paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Tippmann Pro/Carbine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Pro/Carbine
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 449
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann has taken two of its most popular guns, the Pro-Lite and the 68-Carbine, and combined them into one. The Pro/Carbine features the CVX valve to allow for a change in the weather without changing the gun's performance. It uses a stainless steel braided gas line which will allow for the use of both compressed air and Co2. Also features a 10.5" micro-honed ported barrel and a quick release rear sight.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Pro/Carbine is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (45):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Seriuqs Sunday, December 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years80 of 86 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder: Didnt like too much, then again, was just a rental
'98 Autococker: Love it
Marker Setup: Pro-Lite: Dye barrel, starfire bolt (Replacing with stock), kapp drop forward, PMI pure energy reg., .45 grip, shark gill raised sight rail
'98 Autococker: CP 12" barrel, Palmer Rock Reg., Supa Fly bolt, lapco drop forward, stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel should always be the first and most important upgrade, because it has the most effect on your accuracy (obviously). Tippmann makes great markers, but is not known for its barrel making. Recommend LAPCO Big Shot for monetarily challenged types (like me). Revolution loader helps.
Strengths: Built like a tank. I know its been said before, but I am going to say it again, theres a reason why fields use this as a rental. Its a work horse gun, which is why I love it. I am an avid woods player and love to get down and dirty when I play, and not have to worry about whether my equipment will keep up. I could pour sand in this thing and it would still shoot. With an aftermarket barrel this thing is pretty accurate, dont let anyone tell you its a "sniper" paintball gun, because theres no such thing in paintball. These two other features are subjective, because some may like them and some may not (I DO like them) but here goes: The gun is a little heavy to start (as markers go) and add to that a stainless steel barrel, a 20 oz. CO2, and a full hopper of paint, and you have a lot of weight. I personally love the feel, makes me feel like I am carrying something solid enough to keep up with me. The second is that this has a very "rifle" like feel to it. Again, I LOVE the rifle feel, because its better to aim and I cant stand a gun without something to put up against my shoulder. If you are not a big fan of either of these features in your gun then you can either exercise to get stronger, or look into a lighter, more compact gun. So to recap the good things:
--Legendary reliability
--Solid construction, you know it wont break
--Accurate with an aftermarket barrel
--Rifle feel
--Easy to acquire parts for because so many fields have them as rentals

If you are new, or even if you are a die hard rec baller like me, this is an awesome 'gun to play with, and I will always trust the Tippmann brand name because it means great quality and great service
Weaknesses: Now for the bad. Theres not a whole lot to criticize, but then again, nothing is ever perfect, not even Tippmann products. The bad:

--Can get heavy (If you like heavy guns, then disregard
--Long 'gun, especially with a 14" barrel - can get hard to maneuver around corners for speedball
--Limited upgrade path (Then again, not much to upgrade, less to waste money on)
--Fairly slow ROF (Then again, if you know how to shoot, this shouldnt be an issue)
--Not neccessarily a tournament level gun.
Conclusion: Ok, so that about does it. I love the pro lite/carbine, its probably my most favorite paintball gun, and will remain so. Theres nothing quite like the solid feel of a tippmann when you play. I am going to give it a 9, because nothings perfect, not even this exceptionally good marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
30 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt.Short Guy Saturday, July 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months22 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 is the only gun that I have tryed that shoots like the Pro-Carbine and go figure they are both made by Tippmann :-)
Marker Setup: 1.) Brass Eagle: TigerShark - Tightened the trigger, custom ported the barel(Hand drill)
2.) Tippmann: Pro Carbine - Lightened the tigger pull, custom made stock, silencer, laser sight w/toggle switch inside the fore-girp, and quiter hammer. All in all a snipers dream.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Stock
-I found the stock barrel became more accurate if you cover the porting.
-Some sort a sight; laser, red dot, scope
-Remote (espicaly if you have a stock)
Strengths: -Durablity
-Accurate out of the box
-Never breaks balls
-650-700 shots on a 12oz
Weaknesses: -The stock hammer is loud (easliy fixed)
- Rate of fire
Review: Good Points:
-Never Breaks balls:
I only broke one ball and that was beacause I uncocked it then recocked it thus leaving two balls in the barrel.

-Durablity:
I admit that I have hardly swamn through a swamp but I think if I did the gun, with a quick shake, would fire. It never miss fired or didn't shoot and when you do shot it feels like the difference between closing a door on a GMC compared to a Toyota.(Toyota doors don't shake the whole car!) Also the nearly the whole gun is metal!

Accurate:
I think that the stock barrel is more than accurate enough for me.

