paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask

Proto Switch EL Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch EL Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch EL Mask
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 162
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Proto Switch Entry Level (EL) Mask

-Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.

-Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custon fit. Just set it and forget it.

-The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrficing any ear protection.

-Our incredibly simple 1/4-turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.

-Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.

-The first tirodial lens in the world of paintball - all the clarity jet pilots have. All Switch lenses have perfect optical clarity, setting a new standard in visual performance.

-Self-venting, low profile and removeable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

-Solid, lightweight one-piece construction face mask protects you from paintball impacts.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch EL Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
snakeplayer21 Wednesday, November 24th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month59 of 59 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Raven NVX (hate it way to wide for a front player) Jt pro-flex (great but not as small as the proto)
Marker Setup: T.E.S with a few odds and ends
Strengths: Lens, compact, looks, comfort etc.
Weaknesses: Hard (no bounce)
Review: I love this mask, it is hands down the best mask for under $50

looks..... it looks awesome it looks like a mix between the regular switch and an invision

feel..... it feels like you're not even wearing it (I'm not exaggerating)

lens change.... super easy, twist two nobs, pull them out and the lens pops right out, simple yet very secure

lens...... great lens perfect clarity, never had it fog on me but I got a mirrored one anyway.

small..... very small as small as an invision

cash.... very cheap, $30 for mine brand new worth it, heck they're worth $50

only weakness....... its hard it is impossible to get a bounce of of it, but I think if you're hit in the face you should be out regardless
Conclusion: I would recommend this too anybody beginners, pros, rec ballers(comes in olive), hey I'd even recommend it to someone who doesn't even know what paintball is:)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

uber_bunny Saturday, April 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month30 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Masks....?
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, back-cocking system, 12 volt revolution, 14" tru-flight barrel, double trigger, etc. etc. etc.
Strengths: -Looks good
-Foam is soft
-Comfortable
-Wide view
-Built Strong
-Cheap cost
Weaknesses: -Bad neck cover
Review: I got this mask only recently, slapped it on, did 2 scrims with them and some training and not a single second did I have any problems with it.

-Looks
The Switch EL looks great. The hole pattern on the face mask is well done and everything is held up very nicely.

-The foam is soft
You can't really find alot of masks with that aspect. Other masks are itchy and slide off easily because of loose foam or whatever. The EL has no problems with this what so ever.

-Comfortable
When I put these on for the first time, I found that the mask fit and formed perfectly. The strap was nice and soft but at the same time, tough enough to withstand everything. Comfort brings me back to the foam deal. The foam helps you ensure this mask is something else. Perfect comfort.

-Wide View
The 250 degrees span of range is absoluty incredible. Now, if your eyes are built for it, you can quickly shift both eyes over to one side of the mask to see what's going on. Trouble is, not many people can do that. :P But still, if your eyes can or can't do that, you'll still have alot of range to look through with these.

-Built strong
Before the scrims and training, I just chucked these into my gearbag and threw some heavier things such as my tanks on top of them. After I was being driven down to where I needed to go, I just realized what I did so I quickly reached back for my bag, unzipped it, shuffled through some stuff and found the mask. In perfect condition. After I threw stuff at the lense, still nothing came up. All I had to do was wipe some dust from the bag and in it went.

-Cheap cost
For 30$, you're really getting what your paying for. Strongly built, wide view, comfortable and it's very durable. What more can you ask for a mask. And it's made by Proto. A trusted name in paintball.

The only problem I had was the neck coverage. There is a minimal amount but if you have a small noggin, it shouldn't be to much of a problem. Same with the big guys. Tough it up and take the pain if you get hit in the neck. This mask system is near flawless to just let a little neck coverage prevent you from buying it.
Conclusion: One of the best mask systems I've ever used. The cheap cost is what got me. But after I asked to try it on at the store, I found that the cost wasn't the only thing.

