button safety

PRO-Features

* .691 and .687 barrel backs
* Wrap-around grip
* 3d milling
* Delron bolt
* Angled air receiver
* Inline regulator
* Full hinge frame
Product Availability 
The Worr Game Products Trilogy Pro Autococker is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (20):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
cockercane Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested200 of 338 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder
Piranha
'00 WGP Autococker
'02 STO WGP Autococker
Karnivore (tested)
Angel 4
Angel Force Fly
and tested many more
Marker Setup: Angel Force 4 Fly
14" DYE Ultralite
CIP Unimount
Crossfire 70ci peanut low output
Halo B w/ rip & Victory

'02 STO Autococker
WGP hinge frame
ANS pneumatics w/ QEV's
Shocktech Bomb 3-way
Shocktech SupaFly
ANS GX-II Reg w/ 15* ASA
System X Drop
Crossfire 68ci 3000psi (800 psi preset) HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA
HALO B
Both of these will help performance and easily transfer to your next marker.
Strengths: Affordabe price.
It shoots a paintball.
Weaknesses: Major step backwards in Autococker design.
Review: I have used, tinkered, broken and repaired Autocockers for years and there is always something that holds true to all well maintained Autocockers... They are stable, reliable and fun to shoot. This review is going to be difficult to write without double standards towards other Autococker models as you will see...

Generally speaking for all mechanical Autocockers: (cut and pasted from another of my reviews for the newbs)
Before you go out on the field sit at home while your watching t.v. and just pull the trigger. I suggest that you don't run gas through it as to avoid pissing off Mom, Wife, Girlfriend, whatever (especially if the cat is on her lap. You won't be laughing long, I guarantee it.) Forget all that stuff Grandpa taught you about "squeezing" the trigger (sorry Grandpa, your stories are full of crap anyway) PULL it all the way and RELEASE it all the way. If you hesitate with this trigger, you will chop paint. The best way to look at how the 'cocker works is to call it a pump action gun and say that all the hoses and stuff in the front just pumps it for you. If you pull the trigger half way, that's like only pumping a pumper half way, that's what we call a "short stroke"
Upon using the "Sport" and "Pro" marker myself on separate occasions, I found them to be average at best for this class of marker. By no means should this marker be rated as a "High-End Mechanical" with other modern mechanical Autocockers or so called "Fockers". I can tell you it shot well, consistently, and reliably with no accolades towards speed. The trigger pull is long and heavy, especially on the "Sport" 1/2 hinge, which (as of yet) cannot be easily corrected or upgraded without voiding the worranty and altering complex sweet spots (i'll get to that). The Trilogy reminds me of a Wal-Mart version Autococker.
If you buy this marker, you'd better be satisfied with its performance because the "Trilogy Series" Autococker is designed to perform AS IS out of the box. This series of Autococker is specifically engineered to be inexpensive (AKA: cheap) rather than engineered to enhance any aspect of performance. Worr Games is banking on a reputation gained by previous (and higher quality) models to fool consumers into thinking that they are getting a "high-end" marker at a bargain price. I don't mean to downplay a marker because of cost, just understand that those planning to upgrade from a "low-end" marker to the Trilogy are buying right back into an entry level marker again. Those wishing to buy a great beginner marker will do well with the Trilogy. If you want to upgrade to a new marker, do yourself a favor by researching! If you don't mind spending more money in trade for an Autococker (or any other marker) with greater potential, it is worth the extra cost to have something that will keep up with constantly improving technology.
It takes a formal understanding of how regulator pressure, spring tension and timing work together to form "sweet spots" which allows for greatest shot-to-shot consistency at any rate of fire. The "Trilogy" is sweet spotted at the factory and is specifically engineered to "choke itself" upon changing any factory settings. In other words... you buy it, your stuck with it. That would be great if this were an exceptional performing marker.That's right kids, no upgrading! That ensures that once the market is flooded with these cheap 'cockers Worr Games will exclusively begin to cash in on patented & expensive upgrades to enhance the Trilogy's performance to a marker that deserves the true "high-end" label.
Here is a cut and pasted copy of the Trilogy description at the top of this page that I have broken down with my opinions:

TRILOGY SERIES AUTOCOCKER®-

In the past the price of authentic WGP® Autococker® markers has kept many players from obtaining the real deal. Now with the introduction of the all new Trilogy™ marker series, WGP® is making it possible for almost any player to shoot their very own authentic WGP® Autococker® marker.