Co2 Usage:
The Pro Carbine has great Co2 qualities. I get 600 shots easy off a 12oz.
------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------
Bad Points:

Noise:
The stock hammer is rather loud but is easly fixed by getting a mouse pad and cutting a circle of the the foam and putting a hole in the middle then putting on the valve face.

Rate of Fire:
I play the sniper role in paintball so rate of fire is really not a problem for me but I guess one could, if they want, put the response tigger in the gun. I find I'm able to get about 4-6 bps.
Conclusion: I think this gun has to be the best gun for me out there. I think anyone would be happy with this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 28th, 2003 at 9:48 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Crockett Wednesday, October 13th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year21 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None can compare.

I had a Brass eagle Blade when i was just starting out, but got rid of it in turn for the Pro/Carbine, then added a J&J Ceramic Barrel. The combination turned out ot be nirvana for me.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine w/ 14'' J&J Ceramic barrel and modified trigger. Also getting an ADCO Sure Shot scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
You should get a new barrel, of course. But, the regular barrel isn't that bad, so no need to rush.

-If your going to get a scope, I reccomend the ADCO Sure Shot.

Strengths: -Durable
-Reliable
-Accurate
-Realistic look
-Distinct "rifle" feel
-Practical/Simple design
-Has a sling
Weaknesses: Nothing big.

-get a new barrel
-Upgrades are availible, but not abundant
Review: After I decided that a plastic Brass Eagle Pump just wasn't enough to compete in paintball, I decided I needed to find a new marker. A real marker that I could use for years. So I got online, pbreview.com to be exact, and started browsing. After looking all over, I happended upon Tippmann's line of paintball guns. I liked Tippmann from the start because their markers didn't have that colorful "space-age" look to them. I play woodball. Tie-dye markers just don't work in my type of woodball. I'm also a deer hunter and have always liked the "rifle" feel. It just comes naturally to me. It was a tough decision between the Pro/Carbine and 98 Custom. But I decided on the Carbine. Something about was just right. It is just as accurate and reliable as the Custom 98, if not more. The decision came down to the style. Now, with my Pro/Carbine and clad in camo, I play with weekend groups of 15-20 similarly armed and dressed players on my farm. We play speedball, capture the flag, ect. Every game I manage to rack up one of this higher kill scores and my marker has been complemented many times. With my J&J Ceramic Barrel, it shoots smooth and consitent. Simply a solid marker. There is really nothing bad about it. There are couple reviews on here that claim it is horrible, but those are nothing but sprawls of words out of empty minded people that run their mouths for a living.
So, if you want top-notch accuracy, reliablilty, and good-looks, choose Tippmann. If you want the "rifle" feel and carry the same marker used by military and police training officials, choose the Pro/Carbine. This is a paintball gun that won't let you down.
Conclusion: If the rare rifle-style paintball gun works for you as much as it does for me, and you want a marker that can withstand snow, sleet, rain, and heat and still hit on target, then I reccomend the Pro/Carbine 100%. If you'd rather have the glitzy, space-age Spyders, then fine. But I'd choose the rugged, reliable, and accurate Carbine over the competion any day. I hope you do to.

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 9th, 2005 at 3:13 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

Underpants Gnom Friday, November 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year21 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Carbine: pretty much the same, cept for feed
Marker Setup: Pro c with smart parts freak grips, Air tipps ss screw set, Lapco cocking knob, Veritical adapter and expansion chamber (ACI), All american barel with Freak front 18", and VL revilution hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barel definately. maybe a regulator, and nitro......maybe even a vert kit
Strengths: Reliable
Rugged
Good out of the box (unlike Autocockers and Automags)
Excellent accuracy and range with an aftermarket barrel
Good gas efficiency (700-900 shots out of a 12 oz. tank)
Well balanced with a 12 oz. or 20 oz.
Great cold weather gun (shoots fine with liquid CO2, in fact it can run off a siphon tank)
LOW ball breakage
Light Weight
Weaknesses: *Relatively loud (ported barrel fixes that problem)
*Trigger is tight(can be easily fixed)
*Stock barrel lacks accuracy
*Big gun (not necessarily a bad point for players who prefer rifle like guns)
*Elbow teeth cut a hole in the hopper(recommend take it out and use electrical tape)
*Breaks a lot of tank O-rings(unless tank is taken off properly)
*Doesn't have excellent rate of fire(can be improved)
*-BAD POINTS CAN BE FIXED
Conclusion: The Pro/Carbine is a top of the line paintball gun. It has reliable solid performance that will make any weekend warrior more than happy. The Pro/Carbine is also rugged enough to be a great rental gun, in fact it's generally considered to be the best field rental gun. And its got enough add-ons to turn it into a tournament paintball gun (regardless what auto-whatever owners have to say.)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

