paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix

Proto Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 207
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $995

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Matching Proto Barrel - Internal Modular LPR - Hyper-2 in line regulator - Revised Anti-Chop eye system - An industry first, composite eyeplate - Continuous 3 dimensional body design - Compact ergonomicly designed milling - Lightweight compact body - Proto Matrix Sticky grip - LED program control - Ergonomic 45 grip frame - Removable one peice FUSE bolt system - Adjustable trigger sensitivity
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
f2f4 Sunday, April 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year192 of 196 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, older Matrixes, newer Matrixes, Quests, and just about every other spool-valve out there.
Marker Setup: If you REALLY wanna see my setups... and some cheesy vids, go to:
http://www.freewebs.com/f2f4
Recommended
Upgrades:
- ASA (none included)
- A very nice barrel kit, later on
- New feedneck (CCM No-Pro reccomended)
- New trigger, if you'd like
Strengths: - Speed, lack of kick, included ABS on stock board, looks... hell, just read the review
Weaknesses: - Be carefull with the stock wiring when taking apart. It's known to be fragile.
Review: Since this review, I have sold the Proto. NOT because I have had any issues with it, in fact just the opposite. The truth is that I am a 'gun whore, and must move up the ladder even more. I will still continue to update this review as I think of anything else that would be helpful, as well as answer anyone's questions.

So, after playing for a couple years, I decided to save up my pennies and get something nice. I wanted something with good performance, good looks, reliability, and a price that wouldn't kill my bank account. So after reading tons of articles, surfing forums, oogling at pro-shops, and even shooting many at several of my local fields, I decided on the Proto Matrix. I called Rob, forked over my hard-earned money, and proceeded to camp out by the mailbox…

Let's just say it was a good decision.

First impressions –
This thing is insane; I hardly know where to start. It looks amazing – really, the pictures don’t do it any justice – but the first thing one notices when ripping on this (or any Matrix, for that matter) is the kick, or complete lack thereof. I can empty hopper after hopper, with the tip of my barrel showing no signs of rising. And the speed… don’t get me started on that. I am confident that this thing will keep up with the fastest fingers in the world, as every high-end will. Setup itself was easy enough; I just pulled it out of the box, slapped on my ASA and hopper of choice (you had better use a force-fed!), gassed it up, and headed out for the chrono. Out of box, without the reg even being broken in, I was chronoing in at 279 FPS, +/- 4. The noise level was very low, as most spool-valves are. More of a “Pfffffffffffft” than a “Pak”. No trace of shoot-down or FSDO either, thanks to the integrated ABS system. As of now, after shooting many many cases through this beast, I get +/- 2… that’s just freaking insane. The LPR, out of the box, is set a little high (5 turns out, give or take ½ a turn). This explains why some people complain of a kick slightly more than that of the older ‘Trixes out there. The “problem” can be remedied easily enough, all one has to do is turn the LPR down a tad to 4 turns out. You’ll still cycle just as fast, but without any trace of extra annoying cyclic inertia. In addition, some Protos were shipped with a dwell of 14 ms from the factory, as opposed to the recommended 18 ms. So be sure to check for that, too.

Feel –
The Sticky grips that are now included with the Proto are just like all other Stickies… damn comfy. They almost “mold” to your hand, and make it close to impossible to set down the thing. If you're using gloves, they work very well with them too. The reg is right up against the trigger frame, ala the Shocker. I don’t mind this, but some people with larger hands might find it hard to get a grip on the front reg. If it were up to me the reg would be another couple centimeters further foward... but it works. And as for the trigger, it’s the exact same one as on the DM4, so it’s very easy to rip on. Personally, I replaced it, but that’s just because I’m picky.