How many trademarks do you need in one paragraph? Reading between the lines tells you that they are extremely interested in the patenting rights for a reason. Only Worr Games will be able to produce the needed upgrades for the so-called "real deal". Good buisness idea on their part, just understand what you are buying

* New lightweight uni-body design Nice
* Closed bolt accuracy which is no more accurate than open bolt. True accuracy is gained in proper paint / bore match.
* Air efficient operation Same as any well maintained mechanical Autococker
* Angled bottom-line So what?
* A velocity adjuster Let's hope it has a velocity adjuster, we'd be pretty screwed without one
* New integrated 3-way A good move to save money in manufacturing and also ensures that you cant run to Shocktech for a $35.00 3-way which helps the marker shoot faster with a shorter trigger. $35.00 costs less than a case of paint!!
* High performance LPR That's pretty irrelevant. The Low Pressure Regulator operates the pneumatics but does nothing to place a paintball on it's target
* Pull-pin This one is funny. How else are you going to keep the bolt from blowing out the back of the marker? With a twig? ha ha
* Micro polished ram As they are on every Autococker
* Push button safety God, lets hope so!!!

PRO-Features

* .691 and .687 barrel backs
Nice feature, if you don't upgrade the barrel anyway
* Wrap-around grip Which does absolutely nothing
* 3d milling If you wear those glasses with the red and blue lenses. Sorry, bad joke.
* Delron bolt That's a nice feature
* Angled air receiver Helps CO2 efficiency , thanks Regrind.
* Inline regulator This is the regulator that should claim high performance. If you attempt to change regulator output psi or upgrade the reg, you'll be in a world of hurt! Regulator output psi works in conjunction with the valve cup seal and is as important as good timing to achieve great consistency. The only Autocockers that don't come standard with inline regs are the cheaper Trilogy counterparts
* Full hinge frame The only Autocockers that don't come standard with full hinge frames are the cheaper Trilogy counterparts and expensive electros

On two occasions I've handed my old (but versitile enough to be upgraded to today's standards) '02 STO Autococker to Trilogy users to let them play with it. They both handed it back to me and asked: "How can I make mine shoot that fast?" Unfortunately I had to tell them that their Trilogy has little potential beyond stock performance. I always recommend that that the timing be left alone once it works well. That's where the double-standard I mentioned comes into play. This marker needs upgrades to reach true modern "high-end" potential, some of which require the marker to be re-timed. Unfortunately the Trilogy Pro that I tested before writing this review needed to be sent back to the factory because the owner could not get enough velocity to shoot ten feet. Apparently he tried to change something and the marker "choked itself" like I stated earlier. He really should not have messed with it, but the gun shouldn't require factory maintenance as it's designed.
Conclusion: Some manufactures that compete with Worr Games are producing mechanical"auto-cocking" (fockers) markers that hold much greater quality standards and will easily out-of-box (provided you use HPA and a fast enough hopper) perform much better than Trilogies. They are more expensive but, in my opinion, worth the initial extra cost; depending on your intentions in playing paintball. If asked about the Trilogy, I would state that it will work well as a "bare bones & basic" marker for a low price. No complications... no hassle. Excellent marker for a beginner that doesn't deliver fast enough to immediately necessitate expensive HPA and high R.O.F. hoppers to solve associated problems. Many markers will deliver just as good accuracy & consistency with greater speed and functionality for a comparable price. Buying paintball equiptment can be just as strategic as playing the game itself. In conclusion; I'd say that the Trilogy series would make a superior field rental marker or beginner... nothing more. This is an average marker that deserves an average score... 5/10.