sypher_yankee Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used all Tippmann products they are all great!!!i have also used other Semi Autos such as Spider TL and TL plus and i have had a Raptor Xtreme which SUCKS!!!!!!!
Marker Setup: I use a Pro/Carbine with Armson Stealth 16" barrel with a 20oz. tank and butt plate I LOVE THE GUN!!!!!!Even with out the barrel the gun is kick butt i just added the barrel for sniping i use my old barrel the stock for close range and when i go in on people and if you leave the screw that you need to loosen to field strip kind of loose you can switch barrels in the field like i do i stay back sniping then switch barrels and run in I AM LIKE NOT SCARED OF GETTING SHOT THO SO LOL YOU MAY WANT THE BARREL AND SNIPE!! lol
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recomend a ARMSON STEALTH 16" barrel it makes the gun alot quieter and VERY KICK BUTT ACCURATE i made it my sniper gun!!!!
Strengths: Awesome out of the box!
Weaknesses: it is loud but that can be fixed with new barrel like ARMSON STEALTH
Review: I love this gun from the first time i shot it!It was love at first site for me it looks great!
When i shot it i put it on low velocity at first it was accurate as hell even low then i cranked it half way i couldnt see the balls and it was chipping bark off the trunk of my tree from bout 50 yards i was like DANG!!!people complain that the trigger is to hard to pull i think it is perfect that is cause i am not a panzy like alot of people i dont fear being shot or having a sore finger from pulling the trigger but it really isnt that bad just hard to go really fast shooting with it but i do alright i have never lost a game with it!!! THE GUN IS KICK BUTT ALL TOGETHER!!!LISTEN TO ME I PLAY PAINTBALL AND I SHOOT ALL GUNS I LOVE THIS ONE!!!!!
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN IT IS THE BEST TIPPMANN AND I HAVE TRIED OUT THEM ALL THE
A-5 IS GOOD BUT THE PROBLEM WITH IT IS THE MONEY I PREFER THE PRO/CARBINE IT IS CHEEP AND AN KICK BUTT GUN!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 6th, 2003 at 12:13 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

Bc947 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
i tested a 2k2 Vertical feed autococker, an A-5 and everyones favorite brand, Brass eagle Avenger
Marker Setup: Pro Carbine with a 20 oz C02
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
maybe a drop forward too so the can isnt in ur armpit
Strengths: accurate with the stock barrel
light
Weaknesses: triggers a hard pull but its nothing really
Chops about 20 out of every 150
Review: It shot about 400 shots out of a 20 oz Co2 can in temperatures ranging from -30 (with windchill) to 36 degrees F. It shoots straight most of the time and even with the barrel full of paint it still shoots fairly accurate. The only things that disappointed me a little was that there aren't many upgrades and its not the quickest gun field stripping. It gets the job done and most beginners i dont think really want or care about getting like 19BPS because it only takes one shot to get someone out .I could get like 4 or 5 per second just shooting at a table i propped up in my backyard.It also came w/ a strap for if you were gonna climb a tree or something like that but i found that the strap is prone to getting stuck on a tree limb while playing in the woods
Conclusion: Great gun for a beginner. Even better for playing purely Recreational.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 14th, 2004 at 5:59 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

redneck_76 Friday, October 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lots of spyders, if you shot one you shot them all
game face e-rex elite
98 custom
lots of spyder clones
Marker Setup: Tippmann pro carbine
32 degrees expansion chamber
20inch J&J ceramic barrel
Archon Tacamo hopper

This is my marker. There are many like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my marker is nothing. Without my marker, I am nothing.
Recommended
Upgrades:
This is a great gun without any upgrades, but if you are like me get the usual: barrel, expantion chamber, and hopper.
Strengths: Color
Quite
Reliable
Fairly priced
comfortable and relitivly light
RELIABLE
Weaknesses: Requires many tools and much time to tear down. No quick strip pin here.
Review: Where to begin? Great gun, bought in package deal on ebay with a spyder. Promptly gave the spyder away (partially due to my own stupidity). Had some complications with this when I first got it due to completely different design the most other guns. I read a lot of reviews complaining of the single finger trigger having to heavy of a pull. I guess there are a lot of teenagers on this site that have used this gun before their balls dropped and are pathetic weaklings. This is the gun law enforcement agencies use with pepperballs on criminals. They picked this gun for a reason, reliability, durability, ease of use, and its intimidating, Dale Earnhart style. Not like those neon colored markers that look like a toy. Very quite gun, especially with 20 inch J&J ceramic. Quite thud instead of a loud pop. Ball detent kind of sucks, little piece of pliable fiber that wears out, but there cheap and easy to replace. Not a lot of aftermarket parts for this gun so you sometimes need to be creative and make your own. That is good I think, keeps you gun unique and not a "off the shelf" gun. This gun is right for me, have tweaked it for three years now. Almost everybody I play with has replaced or made costly upgrades to their guns. This is the first gun I bought, there have been many in between. I currently have seven markers in my gear bag but this is the one that is used every time, old faithful. And you can use it to kill a buffalo if you swing it hard enough, and it will still work!
Conclusion: In a world of 26bps, it still only takes one hit to get out. I'll take my quite, accurate, gravity fed, five rounds per second tippmann pro carbine over anything else.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 12th, 2009 at 11:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chubbs2go Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder(lots) ,tippmann model 98,pro-lite,A-5, Triton II, Raptor blue
Marker Setup: tippmann pro/carbine w/ 14 in barrel 20 oz CO2, modified 45 grip, rear velocity adjuster.
polished rear bolt. expansion chamber. feed teeth removed.
Stealth 98 sniper w/ GTA flatline barrel, remote, expansion chamber, collapsible stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel 14 in.
remove feed teeth, Use tape or tighten bolt
maybe hopper.
Strengths: accurate
rugged
low ball chop
streamline design
all weather
good on CO2
heavy gun feel