Maintenance –
After a day’s play I lube up the spool. Everything is integrated, so all I have to do is unscrew the rear bolt guide 2 turns, and pull out the entire assembly. From there, it unscrews into four separate sections. After that, I simply wipe off the old lube and apply a decent amount of fresh lube to all the O-rings using the included Slick Lube. (Just don't put way to much lube in... the ABS system helps prevent FSDO, but it's still possible to sludge up the bolt if you lay it on too thick.) To this day, I have not had to replace a single O-ring; although Dye kindly includes a rebuild kit should you ever need to. Other than lubing the spool/bolt assembly every couple cases, the only thing one needs to do is replace their battery when the board says it’s running low, and rebuild and re-lube the LPR and HPR every 3-6 months, depending on how much paint you run through it (I use a LOT. ^_^). Oh yeah, every 20,000 shots or so, be sure to check on the condition of the dual detents, just to make sure they’re working properly and are in good shape.

JUST BE SURE TO READ THE MANUAL!
I see too many idiots using high-ends, yet know nothing about them. When something breaks, they blame the marker… know your ‘gun and maintain it well, and you will be a very happy 'baller. This applies to all markers.

Performance – Hehe, my favorite part of the review!
Well, I think I have already gotten the point across, but this thing has very little kick when tuned. Add to that the incredible speed (with the DB set at 1 ms, just for kicks of course since it will get quite a bit of electrical bounce once you get going; the hopper will empty in about… 7 seconds, I think it was) and the lack of noise, and you’ve got yourself a true high-end. If you are willing to look around, there are a plethora of videos out there that show just how nice this thing performs. Oh yeah, while I’m at it… I have not chopped a single ball since I’ve first used it. I used everything from old Revvies, to my Halo (and everything in between), and the eye logic proved flawless every time. Got the occasional barrel break, but that was towards the end of the bore anyways, and I'm willing to blame that on my bad habit of buying the cheapest paint possible at any given time, haha.

Downsides –
That’s right, there are a few small ones. First off, while the efficiency is about 100 shots more than the DM4’s (due to the smaller dump chamber, and re-worked bolt), it still isn’t that great. Now I’m not saying it’s nearly as bad as a stock non-HE Shocker, but it’s definitely not any Viking either. I’ve found that off a cool 68/4.5k fill, I can get ~1,200 shots, which good enough for my purposes. One other small gripe I have is how crappy the stock feedneck is; it just looks out of place and is completely horrid. Replacement of the feedneck is easy enough, so no biggie. The last thing I don’t like is you cannot simply drop in another chip to reprogram the board, you must either send it in to have it re-flashed or buy a new board oughtright. Not too big of a hassle, but one nonetheless.

Upgrades –
While for the most part, this marker does not need any kind of upgrading, there are a few one should consider right after getting their Proto:

- ASA (since one isn’t included); I’d recommend getting some kind of Unimount. Personally, I use the Hybrid push-button on/off, since it’s the smallest, most convenient, and very good looking. Nevertheless, practically anything out there will fit on the Proto.

- Feedneck; get a CCM Proto No-Pro. End of story. About half the height of the stock one, looks very good with the Proto, and has a very strong clamping system. If you’d like, there are plenty of other good ones out there… but for what I do, there is no other real choice.

- Trigger; while the stock (DM4) one is nice, I just didn’t like it that much. I replaced it with a CP roller trigger, which has integrated roller bearings (read: no side play!). It is raked forward slightly, which combined with the Proto’s larger trigger guard… makes for walking bliss. Very snappy feel to it, which some like, and others do not.

- Barrel Kit; the stock Proto barrel is okay… but just that, “okay.” Sometime after buying a Proto, you would do well to get a very nice barrel, such as an Ultralite or an Empire kit. I won’t go too in-depth, as the choices are practically endless. But a new barrel would really take advantage of the Proto’s little kick, allowing you to rip some of the straightest ropes you’ve ever seen.


