paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey O3X / Odyssey O3X / Odyssey O3X / Odyssey O3X

Odyssey O3X Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey O3X

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey O3X
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $550

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Air Ram Design, Low pressure operation, 30 bps programmable with semi, burst, and auto, 1 year parts and labor warranty, 14" cocker threaded barrel, high flow low pressure regulator, New teflon High flow valve, odyssey sensor system, new improved striker with even less kickback, twist feed neck, tourney lockout mode, adjustable trigger, 45 metal grip frame, high flow quick connect fittings, lightweight delron bolt, enhanced software, backlit led screen, NIMH rechargable battery, pb data port for charging and software upgrades, ergonomic tactile wrap around grip, new flush mount bottom line regulator.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey O3X is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
cw2viper Friday, December 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month26 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
O3e, the first model. See my review.
Marker Setup: HK Primary, 05 Angel Speed, backup, O3X, Egg2, 91 CU preset at 800 psi, Odyssey barrell system.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New vertical regulator, make sure its slim, not sure if the AKA 2 liter will work.
Strengths: Light, fast, compact, awesome display
Weaknesses: Milling, proprietary, sloppy trigger
Review: OK, starting from the beginning. Right out of the box it is an impressively small marker with many of the original strengths from the O3e. On close inspection you see that Odyssey hasnt really produced a new marker, they have just incorporated some factory upgrades on to a standard O3e. When you buy an O3 there is a little sticker on the bottom of the ASA reg that says made in Taiwan. What you are buying isnt a new manufacture but something that has been changed in Texas. So how do they change it? Internally it has a different striker and a new fitting for the bolt pin. Thats it folks! No real upgrades on the board, no dwell adjustment, no new electronics. Same grip as the e. No data cable. Now comes the really funky part. They have decided to include a top cocking, delrin bolt, rather than the aluminum rear release. However, the marker doesnt come milled for the new bolt. So they do it. What you end up with is an anodized marker with a bare aluminum "cut" up the rear of the receiver for the bolt pin.

So we air it up. The new manual that comes with it says dont use CO2. ( The original e model just required an antisiphon) Putting an 88/4500 on it and the first real design problem stands out. The ASA is also the primary reg, and although it has a really good recharge rate and seems to perform admirably it puts the tank in the way of the controls for the gun, making it unnatural to handle. No problem says I, Ill just put a small drop forward on it and we will be good to go. The ASA is on a dovetail mount, slid onto the frame. No prob, I grab a Phat flame drop with dovetail and figure I will just drop it down a bit and remount. The first problem comes up. The set screw for the ASA is underneath the board in the grip, requiring that you remove the entire 2 piece board in order to get to, no small job. Once I finally get that done, I slide the ASA off the back of the frame and grab the drop. Now I discover to my chagrin that the dovetail on the reg, doesnt match the dovetail on the drop, In fact, the dovetail on the reg doesnt seem to match any dovetail I have ever seen including the metric dovetail that came on the draguns. OMG. There are no set screw mounts, no other way to mount the stock reg. OK now what can I do. I know, Ill just replace the whole regulator and start over, lets see the only reg I have handy is a system X vertical. (chrome by the way so in no way matches the marker) Now I discover that the Trigger guard and and gas throughgrip are mounted so close on this incredibly compact marker that I cant get another regulator on it. Out comes the board a second time and everything goes back together as it was stock. I look through all my gear for my 47/3000 aluminum tank so that I might be able to at least test the marker. With a 47 mounted the marker is comfortable enough. Allright, I start gassing it up, run the reg up to 225 psi and test fire. dub, dub, dub, no full cycle, just a moderate attempt by the marker to push the bolt forward. OK LPR next, start turning it up and bam the gun cycles. Allright, now were cooking. cycle a few times on air and I am incredibly impressed. Reciprocating mass is all of about 2 ounces if that which means almost zero recoil. I mean it! string of 50 shots in 5 seconds and the marker never moves off where I aimed it. Wow. OK now for paint. 100 balls in my evy 2 and we are outside to the range. Once, twice, slow, hmm. turn up the LPR some more, First shot drop off and then a couple of balls at 200 FPS then goo. Now what. The battery charge is dead, the marker goes off on its own and its back to the charger. 2 hours later we try it again. Turn up the LPR a little more and, we are rocking. 270 FPS +- 5 and the FSDO problem is gone. (probably the battery) Now I start noticing other things. On air the marker has almost zero recoil. however as soon as you start throwing paint you notice that there is the expected rise in the barrel from Newtons law. Mass going downrange. OK lets test out the eye. Board on automatic, capped to my evy at 17BPS. (My fingers are not that fast) Hold the trigger down and let her rip. 5 seconds later, hoppers empty. No chops. I could even here the stucatto interuptions as the eye searched for the ball at the end of the hopper. the marker is spitting paint so fast I have to put my hands on top to hold it down. OK, board now capped at 20 for a debounce setting, (works good) back to semi, and walking the trigger. 12 BPS easily then 14. the trigger is incredibly light, probably 60-80 grams. I hand the marker to my wife to try and her finger touches the trigger. phut. She hands it back. No way she says. Now the trigger is not the best I have ever seen. It has a lot of side to side play and It takes an act of congress to get to the adjustments to set but because of the light trip wt and finger friendly design its still easy to use. (I love blades) Walking is easy and the gun can more than keep up with my fingers. After evaluation, this is my new back-up marker. It has a few things that probably could have been done better if Odyssey was looking for a large customer basis but all in all I am impressed and for under $500, cant beat it. Oh and a side note, because of the design and size there is no volumizer, but the stock design uses the gas throughgrip as a volumizer to keep the pressure going in constant. If you do end up replacing the reg, you might want to try adding an inline extension just to get a larger volume of gas in there after the reg.
Conclusion: The marker Is well worth the value at under $500. If you can get used to the stock configuration then you have an incredibly light, fast front gun. I would rate it a 9.6 all said and done, but since I can only use whole numbers we will give it a,
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

