paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Elite / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Elite / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Elite / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Elite

BT Paintball Design BT-16 Elite Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-16 Elite

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-16 Elite
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• 6061 T-6 BILLET ALUMINUM RECEIVER
• VERTICAL FEED SYSTEM
• M-16 STYLE CHARGING HANDLE
• 1 YEAR FULL PARTS & LABOR WARRANTY
• HARD ANODIZED RECEIVER
• PRECISION BARREL SYSTEM
• ADJUSTABLE FRONT GRIP
• DUAL SIGHT/MOUNTING RAILS
• EXTERNAL VELOCITY ADDJUSTER
• BOTTOMLINE INCLUDED
• EASY FIELD STRIPPING
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-16 Elite is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
E-Bladedcocker8 Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested17 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All tippmanns - much better then the BT guns
Marker Setup: Naughty Dogs Freestyle
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't waste your money on this gun in the first place
Strengths: Reliability
Comfort is not bad
Adjustable front grip
Clamping feed neck
Weaknesses: Rate of Fire
Accuracy
Weight
Consistency
Size
Review: Well my freestyle was in the shop (sad face), but I still wanted to go and play so I just rented this BT. This was the first time the field had used these guns so there was no crappy rental factor to them because they were brand new. I first picked up this gun I almost dropped it because it was so heavy (no I'm not weak I'm just to my under 2 pounds freestyle). I then took it ot hte chrono just to see how the efficiency was on it. Even running on nitrogen I was still getting +/- 10fps at the chrono. I also noticed the trigger pull was
extremely long and vague, versus the crisp fell of a tippmann's trigger. The accuracy of this gun was horrible even though it came with a smart parts progressive barrel. The gun overall is exremely long and akward in tight situations.
Conclusion: This gun is no good. You should really get a 98c instead of this gun. The 98 is more affordable, lighter, more acurate and more upgradeable.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

spyder341 Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
syder victor 2- ok for a while but it falls apart. save your money for something better
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not a lot is avalible from BT as of now. I plan on eventuly adding an e-grip and double trigger. Of course there are tons of barrels to upgrade with so just pick whichever one you prefer. I would definately reccomend a new barrel though. The stock 7-inch will send paint balls everywhere. it is not accurate beyond 20 feet.
Strengths: Solid construction, built to last. Adjustable feedneck. Closed bolt design.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: I bough this gun at my local pro shop for $160. I got it because i was sick of my spyder always breaking down after every three games. I looked at what high quality low cost alternatives to tippmann. My local shop recommended BT. Ben Tippman the owner of BT was the original designer of the a5 before his dad sold the company. This gun is close to an exact replica of the a5 without the cyclone feed.

Now one major complaint i have about this gun is the steel screw in the back holding the aluminum body together. As stated in an earlier review you have to be very careful with this because it will rip the threads all the way out. This happened to me before i had even fired the gun. I took it apart to look at it and when i put it back together the screw wouldn't tighten. Luckily the local store has a free lifetime warranty with and marker purchase so they gave me a new on for free. I got lucky on that one.

Finally i got to take it out and play. it worked great. I probably played about 7 woodsball games andt he only "repair" I had to do was run the barrel squeege through. when i got home i just wiped down the outside, cleaned the barrel and it was as good as new. I haven't had any problems with the new gun at all.
Conclusion: If you play woodsball and want a reliable marker this is for you. Do not buy it if you have any plans of speedball though because it is just not cut out for that (as i said not many upgrades like the e-grip are avalible right now but i plan on buying them when they are). I'm going to give it a 8 because of the problem with the screw. this is a big problem that i hope will get worked out for 2006. As i said i got lucky.

Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 7th, 2006 at 6:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aaronsheern Tuesday, April 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann M98 Custom (most parts are interchangeable)
Marker Setup: BT-16 Elite with a M-4 tactical barrel and a CAR stock. Custom made selectable firing bolt and 30oz. tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
*Barrel and CAR stock (if you want to play scenario or make others jealous)
*Larger tank (can be a gas hog on burst or fully auto)
*Not much else really
Strengths: *A strong metal body
*easy to maintain
*Low price
Weaknesses: *Gas hog (can fix with bigger tank)
*Upgrades are expensive
Review: A lot like the Tippmann M98C, this marker is a very solid and looks great when upgraded. It is only my second gun. My first was a Tippmann
Model 98 (not custom). When it was time to upgrade I was thinking about a Model 98C but my friend in the army told me they liked to use this little beauty. I play ed with it once and was hooked! I must admit it is more or less designed to be a scenario marker but still plays great just for a quick round of capture the flag. Even with the barrel and stock upgrades its price will make Armotech cry (I think I can hear them now). With all the upgrades I now rule the battlefield! HA! HA! HA!
Conclusion: If your looking for a darn near indestructible maker that looks great and performs like a Tippmann M98 look no further.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