Over time, this marker has become one of the best deals out there. You can find them going for as little as $500, and that's a VERY good deal on an upper-midrange marker such as this.
Conclusion: Frankly, one of the best deals around. For those looking to make their foray into the upper-range paintball market, this is a very nice choice.
Any questions, feel free to post in the comments section. I will answer!
Get one.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 30th, 2006 at 7:34 pm PST
I found this review  
86 Comments - Add Comment

Superdude169698 Tuesday, October 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month74 of 88 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4, matrix
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix
Cp Roller Trigger
Proto 12" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Barrel if you want a 14" one
Strengths: Faster than dm4 stock
Accurate
Small and super light
Weaknesses: Comes with a 12" barrel
Review: This thing is better than the dm4! It is smaller and more compact then the dm4....and if you put them side by side stock, the proto shoots faster. The stock barrel on the proto is a 12" proto one piece barrel....and it throws darts. The only thing is that its not 14", so the range might be not as good as a 14"....but its great for a mid/ front player. This gun is so light... so it counteracts the heavy halos.... to be more center balanced. The kick on this is not even noticable. Its less than the dm4...to hardly nothing. This thing is a lot more air effecient than its predecessor, with only 1000 psi spent on a hopper and 3pods. The looks are great, and with the lpr being in front instead of the annoying on/off of the dm4....makes for a very user friendly gun. Just turn on and go. The buttons are the same for the dm4. The settings are friendly as well....all in the led interface. It says in the manual that this beast has trigger sensitivity (debounce) that can go to one.... and it warns you not to put it on one cause it will shoot full auto, and at 24.6 bps thats not a bad feature to have. Its definately a fun one.
Conclusion: All in all a great gun to get, save your money from getting a dm4 and get one of these... youll be just as happy, if not happier;
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
41 Comments - Add Comment

LiVe4PaiNtBaLL Thursday, November 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month33 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, Trauma Matrix
Marker Setup: Black/Blue Dust Proto Matrix
Custom Products Rail
Empire on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a barrel if you like bigger barrels.
Strengths: Trigger Programming, Accuracy, Consistency, The strings of paint you can rip with it.
Weaknesses: No weakness really, unless you like at least a 14 inch barrel.
Review: I just bought the proto matrix. I set it up, air'd it up and let her rip. The eyes are great and out of about 1000 shots no chopping at all, Every single ball hits the same spot, very air consistent as well. The trigger is awesome because its really light and it sort swings back like the DM4 trigger, which if you didnt know makes walking awesome.
A lot of people doubt the gun, I dont know why. Its a DM4/DM5 with a lil different looks and a different name on it. People think it dont say DYE on it so it cant be good, and the funny thing is, that is is made by dye, Proto is owned by them, and on the box it ses dye. This gun rips harder then most of the guns I ever played with
Conclusion: If you like to rip, and love the feeling of a perfect gun get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 11th, 2004 at 6:06 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

darkangel23_25 Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month29 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
e-cocker, DM4, DM5, Dye Matrix, Various Angels, Various timmys
Marker Setup: Blk/Red Proto Matrix
Shock tech claping feed neck
05 Dye mini drop
Dye throttle 68/4500
Halo B W/ rip drive and victory board
freak kit with stiffi tip
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast loader
fast loader
barrel
clamping feed neck
oh yeah! did i say fast loader?
Strengths: Speed
weight
price
speed
reliability
ease of use
Weaknesses: None
Review: When I first laid my hands on this gun I knew I was going to buy it. i went and sold my
E-cocker and went to my pro shop (Burleson paintball and scuba). Laid down $850.00
and was on my way. So i read the owners Manuel and realized that this would be the easist gun to get to know out of all i have owned. I aired it up and let it rip. Right off the bat i out ran my friends egg II with z board. 21 BPS (this right out of the box). then i traded and put the halo on it. a amazing 29 BPS. You don't get much higher than that. me and my friend compaired the proto and DM4 in speed, air efficency, and weight. the Proto came out on top in the speed and weight. And the air efficency was about the same. so next I compaired it to the new DM5. All of the tests came out the same. proto and DM5 seemed the same except the milling. i was shooting all of the guns so shooter was not the difference in the speed. angel 4 fly is not faster either so save your money. also tested and was not as good as the DM4.
Conclusion: As stated before this gun hangs with the best of them so unles you just have to have the newest and most talked about guns then save your money and buy the proto matrix. i am giving it a 10 because it compaired with these guns and the price was so much lower
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 26th, 2004 at 8:14 pm PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