Weaknesses: Not good for tournament (speed ball)
Elbow teeth cut hopper
Stock barrel
upgrades
Review: I am ex-military and like the heavy gun feel and look of the pro. I know most players do not. we mainly play woods play here and this gun is great for that. Up-grades are hard to find, but they are out there.. But doesn't matter if you choose your shots wisely (Like real combat). the pro will fire through any weather or situation. If anyone says that this gun is not durable or chops alot of balls is someone who does not take care of their weapon and should not be allowed to have one. I have played all over world and with all kinds of P.B. guns and the pro continues to prove itself time and time again. without a doubt there are better guns out there. But for the cost and the over all performance of the pro I find it to be the best gun in it's price range.
Conclusion: If you plan to be a tournament player who wants to add alot of upgrades over time, do not buy this gun. But if like the real feel of warfare with a reliable weapon this is your gun. I only give a 9 because of the availability of parts and up-grades.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 at 8:50 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Nick81286 Thursday, November 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom with response trigger and 12" teardrop barrel, pump phantom custom built. Diablo sabotage with 16" terminator barrel, free flow cocker with freak barrel set, old school cocker with freak barrel set, targa all original, spyder compact fully upgraded, zeus pistol, sharadon pgp 2001.
Marker Setup: Pro Carbine with an old school J&J barrel, with BSA red dot (not really useful, looks kick ass).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing is necessary right away, but over time a new barrel might be handy to have and if you want to be able to shoot faster, I would recommend fixing the trigger (really easy go here http://www.homestead.com/procarbine/pcog.html)
Strengths: Very accurate, built like a tank, wont break balls
Weaknesses: Heavy, if you are weak, trigger (feels nice to me). None other
Review: If you are looking for a gun that is accurate, strong, durable, air efficient, feels great and affordable, this is it. If you want a gun that is really expensive, needs a lot of work and that you can waste loads of cash lackering the wall hoping one of your 18 balls a second hit the enemy, then go get a cocker or something like it. Personally I have took on a friend who has 4 years of paintball experience and a auto cocker the first time, I played him, I hit him in the face 2 times (2 more times than he hit me in the face). I was shooting the edges of bunker windows so that the enemy keeps his head in. This gun is accurate, durable and affordable. I dont know how else to say it. If you are reading this, you will most likely look at other reviews and realize that they all say that so there isnt much else for me to say, but I did notice a few reviews slamming this product saying the trigger is too heavy, thats easy to fix, they also say its too big, to me it just feels more like a gun than a toy so just dont pay any attention to it.
Conclusion: This gun is great. I was on my own budget and money is hard to get so this gun was great. So bottom line is its a great gun for the money, and the type it is. Its a great semi-auto sniper rifle (as good as they come). Im glad I got this gun over the others, so get it if you want or not.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 3rd, 2003 at 2:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chaos567 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2002 vertical feed autococker
Marker Setup: 2002 vertical feed autcocker
JJ barrel
flame drop forward
on/off valve bottomline
hinge frame that came free with it
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrell
drop forward so the tank isnt in ur armpit
Strengths: accuracy
light
shoots fast
good woodsball
Weaknesses: tight trigger pull
Review: At first I wasnt sure if it was shooting correctly because i couldnt see the paintball when it shot. But it turns out its just a fast shooting gun. The gun is good. Its also cheap. I like it because its light so i can hold it like a pistol. Its good in the woods. It shoots straight except for once in a while one will curve. Its a tippmann, how can it be bad.
Conclusion: If you want a cheap gun then get this one, its really good and has good consistency and its a tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (45):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media