odyssey13 Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
autocockers
indian creek bko
Marker Setup: odyssey o3x
68ci/3000psi compressed air
halo b with rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper
MAYBE a new barrell depending on if you get the barrell kit with the gun
Strengths: Very light trigger pull
good stock barrell
Weaknesses: None
Review: I recieved this gun as a christmas present and was super excited to get out and try it. So i threw my hopper and tank on the next day and went out to the feild. After the first game i heard a small leak coming from the hose. All i had to do to fix it was wrap some tape in the threads, then it was good as new. After that issue was fixed i was shooting a consistant 15bps.

This gun has a variety of excellent features. It has full auto 3 and 6 ball burst and of course the semi auto. Even on full auto or either of the 2 burst modes i seldomly get chop. The stock barrell works fine however if your more serious about the sport i would reccomend an upgrade.

Other than the small leak i had in the hose ive never had a problem. I would recommend this gun to anyone wishing to get a gun thats fast and reliable for a decent price.
Conclusion: Great out of the box small and compact. A gun you can rely on.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 1st, 2006 at 6:48 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

jon savage Monday, June 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
e-bladed cockers, angels, ion, similar guns and a bunch of cheap guns
Marker Setup: odyssey o3x, jackhammer 2, cp micro drop, smart parts on/off, 45/45, odyssey barrel kit,
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you use full outo you should probably get a new lpr (this gun uses autococker but needs an adapter from www.zenitram-mfg.com)

Either take it apart and adjust the trigger or buy a new one (www.zenitram-mfg.com)

DO NOT USE CO2 get nitro

New drop and on/off.

Others depending if u play rec or tourney.
Strengths: Very fast, light, compact, modes, eye, cheap
Weaknesses: Eye cover is ugly so put a sticker on it
Odysseys customer service
Review: Ok i bought this gun (o3) off of ebay brand new sraight from odyssey for $300 with extras (great price). So i take it out of the box and i am amazed i only paid 300 for it.
Then i go and air it up. leaks and is extremely loud. then i go to adjust the lpr and it is all the way up. since i already blew the crap out of the internalls it has a slow but steady leak. i could live with that. then i go to play and the bolt gets stuck all the way back every time I shoot and i have to adjust it so that i can shoot 1 more. I cant live with that. after playing a game i took the whole freaking gun apart and find out that the itiots that designed this gun didnt put an 0-ring to seal the plastic piece to the valve ( for the people with 03's this is the small leak above the grip frame that you had to send your gun away to be fixed for) This cheap striker design, a derlin bolt, and rapid fire modes are the only differences between the 03 and the 03x. So after putting my gun back together and watching everyone else have a good time i decided to send the gun back to Odyssey for the 03X upgrade ($100). After three weeks I was promised the gun was fixed and would be back in a matter of days. A week later i called and they said the same thing. Then a week later i call again and they said that they didnt have my gun and that they had lost it but reasured me that they would find it three weeks later they found my gun and started to work on it and finnaly after around two months of it being gone they sent it to the wrong adress in georgia ( im in FL). but ok after two months of it being gone I got it back. It was perfect except for a few scratches on the reg and trigger.

