paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Darts Paintballs / Proto Darts Paintballs / Proto Darts Paintballs

Proto Darts Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Darts Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Darts Paintballs
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Professional grade paintballs.
Product Availability 
The Proto Darts Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
PB Professor Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Marballizers
Game Face Scorch
PMI Premium
WPN Atomic
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Lapco Bigshot 12"
Recommended
Barrels:
Lapco Bigshot
Any decent .689 cal barrels
Strengths: Accurate
Bright
Somewhat Inexpensive
Tournament Grade
No Chop
Many Breaks
Weaknesses: None
Review: Proto is known for its impressive line of markers, apparel, masks, and other marker accessories. Being a division of Dye, you know that it is a great company. But only recently, Proto has come out with a paintball model. Proto paint is the only type of paint that Proto has, at the moment. It doesn't need any other models of paint, for this paint is very decent.

The "Darts" have many qualities matching other tournament paint, making them a great choice for all types of paintballers. Here are some of the many advantages of "Darts"


Accuracy-
"Darts" are very well made paintballs. They are not deformed. There are no defects. Because of these aspects, the "Darts" are very accurate in terms of the ball's trajectory. I have an A5 with a Lapco Bigshot, (See my review) and have received multiple recommendations for using "Darts" with the barrel. One of my teammates lent me some Proto as a pay back for me lending him RPS Marballizers. Whenever I shot, the "Darts" would go in the same place every time, because my barrel is 99.9% consistent. This resulted in multiple headshots in multiple games of speedball.

Brightness-
When one of your "Darts" hits someone and breaks, it leaves a bright orange mark on them. This mark is very easy for both you and the refs to see. It is a personalized kill mark that stands out very well.

Breakage-
Whenever my "Darts" hit someone, the ball would break. This quality is essential from long distances. Now, I was playing speedball, meaning always CQB, but the balls still broke everytime. Proto doesn't merely break though, it explodes, just like tournament paint should.

Chops-
Three words. No chops period.



Conclusion: The best paint out there for a very decent price. 2000 rounds for about $45 in my area of Southern California. Good Job Proto.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sabotuk Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing this beat everything i have ever used!
Marker Setup: JUNGLE ETEK
4500 PSI BOTTLE
RELOADER B

ALSO USED AN ION WITH LUCKY STAGES 1/2/3 and BLAKC HEART
AND AN ION WITH A NANO BOLT AND LUCK BOARD
AND AN ION WITH FIREBOLT AND VIRTUE
Recommended
Barrels:
Any barrel will do, its perfect!
Strengths: Fill is bright
Brittle but not to brittle
Shoots perfectly straight
No dimples or marks
Weaknesses: Honestly NONE!
Review: This are THE BEST paintballs i have ever used and i have tested nearly every type of paintballs from white box to the best of draqxxus and similar. Nothing about these paintballs are bad there perfect!

Many to many to name but,
Texture is erfect
Fill is bright and non wipeable but washable
Brittle but not to brittle
Shoots perfectly straight
No dimples or marks
All round
GREAT PRICE!

>>>>>>YOU MUST TRY THIS PAINT DONT BELIVE ME BUT TRY IT FOR YOURSELF! YOU WILL NOT DISSAPOINT!!!<<<<<
Conclusion: Great paintballs cant explain enough how good they are, break on target. Cant wait for more colors.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tyl3r Sunday, April 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Scorch - Not as consistent (few dimples, etc) but still good paint espically since u can get it at your local walmart
Marker Setup: Spyder 05 Imagine
Evil Driver Barrel
Halo b w/ Rip drive
Dye Sticky 3s
Shocktech Shorty Bolt
Recommended
Barrels:
Evil Driver works great and so does J&J Ceramic and CP 1 Piece Classic
Strengths: Very Bright
Very Cheap
Very Consistent
Weaknesses: None - More colors would be nice though
Review: I bought a case of these and me and my friend were gonna share 1000 each. It shot great with no curves and very few breaks, I broke 2 balls all day out of ~3000 Paintballs. This paint is very cheap also.. only $45 for 2000 which is very good imo. The paint stands out a lot! On all the bunkers you could see my bright orange and it stood out more then any other paint there (Super swirl, pmi premium, scorch - the brightest besides proto) It shot perfect out of my barrel my dads barrel and my friends barrel and they didnt break one single ball all day. This is very good paint and at $45 a case id say its better then anything else. I dont see how marballizers and all that can be worth $20 more when this is almost perfect.
Conclusion: - Very bright and very hard to wipe
- Cheap $45/case
- Consistent hardly a dimple in 2 cases