tg2891 Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A5, 98c, VL & Autococker. The BT elite is a very reliable and easy to use marker. It is most similar to the 98 with the exception of any exterior moving parts.
Marker Setup: BT Elite, 12" J&J, Shocktech Bolt, Vertical bottle mount
Recommended
Upgrades:
12" J&J & a bolt upgrade
Strengths: Fairly Light weight, All metal construction, Rugged, Reliable, Vertical feed, Adjustable handle
Weaknesses: Not many Upgrades available at this time
Review: Being fairly new at the game, I spent much of my playing time using rentals or borrowed markers. So when it was time for me to finally buy my own I looked at a bunch of different guns form priced at $100-250. I picked the BT simply because hey its made by a Tippmann. The 98 has been out for ever and I would bet that somewhere someone still has one of the first guns made and it probably still works. I just don't like all the exterior moving parts on the 98. The BT comes with a sealed bolt, vertical feed loader, solid metal body and all metal handle. The interior parts are all the same, I even pulled the guts out of my friends A5 and put them in the BT and they all fit and work. With everything being sealed cleanup is a breeze. I rarely break balls unless I am shooting seconds. And even then it may be 2 in 500.So, if you are looking for a reliable, rugged and easy to maintain and clean marker this is the one for you. If you are into shooting 20bps you might want to keep looking.
There is one problem with the gun though. In the rear of the marker there is an allen screw securing the top rail. If you are not careful it will pull the threads out of the body and you have to do some minor repairs to fix it. I did it to mine and all I had to do is drill and tap the rear cap and install a longer allen. I was back in action in less than an hour. Before I did this I contacted Bt and told them what had happened and they offered to repair the gun at no charge or I could try and fix it and if it did not work they would repair it for me. So be sure to contact BT before you start the repair so you will not void your warranty.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a reliable, well built, rugged and good looking gun this is It. If you are into shooting 20bps you might want to keep looking.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

apocalypse_atom Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: BT-16 Elite w/generic hopper, 20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel, 20 oz CO2
Strengths: Very Durable
Easy to clean
Good Price
Vertical feed
Weaknesses: Heavy
Expensive Upgrades
Review: This gun is a very good gun. In woods-ball, it works great. Ever since I've bought this gun, I have never had a ball break. Maybe I'm lucky, or maybe this gun is just sweet like that. I don't know. But I'm happy either way. The durability is great. Every time I play, I rarely ever have to clean it. Just squeegee the barrel or wipe off the gun with a cloth and you're good to go. Also, it's super strong. I've dropped it so many times I can' t count them all, but the only damage I've seen is the barrel screw-thing scratching. Now to the bad. This gun is definitely one of the heavier ones. I don't know the exact weight, but it definitely slows me down. Because of this, AVOID SPEED-BALL. Also, most of the upgrades are around $100, so I've pretty much avoided them. Other than these things, this is a great gun.



Side note: When I got this gun, I had a 20 oz. CO2. I don't know much about it hogging CO2 or anything, so don't hate mail me saying it uses up CO2 like a SUV chugs gasoline.
Conclusion: This is the choice gun if you want something strong, easy to maintain, and decently priced.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vento Monday, June 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom-about the same
tippmann a5- fires slower but not much differant in design
Marker Setup: 9v elctronic hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ellectronic hopper, barrel, expansion chamber, nitro.
Strengths: Reliability
Price
Quality
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Upgrade-ability
Review: This is my first paintball gun, i have been playing for 3 years with rentals, and friends guns and have built up alot of experience with the 98 custom, the latest one i used had a revo 12v hopper, with a flatline barrel and RT. Compared to the stock 98 the guns are pretty much equal, the bt-16 shared barrel threads with the 98. Both fire about the same rate but the bt-16 tends to load better due to its vertical feed. The bt-16 is much easier to field strip than the 98c since it has a one piece receiver and all the parts slide into it. My only complaint was the composite plastic bolt, the rear half of the bolt is solid steel but the front part is a composite plastic material. The trigger pull is compare-able to a 98 but slightly heavier more like an a5. Judging by the quality of older tippmann products and the design of the A5 the bt-16 should be a good predecessor to the model 98, and hopefully more upgrades will follow. The bt-16 is hefty and i like the weight its adds to the realism and it makes a great woods ball gun.
Conclusion: If you have a 98 or a5 already dont bother.
If you are looking for an inexpensive alternative to the 98 this is it, it may not have as many upgrades yet but knowing ben tippmann was the designer of the a5 i am sure many great things are to come.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