Andis149 Tuesday, December 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
everything
Marker Setup: Black/Blue Proto Matrix
Diamond Blue Empire Reloader B
J&J Edge
Hybrid- grips, rail, and asa
shocktech trigger
ccm pro feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit
feedneck
Strengths: Lighter, cooler, faster, and less $$$ than dm4 or dm5
Buttery smooth trigger and opperation
Weaknesses: Dont mess w/ anything untill it's broken in!!!!!!!!atleast 2500 shots
Review: This gun is so fast and comfortable, much lighter than a dm4 and just about the same as a dm5. If you buy this gun make sure not to mess with ANYTHING out of the box untill it's broken in because it will screw evrything up(I learned from experiance). I really like how the feedneck fits a stock unsanded halo, makes it not completly necessary to get a new feedneck. Stock barrel is crap, just use a good kit.
Love this gun and the price makes it 10000x better!!
***no kick at all, but still bounces like crazy on a low DB setting*** Love It!
Conclusion: Buy this gun over any of dye's other guns and any other high end gun it just comes down to preference. I was kind of scared switching from my awsome timmy to this but now I have no regrets what so ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

aimeagle21 Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmies
Angels
Marker Setup: red to black PM5
45/45 nitro duck
Halo B
JJ ceramic
CP quick connect feedneck
Check it on/off




Recommended
Upgrades:
Locking feedneck
Asa (it doesn't come with one)
Barrel or kit your choice
trigger
M5 upgrade
Strengths: Light
Looks
Value (I paid $575 NIB)
speed
Reputation
Weaknesses: No locking feedneck
No asa
Review: I bought this for my son for Christmas. I got this nib from my local field/store and the box was still shink wrapped. This a long story so please read the whole thing otherwise you may miss something.

I took the gun out of the box before I gave it to my son. I had to because I shoot an Ion myself and wanted to see how nice it was. I was very impressed once the box was opened. The milling was ok I noticed a lot of milling marks in the "V"'s of the gun (sorry I cant think of a different way to describe the area). I took the bolt out and the first thing I noticed was a lot of metal shavings in the bolt guide. I emailed Dye/Proto and they told me that the milling and metal shavings were normal and was told to just "clean out the metal and relube the bolt". Which I did before putting any air through the gun.

Now came Christmas day and my son got his gun. I didn't have any air so we had to wait until the day after Christmas to get it. Once we had air, my son turned the asa on and "PPPPSSSSSSHHHH" out the rear cap! I turned the air off, did some checking and replaced the two most rear orings on the bolt. Still a very slight leak out the rear. Anyway, he wanted me to adjust the trigger so I took the grip frame off only to find that the eye ribbon was not connected. Not a giant deal, I did some checking and found that I could just "plug" it back in. The eyes do work now. But the next thing I found was quite supprising to me. I took the grips off because it kept getting in my way when I was trying to get the eye ribbon plugged in. Under the grip on the opposite side of the board appeared to have been hit many times with something very hard (about 10-12 dents in the grip frame). This must have been done at the factory because the anno was not scratched at all.

Went to play with it Tuesday and it still leaked. But it worked out that one of the people at the field (he didn't work for this field but does own a local PB pro shop) was a certified matrix tech. He gave me some slick honey and the leak was gone. He told me to get rid of the Dye lube and use the slick honey or some other thing called Goo something or nother (I can't remember). He also cranked the LPR way down to about 1 3/4.

