paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Sonic Cyborg / MACDev Sonic Cyborg / MACDev Sonic Cyborg / MACDev Sonic Cyborg

MACDev Sonic Cyborg Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Sonic Cyborg

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Sonic Cyborg
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Mac Devs Super fast , light , accurate , and Quiet Tournament Marker
Frame Machined from solid billet 6K grade aluminum, New Sonic Board w/True 35 BPS, Forced, delay or eyes off modes, 30 Minute Battery Saving auto shutoff if no shots detected in those 30 minutes,
straight down stick with center bump trigger with 3 point adjustment, New Sonic Grips, 200PSI operating and 65 PSI cocking pressure,
dual eyes to eliminate chopping, no tools required rebuildable ram, Sonic self lubricating field strip bolt w/ orings, Sonic Clamping mid rise with o-ring retention system, Matchstick 2 piece barrel cocker threaded, bottom inlet bottom adjustable inline reg, Sonic Finger LPR adjustment, 04 red valve, custom solenoid with superfast energizing coil, 9v power source with low battery alarm, Sonic Teflon anti jam detent, Mac Dev gauge (300psi) operating pressure gauge, built in snatch grip, all stainless screws, push button on/off
Product Availability 
The MACDev Sonic Cyborg is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
chazmatazz Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dragunfly Mech, Timmies, DM's, Protos, Tippmans, Spyders, Shockers, Ions, Nerves, Egos, jeesus...name it and I've prolly shot it
Marker Setup: 05 Sonic Cyborg, 5 pc matchstick, 68/45 crossfire, bullet "billet" cradle on/off, "Ladyborg" (silver/pink fade) M5 board, limited edition, serial # 0022, 1 of 10 on the planet and it's been blessed by a priest. No lie
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel kit (Matchstick is my choice) would be a nice touch, other than that, nuthin
Strengths: Light, accurate, fast, good looking, efficient, "Sonic" means it's pre-upgraded for you
Weaknesses: The gun's profile is big, but the marker itself remains light
Review: Ok...I recently traded my shocker for this gun on PBnation...and I don't think I'll ever look back. This gun is about as good as it gets...in 5 years from now, this gun will still be at the top of the game. You gotta figure, all a paintball gun needs to do is shoot paintballs fast, accurately and with the least amount of air. It's super light, so snap-shooting is a breeze. It's a little tall on the profile, but comparable to DM's in height (which are a popular buy). By today's standards, it's a tad large, but it's still comparatively light. Now as far as all the goodies a Sonic Borg comes with (in comparison to a regular Borg), the trigger, claw (Feed neck), milling, board...Those just save you the time and effort on getting other upgrades aftermarket. They've even gone so far as to set the break beam eyes lower in the feedneck, causing the ball to travel fully into the breach before allowing it to fire, to reduce the chance of pinching a ball in the bolt. It's all the little details such as this that make the Sonic Borg stand out. So you get your gun straight outta the box and it'll rip all the way. MACDev used to make surgical equipment before they started in on the paintball scene...don't ask me how they got into it, but they're doing it right. This is definitely a keeper, and I don't think I'll ever get rid of mine...honestly.

EDIT UPDATE::: It's been 2 years since I traded for my borg and I'm still rockin it hard. My friends are sayin I should trade it off and go with something new, but I tell them to STFU. Recently my friend, who is an avid gun whore, got his millionth gun trade from PB nation and we took our guns out for a test, his was a Ripper 3, a whole 2 years newer than mine, with "Better" software and hardware and yadda yadda...Mine hadnt been touched all winter after I put it away (4 months of non-use) and I broke it out, set it up, plugged some air into it and it mowed faster, more consistently and without breaks...BETTER than his Ripper...and he was so impressed that he offered to buy it from me right there. I flat out refused him, and promptly told him i'd be buried with this gun. Nuff said
Conclusion: If you can find one, and are looking for a solid gun that performs without question, then I'll SUGGEST this one.There are plenty of guns out there that can compare to the borg, but truth is, they AREN'T a borg, and chances are everyone else has a shocker, angel, Timmy or DM. If you want "Bang for buck" with a sense of individuality and uniqueness, and the best customer service the paintball world has to offer, You can't go wrong with a Sonic Borg, cept maybe an 07 sonic borg

My "ladyborg" pic...check it and drool suckas 8P

http://i61.photobucket.com/albums/h48/Clockwirk/DSCF0287.jpg
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 26th, 2007 at 3:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fragglephil Saturday, January 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm5s, angels, every stacked tube gun made.....
Marker Setup: Sonic Cyborg #13 , 2k5 CP on/off Empire mini rail, 45/45 legionair, matchstik kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
none needed....seriously
Strengths: Efficiency,speed, and accuracy.
Weaknesses: At first was the trigger but easily adjusted via stock adjustment screws!
Review: ......2 cases, 0 chops, 3 fills on a 45/45 wow.... this gun is great.

