paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / System X NME / System X NME / System X NME / System X NME

System X NME Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount System X

Buy System X NME

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


System X NME
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $975

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:

Wicked Air Sportz Board - WAS
Break Beam Eyes - WAS
Double Ball Bearing Adjustable Trigger - For Greasy Speed
Smaller trigger frame than similar guns
Larger trigger guard design so you can easily walk even with Large Gorilla Fingers
LPR Operating Pressure 60psi - MORE SHOTS
Balls Per-Second come stock 25BPS - Can shoot up to 30BPS
LED Board - No more Confusion - Ready to rock
Shorter Delrin Bolt - Lighter and Faster
New Design - Sticky Grips
Product Availability 
The System X NME is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
carlisle9 Sunday, November 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month39 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
TES
Russian Legion Intimidator
2004 Shocker
Marker Setup: 2004 System X NME
3000/45 Centerflag Tank
Freak Set
EvoII
Recommended
Upgrades:
The only problem I had was with the feed neck, with the hopper not securing very tight. Not sure where this problem originates, but the only upgrade I can think of would be a new clamping feed neck.
Strengths: Light
Fast Trigger
FAST Cycles
Doesn't Chop
Beautiful Milling
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: -Feedneck: Back to the feedneck, that's the only thing that threw me for a loop, my EvoII would only tighten down so far, but would still spin and even popped off once. The HALO B we put on it later stayed on a bit better, I'm not sure what the deal is with this, but I'll be working with it.

-Kick: What kick?

-Consistancy: I shot 254 255 257 all night long, only had to set it once (in the beginning of the tournament), didn't touch the reg again.

-Accuracy: Ropes are fairly accurate... but I had to use the stock barrel as I don't have a freak back with cocker threads to use on it.

-Chopping: I did not chop one ball. Not ONE. I don't even think I had one that broke in the barrel. Good paint, Xball Silver. Eyes work flawlessly. I probably put about a case through it last night, definitely didn't shoot enough.

-Weight: The gun is 3lbs 2oz out of the box with the bottom line and the barrel. After I added my brick for a tank, the Evo, and paint, it got somewhat hefty. It's not a shocker though, so, it's fairly light compared to many.

-Trigger Guard: I got a number of comments on how huge the trigger guard is, and it is rather massive. I tried the whole 3 finger shooting thing, but I haven't gotten that down quite right. Two fingers suited me well.

Other stuff:
-No Shootdown
-No Bounce

She rips.
Conclusion: A huge jump up from my TES, and I'm VERY happy with the product. It's delivered all I could ever want.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

3Dac808 Thursday, January 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dragun T.E.S.
system x xonik
spyder imagine
spyder x-tra
tippman 98 custom
tippman pro carbine
(sorry but these markers dont compare)
Marker Setup: NME clear to pewter #0004
evo II loader(upped to a halo)
Redz pepper stickz barrell kit
cp twisting feedneck 05
cp Lightning drop
91-3000 psi system x tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really. But i am planning on getting a stiffi kit and a halo reloader soon.
(only so i can shoot faster)
Strengths: speed
no broken balls or chopped paint yet
speed and
SPEED!
Weaknesses: No real weaknesses that i could see.
Review: well when i first saw the gun i was thinking no way am i going to shell out 900+ dollars on what i thought was going to be a passing hobby.
But after playing a few games of renegade type play , i was hooked on paintball and thought to myself i need a better gun than the one i have now.
So after buying and selling a few different styles of guns my friend told me about the NME and how good it was. i still wasn't convinced that i was going to shell out the moolah for the gun, but after he showed me what it could do tight out of the box needless to say i was hooked.
After saving money for a couple months the time came when i got to pick one up!
As soon as i got it home i test fired it in my kitchen, and i wanted to start playing right then. so i got my chance (couple weeks later because my friends were a little nervous after seeing my new toy).
We played woods ball and i dont think i'll play with any other gun now. Here it is, the NME weighs a little over 3 pounds and whatever the tank weighs (which isn't too much more) my teammates wanted to move up and get to a different bunker so i cover fired for them, needless to say they made it safely, and after the first game we were talking and a couple guys thought that at least 2 people were shooting because it was "rainig paint on them".
But anyway with all the action that i had with the gun i was not dissappointed at all forking over the money for this gun.
Also the last thing i wanted to point out is that it has a big trigger guard opening.
let me tell you this you can run 3 fingers in that thing comfortably!
Also the gun is so nice and the milling is beutiful i almost didn't want it to get dirty, but looks like those days are over.
Go out and get this gun you'll be happy you did!


