paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey O2 / Odyssey O2 / Odyssey O2 / Odyssey O2

Odyssey O2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey O2

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey O2
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $349

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
-Air Ram Design
-20BPS: Tourney Lockout w/ Single/Auto
-One Year Parts and Service Warranty
-"Spyder" Threaded Barrel
-New Odyssey Hi-Flow LPR
-Camping Feedneck
-New Odyssey Position Adjustable Hi-Flow Operating Regulator
-Odyssey Sensor System
-New Odyssey Servicable Hi-Flow Solenoid
-Lightened Striker w/ Optimized Spring
-High Polish Anodizing
-Lightweight Delron Bolt
-All Hose Fittings Standard 1/8" NPT
-M45 Metal Grip Frame
-Hi-Flow Nickel Fittings
-New Revised Software
-Enhanced LCD Screen
-9 Volt Battery
-New Ergonomic Tactile Wrap Around Grip
-New Flush Mount Bottom Line
Product Availability 
The Odyssey O2 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
mountainexplor Sunday, November 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X
(upgraded to an electronic)
ACS anti-chop bolt
System X long drop
3A 14 in barrel
Lapco feedneck
Shocktech flat trigger
Nitro Duck -w- tuff skin 4500 90
Q-loader system

And now an 02
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator<--although not totally neccessary
Barrel<--always a good thing to get, but stock barrel deserves a nod
Strengths: Very fast in auto and semi
Quiet
Accurate
Very little kick
Weaknesses: ASA regulator-personally dont like
Lots of nooks and crannys for paint.
Review: Im not a very worded person, so this will be brief.

Out of the box (or I should say "plastic gun case" that comes with it) It looks very nice. The anno black to blue fade was beautiful. It comes with a delrin bolt and rubber wrap around grips. It has a locking feedneck (which will fit a halo b without sanding)= makes sense being as how both products come from odyssey :) Anyhow, The gun is set up pretty much like the old dragun T1. It uses the same air ram desigin as the T1((air pneumatic with a spring return)) The only difference is that they have upgraded what was lacking on the T1--better regs, rubber grip, delrin bolt, blade trigger, (with very light trigger response), different software, standard 1/8" npt fittings, and in my opinion--a much better selenoid. And for those of you using Co2--this gun definately will work! The gun is also easy to strip down and "feels" very sturdy.

My first weekend using this gun was a complete surprise to me. It went above and beyond my expectations. When the gun gets aired up, it is a beast. I aired it up with hp, put the halo on, and went to go play. I am not one to compare this gun to a timmy or angel, but I definately would not have a problem going up against anyone that was useing one :) I used a cheaper brand paint= zap primer--on a cold day,,, and the gun would put the paint right where I wanted it on a consistent basis. It only broke 2 paintballs in the barrel (both of which Im prone to blame on the paint and cold weather) It was cold enough to drop the paint from 5 feet off the ground and have it break on the first drop. And the paint doesnt have a very consistent shell thickness.

The gun was a pleasent surprise and I am very happy with my purchase. I plan on upgrading the barrel--simply because I always do, and I plan on upgrading the regulator to a CP. I personally dont like asa regulators, because I like my long drop with the on/off. But, dont get me wrong--the stock barrel and reg are pretty nice.

If the gun is taken well care of, it will not dissapoint you.
Conclusion: Watch out for odyssey, they are taking what dragun started and making them even better. Their guns are looking very promising.

I dont give out 10's very often, but because of the performance all within a price tag of 299, It is an amazing deal, and you simply have to shoot one and play with it for a day to realize how nice of a gun it is. I officially would give the gun a 9.7, but since there is no 9.7 I am going to round it up to a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 14th, 2004 at 6:54 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Rabidhampster Thursday, January 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bushmasters, timmys, matrixes, angels and e-cockers
Marker Setup: O2, jambolt, evil pipe, Aim 68 reg, 72/45 lp crossfire, egg 2 z-board and paddle mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
Jambolt
new barrel (stock is 693)
Strengths: FAST AS HECK
fairly light
consistent
Weaknesses: Chops if you use dark colored paint cause it has reflective eyes.
Review: I bought this originally as a backup to my trix, but I sold my trix due to some financial reasons. I'm not gonna lie and say it shot the same, but it was farly close.

I got it home and immediately put a new reg and barrel on it (I had lots of extra parts). Gassed it up and shot about 500 rounds through it having fun and chronoing it. Consistency with the stock reg was about +/- 5 or 6 when i used it. Accuracy was very good and it had no shootedown or anything. I had my hpr set to 270, and dwell at 8. Very fast, it really does shoot at 20 bps.