When i went to play with it i bought a case of the cheap paint(diablo heat with a purple shell) The eyes worked fine with the cheap paint and its dark shell. Also this gun shoots stait and as flat as a cocker with the cheap paint. So i go and play and after two games I had two teams give me there numbers. I outshot dark shockers, dynasty shockers, timis, and other guns that were at least twice my price. After a few adjustments and mods this gun is great.

Here are a few pointers and tips

1. Odysseys pjone number is 972-494-2500 not the number on the manuel.

2. Do not plan on getting just a new drop because the stock one only fitts the gun.
You have to get a new on/off too.

3. To take the stock on/off off you have to take out the circut board and LCD screen, so
unless you are sure of your hand and know excactly what you are doing, go to your
local shop-field and ask them to do it for you. If they say no (witch they probably will
because it voids the warrenty if anyone except you or odyssey works on the gun) ask
them if they can oversee you and give tips-pointers as you do it. After you take the
all the way off (both sides) unscrew the two screws that are on the lcd panel.
then gently slide the panel straight up (hold the board ( below the lcd) as you remove
the lcd) after the lcd is removed you will need to move the board as far left as
possible. after the board is moved the srew holding the on/off on will be in the right
hole (on the inside, bottom of the frame) use the same allen wrench as the one you
use to take the eye cover off. make sure it is not the smaller one (alsost the same
size) because you will strip the screw out and will be stuck with the stock on/off.
To put your gun back together first, move the board back into place. Then line up the
pins on the board to their connector on the lcd. Then push down slowly on the ends
lcd. After that line the board up with the frame (the holes where the screws on either
end of the lcd screw into.) Screw the screws in. Turn on the gun before puting the
grip on.) If ???????? appears on the screen then wiggle the lcd a little bit. Turn
the gun off and then back on. It will probably have worked but if not repeat.

4. If your buttons on the back of your frame get stuck in get a needle, pry up the corner
of the cover and peel off until you reach the closest stuck button. You should see a
metal button. stick the needle in it and pop it up. then let it sit without pushing the
for a week ( witch will let the button reform its shape so that it will pop again.)

5. Eye not working
Everty time that you break a ball take the eye cover off clean the eye and make sure
that the clear little sheet is in its place bettween the eye and the breech.
If this doesnt work make sure that the wires inside the gun are in their connectors
on the board And that the eye wire is not badly pintched bettween the frame and the
Eye cover.

6. I recogmend that you mill ( with a dye grinder or dremmel tool) out where the eye
wire comes out or the eye cover ( just enoegh for the wire to go through)

7. Do not use co2 with this gun it will ruin your lpr and selenoid.

8. If you do take your gun apart watch very carefully what you are doing and how you are
goind to put it back together. Take pictures if you have to.

9. Adjusting the trigger pull there are two screws that are used to adjust the
trigger pull. one on the trigger and one in the grip frame. for little adjustments the
screw on the trigger is fine but you are looking to make the pull as close as possible
then you will need to use the screw inside the frame. First take off the eye cover,
then pop off the two hoses, one on the lpr and one on the back. next remover the
macro line. then unscrew the two sdrews holding the grip frame to the body. then the
frame will come apart from the body. on top of the frame there will be two screws
take them out and remove the top of the frame. looking down you will see the
selenoid, trigger, and hoses. remove the grip off the grip frame.on the lcd side of the
grip you will also see the selenoid. push up on it hard but slow. only the right side
will come up so you will have to use the hose coming out of the top of the selenoid
to pull it up then push it out the rest of the way. use the screw on the trigger to get
it to the angle you wnt it (loosen if you want it strait up and down). look strait down on
the frame and you will see another screw on the near top of the trigger. use the
same allen wrench that is used fot the screws on the grips. tightening will make the
pull shorter. when you put the frame back on the gun the shorter screw goes on the
back part of the frame