well put the new stuff on and it was an improvement!!! Even though the stock barrell is good the pepper stickz really improved the accuracy! the drop forward made the gun more of a compact fit (perfect if that's how you like the gun to be against your body). And probably the best thing i did to this was i got the cp feedneck. Now the hopper will not come out even if you fly through the air and land gun first! Something will break before the hopper comes off.
Hope this update helps.
peace
and please feel free to message me or drop a line sometime
Conclusion: This gun is AWESOME!!! Fast light and it could make you feel like a pro.
if you have the dollars to get one i suggest that you do! you will not be dissappointed at all.
Here is a last note for this.
Some guys i play with were hating on this gun. But when i saw them at the field 3 months later 4 guys had the nme. so i guess they were kidding when they said they wouldn't get one.LOL
hope this helps!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 19th, 2005 at 11:05 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

1legionnaire Wednesday, June 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmy's, lots of em. still like my Timmy's.
Marker Setup: System X NME
Crossfire 68/3000
Empire Reloader B
Matchstick .693 back 14in tip.
Config used in 7 unlimited tourney recently.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B
Empire Reloader B
Matchstick barrel kit
Harder Detents
Strengths: Reliable
Fast
Weaknesses: Slightly large
A little heavy
Review: Cocker threads mean my favourite barrel kit screws straight in.

Clamping feed neck. Didnít have any problems with this although I have read it can be a problem on some hoppers.

Adjustable ram cap comes standard.

Completely enclosed board and battery. Unlike other markers where you remove the grip to get to the battery, the whole side plate needs to be removed to enable access. While this can be a little fiddly, I appreciate it now, after the 20 odd games I played recently at a seven man tourney. The ground was a mud bath and most of the markers I looked at later during servicing had water and other crud all the way inside. They were of course the people who didnít tape their grips (and some that did) but with the NME you no longer need to. The compartment was as clean and dry as the day it left the shop.

Trigger guard. What can I say, itís huge, you can get 3 fingers in there. But 2 will probably be enough for this monster. The trigger itself has a very positive feel but you can set it just about any way you like. I set my Debounce to 8ms. I started having a couple of bouncing issues at 7ms but with being able to adjust the settings in such small increments you will need to adjust this to your own liking. The factory setting of 10ms leaves you plenty of room for those picky chrono refs and then some.

The inline reg took a hiding all weekend and didnít miss a beat. We had rain, cold wind, mud, sun and rain again. Consistency was superb despite using paint that was one step above hopeless.

Kick. Because of the aforementioned paint, and larger bore to accommodate it, I had to set the LPR at about 95 psi. We were also shooting at 290FPS so I needed the extra velocity. At these settings there is a definite climb in the marker when firing ropes. There is also a noticeable kick. Bear in mind, good paint, better paint to bore match, lower LPR pressure, virtually no kick.

Weight. Fractionally heavier than an EGO when your holding one in each hand. But put a steel tank on there and the weight will creep up quickly. Put on a halo B or Empire and you better be ready to handle a little weight.

Size. She is a big monster. Not overly in any dimension but certainly could benefit from a little weight loss here and there.

The grips are chunky, good for larger hands, plenty of grip but not quite as comfortable as they could be. With a pair of gloves on, however, you arenít going to slip on these babies. Could use some additional grip around the back by the power button, but again user preference.

Looks. Iíll be honest and say Iím not usually too enamoured with the appearance of a marker, but the NME does look like itís been crafted by a 1000 years of sand storms. The lines are clean and flowing and give the impression of a refined predator.