Well, when I took it to the field that weekend, I had a few problems.. It has a refectiv eye which has trouble with dark colored paint and all I had was purple... It chopped about 4 times all day, but that was with the eye off. One thing I did notice however was that if you chop, it gets into the eye itself because the cover isn't that great and will make it a little more likely to chop again. That problem is easiy fixed with saran wrap. Another thing I did notice though is that if you set your trigger sensitivity to 1 it's very bouncy. I was shooting about 12 bps with one finger...

It's very nice and easy to maintain, when I'm taking it apart, it feels like I'm taking apart a spyder, not something liek a trix with a 16 piece bolt. A great marker for a great price: $300 at www.actioncenterpaintball.com or www.angrypaintball.com
Conclusion: Great gun that iss a good choice for anyone looking for great preformance on a budget.. Shoots like a timmy for 300 dollars, I would reccomend it to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

kick some azz Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
My spyder imagine that is pimped out
Timmys
Angels
Marker Setup: Odyssey O2
Odyssey 3-piece barrel kit
FAST HOPPER!!!
Lots of paint
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Hopper
Nitro
Coming out with the t-board for o2 in april. Yay
Strengths: Really fast
Love it.
Weaknesses: None I would say.
Review: I just got this gun like 2 months ago and it rips like a timmy. Timmys use solenoids and air ram shafts so does this gun and its only $350. Soon as I opened the package my eyes came out of my head, I fell in love. The only things that you will need:

FAST HOPPER
LOTS OF PAINT

RIPS LIKE A TIMMY IF WALKING
Conclusion: This thing deserves like a 50 but i cant pick that one so ill give it a 10. Love it and its cheap!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cyan!de Sunday, March 5th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Owned a Spyder Imagine, I've shot all kinds of Tippmans and Spyders. This is by far the best gun that I've used
Marker Setup: -Odyssey O2
-Crossfire 47ci
-Had a 14" Empire Twister, but the stock barrel was better than it .Will soon get a powerlyte scepter kit
-CP Delrin Ball Detent
-VL evlution w/z-board
-Might get a CP regulator down the road and a break-beam eye if I can find one and the odyssey tboard once it comes out
Recommended
Upgrades:
REQUIRED:
-Compressed Air
-New Ball Detent (Recommend CP delrin delrin)

RECOMMENDED:
Very fast Hopper
New Barrel (Stock is good but caliber is huge (.693) and in the rare event that you chop your gun can only be cleared with a squeegee)
Strengths: Insanely accurate and consistent
FAST (20 bps)
Looks awesome
Very nice LCD screen
Price $230
Weaknesses: Cannot use CO2
Eye isn't the best but it does the job
Review: How it works-
This gun is not a blowback. It uses the same air-ram design that you'll find in an intimidator. The bolt is always cocked back because the gun recocks with a spring, making the o2 faster and more accurate. Instead of air delivering most of the force like in a blowback most of the force comes from the air-ram powered bolt in the o2. Only one part in the gun moves against another part creating very little friction so the gun is very air efficient.

WARNING: This marker WILL NOT work well with CO2! I tried using an anti-siphined CO2 tank with this gun and it froze and cracked the macro-line inside my gun. Every since I switched to compressed air I haven't had any problems. I've found that this is a common problem with co2 on this gun.

This gun is very accurate. It is best for long-range playing because you can hit other players using blowbacks when their guns can't even reach you. I can't wait until I get my new barrels to see this guns true potential.

I found that you will need to get a few new parts for this gun. It's designed for big .69 paintballs like karnage so if you plan on using .68 paintballs you will need a new ball detent and possibly a new barrel, although I've only used the stock barrel and that still works great. I'll update after I get barrels which bores match the size of my paintballs.




Conclusion: Get it. This gun is way better than any tippman or spyder. I you're willing to spend the money on the necessary upgrades this gun the o2 blows away everything else in it's price range. I've only played one winter game with this gun but I've done extensive testing with it. As soon as winter turns to spring I'll update on how it keeps up at tournaments.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pimpinjesus227 Saturday, October 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
Marker Setup: odyssey 02 , 68 4500 tank, empire 4pc barrel kit,
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel-not neccessary but always helps
nitro tank
fast hopper-halo b or egg with z board
Strengths: Fast
Weight
Feel
Price
Low pressure
Accurate
Looks opinion
Weaknesses: Feed neck works but isn't great.
Manual kinda cheap.