NO KICK, super light, my setup weighs just under 5 lbs !!!

accurate, actually hit what your aiming for..
efficient, 1500 shots plus on a 45/45 fill!!!
fast, it will shoot as fast as you can pull the trigger, regardless up to 34 bps.....
LEGAL, this gun is safe for all tournys no ramp or bounce software....
easy to clean and take care of!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Well balanced gun, thats easy to clean and maintaint 10! 10! 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 23rd, 2005 at 7:56 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

xteam Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: MacDev Sonic Cyborg #0040(Silver/red/black), Legion Air, Full matchstik kit, EvoII (Soon Halo B).
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Low weight, extreme firepower, sweet body, cheap on air.
Weaknesses: Price (didn't matter thou)
Review: In my eyes it is probably the best looking body ever. In one of my other reviews i wrote about how i liked the body of the System X Type X because of its plain design, well this one is even more beautiful. Milling is done extremely good.

The marker fires at extreme bps and you really need a Halo B w/ victory board to keep up. Having any other loader (except the reloader B) feels like riding with the parking brake left on.

The anodizing is very nice and i've not found any flaws yet.

LPR is extremely easy to adjust (no tools needed).
Conclusion: I really recommend this marker to any serious tournament player. It truely rocks.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 at 12:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cyboger17 Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Just about any other high end gun, DM's, PM's, Timmy's, ect.
Marker Setup: Todao Mushashi 5
Fireball Mountain Delrin Trigger
CP On/Off ASA
14" Stiffi Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really, I suppose a new board is good. The stock on the 2004 I know is only semi so if you play in some leagues that have ramping and other modes you'll need to upgrade.
Strengths: Lightweight, INSANE FAST, suprisingly tight.
Weaknesses: Destroys compitition way too easily
Review: My coach has this gun and I had the honor of using it one practice. The thing is exactly what god would use if he played paintball. I mean the thing is out of control sweet. But now on to the review.

Accuracy- I know the stock Matchstik barrel is very accurate but my coach is a big fan of Stiffi so he got one of those to take rope throwing duties on the gun. This upgrade might have been a little unessary. The Matchstik is very accurate had is mirror-finished on the inside (duh). It is about as good as you would expect from such a quality company as Mac-Dev is. The paint goes right where the gun is pointed. No question. The stock bolt is Delrin and thus is self lubricating and the only reason for cleaning is the ocassional wipe down and a nasty gun hit. The bolt is also very, very accurate. The first game I used it with I was bunkering some new kids with such ease that I actually felt bad for them and apologized (I would totally do it again though).

Speed- Now the gun is already fast with the stock board but with my coaches Todao in it the words cannot begin to discribe the carnage that this gun leaves behind on the field. With both a new Delrin Trigger, that my coach has put countless hourse into, and the new board the gun is greased lightening. Now in this day of age speed is becoming less and less of a sweet perk and more and more like a requirment so its not like some crazy gun that goes way beyond the standards but ripping strings of around 14bps is not out of the question.

Maintenence- I really don't know about this area seeing as that I only tested the gun one day but I'll ask my coach about it and update this later.

Size & Weight- for some odd reason when I thought of a Cyborg I thought really bulky and heavy, a gun a back man would only dare use. How wrong I was. The first game with it he had me run to the fifty and It was such a pleasure to do with this light gun. With both the tank and filled hopper the gun is still lighter than many guns that boast of their weight. Switching hands is easy as pie with this gun as well. The guns size is similiar to a Timmy. Thin and tall, but not obtrusive in any way.