The manual. This is where they didnít get it quite right. They havenít skimped on detailing how to get the most out of the marker but they have done a less than average job of their exploded view. Itís a piece of cake to strip down if youíve got a good engineering background or are naturally good with mechanics (tinkerer by nature), but god forbid, should you not have any idea, you could be in for a little shock. The maintenance section is 2 short paragraphs without any detailed steps to guide you through. Looking at the exploded view wonít give you any idea of which screws you need to undo, youíll have to figure this out by looking for them.

Performance. What a hellcat! If a couple of well-placed shots wonít do it, you can overwhelm you opposition with a wall of paint, the likes of which god hasnít seen. Shooting ropes is childís play and if you like full Auto ramping for that little bit extra of not-gonna-get-nailed-today, the NME will have you giggling all the way up the field. The only ball chop I had all weekend was because a member of our pit crew turned off my loader when it was being filled and I noticed when I was standing next to the chrony. Turning it on in a loud environment was a mistake but I was faced with little choice at the time. For reference I fired just over 4000 paintballs in the 2 day event. For a front it was a busy couple of days.

Still awake? Good.
Here it is. System X, I am a walking advertisement for this marker, the only thing that lets you down is the manual. Get a little carried away in this department next time and break down the maintenance and cleaning, step by step. Do it from your website if needs be. I spend too much time as it is repairing peopleís markers to ever want to see one of these come my way, in dire need of some TLC. The NME is fantastic to such an extent Iím selling off a couple of my other markers so I can get a second one .It gets a 9 because of the little things mentioned but it could have so easily been a 10.

update: 30th Aug 2005
Ok. Itís had a really good thrashing now. Fired in the neighbourhood of 11 cases through it and itís still purring like a kitten.

Recommended up grades: Harder detents.
Had an issue last weekend with the eyes not detecting to ball. Broke it open after cleaning the eyes and visually checking down the feed neck, the detents were folding down towards the barrel. The stock ones are lightweight and the halos and reloaders Bís are overpowering them after a while. Get enough movement of the ball forward in the breach and the marker will hang on you as youíd expect. Easy fixed as most Timmy users are aware, harder detents are the only way to go.

Conclusion: It's all good.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 29th, 2005 at 6:50 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

pesadilla10 Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, this is one of the best guns every and nothing can compare to it.
Marker Setup: Blue To Black Polished System X N M E
Diamond Blue Empire Reloader B
Black 14'' Smart Parts Teardrop (already had it so I'm using it)
68 ci 4500 psi PMI nitro tank
Blue And Black Dye Barrel Sock (really doesnt cradle misfired balls like it says it does, trust me I tried it)
Blue Empire Bottle Glove with pod sleeve
Blue Dye Sticky Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
No upgrades are necessary, but you might want a drop foward.
Strengths: Speed, trigger, trigger guard, and a great feed neck.
Weaknesses: No weaknesses.
Review: My cousin Andrew showed me this gun after I told him that i wanted to replace my old one. So i checked it out and bought it.

This gun is awsome right out of the box.

Dont listen to the people that say that the feedneck is bad or that the screws fall off. Make sure to tighten ur stuff. Also, dont listen to the people who say that its bad especially the person that gave it a 2 out of 10. He probably got a bad gun, or got screwed over on ebay.

This is one of the best guns that I have ever used.

I have not found one weakness in this gun and i dont plan too.

By the way, the blue color scheme is sexy.



If you want to see a pic of my sexy NME its the 5th one in the picture sections for the NME. It is the only blue one there. Check it out.
Conclusion: Get this gun. I am not rich, so gettin the money was hard. But it was worth all of the money. Just be sure to use good paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 1st, 2005 at 10:06 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paint_187 Saturday, December 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Timmy's, and Angels
Marker Setup: NME out of box, Centerflag 68/4500, and for now vl X-board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well the only thing I can think of for mine is a Empire Re-Loader B with Rip Drive upgrade. Because this gun can be get pretty fast at various settings.
Strengths: Speed, accuracy, smoothness, and great looking for price.
Weaknesses: I really haven't found one yet.
Review: So what can I say this gun speaks for itself. And being able to put more paint through it with the low pressure setup it has is very nice. Specially since a lot of the local fields don't know how to top off a tank. Oh yeah don't forget the vertical feed. I know a couple of people back on the review some one bad mouthed the feed. I think it's a great feature to have. It has a screw tight locking feed neck. Which if that guy was have trouble well then he must not have a lot of strength to make sure he's tighten it correctly. What else... Oh yeah, the electronics on this gun really is what makes it possibly one of the greats. The electronics on this gun is so smooth it almost to good to be true. From the WAS board to the specialty anti-chop i-beams.