- Very good paint, give it a try and you'll love it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soiled Drawers Friday, March 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
rps marballizer
diablo heat
diablo midnight
Marker Setup: System x nme
68/4500 crossfire hpa
viewloader vlocity
dye ultralite 14 inch
Recommended
Barrels:
dye ultralite 14 inch
Strengths: Bust on your opponent's face, not prematurely in your barrel shaft.
Weaknesses: None
Review: A high grade, good fill, brittle shell paint. it is round, and the size is consistent, ulike some other lopsided, lumpy, inconsistent balls. the fill is thick, bright, and hard to wipe.
the name says it all, you can shoot darts. i have been playing for three years, and no other balls compare.
Conclusion: Not to sound weird, but i really enjoy these balls
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Anchor76 Thursday, January 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dusk, Menace, PMI super swirl,
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra,14 inch dye xcel, remote line, 16 oz on/off, ricochet Ak, ACS delrin bolt, 4set shocktech spring kit, New c.a.m.d electro frame
Recommended
Barrels:
Any kind of barrel would work not stock....well actually it works pretty good with stock
Strengths: Blows up on target
Good color
bright
good manufacturer
Weaknesses: Maybe more colors would be helpful theirs only orange
Review: Performance- Very good best ive seen, blows on target not on barrel, very very bright fill leaves a good marking spot, ive seen only orange for some reason i hope theirs more colors out their,

Price- fair enough $45 at my local shop

Accuracy- very good accuracy, shots straight all the time.




Conclusion: I say these paintball work great with spyders they shot straight , it seems that theirs nothing wrong with them.... cost is not a real problem their $45 for 2000 at my local shop.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 12th, 2006 at 7:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dcpusher Friday, December 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Primer
Zap Skank
RPS Big Ball
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra, Black Magic reg, J&J ceramic barrel, Evolution II with Y-board., Milled trigger, drilled Verticle adapter, milled valve pin, modded bolt, Polished internals, polished striker, Spring kit, hidden micro switch for reactive trigger (only installed for backyard play)..
Recommended
Barrels:
J&J ceramic
Might not work well with flatline
Strengths: Brittle
Accurate
Good fill
Weaknesses: Could always be cheaper
Review: I went to my locl pro shop and saw they had some new paint in, so I decided to buy a case and a half for me and my friends.

My results (Low Pressure Spyder J&J ceramic barrel)
I loved this paint, never chopped, the only time I had breaks was when my barrel got shot and there was paint in there, and I'm not sure i even broke then. I got some crazy hits onmy friend where it would graze his pant leg and still break.

First Friend (Stock 98C with J&J ceramic barrel)
He didn't break any paint, and had good accuracy (Hisgun was in bad shape, he let it sit 3 years since he used it last and there was corrosion on his bolt, but his gun still worked just fine.)

Second Friend (98C with responce trigger, and Flatline, no electric hopper)
He had trouble all day. He chopped early because he needs an electric hopper, and never got it all the way clean. He was chopping all day long. After heturned his velocity down (we didn't have a chrono) he didn't have as much trouble. It was his first time uing the gun so the chopps, and problems could have been user error.
Conclusion: I love this paint. at $50 for a case it is not much more than Zap Primer. This is great paint,I've never shot anything that compares to this, I highly recomend you try this paint out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonmichael Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
hell fire
inferno
blaze
marbilizer
Marker Setup: ans cocker gen-x 4 yello/black halo b eblade 114ci 45 tank
ans cocker gen-x 3 blue/black 12v stock 68ci 3000


Recommended
Barrels:
new proto
empire
dye
or eny really hi end barrels
Strengths: Good fill
Brittle
Accurate
Never broke a ball and i used at least 4 cases
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I really loved the paint and i didn't have eny problems with it at all and i feed really good through my halo b the fill is really hard to wipe witch is really good for turny playing and looks really good with all my new proto 05 gear and the cost of the paint is fine
Conclusion: Great paint and i really recommend it for eny tipe of player
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 20th, 2004 at 6:01 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Howlin' Mad Monday, May 15th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DraXXus White Box - Similar
Scorch- Not as good
GAP- Not as good
RPS All-Star - Better
Rampage - Not as good
Heavy Metal - Not as good
ZAP Rec Grade - Horrible
ZAP Sport - Not as good
PMI Premium - Not as good
Marballizer - Better
JT Tactical - Better
Severe Hurricane - Similar
Severe Tempest - Better
Severe Atmosphere - Not as good
XBall Bronze - Better
XBall Silver - Better
Wild Streaks - Not as good
Midnight - Not as good
Marker Setup: Marker 1:
Tippmann 98 Custom
BT Designs APEX
Expansion Chamber
Adco IMP
Response Trigger
Shocktech Bolt
Black Dye Sticky Grips
BT Sealed Bolt System
Custom Paint job
Polished Internals
12 Volt Revy