I emailed pictures of the eye ribbon and the grip frame to Dye/Proto and I was told today that I could return the gun for a replacement. This is very nice of them but the fact that my sons Christmas was kind of ruined still gets me mad. Even though I got his gun for a "good" price doesn't mean much (because $575 is a lot of money to me, like more than my house payment). I am very happy that Dye/Proto is letting me exchange this for a different one. It is nice to have a company stand behind their products. This is a rare thing these days!! Props to Dye for that!

Ok, for the good stuff. When the leak was fixed this gun is amazing!! I love the how smooth this gun fires. I mean no kick at all with the LPR turned down. The reg was as expected for a new reg it was +-6fps at the chrono (the field speed limit is only 250fps though). I would expect the reg to settle in over another case or so. I really like the look and design of the gun itself, it has very sleek and very nice body lines. My son really loves the fact that he has upgraded from his Angel IR3 (the difference in size between these guns is huge. The Angel was a monster compared to this).

As for the recommended upgrades, I would say the first thing would be (well, it's not an upgrade because it doesn't some with one) an on/off of some sort, locking feedneck, I always get a barrel kit because I never know what paint I will be shooting at any given tournament, the trigger doesn't feel bad to me at all but with all triggers it is personal preferance, I would like to see some different modes of fire and that is why I said M5 upgrade (can get this from the Matrix center for $50).
Conclusion: Well, I have owned many guns as has my son and I can honestly say that I am not all that impressed with the "whole" package. Like I mentioned earlier I shoot an Ion with a T board and I can get higher rates of fire out of it. The PM5 has a LOT nicer look to it and has a better reputation to it. But from my personal experience with this gun so far I have to ask myself why would you drop $600+- on this when you can go get something else for less or the same price that doesn't require another $120-$180 in ups? I know this is not going to be a popular review and some of you will dispute it with me but I can only say what I have experienced. I will not "blow smoke up anyones behind" one this one. I will update this review once I get the new Proto and I hope it will change my mind completely.