Wicked Air Sportz Board - WAS
Break Beam Eyes - WAS
Double Ball Bearing Adjustable Trigger - For Greasy Speed
Smaller trigger frame than similar guns
Larger trigger guard design so you can easily walk even with Large Gorilla Fingers
LPR Operating Pressure 60psi - MORE SHOTS
Balls Per-Second come stock 25BPS - Can shoot up to 30BPS
LED Board - No more Confusion - Ready to rock
Shorter Delrin Bolt - Lighter and Faster
New Design - Sticky Grips
*Locking vertical feed*

After reading this following message on Brady's Paintball and talking to their tech guys I was hooked on this gun. And so far there is nothing that would change my mind about it.

***The NME was designed around the Intimidator/Spyder/Impulse/etc. concept. The stroke was reduced from the normal 1.045" (Intimidator) to just .82". This means at the exact same rate of fire, the bolt moves 21.53% less distance EACH WAY! Why is this important? Because this means that there is more time for a ball to fall into the breech, resulting in a substantially faster rate of fire when using a gravity-feed type of hopper. This means that an Intimidator shooting shooting 10bps for 10 seconds will have the bolt move a distance of 209 inches (17.41 feet). The NME's bolt shooting at the same 10bps for 10 seconds would travel 164 inches (13.66 feet). That is 3.74 fewer feet of travel!

We took the changes that were recommended to Bob Long by our company and applied them to the NME. A second generation "WAS board" (Equalizer) was also created for this marker. It's light, it's fast, it's efficient, and its powered by the best paintball electronics in the world!
_________________
Jim Drew, President - Wicked Air Sportz
Conclusion: Well let's review. Price=$899 from Patriot Games Paintball. WAS Board. WAS I-beam (anti-chop). Locking Vertical Feed. Shorter stroke by the bolt. Low Pressure operation and more paint per tank fill. Come on, need I say more. This is a great gun for anyone who takes paintball seriously.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 4:38 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

pbwizard09sDad Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
My son's Spyder, and his Prostock
Marker Setup: System X NME, Egg, & 92/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit (for ANY marker)
Strengths: Awesome looks, GREAT feel, quick as can be, ball on ball
Weaknesses: MAJOR PROBLEMS! Read the review!
Review: Please excuse my prologue, but if you're interested in getting one of these, maybe my background and reasoning will help you in making your decision . . . if not . . . skip it, and jump down to what happened at the field Sunday.

OK, my paintball experience of 4 years comes from the kid getting a paintball gun 4 years ago . . . but . . . I've been into real guns since I've been younger than him, been into airsoft with him for about 6 years, newest old toys Airsoft Elite/ICS MP5s, & paintball guns are just another way to throw something at something else . . . & HIT IT !!!

Played woodsball with the kids a handful of times, and got him a Prostock beginning of summer thru recommendations of friends, and reading the reviews here & elsewhere, and was very pleased with the selection. Great gun, beats the #<!! outta the Spyder, & thought he was set. Then . . . he went with some friends to Encounter in Pa . . . & played XBall/Airball . . . & started getting hooked. Made me drag him out there & watch him a couple weeks later, and he did pretty good, but was getting hosed by the kids with their electric Ions, & getting really dejected since he's trying to throw 3, 4 ,5 balls at someone shooting a dozen or more at him. Well, with Christmas on the horizon, & being a proud of his kid Dad, I wanted to get him something to even the odds, & let him play at least at the same level as the electric guns.