silverback321 Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder / 98c
Marker Setup: bt-16 aci subzero 4 stage x-chamber j&j edge barel kit a-5 e-grip with jcs dobble trigger laser beam & see throu sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
thats your choice
Strengths: Strong Durable Realistic
Weaknesses: None
Review: You cant go wrong with the bt-16 if you like real guns this will get you close to it the stock barrel sucks that needs to be replaced the x-chamber will give you a more consistent shot every time this gun can be upgraded if you are willing to do some work not hard as far as the back spring cap striping if you read the manual it says you have to remove the grip first ther is a reason for that
Conclusion: This is a good gun as with most guns you will need to put a little money into it
P.S this is not for speedball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

scottahicks Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex barrel for greater distance
Strengths: Solid, consistant, easy to strip and clean
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is an outstanding marker for durability and consistancy. out of the box all 3 I own chronoed at about 260 which is right where it should be. the stock barrel is just fine for rec play. I would reccomend the apex barrel for scenario. overall it is just a good solid marker.
Conclusion: I wouldent hesitate to buy this marker I own 3 of them and use them regularly would buy more if I needed them
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Richie B Friday, March 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmenn 98c (much better)
bt-16 tactical (more accurate)
piranha (just as bad)
smart parts ion (excellent)
Marker Setup: black ion yellow trim
14" freak back aa front
egg2 y board
sp Q lock
sp qev 360
sp max-flo reg
pure energy 47/3000
vp scythe trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better marker
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: the bt-16 was my first marker, and my god was it a wast of money, really this marker is the worst marker i have ever used. if your reading this review its because you were thinking of buying one, please.......please don't. if your going to buy a marker for $150 just buy a 98c trust me, or save up another $150 and buy an A5 or an ion. the only reason i bought this marker was because it was cheap and in my nooby brain i thought it looked cool, how wrong i was. the thing i hated the most about this peace of sh*t was the accuracy, i tried many different kinds of balls but no, i could not hit a 2 foot target at 15 yards, no chance in hell. well maybe you are thinking you can upgrade the barrel no no no, the only barrel that will fit is the apex and that will cost the same as the marker so whats the point, no trigger upgrades, no e-grip upgrades, no nothing. ive heard people say that the barrel thread is the same as the 98c this is not true, maybe with some modification........maybe?. what a load of sh*t that marker was, thank god i sold it and bought an ion. the bt-16 is dead, long live the ion.
Conclusion: Don't buy this marker, you will be very sad if you do, and if you still have one or just bought one, my sympathies.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 7th, 2006 at 5:38 am PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

Crewchief Tuesday, July 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most Tippmanns, ION, SP-1, SP-8, a few others.
Marker Setup: My primary is a SITH ION tactical with a 98 Pro-E as a backup. Considering moving to a Proto marker soon.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Impressive machining and the M-16 style cocking leaver is cool. Solid design.
Weaknesses: The tear down and assembly, funky ball latch, no trigger adjustment, and brick
Review: I picked up a heavily used BT16 off of eBay and just finished a little restore job tonight. I have extensive experience with Tippmann and Smart Parts rebuilds. In my opinion the biggest flaw is the difficulty of getting it apart and back in working order. It is too difficult for most beginners to maintain and not good enough of a marker for an experienced player. This might work well as a backup or rental marker. I also found that the ball detent or ball latch (a spring loaded ball) can get gummed up pretty easily and seems difficult to maintain though easy to replace. I have some rough edges inside my feed port that may cause breaks but it may just be a one off thing. I love the machine work but the marker is too heavy for my taste...if I want a brick I'll carry an A5 or X7.
Conclusion: Fun marker if you can get it at a reasonable price but expect a Tippmann 98C level of performance at best with more difficult tear down and fewer upgrades. Only recommended as a loaner, backup or rental and not for beginners or people who aren't comfortable rebuilding their own markers. I give it an 8 out of ten for an excellent effort.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media