So I give performance a 9 because of the semi only board. I give fit and finish a VERY low 2. I give more weight to the performance aspect of the gun because I believe in function over form. So this one gets a 7 until I get the replacement gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 29th, 2005 at 8:52 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Proto817 Sunday, August 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm5, Dm4, Shocker
Marker Setup: Cobalt 2005 Proto Matrix w/ dye mini drop forward and bottomline with a Halo B w/ rip drive+z-code. Phat Performance 68/4500.
Recommended
Upgrades:
See Review
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Well, after a while of playing and getting guns that you had to worry about how fast you could shoot on I decided to get a gun that you didn't have to get all tense waiting for the spray of paint with the awesome chunks of the paintball shells coming out the end of the barrel. Unfortunately that decision was the beginning of a long frezy of research looking for a gun that would have crazy performance in all aspects. After about a month of looking it ended up that i was at Buckmasters (hunting expo) and for some odd reason there was a guy in the middle of the hunting event selling paintball guns.. He had a Proto out in the truck, which I had been researching on, so when i got my hands on it there was no turning back, It was mine. I knew that the proto was similar to a Dm4 and the Dm5 but thats mainly b/c its made by the same company. I have seen in a lot of the comments of the reviews on the protos that a lot of people are very defensive over someone even comparing the Proto with the Dm4, especially the Dm5. But What initially appears to be a little scrunched-together version of the DM technology present in the Dm4, Dm5 and most recently the DmC, eventually grows on anyone who examines a Proto. I have heard it called the poor mans Dm but its definately not, the proto should be up on the list with the dm4 and 5 because it keeps up with the $1400 Dm5 easily. Most of the people that leave comments, it seems now that I have a proto and have seen for myself the actual truth of the proto that they dont know much about it b/c it rips off ropes just as crazy as the Dm4's and 5's.
When you first look at the Marker, its really not any size differance from the dm's. Its the same height as a Dm5, a little wider whcih i have seen comments that it will effect the probabitly of getting shot on the gun while pressing up against a bunker or something, but its not very much wider at all mm's probably, so thats pretty ignorant to say something like that. Its a very quiet marker, i can shoot it in my room at night without waking anyone. The maintanence is clearly explained in the manual, pretty much anyhting you want to know about the marker is in the manual... My other guns were not like that so i thought that was really cool. The manual says to grease the matrix fuse bolt after every 10 to 15 thousand shots which is easy enough but it wouldn't hurt to do that sooner. The bolt is very simple, very quick and easy to maintain the bolt. The entire assembly comes out with 1 and a half turns of a 1/4 allen key and fomr there it breaks down into 4 parts, the cylinder, bolt, rear cap, and top hat. Be sure to check the rear cap is screwed on to the top hat before putting the assembly back into the marker.
The Eyes are flawless it seems, I have not chopped since I have owned the gun, but i have only used a halo b on it, so I couldn't speak for a slower hopper on how well the eyes would work, but i wouldn imagine them to work perfectly.
The effiency is the only thing i havn't thought about paying attention to.. umm i fill up about 2 times a day, i mostly dont worry about it and just get all day air at my local field b/c its cheap but i prob get like 1150 shots or something, dont hold me against that if im wrong its just a guess off how many 500 bags i go through before I fill up.
Its a comfortable gun to shoot, I love the room in the trigger, a lot of people get a cp roller trigger, but it would sacrafice the room and i have heard of people bending the trigger itself to gain the room back but i like the stock trigger, im not to picky though as you can prob tell b/c of the hopper issue.
Out of the box w/o drop or bottomline its barely over 2lbs. My whole setup is somewhere around 7lbs with full tank and empty hopperso its no shocker but thats still not heavy at all. So its great if your worried about fatigue i guess from playing long days at a tournament in the heat.
Right out of the box the velocity was 297 on the first shot... the ref just looked at me. On the second shot it went to 299, I was kinda laughing and kinda nervous b/c I didn't want to look like an idiot reading my manual at the feild trying to figure out how to change the velocity, even though I looked over the manual I didn't pay to much attention to that b/c the manual said its set at 275 or 285 from factory so i didnt worry about it. Then the third shot registered in at 296 and he let me go. Now, my velocity is at 290 and it goes +- 2 an occasional 3 or 4 now and then but thats good, its a very consisitent gun, no drop off what so ever, and the stock board has ABS, an Anti-bolt stick option, it can be turned on or off, but it increases dwell on the first shot after it sits idle for more than 15 seconds to prevent the bolt-stick. I thought that was cool, I made sure all my friends knew that.
The Configuration mode is easy enough, its sounds harder than it is when you read it in the manual but once you change one setting its smooth sailing. I havn't figured out how to get the hopper to empty in 7 seconds b/c of bounce or how to turn the bounce on or whatever i dont know what the hell that crap is, I have never had a gun like that, all my other guns were semi-only(tournament settings/gun) so im clueless. Also i have heard about some full-auto option at 24 bps in the reviews, i dont know about that, its seems that it would be in the manual or something if it had a full-auto option and its nowhere in the manual, i have looked. I tried setting the trigger-sensitivity, (one of the settings) to 1 b/c in the manual it said it you have to low of a value it will appear to shoot full auto, so i set it to 1 and it was a little faster.. thats all i have gotten.