Back to pbreview & others & research . . . Bob Long's, DM6s, Egos, Quests, Cyborgs . . . great toys, but OUCH!! Bite me in the wallet! Then I came across System X & the NMEs & LEs. I know they are OOB, but, basically take Timmy parts, & other then the usual my gun's better stuff, oh, Timmy knockoff BS, didn't really find anything bad being said about them. Checked out the Bay, and got REALLY lucky. Tom @ RacegunUSA got a last batch of NME LEs & being the perfectionist he is, had the bolt chamber & valve tube precision honed & did a trigger job on it like the way he did Avalanche's guns when they used the LEs. He even backed the warranty, so, that's the kid's Christmas present from me. But now . . . he wants his old man to play paintball with him! So . . . back to the Bay, & got lucky again, and got a NME package with a hopper & tank & stuff to play the back guy . . . you young'uns can go bunker diving, not me . . . I'll stay back & cover your tails . . . and here's the tale of taking a NME out on the field for the first time.

OK, PROLOGUE OVER, YOU CAN START READING AGAIN!

Out to Encounter for their last weekend of the season, & give the kid a taste of a STOCK NME, & get to play with an electric. Point one, the barrel is Cocker threaded, so his Freak works fine on this too. There's enough said about paint to bore matches all over, so EVERYONE should know, if they're half serious & want to be competitive, to get a kit & match your paint. NOT a weakness to any gun, just a fact.

The WAS board even without the LCD is very easy to program, & no, I haven't had it long enough to play with it much, but I have a degree in programming, and am a computer consultant, and this board will do anything you need to do with the gun, backed by a lifetime upgrade & full lifetime warranty. And sorry, no matter how fast the processors & memory gets, there is NOTHING faster in programming than machine code, period.

Size & weight are a matter of personal preference, so here's my personal preference. I like to feel I have something in my hands. The guys at Paintballsphere are great, helpful as can be, and will give you their opinions & preferences without pushing anything on you. Between there & at the field, I've held/played/shot a number of other high end guns & none had the feel on the NME. There's a bunch that are lighter, and some so light, it feels like I am holding a kid's plastic squirt gun in my hand. Not for me. There's some that are smaller & lighter too, but just don't feel quite right or comfortable. Feels like I'm trying to shoot a pistol with two hands . . . not for me either . . . if I can't one hand it, give me something big enough to hold on to. I have yet to find ANY weapon that feels as good as the NME grips do in my hand.

How does it shoot? OUCH !!!! This things absolutely RIPS!!! What ever mode you put it in, this thing cranks! I don't really know how broken in it is, since I got it used. Had the guys at Paintballsphere give it a once over before we took it out, & they said it's in excellent condition, no noticeable wear, and we burned thru a case plus & not one chop, semi, ramping or full auto. The ball on ball is every bit as good as the Prostock, but I also attribute that to the barrel/paint match. WOW, this is a FUN toy!

Maintenance, yea of course it needs it. Read & heard the same whining about the Cocker. Oh, it takes sooo much. They're really hard to keep up with. Quit your whining, do you want your mommy to do it for ya? It's an electro mechanical device, of course it needs maintenance. Basic week to week, take out the bolt, wipe it down, lube the O rings & put it back. Take out the ram, wipe it down, lube the O rings, give it some grease & put it back. Every ? often after a bunch of good use, yea, break it down, check it over good, clean & lube it, replace any worn rings . . . in other words, take care of it like it was yours . . . oh yea, it is, huh?

WEAKNESSES/MAJOR PROBLEMS

YES, this gun does have them. First major problem . . . make sure you have a FAT wallet . . . this thing can burn thru paint so fast, you better buy stock in your favorite brand to offset your losses!

Second problem . . . make sure you get to your field extra early, don't mind sharing, really enjoy filling your air tank, and plan on missing a bunch of games. When you first take it out to set it up, everyone around you is gonna start asking you questions . . . is that a NME? I've heard of them. Can I see it? How does it shoot? Can I see it? Can I shoot it? Not with paint, just turn it on & shoot it? And after your first set of games, it gets worse . . . wow that gun is really cool & really fast, can I see it? Can I shoot it? Hey guys, look at this, can they see it? Meanwhile, the next game already started . . .

Then when you're done for the day & everyone is slowly packing up . . . hey, can I shoot a pod thru it? My paint, can I? Oh, oh, me too, can I? And three or more friends come by, & can they see it too? And an hour later, & a bunch of fills . . .