Marker 2:
JT Acclerator W/E-Grip 3.5
14in. Smartparts Progressive
12 Volt Revy
48c.i. Pure Energy Nitro

Marker 3:
Black Smartparts Ion
Pure Energy 48 C.I. Tank
New Designs Saw Trigger
12 Volt Revy
Recommended
Barrels:
Apex
Strengths: Thick Shell
Curved well in Apex
Bright Fill
Weaknesses: Seams
Some chopping
Hard
Review: This paint wasn't half bad. I was hoping for a little better overall, but they preformed alright.

+Curves well in Apex
These curved through the Apex quite well. Some paint does better than others in this barrel, but this one worked very well.

+Bright Fill
These had a vivid orange fill. Easy to see through the woods and against all different colors of gear.

+/-Thick Shell
This paint has a thick shell. It would make a good winter paint. I was expecting a bit thinner shell from a paint like this however, and as such got some poor performance.

-Seams
These had visible seams you could fell by just running your fingers over them.

-Some chopping
I didn't have any of these chop in my marker or barrel, but they would break as soon as they'd come out of my barrel. I had this happen about 10-15 times in a day.

-Hard
These were very hard. I mean, I had paint bounce break hitting the ground after being shot at the chrono, and had bounces on all settings of the Apex(Including dive bomb). In addition my brother caught a couple bounces from me, and one time had one of my shots bounce off the ground, fly up hit him, and then break! Furthermore I did a drop test and these didn't break after multiple drops from over 6 feet while other brands did.

UPDATE: A local team was using these at their practice and had horrible results. One player was bunkered at 2 feet and all 6 balls didn't break. Additionally another player caught a bounce off a mask. I even stepped on some and they didn't break!



Conclusion: I was expecting a little better out of these paintballs. They were too hard for effective use in any weather other than the winter. Use them then and get good performance, but other then that beware.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 2nd, 2006 at 2:40 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Jarvis93 Friday, February 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus
Severe
Diablo
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail 2010.
Pure Energy 4500psi air tank.
Dye Rotor + high capacity lid and quick feed.



Recommended
Barrels:
Any kind of barrel.
Strengths: Thick shell
Bright fill
No dimples
Fly perfectly straight
Weaknesses: After 4000 balls used; 1 breakage.
Review: We all know that Proto paintballs arn't the cheapest on the market. However, their performance outweighs the cost.
After a day of paintballing i had used 4000 of these balls. Every ball flew perfectly through the air, my velocity was set around 280fps and a fire rate of 12bps.
They are very consistent balls, breaking on impact over and over again; with the same thick, bright shell spewing all over the target.
I'm not sure how the balls perform in warm and cold climates. I can't see there being a problem though.
Conclusion: Perfect paintballs for all markers, all barrels and all different scenarios / game types.

Rating 9/10 due to one barrel burst - (which caused massive problems for me and my team.)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lafever25 Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Draxxus Blaze, Inferno, Empire
Marker Setup: 02" Impulse
WAS Board
New Design FPR/ ANS
Shocktech Bolt/ pin
Upgraded brass and titanium internals
12V xboard revvy w/ pure energy 68" 3000psi tank
Freak Barrel system
Recommended
Barrels:
These balls fit perfect in .689 - .691 barrels. I recommend using correct bore size.
Strengths: Very good quality. Nice Bright Shell. Bright orange fill. Medium shell for a perfect break.
Weaknesses: NONE. $35- $45 Depending on where you buy them. Really not a bad price.
Review: ONE THING!! i did notice about these paintballs. They were very accurate but did not have range. 290fps and these balls were dropping after about 50 yards. Other Paintballs shoot much further with my gun close to 70 yards. My other team members Notice the same difference. We all use same paint each time we play.

The bright orange color is good for guns with Vision systems. My Eye has problems reading some dark paint shells. DID NOT GET A SINGLE BREAK out of the whole case.
Conclusion: I take off a point for the short range.

Accurate, good price, nice quality
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media