This mask is great for new players and experienced. Go get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 9th, 2005 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintintexan Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
v-force shield
jt enforcer
Marker Setup: Dragunfly w/ freak
2in drop
3000/48cu
Strengths: Cheap
Almost fog proof
Fairly light
Weaknesses: Lenses did fog under extreme conditons
Foam
Review: When i first got this mask i couldnt believe that i was able to get Dye quality under 30 bucks of a sale that i found. even though this is a low end model it is still a very good mask to have. the foam is cheap though and it rubbs your skin pretty badly if you dont sweat enough to lube it. most days i didnt mind the foam though. the lenses which are the most important are super clear and after a while i really didnt notice them. The only truly bad part of these googles came when i was in the "jungle" and the double canopy of the woods made it soo humid and hot plus my own breathing from running around, that the googles started to fog a little. A little. It really wasnt serious since it wasnt enough to take away too much from my vision but it did blurr up a bit. By the way if you dont know this, these googles are NOT THERMAL they are single lenses with anti fog baked into them. In all i absolutely love my new googles and i hope it serves me as well as my Jt's.
Conclusion: Great google for the price, with Dye quality. DIdnt fog for most of the time and when it did fog is wasnt enough to end my game. Also the lenses are super clear and after a while dont notice them. i really wish there was a 9.5 because these googles deserve it but it isnt a 10 so 9 it is.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Kill_StompyDBI Saturday, November 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Switch FS
Profiler
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha EForce STS2k3, PMI Adjustable Feedneck, System X Dropforward with On/Off, 16in PROgressive Barrel, 68/3000 Pure Energy Nitro Tank, Superfly bolt and a eVlution 2
Strengths: Can withstand some heavy beating
Pretty fast lense change
Weaknesses: Fogs up at times
Review: This is some nice goggle system from Dye here. It has probably one of the fastest lense changes ever. All you do is twist two knobs, take off the thing that holds the frames in and pop the lense out. It's that simple! The only true problem I had was that the lenses would fog up at times. Also, the lenses would seem to scratch easily at times.
Conclusion: They're a nice pair of goggles that look exactly like the FS, without the soft shell.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

saladfingers Wednesday, September 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other masks
Marker Setup: A-5
Expansion Chamber
JT 24oz
New Designz X7 / A-5 Power Tube with Delrin Bolt
Response Trigger
12"Lapco Big Shot
Riochet Low Profile Hopper
Tech-T i-fit
Strengths: Looks good
Comfort
Foam earpieces
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Mask is very hard
Review: This is a great mask for All paintballers. The first thing I wanna say is, it is a breeze to clean with just a quarter turn of a knob the lens pops out as advertised. It has a good range of vision, It doesn't fog, and it protects like it supposed to. The price is also good, I picked it up at my local Army navy store for $29.99. The mask is pretty hard so dont expect a ball to bounce, I really dont care much for the chin strap, and the lens does scratch easily but with care it will last a long time.
Conclusion: Great mask, I am really happy I bought these and not some horribly expensive JT mask. This one works just fine, and for the price you cant really beat it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer122 Thursday, March 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used v-Force morph- I like this better more vision and looks- price is better
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
Supafly Bolt
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
20 oz. co2
Revolution 2 with x board
Strengths: Price- 35.00-40.00
250 peripheral degree vision
First Tirodial lens
muliti-directional venting
Weaknesses: I didnt notice not 1 weakness
Review: The second i bought it i was like 35.00 i hope this does the job. I opened it and i was amazed, this is the hottest looking mask ever. I put it on and i realized there was a chin strap and when i used the morph and alot of JT's it would fall of if i dove or power slid. The chin strap is a major plus. It also covers your whole head and after 10 minutes i swear to bob that i forgot it was on my head. I gave it a bounce test from 50-100 feet away and i hit the side under the strap and it went flying offf HOTTNESS!!! Changing the lens is very easy only takes 2 seconds i love this mask! GET IT u'll falll in love.
Conclusion: Looks,Price,Vision,Chin Strap,Bounce material,Covers whole head,Easy to change lens, AMAZING! BUT IT U WONT REGRET IT *Also look at my pictures of the black 1 on top*
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 17th, 2005 at 4:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