Major major problem with this toy!
Conclusion: Absolutely, positively, DO NOT GET ONE OF THESE! I want us to be the only ones at the field with this hot looking, blazing fast gun that gets everyone's attention . . . and sends them to the dead zone . . .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CTHopeless Wednesday, April 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4, Timmys, shockers
Marker Setup: 05 stock System-X NME, 68ci 3000psi, egg hopper
Strengths: Trigger guard
feel of gun
gas efficiency
Weaknesses: See review
systemx customer service
Review: I bought this gun looking for a timmy feel but at a lower price. And that's what I got. It shoots like one and obviously looks like one. The price was lower than the average timmy and it came with more stuff.

I tested one out before I forked out 900 bucks and it was smooth as ice. Not a single broken ball and I could shoot an 8in pattern at 35yds. So obviously I bought one. Black to red... b e a utiful. From out of the box it was pretty nice looking. I was pretty pleased except for that it was missing a sticker on top of the bolt, but that wasn't a big deal. So I hooked up air and it shot like the one I had tested, smooth. A half a case later, I ran out of air. :) But the next time I hooked up a fresh tank the whole solenoid blew. :( I had it replaced at no charge from the local retailer from which I had bought it from. And then it sprung a leak in the in line reg. And went downhill from there. I emailed and called the costumer service and they completely $ucked. He promised me everything would be fine but it came back (2 weeks later) with all of the same problems and I even had to pay shipping there. It is still at system-x and they have been putting it off for a week. I had to get the local retailer involved he finally put the pressure on. Of couse they are ground shipping it this way and that so it take a week here and a week there and I have been jyped out of 2 whole months worth of play. They should have sent me a new one in the first place, but they kept putting me off. I am really ticked.

Conclusion: I think I just got a lemon gun, but the company still $crewed me over. Other NME guns have worked fine, but there' s still a chance of getting a bad one, then you have to deal with system x.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 19th, 2005 at 8:07 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

redleg_64 Sunday, February 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: System X NME - Empire Reloader B hopper

Warped Sportz Dark Angel iR3, VL Revolution 12V hopper, CP on / off ASA and feed neck, 68/4500 CA tank

Smart Parts SP-8, Halo B w / rip drive hopper

Tippmann Model 98, CAR adjustable stock, Flatline barrel, J&J Pro 14" barrel, remote line

Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast...VERY fast hopper
Barrel kit
Strengths: Rate of Fire
Ease of Programming
Looks
Bolt
Weaknesses: Weak aluminum in places

Feedneck could be better
Review: ***This review written on Jan21, 2006 at Spec Ops paintball.***

I recently bought a System X NME from Sir Jman on the Spec Ops forums. I bought it when I was in Iraq so it took me a little while before I could actually use the thing.

I had it out at Low Country Paintball this past Sunday. I was using a Halo B with Rip Drive and a small HPA tank, the smallest kind they make, lol. I had it out on the target range at first, just trying to get used to it. The NME is kind if easy to mess around with at first. There is the on/off ASA at the bottom of the grip, the velocity adjustment screw is at the bottom of the inline regulator, and the adjustbale low pressure regulator sits just under the barrel. I hooked up my tank and the marker cocked itself. Cool! I turned the marker on with the button the is recssed into the back of the trigger frame. Turning it on puts it into the live fire mode with the eyes turned on. Hold the button for 1/2 a second and the eyes will be disabled allowing you to dry fire.

The velocity adjustments were simple. I just had to turn a screw at the bottom of the inline regulator. The NME was operating at around 100 psi that day. I would have adjusted it down to 80 psi, but the setscrew I needed to loosen was stripped out. You can adjust the operating pressure via a "thumb-screw" I guess, at the front of the low-pressure regulator after you loosen a set screw. The manual says it can operate between 80-125 psi. There is an easy to read operating pressure guage located on the right side of the NME at the intersection of the LPR and inline regulator.