The things i dont like about the gun... the feedneck and the trigger adjustment, the feedneck fits a halo withOUT need to sand it down, I have owned my Halo for quite some time now and the freaking feedneck has been sanded down like 50 times, and now its to small for the proto feedneck so watch out for that., its an easy fix though, as for now tape is my solution but im waiting for my birthday for the ccm no-pro just because its very soon and its working well with tape... Also i have no money. All for air and paintballs. The trigger adjustment is a B**** I hated it. The wires are tight and dont give you much room to seperate the 2 halfs of the gun, the screws are really hard to turn so the combination of the tight wires and the hard to turn screws was not fun, i gave up... its plenty fast at that anways. Also the 12 inch barrel, a little goofy looking but its fine, Im wanting a new barrel but its not a must have, just get one when you get a chance, there isn't any hurry, but a new barrel eventually for sure. One More thing that I didn't like was that when shooting the marker, the body of the gun is above the barrel it looks like, its not a bad thing, its just different. I had to get use to that for snap shooting and then shooting a diff. Then its harder to adjust to a diff gun. But no big problem or anything.
Conclusion: This gun pretty much rocks It will keep up with your fingers no matter how fast they are and the accuracy at about 40 yards is very good, wherever you go off the break im sure the proto will ahve about a 5.5 inch area that it will hit when your shooting as fast as you can. Most likely you will have one of the best guns around, if you look in the comments of f2f4's review, there are a lot of comparisons to the proto over other desired guns in the same class, the proto always comes out on top, so thats pretty much rock solid. Now 2 people could debate for hours over the Pm5, Dm4, and Dm5, but I think they are all really good guns and are very close in performance, and the differance in the price of the proto is well worth the small nic-nacs that the Dm5 and possibly the Dm4 have over the proto. Even so, that doesn't make this a bad gun, the thing rips, suitable for most people, many pro-teams use the proto so thats the proof. You wont have any regrets about buying the gun if you do, and if you are debating on a getting one, I would say to go ahead and get it, you will be very happy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 7th, 2005 at 10:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slider296 Wednesday, February 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Matrix LCD, Shocker SFT
Marker Setup: Dust Blue Proto Matrix, CP Razor drop, System-X Slider on/off, CP Quick detach feedneck, eVo II, Smart Parts Freak SS kit, Dye Throttle
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck, barrell and a fast loader
Strengths: Light, fast, accurate, relatively inexpensive for what you get
Weaknesses: Barrel needs to be upgraded
Review: I've had my Proto for about a month and a half now and has instantly become my primary marker. My first time out with it, I couldn't believe how fast it shoots out of the box. Off the break, I got to a back bunker and started shooting it out with a guy in opposite corner of the field. I just started ripping and in less than 10 seconds, my eVo was empty. The poor guy couldn't do anything but duck down and sit it out because there was so much paint raining down on his position that he couldn't move without getting hit.

Setup was easy as the LPR was pretty much fine out the box. It was shooting hot so I had to turn it down a bit on the reg. I prefer a short trigger throw with very little pre and post travel so I had to adjust it, but that was easy to do. There is a little side-to-side play in the stock trigger so I'll eventually replace it with a roller bearing trigger at some time.

The barrel is pretty good, but not as accurate as the one that came on my Matrix LCD. I ended up getting a Freak back for the Proto so now I'm using my SS Freak kit and find that it's much more accurate at greater distances. My first time out, I was using some old batch of Marblizers with the stock barrel and had a break, but that never happened when I was using fresh paint. When I had the break, I couldn't shoot it clean and the paint was all over the place. Once I had the chance to send a cleaning rod down the barrel, it was shooting fine again.

I switched out the feedneck because I hate my hopper swinging around when I'm playing. Since I have several markers, I didn't want to sand down the hopper because then it would be a bad fit on the rest of my markers. The CP QD feedneck took care of that and lets me interchange between markers easily. The hopper swing may not be an issue with more center balanced hoppers, but I shoot an eVo II and it is weight biased to the rear so any sudden motion will have the hopper moving around.

What I find hard to understand is why a $1000 marker does not include a drop, much less an on/off. It's not that expensive of a part and could easily be included as it is with the DM5.

During play, I noticed some kick when I was ripping from a back position, something I don't notice in my LCD or Shocker. I'm going to have to do some fine tuning to get rid of the kick.

I've had it apart for cleaning, lube and trigger adjustment and it's an easy marker to maintain and work on.