Review: when i first opended the plastic case i was amazed at how nice this gun looked and instantly i wanted to shoot it first you have to set pressure ect... then it needed a battery it kinda runs out fast thou but when i finally shot this i noticed it had great acurracy and consistancy it cycles very fast it has a very comfortable grip frame and one piece rubber grips. I got this gun for 230 new at actioncenterpaintball very cheap i recomend a nitro tank and a fast hopper and this thing will rip!
Conclusion: Personally I love this gun anyone who is considering getting this gun I say buy it its the best gun for the money i think this gun deserves a 9.7 9.8 but ill round up to 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splat1234 Sunday, February 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only have used a Tippmann A-5, Tippmann 98, And 02
Marker Setup: Had an 02....
Egg 2
Pure Energy Comp. Air- 48ci 300 Psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
New reg, New bottom line, and possibly a New Barrel or a New cocking bolt.
Strengths: Fast , Light, Nice milling, Nice plastic case
Weaknesses: ASA reg where bottom line should be, solenoid, Trigger
Review: Ok wow do i have a lot to say about this gun. Where shall I start? Well first off the ASA reg is very odd. It leaks A LOT. Next is the crappy solenoid. I don't know if it can be crappy but its burst its second time in a two month period. This gun chops chops chops paint. That is not a huge problem though. It also has a very weird way of turning down the velocity. Heck the manual it comes with sucks to. It like tells you almost nothing I need to know. I am not a retard and I know how to work and fix guns. I do not fell like fixing this gun again. I am so disappointed with it. Sure they sell it at www.actioncenterpaintball.com and its $200. By the time you buy all of the proper upgrades you need it will be at least $300. My brother got his used. It had an evil bottom line on/off switch, a cp reg, and he bought a cp barrel. The thing rips. That was of the strengths about this gun. It's fast fast fast fast. He hasn't had a problem yet except with the velocity. If you want to spend $300 go ahead and get this gun. Upgrade it. Its not the most reliable though. If you want a cheap reliable/fast gun I would check out the ion. I am very disappointed. I do not want to fix the solenoid, buy a new reg, a new cocking pin, a new barrel, and a new bottom line. Odyssey should stick to making hoppers. Oh and the trigger broke. It kept getting stuck back. That was no prolem i just took it to paintball doctor. It also never came with a feedneck screw. I just bought it at Home Depot.
Conclusion: This gun is fast and cheap. It will need some serious ups. I would consider looking at the ion or the nerve. Even a tippmann seems more reliable. I give it a four because it's fast. If it wasn't able to fire 20bps I would give it a 1.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 26th, 2006 at 5:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hockey_jk3 Thursday, February 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle
Marker Setup: SP ion w/ q-lock 68/45 corssfire high pressure, and VL egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
don't get this gun period
Strengths: Cheap, bolt
Weaknesses: Alot
Review: First off i would have to say i wasn't what to expect from an odyssey, hadn't heard much of them. I got this in a nice plastic case that had O2 on it. It was $220. I opened it and just looked around on it and it was missing a trigger frame screw. Next i looked at the manual, doesn't say much it just tells u to lower the pressure right away, so i did. The next day i put a battery in and closed the grip frame, aired it up and everything seemed sound. I looked at the gauge and it said about 160psi so that was good. I took a couple of single shots and it seemed fine, then after about ten shots i started to rip on it and it felt good, but after about 3 seconds i heard air coming from the trigger frame so i un aired and took the trigger frame off but all the MICRO LINE held it together so in order to take the trigger frame off u have to undo 2 micro line fittings which are not fun to do and its hard to get in there to do it. So i thought i would wait till the next day to air it up again so the next morning i aired it up again and it did the same thing so i emailed actioncenterpaintball telling them what happened and they said they would take it back.
Conclusion: I would have to say this gun just gave me a headache because my friend also had an 02 and he called odyssey so many times that they almost knew it was him calling, and i didn't want to do the same so i sent in the 02 and exchanged it for a SP ion and have that hasn't had a problem yet, so in conclusion i would give this a 1 but because of the plastic case it comes in and the bolt was very easy to remove so i will give it a 3
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