I welcome friendly comments and argument intended to make this review better.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 29th, 2006 at 7:08 pm PST
I found this review  
142 Comments - Add Comment

SynjenX Thursday, November 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month63 of 75 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Trilogy pro cocker, evil driver barrel, pmi pure energy 68 4500psi tank, empire reloader 2 hopper, shock tech drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (totally optional), drop forward (optional), Powered hopper (a must).
Strengths: Price, accuracy, shoots great out of the box.
Weaknesses: None, just don't short stroke the trigger.
Review: I have to admit I was a bit skeptical because of how cheap it was and the fact I have never owned or shot a cocker. But take it from me that all my fears and doubts were layed to rest once I tested it. The stock barrel shot great, though a bit loud, and the paint I shot flew as straight as I have ever seen(and that paint was over a year old and I was using Co2!). The color of the marker is nice and since the front block and three way are built in it's less moving parts to worry about. Overall it's a great peforming marker and even though you can use Co2 on it I would recommend HPA, it's accurate and for a mechanical marker it can throw the paint.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone who is wanting a good quality, accurate marker that shots great out of the box and is easy to use.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 21st, 2004 at 2:06 pm PST
I found this review  
30 Comments - Add Comment

pb_man252 Saturday, April 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month55 of 62 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 RT, x chamber, 14in progressive barrel, dead on drop forward, 32 degrees sight rail and micro line. Trilogy pro with empire loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Nitro
-electro hopper
Strengths: -Barrel
Weaknesses: - Its kindof a gas hog but not really a weakness.
Review: Ok, when I first got this gun I loved it. Then i went to get my co2 filled and i put it in and it leaked. BUT not to worry the guy who filled my c02 damaged my damn o-ring and didnt tell me!! After I replaced it i was so amazed as how fast and how accurate and consistent it was. GET THIS GUN!! So far i have shot about 800 paintballs and i have not choped one yet. (well my friend shot it and and he short stroked) NEVER SHORT STROKE YOU WILL CHOP!!
Conclusion: Great gun, one of my friends say it sucked just because he believes what this guy tells him but when he shot it, he was amazed! I have some advice for you people, never take advice from somebody who says a gun sucks and they have never even shot it! take the advice from someone who has shot it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 9th, 2005 at 5:09 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

Scarface9386 Tuesday, November 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month48 of 55 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, Spyder E-99
Marker Setup: Auto Cocker Trilogy Pro
16 inch Freak Barrel
CORE Universal Drop w/ guage
20oz Co2 (until I upgrade)
Egg 2 electric Hopper
Off Set site rail
Black Magic rear cocking rod (for looks only)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gun comes out of box with almost no upgrades necessary, the stock barrel is insanely accurate, although it might just be because its an auto cocker and thats what they're known for. Of course a new barrel can only help though. Run comp-air not Co2, even though the gun runs pretty good on Co2, and the only upgrade that you need that I would recommend is a electric hopper.
Strengths: ACCURACY, ACCURACY, ACCURACY, More so then Angels and other expensive markers.
Weaknesses: Not WorrBlade compatible, no biggie though. And don't short-stroke.
Review: OK, Ive only been playing paint ball for about a year now, Ive owned 2 other guns (mentioned above), which were pretty basic guns, ok for beginners, but I'm getting past that now. This gun is incredible. I just turned 18 and got a full time job making $1500 a month and I love with the parents and I have hardly any bills, so I decided to look for a good gun. I searched all through pbreview and when I saw an auto cocker for $260 I didn't believe it. Id heard great things about them, so I read the customer reviews and everyone gave it a 10, so I ordered it. Out of the box I was a little disappointed in the trigger pull of the cocker (its the same with all of them, w/out worrblade) but when I gassed her up and started testing, I couldn't believe the accuracy. If you can be this accurate then you don't need to shoot 13 BPS, I mean its great. I just got the freak barrel today and the accuracy now can be better. With all the upgrades mentioned, and the gun itself, I only spent around $500 or so, maybe $550, and all I really need now is to stop running Co2. My $550 gun (upgrades included) is just as good as a $1200 angel you could buy.

In your hands the gun feels great, its not too heavy, and with the drop forward it feels very balanced in your hands. Don't expect to get off more the 6 to 8 balls per second but expect them to be dead on target. Site rail is useless just like Spyders with the hopper blocking your view. The rail is more for decorative purposes, but with an offset rail it wont matter, and they're only like $15, or just aim down the side of the gun if you don't want the rail. Most accurate marker in the world and you cant use the site rail. But thats ok.

Now looks. The gun itself is nice looking, but the finish I'm not sure about. Its unique, a anodized chrome finish, with a slight purple tint, but when you buy your barrel or other accessories they wont match, but looks don't matter, its the gun quality that does. But I know some people take a lot of pride in the markers looks as well.