Efficiency- I wasn't counting or anything and I can't even get a really good estimate but I know that I never had to worry about running out of air with this gun. It was shooting 80psi though.
Conclusion: Overall this gun is hands down the best I've ever used. I'm buying on of my coaches (he has three!) so he can by an 06 borg. Yes I'm biased towards them but honestly can not think of one flaw that would stop me from loving them with all my paintballing heart.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

2k4kev Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none....
Marker Setup: Sonic cyborg rasta fade
matching matchstick
dye throttle 70 cui stubby
relaoder B
Recommended
Upgrades:
matchsitck if you didnt get one included
Strengths: Weight
Effeciancy
Matinance
Speed... of course
Weaknesses: Trigger pull
Review: Strenghts...


This gun is very light, much ligher than most markers that Ive ever held. After you break in you gladiator, which takes mabye a case or two, the borg becomes very efficant. The cyborg is also very easy to maintain, clean etc... most of it is very simple.

Weakness

When I first got my cyborg, I noticed that there was alot of side to side movement, but it is easily fixxed.

Conclusion: Buy it, its worth every penny. Sonic Cyborg > everything
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

big89dog Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, DM5, Karnivore, cyborg, dark timmy
Marker Setup: Macdev Sonic Cyborg (blue/silver)
7 piece matchstick kit (silver)
empire reloader B (black)
68/4500 PE hp tank
cp rail (silver)
cp on/off (blue)
Recommended
Upgrades:
80g switch, fast hopper halo/ reloader B
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Very light
Made by macdev
Best 1250 you will ever spend
Weaknesses: Waste alot of money on paint.
Price i guess
Review: the sonic is a beautiful marker. This is the best gun i have ever shot. It does cost a pretty penny, but it is worth it. IT is very fast, a true 34bps. It is also very light weighing in at only 1.8 pounds. The cyborg is as accurate, if not more accurate than a cocker. with many more features that are just amazing. THe only downside is that it does cost alot. i had to save up all year for it. but its soo worth the wait.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a high end gun. this is deffinately the one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zippinpaint Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
IDC Freestyle, Bob Long Timmy's
Marker Setup: Halo B
Conquest 68/4500
Matchstick 689 14"
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Efficient
Weaknesses: Price of paintballs, the sloppiness of the trigger, and everyone wanted to see it
Review: Okay I want to go threw and give you the best I can give you about this gun. It rips! I bought this gun because everyone around me had a DM4/5, Timmy, or Shocker. I was kinda the brunt of all jokes till I showed up with my Sonic. Now I got a few people thinking about trading or purchasing one. I could pick one or two of the break every time. Then turn around and see someone peeking and pick them off. The accuracy on it was out standing with the matchstick. I did play in the rain, good old WA is know for that. Air effcienticy is great. Played 3 hours straight with my Conquest 68/4500 and only had to fill one time. Yeah, I went threw about 3 cases of paint. The only problem I had was with the soliniod. I was leaking air and lubed everything that I was told to, but it never stopped leaking. I took it down to the pro shop and they fixed it in 5 min. It had some metal shavings in it. After they fixed that, it was sweet. The trigger is kinda loose for my taste, but hey I can live with that, nothing like the freestyle or timmy, but still can get more paint down field with it. I did have to set the switches to low senstivity because it was bouncing, but I still got about 15 - 20 bps out of it.
Conclusion: Buy it, but remeber it is all what you find you like. I lowered the overall score of this gun, due to the sloppy trigger. Compaired to Timmy's, DM4/5, Freestyles, the trigger is too sloppy. Too much left to right motion.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 7th, 2005 at 7:43 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