10. Print this page and stick a copy of it in your manuel and grearbag.



my e-mail address is ktm105sx@bellsouth.net if you have any questions
Conclusion: Great gun after all the waiting and fine tuning. Every 1000 cars there is one that comes messed up, and that was me. Im sure that my two month, lost gun prob with odyssey was just a one time only mix up that resulted because they just gut into guns and just got a brand new warehouse where they are still moving in.

overall this gun rocks and was worth the wait

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 16th, 2005 at 9:16 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DyersEve Tuesday, November 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A variety of Spyders, the Wrath, and the ION
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3X--EggyZboard--48/3000 hpa
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a barrel but the stock is just fine
Strengths: Weight
Accuracy
zero kick
Weaknesses: Eyes are difficult to keep clean
Lcd screen isnt bright enough
Review: - [ DRY FIREING ]
I aired up the marker, set the reg and began to walk the trigger. The marker has little if no kick, feels extremely light in your hands and is very compact. I used the RATE mode on the display to see how fast i was walking the trigger (15bps). Awesome feature on the gun.
- [ SHOOTING PAINT THROUGH THE MARKER ]
Put my EggyZboard on and went outside. With the marker set to SEMI 20 CAP EYES ON, i began to walk the trigger at about 15 bps. At this rate the marker showed no signs of kick and was hitting the target ball after ball. The marker is super quiet while shooting paint and is very accurate.
- [ TIME TO SEE WHAT THE MARKER IS REALLY MADE OF ]
I then set the marker to AUTO 30 BPS W/ AUTO EYES. While shooting, the marker shot a sustained 22 bps. no chops, no breaks, no problems at all.
Conclusion: This marker is a great choice for all players. Easily a tourney gun or serious rec ball gun. I would recommend this marker to everyone. I give it a 9 out of 10 because the reg setup is a litlle different
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 15th, 2006 at 11:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

satriani_ Tuesday, May 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Shocker, other low end markers
Marker Setup: OGI O3X, LP Maxflow 4500/68, Halo B, Powerlyte Scepter barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger (TBO or Zenitram)
New Regulator
New barrel!
That's it!
Strengths: Small
Fast
Light
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Trigger
Review: Wow.
This is one sweet gun. I tried it for the first time last sunday. You can say I was excited when I aired it up, turned on the Halo and turned on the gun. Right after "game on" I ran like a dog to a cover close to the opposition. From there, the opposition did not have a chance. I was firing strings and strings of paint. And with the Scepter barrel, I was hitting heads, legs, guns, actually any part that stuck out from the covers.
This gun is SO fast. No one at the field thougt I would be a menace, because they had their Shockers and Fly's, but I surprised them all with my 450 dollar gun.
It also looks so nice. I love my blue/black fade color.
The trigger was kinda hard to walk, but I adjusted it and then it worked fine. I am going to get another trigger though.. It had too much side to side action to it. But no biggie.