Efficiency seems on par with my LCD. I'm getting 3 hoppers and 9 pods out of my 91/4500 and still have over 1000psi left in the tank. I think I can do better, but I'll have to fine tune and experiement.
Conclusion: Of all the markers I own, this instantly became my favorite. It's fast, accurate and pretty light. Ergonomically, it fits me well and my snap shooting accuracy has improved because of it. I was torn between the DM5 and Proto but I'm glad I went this route, I saved $400 and have a great shooting marker.

I'm only giving it a 9 because it's not ready to shoot out of the box. You still have to get an on/off and a drop (if that's your preference).
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

RepairedPants Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-06 Nexus Ego Tadao
-04 Shocker HE-Bolt
-04 Dark Intimidator
-05 Alien Black/Gold Interceptor
-DM5 Gold/Black
-DM4
-03 Rat Impulse WAS
-Viking Excalibur
Marker Setup: -05 Proto Matrix
-Tadao M5
-FBM Trigger
-Hybrid Bolt Guide/ Top Hat Mod/feedneck
-Dye Ultralite
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Trigger
-Top Hat Mod (helps)
-Better ASA
-Barrel
-Board (only for modes)
-Feedneck
-Hater Sauce
Strengths: Quiet, Accurate (with good barrel), Milling, Dependable.
Weaknesses: Air efficiency(stock), only comes in dust anodizing, horrible feed neck
Review: About 2 years ago, I bought this gun for $300 cash and I am still using it as my primary gun. And after 2 years of use, I only have a few minor complaints.

The Bad:
1) The air efficiency isn't amazing even with the top-hat and beer-can mod. But its not fair to say that because its just a typical spool valve. Plus my gun is set towards consistency, not efficiency. I can get about 4 pods and a hopper off a 68/4500 fill.
2) The feed neck that it comes with is HORRIBLE. I could not fit my Reloader B into it, so I just bought a cheap feed neck that fits.
3) The lube for this gun is fine for average Texas weather, but in colder climates, you may want to find an alternative. Something like leaving it in my car overnight in 50 degree weather gets my bolt stuck, so I swiched to hater sauce.

The Good:
1) The accuracy on this gun is very consistent, but I match paint to bore and I NEVER use cheap paint. Saying ball-on-ball from 70 yds is ridiculous, I'll just say it fits Speed ball fields length very well.
2) If set right, this gun can be amazingly quiet and smooth when shooting.
3) The stock board was actually very satisfying during the first few months of use, I could fire as fast as my fingers could go. Which was only about 17-19 BPS. I only purchased the Tadao M6 board for more Fireing Modes and more settings. Plus the eye logic is way better.
4) This gun can be very reliable if you take really good care of it after you play. Get into the routine of cleaning, re-lubing, and replacing any damaged o-rings after every time you play. I have been very strict about this, and I haven't had any blown o-rings for 2 years.
Conclusion: The Proto Matrix is an amazing gun for the price. PM5's are going for really cheap, making it an easy gun to pick up.

I give this gun a 9 because there is no such thing as a perfect gun.

RepairedPants
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 8th, 2007 at 11:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protoman Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4, dm5, they perform the same
Marker Setup: black dust proto crossfire 68/4500 egg ll (soon to be a halo)
Recommended
Upgrades:
a longer barrel if you like and a unimount other than that i would leave it stock
Strengths: Speed Consistency Weight Quiet Accuracy Price
Weaknesses: Fuse bolt needs to be lubed and checked often
Review: out of the box this gun is very consistent 289-294 but needs to be broke in (2500 shots) the only adjustments i made were to the debounce(trigger sensitivity) and the trigger, it throws darts with the stock barrel efficiency is about average for most guns I was getting about 1300 to 1400 off of my 68/4500 if you are new to fuse bolts you need to read the trouble shooting guide for any leaks and take good care of it my first day with it ( out of the box) three people were amazed and wanting one This is the same gun as the dm4 with a different price tag, barrel and looks.
Conclusion: If you like matrixes but cant afford a dm4 buy this product you will be more that happy with it i know i was
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media