The NME features a twist-lock feedneck, centerfeed style. I found that is holds my Halo pretty well, though an upgraded feed neck is probably best. It is threaded for an Impulse feed neck. I guess the eyes on the NME are infra-red. It will detect virtually all types of paint. The bolt easily slides out of the back after you pull up on the knob sticking out of the top of the bold. This allows you to quickly clean the bolt and swab your barrel without removing the barrel. Cool, huh? The trigger guard is absolutely huge! The Jolly Green Giant himself would be able to walk the trigger. The milling on the NME is phenomenal. It is truly a work of art. I didn't find any defects in the workmanship and anodizing of the marker. It comes stock with a light-weight to-piece barrel with a .689 bore. The grips feel great in the hands. I never once lost my grip on these things, even though my hands were all sweaty and dirty. The NME has dual ball detents to ensure that you aren't going to double-feed or have a ball roll out of the chamber on you.

The NME is powered by a Wicked Air Sports (WAS) Equalizer board. You can easily program the board by reading along in the manual. You don't need to remove the grips or anything else in order to program it. The owners maunal is put together pretty well. The trigger is highly adjustable. After messing around with it a bit I found the setting I like most. I have never been able to walk the trigger on a paintball gun, but with the NME, it makes it almost impossible not to. I can rip on it pretty fast. The gun is capable of cycling up to 35 cycles per second. I have had mine shooting over 20 BPS so far. I am going to mess around with the board and see if I can up it.

I would suggest getting a freak or pipe barrel kit for this. Having the right size barrel is always a good thing. The barrel is threaded for an autococker. You are going to want to have a fast hopper with this. It has a big appetite for paint. You may be interested in buying a different board for the NME so you can control firing modes on it. It is only semi-auto, although it is a very fast semi. It runs off from 9-volt batteries, non-rechargeable. It has pretty good battery efficiency though.

***Updated*** I just realized that you can change the firing mode on this board to comply with NPPL, PSP, and NXL formats. Very cool. I had the marker cycling at 30 BPS. All I can say is "WOW!" I have never experienced anything like that before, lol.

The one bad thing I have to say about this is that the alumium could be a better quality. I stripped out on of the grip screws on it. I will have to use Lok-Tite on it to get it to hold.
Conclusion: If you have the money...get it. You will not be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jagarbosse Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Alias Timmy,
E-Orracle,
Karnivor,
2k2 Timmy WAS 2.8
LCD Warped EYE with EGI-NYX board
Marker Setup: NME Black-2-Blue Dust 2004
3A-air
Evo2 Z-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck!!!!

otherwise none
Strengths: Speed
feel
trigger
barrel
milling
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: I got this gun in late dec.

The first thing you notice is the AMAZING amount of precision they have put down on the milling.!!! awesome!

the gun is kind of light, nothing special really though.(doesn't bother me).

IT IS FAAAAST. you WILL need a halo b @ least to use the gun to it's max.
I am amazed on how well it works!

I have had NO problems except some botlstick, which is a small matter.
the feedneck has to be changed. that is the only thing I have to comment on.

Also, it is not very air-efficient at first, but gets better later on.

Conclusion: Definatley, BUY THIS GUN. take a loan if you need to, just for ***'s sake, BUY IT.
make the world a better place.

It takes all Timmy aftermarket parts, and is just wonderful.
its cheaper than all other timmys, and faster(than most of them)

one of the best guns I've shot ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

eaZypimpin21 Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 SPEED
INFAMOUS, RIPPER 2.5
Marker Setup: Nme, Halo B, 68/45 LP tank,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Orange bolt - better efficiency
CP on/off
Strengths: Speed, Accuracy, Efficiency.
Weaknesses: Size, Weight, Tuning.
Review: Ok, well i bought my NME a while back. When i first opened the box, i just thought it looked amazing. When i picked it up.. I wasn't to happy due to the weight of this thing. I didn't let that bother me tough. I took it hooked up my Halo which was rather easy becuase of the stock twist lock feedneck.

Then i screwed in my tank. When i was trying to screw in the on/off i tightened it soo much i guess it created a barrier so the air couldn't enter my gun. I later on realized your not suppose to tighten the system x on/off all the way. About half way would do it.

After, i got everything all setup, i took tihs beast outside. Filled up my hopper and let it rip. I personally like the LED display. *Easy to work with* It was shooting extremely fast and accurate. I was hitting ball on ball. On, the chrono i was clocking, 288, 288, 286, 287
I thought that was rather impressive.

Conclusion: Good over all gun, has some flaws such as the size and the on/off. Over all an Excellent marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media