The gun is pretty quiet too, you wont have any problem there, and a barrel upgrade will only make it better. Pull pin for easy maintenance, VERY easy maintenance.

Ive had the gun about a month and no air leaks, almost no chopped balls (i short stroked when I first got it, but you'll get the hang of it in a day or 2) My friends like using it as well, a little bit of jealousy from them, owning guns like a 98 custom, E-99, Piranha, and such.
Conclusion: This gun is a great choice for long time players of and newbies. Its the most accurate gun on market (cocker's in general are) and the price is great. You could easily spend $1000 and get a gun thats not even as good as this, for a quarter of the price. If your looking to buy a high end marker, look no further.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

dexxa110 Thursday, November 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month35 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
cockers are in the own league so i guess other WGP cockers (without E-blade)
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker Trilogy Pro - 47/3000psi - View Loader eVLution II - (keeping it simple)
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really..... maybe just a good hopper, a drop & nitro (DO NOT USE CO2)
Strengths: - weight
- milling
- size
- accuracy
- easy to maintain
- speed
- $$$
-comes with DVD
Weaknesses: - short stroke (all autocockers without E-blade have this)
- DVD is just a technical guide
Review: I just bought this gun about 2 weeks ago and the only thing i can say is that its awsome. when i went to the field the other people were asking me about it and i even let the owner of the field play a couple games with it. He said the same thing i did about it and he said he was going to try to get the trilogy cockers in his proshop.
Conclusion: Get this gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 25th, 2004 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

AutoCockerTech Saturday, December 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Karnivor Autococker
04 Vertical Feed
Between the 04 vf and this gun not even comparible THIS GUN BEATS THE CRAP OUT OF THE 04 VF (stock against stock the trilogy is better)
Marker Setup: The setup i used with this gun
Trilogy Pro
Freak Barrel System
Egg II
Pshycho Large Drop Drop
Crossfire 68/4500 tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
Only one is really needed. There is no barrel needed. Stock barrel is dead on acurate. It will work with co2 but HPA works a little better. And the one thing that you need is an electro hopper like the egg 2.
Strengths: Price
Extremely Accurate
Good Speed
Looks
Stock 2 piece Barrel
Very Durable
Weaknesses: There are absolutely no weaknesses
Review: I bought this gun for myself. It looked nice and had a good price. Took it home opened it up. Screwed in the air. Went outside. And shot a few times and relized i could shoot a freakin pepsi can from 50 feet away. Then i tested out the speed. It was good and quick. Same speed as all mech autocockers. Has a nice trigger pull. All in all i was amazed with this guns performance. I had no idea this gun would work so good. It is also easy to take care of and it is very sturdy. Mine had absolutely no leaks. When i first got my Karnivor out of the box it had some leaking problems. But that happens 1 in a Million (not very often). So yes i reccomend this gun VERY HIGHLY.
Conclusion: Anyone Who wants an autococker Go buy this one it is cheap And shoots just as good as the 2k2's 03's and 04's. I would highly reccomend it to anyone. Great Gun. I cannot stress it to you enough that you need to buy this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

BigfootNG Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
System X Vengeance Cocker Base - Comparative except about $150 more than the Trilogy
Impulse Stock - Faster but definately not as accurate or gas efficient
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Pro Cocker
CP Micro drop
VL 12vt Revvy
Oddysey 5pc Barrel Kit
DYE stickys
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper

Small drop if you play front

New reg if you're a serious tournament player
Strengths: -Accurate, stock barrel is GOD
-Light, about 2.5 lbs
-Comfortable
-Quiet
Weaknesses: -Front black not upgradable
-Incompatible E-blade
-Shiny (Preference)
-Grips are not very tacky
Review: I received this marker for X-mas and was anxious to use it...

At the first 3 man tourney near where I live, I scrapped a team together and got prepared. Before the tourney I shot the gun for the first time. Gassed it up... no probs... shot some slow lasers... no probs... dissembled the gun... no probs... Almost flawless thus far.

The first game began for us and we rolled... I had 2 eliminations... one off the break the gun rolled paint onto the snake runner... and later a snap shooting KO from almost 35 feet to the back corner... SNAP SHOOTING = Simple The regulator angle allows a more comfortable arm extension and lessens your profile. The gun is light, as far as cockers go, and was easily zipped out and in for snapping.