some person Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
java mask- worse obviously
dye I3
Marker Setup: ion, 72/3000 air tank, empire barrel kit, clamping feed neck, halo, warrior trigger
Strengths: Very good for price
looks good
lenses
everything
Weaknesses: Wont bounce paintballs
Review: This is a really good mask for the price. i got mine for 30 bucks (not including new thermal lens cost) and its everything i would want in a paintball mask. it looks good, doesnt fog much for most people (but if you buy one of their thermal lenses IT WILL NEVER FOG ANY TIME YOU USE IT), you can change lenses on it very quickly and there are a lot of replacement ones sold. it protects your face/ears well, and the foam padding inside it is nice and is molded to fit on your face and stay there. also the strap has a little bit of rubber on the inside so it wont slide around.
Conclusion: Its just as good as masks that cost 2x as much and will never fog if you buy a thermal lens for it (keep in mind the lenses are kinda expensive though). go buy one now
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joethecop7 Monday, September 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
a jt full mask
Marker Setup: spyder VS1, evil pipe kit,eggy 3,steely,proto mask el
Strengths: Cheap
good beginner mask
Weaknesses: Hard to clean
fogs up, easy to dent or scratch
materials cheap
Review: I bought this mask because i didnt have alot of money and it was cheap. The mask does its job and protects the face but there are many weaknesses like the lenses and the visors. It is a good mask for its price but presonaly I would buy a mask thats better and protects u better. the visors fall off when i play which is not a good thing
Conclusion: I would buy this mask if u are starting paintball but if ur going to play paintball for over a year i reccomend u buy a better mask. U should buy a mask thats expensive and gives good protection because the mask is protecting ur face
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

#1P8ntballer Friday, September 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invision,own it
V-force armor,own it
V-force profiler,tested it
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
14" teardrop barrel
empire reloader
crossfire 68 cu
check it ASA

smart parts Ion
freak kit
crossfire 45 cu
check it ASA
shocktech feedneck
empire reloader B
Strengths: Strap
easy lens change
hearing and speaking
venting
lens
low profile
light weight
triodal lens
Weaknesses: Solid
one piece construction
strap is to hard to adjust
Review: The Proto E.L. is one of the cheapest and easiest lens change mask out there.

the strap is so easy to place and grabs your head so tight you feel secure but it is hard to change the size of the strap \.

the lens is so easy to change even my baby brothers can do it,took me twice to master it and i do it in like 20 seconds.

the hearing in this mask is one of the best around better then the v force armor and the same as my invision and the way the proto is made makes you be heard louder in the field,louder than my invision.

the venting of the mask is regular but not bad you can breath in this one

i said low profile because it is as tall as the invision but it is bigger to the sides but only about an inch.

the triodal lens is one of the clearest and most perfect lenses out there and the good thing is it is stock with it.

the mask is light weight as any high end mask but it is solid and in one peice construction so thers no upgrades or things to make it stand out from other protos but you can just paint it and it looks sick

Conclusion: it is the best mask under 50 but if you have the money buy the FS or invision same thing but with more options and better protection.
if you buy it get a thermal and it will never fog plus it will look sexier
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ruderogo Monday, January 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
proflex
Marker Setup: Stock Torid X
Eggy yboarded
68/45 cross.
Strengths: Price
Weaknesses: fogs ALOT
no bounces
Review: ok this is probably your best bet if your a new player to the sport. its real cheap and gets the job done. but ive had WAY too many problems with the lenses fogging, mabey its becaue i do alot of running and therefore am breathing alot harder. and playing on an indoor court is an almost guarentee for this thing to fog. its a great mask once you get a replacement thermal lense that the FS model switch comes with. bottom lone, it gets the job done out of the box, but fogs like a champ. once you get a thermal lense, your set to go and compete with the big boys
Conclusion: get it if your tight on $, otherwise go with the FS model, or buy a thermal lense
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media