P. Dolla Monday, March 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Timmi's, dm5, dm4, many more
Marker Setup: Sonic Syborg, haloB, Mac DEV 45-45 tank, cp on/off and rail, GAP paint, stock 89 matchstick barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
empire halo, freak barrel system
Strengths: Fast
Ok accuracy
Kinda light
Looks good
Weaknesses: Chop,chop,chop,chop,chop
Bounce
Paint gets all in the internals
Grips
Trigger
Review: I paid $1,280.00 and went to go play on Sat.
I put some cheap paint in it first no good "chop, chop, chop" the gun said bouncing out of control. the paint got all inside the gun up in the hammer and cup seal area, detents, eyes, and the six little peaces that grab your hopper in the feed neck, plenty to clean when this gun chops. I cleaned the gun very well, and started over with some better paint.
When I put the GAP paint in accuracy was ok, and it was plenty fast. This was satisfactory for a little while then the bounce started in, and the gun chopped a few balls in a row.I cleaned the entire gun again.
The dip switches allow 4 trigger sensitivities, 2 bounce inhibitor modes, eye on or off, and cycles of 30bps, 25bps, 21bps or, 17bps. After a lot of chopping and cleaning, and switching of dip switches, the gun ended up set to trigger sensitivity lowest, bounce enhibitor high, and cycles/sec to 17. This I figured would do it the gun still would bounce after a little while and chop a few balls in a row for me.
I tried fresh batteries. new 9v for the trigger frame, new AA's for my Halo, turned the the LPR down all the way and brought the gun up to around 240fps, and they entire time the vert reg. was set to 200psi, and still nothing but bounce and chops.
Sat. ended I shot one person. On Sun. I tried a few more things wasted the whole morning on this gun got a rental spyder and shot about 15 players I was a little off due to the agrivation of the Cyborg, but it sure did feel good to shoot a few people before the weekend was over.
This gun was a big mistake
The first time I aired it up the guage blew I bought a new one. the back of the bolt flew off and hit me in the mask and fell in the mud while the gun was bouncing and chopping. The grips are not comfortable at all.
some times two of the same type of gun perform different like night and day, I definatly got a lemon. maybe just a bad board I don't know, but I do not like this gun at all. the few brief moments wen the gun shot aburst or to with no problems the gun seemed to be worth fixing.
Conclusion: I got a no good Sonic Cyborg. Question is how many out of how many are good, and that is going to tell you how good this gun is. What are the odds your going to be happy with your $1,300 toy.
The gun I have I would rate a 2 out of 10
This gun has the potential but not the promise
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

supernothing76 Tuesday, May 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmys- cyborg has better stock parts and you dont need any ups for a borg
bushys- cyborgs blows them away
angel- do i need to day more
Marker Setup: stock sunset sonic cyborg # 181
Recommended
Upgrades:
detents
trigger( if you dont like stock one)
micro switch
board
Strengths: NO chops
Effectant
nice Anno and miling
exceptional stock regs
to EZ to maintain

Weaknesses: None
Review: so where do i begin this gun just straight our rips. the first time i tested it it shock 1500 balls with a 70/45 not bad for a gun that's not broken in yet. it shoot at straight at possible too whit the match stick barrel kit. the glad reg also works like a dream shooting about -+ 5 over a chrono and IT WAS THE FIRST USE i just love my gun its SO fast. also many ppl are saying they have chopping problems with there borg well i didn't have one single chop with my stock detents this gun just straight out rips stock all you have to do it attach an asa and go shoot it you wont be disappointed if you got one and if your thinking about getting it THEN GET IT!
Conclusion: this product is soild and is one of the best guns i have shot lately this gun just blows away other Ram gun you wont be disappointed with it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icemul Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
IR3-Preditor Mod, 05 speed, Timmy, orginal Cyborg
Marker Setup: Sonic Cybog #29
68/45 centerflag
Halo B Victory Board
New CP On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Micro Switch
Strengths: Light, easy to disassemble for cleaning, fast, quality workmenship.
Weaknesses: Trigger pull, User Manual
Review: All I have to say is wow. I only had one problem so far and that was a broken reg gague, which I sent back and they replaced for free. Otherwise the darn thing flys. The only thing I didn't really care for was the trigger, it was way to stiff for me. So I tried adjusting the trigger but I could never get it where I liked it. So I took out the board and flipped the micro-switch upside down, 150% improvement. There is also a 25g microswitch out there that you can install to make the pull even lighter. User Manual stink, its just photo copied and stapled togeather- otherwise its very informative.

I love how easy it is to clean and to get to everything, I can have the gun totally apart in about 2 minutes. Oh yeh and light as heck, I have a Halo B with a 68/45 centerflag tank, and my teammate has a 05 Speed with Halo B and a 45/45 centerflag tank. If you hold them they both way just about the same, mine is slightly heavyer but not noticable. Oh yeh and insainly accurate, I can put an entire hopper in a 6 inch area... the balls go where you point them.
Hope this helps and hope ya'll can get one soon!
Conclusion: Its a little pricy but worth every penny. There are alot of good high end markers out there and if your considering one please consider this marker. It has everything that all the other guns out there have plus many other cool options. Put it this way, our 5 man team already has 2 of these beasts, and two of our other players will be getting them when they get the funds.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media