LEGENDARY COCKER ACCURACY, the 2 piece barrel also outperformed a SP Teardrop, Lapco Bigshot, and even a FREAK barrel kit during my at home testing with an Impulse and the System X cocker (less than 2 foot groupings for all w/ Draxxus Hellfire paint).

The Trilogy was amazingly gas efficient... pulling almost 1000 shots froma 20oz and over 1200 from the 68ci / 3000 tank. The bolt format and porting reduces the cocker to click-swoosh-clack sound of the back block and bolt movement. People underestimate the $240 cocker and end up with a laser to the goggles.

If you haven't shot a cocker before, you will probably experience some chopping until you learn the trigger pull for one. After you get your strikes down, this thing can fire as fast as the hopper and pneumatics allow. In bursts, around 14 bps.

The front block is internally compounded, which makes for a smaller profile and easier hose replacement/cleaning. The instruction manual is descriptive and comes with a DVD angled toward newbs but has critical information for autococker upkeep.

The anodizing is sleek and shiny, which allows for some sticker additions, but it shows scratches easy. The milling isn't too flashy, but it makes for a much sleeker, smaller feel. The trigger has a millimeter side-to-side play (i dont mind). Regulator is farely consistent +- 9 fps at max on CO2. BTW the gun CAN OPERATE ON CO2, just, obviously, not as consistently... duh...

I love this thing... I use it over the impy for its consistancy and ease of maintanence. Great step up marker!
Conclusion: Just to clear some things up... the WGP Trilogy Pro Autococker is more upgradeable than people give it credit for. Possible upgrades below:
-Pump Rod
-Cocking Rod
-Bolt
-Regulator
-Bottomline
-Back Block
-Hoses
-Feed Neck (careful with the threads there tho)
-Trigger
-Grips
-Ram (doesn't fit the same but can work)
-Sights

No the E-blade doesn't fit... yet... hehe... but hey, for a mechanical cocker... after the learning curve is past... lasers... ropes of paint... one shot killers... no prob... 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Octav Sunday, February 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lightning cocker, custom cocker, outkast cocker, orracle cocker, karnivor cocker.
Marker Setup: WGP ''04 cocker-the rest doesnt matter for this review. Lightning Cocker(backup)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop
Fast hopper
Strengths: -Reliable
-Accurate
-E-Trilogy frame is coming!!!!!!
Weaknesses: -None
Review: I wanted a back-up cocker so i bought this gun. Now it is my main gun. I love the feel of cockers, and this one feels great. Great colour. Kinda light. I love the stock barrel. Better than my Boom Stick. Everyone one this site says you wont be able to E_blade it. Its true you cant put an E-blade on. But WGP made an upgrade that is coming out in April called the E-Trilogy. It is an E-Blade made for the Trilogies integrated 3-way. For more info on that check out the forums on this site. Also besides this reg not being externally adjustable it is nice. I chrono'ed 250, 254, 249, 253. Better than my other gun with a $100 dollar reg. This is the most accurate gun i have ever shot, i was picking of hoppers and barrels sticking out from behind bunkers like no other. People say it is slow, but it has the same trigger pull as ne other gun with the hinge. This gun is better than the '03 stock, and the older WGP's. I was amazed by this gun.
Conclusion: I love this gun, the most accurate gun. The E-Trilogy is coming! The hinge is already good though. I bought a backup gun but found a nice main gun. Buy this instead of an Ion or BKO. You wont be sorry.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

SeanC Monday, April 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, Pirahna
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Pro
Halo TSA Backman Hopper
DYE excel barrel
Co2 (I know, but I'm poor and still need paintballs)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get some kind of HPA tank, It'll make your shots and groupings more consistent.
Strengths: High quality construction, excellent feel and balance, Great set-up right out of the box
Weaknesses: Some say upgrades, but if you're one, be patient, or consider a larger budget.
Review: Let me begin by explaining that for me, one of the biggest criteria for my ideal marker is FEEL. How sturdy it feels in my hands, how balanced it is, how the trigger feels when pulled...

I read a great deal about different markers before i set my sights on this one, but I also knew i HAD TO hold it. I went to my local shop (an hour away), and was very pleased to have it in my hands. It felt SOLID. Everything about the marker exuded quality. I needed to compare it with something else, so I held both an Ion, and a Spyder Fenix (they were both priced comparably). As soon as the Ion was in my hands i felt as though i were holding a toy instead of a paintball gun. The Spyder felt better, but still a little cheap in places. Needless to say, The Trilogy had my vote.