time2fearn00bs Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
C98-easier to maintain
Marker Setup: Odyssey O2 Black/Blue with Freak Jr. kit, Bob's Torpedo Reg, New Designs on/off w/bleed, Empire B, 72ci 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper--whatever you like
compressed air--(Co2;no!no!)
barrel--of course
maybe a new reg
Strengths: Fast
Cheap
Fast
Did i mention fast?
Weaknesses: can run on Co2
shouldn't run on Co2 at all!
Review: The Odyssey O2 is a decently priced gun with enough speed to satisfy any baller. 20bps is easily a plus. Out of the box, it's wise to follow the instructions for airing the marker up and adjusting the velocity for the first time. After that, fill your hopper and practice shooting with it. Like any marker it takes time to get used to and like any LOW-priced marker, it needs ups. You'll want a new barrel, a fast loader, and COMPRESSED AIR. I cannot emphasize enough that you should NOT use Co2 of any kind (siphoned / antisiphoned)!! If you've seen the old video that was once on the Odyssey site before they updated it, you may have seen the O2 running off of a Co2 filling station, frozen over, and still the marker was running and the solenoid was a'clickin' for over 10,000 shots! The marker's smaller hoses on the inside cannot withstand the cold of Co2 too long. You will be replacing hoses alot if you don't use Air. Trust me........I know ; ).
Conclusion: If you want something cheap but fast, look into this or the Ion. Just see if you can try both out before you rush in. Personal Preference people. With the right ups, it'll work as great as alot of markers out there. But if you need something soon, this'll work.
Remember, almost ALL problems are user-related and you get what you pay for. Don't blame the gun!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkieinaz Tuesday, January 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a spyder extra and imagine
Marker Setup: o2 with a dye drop and on/off asa evil detonater reg. 32degrees whisper barrel halo backman tsa 72 3000 pmi nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
definately the reg. and possibly the barrel
Strengths: The body is small and low profile.
Weaknesses: The airline in front isnt well protected/ asa reg stinks
Review: when I first got the gun I noticed the case which is very cool.(and keeps the gun really protected) but when I opened the case and turned the gun on, the board went blank.After sending the gun into Odyssey it took 3 weeks to get it back. They put in a Diablo board. Then I aired it up and the airline coming out of the lpr blew up I noticed after that it was pinched in the frame.After all the initial probs. the gun works great ,except for the occasional ball break. The solenoid sticks sometimes and keeps the bolt forward and lets out alot of air.Other than that the gun is quick and light.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone who is pretty good at working on them because you will have to. After the bugs get worked out this is a good fast gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

langster77 Friday, August 26th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2004 System X Vengeance Type X autococker (same air ram design making it quieter and more accurate)
2004 Spyder Xtra (same stacked tube design making it easy to field strip)
Marker Setup: Red Odyssey 02
Red VL 12v ReVLution with X-Board
12" Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit w/ Blue Front
Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi Fiber-Wrapped Tank with Blue Smart Parts Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
A fast hopper like a ReVLution, eVLution II, or a HALO (or any of their clones), and anything that will make the marker more efficient and will also customize it to your specific needs or looks. Marker is just fine stock though.
Strengths: Fast and quiet while also being easy to maintain.
Extremely customizable.
Weaknesses: 2mm x 4mm macroline from solenoid to LPR is fragile and hard to find.
Review: The Odyssey 02 is a very standard entry-level marker for people who want a nice, sturdy electro to play with while not spending too much money. The only other markers in the price range that can compare with the 02 are the Smart Parts Ion or the Evil Omen, which I have never actually tested.

STRENGTHS
The 02 uses the same air ram design as an autococker so it is very quiet as well as accurate, but it is easier to take apart than an autococker due to its stacked-tube design much like that of a Spyder.

It accepts Spyder threaded barrels which are very popular.

Has a low-rise clamping feed tube.

This is a low-pressure marker operating at about 275psi, so it is air efficient.

Easy to adjust the feet-per-second using the ASA.

Adjustable trigger sensitivity, dwell time, and balls-per-second using the trigger frame, as well as being easy to change between full auto and semi. Also has a shot counter and a game timer.

Has a paintball detection system (eyes) that sees most paint and is very easy to turn off if you do chop a ball (all you have to do is hold the trigger down for 5 seconds).

Marker is very efficient and great-looking stock, but it is extremely customizable if you don't want yours to look like everyone else's.

WEAKNESSES
I had no problems with the marker when I first purchased it down at Oklahoma D-Day from a guy who had it lying in the sun for 4 days, but when I first played with it at my field in Colorado, the macro line supplying air from the LPR to the solenoid in the trigger frame exploded and had to be replaced. The 2mm x 4mm macroline I had to use could only be ordered from Odyssey and cost a lot more than I thought it would. Also, the paintball detection system (eyes) will not see dark paintballs (the ones I used were brown and dark green). Another bad thing is the wires and tubes inside the trigger frame are very hard to get back inside once you take them out to work on them.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this marker to any player who needs a nice low-cost electro with more benefits than drawbacks. The fact that this marker is so customizable will appeal to the people who like to make their marker look and function to their own personal taste. I have to give it an 8 though because of the limited availability of the 2mm x 4mm macroline.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 26th, 2005 at 9:40 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media