Conclusion: Get this gun if You are on a budget and don't want to pay 1/3 to 2/3 more for a gun with similar attributes. (You pay more for brands You know!)
I love mine.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jcabes Friday, April 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3x
cp reg
Check it drop
stainless freak barrel kit
Halo
68/45 pmi
Recommended
Upgrades:
bottomline, reg, barrel, fast hopper
Strengths: Speed, accuracy, speed, speed, small.
Weaknesses: Sloppy, yet fast, trigger, shifty stock parts.
Review: When I first bought this gun it was an original O3e. Took it out of the box, was amazed, and proceeded to gas it up. I wasn't too happy with the bolt or the regulator system, but at the time i didn't have the money for the bottomline and the bolt wasn't out. When the O3x came out, i was sad because i didn't think i could get the derlin bolt. But then i was jumping with joy when the upgrade came out! They were happy days. Immediately got the upgrade for 70 bucks...now 100, which seems reasonably fair. Then Christmas came along and i got my freak, cp reg, and drop. Now this puppy is stringing ropes like none other. I love the cp shorty reg on this. At the crono, i set it and shot 5 shots: 279, 280, 278, 280, 277. It fits the small profile of the gun, and it has a very fast recharge rate to keep up with the quick shootin' beast. The owner of my local proshop has shot my gun, and he loves it (he used a timmy i believe-retired due to wife). Point is, this thing is ridiculously fast and consistent ranking with the top guns. It is extremely easy, with some quick fingers, to rip of 17-18bps ropes and dominate any field you are on.
Conclusion: I love this gun and unless it breaks down hardcore, i probably wont buy another one for 3-4 years. Its extremely fast and accurate, and will keep you from getting shot too many times.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 5th, 2005 at 8:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bradford Thursday, March 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-99, 98 Custom,
Marker Setup: Odyssey 03X, Halo B, Crossfire 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator, Barrel
Strengths: Light, Fast, Accurate, Simple to maintane, Good price.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I bought this gun because it was different, no one I knew had one and I had never seen anyone with one. When I pulled it out of the box I was very impressed. It felt great in my hand and was nice and compact. When I first aired it up there was a small leak coming from the valve area. I took the gun apart and checked o-rings and lube. I put everything back together and the leak was gone. I took it outside to test the features and I was again very impressed. It was fast. Faster than anything I'd ever shot. I was able to set the gun to 18bps and with the Halo it did just fine. I aimed the marker at a few trees roughly 60 feet away and opened up. The stock barrel left a nice tight pattern considering the slight wind.

This gun has just surpassed every expectation that I had. Light, tight, and very fast. I can walk it to about 12bps and the gun can go much higher. At $320 new it is way cheaper than a lot of the guns I go up against. With this gun I feel a heck of a lot more powerful.
Conclusion: If I didn't like the fact that I am the only one I've ever seen with this gun I would say everyone should get it. It rocks right out of the box. All things considered I'd like to give the gun a 10... but nothing is perfect so it's about a 9.3.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fallen 28 Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse vision- that 03x is a better deal and can keep up with the impulses,easily
Marker Setup: Vision impulse, shocktech superfly bold, 68ci evil scion air, freak barrel kit, eblade,empireB
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel with a diffrent bore
Nitro
Drop foward
New respirator
Strengths: Fast
Quick pick up
Reliable
VERY acurate
Great looks, and form
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a very good gun. It can be used for people just starting to play tournaments, and with barley any upgrades you could use it in pro tourneys. The gun is very reliable, exept for sometimes the eye, as i explained earlier. The gun is VERY fast and has a very accurate stock bolt. And for some reason the form of this guns allows you to have very good snap shootig. And lastly the gun looks great and not to mention the hot colors.
Conclusion: I would recomend this gone for all levels of paintball players , from staring tourneys and up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fordzilla Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: System X Type X Cocker
12v Revvy
16" Xcel barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Eyes.
barrel
electronic hopper-halo b preferably
Strengths: FAST
Upgradeble Software
nice trigger
Weaknesses: Chops alot
unacurate with stock barrel
wont take c02
Review: Overall, this is a pretty good gun. Its my little brother's gun and ive shot it a few times. One thing about it is it is pretty unacurate with the stock barrel. shots often drop horribly. Maybe its because im so used to my autococker. But speed wise, it is amazing. 30 bps programmable but you can only do about 15 without chopping. (on a halo tsa). Im sure if you had a halo b you could easily do about 24. I reccomend getting eyes on it.
Conclusion: Great gun-buy it, i think it is better than ions. im giving it an 8 because of the chops and accuracy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

JUICE_4 Tuesday, March 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ions, auto cockers, etek
Marker Setup: Rex R-3 (which is the 03x) with t board pepperstick barrel halo loader delrin low blow bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel just for kicks
reg stock asa is fine but i like a drop
new trigger
new bolt
Strengths: Fast quite accurate
Weaknesses: Trigger is loose
Balls kind of drop off
Little heavy for a small marker
Review: Well this gun has been through a lot with me and i love it! we just lovingly call it the hotness its fast accurate and fun to play with especially with my few upgrades i put on it. my etek is on its way so this will soon become my backup but for sure it can handle being a primary gun it is nice to have a a great consistent gun. my only compliant is it doesn't just float around the field eliminating opponents by itself
Conclusion: Great gun for a alright price i dont know what it really retails for but i got mine for 100 lol because our sponsors for my team but for the price i was very happy and would recomend it to anyone no matter what they have previously shot
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media