The Trilogy Pro feels like a 'REAL' gun. From is full aluminum frame with nice .45 grips, to The slightly heavy but completely slop-free trigger pull, I get the impression that someone simply switched my ammo from bullets to paintballs. Firing the marker felt buttery smooth. The trigger pull although on the stiffer side (for a paintball marker), feels wonderful with a nice stiff aluminum trigger. The finish is nice as well, with a satin gloss to it that is not nearly as shiny as what most WGP pictures make it out to be. That means no worries about being spotted because of your gleaming marker. Even bone-stock the marker is really set up quite nicely, with an angled steel-braided hose, Delrin bolt, Double trigger frame, and even a 2-piece barrel with 2 different backs! Not bad considering a street price of $240-$250.

As nice as it is, It does have it's flaws. The body does feel very solid, but is not the lightest, even within it's price range. The milling is very very simple, if not almost nonexistent. If you're after looks, you can probably find sexier markers out there. It is a mechanical auto-cocker, so you can shoot as fast as you can pull the trigger without short-stroking, but you get no electronic aides. If you're really good I'd imagine that 10-12 BPS is within the realm of possibility, but don't count on it. Given that the three-way is built in, your options in upgrading are more limited, and you give up perhaps some adjustability (although I've read if you know what you're doing EVERYTHING is adjustable, just go read the WGP tech forums, some people there love to take things apart...).

So, I ask, what do YOU think? If you agree that yes feel is very important when considering your marker, then I suggest you check it out and go shoot one. If you want a BPS shooting badass, then look at some of the lower priced electro's like the Ion that is all the rage... If the built In three-way or lack of adjustments to play with bothers you, consider spending a little more for something like the ProStock perhaps, (or maybe even CCM's Series 5 MMMMMmmmmm...)

I purposely left out talk about 'shot groupings' and accuracy. I feel these are almost entirely user dependent (at least 95% user dependent). If you want to hear how great it shoots, read the other reviews. I'm filling in a void that seemed desperately lacking.
Conclusion: Great Marker for the price, I am very happy with it. If my review has sparked your interest in any way, I urge you to go pick one up, even fire it if you can. You'll know then if it's right for you. (Final rating is a 9 because nothing is perfect, yes, I'm one of those...)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sharpfitz Thursday, January 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom 98
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Trilogy Pro
Clear Eggy with Y board
CP on/off
CP Rail
68/4500
DYE C5 Rhino (Grey and black)
12" Lapco Shot
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Electro Hopper is pretty much a must, good to have one at least

-Is able to run on C02 like anyother cocker but is recommended to use HPA (if you use
C02 get it anti-siphoned)

-Drop Rail
-on/off
Strengths: -awesome Ram (stock ram is the STO ram from the regular autoockers)
Weaknesses: doesnt have any weakness's
wgp is making an E-frame for this
Review: I got this marke ron tuesday and i love it. It shoots fast and its light. Personally if you play speedball and are jsut starting out and stuff even if your not jsut starting out this marker is sweet. I am actually quite suprised how fast it shoots, i dont know why some poeple who have done some reviews for this marker are saying its slow....yea maybe its slow compared to an E-Cocker or a timmy etc. but its pretty fast. You can adjust the Hindge frame if you like. so you can get a shorter pull with equals faster shooting, thats what im gonna do. also the fram on the trilogy pro is the exact frame that come on 2k3 cockers. This marker comes with a sweet Bolt (Delron) the Ram is upgradable but isnt really neccessary to upgrade cuz its a STO ram that are on regualr cockers.

if you buy this gun i reccomend a drop rail or a drop forward, cuz its a little stretch if it doesnt have one. like i stated in the above "recommended upgrades"

well i hope some of you guys get this marker cuz it is truly a great Cocker.

and if its drawing you back form buying one jsut becuz there is no e/worrblade for them....you jsut wait, they are comming out FOR SURE, not a maybe, but a FOR SURE
Conclusion: like i said before......i recommend HPA, Electro hopper (Eggy), Drop Rail, On/off.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 14th, 2005 at 5:01 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (20):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media